Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Union College - New York Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Union is a great school for people who want to go somewhere that is fun but still worthwhile academically. It's great for those who don't want to go to community college, but don't want to go to a huge university either. And its location is definitely a plus. Around Union there are plenty of places to eat and hang out, as well as various shopping centers within 1/2 hour, and there's even a bus that will bring you to some of those places! Union is the perfect place for students looking for academics, sports, and fun all combined into one small area within a city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with the campus and its lifestyles early on. Learn different policies--it will sure come in hand later. Become familiar with residence policies if you plan to live on campus, and especially knowledgeable with academic policies. (For example, Union does not accept ALL Advanced Placement courses/exams for credit; familiarize yourself with which they do and do not to make it easier for you to transfer credits.) Make sure the school is really what's right for you, and be sure that you know it's a place you can really benefit from. Don't forget: full-time Union students only take 3 classes per term, but each class does the same amount of work in 10 weeks (one trimester/term) as other schools do in one 15-week semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of all Union students receive some type of financial aid, so that 50+k a year really drops. Campus jobs help, too, even if you aren't awarded work study. Overall, you're really getting a lot. Getting an education + having fun while doing so - outrageous bills = Perks of Union College.

    Am enjoying being here

    Definitely! Union has a lot to offer. There are always different events going on. Each month a large calendar with the events is hung in the Campus Center and there are emails sent out to all students because there are so many events taking place that it's impossible to remember every one!! All of the events offer a great variety, too. It's not all about parties here; there are different events like comedy shows, guest speakers, dinner discussions, musical performances, etc. Each day holds something new. Inside the classroom can be a lot of fun, too. Some teachers tell a lot of jokes and are a lot more laid back than most high school teachers I ever had. That isn't to say they aren't adamant about their policies, they just know how to teach AND have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Overall students generally feel like they're learning quite a bit. The professors are great and help you to really understand things. Still, sometimes things are being taught that you MAY have already learned in high school (especially if you took Advanced Placement courses but didn't receive credit), so SOMETIMES classes can feel like review.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of people attend Union it seems to be just like America is: a mix of all culture. They have an awesome liberal arts program and a fantastic engineering department as well. That is one of the many unique qualities about Union.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study frequently, in the trimester system everything moves much faster than normal and you always need to be on task.

    Bang for the buck

    Union college ranks among the top colleges in return for you diploma.

    Will enjoy being here

    Upon my visit everyone was very warm and welcoming. I had the chance to sit down with a two professors and just talk casually about the classes and Union itself. Additionally all the students I walked up to for help were more than happy to offer a hand.

    Will learn a lot

    When I sat in on a class I felt like the amount they throw at you is a lot. It will be challenging going to Union but in return you get an education like no other.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    while we are in a city campo really keeps us safe - there are rarely any problems.

    Greek Life

    the college has recently been very hard on greek life but it's still an element of our community. we do a lot of charity and pro-social events in addition to weekend parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    so much to do! you will definitely find something that floats your boat.

    Great for these types of students

    great for a student with a work hard, play hard mentality. academics are incredibly important, but we also know how to have fun. on another note we attract primarily kids from the northeast who don't mind wearing pastels and carrying lily pulitzer. however, if you don't fit that description don't worry. it's a very accepting and open campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the nott memorial is our most famous building. there are 7 traditions which every student must complete before graduation... make sure you do!

    Bang for the buck

    an amazing school with a high tuition to match.

    What to do for fun

    we were rated as the #1 campus for things to do. there is always so much going on! from charity events to college sponsored outings to movies and comedians to frat parties there is always something fun to do- never enough time.

    Food and Dining

    the food is definitely getting better but isn't great. 03 the organic cafe is wonderful and so is ozone which offers an organic lunch every friday for a meal swipe. skeller is great for late night junk food.

    Dorm Life

    while the freshman dorms aren't the best upperclassmen housing is pretty good. the minerva houses are beautiful, clean, and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    the quality of the course on the professor as well as the major. obviously organic chemistry is very difficult while intro to anthropology isn't as rigorous. overall the quality of instruction is excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit campus! your experience depends on whether you personally fit with your college. union is a great school for me but you'll have to take a tour, talk to professors, and current students to know if you'll love being here.

