Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinity Christian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a solid liberal arts education and a campus with a strong spiritual culture will be at home at Trinity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself the whole way. Trinity has an unofficial policy about giving everyone a chance. Don't get me wrong, not everyone is accepted, but they look at more than just GPA. They get a feel for the person as a whole.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as colleges go, Trinity is a cheaper option. But, academically, it can compete. Don't let the price tag fool you, this is a great college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Trinity is a wonderful place to have a good time and meet some great people. There are a lot of great places to eat and tons of parks nearby. But the best part is just hanging out with other students and having a lot of fun without spending money.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Trinity are rather wonderful. You can learn a lot from them in and out of the classroom. I have learned a lot of other cultures from international students and by talking to students from across the nation.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small personal environment

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a Christian faith and willing to learn by putting a lot of time into their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, and stay over night.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course, I think college is a little pricey, but overall the tuition goes to good use.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus, but mainly I love the residence life. Everyone is so friendly on campus, and everyone is open to finding new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot at Trinity. It has been only one semester, but I have recieved a lot of learning experience in such a short amount of time.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not too much to do on the weekends. This is because the school is mostly commuter students, but student activities tries hard to entertain the on campus students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok, but the Bootsma Bookstore Cafe has really good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are much nicer than most schools. Every room has a private bathroom. The newest dorm building is like living in a hotel!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, and I feel that they are preparing me for a career as a nurse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. They really do want to help you.

    In three sentences

    I overall enjoy this school. It is nice to have a small class and to get personal attention from profs.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Trinity is such a small campus that it makes me feel safe a secure as I walk from my dorm room to the library at night. Students do not have to worry about getting jumped beaten up because Trinity is nestled inside a lovely community called Palos Heights. God's hands also surrounds Trinity and who better to have as a security guard than God himself.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers different types of clubs life service club, latina/litino club, student activites. These clubs are fun to participate in I myself joined the service committee and I meet some real kind awesome people. And it is always a great way to develop friendship because they share the same interests like you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this pizza joint every student at Trinity has heard of it is called Nona's. This place serves gigantic pizza slices all around the price of 5 bucks! It is not uncommon to hear a hungry student say Nona's? That I believe is an unusual tradition Trinity students do.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers alot of different activities the students can participate in with. They have events like open min night, ice skating down town and going hiking. As long as you are involving yourself in things you are never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    I myself love that Trinity offers different types of food that range from Chinese to Mexican. The diverse types of food shows how passionate Trinity wants people from different cultures to feel at home. I know I myself enjoyed seeing some food that resembled the food I ate back in New Mexico, of course the dining hall does not always get it right but they are sure close.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life I have meet so many new people with interesting personalities and quirks. Although there can be drama when four girls are shoved together my room always worked through our issues. All in all the dorm life here is fun and lively.

    Academic Rigor

    Trinity Professors are the good kind of professors, they challenge you daily and they do not treat you like just another student that fills the seats. They offer their time and energy to their students they are always available if students do not understand a certain assignment. The assignments given to us are challenging and it requires thinking outside of the box and using your own mind to figure out things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Something I have learned is that organization is key to getting things done on time. So when you get into college create a schedule of your daily activities and classes and always make sure you have plenty of time for homework. Do not put homework assignments off tell the night before take time away from your busy time to complete a project worthy of a professors viewing.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is an amazing college where I feel I have thrived and developed into not only a better friend, student, daughter, but also a better christian. Being at Trinity I have also learned to be more organized and less of a procrastinator. All in all I would rate Trinity 10 golden stars.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very very safe!

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety but some are still lacking.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that are trying to learn more about Christianity,not looking to party but to get equipped to be a christian in their field. Others who do not come from a christian family should also come.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It has woods around it, you sometimes see deer but very rarely. The BBC is another place you can go eat besides the cafeteria. It is very relaxing and comfortable.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a beautiful campus,you can just sit and relax on the grass when its warm.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and activities as well as take a trip downtown. Do not just limit yourself to downtown, there are many awesome diverse communities in the city of Chicago. Go out there and explore!

