Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Trinity Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TVCC is a great place for students who are from a small community and aren't sure about jumping right into a university. There are also a ton of opportunities for athletes and performers.

    Tips for prospective students

    At any college, I would definitely recommend, getting involved. It really boosts the quality of your experience. Don't be afraid to ask questions, and remember to try and interact with your instructors as much as possible. If you have a good relationship with your instructors, your grades with reflect it.

    Bang for the buck

    TVCC is the least expensive two-year college in the surrounding area of wear I live, and we all know that college can really cost you. Having the best college experience I think I could possibly have really pays for itself.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the environment at TVCC due to the diversity and friendliness. I am meeting so many new people, and everyone is always so eager to help. Most of the staff has been around for awhile, so they definitely understand their job and know how to help you with just about anything.

    Am learning a lot

    The quality of what I am learning in class is definitely close to the top. The instructors really take the time to make sure that you are getting all of the material. I am not only learning educational material, but I am also learning so many new things about myself.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for the type of person that goes to school to get a degree. If your goal is to have fun, make friends, and earn a few credit hours along the way... then you might want to consider a school with more student activities. But if you're like me, then school is school and you will like it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask other students to recommend a professor to you. They will gladly (almost too gladly) tell you the good, the bad, and the nasty. I've found that most students genuinely wish to see you succeed. Also, don't let the school make too much money off of you. If you're going for a degree higher than an Associates, go ahead and get your degree plan together from the University you plan to attend. If you don't, then the counselors will probably have you taking courses that you don't need and/or not taking the ones that you do need.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really affordable! I have no complaints on the pricing.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, the staff and students are really down to earth. And since it's a small town, it's not uncommon to have a classmate (that you've never met) stop you in the grocery store and discuss your course with you.

    Am learning a lot

    It really depends on the class, and the professor! My math teachers have been awesome! And one of the Psychology professors (Chip Chilton) is incredible! Like all schools, there are still the professors that don't give a flip.

  • 01/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for persons in the Trinity Valley area but not only that but also Forney, Terrell, Athens, Rockwall, Wellspoint and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look into the college you want to attend not only on the computer but in person. The advisers are more than helpful and will take care of all your questions.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are great if your are in district but being out can be kind of steep. Never the less, the education you can acquire here is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy this school because everyone from the teachers and faculty to advisers all have a understanding about the students. They always go out of their way to help.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers make a point to actually connect with the students here and offer as much support as they can. They spend time after every class to help students who don't comprehend material and find ways to spark their interest.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    take a class you do not think you will enjoy, because it may turn out to be something you base the rest of your life off of.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is important to ask for help when you need it. teachers will help you if you show an interest. meet all deadlines early. apply for as many scholarships as you can even if you don't qualify for financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    i would have to agree completely with this statement. although trinity valley community college still costs money, the comparison of tuition and fees to other community colleges reveals that it is cheaper while providing a respectable atmosphere for learning.

    Am enjoying being here

    College life and working at the same time are difficult to balance at times, but I do enjoy and am exceedingly greatly to be taking courses at a small community college before being thrust into the fast pace of a four year university.

    Academic Rigor

    i am learning that it is vital to your success for you, as a student, to be aware of your goals, your surroundings, and to meet all deadlines on time. college doesn't slow down for people who are running behind. be on time, or miss out on your future.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.The campus police are always on the look out.

    Greek Life

    their phi theta kappa society is very active and has been recognized severally for its excellence.It gives students many opportunities to participate in community work and interesting conferences.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student senate

    Great for these types of students

    Football players,basketball players,volleyball players...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing extraordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    ............................

    What to do for fun

    Table tennis,watch T.V,play soccer,watch basketball and football games,

    Food and Dining

    Not at all impressive.However,on a lucky day,you might just enjoy the meals.

    Dorm Life

    Relatively expensive and not the expected college experience.However,they try maintain discipline within the dorms which is quite impressive.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a generally competitive school with lots of opportunities to excel.The professors help you to attain your goal.Work load is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be independent. Preferably have your own means of transport to go around. Manage your time well.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten,i'd give them a 7.5.It is generally a good school with a good learning environment.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    BE smart and aware. I had a stalker for about 4 months and he really made me nervous. I did inform two Professors and they kept an eye on him but it literally took me confronting him face to face to make it stop - now I have no problems with him - creepy!

    Greek Life

    ??? Can't comment here...

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved an any of these types of things. I am a single parent of two small children who play sorts and a full-time student and work p/t. I just don't have the time. However, some colleges do have plenty of activities and clubs or organizations to get involved in - ask the admission's office.

    Great for these types of students

    Take a test to see what personality type you are - then compare it to what type of learner you are and try to learn your studies based off that. It really does help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't really have anything unusual on our small campus...sorry

    Bang for the buck

    After a two-year degree in Nursing, I will be making at least $45-$50/hr. I will only have to work 3 days per week and off 4. I will get to travel as a travel nurse for free, all expenses paid (lodging, food, air fare) and still pocket my full paycheck! Nursing pays the most staring out with a 2 year degree! Can't wait!