    In three sentences

    union is a fantastic school. because of its small size and teacher to student ratio there is a lot of individualized attention and the ability to get involved in undergraduate research that really helps when applying to graduate school/ jobs. there is also an active social and athletic scene which is nice when not hitting the books.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus officer who make rounds and you would see them often. Also, if you are not sure if you want to walk alone at night to your dorm, you called campus safety for an escort and an escort will be there shortly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs you could enjoy, for example, Math, Uprogram, or volunteer at Kennedy Center.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are 7 traditions, which I only know a few that you must (option) complete before graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot you can do on the weekends, Student Activities have a lot of event from snow skiing to movies. You would get an email about events happening on weekends. There is also greek parties but chances they will let you in.

    Food and Dining

    There are two Dining Halls and the food is ok, not the best but there are some good foods and vegetarian foods and fruits.

    Dorm Life

    There are some dorms that are loud and some are more quiet. Residence Advisors come up with events for you to enjoy and get a break from your studies.

    Academic Rigor

    It great, 10 weeks of academic is wonderful. Professors are there to help you with course work and there are also tutors to help you with anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Union College is in your list, I suggest you to visit the campus and ask a lot of questions. Keep in mind if you would be living there for four years, you would want to know everything about Union.

    In three sentences

    Union College is a small liberal arts school. The campus is beautiful, filled with awesome faculty members and students from around the world.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's an escort service for late at night when you don't want to walk by yourself. You see campus security pretty frequently. Schenectady does have its rough spots and sometimes the locals don't get along well with Union kids, but as long as you're not alone when going out especially at night, you're fine.

    Greek Life

    strong greek life and they are pretty dominant, but I know plenty of non-Greeks that have just as much fun and are just as awesome.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100+ clubs and there are always cool events going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Sporty kids are pretty prominent, but not overly abundant. You have scholars that stay in every weekend and others that party hard. Some kids go out four nights a week some just fridays. You don't need a north face jacket, uggs, or a nalgene to fit in (though those with them aren't in short supply).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The seven union traditions everyone must do before the end of the senior year, I don't remember them all but some are drink in all the frats (in one night), walk in the tunnel under the bridge by the football field, and the naked Nott. Rathskellar is the on-campus restaurant that's open saturday and friday night till 1 am, they have the BEST curly fries.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely on the pricey side, but they're actually pretty good about distributing financial aid. Apply for it MOST DEFINITELY, you never know.

    What to do for fun

    There are restaurants walking distance. There's a shuttle that takes you to Crossgates mall every wednesday and saturday, which is awesome to hang out. There are always a ton of events going on on campus. The minerva houses host events ranging from watching Step-Up with a few people to having guest speakers from various fields of studies (usually always with free food!). The night-life is typically frat and house parties, which are awesome (closed to freshmen the first five weeks, but my friends and I still got in most of them just fine), but there are bars in the area some will let in 18-year-olds in. Every weekend they have movies that have not gone out on DVD yet (21 Jump Street, Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Hunger Games, Argo, etc.)

    Academic Rigor

    The trimesters condense the courses quite a bit meaning your only tests can be mid-terms and finals. They only have you take 3 courses at a time unless you're a scholar (in which case you can take 4), so you're not overwhelmed while still going through more material in a shorter amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit in the spring or fall when the campus is beautiful. Look into the extra programs that Union has to offer like LIM for pre-med students, the engineering program, environmental science studies because they really help you out a lot. If you're going to live anywhere, pick Davidson Hall: the suites are decently sized and that's where the fun is at.

    In three sentences

    Great school with great resources and awesome professors. The town isn't the best, but you don't really need a car to get around. You can be sporty, artsy, brainy or maybe just average and you will find people just right for you.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Call them, beep them if you want to reach them. They are there for you right away. Our campus is located in a somewhat sketchy town so the campo force is really always there for you. Never feel afraid, these nice people will walk you to your dorm no matter how late at night it is.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is huge here and they really have cracked down on hazing. It's amazing to see how strong the bonds are between frats and sororities. I'm actually inspired maybe sign up next year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's definitely always something to do. We have a minerva system which is basically everyone gets sorted into 7 different houses. Each of these houses hold special events for the whole community.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes would love it. People in the Social Sciences would love it, and STEM majors with interests in other fields would love love LOVE this place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are 7 traditions people have to to before graduation but I can't remember them all. In particular though you have to run naked around the Nott Memorial which is this big extravagant dome-like building situated on the center of campus. It's impossible to miss! It's our point of reference on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Union College is very pricey at around $65k/year. Not sure if it was worth it to go somewhere cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are really great here, but there are also many fun wholesome activities like game shows and festivals. We get lots of free stuff on campus and concerts as well. You can easily get to the shopping center, the mall, and walmart. We're also only twenty minutes from Albany. Oh! And there are tons of club activities on campus too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good quality and it tastes good usually, but you start getting sick of it really easily. Not very many options unfortunately. At least there's alot of take-out around... The meal plan is very straight forward though, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    You'll LOVE dorm life. It's exciting and you're with so many people. It's like a perpetual slumber party. The rooms are pretty roomy and it's overall comfortable to live there, just keep in mind that you live with other people too. The singles are pretty nice too!

