Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Trine University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student ready to expand their knowledge with an Undergraduate degree. If you are looking to receive education at an amazing facility that you will cherish for the rest of your life, then Trine University is the place!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on a visit day to Trine! Once you experience Trine for a day, deciding where to attend college will be a no-brainer. You will go on a tour of campus, meet prospective advisers/teachers, and get to meet lots of students. If you are interested in sports, you can tour the facilities and meet your coach and teammates. Don't let Trine pass your eye, come visit and it will change the rest of your future.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at any college isn't going to be cheap. Though being a Private school some prospective students are turned away from it with the fear of tuition cost. This should not be the case. Trine is affordable. In 2010, 98% of students received $19 million in aid in the form of grants and scholarships. $19 million in financial aid is a huge factor in making Trine worth coming to.

    Am enjoying being here

    Trine University has a great atmosphere. Everyone is always smiling: from students, to coaches, to faculty. There is ALWAYS something to do. Student Life provides numerous activities for all students to attend. Every week there is Wacky Wednesday with games, food, and friends. Throughout the year there has been a mechanical bull, moon-walks, skydivers, karaoke, roller-skating, tie-dye, and much, much more! My favorite has to be that every Monday night, Trine students get in FREE at the movie theater. With so much offered at Trine University it makes going to school more of a hobby/interest than anything else. U.S. News and World Report ranked Trine among the Midwest’s Best Colleges.

    Am learning a lot

    The size of Trine University is just right. 2,091 students makes the one-on-one attention from the faculty perfect. All of my teachers work directly with me on any problems and questions I have. The amount of knowledge that I take on is unbelievable. I never imagined I could learn so much, and have fun doing it. I am double majoring and minoring all in four years, if that's not learning a lot then I don't know what is! Trine offers associate’s, bachelor’s, and master’s degrees. There are 36 majors to pick from alone. The choices and opportunities for education are immeasurable.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for anyone considering a path in engineering, Mechanical Engineering specifically. Our metalogical program is one of the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good place to be if you like small towns and not so many people. Trine is a very small college - so everyone knows everyone. It makes for a friendly environment most of the time.

    Bang for the buck

    The attention we receive at this college is good, but the chances of landing internships and co-ops here seems to be increased from the larger schools. Not to mention from what I've seen Trine does well at competitions related to engineering.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is very little to do in this area, but the college does make events for the students, such as a free movie at the local movie theater every monday, as well as a movie shown on campus every wednesday, and other small events. The Campus tends to line up Commedians and other such acts to keep the students entertained - just not as frequently.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class sizes means that you get attention you need. The professors are normally fairly good at teaching the material so that students understand it and a decent amount of them make it fun.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you will feel safe at trine. campus safety is everywhere. they are always there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    plenty of fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club or activity for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    kids who came from a small school. kids who want don't want to just be lost in the crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a new sky walk over the road.

    Bang for the buck

    trine university is a private college so it is going to cost more than a state college. it is well worth the money for a top notch education.

    What to do for fun

    i play baseball and joined a fraternity. there is also free movie night at the theater in town.

    Food and Dining

    the food at trine is the best. i am not just saying this. it is better than home and i have parents that both cook.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are carpeted. there are condo styles or regular types. dorms are close to student center so you will be close to all you need.

    Academic Rigor

    you are required to study. if you try, you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a college where you are someone, come to trine. you will prosper here.

    In three sentences

    there is so much so much to do. this is the best school if you don't want to be just a number. you are someone here. they care about you and your future.

  • 10/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I guess I would have to point out that Trine University's Dry Campus is very far from that. If one frat house isn't having a party the other one is, so if you like to party your set here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your very comfortable in this town. If you don't plan on bringing a car you want to know your not going to dread the weekends more than then week days!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying for a private college which I understand is going to be expensive no matter where I go, but explain one thing to me? Why does my internet in my room almost NEVER WORK!?

