Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Trocaire College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs and activities to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a Tim Hortons on this campus but if you go to the hospital right in front of it the food there is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    This school seems like it has good academic rigor because the classes are offered pretty flexibily and the advisors help with deciding if a day or night program works for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with an admissions counsler and advisor to know what classes you need to take and what materials you need to give the school in order to be accepted. Go to the open houses they help you meet people from every department so that you can talk to them and find out more about your intended major.

    In three sentences

    I really liked touring the school and meeting the staff there to help me. It was really nice to know what else I needed to transfer there and what credits transferred. I like that the school looked redone and not old and beat down.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Trocaire. Tony Funigiello and Jon Hudack have offices right by the commons, and they're always setting up something to do or excited to talk to you about anything.

    Food and Dining

    Caz pizza comes in every day from 11-1 with different pizzas, wraps, and salads. They also just installed a small Tim Hortons in the commons.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Trocaire.

    Academic Rigor

    Trocaire is very academic-intensive. There is a lot of work, but it pays off in the end with great grades and a keen understanding of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour with admissions, and go to see the head of the department you want to major in!

    In three sentences

    Trocaire is a great school with a rigorous academic base. The faculty and staff are very helpful, and everyone wants to see you succeed.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At two sites there is a parking lot right there at the building so security can watch you as you walk to your car. Though at the main campus parking isn't as safe. During the day there is a shuttle that takes you to the parking lots that we use. In the evening though, after 7 you have to walk to these lots, or where ever you were lucky enough to find a parking spot. You could use the parking ramp at the hospital after 4, which has a underground tunnel to the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for different areas in the school. There is the student affairs that put on alot of our activities. Though other clubs are formed for the nurses, Therepy, through out their semesters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can find on different floors, different rooms that seem to be empty or not used alot. So students use them for quiet study rooms. Then you have the computer labs, and then all the class rooms that also have computers that can be used as long as there is no class in there at that time. This is my second semester so I'm still locating all the areas in the building, but I'm figuring out easier ways to get around. You figure these things out as you go.

    Bang for the buck

    There are computers in the library, and then on floors two and three they have computer labs that your free to use anytime. This helps out a lot of students that might not have a computer at home, or if theirs goes down.

    What to do for fun

    The school itself does all sorts of events for our community. They do blood drives, collect food, clothing. for the needy. For fun we have had free t shirt day, where we make our own t shirts. Then we did a basket raffles, The student affairs are always putting on different things and always looking for new ideas also.

    Food and Dining

    There is vending machines and at the main campus. There is a common area where we hang out to study and , do homework. In this common area they sell donuts, and drinks in the morning and pizza in the afternoon. We also have access to the cafeteria at the hospital next door where we get a discount.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms, you live at home or on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    It can seem to a little overwelming your first sememster, when your trying to get the hang of things. I say to just take a deep breath, and jump right in. Make sure to keep up with the homework, and if it becomes a problem, make sure you communicate that to your teachers so they can help. They will help, if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to get dropped off, or get use to being aggravated with parking problems. As for the classes, if you put the work into it, you will get the results your hoping for. The staff is very supportive, and willing to help you with all sorts of obstacles.

    In three sentences

    This school has small class sizes, for more attention for the students. The parking sucks, so that is a total negative. The staff is so welcoming, and very helpful.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No worries when it comes to college campus safety. The school is small and tight knit, there are always safety tips posted around the school when and if something needs to be addressed. Security is always available when needed. There is also a shuttle that runs in the early morning and evenings for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student's activities office is always holding fun things in the cafe. They brighten the student experiences with things like live jazz music, smoothie days as well as just doing fun things for the holidays like decorating pumpkins for Halloween,

    Bang for the buck

    The only complaint among myself as well as others is the limited amount of tutoring available. When professors aren't available for specific tutoring hours, an upper or high ranking fellow student is the resource available for help which doesn't work for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Trocaire is only now starting to become a popular college. There is now a Express Tim Horton's available in the cafe along with a pizzeria who stops by daily for lunch hours. However both businesses only accept cash and have limited hours, so if your craving hot food you can travel via the basement tunnels to the local hospital, or grab something from one of the many vending machines and heat it up in one of the old microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available, although with the college constantly growing it may be an option down the road with one its sister sites. But there is a bulletin board that offers local info on apartments etc...

