Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Triton College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO LEARNING, SO YOU CAN EARN A BIGGER PAY CHECK IS GREAT FOR ALL OF US. DID I ANSWER THIS QUESTION CORRECTLY ????? DAHHHH

    Tips for prospective students

    The road ends only were you want it to !*!!!!! HANG IN THERE BABY!!!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I am so broke I can't pay attention.Thank the u.s.a for federal grant money and student laons.And thank God for the U.S.A!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Will enjoy being here

    I absolutely love welding,and being a student at triton for welding is very satisfying.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to take full advantage of the welding technology coarse at triton.I know that triton has a great welding coarse,because I know someone who has earned a welding certificate from triton.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    i enjoy being in Triton college. there's just so much to do and so much things to join. Triton college makes me feel welcomed, and comfortable to be in the school. i will always recommend Triton to prospective students.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a gym!

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria in our school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Curriculum is organized and easy to follow if you put your mind to it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and read everyday!

    In three sentences

    Triton was my first college, I am now enrolled in Ambria college which is a nursing school and I intend to graduate by the summer 2013. I enjoy it very much the staff and faculty help their students out as much as they can.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Triton is good for students who need to get general education done without spending a lot or who want to go into a specific field, such as nursing or culinary.

    Bang for the buck

    Triton is much cheaper than any 4 year school, so it can be a good option for students who want to get general education requirements satisfied without spending much money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because Triton is a community college, people weren't as friendly or involved as they would be at a four year type school. There was not much to do around campus other than go to class.

    Am learning a lot

    I found all my classes very easy and didn't really learn very much at all.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    USE YOU TIME WISELY

    Bang for the buck

    its still a lil bit more than i expected even with living in district

    Am enjoying being here

    Even thonugh im close to home somewhere i dont want to be, bu tin the end triton is a good school and i shouldve came here in the beginning.

    Am learning a lot

    yea i have learned alot so far more than what i learned at my last school

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    cooking is my passion.

    Food and Dining

    cook at home.

    Dorm Life

    live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    i believe that its all about giving your full attention and all of yourself into your work in order to suceed.

    In three sentences

    triton is a very organized high paced school. it is very diverse in its students. i believe i can reach very high by finishing the 2 year program there.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always officers patrolling the campus. there is also a 24 hour police station on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    the prices are great! very affordable on any budget. the financial aid department is also always willing to help your financial needs.

    What to do for fun

    you can join a club, join a sport, or enter a music program.

    Food and Dining

    i have not eaten the food at the cafeteria but i hear very good things.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms. you have to either rent an apartment near by or live in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    everyone sets their own standards. triton allows you to be free in how you go about your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to utilize everything the school has to offer. there are many great clubs and also wonderful programs. if you ever have any questions feel free to call or come in and make an appointment with a counselor.

    In three sentences

    it is a great college. it is very affordable and the teachers are wonderful.many actually teach at big schools and teach at triton as well. i am happy with the education i have been receiving and am proud to be a triton college student.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Challenged financially, willing to be treated poorly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Playing mind games with students in the Nursing Program. Failing to release academic records for state licensing exams to everyone in my class. We are not looking at taking state boards for five months. This is unacceptable.

    Bang for the buck

    Fizzle

    Food and Dining

    Unhealthy food.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you pay for. Go to a university. Enter a bachelor's degree program.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a poor experience at Triton. Every area is disorganized and no one takes responsibility. From the Counseling Department to Financial Aid, the poor attitude of faculty and administration, and terrible customer service, expect nothing but problems.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    go to ratemyprofessor.com to get the best teachers

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty good school. It is cheaper and better to start at a community college before attending a university. The classes are smaller and you can build a better relationship with the professor.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I saved a lot of money at Triton and I got to stay at home which allowed me to save a lot more money than spending it on a dorm.

    What to do for fun

    Triton College has many clubs and sports to join in. A student just needs to be interested in these clubs and/or sports.