    Am enjoying being here

    Almost nothing to do around here, Student life has set up a few cool things to do but other then that if your not in a sport then you have nothing to do yet if you are in a sport they expect you to give ALL of your time to that sport even if it means skipping test days in class. Coaches are also the inviting type make you really want to go here, then when you get here its a totally different story from what they were telling you before. Just be careful and ask TONS of questions.

    Am learning a lot

    Only a few of the professors here are actually worried about how well you are going to do in their class, the professor is either going to be very helpful or practically non-existent. Sadly, I would have to say I have gotten stuck with more of those who do not really care. The counselors who bring you in to see this school are very inviting, ask to see a couple professors while on your visit!! Also, the teachers make it Mandatory to buy certain books for their class and I have yet to use most of these.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    love it!! i am a sister at alpha sigma tau, and it is one of the best choices i have ever made!

    What to do for fun

    i always go to free student movie night monday at the theater in town. also, i go to quite of a view of the activities the school puts together; such as, comedians and hypnotists. and of course most the time i just hang out wit my friends.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty decent, some days it gets pretty repetitive. however, there are always a ton of options. also, it is an all you can eat dining plan here so perfect for all you fatties!

    Dorm Life

    i love dorm life here! there are three styles of rooming: traditional style, apartment, and villa (for juniors and seniors). i live in traditional style and i love the atmosphere that it provides.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are like any school, depending on your major and your professors, will determine if it is very hard or not. however, there are a lot of academic support services available.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you enjoy a small campus. make sure you can afford the super high tuition. make sure you want to be at this campus, because not many classes transfer out of here.

    In three sentences

    trine university has a beautiful campus, and is in a very friendly town. the staff and faculty here are very friendly, and are always willing to help you out. it is very expensive.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small town and campus. has a nice community college feel.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is higher than the public universities, but the access to professors, the tutorial offerings and the support system at trine will make this an excellent choice for anyone looking for a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    excellent facilities for sports. the golf course is right next to the campus. for additional opportunities, angola is not far from fort wayne or a state park as well.

    Food and Dining

    food at the dining hall is excellent with a variety of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    i am looking forward to the possibility of being housed in an appartment. there appears to be many activities available and angola itself has a nice small town feel.

    Academic Rigor

    access to the professors and the size of classes will make trine a wonderful selection for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    my advise is to visit the university and meet the professors. i believe that you will find this university welcoming and that the facilities are excellent for toward the achievement of your goals.

    In three sentences

    i am very impressed with the process described to assist students throughout the studies. professors schedule and make themselves available to assist students and all instruction is provided by professors, not graduate students. the campus and its facilities are very nice and the size of classes will enhance my educational experience.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Asking around, no reported troubles.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart.

    Bang for the buck

    Size of the school contributes to the family atmosphere. You will not get lost of left behind because someone will be looking for you. The student body is actually diverse as opposed to manufactured by the admissions department.

    What to do for fun

    Funky shops and pubs. Skiing, boating, golfing.

    Food and Dining

    There is real food, not institutional food.

    Dorm Life

    The villas on the course are the top pick of the golf team members.

    Academic Rigor

    You get out of it what you put into it. Sitting in Accounting not paying attention is not going to provide a return on your (or your parents) investment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work. Coach will come get you if you skip class or practice.

    In three sentences

    Zollner golf course is at the campus, making practice easier to get to. The campus is small so I will get to know people instead of being at a mill where I am one of 40,000 students. The golf management program within the school of business has a high success rate.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is on call 24/7 and is always ready and willing to assist students and maintain a safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Various fraternities and sororities to better empower men and women to succeed after graduation.

    Clubs and Activities

    Trine offers several intramural, club, and varsity athletic clubs. This school is rich in Greek life as well, as there are dozens of fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Mathematically focused, intuitive, and innovative students.

    Bang for the buck

    High tuition rates are noticeable, but there is a wide variety of accessible scholarships available for students. 98 percent of students receive financial aide at this institution.

