Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tusculum College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a close knit community this college is for you. This college is great if you want only one class at a time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Tusculum be prepared for anything. The weather this year has been a little crazy. So if you plan on coming here bring some light jackets and maybe a coat to put in your closet. Be prepared for all your classes. Come with pencils, paper, and of course your homework from the night before. Although at Tusculum we have a computer system that we submit our work into. But You need to be safe and print a hard copy as well. Sometimes your work might get lost. Computers are not perfect. Study tons and tons. You will not pass the class if you do not study. Manage your time. College life can be hectic. You have to keep up with what homework assignments you have, club meeting, and maybe sport practice.

    Bang for the buck

    All colleges are expensive. At Tusculum it is a bit pricier than other colleges in East Tennessee. I had plenty of scholarship money and other grants. It was so worth coming here. The professors are here to help you with whatever you need. Some of them are tough. You really have to study and study for your class. Each is different for each person. I feel that i'm getting a great education here and I know all my scholarship money is not being wasted.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love all my new friends here at Tusculum. It is really easy to bond with people here. It is not a small or large college. It is just right. All the staff and faculty are here to help you. I have never had any trouble with any students or teachers. The faculty here is awesome. They are so kind and considerate. There are many varieties of clubs here. It is so easy to make friends and find what club suits your needs. Of course there are plenty of sports related activities. The student life coordinators plan plenty of activities for the students to enjoy. The House I live in is awesome. I have made friends with everyone in my house. There are also other houses and residence halls that students live in. It is wonderful to be here.

    Am learning a lot

    At Tusculum College the schedule here is different. For 18 days, We have one class at a time. My first class was psychology 101 this year. Each class is 3 hours long. You could have a morning or afternoon class depending on your schedule. I learned so much in my class. Yes it was stressful and it was hard; But college is never easy. With only one class to concentrate on you don't have to worry about other classes. You only concentrate on one. I believe you learn a lot more that having 4 or more classes at the same time like other colleges. Tusculum is truly a one of a kind college.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always get ahold of campus security and with how small the campus is, they're always just a minute or two away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a TON of clubs and quite a few of them actually get special housing

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are better at focusing on one thing at a time.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an amazing school but at the same time the 30K can get pricey. Make sure you get plenty of grants and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    It's pretty much a one road town, but there are some cities and clubs within easy driving distance. So long as you're social and make friends there is almost always something to do with someone

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is 'eh' but supposedly next year (2012-2013) we're getting a MUCH better provider

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on who you get as a roomate and where you are, but most of the people are nice and respectable and even if you and your roomate arn't best friends they're usually easy enough to get along with

    Academic Rigor

    Pros: One class at a time. One classes homework for the night. You never have to study for more than one final/midterm at a time. Cons: You have to make sure you actually do your work or you will get behind and it is next to impossible to catch back up(if you work hard though teachers are usually always willing to lend a hand)

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you're ok with a small school. You really get to know the people you go to school with, but that can sometimes make it impossible to escape anyone you don't get along with. Make sure you come to class ready to work because while the classes are only 18 days, they make sure you get the material. If you really want to go here, APPLY FOR EVERY SCHOLARSHIP YOU SEE!

    In three sentences

    The school constantly tries to suck money out of you. Admission is very high for how little money goes back to the students. The block system IS very nice for some people

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a great campus safety staff and the campus itself is in a very safe community.

    Greek Life

    none! we feel that this creates more unity of the intire campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs include anime, african-american, psychology and tons of other unique clubs. can't find a club centered around your interest? you have the opportunity to find other students that share that interest and professor to support you and start a club.

    What to do for fun

    there is a game room, a gym, workout room, 7 mile walking track, basketball courts, etc. on campus available to all students. there is a really nice new movie theatre and a skate park in town. there are also a few bars around town.

    Food and Dining

    i have heard that the cafeteria food is o.k., but there is a cafe on campus called the perk, which i love. most students from out of town usually try to befriend a commuter to show them around and/or eat with them in their homes.

    Dorm Life

    i personally do not live on campus, but i can say from visiting friends that the dorm rooms are nothing special. they are, however, kept up well. for the best on-campus living you can apply for an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    one class at a time does not mean that the work is harder than at any other college. however, it does mean that you are taking a semester worth of work and doing it in three and a half weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not think that because the classes are short and you only have one class at a time that you can procrastinate on term papers or studying for exams. also, if you need a semester off for any reason, apply for a leave of absence of you could lose some of your scholarships.

    In three sentences

    i love that the block schedule allows me to focus on one class at a time. the campus is small, but has a big history and is absolutely gorgeous. also, by having class with less than thirty students at a time, the professors are able to get to know their students and provide assistance to each one.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people use to block schedule.

    Dorm Life

    i saw ac units sticking out the windows so i assume its hot

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school before you choose it i was so sure i wanted to go here until i visited i felt like an alien it was very quiet and dead.

