Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinity College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting a challenge both in the classroom and outside of it will fit in perfectly here. The sports teams are amazing due to the talent that is there and the people that are on the field with you. Students that want to get involved with anything and everything will fit in too. We have clubs for just about everything you can imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to change. I am from a small town in Maine. The thought of living in a city, even a small one such as Hartford, scared me. I would have never imagined myself being happy in an urban setting, but I am.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a preppy school, there is no doubt about it. When I first visited the campus, that was all I could see. I only looked at the people and had a preconceived notion of how life at Trinity would be. I was completely wrong. I am not the least bit preppy and I love it here. I now cannot picture myself anywhere else.

  • 08/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated, open-minded

    Tips for prospective students

    Trinity offers many opportunities and there are many resources to help you find your niche in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    The college offers a quality education. And many grants are offered for students who could not attend Trinity otherwise.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people and organizations on campus make the atmosphere one to thrive in.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many professors here that have earned the highest degree in their field and they are very capable in their areas of study.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind, I see all types of people around the campus and from what I can tell, they all have unique, but great experiences here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be daunted by the inner-city atmosphere, Trinity is like its own little community. I suggest visiting the school if you can. The campus is so beautiful, it will inspire you to strive towards that acceptance letter.

    Bang for the buck

    Be warned, Trinity is expensive, especially for those without financial aid or scholarships. However, I think the Trinity experience is worth it in the end.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people around here are great. Trinity truly embodies the idea that the friends you make in college will be your friends for life. Parties are great here, but you don't have to drink to have a good time. Lots of fun and unforgettable memories. I can say all of this even though I'm only a semester in.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors under whom I have studied so far have shown themselves to be extremely knowledgeable. The quality of the education, combined with the academic atmosphere, can be highly beneficial no matter what kind of learner you are.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly Competitive

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if Trinity College doesn't have a big name-it's an amazing school. Extremely proud to be a bantam!

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety doesn't have a dominant presence on campus, but they work well with the police who are stationed nearby in the case of actual incidents. Most times, the best advice is to use good judgement--don't travel alone after 2am.

    Greek Life

    Greek life dominates the social scene on campus, but is not a major influence in other aspects of campus life. There are no recognized Black Greek organizations on campus, although all greek organizations are inherently multiracial.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs, and if there isn't one for you, it's easy to start one. On the downside, the large number of clubs and the small student body means that interests are split, and there are no places were the entire student body ever really converges.

    Great for these types of students

    Creatively inclined students: for students who want to dabble in every creative media, there is opportunity and time to do so, however it may be hard to combine an artistic discipline with a math/science discipline because of the rigor of the coursework. Independent Motivated Students: If you know what you want to do, Trinity gives you the tools to just get to it. Students who need help: The classes are generally not large, and provide ample opportunity for one-on-one time between students and professors. Often, you develop lasting relationships with professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mather Dining Hall is the hub of the school. After freshman year, don't eat there unless necessary because you'll see so many friends and even professors you want to talk to, it'll be hard to leave.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity is a little costly, but working with the career services office and researching scholarships will not only benefit you financially, but will establish a much needed habit of researching for internships and jobs later on. The education will be more than worth it though.

    What to do for fun

    For those who want to find things to do within the immediate area, Hartford may seem a little limited, especially if you're used to large cities, but New York and Boston are not far away. Partying is the most common activity, but there are other things to do as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but can become repetitive. What can't be found on campus can be found in the local eateries, which Hartford is well known for.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively nice, but could use some updates, simply to increase the level of interaction between students. There isn't really a place on campus for all students to hang out at once during the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, this rating can vary from 3 stars to 5 stars. Unlike most colleges, the majors are challenging but highly enjoyable. For those who don't know what they want to do, there are plenty of classes that can interest you.

    Tips for prospective students

    TIME MANAGEMENT is ESSENTIAL to a Trinity College student's life. Also, get involved. Freshman year should be used to experience as much as possible, but narrow down your interests as the years progress. Be open minded, because the community suffers from preconceived ideas about different activities, social groups, and perceptions.

    In three sentences

    It is a small community, but has a deceptively large network available for students to tap into. The dominant culture is preppy but don't be fooled, not everyone is. The faculty are dedicated and committed to their fields and bring a lot of passion to their classes.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are parties every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    the food is repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    you will probably get on-campus housing each year.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are tougher than other liberal arts colleges in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    always apply to go abroad!

    In three sentences

    trinity college is located in hartford, ct. this isn't the most exciting city, but it is located between new york city and boston. trinity college is a small campus with a small student population.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hartford is ghetto and dangerous no matter how ya wanna slice it, if its in the top 25 most dangerous cities listevery year, thats unavoidable. We have campus safety but campus isnt safe due to our heavy drinking and it being in Hartford

    Greek Life

    It was great, it will suck (2013-2014).

