Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tyler Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think TJC is great for all students, young and old. They offer classes for just about anything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can at TJC before entering a 4 year college. Be sure to communicate with your advisor and promptly ask any questions. If taking online courses, begin following the syllabus right away, I found the assignments easy to keep up with that way.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the local 4 year university, TJC offers the core curriculum for almost 1/3 of the cost. My parents are paying for my education, along with minimal scholarship money, and their advice to take advantage of a top rated Jr. College like TJC was sound. Why end up with thousands in student loans to pay back? TJC will get you started without the debt.

    Am enjoying being here

    Actually, I live at home, and have had to attend classes for only two semesters and this summer to complete the core curriculum I need to begin as a junior at a 4 yr. university. My goal is to finish my undergraduate classes and go on to an occupational therapy program. Thus, I chose not to spend much time enjoying campus life. I also had a job and family responsibilities. The setting is familiar and beautiful, stately brick buildings on an established property, covered with trees. It was easy to get around and find my way to on campus classes. Staff was helpful when needed.

    Am learning a lot

    TJC offers flexible and diverse learning opportunities. Through the dual-credit program, I began taking college level courses during high school. These included English, Economics,World History, Art Appreciation, Pre-Calculus, College Algebra and Biology. These courses were challenging, but well worth the effort. The core curriculum I chose to pursue when I began attending classes after high school graduation included some online courses and one class at a satellite campus site in my hometown. These options, along with multiple sections of each class offered, allowed me the freedom to set my schedule around work and family obligations. The advisor I had was accessible by e-mail and answered my concerns in a timely manner. Being an A student at a 4A east Texas high school prepared me for the academic demands of the courses I took at TJC which included Geography,Elementary Statistics,Government Literature, Physics, Anatomy and Physiology, Speech, BCIS, some Elementary Education courses.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! get involved but don't over do it, you will enjoy everything so much more if you go out and meet people and get involved.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am highly involved on the campus, I was secretary on student senate my freshman year. All summer and this year I have been Phi Theta Kappa VP of leadership, I have had some of the best experiences because I got involved on campus and have loved every minute of it. I work on campus in the student life office and am always around to help. I love this campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been very privilege to have some very excellent teachers. This school has teachers who really care and will focus of helping you learn all you can..

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TJC is a great place for high school graduates to begin their college career as well as adult who are returning to finish their degree plans.

    Tips for prospective students

    While going to Tyler Junior College can be a blast, DO NOT party around all the time. You will need to study and put effort into your courses no matter how hard or easy they may be. With that being said find a club or two to join; they make your stay at TJC so much more fun and interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, TJC has some great teachers. They can be fun and enlightening and can help you on the road to your future. This is true for most of the campuses professors but there are a slight few with whom it is up to you to decide what you take from their courses.

    Am enjoying being here

    Tyler Junior College has so many clubs and organizations that it's easy to find people who you can enjoy being with.

    Am learning a lot

    This is the perfect place to start pursuing your degree plans of the future. Some of the best professors that you will ever meet teach here at Tyler Junior College. Plus, if you ever need help, any type, there are always people there for you.

  • 11/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for those who wish to transfer to a four year university, anyone who wants to earn an associates degree, anyone who is looking for a certain type of certification, nursing majors, or anyone who wants to further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as you can. There are many organizations on campus including sports teams, the Apache Belles drill team, national champion boys and girls soccer team, religious organizations, Phi Theta Kappa honor society, band, and many other opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a junior college this school is a great way to get ones core classes out of the way for less money than it would cost at a university. The credits at this school also easily transfer to four year universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    The thing that makes this two year school special is how it truly feels like a four year university. There are dozens of sports teams, clubs, and organizations on campus that help the campus to have a community feel. Also the campus has on campus housing for out of town students and the dorms are extremely nice. The new Ornelas complex feels like a hotel complete with deli, computer room, media room, flat screen TVs in the main lobby, game room, conference rooms, each room has its own bathroom, courtyard, and it is only a few years old.

    Am learning a lot

    Tyler Junior College is one of the top junior colleges in the nation. For the most part the faculty is always very helpful and qualified. They offer classes in the classroom, online, and even via satellite. There is also an honors program at the school.

  • 09/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Every penny you pay is worth it. I don't qualify for financial aid so my parents have to pay and they don't regret it one bit because i am excelling.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it here. It has a lot of activiities going on through out the school year, which makes going there nice because the activities are only for TJC students.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. The teachers are great and the subjects i would normally be bored with, are actually entertaining.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student going into the healthcare feild

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school!

    Am learning a lot

    I Love TJC!

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get into programs that you enjoy

    Dorm Life

    I never did

    Academic Rigor

    wonderful

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting into college is easy, staying in college is much harder. Whatever you do stay in college cause its even harder to get back into college after you have dropped out. Don't give up!

    In three sentences

    This college is affordable and you can get a good education here. I love the atmosphere and the classroom's. The professor's are very well educated as well.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excelent, We wear ID's for our safety

    Greek Life

    Not here.

