Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Union College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Union College is great for all adventist students looking to seek a carer in international rescue and relief. This degree is only found at Union College. How many other colleges or universities could say that?

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is that you want to first base the college of choice according to academics. But don't forget that the environment also plays a tremendous role in where you end up. You want to attend the college that best suits your academic and environmental needs.

    Bang for the buck

    Union College is a little pricey for my taste, but everything else truly makes up for the financial needs i lack. There is always a high price to pay for great education right?

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are extremely friendly and outgoing. Compared to most colleges that i have visited, this is the one i became accustomed to the quickest. No one is ever left out.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are truly phenomenal. They not only want you to graduate, but they want you to grasp knowledge that will benefit you for the rest of your life.

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Union has excellent health-related programs and a top-of-the-line education program.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend making campus visits, talking to advisors from your discipline, and KEEP searching for financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    While an education at Union College is quite pricey, I definitely agree that it is worth every last cent.

    Am enjoying being here

    I made friends right away when I came to Union and I can already tell that we will be friends for life. The people here make everything worthwhile. Everybody is so inviting and friendly that it's hard to not have a good time.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors at Union have an impressive knowledge of the content area and related areas of knowledge. They also strive to connect interdisciplinary ways of thinking and provide an all-around excellent educational experience. There is a very good combination of lecture and discussion at Union College.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who will work for what they want, even when it seems unattainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware of the Concepts of Wellness class! This is a class that everyone is required to take but unless you're already an athlete you won't get an A simply because of the lab.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private Christian setting and education, the price isn't too bad! But the reason for only 3 stars is because of their cavalier attitude about the cost of Union and how easy it is to pay for school. Even with student loans, federal aid, and a small scholarship you get from Union, you'll need start looking for scholarships as soon as possible to help make up the difference.

    Did enjoy being here

    I made friends immediately and some of them will be my friends for life! Just like anywhere there are clichés and friends with whom you hang out. But everyone is so friendly that’s hard not to make friends with everyone! Even if someone’s not in your “crowd” it’s still very easy to hang out.

    Did learn a lot

    I transferred from a community college so I've been in college before Union. It was so amazing!! The teachers care about you as a person and not just a grade. They encourage discussion and produce different viewpoints so that you can make your own decision.

  • 10/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adventist and any and all students looking for Biblical truth and spiritual enlightenment!

    Tips for prospective students

    Let God decide where you need to go and what you need to do.

    Bang for the buck

    good prices for a great future, it's more than worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Fun atmosphere and great places to hang out and learn.

    Will learn a lot

    I research my possible colleges extensively, Union offers the great degrees and in the course of the degree you will learn the subject in and out. This is the kind of school to prepare you to make a future and a great life for yourself and others. Union will set you up for success in your life.

  • 11/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International Rescue and Relief is a great program and only Union has it. Also, if you're looking into Physician Assistant, like me, there is a special 3 year program to get pre requisites into 3 instead of 4 years so you can apply (and hopefully get into) the graduate program to earn a Master's of Physician Assistant studies. Union offers other great degrees and its a great place to look into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships! Also, plan out what classes you want to take each semester so you have like a road map to follow, you can always change it up though. Its helpful so you make sure you get all the classes you need!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private college so its more expensive, but its worth it for the atmosphere. Everyone is friendly, the campus is nice looking, and small so its not very easy to get lost. The teachers are helpful, and there are always fun activities to do on the weekends.

    Will enjoy being here

    I know a lot of people at Union, and it will be fun to hang out. I know the atmosphere is great and having the church right by campus is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    All my classes so far have been great, I've been learning a lot, and the teachers are very helpful and understanding and are willing to help, you just can't be too afraid to ask.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    keep his one in your mind but keep lokin. this is the one i refered back to. it became my first choice

    Bang for the buck

    pretty good prices

    Will enjoy being here

    probably find it just right to study at night

    Will learn a lot

    i looked and looked but i find this one most interesting to search.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lincoln is relatively safe to walk around which is nice. security carts also drive around campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    the associated student body plans events almost every weekend. other clubs include amnesty international/tiny hands club, international club, and ministry club. if you want to get involved in something there is a way to do it!

    Bang for the buck

    the financial aid team is super nice. merit scholarships are available especially for freshmen but also for transfer students. i think the price is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    bike trails, holmes lake, visit the capital building (beautiful architecture), sledding, local plays.

    Food and Dining

    there are a ton of good places to eat within driving or even walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    curfews and other rules are enforced, but when there is an emergency everyone is willing to work with you.

    Academic Rigor

    there are more and less challenging teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    you will get out what you put into it. you will do well academically and socially if you make an honest effort.