    What to do for fun

    Find your hobby. Mine is photography. When I get stressed and tired from my studies, I pick up my camera and take a walk or go some place to shoot for a while. It takes my mind off studies and allows me to re-focus. Sometimes, if I get all my priorities taken care of,I'll pan a girls weekend and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    All I can say is eat cheap! Because tuition and books are going to take every dime you have. $$$ menu is great! The cafeteria at my school has ever been open!

    Dorm Life

    I have only experienced dorm life thru a few parties. If you ask me, I don't see how anyone can get anything accomplished with all the noise and parties and inconsiderate people. For most, it's all about the party on attitude. I always lived off campus and still do - it's much more peaceful for study purposes.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to really set aside time to study. School doesn't come easy for most - so you have to discipline yourself to make the grades. No grades, no money, no future...simple as that. Oh yeah, and don't whine and moan about how hard it is. Just do it and get it over with...

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay one step ahead of the other 1,000's of students at school. Don't procrastinate! It gets you no where fast! And remember...the early bird really does get the worm. Discipline yourself to study time and don't party too much! But have fun and make smart choices! After all, it is your financial future you are working towards - not how many friends you can make or how much you party...

    In three sentences

    So far, I have had a pretty great experience. I did not expect it to be a walk in the park, but the Admission Advisers are awesome and extremely helpful in making scheduling choices. And so far, the financial aid office rocks!

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Local and regional sporting events, movie theaters, shopping and outdoor recreation.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus.

    In three sentences

    A very good way to ease into the college experience. To obtain basic courses in order to transfer to a University. An easy commute making college accessible to students in a largely rural area.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They make sure no harm is done to any students and also make sure you're not hurting anyone your self!

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs. But they offer block parties that are fun and entertaining. You get to meet people and socialize with people outside of your dorm.

    Great for these types of students

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    TVCC is the least expensive two-year college in the surrounding area of wear I live, and we all know that college can really cost you. Having the best college experience I think I could possibly have really pays for itself

    What to do for fun

    Go to the the football games, volleyball, and basketball (men&women). You can also participate in the different activities they offer for students who are non-athletes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. They have different varieties that you can choose from. Like; fruit, salad, entree', grill, cereal, drinks as well as ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! They're like mini apartments. You have your own room space and your own counter space in the restroom. You also have different activities on your floor with the other residents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in knowing what you want and don't be afraid to ask for help. They'll take you in as their own if you let them. Allow the counselors to help with your major and your classes!

    In three sentences

    Trinity Valley is caring, loyal and all about their students. I'm honored to say I am a cadinal and support the red, black and white. They try their very best to make sure that they are availible 100%, if they cant help you they'll get you the help you need!

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ping Pong, Tennis, any sports.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Valley Community College is a great school to attend. All of the activities and classes that i love are offered here. The school is not too big, so i love the bonus one-on-one learning i can get from my professors.

  • 10/29/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    getting into tvcc would be great, financialy i cant afford school.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not too sure what there is to do for fun, but there is a basketball court and some other various things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and dining areas are clean.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorm, but they just recently build a new dorm hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything depends on the classes that you decide to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would reccommend coming here for Dual Credit in High School.

    In three sentences

    The school is absolutely wonderful. The entire teaching staff is very helpful.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a Police Squad for the campus. They seem very effective and efficient in their duties.

    Greek Life

    I know of Phi Theta Kappa, and I am sure there are others, just none that I am eligible to participate in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa (International Honor Society), Drill Team, Cheerleading, Softball, Football, Women's and Men's Basketball, Women's Court Volleyball, Intermural Leagues, Student Senate, Chemistry Club, plus many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult Students, kids who went to a small high school, financially disadvantaged students, Students who want to go to school in a small community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Math and Journalism building has a rock exterior, which makes for an interesting place. I do not know of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like my education is a excellent one, while also not having to pay even an eighth of what my friends at big universities have to pay.

    What to do for fun

    There is always Wal-Mart. There is a theater in town, several dining places, a few shopping places, and probably more that I have yet to find.

    Food and Dining

    Did not experience this aspect of TVCC.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm. My mom and I moved up here after I graduated from high school, so I lived at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics come naturally to me, so some classes seemed almost too easy. But this provided me the opportunity to help those who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many kids that go here are from around here, so it may take some effort to get into the groove of things and to meet new friends, although there are plenty of kids from elsewhere. And there are many Adult Students who go back to get a better education while maintaining a job, a family, or both.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed the small class sizes and the individualization allowed at TVCC. The classes are college level, but the professors teach to whatever level of experience you have while maintaining the higher education goals. Many professors even take time to help individual students who are struggling, or the direct them to the Peer Tutoring or to other students who are doing well in the class.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Personally i think the professors there are extremely nice and helpful; but that being said the financial office and counselors office need lot of work. You have to fight with the administration to actually get threw and find out what is best for you. So if you already know the ins and outs of what you want TVCC is best community college for you.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    I hear good things, I however have not experienced dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    When in college, never lose site of the reason your there.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Valley Community College is an educational institution that not only opens your mind to new ways of learning, but teaches you the skills to apply that to real-life situations.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are always there and give you the full amout of class time that you paid for

    Food and Dining

    They do not serve food at the terrell campus either it's only vending machines

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms at the TVCC in Terrell, TX

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor for TVCC is not too tough as long as you study

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till the last minute to register because the classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Valley Communitiy College overall is a great school for locals. TVCC has some great teachers and resources for help. TVCC is also great for high school students seeking dual credit

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Available

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Have not started attending yet but enrolled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all academic options available.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Valley is a very friendly school. Everyone is willing to help and assist you at all times. There are many opportunities for the students that attend school there.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are pool tables and ping pong tables in the Sub.

