Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tufts University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 out of 44 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, diverse, smart, hardworking, ambitious, outgoing, unique, friendly, international, and people who are looking for a variety of new experiences

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and friendly during your interview. Definitely visit the campus to see if it's a good fit. Most people who come here come because they felt that instant connection and comfort. Make sure your essay is a reflection of yourself; Tufts really likes to know who they are letting in and your essay is the best way to show them who you are.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, as most private schools are, and it bothers me that there aren't better financial aid packages for middle class students. Still, the university helps as much as they can and there are a lot of resources that we enjoy as Tufts' students. There are a lot of research opportunities available to undergraduates, even during freshman year, which is a unique quality. And who could ask for a better mascot than an elephant named Jumbo?

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never met so many interesting, hilarious, smart, and ridiculously nice people in one place in my entire life. I love the friendly atmosphere and although everyone is really smart, no one is cutthroat competitive so there is little to no hositility. There is a lot to do on and around campus and transportation is easy to figure out.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are so informative but it just sucks that as a freshman, you're stuck taking big intro lecture classes. I definitely learned a lot more after getting my prerequisite classes done first semester and taking smaller more focused classes second semester.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 out of 33 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quirky and intelligent. Tufts is a very, very diverse place. There are students that lock themselves in their rooms weeks before an important exam and others that don't start term papers more than eight hours before the due date. There are party animals and theater patrons, city-dwellers and country boys, athletes and musicians, mathematicians and poets. Talk to anyone. They'll have a story.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay over on campus if possible. I suggest attending April Open House: it allows many students an intimate look into the university and often helps wondrously in making the dreaded decision. Also, pay attention to those supplementary essays. I know they're annoying and there are so many, but honestly try your best. Show the admissions officers that you are quirky and they will adore you.

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts is expensive. Very expensive. However, it is manageable. The school does its best in giving out money to students who need it in such an economic situation, and the education that students receive is unbeatable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Tufts is bustling with activity 24-7. Students that attend here have diverse interests and that is definitely reflected through activities and events on campus. There are a plethora of dance shows, theater productions, intelligently themed parties, trips abroad, places to eat, and traditions in which many students participate. It is also worth noting that I have met more intelligent, motivated, and quirky individuals than I could have imagined. I love the intellectual atmosphere that combines with a work hard, play hard overall shared sentiment to foster an environment that is simultaneously stimulating and fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Tufts is often called a baby-ivy meaning that the quality of education here is at par with or better than what students receive at Ivy League schools. The only difference is that it isn't quite as famous as schools like Harvard or Yale. Classes are very challenging but not impossible. I also have learned quite a bit outside of the classroom by being involved with extra-curricular activities that connect with my potential areas of interest, and Tufts certainly has a variety of groups to become involved with.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 23 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, but curious. Tufts is a great place for students who know that they want to be great later in life, but perhaps are not sure exactly what they want to be great at. The school provides such a large variety of ways to get involved that it is impossible not to find something that you love. Tufts is a place for open minds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though Tufts is pretty weak in terms of financial aid, the experience of being there makes any sacrifice worthwhile. It is a fairly small school, but it is absolutely a melting pot of all sorts of people, not just New England prep school graduates. The faculty members are brilliant, and I have not come across a single instance of unfriendliness from staff or student body. The most important thing to do is to insert yourself directly into the life of a Tufts student; in other words, get involved immediately!

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are into a racially diverse campus would love it here; there are international students on every floor of every dorm, with several languages being spoken in a single hall. Tufts students have to understand the meaning of hard work; most of us live in the library because we study so much (but that doesn't mean we don't have a ton of fun on the weekends!). Most Tufts students are very caught up on the latest news--national, continental, or international--, whether it's politics, music, sports, technology, business, or finance. Everywhere you go there will always be students reading The New York Times or Business Week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying to this fierce university means that you have to be willing to put in a lot of time and effort into your work. Tufts students definitely know how to have fun, but we are also always on top of our studies. In terms of Tufts' application, be creative and be yourself. It sounds so cliché, but there are no two Tufts students alike; we're a very eclectic bunch. For example, I submitted a large cardboard cut-out of a paper clip and used its attributes to indirectly describe my own personal qualities. Sounds silly, but it worked! So play your quirkiness to your advantage.

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts is definitely a school that comes at a high price and isn't exactly known for having the greatest financial aid package. But so far, coming here and making the financial sacrifice has been worth every penny and every inch of the 2600-mile move across the country. The dorms are nice, the campus is clean, the food is amazing, and the education is top-notch.