    Food and Dining

    I never had a chance to eat in the cafeteria. But I can say that it was very clean and organized. I also noticed that a lot of people would hand out with their friends there.

    Dorm Life

    Triton College is a community college so I didn't get to experience dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I can say that from past experience this semester my pre- calculus teacher was very thorough in her explanations. She also gave great examples and made sure that people understood what they were learning. One thing is that maybe she was a little bit too thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Triton is a great college to attend because it allows students to take the same classes that university's offer for a cheaper price.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very nice and are willing to help you when you need it. The guidance counselors are cooperative and are on broad with the students future plans. The students are sociable and work well in a school setting.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police officers are very nice to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students go here including adults

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a space center!

    Bang for the buck

    Regular credits will transfer to other school but cost way less than a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Triton students can take a class to perform every March in the Triton Troupers Circus. A lot of students hang out together in the cafeteria. In the spring time, the college hosts hotdog lunches and ice cream socials.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good because it is fresh and choices change daily. Pastas and the orange chicken are really delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers can be strict about rules and expectations. Some teachers will give you extensions on work if you ask. Some subjects will give you a lot of work every day. Solid GPA is needed for financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Triton gives out good information about programs and services. Teachers make lots of handouts, too. Read everything that is given to you if you want to be successful.

    In three sentences

    Triton helps people to be successful. Faculty are welcoming and want students to do well. Many students there do not take their learning seriously.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Triton police are always patroling and around when you need them.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Cappa

    Great for these types of students

    Great for one on one students who need the teachers attention and those who can distance and internet learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is a bang for your buck, you actually recieve a quality education and options to further it.

    What to do for fun

    Every activity they offer is family friendly and joy.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria actually has pretty good food options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be rigorous at times but its real world learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have is go in with an open mind and don't be afraid to explore different career options.

    In three sentences

    Triton college is hugely diverse, yet operates as one big community. It has the best teachers, they not only are professors but specialize in what they teach outside of the classroom. Its a very warm and welcoming start of adult life and learning.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Triton is very safe with on site campus police which can be at any building very fast. There's always police patrolling the parking lots not because there's a lot of crime but just because they are trying to prevent anything from starting.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't name some off the top of my head but there's alot of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students the college is very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    I say that its very good for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Triton College has sport teams. There's a movie theater about 3 blocks away from the college

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria open to the students but that closes around 2 pm. Close by there's fast food restaurants that include McDonald's, burger king, taco bell, wendy's, and denny's.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say because I am commuting to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the professor how easy or hard the course is. I had a semi hard course where we took a quiz every other day.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on coming in and registering for classes then be ready to wait a good two hours to see the counselor.

    In three sentences

    Triton College is very diverse which is something I like about it. My professors were very helpful my first semester and i look forward to starting this upcoming semester. i give it a 8 out of 10.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    Food and Dining

    The dining room is a great place to be! I love spending my lunches there

    Dorm Life

    No dorming at Trition

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned so much

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school, I have never been so happy and proud to be a part of a place such as Trition College.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Triton has their very own police department on campus. They are extremely friendly and do everything in their powers to keep us safe.

    Greek Life

    There is not currently any Greek life on campus. But students are in the process of creating their very own chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on and off campus. You just have to find one that fits you the best.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcome and there is no way that you wont feel welcome with their friendly environments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every month they celebrate a different ethnic group on campus and show us their traditions and food they eat,

    Bang for the buck

    Triton is a inexpensive school that you can get all of the basic course work out of the way and then transfer to a more suitable university for your attended majors.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I joined intramural sports to get myself out there. I also participate in various clubs and organizations on campus to keep well informed on up coming events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There is always a hot dish and a food bar of some sort. The food is cheap so it is easy to grab a bite in between classes. The dinning hall is open with plenty of seating. There is also outdoor seating for those nicer days.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are as hard or easy as we make them. It is up to us to choose are life goals and put them into course loads. You can choose either hard, medium, or easy work load depending on what we are focusing on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time and be attentive. Professors always like students who as questions and seem awake. If you want to get in good with the teachers you should always be on the look out for pitching in a voice.