    Food and Dining

    The Grille Works in the SUB is pretty good, but dont go the the cafeteria... bleh...

    Dorm Life

    I dont know and dont care. I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty good... but the teachers actually care and will take the time to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management, Time management, Time management

    In three sentences

    I think its good for the price. Not my favorite, but it is a good starting point.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bad parking in Kaufman

    Bang for the buck

    High cost if you live out of county

    Food and Dining

    Small cafe

    Dorm Life

    Didn't do

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the size surprise you. The teachers care.

    In three sentences

    Small college.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    well it seems like the campus police is more worried about me and my friends smoking cigarettes by the campus than the gang fights that happen in classrooms i think they need to stop terrorizing me and my friends and focus on the criminals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    me and my friends like to meet in front of the dorms and we call it the lot we called ourselves the lot nelson honey badgers we didn't do anything like go on vacation together but we would always find a way to hang out or get school work done.

    Bang for the buck

    i wish i had enough money to go to a real college

    What to do for fun

    the student activities commission sets things up for us students to do but were in our 20s were don't want to play twister or go camping we want fun parties

    Food and Dining

    awful the only place i will eat on campus is grille works and that place is so unhealthy i feel bad eating there

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms

    In three sentences

    The school is nice, but the teachers here act like they are better than the students.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We've been on lock down a few times this year..

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a part of the TVCC Cardinal Regiment! We have a lot of fun!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus! Join a sport, band or choir!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the greatest. It has it's good days and it's bad days.

    Dorm Life

    I recommend you live in Cardinal Hall! Those dorms are amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you go up to the college to see what you need to fill out to be admitted into this college, go online! You can find everything you need! This will make thing a lot more easier.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The professors are kind and are willing to help you out. If you plan to be apart of the TVCC Cardinal Regiment you WILL have a lot of fun!

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cardinal Singers and band concerts, basketball games

    Tips for prospective students

    Be able to look stuff up online on their website.

    In three sentences

    It has an amazing choir and choir director. The people are so friendly. The classes are helpful and I have learned a lot already!

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some activity going on here!!

    Great for these types of students

    TVCC is great for athletic students!!

    Bang for the buck

    Purchase textbooks online instead in the bookstore (then you can really stretch your dollar).

    What to do for fun

    The basketball team won nationals for the second time in a row!!

    Academic Rigor

    I believe this school deserves 5 stars!

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying really pays off on this campus!!

    In three sentences

    TVCC is a fantastic campus with down-to-earth instructors. Any student can make an A in most of the classes if they just do the assignments. Talking to the counselors will really help in choosing the right instructor for each class.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria area with vending machines, did not utilize often.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Limited options due to campus size

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, ask, and if necessary ask again. This is your education, your future, you should have all the information you need to make decisions best for you. If one person cannot help you, find another that can.

    In three sentences

    For a rural community college, it is very good school overall. The administration and instructors are wonderful! My only complaint would be that because it is such a small campus (Terrell), class offerings are limited.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student center offers a range of things to do from ping pong to haunted houses and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great the cafeteria has a variety of things to offer and the grill is a great place to study and have a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live on campus but my friends do and it is a place to call home for the two years you are there.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a criminal justice major at Trinity Valley Community College and the classes as well as the professors that teach these courses are absolutely amazing. The basic classes offered are very interesting as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great idea to start out here as you are getting settled into how college works. Study hard and go to class and you will do just fine at TVCC.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a college to start off at this is an excellent place to look into. Trinity Valley Community College has a range of degrees and certificates to offer and the faculty is outstanding. This campus provides a casual atmosphere and great community to be involved in.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe on campus. There were courtesy officers and the area is very open and well lit

    Clubs and Activities

    All the typical clubs you would expect from a college.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults wanting to further their education Students fresh out of high school High school students wanting to earn dual credit

    Bang for the buck

    I earned my Associates degree at my own expense and finished in a year. It surely didn't break my budget.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of organizations to join, community events, all kinds of things the college puts together for the students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options on or close to campus for dining. There are two church organizations that offer free lunch to students on certain days of the week. You are bound to find something you like!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms, but I've heard good things. Lots of options.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough to be interesting, but not so hard that you should be worried about failing. As long as your paying attention in class and studying, you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of things! Make sure you're asking questions regarding financial aid, registering for classes, academic stresses you may have, etc. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, but they will not baby you. This is your first step into the real world after high school, YOU are responsible for you now.

    In three sentences

    TVCC is a great start to your college education. Flexible and quality classes at affordable community college prices. I highly recommend attending here before you go to a 4 year university.