Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinity International University-Illinois Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People from small town or suburbs. People who like the more community feel rather than a huge anonymous feeling campus. People will know who you are even if they haven't met you. The classes are small and you have to be able to participate. There's not enough people to be completely anonymous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trinity is a small school with a great community atmosphere. Make sure you meet with someone in your department before you make a decision. I am in Christian Ministries and Biblical Studies, which are both high end majors here. Since the school is small there are limited majors and minors.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People wanting a more personal college experience in a smaller environment would enjoy this school. Because of smaller class sizes, the professors are very accessible and personable, and almost always take a personal interest in their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have many good friends here and appreciate the intentional community and all the opportunities to get involved, get connected, and serve.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a student in the Christian Ministries department and am definitely learning a lot. The classes and professors challenge my thinking and keep me wanting to learn more.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    we've got just about everything you could want.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone looking to deepen their academic life, spiritual life, and athletic career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    twice a year one of the girls dorms hosts a coffee house style event that allows for students to express their various musical talents for the rest of the campus--one of my favorite events here.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a small liberal arts college that (i believe) is heading in the right direction. the school has its ups and downs but i believe that it has provided me an excellent place to grow. i'd still pursue this school if i could do it all over again.

    What to do for fun

    one of the perks of going to this school is its proximity to chicago--just hop on the train and you're heading downtown. some of the weekends can get pretty dry but there usually is something going on.

    Food and Dining

    again, the food is average. the selection is usually pretty good and nothing is ever disgusting. the dining services offers two different places for obtaining food which is rather convenient and good for late night studying.

    Dorm Life

    the housing options are, well, average. all of the residence halls are set up in an apartment style setting--something most students seem to enjoy. some of the buildings are getting a bit old. overall, the students find a way to maintain a healthy amount of time studying and having fun in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the majority of the professors are excellent and extremely well qualified. the university has a great student to faculty ratio which allows for a lot of helpful one-on-one interaction with the professors; of course, there are a few rotten apples but they are avoidable! the classes demand a lot but are well worth it if you truly apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    trinity is a place for students looking to develop academically, spiritually, and as a real person. the school requires a lot to be successful, so come prepared!

    In three sentences

    tiu is a place that encourages the development of each student holistically. the university's aim is to create a community in which every student can maximize their impact in the world.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many activities on campus. there also many clubs to join. there are sports and clubs. there is a program that helps young leaders develop their leadership skills.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good. there are many choices to choose from. there is also a little cafe sort of that you can buy from if you want something more specific.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are really nice. they make you feel like it's your new home. there is so much peace and fun that goes on in them.

    In three sentences

    trinity is an amazing school. i haven't even started going there, and i already feel as if i am a part of the school. the community of the school is amazing. everyone is so close and treat each other as a family.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some go out for fun, some stay in and watch a movie for fun, some play sports for fun, and some study for fun. You are, in large part, the author of what you do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great to me. There's always something delicious, with a wide variety of flavors and levels of healthiness.

    Dorm Life

    Do not expect to be surrounded by a perfect community. A Christian community is one filled with justified sinners. Seek brothers or sisters in Christ to confide in and share life with, and live with them the following year. The Lord has blessed me beyond measure through the spiritually uplifting community He has placed around me.

    Academic Rigor

    This in part depends on your major and professor choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek the wisdom and company of upperclassmen, and especially the professors in your area of study! Ask, and it will be given to you.

    In three sentences

    Trinity is an excellent school which provides the care of godly faculty and the opportunity to learn richly in many areas of study. Trinity is very small, so course options are very limited, but the resources available through Trinity's library and vast network of connections in the community allows for independent and culturally engaging study. The administration, faculty, and staff at Trinity seek to foster a healthy Christian community, so it's students can learn and grow not only in knowledge and understanding, but in the Truth of the Word and in the Spirit of God.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMELY safe campus. It is always easy to reach campus security but you probably will not need to bother.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ethnic clubs, Student Government, and religious clubs make the campus very well-rounded and diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    The library is great for the bookworms because it remains REALLY quiet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Coffee House in the Johnson girls dorm is always fun on the weekends. Local talent, including TIU students put their talents on display for whoever wants to see.

    Bang for the buck

    TIU is a private school, and so depending on your financial situation, it may be a bit on the expensive side, but the academic, social and professional opportunies make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of student activities, the gymnasium, and sports games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is almost brand-new and is always clean. Large variety in meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is AWESOME! There are four dormitories on campus for undergraduates and each of them is unique and fun in some way.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are reasonably tough and are taken seriously by professors and most students.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with every college, there are distractions, but focus and you will be just fine.

    In three sentences

    A friendly, comfortable environment that breeds success. A nice, calm campus that helps students focus on academics. An easy course sign-up process.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is equipped with security and cameras in important areas (parking lots, computer rooms, dorms, etc.) and security continues to grow as the need arises.

    Bang for the buck

    Great professors and faculty create a place that is comfortable, safe, and excellent in its academics.