    What to do for fun

    Students can take advantage of the nearby lakes and Pokagon State Park on weekends and enjoy all of extracurricular activities at the various athletic and wellness facilities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Trine has a well-prepared, healthy dining plan that offers a plethora of meal options for students.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment-style living conditions and updated dorms allow for comfortable study and living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    Trine focuses heavily on mathematics to prepare students for real-world applications.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should prepare for rigorous academic coursework, but the personalized university experience will give students plenty of opportunities to exceed.

    In three sentences

    Trine University is a great small-sized engineering university. The small class size allows for one-on-one interactions between professors and students. Trine is a great place for anyone who wants an individualized education.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are roughly 15 fraternities and sororities on campus, making Trine a very greek community. Greek Week is held once a year for greek groups to compete and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    As stated above there is always something to do at Trine, and being a Trine student allows you to get discounts all over the town for different places such as pizza and Taco Bell.

    What to do for fun

    Trine is always having some kind of activity going on for students. Whether it be a stand up comedian, hypnotist, or playing Bingo for Buck, which is an opportunity for awesome prizes, there is always a chance to have fun!

    Food and Dining

    The campus features three different places to eat. One is a buffet style cafeteria, the second a sit down diner, and the third and newest addition to Trine University is a burger joint.

    Dorm Life

    The housing at Trine is much better than any college living I have seen anywhere else. Freshmen at Trine have better apartments than seniors at Division I schools. Close to campus and a short walk to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are quite challenging, but the professors are always there to help you if you are willing to go the extra mile to seek help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and have fun! The town is beautiful and there is plenty to do around campus. MAke friends and have the time of your life!

    In three sentences

    Trine University is a beautiful school located in Angola, IN. It features a great educational opportunity, while also offering small classes and uncommon one on one opportunities between students and professors.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since Trine is a private school, it's one of the more expensive schools. I was hesitant to commit because the expenses, but with the help of scholarships and loans, it's not that bad. I would recommend applying to as many as you can.

    Dorm Life

    They have amazing dorms, and you can choose either traditional style or the appartment dorms; there's even the option of living in a villa if you're an upperclassmen with a decent GPA. Everything is located on their campus, but even if you choose to live off of it, you won't be far from the school

    In three sentences

    Trine is definantly one of those colleges that make you feel right at home. Everyone knows each other and even you're a freshman, the upper classmen love that your attending! The coaches and staff welcome you with open arms.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety has done well in providing a safe, comfortable learning environment, and has often helped students with problems such as opening locked doors, giving them a ride to their dorm, and watching out for criminals. While students often blame them for busting parties, they do so to keep the law enforced and keep them from doing something they would later regret.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is different at every college, but also at each fraternity/sorority. Greeks are involved in hosting parties, many of which provide alcohol. However, many members spend their time doing services for the community, tutoring students who need help, and serving on various committees on campus. Also, being in a greek society will not only give a student friends to remember for a lifetime, but also connections with alumni and members of the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Trine is great for those who would get lost or overwhelmed at a larger school, and for those who prefer one-on-one interaction with a professor rather than a large lecture room.

    Bang for the buck

    While there are many things to keep a student occupied, it is very expensive. While the academics are rigorous and the activities vast, the interest in these can drop simply because there are only certain people who have a say in what goes on. However, greek societies on campus have agreed to start cleaning up their image and try to interest more students into participating in their activities.

    What to do for fun

    Every Monday night Brokaw Theatre in downtown Angola provides free movies for Trine students. These are new release films such as The Hunger Games, Twilight, and Paranormal Activity 3. There are also many activities that are free for students provided by the student body government and greek societies.