    Bang for the buck

    There are people that tutor for free. The library is great!!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on at the school.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, but not my favorite

    Academic Rigor

    They teach & help. Not just toss you into a class room and say go!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is one of most beautiful, helpful, and useful school i've even been to. Its great to be an Apache!

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Affordable school!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on you, the work is alot but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register Early and consult an advisor, try to stick with one advisor.

    In three sentences

    Most Professors are great, however the financial information is always difficult. You get conflicting information. Overall, the school is good about assisting with your future goals.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun? There's too much going on! The recreation center is open all day and closes at 12am! It has things such as Basketball, Racquetball, Dance Studios, Weight rooms upstairs and down stairs, a huge swimming pool, and even a in closed Volleyball court. But if your not into sports, there's Organizations such as Real-Talk, a Christian based organization where we adults can talk and discuss or beliefs freely without any criticism.

    Food and Dining

    The food her at TJC is awesome! we give out different styles and types of food everyday. Like Mexican, American, Seafood, and many more.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life seems fun, but i really don't know much because the dorms were filled before i can got on so i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Our faculty puts all their time, effort, and passion to make sure that our students do the best of their ability. Classes are small, our teachers are easier to talk to and the teachers will tell you exactly what you need to study in order to be successful in his or her class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off because the teachers will not baby-sit or hold your hand. They will give you guidance and teach you the way to success! If your ever lost in what to do, where to go, or just want to know what to expect for teachers, make it a habit in talking to your advisers.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is one of the most exiting universities I've ever been too. The faculty is very kind, humors and caring. The campus life is very active and interesting!

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has an AWESOME campus safety team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Apache Woodlands are way off in the woods and students have to walk like a mile in the rain to get there if it is raining. It is about the only complaint that i have about my experience so far.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the movies with my kids, study my lessons, and love to spend time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is a great place to eat, at a reasonable price. You sure get plenty of food for the price.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't have the pleaseure of staying in the dorms, but from what i have heard they are all very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Very clean and good learning environment

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you talk to an advisor before going in to the process of starting classes. Get familiar with the campus, Don't always listen to what everyone has to say learn for yourself.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this school. The professor's that i have had are all awesome. The library, advisors, finacial aid office and all offices that you have to deal with are all very helpful.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Beginning this fall 2010, students and employees will wear their identification cards on lanyards so that others know of their role at the College and so that visitors will be identifiable. There is constantly campus security on bikes and go karts to make sure there is no disruptive problems going on campus. If you do not have or wear your lanyard you will be pulled aside by campus safety. They will ask you to write your name and A# and will call to confirm you are a student to issue you a day pass. If you are not a student, you will be escorted off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 30 organizations which include educational, religious, special interests, governmental and departmental. Depending on your interest, contact the sponsor and find out more about the organization and when they meet. If there is not an organization that fits your style you can create your own organization. TJC bicycle club, apache band, apache belles, black student association, hispanic student association, deaf connection club, association of baptist ministries, and apache activities council just to name a few.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drumbeat started in 1948 and it is an unbroken tradition since that time. The drum beats to the Apache Cadence 24 hours a day starting on Monday of Homecoming Week and continuing until kickoff on Saturday. The tradition of the drumbeat is that if it does not stop we will win the game on Saturday but it stops we will lose the game. Tradition has held for the past 18 years, with one exception, one time the drumbeat stopped and we tied the game. But it was the worst weather that you can imagine for a football game. It hailed, rained one inch per thirty minutes, and had cloud to ground lightning, with the game being delayed three times due to the lightning. In the 1940's TJC played in many national football games including the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. Members of the Tyler Community were interested in knowing if TJC won or lost its game and so they came up with a way for the community to know if TJC won their game. Ramey Tower was visible at the time from Broadway, since the trees on campus, planted by Dr. Potter were very small and Tyler Junior College is located on a hill at the present location. Ramey Tower is lit in gold if we win the game and in white if we lose the game.

    What to do for fun

    Depending where you are coming from, there can be a lot to do in Tyler or very little. We have one bowling alley, one mall, plenty of retail stores, three movie theaters, six dance clubs, and tons of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Every resident must have a Meal Plan. These meal plans consist of a 19, 15, or 10 meals per week plan. The cafeteria always has a variety of foods. A salad and soup bar, a little tour of italy, and of course, the typical college food, fries, pizza, cheese sticks and more. If you are vegan, the salad bar is for you. They have tons of crackers and veggies to decorate your salad.