    Am enjoying being here

    Tufts is in the perfect location: far enough from the hustle and bustle of Boston, but close enough that it's only a short ride on the subway away. While there may be a few sketchy neighborhoods in Boston, Medford (where Tufts is) is safe, quiet, and mostly residential. And unlike Harvard, where there are hundreds of tourists filing through the campus and Harvard Square all through the year, we Jumbos get our campus, as well as an entire square (Davis Square), mostly to ourselves. There's a smorgasbord of clubs and teams--everything from Muy Thai Boxing to Hip Hop for Social Change to Quidditch to a very dedicated Ultimate Frisbee following.

    Am learning a lot

    Despite the fact that I am enrolled in mostly introductory courses, where the general class size is unavoidably larger, everyone--the professors and TAs--are nevertheless incredibly accessible. Next semester, however, when I am beyond the introductory courses, the average class size will only be about 15 people. Office hours are always there, no matter what your schedule looks like, and there are free private tutoring sessions, as well as drop-in and lecture-sized tutoring sessions. There's a class for everyone and all of the professors know what they are talking about.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for an atmosphere of kids who really care about where their lives are going and who they are taking that trip with, then Tufts is a great place to consider. I am in no way the liberal activist that has put the Boston area on the map and I find there are just as many people like me here as there are political students. However, you have to be humble to go here. There is not a lot of Oh, look at us. How cool are we kind of stuff from the administration or students. School spirit for sports is kind of low but presents a decent opportunity for walk-on athletes. Just remember that not too many people your age will know the name Tufts right off the bat...but the people who matter will know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely do not take classes for granted and come in with a plan for the next four years. Tips for prospective students anywhere are pretty much similar (get involved, etc.) but specifically for Tufts I would have to recommend declaring a major as soon as possible. I did not and I was stuck with a less-than-qualified advisor. You can always change your major but unless you declare one, you are probably going to be assigned an advisor who is really a professor with a bit of extra time. Also be aware that your first test in a class can really make or break the grade for the semester, so don't take it lightly like it is some high school test. Many times, that grade is at least 1/4 of your final grade.

    Bang for the buck

    At 50k + Tufts is one of the more expensive schools in the country. Despite being as expensive as the Ivies, you don't get that Ivy School credibility that comes along with the price. Disappointing? Yes. Worth it? A matter of opinion. I for one am tired of putting Ivies on that untouchable pedestal and have a hard time believing I am missing out on something by going to Tufts and not an Ivy. If you can handle paying for everything an Ivy has to offer minus the name then you've got yourself a college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Finding who you are is a huge part of college and at Tufts I can find myself. With the help of the students and administration, campus life is easy-going yet educational. That old adage you learn something new everyday becomes real at Tufts. The environment welcomes opinions, expression, and freedom.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a reason why college review boards consistently rate Tufts in the top 30 universities in America. The teachers and students alike bring much more to the table than I ever expected. The classes are hard in the way that demands attention and creativity. I never thought I would be one of those people saying they learned so much in the first semester of college, but such is the case. Not only are the classes educational, but part of becoming an adult is learning what college is all about. The first year is full of new adventures and decisions to be made. As the year progresses, applying what you learn is key.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    easy access to all of boston from the davis square t stop. boston speaks for itself fun-wise, but on campus there's also tons to do: there are concerts in the breathtaking distler performance hall very often, we have an active theater constituent, so plays happen a lot. there are also plenty of parties to go around. you'll never be bored, so long as you have access to tuftslife.com :)

    Food and Dining

    dewick and carmichael are both fantastic dining halls that offer great food and a lot of options. i find myself wishing they were open later, though.

    Dorm Life

    not much to say here - dorms are nice, amenities are accessible and work well, ras and hallmates are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    your academic experience is what you make it, and you can make it extremely worthwhile here. many classes require a good bit of effort, but pay off in how much you learn therein; plus, professors and tas are always around to help facilitate the learning process. challenge yourself academically here, and you'll end up with a degree that really shows you're an intellectually capable person.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors. if they're teaching here, it's because they're good at what they do and would love to share it with you, in and out of the classroom. don't be afraid to get involved, either - there's so much to do on campus that it can be intimidating, but find something you think might interest you (club/athletic activity/whatever) and jump right in!