    Food and Dining

    While the food is not always the best, there are a couple of choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is always food available, and there are multiple options for those with certain dietary needs. The best time to go is on the weekends, when the cooks make new food instead of using leftovers. Depending on the time of arrival, the lines can be short and the lunchroom basically empty, or the lines can be long and the lunchroom crowded.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life varies among the three different types. First there is the traditional style dorms, where each student gets a roommate and one room. Most people know everyone else in the building, and it allows students to build a larger community than other dorms. The bathroom is localized on each floor, and there are laundry machines in each building. Apartment style dorms have two or three bedrooms, a dining area, living room, and a bathroom. Bonding is tight among all of the students living in the same room, but not so much for the rest of the building or floor. There are laundry machines on each floor, and a common area in each building. Third is the villas, which are for juniors and seniors only. These are five man apartment style dorms, which include kitchens that provide ovens and stoves. Everyone in the villa must apply for the same room, so everyone should get along.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not expect to get a 4.0 GPA your first semester, especially engineers. The classes will be rough, and some professors have been known to be merciless when it comes to improving grades. If you stick to your studies, go to class, and exercise to relieve stress, you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to have fun and be successful, there are a few things you've got to do. Focus on your schoolwork first; if you don't do your work, you don't get the grade you need. When schoolwork is done, then go and enjoy time with your friends. A big tip is to try something you have never done before, and I don't mean alcohol or drugs. Do something that will be worth your time. Just remember this: while college can be a fun time, it is an investment in your future.

    In three sentences

    Trine University has a quality education system combined with great faculty to provide a fantastic college experience. While the class sizes are small, they allow more time for the professors to help students with problems they may come across. Also, there are many opportunities for hands-on learning experiences, which are invaluable in today's job market.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that patrol in a car, and we have campus security in the golf carts, but I've never really heard of them being used that much. Angola is a quiet town with not much crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some club, sport, or activity that you can go out and take part in.

    Great for these types of students

    Catholics, intelligent students from small towns would probably fit in the best.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tuesday Night Worship up at the Clubhouse. Some of us Christians can get pretty crazy for our Lord.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like it's a little expensive, but I'm a student trying to pay for it.

    What to do for fun

    There's bowling in town, tennis courts, raquetball, basketball, dorm activities, movies in town and on campus, and getting some exercise at the athletic center are some great things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Whitney Commons has all the food being cooked in the back. No pre-packaged junk food. You can eat well and pick what you want from a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms have events going on all the time. We even have inter-dorm competitions to make sure that we branch out and meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, and this is a good thing. I feel like I'm truly becoming prepared to go on to my career.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from a small community, I'd recommend going here. It has a small-town feel. Work hard, study often, but don't forget to have some fun.

    In three sentences

    Trine is a small, intelligent university that has a lot of community-building events. You really get to know your professors and your classmates. I love going here!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Friendly but strict. They are always there to help when needed. I've never had a problem with them.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life needs work. The greeks we do have on campus are good at getting stuff done but we need more of the universities support!

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many to get involved in. The Activities are mostly centered around sports with a few exceptions. You must get out when you can because the exceptions are almost always a blast!

    Great for these types of students

    Trine is a great school for athletes and engineers. The sports will keep you busy and the school has many opportunities for engineers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of every semester we have bingo for bucks and the whole campus gets together for prizes. It's quite a lot of fun even if you don't win anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Trine is a good school if you like it. If you don't you wont get much out of it. You hate it or you love it and I think that's how you determine how much bang for your buck you get.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are sporting events to attend, greek events, or just getting together with friends. Trine doesn't have big events because it isn't a big school so you have to make the most out of the little things.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 food options at Trine. The first is the Cafe which always has many tasty options. The second, Centennial is a grab and go for busy students that can't sit down. And the Third is a late night option to get something after the cafe is closed. All have good food and taste great

    Dorm Life

    The 2 options you have are traditional (1 room, 2 students) and apartment style (2-4 rooms, 2 to a room, bathroom, and living area). The traditional are pretty old but do the job just fine. The RA's try to provide things for the residents to do for fun and work hard at their job. The Apartments are the same with more modern styles and extra room.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers almost all get to know you on a personal level and are working hard for you to succeed. They are almost always willing to help you before or after class

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved right away. The more things you do the easier the transition to Trine will be. Never be afraid to go out and have fun, just make sure you have your work for classes done.

