Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ulster County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't see security guards everywhere. Only in their office, but I don't see them anywhere but there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't go to clubs because i don't know anything. they should post posters or flyers to let students know about them. I do go to activities like Trio, they help you how to become a successful student.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing because there's nothing to do around the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining they serve at Ulster Community College is expensive. Most students don't really go to the dining because it's not usually clean sometimes. I think they should lower down the price so more students buy their food and go the the dining more often.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms at Ulster Community College

    Academic Rigor

    All colleges and classes are difficult to me but I know there are a lot of resources I can go to. The learning center, writing center, time square or student support services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a community college first, if your not sure what are you majoring it. Take individual studies as your major and find out what you really enjoy to do in your future. Visit the colleges for example, open houses, or friends and families. If you got the grades, go to a better school. Focus on your subject and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    My rate is 1-10, 1 is poor and 10 is excellent. I rate Ulster County Community College a 4 because I don't like the school,the computers, cafeteria food, and professors. They should do some improvement.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUNY Ulster isn't well know for being unsafe, but one never really notices any security guards. I've never heard of a safety conflict there, but Elmira College it is not a safe neighborhood. There has been regular muggings, raping, and gun fire near the campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Ski club, and Frisbee club were some of my favorites, but I rarely do clubs due to school work.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to a cheap school for a great education should come to SUNY Ulster. It is rated as a top Community college in New York. Once one obtains a degree from their, they can transfer to another school with a basic associates degree (very favorable) and can they continue their education without too much dept.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ulster community college traditions are not well know to me. I don't think there are any worthy of mentioning. Elmira College loves to make students sing occasionally and everyone is required to where beanies for the first two days of students orientation before school starts.

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoyed how the teachers at SUNY Ulster made me feel accomplished with my grades. My grades only got better as proceeded with their courses. Whereas in Elmira College, my grades barely seemed to improve even though I was always working as hard as I could.

    What to do for fun

    Being social and joining clubs is all one can do. Ski club, and Frisbee club were some of my favorites.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at SUNY Ulster, but I have heard that it is very expensive and basic. I prefer a very health diet and this schools do not exemplify that.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my roommates from last fall at Elmira College. Most of the time I was out of my sweet because I didn't want to be distracted form my work, but when I was there we would have a blast. But SUNY Ulster doesn't have dorms; I'll be living at home. In a way that is better because now I can get a job, but I do miss having a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Ulster isn't well know for being unsafe, but one never really notices any security guards. I've never heard of a safety conflict there, but Elmira College it is not a safe neighborhood. There has been regular muggings, raping, and gun fire near the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have never eaten at SUNY Ulster, but I have heard that it is very expensive and basic. I prefer a very health diet and this schools do not exemplify that.

    In three sentences

    I loved my roommates from last fall at Elmira College. Most of the time I was out of my sweet because I didn't want to be distracted form my work, but when I was there we would have a blast. But SUNY Ulster doesn't have dorms; I'll be living at home. In a way that is better because now I can get a job, but I do miss having a dorm.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The art programs are great, as well as the majority of the art teachers. If you're interested in Graphic Design like I am, prepare yourself for a bumpy ride. This ride may not present a challenge to you if you're familiar with the Adobe suite, but mentally prepare yourself for the experience of certain teachers. The one good thing is that you receive experience of real clients throughout the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the registrar's department well, they will help you with whatever it is you need. They will help you if you have a problem or don't feel comfortable with your student adviser.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly low, but not the lowest of all the SUNY Community colleges. However I did have a better experience at Ulster than other surrounding colleges.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus and amount of help you are capable of receiving are endless. On the other hand, there is a handful of faculty members that are arrogant and don't help when they say they will or own up to their word when you need them most.

    Did learn a lot

    There was a moderate level of learning at Ulster, for me it really didn't feel much different from high school though.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with all staff.

    Bang for the buck

    Ulster is extremely affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The location, small campus, and small class size is very nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot in some classes and not so much in others, I am sure this is the case for many students at many colleges.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel extremely safe on campus. as it is smoke-free as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    they are all very active!