    In three sentences

    tufts is a phenomenal research university. it's a great community made up of interesting and friendly students and professors, and it's welcoming to students with every academic interest imaginable. you'll like it here.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tufts is an urban campus. The locals are middle class and suburb-of-Boston workers/professionals. But while the campus looks like a traditional New England college campus with old and new buildings and lots of grass and trees, the area around is wall to wall city blocks with three decker houses. There are neighborhoods within walking distance you probably want to travel in groups through at night, but most of the surrounding neighborhoods are pretty safe. Tufts has call boxes, a police department that's pretty visible, and a shuttle to take you in and out from Boston or to the T stops. It's safe but like anywhere, you have to not be a naive target. You're not in Kansas anymore, Dorothy, but this isn't real urban like downtown schools kike Boston Univ or Columbia.

    Greek Life

    hahhahahhahahah.....oh wait you're serious. There are about 3 frats and one sorority. They play a very small part in life here. You can join if that is important, and they are active, but if you are not into Greek life you are definitely not left out of anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a hundred clubs in all sorts of topics from political, academic, sports, games, cultural, heritage, etc. and if you don't find a club you like, there is always someone else who would be willing to form a group to do it. I mean Tufts has a Quidditch team that is #2 in the world. Need I say more?

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn and who are good at making their own fun. If you want to go to a Big 10 football type game forget it. Great for students who want to go into international business, the foreign service/diplomatic corps, law/med school and environmental engineering. Environmental and public service ethics are very important at Tufts. If you have a social conscience and a global mission, Tufts is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the revolutionary war cannon near the administration building as a way to send messages, signal a party or a team win. Have to do it at least once. Naked quad run. Banned activity, but traditions die hard. Sledding down the hill behind Ballou. Tufts is on a humongous hill. your calves and quads will look great after one semester of walking to class.

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts. Expensive. Excellent School. You get what you pay for. You can get a really good education here. It is a small school (5000 undergrad) so classes after freshman year are small enough where you get to know your professors and get into extra activities like research or writing projects. Of course, if you slide by sampling the easiest courses you can find, after four years I think you could end up wondering why you went at all. Bottom line: it is what you make of it.

    What to do for fun

    Boston Red Sox, Celtics, Bruins....all accessible with a T-Ride or hop the Tufts Joey shuttle. Medford and Somerville are OK. Mostly yuppie venues, but worthwhile when you're looking for time to kill without tripping in to Boston. Boston....Harvard Square, Copley plaza shopping, Faneuil Hall eateries and shops, more museums than you can count and most are free (MIT museum is way cool). Tufts sports aren't much to get excited about. In fact efforts to get students excited (Fan the Fire) are pretty lame. But it's small and not overhyped. Did I say Tufts was all about the academics? Actually, Tufts is less a spectator school than a participant school. There are plenty of teams and clubs and ad hoc games and sports to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    OK, food here is incredible. I mean seriously it wins awards. They have dining choices from cafes to food court style dining that accommodates almost any food neurotic. Vegans,,,check; gluten-free... check. Meat lover....got ya covered. Specialty foods....plenty. Killer salad bars, ice cream, breakfast cereal choices. A running Thanksgiving day dinner every night (turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberries). PIzza....yep. Sandwiches.... I eat better here than at home. Sorry, Mom. They have flexible dining plans, which you should look into. If you don't eat all your meals in the dining halls you force yourself to sample the funky eateries in nearby Davis Square, Havard Square, Teele Square...Porter square....even Boston.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms range from dull to very modern. Everyone is guaranteed space except juniors many of whom who go abroad or get nearby apartments. There is an active RA system. The RA's schedule dorm social events and encourage residents to get out and participate in lectures, music, arts events. They have a no student left behind attitude to make sure everyone is invited to get involved and no one gets lost in their own world, but you can do what you want. No one will be holding your hand at Tufts. Dorms are mostly doubles. Clean. Cement block walls. No awards here for architecture, but they are comfortable enough. Most students at some point try apartment living in the nearby houses across the street from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Tufts is a little ivy. By that I mean it is a place where the students are competing to get into the top tiers of business, science and government. If you are planning on coming to Medford, you should be prepared to study. Students here party plenty on Friday and Saturday nights (even starts Thursday), but you'll find plenty of students filling the spots in the library stacks all day Sunday and most nights. The dorms have quiet hours to make things conducive to getting your work done. That isn't to say there aren't some students who are preparing to get into the family business who might have more time on their hands, but if you are one of them, you don't need to read this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rock your scores and grades; this place is competitive. Do all the essays and use that space in your application to show that you have a more global perspective on citizenship. Tufts is huge on international citizenship responsibility. Make sure you know why you want to be at Tufts. Tufts comes with a price tag. It would be a waste of your money to use Tufts as a place to find yourself. Be yourself. You can't fool the admissions folks. They have seen everything.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is a great school for the serious student. Its strengths are international relations and business and pre-professional (law, med, MBA). The relationship between the graduate schools and the undergrad campus is integrated enough to enrich your experience because you are able to mix with people studying and researching topics more advanced than the basic core courses. Tufts is not a party or big sports school, but there is a social life with art/culture and plenty of low-key sport opportunities for walk-on types.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fun, athletic, closet nerds, hipster, not-hipster, ultimate players, lax bros, non-lax dudes