    Academic Rigor

    This school is tough but makes you a better competitor than other students from other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to invest a large amount of time in studying and just overall class preparation. Its best to establish a good reliable study group, it was the best thing my friends and I ever did. We kept up on each other and used each others strengths to help each other out.

    In three sentences

    Trocaire college is a wonderful college that offers a small class setting. Teachers and faculty are always there for you when you need them! The college is small and easy to navigate, there are lots of places to go and get lots of work done, it never seems crowded.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security Guards Are Always On Staff, They Know Your Name & Face. If You're Taking Night Classes They Even Walk You To Your Car! Great Security Guards, Safe Neighborhood With Families Who Have Lived There For Decades.

    Clubs and Activities

    There Are Tons Of Clubs And Organizations To Get Involved With! College Committees, The Diversity Club, The Hospitality Club, The National Student Nursing Association (NSNA), Orientation Leaders, The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, The Poetry Club, The Practical Nursing Club (SPNA), The Radiologic Technology Club, The Student Association, The Trocaire College Association of Student Surgical Technologists and The TroGreen Team.

    Great for these types of students

    Trocaire Is A Great School For Students Who Want A 2-Year Education, But Also Want That College Experience. - We Also Have A Great Number Of Licensed Nurses Who Are Getting Their RN's , Who Have Families And Full Time Jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trocaire Is A Religious School, It Was Started By The Sisters Of Mercy In 1958. There Is A Reflection Room Which Is A Dimly Lit Room To Sit And Think, To Study, To Pray...

    Bang for the buck

    Being A Private School, Trocaire Is A Little Price-y, But Completely Worth Every Cent. Teachers Are Always Available, For Tutoring, Lab Model Practice, Or For Advice. Honestly, The Teachers And Staff Members Are Incredible, They Make The School An Atmosphere For Success.

    What to do for fun

    There Is Always Something Going On At Trocaire! At The End Of Every Spring Semester We Hold A Thank God It's Over! Party, With Free Smoothies, Cake, And A Buffet-Style Lunch In The Commons. There Is A Trocaire Ball Held Annually Just Before Winter Break, Almost Every Week There Is Something Special Being Put On For Every Club, Association, And Major-Studies Group. In The Past We've Had Hand-Wax Sculptures, Make Your Own Tacos, Halloween Dress-Up...

    Food and Dining

    There Is A Tim Horton's (Coffee, Donuts, Etc) Located Inside The Commons And A Local Pizza Shop Comes By W-F At 11-3pm And Sells Pizza, Wings, Fingers, And Salads. We Also Have Admittance To Mercy Hospital, Which Is Right Next Door, By An Underground Tunnel (Not Joking), Which Has A Full-Stock Cafeteria With A Subway... And You Get An Employee Discount! There Is Also A Number Of Fast-Food And Dining Restaurants Within Walking Distance

    Dorm Life

    There Are No Dorms At Trocaire. There Are Apartment Complexes Located Nearby And A Number Of Collegiate Villages In The Area Within 20 Minutes. Parking Is Also Limited, Street Parking And Shuttles Are Available For Transporting Students To And From Parking Lots Located 5-7 Minutes Away.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics At Trocaire Are Definitely Very Competitive, For Almost Every Major Program There Is A No Tolerance Policy. For Example, If You Are In The Nursing Program And Fail A Core Class, You Will Be Out Of The Program For A Semester To Get Your Grades Up. To Get In To Most Programs There Is A Minimum Starting GPA, Which Varies. This Aura About Grades At Trocaire Definitely Makes Students Strive To Be The Best And Makes For More Attentive Classroom Environments.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Get Your Prerequisites Out Of The Way, Don't Jump Into Your Major Classes Until You Have Almost All Of Them Completed. - Make Friends With The Librarians, They Are Always Glad To Help With Presentations, Computer Glitches, Book Findings.. - Join A Club! It Will Help You Meet People And Feel More At Home!

    In three sentences

    Trocaire Is The Best College Decision In The Healthcare Field For Nursing (RN & LPN), Radiologic Technology, Health Informatics, Surgical Technology.... And So On! But The Buck Doesn't Stop There, Trocaire Is Also A Leading Hospitality And Culinary College As Well! Personalized Attention, Great Friends, Even Better Teachers ... And An Education That Is Lasting, What More Could You Ask For?