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough but as long as you stay on top of everything you'll be fine. Then again it also depends on your major. The STEM and social sciences are the hardest in my opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just show them that you are truly interested in the school. They really value that. Also keep in close contact with them during the application process so that they remember you!

    In three sentences

    You can find all sorts of people there. Even if they all seem pretty similar, if you look hard you can dins your own crew. Not only that but the opportunities handed to us are unbelievable!

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around campus, whether in a car or golf cart, on foot, on a bike, or even a Segway. They also do nightly rounds in the residence halls to make sure everything is how it should be. Their number is printed on the back of our ID cards, and they are easily accessible by phone or by pushing one of the many Blue Light System stations scattered around campus. They also provide walking escorts for students if you don't feel comfortable walking back to your room in the middle of the night!

    Greek Life

    The first fraternities in the country were founded on Union's campus, so Greek life is prevalent here at Union, but doesn't overpower the campus. Students cannot pledge a Greek house until their sophomore year so they can take their first year to get involved in other things and see what their interests are. The Greek houses also make an effort to work in collaboration with the college, other clubs and groups, and the independent student community, so there's a good mix between the Greek and non-Greek students on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are already so many existing clubs and activities here at Union (environmental clubs, club sports, school newspaper, student forumâ?¦etc.) that there is something for everyone. Even if there isn't an existing club that you're interested in, any student can start up a club if they have enough interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can find their niche at Union considering there are so many options. For academics we have very strong programs in both liberal arts as well as the sciences, and socially we have everything greek life and intramural sports to acapella groups a humans vs. zombies competition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite Union traditions is painting the Idol. The Idol is an old statue located outside of the hockey rink that is covered with layers and layers of paint. So many students have painted it that you can't event tell what it is anymore! Almost every time I pass the Idol it is covered in a different color paint. Painting the Idol with a group of friends is a ton of fun and one of the 7 Union traditions that Union students challenge themselves with!

    Bang for the buck

    The experiences I've had at Union so far have already made it worth every penny. In terms of finding a good job after graduation, the Becker Career Center on campus has some awesome resources to help graduating seniors and other students find internships and jobs for during the year, during the breaks, and especially after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There's never a dull moment at Union. Each day there are multiple events taking place, including Minerva events, events organized by student activities, as well as activities organized by various clubs that are open to the entire campus. These events are well advertised through the campus email as well as posters around campus, so it's difficult to miss something fun!

    Food and Dining

    Of course the food in the dining halls can get a little repetitive, but there are many dining options at Union that make finding something you like really simple. Whether you get creative in the dining halls or use your declining balance (a part of the meal plan that functions almost like cash) at another vendor on campus, there's always something that will fit your interests and if you really can't find anything the Dining Services team will do what they can to accommodate your needs!

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls are pretty standard at every school, and Union is no exception. The dorms are well equipped, bathrooms on each floor, laundry facilities, common space to hang out, etc. The RA's on each floor do a lot of activities to get the floor to know each other and plan tons of stuff to do throughout the year! Most students become good friends with other students on their floor and it's a great atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    While the classes are a little more fast-paced than a semester school since we're fitting 15 weeks of material into a 10 week term, we only take three classes per term so it's a little easier to budget your time. The classes are challenging but the professors really get to know their students on a personal level so it's extremely easy to get in touch with a professor for extra help in a class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the overnight program, where you can come stay with a Union student for a night. While you can learn a lot about the academic side at Union through tours and information sessions, spending a day and night with a current student will show you what it's like to actually be a student at Union on a day to day basis - in and out of class.