    Great for these types of students

    they have a broad range of degrees, would be well suited for almost anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there nothing unusual about this school, every thing is simply wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    if you are in state, it is affordable to pay out of pocket while you attend school. as for out of state, the tuition is double like most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of activities and clubs to keep busy, i belong to the vet tech club.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is great, affordable prices unlike some colleges, clean and a large dining area.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life. this is for commuters only, which i drive over an hour to get to, i feel it is worth the drive.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is challenging but not difficult to learn, you will never become bored with what you are doing. the professors make the work fun and easy to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't think twice about applying. you will do very well here in your education. suny college credits can be applied to any suny school in case you ever decided to transfer to another suny school. you will not waste your time and money losing credits.

    In three sentences

    five starts. the professors are here to help you learn and succeed. so glad i am attending.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great classes. cheap tuition. good combination for anyone.

    Food and Dining

    foods ok sometimes, a bit pricey but that's all colleges.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your grades up.

    In three sentences

    very good college with very good professors. i would recommend this school to anyone in the area looking to have a good basic education and not able to spend too much money.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is really no Greek life at Ulster.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose for You just have to choose the right one that fits you or most interests you!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone even if they don't know what they want to do or if they already have their futures set for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap and very affordable and there is always financial aid if you need help paying for school

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities at school you can't choose but whatever your interested in they have it !!

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little expensive but all colleges are like that.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Ulster.

    Academic Rigor

    Anyone can do great at Ulster you just have to set your mind to it! They have a great academic standing !

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the right notes and listen to what the teachers and students have to say there information can always help.

    In three sentences

    Ulster County Community College is a great place to get started the teachers are great when you need help they are there. There are so many clubs and progams to help you in school!

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel that this is good everytime i want there i seen college cops checking the Campus .

    Greek Life

    Not too sure on this one!

    Clubs and Activities

    this is still new to me but i am sure there is lot's of good club's and thing's to do .

    Great for these types of students

    I feel it's great for all type's of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    don't have any yet!

    Bang for the buck

    yes i feel that this is good cost for college i also was very pleased in how all staff has treated me so far.

    What to do for fun

    there is college gym and also new platz NY is not that far . 4stars.

    Food and Dining

    there is lots of good place's like, like the deil down the road from college.

    Dorm Life

    dont think they have one but its a nice town and i am, sure you can find a good apartment .

    Academic Rigor

    i feel that this is good but will see when i start in fall 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Belive in your'self' even if your told you cant and will not make it !

    In three sentences

    i feel good and stress free there!

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They protect you from second hand smoke like it's their jo- oh, wait.

    Great for these types of students

    Slackers and dummies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People are fond of wandering around whilst banging away on their poor acoustic guitars.

    Bang for the buck

    Its tuition amounts to just over $2,000 per semester for a full-time student with the fees included. Compared to Bard down the road which cost about five million dollars, I'd say it's spectacular.

    What to do for fun

    Make fun of people.

    Food and Dining

    Aside from the mystery bread.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    One professor was quoted, saying the standards at Ulster are abysmally low. Well, cripes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't eat the mystery bread.

    In three sentences

    Everything here is pretty a-okay. They have a lot of free stuff. I've heard good things about their nursing and vet tech programs.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending SUNY Ulster through the Early College Program. The professors are talented and supportive.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do student aid. I also attend Trio programs and events. There are so many things to do at UCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great way to start out.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good start. Everyone is very helpful and willing to help you succeed. If you plan on going to a four-year college someday, UCCC is the perfect place to start.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always easy to contact, very nice and always deal with issues fairly quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of activities. From drama to student government.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Throughout the whole year they have events like music Monday, dodge ball tournaments, and free food days.

    Bang for the buck

    Defiantly worth what your paying. Credits a cheap and transfer easily.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun since the school is surrounded by a lot of towns and cities that are only a couple a minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, but a little expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers a lot of tutoring and help for the students. Ulster has a rare quality of providing students for help in anyway they need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Planning your schedule is the most important thing. Make a schedule that fits you. Since this a non-dorm campus. Commuting is the something that is involved in your education whether it by driving yourself or taking the bus.

    In three sentences

    A great college for those who don't know their path yet. A place where you can start and go much farther with what you gain.