    Dorm Life

    Ornelas dorms are the nicest, newest, and the only co-ed dorms we have on campus. It will remind you of a luxurious hotel. TJC has nine residence halls that house more than 1,060 students. All the dorms located on campus and each two rooms, besides Orenlas complex, share one bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are offered in traditional classroom settings, via Instructional Television, online and in some cases, on-site. TJC offers travel study programs. These courses are 3 hour credits and designed to provide hands-on learning opportunities for undergraduate students and other individuals who undertake foreign travel. They offer the participant opportunities to learn outside the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tyler Junior College will provide a great quality education at a lower cost. If undecided, this is the place to explore the variety of majors and programs we have to offer. Do some research and dip your toes in each major that you could be interested in to find out what your passion is.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College has three promises. #1, Quality Education. #2 Vibrant Student Life. #3 Community Service.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tyler Junior College is great for students that do not have the money and scholarships to attend a University. I recommend getting an Associates Degree at a junior college before going to a 4 year college, it is less expensive, and you can get a early education that will get you a job in order to pay for later tuition a a university.t

    Bang for the buck

    This is my first time in a community college, I did my first year of college at a university online, it was really expensive and then came to find out that I paid all that money for college prep classes, and the college did not tell me this, I found out when I entered Tyler Junior College. This college is far more affordable then the university. I do plan on attending a university for my masters in Psychology, but I can wait until I can afford it.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and teachers are great to work with and they do have a professional, and caring attitude.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered for classes during early registration, has a great financial aide package.

    In three sentences

    I have met some of the best teachers, and they do care. T.J.C is a great campus with a great atmosphere to study. T.J.C has great financial aide program.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone must wear id cards. If you caught without one you could recieve a ticket. There are police also on campus.

    Greek Life

    no idea

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not apart of any but one of the staff members sent me a email about joining one.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are trying to stay close to home, or trying to work on GPA this school is great. People who scared to start off at a big university.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't ate at the school yet.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not staying on campus. But for the campus tour we we're showed the dorms, all dorms are new and refurnished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you head is in the right place. Make sure you have everything you need taking care of done before the school year start.

    In three sentences

    I haven't attended school yet, or orientation. But so far what i have seen the staff is nice. They help you get to the information you need.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of police around so you are protected at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    Paying to go to TJC is lcheaper than most colleges around.

    What to do for fun

    Games, recreation centers, pool halls, and lots of sports available.

    Food and Dining

    Very healthy and delicious food that makes you feel like your at home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its affordable, small, easy going, in order to pass you need to pay attention. Everything you will need to know the professor will tell you before your test.

    In three sentences

    It is a school that you learn step by step. The teachers are very helpful, if you have any questions. It's not a big school and it's easy to get around.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful campus safety. They have a number to call if you feel threatened at any time. They also have if needed, a campus security officer escort you to your car in late hours. Campus police are always on the campus. Every student must wear a lanyard with a current student ID. Any student found without ID is escorted to campus safety office.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of activities. There have been talent shows and many other activities. Clubs can also be created by students when approved by the dean. I over heard a young man creating a Shuffle club for TJC students to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking a student friendly college. Some one looking for events to get involved in. Lots of volunteerism.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On homecoming week, they have students volunteer to beat the Apache drum twenty-four seven. They also have a dog buried over by Jenkins Hall. He was a dog that stayed on campus during the seventies.

    Bang for the buck

    Tyler Junior College is a very affordable college for someone seeking their associates degree or if they are interested in degree programs.

    What to do for fun

    TJC has many on campus activities. There is never a dull moment. They plan lots of events for students to be involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get a map of the campus. Learn the building names. Get involved in activities on campus.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school. Very helpful staff. Student friendly atmosphere.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play Football

    Food and Dining

    O.K. Could always be better.

    Academic Rigor

    You definately have to apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, Study!!!!

    In three sentences

    Nice Environment Online Courses Football Program

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student activites at the rec center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early cause the good class times fill up fast. Allow yourself at least ten minutes to find a parking spot. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    A good base to get started on the college path. Tuition is much cheaper than other colleges. Lots of classes and class times to pick from.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very strict on students without lanyards. You have to wear them while on campus to prove you are a student.

    Greek Life

    Phi theta kappa is an honors club that is good to be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    TJC will get you where you need to be just as any other 4 year university would to complete your core curriculum and for practically half the cost.

    Bang for the buck

    I was able to pay for college myself by using their installment plan.

    What to do for fun

    Go to football games, Tennis matches, or basketball games. The gym is nice and has a pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food at TJC is good, but there are many other places close to, but outside of campus, that are better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have just been remodeled and are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of courses at TJC in my case depended on the teacher. Some teachers are tougher than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and enroll in advance to avoid lines and crowds. Registering is easy online. Wear your lanyard at all times when on campus.

    In three sentences

    I attended Tyler Junior College for my first two years of college and the educational experience was great. The teachers I had were caring and always had your best interest in mind. Overall Tyler Junior college is a nice school with nice people.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Make sure you never forget to wear your lanyard, there are security guards patrolling the campus to make sure you have it on., beware the yellow vest!

    What to do for fun

    There's always the sports teams, you could join intramural, there is an amazing theatre department, and sometimes there are things like free food and music right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is underneath the Rogers student center, their food is pretty good and they have a variety of options so you'll never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I actually didn't stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a lot different from highschool, but if you make time to study and pay attention in class youll be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the advisers or people who are on campus before making your schedule. Also try and sit in the front of the class, you will have less distraction and will most likely make better grades.