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, take challenging classes, but don't swamp your schedule with too many reading/science-intensive classes. Come play ultimate, it's an awesome experience at Tufts! Apply early decision if you're sure that Tufts is right for you. Take hard classes throughout high school and do well in them.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth the money. If you're from the South, living in Boston is an amazing new experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    Having the time of my life. Tufts is everything I could've wished for in college and so much more. It is an ideal size in that you can meet a lot of people, but there aren't too many or too few people on campus. You're not a number nor are you

    Am learning a lot

    Reading Plato's Republic and Machiavelli's The Prince in my first semester of college pretty much sum this one up.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are emergency boxes, a police escort service you can call, and campus is fairly safe (just try not to invite trouble). it's probably closer to a 3 1/2-4 stars, but whatever.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you want it, there's probably a group for it on campus(like the ballroom dance team :3).

    Great for these types of students

    people who are intelligent, open-minded, and have wonderfully varied interests(biochemistry and mime or international relations and stand-up comedy, for example) . or harry potter fans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's the echo chamber, the gravity stone, the president's lawn when it snows, the canon, etc etc. take your pick.

    What to do for fun

    it depends on you! in the winter you can go ice skating in the city, there are usually a few parties on the weekends, go to the movies, or head to the loj for some wonderful time in nature. not to mention all of the movies, plays, and other events on campus throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    our food is wonderful! the downhill dining hall is great for groups, but the uphill dining hall does amazing theme nights (mystery basket food challenge, greek night, seafood night, etc).

    Dorm Life

    again, it depends on your dorm. i live in miller, which is pretty nice, but a lot of the dorms have a labyrinth-like riot-proof set-up, and the uphill dorms overall are nicer than the downhill ones. there's a cute little rivalry over whether uphill or downhill is better (up).

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on the class, but you definitely won't float by here. keep up on your reading, study, do your work, show up to class most of the time, and you should generally be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely do your best in your academics, but aim to make an impact in a few extracurriculars that you care about. also, do all the essays (especially the optional!) and be creative.

    In three sentences

    tufts is a wonderful school for anyone who wants the best of both. it's a beautiful (and hilly) suburban campus, and full of people with varying academic and recreational interests. i'd suggest getting used to seeing frisbee.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe walking around campus, even really late at night.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on be it a frat party, a free dinner, or just an open get together with one of the cultural centers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really delicious. I'm a vegetarian and don't ever feel like I don't have any options. We have a vegetarian section and a gluten free section and I hear the gluten free food is just as yummy!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are definitely much better than others. I live in Houston and it's a pretty old building but my awesome hall mates make up for it.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely not easy. I study every day and still end up feeling like that's not enough. Although the classes are difficult, there's always support if you need it like the free Academic Resource Center, office hours, and study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit if you can, the campus alone will make you fall in love with Tufts. Anyone can come up to us and ask questions, we love answering them! If you can't visit, you can also call and ask to speak to a representative from your area and see if maybe you can meet up with them.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is an amazing school that in my opinion, is not given enough credit. The academics are tough but will definitely prepare you for graduate school and your career. Not only are the academics top notch, but the atmosphere is such a warm and friendly one to be around which is why I love Tufts!

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    tufts is conveniently located right next to the t so it is easy to access cool towns such as boston and cambridge.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are considering majoring in international relations, tufts is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    tufts is a great school. social and political activism is everywhere and it's easy to get involved. plus, our mascot, the jumbos, is the only college mascot found in webster's dictionary.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything.

    Food and Dining

    Food was cheap and tasty. Might gain more than 15 lbs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look nice but a little antique. Some of the students apparently have a tradition where they put each bottle of alcohol that they drink on their window sill to showcase their manliness to the public.