    In three sentences

    deserted quiet uncomfortable

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tusculum is a great college for athletes. There are several different teams to participate in, and athletics are really supported by the campus. I can't speak much for other majors, but I know our science department has had several successful students and our English department has accomplished professors who are always ready to cut back and have a good time as well. Most of all, Tusculum is perfect for students who thrive in a focused environment and will be able to concentrate on a block class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Walk the Block tours that admissions has to offer. It gives you an opportunity to see how the classes function and lets you decide ahead of time if you think it will work for you. Don't be afraid to ask current students and professors questions, either. It is better to speak up ahead of time and get the answer you need than to discover it too late.

    Bang for the buck

    Tusculum is definitely expensive, but I do not regret the cost of coming here. My family encouraged me to go to a cheaper state school in our hometown, but I know I would not have been nearly as happy or successful there as I have been at Tusculum. Tusculum offers decent scholarships for grades and athletics, as well as a myriad of opportunities for work study positions and student jobs in the tutoring center.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the mountains! The cafeteria and several of the dorms overlook them and it is incredible to watch them change each season. Greeneville itself is quiet, but you can find some really cool hole-in-the-wall type places to shop or hang out. And if you want something a little bigger, Johnson City is only thirty minutes away. As far as campus life, there is so much to get involved in at Tusculum. There is an anime club, a knitting club, several Christian clubs, a New Age club, and LGBT society, and many more. There are also clubs for specific majors as well as honors societies for a few of them.

    Am learning a lot

    At Tusculum we use a block schedule. Students go to one class at a time for three hours a day for eighteen days. I love this schedule because I only have one class to concentrate on and if it's a class I don't like, I'm done with it quickly. Since a semester's worth of work is condensed into three and a half weeks, it can mean a lot of homework some nights, but you only have one class, so you have all day to finish it.

  • 11/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who just want to focus on one class and can handle time constraints well. People from small towns and enjoy the mountains.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, work, work. The block can be extremely stressful and doesn't allow for procrastination. It can be hard to make friends here, so I suggest you try to make the best of the first few weeks (thats when people start to form cliques.)

    Bang for the buck

    This school is WAY overpriced. I know its a private institution, but seriously there are a few things I should point out. First, all the buildings are old and run-down (only the Library and Student Center are new). The dorms are expensive to live in (4,000 a year) and all have the exact same price, which is wrong when some dorms look better than others. Cafeteria food is below average and there isn't any other option besides the Perk, which is a snack bar/coffee shop (not open on weekends). The quality of the school and the price are too far apart, and honestly I think that the school is ripping people off.

    Am enjoying being here

    Tusculum College is a really small school in an even smaller town. Everyone knows everyone...which can be good and bad. The school tries to garner a sense of community in its students, since its so small. Don't come here if you like the city, you'll be disappointed at how little the town has to offer. Bigger cities like Johnson City and Knoxville aren't far away though so you can still have fun on the weekends. The college tries to schedule fun stuff to do on campus, but they fall short sometimes. I live in the Honor's House, so I don't know about what dorm life is like. I've heard that some crazy stuff goes on in the Freshman dorm, Katherine Hall.

    Am learning a lot

    The unique block system that consists of one class for 18 days has its ups and downs. If you have an easy class that block, then you just cruise right along enjoying lots of free time. The problem is when you have a difficult class. For instance, last block I took an Honors English course in which I had to write a 12 page paper in two days because of the time constraints. Being in one class allows you to focus, but I personally think the traditional style of college works better for me (I had already taken several college courses while in high school.) This is a great school if you want to just be able to focus on one class, but not if you are planning on pursuing a second major. If you are a business, education, athletic training, or psychology major then you should have a strong learning experience. I'm a political science major, and there is only ONE professor for the entire program. So I will have to transfer to a bigger school to get the education I need.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who doesnt mind a smaller environment and close contact with teachers

    Will enjoy being here

    From what I have seen this is an amazing college and the faculty are really dedicated to make sure you learn and you are comfortable.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the many sporting events on campus

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are hiking trails, movies, plays, a coffee shop for students.

    Food and Dining

    lovely food in the cafeteria. many choices daily.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are clean and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get a meal plan. c:

    In three sentences

    this school has very unique classes. i love the scenery around the school. the school offers many free activities for students.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is situated in a safe, quite area located at lovell drive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities at this college offering great opportunities to go and have fun with the family. Very enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure about food and dining.

    Academic Rigor

    Great environment. Awesome academic rigor.

    In three sentences

    Tusculum College is a well respected college, great teachers, great advisors, great environment. This college has a blocked schedule and with four hour classes. The college the 23rd oldest college in the United States.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Working adult

    Bang for the buck

    Pricey, but there aren't that many reputable colleges who offer such an accommodating class schedule.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are great

    Academic Rigor

    The course material is challenging, and keeps me busy, but it might not be as challenging if I were not a working adult.