    Food and Dining

    I have only tasted the food from the cafeteria a few times and it was not bad. Some students do complain about it but again, it's not our mother's food.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but dorm life seems fun for those who live there since a lot of activities are done late at night.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but it is capable of being done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to a new culture but don't keep your opinions silenced. If there is something you don't agree with, do something about it. Leave the high school attitude behind and be open to talk to people that come from various backgrounds.

    In three sentences

    It is a place where my faith has grown in knowledge with many opportunities to serve the community. Professors are always available and staff is very friendly. Everyone says hi or shares a smile even if they don't know you.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People are so trust worthy, you could leave an unlocked bike in the middle of the road and people would either A) move it out of the way B) go around it or C) ignore it. (Notice how steeling isn't an option)

    Greek Life

    None and thank goodness

    Clubs and Activities

    Just find anything you would be interested in and get active.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, easy goers, people that want to avoid the partying, people that enjoy a more rekaxing experience yet at the same time, still recieving the challenge of college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    The entire place is almost brand new with the new buildings and you really are paying for the quality of the living and the education.

    What to do for fun

    Friends, cafe, walks, hang out in the dorm, surrounding city.

    Food and Dining

    Three different meal choices every day is probably one of the most diverse options ive heard of for a college. Then add a beautiful cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Four people in a dorm and the place is huge, you really can't get any better than that.

    Academic Rigor

    All college locations will challenge but it is that challenge that will help someone become a strong, hard worker.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pray about it. College is never cheap but through God there will always be a way. He will ride a storm to the Earth to answer your prayer and if this is the college for you and the path God has you set on than you will know.

    In three sentences

    This College is Beautiful This College is Friendly This College can keep you focused and provide a perfect atmosphere for a growing christian

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, it's both a safe neighborhood and they have security on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs they have are great, and they have all of the standard clubs. It would be nice if they had a few more options tho.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy good, close knit community and want to grow in their faith.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a pricy school (which is expected since its private) but I love it there. Its worth the price!

    What to do for fun

    There are usually activities planned on campus every weekend, and there are tons of malls nearby (if thats your thing).

    Food and Dining

    The caf has a good variety, there has never been anything there that absolutely disgusted me. If nothing looks good, I just go to the sandwich bar. The BBC is another good option if you don't want caf food, but for the meal swipe there are only about 15 options which can get old if you go there too much.

    Dorm Life

    Very spacious dorms. The RA's are friendly and helpful. There are a decent amount of floor activities (it depends on the floor).

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more rigorous than others, it depends on the class and the professor.

    In three sentences

    I love Trinity! The professors are wonderful and personable, they really care about you. The community there is awesome!

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are never any safety issues. Campus security always does their job and every precaution is taken to ensure the safety of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone they are great ways to make new friends.

    What to do for fun

    There's a cafe, people get creative and join together to do something fun, along with what Student Activities plans.

    Food and Dining

    There is flexibility in meal plans and the food is descent but with lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    There is always something fun to do and the community is very friendly and close.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes range in homework load and difficulty, so there are plenty of options and all classes encourage academic excellence but having a good time while doing so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be nervous and come expecting to grow intellectually and on a personal level.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Christian College has already made my college experience one to remember. Campus life is one that has a very positive atmosphere and is accommodating to each individual. Professors and other staff makes it possible to learn everything in a way that allows students to grow and prepare to continue their lives after college.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is none.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who is looking to have that personal relationship with their professors.

    What to do for fun

    go downtown with friends or go shopping.