    In three sentences

    I would give Triton college an over all B grade. It is a small school good for students who are unsure of their future goals and dreams. It is a stepping stone on the way to our futures.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always cops there but without invasion of privacy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs are fairly decent and make the school more prominent.

    Great for these types of students

    Students unsure about going to 4 year college, or those tight on money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's just odd that there are two parts to the campus and usually people don't notice this.

    Bang for the buck

    Filling out fafsa will help tremendously.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes they hold events but other than that just going to the recreation center or watching sports is the most fun you'll have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get done everything you need to at Triton so you can move on to a four year institution.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is right one because they have the best of the best police there watching out.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs that will fit everyone's needs.

    Food and Dining

    I myself have not eaten the food there, but there are vending machines everywhere for a snack.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They have a range of classes for all majors and careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know which school you want to transfer to, work hard in all of your classes and have a good time.

    In three sentences

    Triton College is good place to start your career. The students are friendly and the teachers are helpful. The advisers will really so you in the direction you want to go in.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is great on safety. Never have i ever seen or heard of anything bad going on school grounds. Security goes high levels to keep everybody safe and happy.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to participate in at Triton. Since Triton is such a diverse college they have clubs such as Spanish club, polish club, etc. They also have activities such as helping the community out either by cleaning it or just raising money to help people out. If one does not like any activity or club there are a variety in which they could pick from.

    Great for these types of students

    Triton is a great school for students that can not afford the money to go to a four year college. They are able to work around one's schedule since there are many students to work to save up money or support there family members. Also, Triton offers a great program to Special Education Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the fall Triton has their annual corn festival. Free corn and drinks are given with a performance.

    Bang for the buck

    I am currently getting my General Education at Triton College. I always wanted to attend a four year college but was not fortunate due to having to work to gain money. I had to help support my family as well as my expenses therefore the money the remind was not enough to get me through a four year college. After attending college for the first year I found out that the choice i made was actually a great choice. Now that i am in my third year in college i was able to save up and now i'm on my way to going to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    As a college student there isn't that much time for fun, however when given the chance I go out and play sports. I love the outdoor, so camping is always a great idea.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very wide open with many choices to choose from. Also, next to the school there is a restaurant that is available to all college students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is not an option here, however everybody does live around in the community.

    Academic Rigor

    Triton is great for academics. The teachers help us understand the subject to make sure we can get the most out of their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips that would help prospective students is to apply for admission and financial aid as soon as possible. It will be the end of the semester by the time you know it.

    In three sentences

    Triton Community College makes you feel like your in a great environment. The counselors at Triton help make college an easy move for anybody by helping with enrollment and class registering. At Triton we can take advantage of a lot of things like the library, gym, planetarium, and our relationship with our teachers.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    slow but we have one

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club Olympics

    What to do for fun

    every other week, the school has different events from different clubs, so there is never a dull moment.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you create and academic plan with you counselor and have them sign it to avoid taking courses you don't need.

    In three sentences

    The College is filled with helpful centers around campus. I feel that you can get the feel of a four year here without the high fees. I consider this a second home.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are undecided on what they want to do.

    What to do for fun

    It is close to the city and there is a lot of things to do around the campus. You can be easily entertained.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would have is to be very focused and have the goal of transferring after 2 years.

    In three sentences

    Triton College is a great school to start with. It is a school that is somewhere to attend when you are undecided on a major. It is a great starting point.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe i have never heard of any disturbances on campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government, Phi Theta Kappa honors society, chess, drama, dance.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes specifically baseball, basketaball and wrestling have a tradition of national rankings year in and year out also, culinary students or nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live or work in district it is worth it but if you are not from the district it will be expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Join student organizations or sport teams.