    What to do for fun

    At Trinity, there is always something going on. The students are always encourage to participate and provide feedback as to what should be going on in the campus' life. Students can readily try new groups and ministries as well as meet new people. Also, a great feature is that Trinity is just a drive away from Chicago. With a little effort and participation there are plenty of opportunity for fun at Trinity.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall has excellent staff that truly care about the students and really enjoy feedback and experimenting. The food has come a long way and is continuing to get better and better as the staff continue to try and create fantastic options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Trinity are well done and for the most part well taken care of. If you experience any problems the facility services are just a call or work order away. The buildings encourage community and really grow on you.

    Academic Rigor

    I have really enjoyed my academic experience at Trinity so far. The classes are fun and challenging at the same time and the professors really put in their effort to make every class a memorable one.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend seeing the campus and meeting the staff and faculty. They are the people who really make up the school environment and they have such a passion for people. If anything, visit the campus and meet as many people as you can. They love visitors!

    In three sentences

    Trinity is a place that is full of community. Trinity puts the spiritual needs of the students as priority. Trinity is a place for the student that wants to seek God while working towards an excellent education.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security that goes around the clock along with the banokburn police department to make sure that the students are taken care of and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here at trinity there are many clubs and activities to get into yet it all makes up one big community. We have football, Student government, Multicultural movements with others.

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity is great for students who like to meet new people and loves a calm atmosphere and friendly people.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity international is pretty expensive but you get top quality teaching for the price.

    Food and Dining

    Food could use a little work but for the most part, it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is safe and fun. i would reccomend it to anyone who is considering trinity.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Trinity and getting good grades is tough, the teachers will challenge you and take you to another level. I would give the acedimic level four stars because there is a lot that is demanded of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I want to encourage prospective students to come ready to work and have a lot of fun as well as gain valuable knowledge from it.

    In three sentences

    Trinity International University is a dynamic school with top grade professors coupled with great heart warming community.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Unkown

    Clubs and Activities

    The soccer program is outstanding.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    What to do for fun

    Take the train to Chicago.

    Dorm Life

    I have no problem with dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and look at many different schools before making your decision.

    In three sentences

    This is an awesome Christian school. I love it. I could not imagine myself at any other school.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -Join the leadership program on campus -Become involved -Attend chapel

    In three sentences

    Trinity is an incredible university. It provides an environment where you are unashamed to love the Lord. With this being said you will find a great community. This includes the professors who are challenging but care deeply about their students.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to football,soccer,basketball, volleyball events and supporting each other year around is the most fun! Also, we are pretty close to the city of Chicago so, getting groups of friends together and taking the train to the city just to walk around and to see Navy Pier or the famous bean in Millenium Park is one amazing experience!

    Food and Dining

    The food at our school is amazing! The cafeteria is so clean and welcoming. It makes your homesick go away quickly! Its a very clean environment and I recommend it for anyone even if you are just coming to visit, make sure and check out our awesome cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a place to create relationship and forever friendships. It gives you the chance to reach out and touch others lives as well as listening to them and taking in new perspectives for your own life.

    Academic Rigor

    Being able to point every subject we learn at Trinity right back to the Lord makes every subject more interesting. I came from a public school where Christ was't allowed to be talked about and praying through every class here at Trinity makes learning and school one hundred times better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be open to new things. Open your heart and let God work in and out of you. Every opportunity you have to help someone please take it. You are given the best thing in the world which is a life here on earth so, do your best to give all you can back to our Heavenly Father. Life is so short, and you will find helping others helps you to enjoy a healthier lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    The greatest place to find yourself and a relationship with the Lord. The nicest people you will find around the area. The most caring faculty and staff I have ever experienced.

  • 06/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good the security rides around at night to make sure students are in bed

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty there aren't a lot of party's

    Great for these types of students

    Sports are great for everyone it builds friendships and team building great for the workforce.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is unusual how much school spirit these student have.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is loaded with scholarships go look on the website for example if you have a 2.9 Gpa and a 1050 on your math and reading combined only you get $10,000 every year.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Chicago is only 20 minutes away but always travel in groups and make sure you know what parts you shouldn't even think of going.

    Food and Dining

    Food is natural organic but I am a country boy the food isn't what I would like collard greens potato bread perlo rice, roasted pig. But I actually like what they have to offer There pizza even though its organic is pretty good which surprised me because you can see any grease we all know it ain't pizza unless the grease is soaking through the box its probably better for me and others any way because once your down here your eating habits change for the better you eat healthier with out even realizing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different down here they aren't called dorms there called suites, because that's basically how it is setup down here you can choice the apartments on campus for married couples,single apartments double apartments. Seniors can get the privilege of living in a dorm by there self to get accustomed to life after college. but the regular dorms are nice they include 4 bed rooms for 8 people 2 showers a full bathroom and a living room, or you can choose the 2 bedroom living room and full bathroom which I would recommend it is located in the same building as some of your classes

    Academic Rigor

    I attend one class on my campus visit i felt challenged not because of the information being taught but because of the way the information was being taught the professor's present the information in way that makes you think deep on the simplest of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I will inform you that these majors are not as diverse as other university's. For example they don't offer engineering but they do offer pre-law, pre-med, and athletic training.

    In three sentences

    T.I.U is a special campus.It is not to big and its not to small, but it is big on God which is all I really wanted in school. The campus is must go if you are big on making friends eating organic food and staying in dorms that are like a mini house, the dorm I stayed in had 4 bedrooms a bathroom and two showers with curtains that is especially great for guys who hate taking open showers.