    In three sentences

    The people at this school really care. They have advisers for students to talk to about there majors and career goals. The teachers will meet with you to discus your progress and talk about your grades, its an all around supportive environment.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the tuition fees are expensive

    What to do for fun

    I play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Be focus and decided when you start college.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior college is definitely one of the best colleges in Texas. its entourage of excellent professors and lecturers help students gain the knowledge needed to the career. Its the right college to choose

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, concerts, promo events, school organization events.

    Food and Dining

    There seems to be quite a few options and the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in a dorm but from what I've heard it's ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are just easier than others and sometimes it just depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Park in student parking, even if it means going much earlier to find a spot. Just do what you can to please the professors.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice size campus with medium sized classes. Most of the people that work there are nice and friendly. The cost is cheaper compared to other schools in Texas.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has stepped up their game the past couple years, but with a bunch of restrictive rules, like wearing your nametag whenever you're on campus and whatnot.

    Greek Life

    Kappa Kappa Psi AEA

    Clubs and Activities

    The art and music departments have some neat ones. There is a thick theatre community as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Music majors! The music program is awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming week is drumbeat week. There is a drum beat 24 hours a day for the week proceeding the game. Students can sign up to take a shift either as a group or individual.

    What to do for fun

    Extracurricular groups always have events going on. The football games are a blast!

    Food and Dining

    No bueno.

    Dorm Life

    I've never stayed in the dorms, but from what I've seen, they're lacking. It's been a few years though, so they may have upgraded since then.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't impossible to keep up with, but I think they prepare you well enough for university style courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your registration and financial aid early. The school has more students than they can handle right now, and so everything slows to a near halt in the fall. But always look into different extracurricular groups around campus, there are some really neat ones.

    In three sentences

    TJC is one of the largest junior colleges around, and so I feel like the offer a little bit of the university style learning than your average. They also cost a little more than your average junior college, but you get what you pay for. The academic staff in general is great, but the administrative areas are a TOTAL pain to deal with and are very incompetent all the way around.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    TJC is not a college that anyone can just go to and receive credits for doing nothing. The professors hold everyone to a high standard of academic achievement and do not tolerate excuses, though some are too easy for my personal taste. Most classes at TJC are taught at an average to higher than average pace to keep students on their toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, going to college is a huge experience and can be quite stressing, but at TJC most people are nice and easy to work with to find your classes or join organizations. The administration always gives you straight forward answers and is there to help for the most part.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College, TJC, is a very vibrant and active junior college in East Texas with many activities and community outreach events. The very low cost of tuition at TJC makes the first two years of a college experience relatively easy to attend with even very tight financial constraints. There is a wide variety of clubs and organizations to join which makes it easy for everyone to find something to be a part of.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police on campus that patrol. I do not live on campus, so someone living on campus would be more knowledgeable on this matter.

    Great for these types of students

    Want to get their Associates Degree before transferring to a University. Great if you have to use financial aid and be frugal when it comes to your finances. Great if you want to live on campus as this campus has dorms and many sports teams and activities. This college has a lot to offer for being a Junior College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is not applicable to me.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe it is very well priced for the quality of education you receive. I will be able to give you a more informed opinion on this matter in the weeks and months to come.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things in Tyler to do for fun. It is a pretty big town with a lot of attractions.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I live off-campus, so this is not applicable to me.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus, so I this is not applicable to me.

    Academic Rigor

    My courses started on the 27th of August, so I am not the best person to give advice at this time on the Academic Rigor, I will know more on this subject within the next few weeks. But, I am keeping busy and learning a lot and it's just been a little over a week since school has begun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your financial aid process early in order to have time to get the proper paperwork, etc. that you will need in order to complete it. Research courses you are wanting to take and register early so that you have the most options.

    In three sentences

    So far, Tyler Junior College has been great! The teachers and employees that I have had contact with have been extremely helpful, very friendly, and were knowledgeable about everything that I had questions about. I would definitely recommend this college!

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition TJC has is beat the drum it during homecoming and for a whole week straight someone has to beat the drum and if one person stops for even a second we will lose the game. I'm not sure if it helps us win but it is a great way to meet new people and relieve stress from classes.

    What to do for fun

    Some things to do for fun is going to on compass events such as concerts, dances, and join an organization and the college is close to small restaurants that you and your friends can go to and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, most of the students prefer to eat out. However I love their chicken its almost like mama's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great way to meet new friends. I am an RA so I love it and the security really helps make me feel safer living on compass.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is great. The classes really challenges you to think independently and learn how to fully understand the concept of the information you are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip I can give to prospective students is to be cautious of time management. Time management is a must college because without it you will fall behind and once you fall behind it is extremely hard to catch up.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is an awesome school that allows there students with infinite possibilities to succeed. They really care about their students and wants each of them to reach their goals and or dream and will help in any way possible to get them there.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems extremely secure. Since I do not live on campus and attend class sometimes 7 hours a day, I am comforted by the sight of campus police scoping out the parking lot I park in and I see them driving around all of the time.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in Greek Life, nor do I know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the surrounding churches participate in feeding the students on a daily basis. In our Dental Hygiene program, we are encouraged to join the association associated with out program. There are always sports games that are great to attend; they have an awesome tennis team!