    In three sentences

    Trine has shown me how to overcome mistakes and be a better person. Academically the school has not let me down, they have built me up. Everyone you meet is friendly, any problems you are having will be solved quickly.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students wanting to pursue an engineering degree. It's also good for those who want a smaller, quieter university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are flags from many different countries hanging from the ceiling of the university center. These flags are all of countries that Trine students have come from over the years. I think there are over fifty flags hanging up. It's just something that's kind of interesting to see. Also, there are train tracks going right through the center of campus, so sometimes getting stuck on the wrong side of the tracks is a valid and accepted excuse for being late to class.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses at Trine are usually very good courses, however you do pay a lot for them. This institution is definitely not cheap by any means. The scholarships they give out do help a lot, but it's still difficult for some to come up with the money. Overall, this school is great for engineering majors, as there are a limited amount of schools that offer certain engineering majors, however anyone who isn't going for engineering should definitely consider the decision to attend Trine very carefully and hope that they get a lot of scholarship money.

    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few campus events and organizations that you can become involved in. Between studying, going to classes, hanging out with my friends, and participating in events and organizations, I never find myself at a loss for something to do. The main thing is to just get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Trine had the best dining options out of all of the schools I visited when I was still searching. Most of the food is very good. However, sometimes it can get a little old since many of their dishes taste similar.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment-style dorms on campus are great, and they make it really easy to meet new people and find people to study with.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to lie and say that college isn't work, but it's not as bad as some people make it out to be. The courses at Trine require a decent amount of effort and generally are very good courses. I haven't run into anything yet that I found unmanageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school before deciding. Ask lots of questions. Make sure that this school is really the right fit.

    In three sentences

    Trine University is a nice, small private school. It doesn't have a lot of variety when it comes to majors, but it's a great engineering school. Most of the students and staff are very nice and personable.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on, on campus if not you can usaly find a group of people to do stuff with!

    Food and Dining

    Some times in all honesty the food gets boring

    Academic Rigor

    They expect to get the most out of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Class sizes are small,which means you get a chance to form bonds with your classmates and your professor!

    In three sentences

    This place is amazing! Small Campus and everyone is easy to get along with! Its also a very clean place.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing ever happens

    Greek Life

    Great. Very active.

    Clubs and Activities

    There're lots of clubs like paint ball club, ski club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Sociable, smart,sporty.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, sometimes it gets boring though.

    Dorm Life

    Apartments and dorms are very new.

    Academic Rigor

    Good professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart and manage your time well.

    In three sentences

    This is a great private college with lots of fun. If you are looking into engineering, this is your choice. They will try anything to make the students happy.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does an exceptional job of taking care of the students instead of trying to get them in trouble.

    Greek Life

    Lots of different Greek houses here on campus that can aid anyone and everyone in career development and campus awareness. Friendships and brotherhoods that will last forever.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of clubs here on campus again could go on for days, so many different clubs ranging from video games, to the more traditional fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    All types could fit in here, quiet and shy to outgoing and loud, all are welcome and do well.

    Bang for the buck

    Trine offers one of the best educations a student is able to receive, due to the professors care and personable connection they have for their students.

    What to do for fun

    The list of school activities could go on for days, there is always something going on put on by the school. We get to go to the theater every Monday for a free movie showing is just one example.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to other colleges we are spoiled in the fact we have personable cooks who listen and heed to our opinions and suggestions about new food. It is manageable to eat a healthy nutrient filled diet at our school

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a wide open setting and you will only receive what you put into it. Numerous events and activities for new and returning students.

    Academic Rigor

    Any major at a college is difficult, but at Trine University we know that due to the small number of students on campus, professors will challenge and demand the best out of you every step of your journey.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a strong character with the determination to face and defeat challenges. Don't be shy when first arriving, come with a big smile and an open heart. Friends are extremely easy to make and keep for life.