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Besides the fact that it is in downtown Buffalo and the fact that you have to walk down the street to get to the school, the inside of the college is very safe. We always have a security guard on duty whenever the campus is open and he does rounds around the building very often.

    Greek Life

    I wouldn't really consider any greek life at Trocaire.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a decent amount of clubs, but not nearly as many as their would be at a bigger college that dorms.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are hard-working, over achieved, and willing to work for what they want are perfect for Trocaire College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trocaire is always holding blood drives, and little activities randomly just for holidays or just for the fun of it. It gives students a chance to meet people.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, Trocaire is more overly priced than some of the other colleges considering you're not paying for dorming or anything either but, in the long run it's worth it because everything is more personable.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest, besides the couple clubs and student affairs that they offer.. there really isn't a lot of fun things to do here. Trocaire really just takes their education for the students very seriously.

    Food and Dining

    Trocaire college not only has their own cafeteria where they have places cator to for lunch everyday where the food is greatly priced, we are also connected to Mercy Hospital where they have Subway and an entire cafeteria full of many options. You are allowed a discount for attending Trocaire! All you need is your ID.

    Dorm Life

    Trocaire college does not offer dorming because of the fact that it is such a small college. Although this may not work for everyone, as long as you don't live to far away I really don't find it an issue.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Trocaire is very good. Each professor might teach and grade differently but, their is always a place where you and your friends can go to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be willing to work for your degree. Although these professors and the administration is nice here, they take everything very seriously especially the degrees here. This college is not a college that you can go to just to have a place to go, you have to want the degree your achieving, and be willing to do all the work.

    In three sentences

    Trocaire college is a small community college. Personally I like attending Trocaire because everyone can always be personable with you because it's a smaller college and no matter what your problem might be, their is always someone looking to help you. I'm very glad I chose this as my college.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    As mentioned before, there is no shortage of learning opportunities here! The program I am in is very challenging and fast-paced. It can be stressful, but I can tell I am getting a quality education. Every instructor I have is great and have been in a professional in the field for many many years.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a private school, so expect to pay higher tuition costs. Prepare for at least a 5-10 minute walk because parking is very limited at the school.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for those looking to get into a healthcare career. The campus is small and the classes are small. Every instructor I have had so far is very knowledgeable and definitely presents a challenging and worthwhile learning experience.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards at the front desk of the college, and a shuttle to take students to the parking lots. Also, the school is in a fairly safe neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure if Trocaire has Greek life. The most popular clubs are the RN and RT clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Trocaire tries to keep life interesting on campus by offering free activities in the commons. The activities aren't always very fun, but if you are bored between classes it's something to do! Also, being a small school, they do not offer sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Trocaire is best suited for students interested in a career in the medical field. Their RN program is unmatched by any other area colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual feature of the college is the underground tunnel connecting Trocaire to Mercy hospital. This is very convenient for nursing students or those wishing to use Mercy's cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    Trocaire is definitely worth every penny. It isn't very expensive to begin with, and the class sizes and excellent professors make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Trocaire offers free activities in the commons every so often, including t-shirt decorating or activities involving free food. There are also a range of clubs students can join.

    Food and Dining

    Trocaire does not have a cafeteria. However, students can use their ID card to go to Mercy hospital next door for Subway or Tim Hortons. The college commons has a Tim Hortons Express, but they close before noon usually and only accept cash.

    Dorm Life

    Trocaire does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard that the Trocaire College nursing program is extremely difficult. I have not taken any nursing classes yet, but the courses I am taking are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small class sizes can be very helpful for many students, especially those that want to be able to ask their professors many questions. Also, college is much more difficult than high school, so even those students who never had to study in high school have to take advantage of the free tutoring services at Trocaire College.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with Trocaire College. All of my professors are personable and are willing to do everything they can to help the students succeed. The small campus provides small class sizes that give students more opportunities for one on one attention.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All campuses are located in safe neighborhoods with almost no crime. The only thing that is a negative is the parking. The main campus is horrible; It is street and shuttle parking. But a short walk never hurt anyone and you don't have to be worried for your safety; there are always other students around and the neighbors are really friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is none and I think for a good reason...concentrate on your studies!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities but they all relate to nursing and helping the community. If your looking for sports, language, or anything along those lines, you're out of luck.