    In three sentences

    Union is the perfect blend of academic and social life. Each day you are challenged intellectually in class, and are able to express yourself through many clubs and activities throughout the day and night. The connection among students is powerful and the atmosphere on campus can't be beat.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Union has on-campus events all the time. It seems like a Minerva hosts an event every night of the week and uProgram puts on a lot of late night events like comedians and hypnotists. There are also a ton of clubs for everyoneâ??s interests. They range from horseback riding club to SAE sanctioned Aero Club, who build a plane from scratch.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food. The standard dining hall fare is better and has more variety when compared to other schools, but the specialty options are what set Union apart. The UShi bar is a sushi bar located in Reamer campus center and they make sushi fresh every weekday. The Rathskellar is a little underground grill the serves the best milkshakes in the world. 03 is my personal favorite and they only use local organic food in all of their dishes. I couldnâ??t be happier with Unionâ??s food situation.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Union is awesome. During the week everything is quiet for the most part as students are serious about their studies, but when the weekend rolls around people have fun in their dorm common areas, whether that be playing pool, xbox, or ping-pong. The rooms are larger than most schools freshman dorms and the bathrooms are always clean. The living options for upperclassmen are very nice between minervas, theme houses, greek life, dorm style, and College Park Hall, which is a converted Ramada Inn.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging school. 10 weeks for a full credit is very quick. The professorâ??s enjoy challenging their students. That said the courses are manageable and even as an engineer having to take one more course than the rest of the student body I can still keep my GPA competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to working hard, especially if you want to be an engineer here. College is harder than high school, period. The courses here are fast paced due to the trimester system and while that keeps things interesting it also means that falling behind can happen just by missing one class. Use your office hours. The professors that teach here came here because they love teaching; they love to have students come in and ask them questions, they donâ??t even have to be about the course.

    In three sentences

    Union College has the most beautiful campus in the country. The size is perfect, the students are friendly, and the professors are approachable. It brings together students of all academic interests, including engineering, and forms an incredible community that I will be proud to say I was a part of for the rest of my life.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, fun, academic oriented, party people, social, hard working, determined

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy when it comes to meeting new people and don't conform yourself to one group of friends early on. Although people here can be prepy and obnoxious at times, a majority of the people found at Union College are very friendly and willing to talk to you if you open up. Go around and talk to everyone during your first weeks of school. That way you have a better view and understanding of the people there and toward your soph. Junior year you soon realize who your best friends are. Also, keep up with your studies! Just because you only take 3 classes a term does not mean its going to be easy. You must put in the work outside of class in order to do well at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Union was voted one of the most expensive liberal arts schools in the country, it is very fair when it comes to financial aid. The ability for them to package in union scholarship, grants, loans, and work study is nice. However, if you wish to keep most of it throughout the years, you must show good performance in the books. They expect nothing but the best from students here. They also supply nice jobs so that students are able to keep something in their pockets/pay for books if its not included. If your from Boston or of black/Hispanic decent, I encourage you to look into the Posse/AOP programs they provide to financially troubled individuals.

    Am enjoying being here

    The four years at Union College will definitely be the best four years of your life. The combination of events planned out allow students to do a variety of things. Greek life is a lot of fun here and throw great parties for people to attend for free. If your not into that they always have the big calender posted in reamer allowing you to see what activities are going to be held for the month. If you want to enjoy yourself you have to open up and be willing to try out new things (not necessarily the partying either ha ha).

    Am learning a lot

    Classes here are reasonable which allows you to form a stronger relationships with your teacher and learn more. Office hrs are usually never a problem and teachers are very flexible with time scheduling. A majority of the teachers keep learning fun and helps establish a better learning environment. Not only do you learn in class, the way Union is designed allows you to learn off book skills which eventually help you in the future.

  • 10/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small, liberal arts college with a lot to offer

    Bang for the buck

    Students from Union College seem to have a lot of opportunities after graduation, and the education they receive is a major help in the real world

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous and the students seem friendly and intelligent

    Will learn a lot

    The classes are small and discussion-oriented, and the professors seem passionate about their work.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Good! Although we are a liberal arts college we have sororities and fraternities including multicultural and divine nine

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the seven school traditions that some students try to accomplish by the end of their senior year

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help from your professor that is what they are there for!!

    In three sentences

    Union college is a wonderful small liberal arts college which provides good financial aid . The teachers are wonderful and classes are small in size. You have the opportunity to work one-on-one with the teachers. The camps it self is very diverse in every way.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is incredibly safe, there are virtually no examples of crimes committed on campus.

    Greek Life

    Strong greek life at Union College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many clubs are available for anyone interested, including a karate club in which i am involved and intramural sports .

    Great for these types of students

    Those who dont like to be bored in class as well as students who are good at managing time or can do better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are seven tradition at Union college, including traveling through forgotten tunnels under the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this college is very expansive, it is worth every penny that they ask.