    Food and Dining

    In comparison to other school the food is pretty good, but they tend to close early on certain days.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms i commute daily. But the basketball team and baseball teams live in the dorms but there are not 5 star hotel accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken the fast track classes which are accelerated courses for seven weeks and the course load is pretty intense but not unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Triton make sure you have a car, because riding buses and trains to school isn't that fun in the winter time.

    In three sentences

    Triton college is a very diverse campus community that prides it self on in-depth interaction between faculty and students. One the best junior colleges in Illinois.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel really safe on campus because there are police around. I've felt like my life was in danger.

    What to do for fun

    The cafeteria is usually fun and live. That's where you should go if you want to meet new people. They always have something going on there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there is no dorm life, that's the only down side.

    In three sentences

    I have been going to Triton college for 1 semester. They have great classes that allow you to learn. I couldn't ask for a better environment. They have tutoring and are always willing to help.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are helpful. Never had any issues where I needed to use their resources.

    Greek Life

    Not aware of any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many diverse clubs. Not enough sport teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to complete their general education and move to a better school.

    Bang for the buck

    Triton is a community college, its prices are about $80 per credit hour, but then again, you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Join a few groups and make great connections.

    Food and Dining

    Poor quality food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Worst career preparation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow up often. They tend to be disorganized and lose lots of important paperwork. I found that if I kept a file folder and kept a checkoff list with a place to write the date, time, and person I spoke to helped in the process.

    In three sentences

    Overall, i had an excellent experience at Triton College. there are three areas i have identified that could be improved. they are, the counseling department, the cafeteria, and financial services.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    COPS ARE EVERYWHERE! I FEEL VERY VERY SAFE HERE!

    Great for these types of students

    transfer students!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the library and relax, or join in and event on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food, but the fruit bowls and jamba juice is delish!

    Dorm Life

    None. ;(

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you are taking classes that transfer in case you decide to change you major.

    In three sentences

    Triton is an amazing community college. The workload is a bit heavy but manageable. The staff and students are very friendly, helpful, and nice!

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see cops around and there is a police training building here so there are always future cops around as well

    Greek Life

    None really

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs but you don't hear about them unless you go out of your way to find them.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet people, people who are trying to save a lot of money, people who have a high tolerance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They had a corn on the cob cook out during the spring semester where they gave out a free ear of corn that was dumped in melted butter. They also gave you a free drink with it. Sounds weird but it was delicious.

    Bang for the buck

    Its worth suffering through. Each credit hour is so cheap and your saving thousands of dollars every semester compared to a university.

    What to do for fun

    They always have random events going on and when its nice out people sit out on the grass all over campus. Also there are sporting events and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food for a junior college and there are comfy couches everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    Junior college so no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Just think about how much money you are saving each year and you can still get a associates degree there which can do very well for your future.

    In three sentences

    To be honest it sucks. Most people are antisocial or just to quiet and to lazy to talk to people. Just about everyone except me smokes cigarettes. Most teachers are very well educated and know what they are talking about but every semester you always get one teacher who doesn't really care about you and your goals or you get a psycho who will take points off for not stapling a paper. I'm reading to move on to another school. Last the counslers suck.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Triton College has a decent size cafeteria. There are no fast food places like McDonald's inside Triton, only food made by Triton is served there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Triton College because it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    For the past year Triton College has been trying to make the campus more safe for it's students. There are police man walking around the library and campus non stop making sure nothing illegal is going on.

    In three sentences

    Triton College is not a bad community college. I think their teachers were great that I had because I have learned a lot.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a police station on campus. Cameras are everywhere, and cops are always patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have many clubs at Triton. Almost everyone I know is involved in some sort of club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are independent and not looking for the whole college experience then go to Triton. You get to take things more seriously, and its a great immersion of being on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the money. Other colleges are overpriced. You get the same general education as you do everywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do around campus, but the cafeteria holds many events during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is eh. Their food is either hit or miss. They have many vending machines in every building, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming is available at Triton.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on which teacher you have, but the corse work isn't bad whatsoever. What really catches up to you is all the classes you take combined.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to look at reviews on your teacher before committing to your schedule. Do not take things slow! Graduate as fast as you can. Utilize all resources Triton offers.