    Great for these types of students

    Since there are many options, this place is great for those that are right out of high school and don't know quite what they want to do yet. It is also great for those that are going back to school to get a technical career or career advancement, like me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is beautiful! I love the waterfalls and the greenery is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of education cannot be measured compared to the knowledge. However, since the cost is rising, it still hurts a bit. Even for junior colleges, I've already racked up several thousands that I have to pay back. It seems like they are trying to get money elsewhere, also.

    What to do for fun

    I attend church, enjoy going to the movies and supporting local high school and college football teams.

    Food and Dining

    The food areas are convenient and the taste is good. This prices are little high for a college student, however.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but hear it's nice. There was a new dorm built recently that is very attractive and efficient.

    Academic Rigor

    All courses have been very thorough, which is what is needed for those careers that require a vigorous test for licensure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of all of your application requirements, especially if applying for a specific program. This school offers many great career options!

    In three sentences

    The courses I'm in are taught well by the teachers.They are also very friendly. There are many options to accommodate your schedule.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While at TJC I never had an incident or even doubted my safety. There is a sense that everyone has your back, and the college really takes measures to ensure everyone 's safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs on one campus I was only part of one but i definitely recommend it if you're interested in art. The professors are alot of fun and it allows you to stay connected with the other students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a laid back college atmosphere,who like a sense of communtiy, and who need or like one on one attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I was part of the art club and one fantastic tradition we had was to take a giant piece of art and relocate it randomly around the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    TJC is an extremely affordable college with an even higher quality of education. The financial aid department is very helpful as well.

    What to do for fun

    Tyler's not a huge town but there is plenty to do...shopping, movie theatre, golf, bowling, put put, parks, and a real community vibe.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the salad bar...always fresh and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I stayed at home during my stay at TJC, but I know many of the other students loved the dorm life here. Lots of fun while structured enough to allow study time.

    Academic Rigor

    My teachers always pushed me to do my best, and the small class numbers allowed for great discussion in and out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for potential students is take advantage of the staff. They are there to help you make sure your education is a perfect fit for you.

    In three sentences

    TJC is a wonderful way to begin you're college career. I received my associates degree here and wouldn't change a second of it. The small school allows for personal interaction with teachers, and plenty of focus on your education.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really strong on TJC grounds. From that parking ticket to theft, the campus security take their job seriously and care for the students on the grounds. Now, not all security are stiff necked pencil pushers; they connect with the students and try to maintain a healthy campus rather than a stressful one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty clubs and activities to attend at TJC. Each fit the student and give that student a chance to expand the club or activity. Most clubs and activities are ran by students and backed by faculty that aid in finding ways to conduct the activities of that club.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are not sure about college life. It is even better for those that are planning on attending school with friends and possibly family members. TJC is a wonderful place to find your direction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the traditions we have on campus is the drum beat. When homecoming approaches, we place out a large drum and each student is given the chance to beat on the drum for good luck on our football team.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for an University, this isn't the place for you. TJC is a good stepping block for you to understand college life; gain new knowledge; create a network of good friends and it will give you the chance to transfer all of that to an actual University where you can expand even further.

    What to do for fun

    TJC offers many things in both community and in learning. In some way, it is more ran by students than a faculty when it comes to doing things for fun. Many clubs and groups start movie nights, or holiday parties to relieve you of the college classroom stress and give you the chance to meet new people. Personally, I find the volunteer work fun because it offers the chance for me to step out of my so-called troubled world and help others that are in actual trouble.

    Food and Dining

    Granted, it is college food and not home made meals, but the Valley services here are fantastic with their meals. However, the reason for the three stars is due to the employees. I am not too thrilled with their services in some areas on campus, but if you find the right deli to go to then you will get to know the workers and everything pans out.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the co-ed dorm and even though there are the usual yelling and parties, the dorm life here is very clean and mostly safe. For a junior college, I am surprised by the professional staff here. True, I do wish there was more quiet times during the night, but it is college life and you make the most of it.

    Academic Rigor

    TJC is a community where teachers do care for their students. Most will stop to ask if you are doing alright in a subject area and if they do not, then they are ready to quickly respond if you need help with something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask every question there is in your mind. Do not hesitate to act on what the instructor says. It is a community and a college, do not hold yourself back.

    In three sentences

    The right step in the right direction.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are fairly a lot of stuff to do in Tyler Texas, you just have find them. Sometimes you may need to look outside Tyler. Keep your options open.

    Food and Dining

    Only eat out on special occasions, for instance if you passed all your test. Do not eat out everyday, you have a meal plan use it. Noodles will become your best friend.

    Dorm Life

    Do not be that loud or boy who keeps the floor up. Try and be nice to everyone because not everyone grew up like you did. Less is more.