    In three sentences

    A very small tight knit college, with support every where you look. Continues the tradition of a disciplined exceptional education. Cares about the true quality of the students, instead of measuring its success in the quantity of students.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart and playhard

    What to do for fun

    There is a golf course a n many other recreational places indoor and outdoor

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend classes and study smart to excel.

    In three sentences

    A good reputable university. Famous for engineering and has talented profeesors. The number of students are small and one could concerntrate better in small lecture classes.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Honestly it is a town full of bars. Campus fun is easier to achieve than off campus. Campus provides tons of activities that go late into the night so there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a joke and then some are adequate to the learning process. As a freshman everything will feel pointless, just stick with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a job and fight for what you want.

    In three sentences

    Trine is a private school that is not for everyone. Trine is very into controlling everything including making extracurricular mandatory.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around.

    Greek Life

    We have Greek life. I joined a sorority and it's great. I am also dating a fraternity member. I think the Greek life is just right. It's not too big and not too small.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small school atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We paint the rock by the football field. Groups will do it in the middle of the night sometimes!

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events are fun to go to. There is shopping nearby. I joined a sorority and I love it.

    Food and Dining

    It is good at first, but there are not many choices. It gets old.

    Dorm Life

    There are very nice apartments to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged everyday to be a better student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trine is a small school, so keep that in mind. It is a part of the reason I like it. Others do not.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere. I am getting a great education. I am having the time of my life.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very helpful and there for you at any hour!

    Greek Life

    Small but lots of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school since it's a private University, but the employment rate after graduation is at a 92% because the teachers and faculty help you get jobs afterwards; they have a lot of connections.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of lakes in the area to enjoy. Go out and make friends. When it is warm out, there are always a variety of pickup sports games going on and the same goes for indoor sports in the winter

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes because the teachers take attendance. Earn a good reputation because it's a small school and good or bad things will spread across the whole campus like wild fire.

    In three sentences

    Very good, caring teachers who are there to help you. The smaller teacher to student ratio is beneficial for learning. At this school, you are not just a number; the teachers are there to help you.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of security 24 hours a day. large network of call stations as well

    Greek Life

    lots of fraternities and sororities around the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and sports. the local fraternities hold events every week and invite the campus to join.

    Great for these types of students

    out going, reclusive, everytype

    Bang for the buck

    good college with good education and lots of things to do.

    What to do for fun

    the college has event all week long such as wacky Wednesday and thunder nation events. free movie every Mondays and plenty of things to do like paint ball and go carting

    Food and Dining

    if there is one thing at trine its food. there is an all you can eat buffet with both soul and health food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a little old but are still very functional. the college has a system in place to aid any students with dorm life including therapists, RAs and a campus safety service to feel safer.

    Academic Rigor

    the program is not too difficult yet not easy enough for a high school drop out to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid of asking for help around the university as there is a always someone there to answer you call or point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    trine is a great university for the student looking for a big college education and a small college's benefits. the college is small enough to not be intimidating but large enough to accommodate the educational needs of students. welcome to thunder nation.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Trine maintains the safety of the it very well.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to become high-quality engineers, teachers, and business majors. They need to be proactive in their studies, and not go with the flow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Thunder Park, there is a spirit rock where students can paint anything on it and it stays there for the entire week.

    Food and Dining

    Trine has three places to eat, The Cafe, The Depot, and Centennial Station. They listen to the student body on what to have for lunches more often. Many students love Centennial Station, because its the closest thing to having a Starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Trine offers both your traditional dorms and on-campus apartments (I am living in currently). Within the residence halls, your RAs make you emersed in the community and get to know everyone through fun floor activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult at times, as college should be, but Trine offers help sessions and easily accessible professors (not teacher assistants) to aid you when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter your major when attending Trine, make sure you be proactive with your experience as it gives yourself a good reputation amongst your colleagues and professors.