    Academic Rigor

    Can't say much yet, but the course catalog looks rigorous and intriguing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and send everything in before the deadline. Fill out the Fafsa or CSS on time. Also communicate with your admissions officer frequently. It helps if the person reading your application knows who you are.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is heavenly. The students are beyond helpful and the campus is beautiful. The academics are amazing and student life looks perfect.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm in a coed fraternity, which is a little different from normal Greek houses, but I absolutely love it. Greek life isn't dominant on campus, but for people who want to get involved, it's a great set of houses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cannon! Painting the cannon was definitely a highlight of my freshman year. My friends and I stayed up all night guarding our paint job from potential cannon thieves.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for dining hall food. They do a solid job of always providing a ton of options, but the same courses can get old after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms, but Tufts does a pretty good job of finding compatible roommates. The uphill/downhill mindset definitely exists, but I met some of my best friends from exploring the hallways of my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes definitely require a lot of hard work. However, once you get past the basics, you have the opportunity to collaborate with some of the leading minds in various fields of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Tufts has a great set up for contacting current students for advice and answers that is super helpful in the college selection process.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Eh, it's not a party school.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, knows exactly what they want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts is one of the most expensive institutions in the country. In terms of the quality of education, it is absolutely worth the buck. However, it is a liberal arts college, and many students leave without many marketable skills.

    What to do for fun

    For the city dwellers, it is a quick and easy trip into Boston. The campus has the advantage, though, of having the rolling lawns of more rural campuses and easy access to local lakes and mountains.

    Food and Dining

    Dewick dining hall has one of the better spreads that I've seen on college campuses.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. It's not a party school. Then again, your social life is what you make of it at college.

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive culture. Make sure you build a rapport with your professors and utilize the tutoring resources available to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan for the financial obligation. Also, get involved in lots of campus activities. Community involvement is very important for the quality of your experience.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is an amazing community of energetic, driven students. It is a competitive, yet collaborative culture which emphasizes looking at every issue from a global perspective.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is relatively safe, however, go beyond the boundaries and it is not safe to be alone at night. At least a couple times a month, campus police will email out to students reports of muggings, sexual assaults, and other crimes committed against students on the streets bordering the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very minor and does not play a large role in college life.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for East Coast natives and others familiar with the local area and culture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cannon that many academic and social organizations will paint with colors and messages in preparation for a big event (e.g., social, academic, or athletic).

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts is very expensive, and while the degree is reputable, your emotional well-being is challenge due to the frustrating academic and administrative environment that you need to navigate as a student.

    What to do for fun

    Boston is a short ride away on the subway, as well as other areas and university. The surrounding areas offer good food and night life and the population is both heavily college-aged as well as graduate students.

    Food and Dining

    The options are limited and the food is expensive. There are a number of surrounding restaurants off-campus that are pretty good, but it would be vastly improved if the university moved one or two of these on-campus.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of the dorms is poor and you are not allowed to stay on campus during the holidays, a big negative for students who have to travel long distances home.

    Academic Rigor

    The sciences are particularly rigorous. Many of the lower-division courses are designed in such a way to filter out students who do not possess the school's opinion of what it takes to be a science major. The liberal arts courses are enjoyable, although carry a large reading and writing load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should do their research beforehand about any particular major they are interested in. Ask current students about how supported they feel in their studies and whether the faculty are receptive to student feedback--a big indication of a mature academic program. If possible, visit the school to see the environment, talk with faculty and students, and even sit in on a class if possible. College is expensive, especially Tufts University, so be sure you will be making a sound investment.

    In three sentences

    At Tufts University, you will find both a rigorous science curriculum as well as a broad-based liberal arts education. However, the academic departments, along with the faculty as part and parcel to them, are poorly organized and do not lay out their expectations clearly for the student body. With a strong reputation, particularly on the East Coast, Tufts University offers a solid degree perhaps worth pursuing, if only you can tolerate the administrative frustration along the way.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There's no single type -- we have everything ranging from the classic lax bro to the chemistry nerd, but we're all accepting of each other's interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the cannon.

    What to do for fun

    On campus: sports games; plays and musicals; a cappella concerts; dance performances; bands, comedians, and speakers Tufts brings for students; political debates; relaxing on the Prez Lawn. Off campus: a short subway ride to downtown Boston and then amazing restaurants; concerts at the House of Blues; games at Fenway Park; a stroll down Newbury Street; a performance at the Wilbur Theatre; the list goes on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do some leg exercises to prepare for the Hill.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is an awesome school and each year continues to climb in the rankings, and deservedly so. The academic (and social) community at Tufts is very collaborative and accepting, and I think the cutthroat competition you'll see at Tufts' peer schools just doesn't exist here, in the best way possible. This is a place where you'll be comfortable being you.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always plenty of events to go to on campus, and frat parties at night if you're into that kind of thing, but Boston is 20 minutes away by T, so a night out in the city is always a fun option!

    Food and Dining

    Dewick and Carmichael are the two main dining halls and both have their pros and cons, but all in all, the food here is very good and there are many outside options.