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard. Study hard. Study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest talking to everyone, because you never know when those people could be helpful. Make sure you know exactly where your classes are before school actually starts. And lastly I would recommend if you plan on staying in the dorms, do not bring a lot of stuff. You will regret it.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is an amazing college. People here are very welcoming. I would recommend this college to anyone

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good, every student has to wear a lanyard and if you are not they will catch you and write you a $25 ticket

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    not many clubs except choir and band

    Great for these types of students

    kids who have low GPA's and kids who do not want to work very hard

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Homecoming week students volunteer to beat a drum for hours

    Bang for the buck

    The school is extremely cheap and it is a good place to raise your GPA because it is so easy so you can transfer

    What to do for fun

    In Tyler, Tx the only thing to do is eat and watch movies

    Food and Dining

    The food is gross, it is defrosted food from a truck, and the spoons they use are unsanitary

    Dorm Life

    old and outdated and smell of mold

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely easy, I barely study at all and make high A's on my test

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to go here just be prepared to have extremely easy classes and rude teachers and students.

    In three sentences

    This school is disorganized and a very easy school, I went here so I could raise my GPA up. The faculty are rude and unhelpful and the lanyards you have to wear are annoying.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Believe it or not, we have that too!

    Food and Dining

    Deli will be your best friend!

    Dorm Life

    Not so great....

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher's are awesome, but I love the nursing professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    -stay involved -make your professors your best-friends -don't give up on financial aid -shoot for PTK -look for TJC scholarships. THEY'RE OUT THERE!

    In three sentences

    It's a great college. Great start out school. I would not change anything about my first year regarding TJC. The teachers are very helpful once you show you give a crap. A lot of programs to get involved in. YOU'LL LOVE IT (If you stay involved)

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gym, pool, football games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect super friendly service from Tyler Junior College. It seems like they only hire crabby people to work in their main offices, but I have had a couple nice people help me. Do your research, learn which professors have a high success rate. Try to avoid the teachers with a drop rate... There are a lot of these at TJC.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is a great stepping stone to a 4-year university, and a convenient school for moms. I am a stay at home mom, and I have been able to take the classes I need through online courses, and also night classes. They also have a lot of certification programs, and even a nursing program.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a great priority in TJC with 24/7 watch and instant respond from campus security.At TJC all students on campus are required to were and ID to let the everyone now that your part of TJC and not some stranger that wants to do harm.

    Bang for the buck

    TJC also gives you a lot of Bang For your buck in every aspect like affordable books and supplies. Installment plans were they let you pay for your course a moth at a time and half the cost of tuition compare to University and other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Theirs numerous things to do for fun at TJC like join the paint ball club for example or the anime club were you would watch movies and play video games and go to comic book convention or for those people who want to do exercise third a facility with different exercise machines to exercise or play sport like B-ball

    Food and Dining

    In TJC theirs plenty of food options for those Pike eater's from mouth watering burgers to healthy and delicious salads. Theirs also different choice to pick during the day like in the morning they might serve breakfast which could consist off pancakes and eggs or in the afternoon were they might serve spaghetti with meat balls.

    Dorm Life

    Well I can't personally say from experience about life at the dorm's but from what I saw went I visit them for orientation they were clean and well organise and I have heard only positive things about them.

    Academic Rigor

    TJC or Tyler Junior College has a high academic Rigor for been just a two year college its well know in Texas if not the USA for the Students Academic grade standers.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this for student's who plan to study a two year major or for students who want to pursue a four year major and then transfer due to it's low tuition or who lack money to pay for a university.

    In three sentences

    I would give Tyler Junior College a 10 for excellent it's not just a typical college for me but a second home were I learn new different topics and learn to coexist with different people and learn from them as well.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events to participate in, my interest is just socializing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone is very friendly, it's best to be open minded with people you meet.

    In three sentences

    Very nice campus, helpful staff and teachers also friendly students.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    TJC has a great rec center, pools, and gyms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use ratemyprofessor.com when you're picking your classes and your professors.

    In three sentences

    TJC is a great Junior College. It prepares you if you're not quite ready to go into your senior university. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is quite good at its job at keeping those who are not students with valid student lanyards off campus. So wear your lanyard!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and activities not to mention the exceptional Band program! I thoroughly enjoyed playing trumpet for the Apache Band at our home football games.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students who like a medium sized college community. They offer quite a wide variety of majors from which to choose.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Homecoming week, it is tradition for student organizations or just students who wish to volunteer, to beat the war drum for the entire week non-stop up until the kick-off of the Homecoming game!

    Bang for the buck

    Being a junior college, TJC has a lot of bang for your buck! Almost all of their classes and credits WILL transfer to any Texas institution and it actually is a whole lot cheaper than a University. Again being a junior college it is a great step inbetween high school and the University.

    What to do for fun

    Not including all the activities to participate in offered by TJC such as their athletics, band, or groups, the night life in the Tyler area does have a few choices to offer. There are quite a few movie theaters, clubs(for those of age), and social community groups such as car/truck clubs. Make friends! Just making a few friends at each activity you participate in will exponentially expand your network of friends!