    In three sentences

    Trine University has a beautiful, small campus. It is perfect for anyone that loves having small classes, and have a good relationship with their professors. The university community is also very active and helpful when trying to acquaint yourself to campus.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good about letting you into your car or something like that. Kind of useless otherwise.

    Greek Life

    Yep. See Clubs and Activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    - Christian Campus House - Fraternities/Sororities - Relay for Life - Most of whatever I could think of

    Great for these types of students

    - Wants a small school - Interested in technology - Interested in co-ops/internships

    Bang for the buck

    Trine is great for engineering. I can't speak for the other majors, but make sure that you're going to earn enough to pay off the tuition costs of whatever college you attend.

    What to do for fun

    - Tobogganing - Friday night events - Friday night pancakes - Football games - Going into town

    Food and Dining

    The Depot (restaurant) is not that great, but the cafeteria is pretty good and there is also a place called Centennial Station for sandwiches and whatnot.

    Dorm Life

    The apartments are great! And there's nothing wrong with opting for random roommates if you don't know anyone from your hometown. They do a pretty good job placing you with people who are similar to you.

    Academic Rigor

    The engineering classes can be difficult (I don't know about the others), but that's generally how engineering is.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Trine is only boring on weekends if you don't branch out and find things to do with friends. - Make sure that your program is accredited (no matter where you go). - Be prepared for a challenge.

    In three sentences

    I have been at Trine for about a year and a half now. So far, it's been an enjoyable experience. The apartments are awesome, the food is good for a small school, and there are a lot of really great professors here.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With a dedicated security force and small campus size, you can't get much safer than Trine

    Bang for the buck

    The downside of this university is that it is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from hanging out with friends, there are plenty of things to do. There is a large golf course that is good for a walk in the summer, and sledding in the winter. there are plenty of wacky wednesday activities going on every week. and free movies every monday from a local theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 main dining areas around the campus. Whitney Commons is the main one, it has you swipe a card to pay for a meal, then it is an all you can eat affair, where you can choose from a variety of food that changes every mealtime. Second, you have Centennial Station, this is a place where you can pick up a quick meal in between classes. and finally there is The Depot, a burger bistro in the middle of campus, they make their burgers fresh, but also serve chicken tenders after 7 pm.

    Dorm Life

    There are three choices for rooms. You have apartment suite style, which has you living in a room with 3 or 5 other people of similar majors along with enclosed bathrooms and a common area. There is also traditional dorms,which has you living with a roommate in a hallway with several other pairs sharing the building. and finally there is the Villas, they are only available to upperclassmen with 3.5 GPA or above, but it is a house with private rooms and a kitchen. Each of these living arrangements have RA's and RD's who are instructed to be approachable and have plenty of optional social activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, the professors will challenge you. They want you to learn, and you will, your grades will suffer at first, but hard work and perseverance will pay off well for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a few places to eat, though most people go to Whitney Commons, you may get caught in a long line if you try to get in right after class. Also, if you are struggling, go into one of the academic lounges in the class buildings, it is more than likely that there will be someone there who will be happy to help.

    In three sentences

    Trine is a small, close knit university. The professors are approchable and care about their students, and you can always find a time to talk to them. Campus life is lively and has plenty of stuff to do during a study break.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is never a dull moment at Trine University. There are comedians that come visit, theme nights, athletic games, and many other events scheduled to help the students have more fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many different options to choose from. There is a restaurant on campus that gives good deals to students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus this year but I have visited the dorms and they are in pretty decent condition. There are different living arrangements to choose from. There are also plenty of ways to keep busy with all of the events going on around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing. They are all extremely educated in what they teach and they take the time to make sure each student understands the material. Also, the class sizes are small so the experience is much more personal.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise living on campus. It makes the experience so much more exciting and memorable. There are many fun events to enjoy on campus.

    In three sentences

    Trine University is a fantastic college that I would recommend to everyone. It is a very close-knit environment and the teaching is great. On a scale from 1 to 10, I would definitely give Trine University a 10!