    Dorm Life

    sometimes it gets boring living in the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    read your reading assignments, and participate in class as much as possible. also, always try to attend class, and if you are going to miss a class let the professor know ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    trinity christian college has faculty members that are there to help you and guide you along the college process, most of them are all warm and inviting. this college has a very warm and inviting atmosphere, and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no fraternity or sororities

    Great for these types of students

    athletes outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has dances and student events

    What to do for fun

    You can go to downtown Chicago always things to do on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the schooling you get

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing college with a dedicated teaching and coaching staff. The school environment is filled with a college happy campus. It is an experience a student must feel for themselves.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very active on campus. You always see them driving around in their golf carts or going around the parking lot watching out for us. I feel very safe on campus- even late at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is literally nonexistent on campus, and I don't think anyone really misses it at all. I certainly don't!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything on campus! And the best part? If it doesn't already exist, it's so easy to start a club for whatever you want! Clubs are so active and are always putting on events. The activities on campus are great! There is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity is great for the student who wants to go to college and have a great time! If you're looking for life-long friends, you'll find them here. If you're looking for a Christian atmosphere, make yourself at home. If you want the time of your life, you've come to the right place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Trinity Trail is unique to campus! It's our own personal nature trail, about 3 miles in length, that runs around the length of campus and along the creek. It's very pretty and is a fun way to kill an afternoon! The BBC is another fun Trinity hub. It's like our own personal Starbucks, and you'll see friends getting coffee, community members munching on a Bootsma Burger, groups having Bible study, and professors meeting with students to chat. Trollstock is our annual talent show, and is super fun to attend! The winners get cash prizes, and almost everyone on campus shows up to watch. OPUS is our annual academic celebration, which sounds really boring but isn't! It's a whole week filled with fun. Other fun traditions include Trollerskating, Black and White Jazz Night, Spring Formal, Drum Circle in chapel, Troll Madness, and much, much more!!

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity is expensive, but it doesn't have to break the bank. I personally did not have to take out a single loan, and I come from a very middle-class family. Trinity is worth every dollar you spend. The classes are great, the campus life is so fun, and the experience is something that can't be beat!

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities works so hard to make sure weekends on campus are engaging and fun for those who wish to stick around. There's lot's of fun events, like Trollstock, OPUS, spring formal, the blacklight dance, and much more! Plus, different clubs and groups around campus are always putting on events. If none of that suits your fancy, you could go see one of the plays that's going on, grab coffee at the BBC with your friends, or go to one of the events that your res hall is putting on! Life on campus is never boring and there's always fun stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    In all honesty, the caf food isn't that bad... but it isn't that good, either. It is better than most colleges, and the cafeteria staff works hard to get student feedback and heed students' advice. They also have plenty of healthy options, as well as vegetarian options, and the desserts are always really yummy!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is absolutely wonderful! So many kids make great friends with their suitemates and hallmates. The residence life staff is so helpful and caring, and they make life in the dorms truly enjoyable. Plus, suite style living is the best! It's the exact right ratio of privacy and community. The dorms are all very nice and I have no complaints about life in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    While Trinity is definitely a step up from your high school coursework, the profs do a good job of easing you into college. Each year carries new responsibilities and a heavier workload, but it's worth it to know you're that much closer to graduation! The profs are very helpful and accessible, which makes all the hard work that much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus! It's obvious from the pamphlets that the campus is beautiful, but it isn't until you visit that you can see how wonderful the community here is, how kind and engaging the professors are, how fun life in the dorms is, and what a wonderful place Trinity is to live and attend school! Also, pray about your decision. Only God will lead you to the right school!

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a wonderful school. The community here is very tight-knit and God-centered. I could not ask for a better school to attend!