    Food and Dining

    TJC offers a Food plan for those living on campus and in financial need. If not but you are a student you can just pay 5 bucks for a pretty good meal! If eating at the cafeteria isn't your thing there are a wide variety of restaurants in the area and fast food places for those pressed with time.

    Dorm Life

    I actually lived off-campus so I did not get to experience the dorm life. From what I heard from friends it was actually not bad at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is about right for a Junior college. All the work is manageable as long as you use your time wisely and complete everything on time and pursue academic excellence! Even if you have an emergency and can't complete something on time make sure you explain yourself to the teacher and most of them will be understanding. In my experience all of my teachers were patient and understanding when I explained myself clearly when I had a medical emergency which prevented me from completing my work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get out there! If you enjoy playing a musical instrument enroll in the Apache Band program! It is a great experience for those who want to make a career in music or if you just like to play your instrument and enjoy the social aspect. TJC actually offers a lot of dual credit classes to many high schools in the East Texas area. I recommend you take as many as you can because it gives you one heck of a head start! Be active in the community groups!

    In three sentences

    Home of the world renown Apache Belles!! Being a junior college it is a great stepping stone between high school and the University! Offers many groups and activities to participate in like sports, band, and fraternities/sororities.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good campus security system, the campus police are very nice and they keep everything under order. The campus has a very safe feel.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you go to Tyler Junior College, you absolutely must join Phi Theta Kappa, it is a terrific way to connect with others, offer volunteer services and have fun!

    Great for these types of students

    TJC is great for students who study hard, yet at the same time like to have fun and enjoy campus life and great friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think the homecoming ceremonies are really neat, the drumbeat gives the 'TJC Apaches' a real Indian feel! :)

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in anything you want, you won't be disappointed!

    Dorm Life

    Although I've never lived in a dorm, my friend says they are really good.

    Academic Rigor

    The educational level is outstanding! The teachers are very experienced and thorough in everything they teach. They make all the subjects very understandable, although if you don't study, it will be like learning greek! The level of education taught is very high so a lot is expected from the students academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give to students planning to attend TJC are: study hard, don't let anything get in the way of your education and stay on top of everything. Get involved in order to make new friends and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is an excellent college. The faculty is outstanding, the campus is beautiful, clean, neat and safe and the ways to get involved are numerous and fun. The people are great, the atmosphere and fellowship is wonderful; its a great place to start a new life in college!

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go for walks, listen to music, read, and hang out with family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at TJC.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know about the dorm life here, I live with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself at TJC it's a great school.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is a wonderful college. The Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The college is one of the best in my opinion.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is on point

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    . . .

    Bang for the buck

    TJC is an awesome school. you should sign up i promise you will not regret it.

    What to do for fun

    i normally go to BSM and shoot pool, or go to the gym to workout and play basketball. or got to other school clubs

    Food and Dining

    the first 2 weeks of school the food was really good. after that the food got nasty. on fridays they have cat fish day so thats good. The meal plan is beaing updated so the food mot likley gone be better now.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is ok. they have way to many rules. if you do not want to be treated a s a child move into an apartment. if you stay on campus you will guranteed a meal plan.

    Academic Rigor

    professors are awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    ask lots of questions

    In three sentences

    the proffessors actually care about the students here. They have all type of information and is willing to help you in any way. the campus is really beautiful and easy to get around

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All students are required to have a vehicle parking sticker, and a student I.D. There is campus police, and they always patrol the campus. The safety at Tyler junior college is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    There are always really fun activities on and off campus at Tyler Junior College. Football games are the highlight of the fall semester. Tyler Junior College hosts movie nights almost every Friday night on the football field. There is always something going on at Tyler.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but they are really neat. There is always a long waiting list because so many students want to live in the dorms. It is the best thing to do while attending TJC, simply because everything you need is within walking distance

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College's Music Program is Excellent. All the teachers help you in any way they can, and the campus is beautiful. The campus life is really outgoing and full of really nice people.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    After school I hang out with friends we either study for a test or talk about what happen in own classes.

    Food and Dining

    I never eat there but I hear that their food is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers always cares about their students I major in communication I trying to be a radio broadcaster.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here some tips always study for a quiz or a test I study for four hours so study for four hours or more. Talk to your new classmates they might be able to help you on a assignment, help you with your homework or study for a test together.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior college is the best two year college to go I enjoy it here meeting old friends, and making new friends is the best meeting people from other schools or people from a different country also I love my teachers too.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Save yourself a lot of money and bring your own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are fairly straightforward. Like any college you have to be dedicated and put forth the effort. The teachers I've had have gone and above beyond to ensure the students are successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking can be difficult because there are so many students but if you show up a little early you should be fine. Always, always, always wear your lanyard....