    Dorm Life

    There is always something to do at Tufts, whether it is to go see a play, a dance group perform, or an awesome speaker (this year, we had BIll Clinton!). I never find myself bored and everyone you meet is passionate and interesting.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though as a freshman, you do get stuck in a lot of very big introductory courses, as you start to take higher level courses, you get more personal interaction. The amount of research opportunities that exist is enormous- I have some friends who are already doing PAID research as freshmen!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try to sign up for one of the overnight visits for April Open House- I didn't do that and even though I'm very lucky I'm in love with the school, it would have been much more practical and saved a lot of stress over making my decision.

    In three sentences

    Speaking as an upcoming sophomore, Tufts University has given me the best year of my life. I have taken challenging, exciting classes and made amazing new friends. I've become involved in activities that I'm extremely passionate about, something that I didn't get to do in high school to the degree that I would have liked.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You should make sure your application is rigorous enough, as Tufts is difficult to get into.

    In three sentences

    Tufts has an idyllic campus, and great academic programs. I love the sense of community and togetherness! And they have an excellent engineering program.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't really participate in frat life so I am unable to speak on the matter

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. Believe me on that one

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student organizations always enjoy to paint the cannon. It is something that every tufts student should do before they graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay alot but you definitely see why.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for everyone. I personally do breakdance as well as Taekwondo.

    Food and Dining

    Tufts is ranked I believe number 4 in the nation for dining halls. The food is definitely a plus.

    Dorm Life

    I loved the people that I lived with

    Academic Rigor

    I've never been so challenged in my life

    Tips for prospective students

    Please take your AP classes as seriously as possible. You want to get 5s on those AP exams so that you can be ahead of the curve when classes begin.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is an amazing university. It is challenging as well as diverse and provides a sense of community for all involved. I believe that it is perfect academically and socially and I believe that it is in a great location.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. Communication is good and there are very few incidents on or around campus, so it hasn't been a problem for me.

    Great for these types of students

    Tufts is great for intelligent, thoughtful, open-minded and passionate students, who still want to have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts is not a cheap school. That said, my experience with financial aid has been really positive and, typically, you can lower your cost over the course of your four years by getting smaller meal plans, residential positions, or by moving off-campus. I know the education I'm getting me is a fantastic preparation for the real world, and I'm willing to spend a little bit more than I might at a state school for the amazing student body I've discovered here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really fantastic. There are plenty of options, and the quality of it all is way above average. There are always healthy options, and, as a vegetarian, it's really meaningful that I still have lots of available choices when I walk into the dining hall. The hours are slightly more limited than I'd like on the weekends, but there are plenty of off-campus options available as well.

    Dorm Life

    In general, Tufts does an amazing job making your time in the dorms an enjoyable experience. The dorms themselves are pretty average, neither overly beautiful nor overly crappy, but you can really form a close relationship with the people around you. Most RAs are very committed to creating a great living experience, and Tufts has been adding more resources, like the ACE Fellows, to help people adjust to Tufts even more effectively.

    Academic Rigor

    Tufts is not an easy school. While it's possible to get A's, it takes a lot of effort. While it seems like some people are able to coast in certain majors, everyone will take classes that will challenge them. The best part is, though, that you will have lots of resources at your disposal - so if you're struggling and willing to reach out for help, there will be people willing to give you the assistance you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Admission to Tufts is definitely not easy. They're looking for students who are a combination of both smart and interesting, so you have to wow them with both your academic record, and with interesting and thoughtful essays. My best advice is to do your best in high school and on your testing and be yourself as much as you can in the essays.

    In three sentences

    Tufts combines incredible academic opportunities with a friendly, welcoming student environment. It's dedicated to preparing students for the world no matter what they want to do. I'm having a wonderful time here while feeling like Tufts will help me be successful no matter what I decide to do.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tufts is the perfect school for students who are fed up with grade grubbing and apathy. Tufts is the perfect school for students who are hungry for passion. Tufts is perfect for students who are smart, easily excited, and humble.

    What to do for fun

    Step 1: find someone who is currently enrolled at Tufts Step 2: get on their facebook Step 3: go to their events page Step 4: be stunned by the sheer mass of facebook events they are invited to Step 5: randomly click on one event Step 6: attend

    Food and Dining

    Tufts has AH-MAZING food. It's always of a terrific quality and variety. The best thing any prospective student can do is come to Tufts and try for themselves.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone who I have talked to about dorm life raves that their experience in their particular dorm was the best experience anyone could ever have; everyone in their dorm went on an incredible journey together (e.g. finding the treasure of one-eyed Willie) and their brief time in their particular dorm was the best time of their life. It sounds like the end of a coming of age movie, and I guess it sort of is like that.