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety team is always on duty at Trinity. They are always just a phone call away if you need them to help you. They are very friendly and willing to lend a hand. There are also a few blue emergency poles up that immediately notify Campus Safety if you push the red button. Plus Trinity's campus is in a very safe community.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no Greek Life at Trinity Christian College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to get involved in at Trinity. Multicultural clubs, student activities, business club, service club, and even academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity Christian College is for all kinds of students, but it focuses on the students who like to give back. If you love to serve others Trinity is the place for you. There are so many opportunities that allow you to help those in need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is one unusual tradition at Trinity called OPUS. This is an event that celebrates the academic achievements of the students by showing their best works in presentations. But, the unusual part is the parade around campus that starts it off where the professors and students dress up in crazy costumes. It is a very fun event to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity is an expensive school but they offer so much. The student life, spacious dorms, and constant flow of food are all added into the cost of tuition. That doesn't include the counseling center and tutoring that they offer at no additional cost. You also can't beat the four dollar smoothies they have at the cafe!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do at Trinity. Student Activities and Residence life are always planning events for all the students to enjoy (even if you are a commuter). There are dances which includes the Black Light Dance held in February and Spring Formal held in March. There are mass trips that the students can go on that have minimal to no cost. There is also a sports center and ice arena not far from campus. You can also just hang with the many friends that you will make. You will never be bored here at Trinity!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall here at Trinity is one of the best. They offer a variety of buffet style food including a salad bar, sandwich station, soup of the day, and a choice of 3 different entrees with sides. That doesn't even include the cereal station, waffle maker, bagel & bread drawer, and ice cream station. There is always something you will like at the dining hall. They even have themed days in the dining hall where you can win prizes. If you get tired of eating in the dining hall you can always go to the Bootsma Bookstore Cafe and grab something to eat as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Trinity is fun. When you are a freshman you will be staying in West or South Hall. West hall is a busy with many of the students occupying the upper and lower lobby. South hall is very social. Everyone's doors are always open and everyone knows each other. Tibstra and Alumni Hall are for upperclassmen (Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors). Alumni is fairly quiet but one of the nicer dorm halls. It has three lobbies and balconies, and it also houses the fitness center in the basement. Tibstra hall is the most communal hall next to South. Each room houses up to six students and has a kitchenette in each room. All of the halls host plenty of fun activities that will surely keep you busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Trinity is a college that believes in strong academics. The professors are awesome teachers but they expect you to do your best. The curriculum is challenging but if you stay focused and study then it will become easy. If you get a high GPA it puts you in the running for the scholarships that Trinity offers. Even if you have a learning disability the school will work with you so that you can have extra help to achieve great grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, make sure you get your FASFA done as soon as you can so that you get the maximum amount of financial aid. You will also have to apply for outside scholarships to cut down the cost of tuition (Trinity is a private college and does not offer as many scholarships as public universities). Trinity offers many tours in particular a tour called Destination Trinity, where you are able to get a taste of the college life. They let you stay with students in the dorm halls, eat at the dining hall, and visit professors in your major. Don't be afraid to talk to your professors they actually like to hear from their students.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Christian College is a great place to establish your faith deep in Jesus Christ all while getting a quality education. The students are friendly and the staff and professors are very helpful. It is a place where you can focus on God's calling on your life.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I believe that the price is very reasonable for what they teach you.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport or travel abroad!

    Food and Dining

    The Bootsma Bookstore & Cafe is amazing! They have just about everything a studying student could need to snack on while having scholar time.

    Dorm Life

    I was told that the dorm life is great, but when I attended, the students hadn't returned yet, so I didn't visit them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem to be challenging, but not so much as to you won't be able to complete your work with or without help,

    Tips for prospective students

    Request information today for the course you want to take. Also, if time allows, visit the school at least twice (I would recommend this for any school, seeing as which the first time you may get the wrong feeling, but you can't go wrong twice).

    In three sentences

    What I like about this college is that it isn't too big and the people (students/staff) are extremely nice and helpful. It also has a very nice bookstore and cafe! I would definitely recommend this college to everyone new to the college world.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around. I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Varieties you could even start your own club!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The chapel is a place used for many different things. For example I performed at Trinity's annual talent show called troll stock it was amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity Christian college is a extraordinary college. It has excellent professors that will be there for you whenever you need them. Lastly, Trinity's goal for their students is to help them graduate and before they leave help them find their purpose and grow in Christ.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of fun activities on campus to keep you busy. Also there are many fun and awesome events held on campus. For example movie nights, holloween parties, and more.

    Food and Dining

    You get your money worth.

    Dorm Life

    I love staying on campus. I started out as a commuter, but quickly changed to resident life and I believe it was the best decision I have ever made.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit trinity and see how you like it. Do destination Trinity, that is where you can stay over night and tour the campus. Apply apply apply!!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Trinity is an amazing school, and I love it dearly. It is not your normal college, and it is a college that helps you grow in different area such as spiritually and academically. If I had to choose a college home all over again I would choose Trinity every time.