    What to do for fun

    There are a plethora of clubs and intramural sports to lay during free time.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of food options are available , including on campus dining and many off campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Although the dorm life here is exceptional, it is accompanied with normal hardships of living with people you dont know very well including issues of trust.

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard work, however it is not a all impossible to do very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend to attend Union College, be prepared for a large amount of planning and studying.

    In three sentences

    This college has great academics along with great professors. Along with the academic opportunity given here, the school offers a large amount of financial aid for their students in need. Lastly, the upperclassmen attending the college are usually very helpful in all aspects of college life.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I was told during the college tour that there was once a student who made a bet to not eat any food except for the foods served for Union's clubs for a month straight. She won the bet easily and it tells you a lot about the number and variety of their clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food was delicious when I was there.

    Dorm Life

    The Minerva program looks like a great way to connect students with other roommates who may share similar interests.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very flexible and offer a wide variety of courses, but Union does have an unusually strong focus on the math and scientific subjects for a liberal college.

    In three sentences

    When I visited the campus, it had an extremely upbeat social atmosphere. I felt really comfortable there during the campus tour and I would suggest researching more about this college for anyone who has fears about leaving their home, because it seemed to have a very strong support system for their students.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Outside campus some dangers exist

    Greek Life

    small greek system

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of options

    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want to learn

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent place for an education. You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Hockey games are a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The people who work in the food service try really hard to make food that you need, especially if you have specific diet needs.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms could use some updating but there are many housing options. Rooms in the minerva houses are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    very rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a place where your professors know your name and they really care that you learn, Union is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Union is a fabulous place to get an education. The courses are rigorous. the professors are excellent.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is top notch. Going off campus at night is not a threat unless you go out alone, which is a REALLY bad idea.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about Greek life but I'd be willing to check it out. It seems like a fun and interesting opportunity to get to know people and make friends outside of my respective major.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many awesome opportunities to participate in clubs, intramural sports,and other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want a great education that's affordable! Also, make sure you love hockey (and you hate RPI ;) )!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of but, I'm sure there are many that I'll soon find out about!

    Bang for the buck

    The academics are highly respectable and it's not likely that you'll leave having no career options. Make sure you participate in extracurricular activities, though!

    What to do for fun

    I've lived in the approximate area (about 15 minutes away) of Union College for all of my life. There's a lot to do, whether it be going to hockey games, shopping, walking through the city (never alone or at night, though). There's also a lot of great little cafes and restaurants in the nearby area.

    Food and Dining

    When I visited, I ate in the upperclassmen dining hall. The food was SO delicious and much better than some of the other food I've eaten at other colleges. I'm not sure about the freshmen dining hall but if it was anything like the upperclassmen, it's amazing.

    Dorm Life

    It's a typical dorm room - nothing too different from other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've seen, Union takes great pride in their academics. Even though it is a liberal arts college, their science programs seem incredibly rigorous and accredited.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go in closed-minded. Always give every college you visit a chance. That's what I did and it turns out that I loved the school way more than I thought I actually would.

    In three sentences

    All in all, I fell in love with Union College as soon as I stepped foot on campus. It is absolutely beautiful and the people there are just the same - everyone is so friendly and easy to talk to! Also, the financial aid package I received from them was awesome!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Is a significant part of the school. Not everyone is involved in it but the ones who are say they love it! You can't join until your sophomore year so first years have a year to kind of see what its about

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lobster fest, everyone gets a lobster and the first 200 or so students get a free t shirt

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of school/student run activities. The Minerva's have something going on multiple times a week, watching sports games, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there just aren't many choices. West dining hall's food isn't the best but we just got a sushi bar and we also have an organic cafe which is great.

    Dorm Life

    I met my best friends in my dorm and wouldn't have changed a thing. My RA was great and I never had any kind of problems.

    Academic Rigor

    Being an engineer, my classes aren't easy, but they're also not unbearable. Only having 3 classes makes the term a lot easier because you have less to focus on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, look at the dorms, and see if you can picture yourself there for the next 4 years.

    In three sentences

    I just finished my freshman year and I loved it. Getting involved in sports/clubs/greek life/etc. helps you meet and become part of close nit friend groups. The academics aren't easy but the trimester system is very unique, in a positive way.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie nights from friday through monday!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for an interview

    In three sentences

    An incredibly college! Truly challenging, but totally worthwhile. Teachers are friendly and passionate.