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy kids, Athletes, transfer students. Generally kids who are from the east coast, particularly New England students.

    What to do for fun

    Not all that much. Mostly drinking. too much drinking and it gets very old very fast, like second semester freshman year or definitely by first semester sophomore year. The clubs in Hartford are much more exciting if you're into that, I'm not really...The on campus activities become really refreshing and fun after a while. Recently watch a documentary in the school movie theater on Bob Marley with free popcorn and it made my day!

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is so avg when it comes to their entrees. But hey its clean, fresh and they have great junk food and deserts! Their bringing some new options to campus this year so that should be cool, Chipotle and maybe a smoothie place will be here next year (2013-14)

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman its pretty crappy. Its getting better every year though, new townhouses are going up and will be done second semester next year (2013-14) and freshman housing will be greatly improved!

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it. If one were to do all of the assigned readings and such it would probably be an A level of rigor. However, most don't and I would give it a A-/B+ rating but this largely depends on your high school background.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get too caught up in the drinking and partying aspect of Trinity, it's not worth it honestly. Be prepared to not get that Econ class you so badly want, everyone wants it.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a very good school with what i would call A- level academics. It almost has a big university feel in that it isn't as incestuous as other smaller liberal arts schools. However compared to other NESCACs it doesn't have the same level of academic rigor. Overall it's a fine college, well rounded and balanced with lots of nice kids and professors.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is on there job 24/7 you will always feel safe on this campus, and see at least one campus safety officer on campus trip (class, cafe, etc)

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous varsity sports, numbers clubs/ inter mural spoorts to get involved with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you end up visiting this school you need to check out the famous chapel on campus. It is a simple exquisite building. I find the benches which have carvings of different figures really interesting.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Students receieve daily emails on events that are occuring on campus.these include parties, mathcehs to attend, activiiteies rto be involved in, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is wonderful with variety of places to eat. honestly breakfast is my favorite meal and this school serves breakfast like an hotel. You know what that means, its great. All meals are delicious lunch and dinner, such that the chefs do not bore you with the same foods everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful with Co-ed buildings and even comfortable living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics of courses at this school prepare students for challenge in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should consider going attending Trinity College If you want to prepare your self for the real world after college. There are numerous study away programs set up in other countries to enlighten students of a world outside of the US. This school is considered a Small Ivy League for a reason.

    In three sentences

    This college is great if you want to become successful in life. Since its a liberal arts college it prepares you in other fields of study that do not directly relate to your major. Campus life is wonderfully filled with a diversity of people who are friendly and accepting.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an open campus some of out facilities are open to the public. Since we have an open campus, we have a lot of security. If you are walking around anywhere on campus you are always going to see some security walking around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everybody on campus to do. And I know every college says this, but if you cannot find something that you like to do on campus club-wise, you can always start up a new club.

    Bang for the buck

    (Assuming that this is asking if the school is worth the money) I get my money's worth coming here. I'm exposed to great people, great opportunities as well as academic rigor.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an event to attend on campus. There are sports events to attend, events sponsored by culture houses, movies on campus, dinners and parties.

    Food and Dining

    There are a good amount of options for eating on campus and even off into the community. There are 3 main dining halls to eat in and there are different foods offered in each of them all the time. Both hot food and food to-go are easy to get on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a freshman, I have a single (which isn't uncommon) and I like my living arrangement. My room is a good size, I get heat in my room. The people on my floor are friendly and sometimes I even hang out with people in my hall who have quads. My RA is nice, and isn't overbearing.

    Academic Rigor

    You can take classes on a range of academic rigor, you education here can really be tailored to what it is that you are looking to gain from school. You can move at a relaxed or very rigorous pace, taking challenging and well taught classes at your own discretion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you positively distinguish yourself, and make sure that you demonstrate how you would be an asset to the community in your application as well as in your interviews or phone calls to the school.

    In three sentences

    Trinity College is a great place to be challenged academically. Both academics and social life are important here as long as you can find a healthy balance between the two. In coming to Trinity College you should be prepared to meet different types of people of different cultures.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are literally everywhere you look.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DONT STEP ON THE PLAQUE

    What to do for fun

    There's a ton of clubs and extracurriculars and intramurals. Most predominantly, party.

    Food and Dining

    It's not bad. It gets repetitive like all college food but it's actually good. Three main eating places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are very strict but the upperclassmen dorms virtually have no rules. Just go party there so you don't get in trouble.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are easy some are impossible. This creates a rigorous but feasible work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about fitting in, you will fit in.

    In three sentences

    Party. Fun. Rigorous.