    In three sentences

    I think Triton is a great place to start out because it is very affordable. The teachers can be really helpful, but some can be completely awful. Overall, it's worth attending college at Triton.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police officers that are very friendly and willing to answer any questions. They have a lost and found building if anything was left by any student unattended. Never had any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer Womens basketball, softball, and soccer. They also offer Men's basketball, baseball, and soccer. I played on the women's basketball team and I loved it us girl was like a family and they will be deeply miss once I attend school at University of South Florida.

    What to do for fun

    Attend some of the performances on campus like the Jazz Band for example. Each each the Jazz Concert was fun and the music was wonderful. Better yet attend the Theater performance if you want to see a play they are great as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe' on campus is delicious. They have great deals to keep money in students pockets and food in the belly's. The school have fun outside picnics yearly so go attend. Try the fries they are to live for .

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus sorry. However the school would help students look for housing in the schooling area for in-district tuition purposes. Many students travel from there homes to attend school.

    Academic Rigor

    Just go to class, never be late or the teacher will drop you. Attending classes are fun because you never know what might happen because the Professors are really down to earth, and they want to see all their students Succeed. Just go to class and it will pay in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Join a sport team *Work on joining the Honor Club *Attend all the school events *Never be scared nor shy to ask for HELP!

    In three sentences

    Triton college was nothing but great to me. I got one-on-one help from teachers and campus Tutors located in the library. They also help me apply to my dream school which is University of South Florida that I will be attending in the Fall of 2013.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police offers are constantly patrolling the school grounds and making sure everyone is safe and sound.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone really. There is a wide range of ethnicities, so no one feels like a minority.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely safe a TON of money at Triton vs. a 4 year school. The classes are recognized by 4 year institutions, so its worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of events always going on like an art show or a play, or you can simply walk around and enjoy the beauty of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The selection isn't very big, but there's just enough food to satisfy your cravings!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely do-able as long as the student really applies him/herself.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes aren't hard, but don't slack off too much where your grades drop!

    In three sentences

    It is very clean with a friendly staff. The teachers are all very passionate about what they do and do their best to make sure you learn and understand. The teacher to student ratio is also very small, so no one feels insignificant and isn't afraid to speak up and ask questions.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a ton.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is not so sure about going to a four year school. anyone who doesn't have a ton of money or doesn't want to take out loans for school. or if you want to get the main courses out the way so you can transfer to a four year. the class rooms are smaller but for hands on learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Jim Ellison is a great psychology professor.. def check his classes out !!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Triton doesn't have any dorms on its campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like most schools you have professors that are passionate about teaching and don't mind going the extra mile to help out students. there are also some teachers who only believe in teaching one way only. the best way to avoid professor like that is to check out and review them on ratemyprofessor.com .

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend you try to get involved as much as possible , by volunteering or getting extra help from a tutor .

    In three sentences

    Triton is an awesome school if you are not sure of heading off on to a four year institution just yet. Triton offers Many classes with a ton of great passionate professors. The classes are small for those who need more of a hands on learning. I would give Triton a 8 out of ten score because of the following.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    GOOD!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, get a part time job, meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is okay, but better travel on North Ave for something better

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Live at home and commute, or get a near by apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, the professors are professional and knowledgable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont spend money when you dont need to! Get only the books that are required! Rent books if possible or get them online!

    In three sentences

    Triton College is a great way to get your need to take anyway classes out of the way for cheap or even free if applicable! Triton for some reason had a bad reputation before but it's a good school you can be proud attending.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard about crimes being committed so I assume our safety is pretty high. If you have car troubles, the campus security come and help you out as best as they can and majority of the time they will wait with you until further assistance arrives.