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is an excellent choice. The staff is very helpful and the majority of the teachers are top notch. I have had an excellent experience here. I started college late and was hesitant about going back but it was the best decision I ever made. The college is centrally located in Tyler, Texas and the campus is pretty easy to navigate. Parking can be difficult because there are so many students but if you show up a little early you should be fine.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wear your ID around your neck at all times, visibly or the officers will escort you off campus. Highly safe, and highly active.

    Greek Life

    See above answer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of programs. Hard to find and hard to get into. That's what makes them great, and that's why they help you later in life. Sigma Kappa Delta!!!

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to save money and get core classes done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Standard issue community college. Nothing really exciting going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Several classes do not transfer so know which college you will be transferring to prior to registering for classes at TJC. The advisers will tell they they can transfer. What they mean is they can transfer out, not that they will be accepted at your new school. Pick your classes, talk to an adviser at the four year university, and then register. The classes are designed to help you pass, not learn. I love the school, but make sure you complete all basics here, and then transfer to a four year with only your degree classes left so you are left high and dry.

    What to do for fun

    Study.

    Food and Dining

    Brand new/updated cafeteria with decent school food. Plenty of food/candy/drink machines though. All take cash or plastic.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in a dorm so I have no idea. A classmate said his dorm has a pet mouse though, and a female classmate said her dorm had mold/black spots in the showers.... I have never seen either for myself though.

    Academic Rigor

    Summer classes are more fast paced as they are only four weeks long. Full semester classes are boring and slow, but you can get into more challenging classes that way and learn it well before you test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your financial aid worked out prior to coming to TJC. The financial aid office will give you the run around for weeks before telling you the answer you first requested. When in doubt, go to the business office. They know everything and can help with anything. Get in early, and register on opening day! Don't delay.

    In three sentences

    Good admissions people, excellent professors, beautiful campus, useless financial aid office.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always make us wear our id

    What to do for fun

    Parties

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to do alot of studying. Go to class and make sure you do and turn in all work.

    In three sentences

    I like the collge and people here. I am on the soccer team and i love it. I plan on going here next year as well.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards walking the grounds at all times. Everywhere I go I usually see one. I feel very safe when I am there.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots and lots

    Great for these types of students

    All people/students will have something offered that will fit them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    I am an older woman returning to college and I love the fact that all different ages attend. I don't feel out of place or looked down upon because of my age.

    What to do for fun

    They have many available activities to choose from! What is fun to you? That's what you look for, they more than likely have something of your choosing.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a variety of either cafeteria food, vending machines, etc. You can eat off campus if that's your wish.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Excdellent

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not like high school, once you enter college you have entered a new learning experience. It is all up to you to have the drive and ambition to earn your degree. No one will make you go to classes. So make sure your ready to earn your way.

    In three sentences

    The college is organized making it easy to enroll. Everyone that works at the college greet you with a smile and willingness to help. The college grounds and building are kept extremely clean.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different activities on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do not get behind stay on top of your school work.

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College is a great place to start an education. It has wonderful and very helpful teachers and staff members. I am getting a great education here.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are legit! Lots of Nationally ranked teams!

    What to do for fun

    go to the athletic events, they are wonderful!

    Food and Dining

    The new subway and starbucks are great editions

    Dorm Life

    It's great living with all of my teammates in the girls athletics dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in Ornelas dorm. Don't procrastinate on projects. Get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Great athletic program. Very beautiful Campus. Great overall experience.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very overprotective of its perspective students because if something happens they will find the criminal to persecute them and subject to arrest.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast food so good that you want to get seconds and lunch and dinner they are good on some days but not at its best.

    Dorm Life

    Some days and nights the halls tend to be loud where you would want to put in your earplugs in and max out the speakers from your computer to an ipad.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect a lot out of you and are very strict about deadlines and you have to buy your books before you get into the semester. If you want to aim for a B to an A+ you will have to fight and sacrifice some things to get that one thing done for the following class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slip up on deadlines and make prior arrangements with your professor referring to going out of town and etc. You have to communicate to these professors on what you want in order to succeed in the class, and ask questions and they will be willing to help you.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is tons of campus activities every week! There are a bunch of ways to get involved at TJC.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorma and I love it. Very safe and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are perfect not too easy not too hard.All great quality informatiion

    Tips for prospective students

    Come down and take a tour!!! You need to get a feel of the campus and you will just fall in love!

    In three sentences

    Outstanding school with an outstanding staff. Tyler Junior College has been the best two years of my life. I wouldn't have traded this experience for anything.

  • 05/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a great social life on campus. Plenty of social events throughout the semesters. :)

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway now and even though the line gets pretty long sometimes, it goes by quick. You can even dine in! They also have a cafeteria but I have never ate there before.

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know, sorry :)

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing. They explain the topic they teach very well and challenge the students

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting with an advisor every semester is very important. Take advantage of online registering. Make sure to arrive to class at least 15 minutes early to find parking because the parking lots can get pretty packed during the beginning of the semester

    In three sentences

    Tyler Junior College makes it really simple to register for classes. The teachers are wonderful and very helpful towards student. They have a great campus here!