    Academic Rigor

    Tufts is a tough-fts school academically. That being said, such rigor comes with phenomenal professors who hock their departments better than any snake oil salesperson ever could, thereby making every single class a tornado of excitement, interest, and knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest with yourself. Take classes you enjoy, and write a common application that is true to you and your personality.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is a school for nerds who are uninhibited by pretension. Everyone has the right to pursue their interests with the full support and respect of the community.Tufts is everyone's Disneyland.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's hard to evaluate, as no one seems to have any major issues on campus but messages from TUPD about minor altercations between students and the nearby residents seem common.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't have a huge impact but there are always weekend parties - usually frequented by freshmen and sophomore - and they're all generally pretty cool and chill.

    Clubs and Activities

    See above

    Great for these types of students

    Is focused on getting a good education but also wants to have fun, have some crazy college stories, and is interested in a variety of things, academically and/or hobby-wise.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tufts Dance Collective - something one must experience in person The Cannon - people paint it at night for upcoming events and fun Pumpkining - putting up pumpkins the night before Halloween on all the buildings - students usually go to MIT and Harvard as well

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts reputation is only rising, so a degree from Tufts will mean more than when you first got in. Additionally, it's not like the education is too shabby either, haha.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and similar activities are really the way to get involved and enjoy yourself at Tufts. Some standouts would be TDC (Tufts Dance Collective), TMC (Tufts Mountain Club - they organize a bunch of fun things including outdoor activities), all the acapella groups, drama, intramural sports, but it really depends on what you're interested in. It's also always pretty easy and fun to go to Davis Square or into Boston downtown.

    Food and Dining

    For being dining hall food, Tufts has great food. It generally doesn't quite hold up when it comes to Asian food but there's always a whole host of options at each dining hall, let alone the fact that there are three main eating spots. Overall pretty quality, but home-cooked food is, obviously, better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life really depends on where you end up living. Personally, I've loved being in one of the freshman dorms, they're a great place to meet friends and tend to be quite social, but not all of the dorms are really state-of-the-art facilities although I believe one dorm is renovated every year, and the new ones are quite nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, Tufts it quite difficult although personally I've found it manageable. However, as it does anywhere, it depends greatly on your major how you'll be spending your time working. However to balance the academic difficulty, most teachers are quite generous with time and help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get a grasp on the feel of the school and if you can imagine living there for the next four years.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is a fun, quirky place bursting with fun things to do, although they might not quite fit into the norm of college activities. The academics are rigorous but teachers are generally passionate and happy to help. If you can't get help from teachers, almost every student has a wide support base of friends and resources from various places.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on on-campus- if you're part of a few clubs, you probably have something going on any given night- but if you want to get away from Tufts for a while, Davis square, a fifteen minute walk away, is where you'll find most of the students' favourite restaurants and small shops. Don't forget that Boston and Cambridge are both right there, in and around which are a number of other college campuses. Boston is, understandably, a huge destination for bands and artists of all varieties. Big acts often come through town, though you can find a plethora of great musicians playing smaller venues all over the city. Make sure to get downtown at least once or twice a month: a common regret among upperclassmen seems to be that they haven't yet gotten off campus on the weekends frequently enough.

    Food and Dining

    Absolutely superb, considering the traffic that goes through the halls each day. Dewick and Carmichael both serve an amazing variety of food, including options for vegetarians and those that suffer from allergies. Considering the fact that we're talking college cafeteria food, the cooks and staff do an excellent job, and I actually look forward to every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Some Tufts dorms have been recently renovated; some, like mine, haven't. Recently refurbished halls like Haskell and South are gorgeous, while halls like Bush are beginning to show their age. It's the people, though, that make the dorm, and a student living in a soviet apartment block with a fun group of kids will always have a better experience than a student in a palace with standoffish people. Thankfully, the former situation- not the soviet apartment part, the fun group part- is much more probable here, and there really isn't anything about even the worst dorms that I think warrants complaining.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, the class sizes at Tufts are certainly a plus. The very largest lecture classes go no larger than 300 students (intro to psych/econ, etc.). Because classes are so small, professors are actually able and available to give students a lot more one-on-one help, and taking advantage of this can be key to success. The classes at Tufts will challenge you, and in my very brief experience as a humanities student, I've found that each of my classes have emphasized discussion and student contribution. This appears to be the case in my friends' courses as well, though the extent to which a class is lecture or discussion-based depends on the professor. Work is frequent and rigorous, but anyone who cultivates good time-management skills will likely be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Tufts open minded and willing to discuss, defend, and adjust your opinions. Social justice and change are massively prevalent subjects on campus, and it's difficult to get away from them. In-depth discussions outside of class time have been frequent in my experience.