    Greek Life

    There is the honors Phi Theta Kapppa. Unfortunately, that is it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities on campus, but there is not a football or cheerleading team (I'm a cheerleader so this is a big setback). You don't really hear about the meetings for the clubs. I actually did not know there were any clubs until they host an event. I think they could do a better job marketing-wise.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for parents, non-traditional students, students unsure about their major, and students trying to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a hospital along the same street as the school. Also around the way, there is a Hawaiian lounge.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is worth the money you spend.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall, plaza, movie theatre, numerous restaurants, and etc. in the area. Some are within walking distance. I work two jobs and go to school so mainly I sleep for fun. I do occasionally catch a show or try something new, but you have to travel further away from the campus for that.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. There isn't much to choose from as you would at a university. It works for the time being if you're hungry though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course, class time and section, and the teacher; the workload will definitely get to you. Some of my classes I had to take twice, because I either did better online or in the classroom. The teachers typically know what they are talking about and can help you if you have trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to transfer out, I think it is best to do the first two years at Triton. If you meet with the counselors, you have to know what questions to ask in order to get the best results. Some of the counselors are really there for you to help you out. There are some who are great speakers but, you leave feeling a little confused still. Just go and see at least two different ones to be sure. Also, choose your classes wisely. Just because it is easy, does not mean it's for you. With that being said, take your classes seriously. It is very easy to lose focus and you do not want to be the one that fell through the cracks and failed academically.

    In three sentences

    Triton is a more affordable way to take your basic classes. I would recommend people in the district to attend here. It has a lot of resources for you to succeed if you really want to.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have local cops volunteer on campus. I've heard of fights breaking out though.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really know of much.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save some money, want a two year degree or certification, or don't know what they want to do with their life just yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a corn roast in the quad. Not sure if that's just unusual for me, but I had never heard of such thing.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's a great deal if you want a two year degree or aren't ready for a four year school for any reason. The teachers know their stuff and try and help you.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of clubs I believe. I haven't heard of any though.

    Food and Dining

    Food is overpriced and not very good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming due to the fact that it's a community college. There are many apartment buildings however and a lot of public transportation

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers don't seem to be very well informed about what goes on in the school. If you need something like financial aid help you have to go out of your way to find it, as it is not put in front of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to do research on programs, classes, and events that are being offered. Much of this isn't offered to you.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great deal. The professors are for the most part well educated. The only bad thing is that it's hard to find someone helpful

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its eatable

    Academic Rigor

    its not that challenging

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you want the best experience ever, attend Triton!

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs! This school is so diverse and has so many amazing things to offer!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The best school hands down! I have learned so much here and the teachers are amazing. Make students interest their number one priority.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very excellent, Triton police is all over campus, matter of fact the Police station is on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The most thing that I can say that is fun is if you are playing sports, in a club of interest, or hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great and very affordable. The cafeteria food is catered by a good restaurant outside of the school called Clavio's Eatery. the cafeteria is also a good place

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here sadly, but they will work on helping you find an apartment near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here is good, keeping up with your grades is important because many teachers may not be willing to share you grades at certain times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task, keep up with your counselor so that you won't be here for extra years. This is a two year college, but if not attending school during the summer it may take longer.

    In three sentences

    I would honestly give Triton College out of a 1-10 scale an 4. It is a good school, but things needs to be fixed from financial aid to schedules. Triton is a safe environment for all students, you don't have to worry about anything bad happening. Lastly, the professors are very helpful, willing to work with you so that you understand the material, and some can be very strict about their class.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I only went to class, never joined any clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus

    Dorm Life

    No housing

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and who the instructor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for classes, they can fill up fast. Also, apply for financial aid EARLY, because the lines do get long as the term gets closer.

    In three sentences

    Triton is a decent community college. It's cheap, has a lot of class offerings, and has ample parking. Anyone trying to save a buck before going to a University should consider Triton and get their core requirements out of the way.