    Tips for prospective students

    In this fast-paced classroom, you can't afford to miss any lecture time. Attend all classes, take great notes, invest in a smart pen in case your instructor doesn't use ppt.

    In three sentences

    I am an adult student, returning to school after 20 years or so. Tusculum offers a diverse student body and after being a student for one year, I have experienced instructors who understand that as working adults, we have different responsibilities than the average college junior. The instructors and staff want you to succeed.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great about keeping the doors locked at night when we are in class. Parking lot is well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working adults (Knoxville campus)

    Bang for the buck

    The adult program is great for the working adult. I attend classes on Friday nights and Saturdays only. This works great so that I can work Monday thru Friday!

    What to do for fun

    I attend the Knoxville campus where the adult program is held. There are no extra-curricular activities. We do meet as a group and go to dinner sometimes though!

    Academic Rigor

    In the adult studies program classes only last 4 weeks. You must be on your game and not get behind to get the assignments done. Teachers are great about helping with problems!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check your schedule to be sure that you need the classes. Often I have been signed up for classes that I did not need. Have everything ready when you go in to talk to people.

    In three sentences

    Tusculum provides a great education for the working student. My class size has been small, and that has allowed the teachers to give one-on-one attention. Overall a great education that will work with your schedule!

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tradition holds the first benefactorwhich would give students room to clean their rooms and visit the campus. In honor of miss Nettie. Its a college holiday to celebrate her birthday in February. During the customs early years was the cleaning of the campus including contest between residence halls. Over the years Nettie day invoke to take on a more generalized community service instances. The time of the year has changed to the early and fall semester as a way to introduce new students to the culture of service on campus. Nettie day involved about 400 freshman and transfer students as well as upperclassmen and the Bonner leader student service organization along with faculty and staff.

    Bang for the buck

    this campus has been a very affordable and unique style.beyond looking from what everything looks like the school is a pretty decent school. The cost of living is affordable yet at a private institute the educational level is through the roof.

    What to do for fun

    they're different things you can do on campus. You can play varsity sports or you can join clubs. There are also recreational sports the library student ambassador student abroad global awareness club and there's also a band and different performing arts.staying on campus there's always something to do and you'll need never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is amazing there's different choices to choose from. You can go for a salad or you can go for steak or you can go for a burger. You can choose from on campus food or go off campus and buy something else. No matter what you're never going to starve on campus. The staff are always there for you.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is very traditional and exciting. At Tusculumthe dorms are referred to creating a living legacy. On February 9 2013 they broke down groundon two apartment style residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    for academics it's an exciting step towards your future goals. At Tusculum, there are free tutoring for students who need help.their course related to the Rings available for most freshman and sophomore level classes. One on one tutoring group tutoring and walking in sessions are available. Both Pierre and agreed tutors work with students over 30 active tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come on campus have an open mind because you never know what you will be doing. You won't really know what major you want or what major you might have or what major you are planning to go in because it might not be for you. For athletes also keep an open mind because you might want to do more than one sport.

    In three sentences

    The vibe on campus is like no other. The staff and the students on campus makes you feel like you're at home. Aside from campus life the sports and the academics I definitely well defined an amazing.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe school and protective security officers.

    Greek Life

    There is not any greek life at all at Tusculum.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to join. sport events are always fun to attend and intramural sports are so much fun to play!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tusculum is the first college in Tennessee and is still existing! It has a great history and President Andrew Johnson attended college there.

    Bang for the buck

    Tusculum is more on the expensive side but I believe it is well worth the price!

    What to do for fun

    Johnson City is 30 minutes away from the school and Knoxville is about an hour away so you can always find something to do! Everyone goes to a small club called The Valley in Greeneville which is fun! There is also a game room on campus and someone is always down for going to $5 Tuedays at the Movie Theater.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better but it is buffet style and you have plenty to chose from in the cafeteria and/or throughout the town of Greeneville!

    Dorm Life

    Very fun and excting!

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors that will push you to do your best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Give colleges with the block system a chance, it may be a lot of work within one day but if you don't like the class you are in or professor, it doesn't matter because you only have 18 days in that class. The block schedule helps you stay consistent, focused, and maintain time management. There isn't much to do in the small town of Greeneville, Tennessee but with all of the great friends you will make you will still have fun! Also, stay active within the campus... join clubs, groups, and play intramural sports, I do all three.

    In three sentences

    Tusculum College does their classes on the block schedule which makes it easier to concentrate on one class and subject at a time! You take one class at a time for 18 days, then have a 4 day block break which you can go home during which makes it impossible to become home-sick! It is a small college but it is in a beautiful Eastern part of the United States and I love all of the friends and people I have met while attending Tusculum!

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    cool

    What to do for fun

    I will play the Piano for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Not yet on campus

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool from information from current students.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very good school in terms of academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have serious students.

    In three sentences

    A good school in terms of academics. A caring school. Tusculum College is a school that develops potential.