    In three sentences

    Tufts is certainly a place that fosters discussion. Though it's about as homogeneous as you'd expect a small, northeastern american university to be, its minority groups and their opinions are well-respected and represented, and Tufts students are, almost to a one, very accepting. Academics-wise, class size has been my favourite aspect of the Tufts education: in the first semester of my freshman year, three of my four courses had twenty students or fewer.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    TUPD (Tufts University Police Department) does a great job of protecting its students!

    Bang for the buck

    Tufts is expensive. However, they meet need up to 100% and offer excellent financial aid packages. Do not let the price of this school discourage you from applying!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do here for fun! If theater is your thing, Tufts offers a wide range of group performances, from African Dance Collectives to Acapella groups. If you are more of a party person, you can find some around campus on the weekends! Many clubs will sometimes get together and organize trips into Boston. Honestly, your fun is up to you and what you make of it!

    Food and Dining

    Tufts dining was ranked #9 in the US for a reason: the food is great There are vegetarian options, meat-lovers options, a deli, a pizza station, a huge salad bar, and more! There are 2 main dining halls, Carmichael and Dewick, and a to-go place, Hodgdon. Tufts Campus Center also has many stations where you can get a bite!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Tufts varies depending on the buildings you live in. Overall, the dorms are great opportunities to meet new people and provide excellent bonding opportunities. However, you will be placed in an all Freshman dorm your first year. After that, your dorm is depended on by a randomized lottery system which can put you in a bad situation if you have a low number. Regardless, each dorm has been renovated and fine to live in. What makes the difference now is if you like to walk up hills or not...

    Academic Rigor

    Tufts is not an easy A school. You earn what you work for and it definitely requires dedication. However, if you balance and manage your time wisely you can still find time to have fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying, be yourself as much as possible. The admissions officers value nothing more than a true genuine personality being shown on your college application. As a Tufts student, you should now be prepared to read a lot. The university is very large so don't be afraid if you don't make new friends right away, they will come to you. Don't sign up for 8 am classes if you do not consider yourself a morning person!

    In three sentences

    Tufts is a prestigious university dedicated to assuring that its students get the most out of their Tufts education. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to help students for as long as they need. Tufts is highly recommended to any senior and it is certainly an unforgettable experience!

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus, and TUPD takes campus safety very seriously.

    Greek Life

    It's as present as you want it to be. You can make greek life your whole world, attend the occasional party but not really get involved, or ignore it and almost forget entirely that it is there.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are interested in it, there is almost always a club for it. If there isn't, starting one is ridiculously easy. Acapella is wildly popular- we have 9 groups as of Fall 2013. There are a whole host of sports teams, from the more traditional football and volleyball to Quidditch, with all levels of commitment from varsity to intramural. There is an extremely active theatre community, as well as tons of groups aimed at social justice issues, women's and LGBT activism, and political and environmental issues. There are also dozens of newspapers and magazines published on campus every semester.

    Food and Dining

    Tufts dining is fantastic, they have such a wide variety of options that I never get tired of the same old food. There are always sandwiches, soups, and salads available, in addition to the two or three entrees offered per meal. There is also a wide selection of vegetarian foods at every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms available to Freshman leave a little something to be desired, in my opinion. Most of the rooms in most of the buildings are of decent size, save for where I live (Metcalf West), where my room is the size of an oversized walk-in closet. If you live in a building with a communal kitchen, don't expect to be able to use it for anything other than simple baking projects- it will no doubt be small and the appliances will probably be old. That being said, some of the dorms, especially the recently renovated ones- Lewis, South, and Haskell to name a few- are nice enough. Suite and apartment-style living is available to sophomores and upperclassmen. Sophia-Gordon, an all-senior dorm, is absolutely gorgeous, apartment-style living. Living on-campus is required freshman and sophomore years, but most upperclassmen tend to live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I finally feel as if the work I am doing in my classes is worthwhile, rather than the pointless busywork of high school. By coincidence, I took many courses with low workloads my first semester, so I had plenty of time to complete my assignments and pursue outside interests. All of my classes were engaging and interesting, and I never felt like my time was being wasted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Play up what makes you different. Scores and grades are obviously important, but everyone applying here is smart, so it's really your essays that are going to show the admissions officers what makes you stand out from the 18,000 other smart kids in the application pile.