    Great for these types of students

    Committed, those who may need that extra help/motivation, and who really want to have a successful career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hang-out place would be in the library. The students are so friendly there, they invite you into study groups and we actually study and do what we're there for.

    Bang for the buck

    I have gone to community colleges specifically for the price. Trocaire may be a bit more expensive but its worth every penny. They know what they're doing and they have almost everything set up for you while you attend the two years. They also may be strict with grading but its easy to do well because they teach everything you're going to need to know. I feel confident with the material after I leave class.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in the nursing club and they have many opportunities to help out those in need. They also have get togethers where you can just relax and get your mind off of school work.

    Food and Dining

    I gave them three stars because although they don't have much of a selection they always give out free lunches. They set up a buffet on certain occasions and students can come and tell the helpers what they'd like and receive it for free!!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms and no on-campus housing. You either have to drive a ways or live close by.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict but they make the best nurses! They teach you way more than what you need to know so that when you go to take the NYCLEX you pass it with ease. They are willing to give you second chances and work with you if you demonstrate a desire to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register the minute they allow it because classes fill up quick!

    In three sentences

    They are VERY helpful with anything that you may need including free tutoring when it comes to academics. They have a great student to teacher ratio and truly care that you know the material. They are genuinely good people who really do want the best for you and it shows in their attitudes!!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus at all times. Also, Trocaire College is in a very safe neighborhood with Mercy Hospital neighboring one side and Mount Mercy High School on the other.

    Clubs and Activities

    Trocaire offers clubs usually specific to programs at the school. Everyone is very welcoming and always looking for new ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have a specific career path you know you want to go down and are very diligent and ready to work hard, Trocaire College would be a good match for you. For example, if you know you want to get into Nursing, Surgical Technology or Radiologic Technology, then this would be the right school. The programs are very demanding and require 100% effort at all times. If you are unsure what would be a good match, do your research and attend open houses at colleges when they are offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is quite an expensive college, it is more than worth it. I have learned more in my first semester here than I did through my whole four years at the University at Buffalo. The teachers make you want to be better and really push you to succeed and be your best. The teachers are great here, and I truly believe what we are paying to attend is worth the education we are receiving.

    What to do for fun

    At Trocaire, there are many clubs and organizations you can join depending on what program you are attending school for. Trocaire is very accepting of new ideas, so if you ever have an idea of anything new that might grab students' attention, staff are always willing to take these things into consideration. Also, there is a park across the street from the school that is very pleasant to walk around in when it is nice out.

    Food and Dining

    Although there is a very small cafeteria at Trocaire College, they give you many options for lunch items. There is an Express Tim Hortons in the cafeteria. The great part about Trocaire is that the school is connected to Mercy Hospital, so you are within walking distance of a great cafeteria which has a full Tim Hortons, Subway and many other food choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Trocaire College, but there are apartments nearby that I believe would accommodate students who have to travel far for school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work is very demanding at this college. You need to dedicate all the time you can to your studies in order to be successful. There are usually open laboratories for any science related classes, and tutors are always available in the library. Also, teachers are very flexible and willing to meet with students for extra office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter which program you apply for, you get what you give. Whatever effort you are willing to put forth, you will see the same results. If you do not see the results you desire, there are plenty of faculty and staff who will help you in achieving the goals you set for yourself. Also, do your best to not miss any classes; it will most definitely hurt your grades.

    In three sentences

    Trocaire College is a great place to attend if you have a specific career goal in mind. The teachers, staff and faculty will do anything in their power to assist you in achieving your goals. Everyone is very welcoming and ready to help you to succeed.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they always send out email updates if there is any incidents. and the security team is reliable

    Clubs and Activities

    The student association is constantly putting things together to get the students more involved on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Before going into any specific program, get a feel for the line of work. And buy books from other student you save much more money that way, and always ask for help there are many people more then willing to lend a hand

    In three sentences

    Trocaire is a dedicated college aimed at producing well educated well put together individuals ready for the next steps in life. When in times of strain and anxiety the staff is always available to lend a hand in course studies. And although it is a private and expensive school you get your moneys worth.