    In three sentences

    union is located in lincoln, nebraska, which contrary to popular belief is not in the middle of a cornfield. union is small enough to know most people and say hi to them as you walk around campus. service is emphasized and led by student groups.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is monitored 24/7. There have not been any serious incidents in years. The supportive atmosphere of the college discourages criminals. There is also a police station on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Fun loving but studious students will find their place here. Also, being a christian based college, you will find a place for your faith to grow here in the warm and loving atmosphere on this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Clock Tower is an awesome gathering place on campus. Whether you just want a place to sit while you eat a banana or hang with someone special, under the Clock Tower is a great place to go on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The 26k tuition is a staggering door price but the services, the atmosphere, faculty, students, and the experience are worth so much more!

    What to do for fun

    Union College is overflowing with many student activities. Each student is required to participate with at least to student clubs each year. From Project Impact one of the longest ongoing community volunteering projects around to many local hot spots for students to visit and spend time together with the community.

    Food and Dining

    Union College's Union Market is one of the best cafeterias out there. There are tons of healthy and nutritious choices. Union's Cafeteria is a great place not only to eat but also to study. It's a very professional dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    At Union, the deans are very helpful in finding you a roommate. The dorms are usually fairly quiet allowing for great study. The students are very friendly and dorm life is really just living with your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Life is fun but challenging. Union College strives to challenge their students and help them build confidence. When students leave Union they are equipped and ready to serve the community around them.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Ask lots of questions 2. Seek out study partners 3. Stay focused, just because it's a fun place, the classes are still challenging

    In three sentences

    Union College has a blossoming family oriented campus atmosphere where a responsive faculty and school spirit driven student body works together to create a better future. Union strives to help students find their place in the world and teach them the skills they need to make a positive affect on the world around them.

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Seventh-Day Adventist students

    Did enjoy being here

    Love the school, great atmosphere, great people. great food and awesome location!

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone is always watching out for one another and there is campus security, too

    Clubs and Activities

    ASB and BCS are the best, but there are tons

    Bang for the buck

    Union is definitely worth every penny (but it's really not too expensive).

    What to do for fun

    Join ASB; they always have fun things. There are also lots of trails, parks, and things in Lincoln as well as stores and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options, so you can always find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is fun. There are always things to do and people to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard, but you can tell it's college

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit!

    In three sentences

    Union College has an amazing atmosphere that I haven't experienced anywhere else. If you are looking for God and people that love Him, Union is the place to go.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Associated Student Body, clubs for almost every division of study.

    Great for these types of students

    spiritually and/or academically focused, active but not necessarily sporty

    Bang for the buck

    Varied experiences depending on student outlook, teacher/student interaction, etc. I personally have had excellent bang for my buck and will do as much as possible to stay here and keep small student loans.

    What to do for fun

    Many worship/devotional opportunities, could bike ride, go bowling, walk to the parks, cook in the dorm kitchens, movie parties, intramural sports, a few team sports, free activities for various club memberships... for example, Splash for Cash by Associated Student Body, where you compete by building and racing cardboard boats or dive for cash.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent choices of vegetarian food, including hot meals 3 times/day and fresh fruit and salad bars. No meat served.

    Dorm Life

    Decent. Probably normal compared to public universities. There's a few slightly more strict rules, but for most they are not problematic.

    Academic Rigor

    High in many areas but always room for improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know a lot of people early on. Everyone will be interested in meeting you, so keep those lines of communication open. You never know how those brief interactions could encourage and uplift you later.

    In three sentences

    Union College has extremely supportive staff and faculty. The students have a tendency to form groups, but you will still find a very friendly atmosphere. Union does not always have the best resources but strives to help students succeed in the working world.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek life at Union, due to the small student body and religious views.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At special Associated Student Body chapels we sing Slinga da Ink, which is our school song. It is quite catchy!

    What to do for fun

    Lincoln is a very outdoors oriented city and has many biking/running trails that wind through the city. There are also many gyms located in the area, which are not far from campus. Also, the Cornhuskers football games always make for a fun activity. Lincolnites love their husker football, so don't be caught with another teams apparel on game day! There are intramurals sports throughout the year and also class games which are always exciting. They range anywhere from volleyball to floor hockey. There are some mini golf places, disc golf courses, movie theaters, two shopping malls, and other artsy type shops. Also, downtown is very fun to walk around or just sit and eat and is very close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    Definitely could use an upgrade. The food served here is all vegetarian, which sometimes can be a drag. However, there are many choices to choose from such as, salad bar, main dining bar, T'orias bar, sandwich place and also there is a snack shop located in the student center called Cooper's Corner. The main food served in the cafeteria usually consists of vegetables, some sort of beans and rice, and a few main dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the small number of students that attend Union, you will have a chance to meet many people in the dorm. Living in the dorm helps you stay connected and find close friends. The girls dorm provides multiple dorm activities as well as a kitchen downstairs to whoever likes to cook. In the girls dorm there are community showers, however in each room there is a sink provided and medicine cabinet. One boys dorm has suites and therefore they have their own showers, but the other dorm has community showers.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are a strong point at this school. If you are looking to go into Nursing, Union offers a tremendous program. It has one of the highest pass rates on the N-CLEX in the state of Nebraska. Also, class sizes are small so you get to know your instructors very well and can feel comfortable talking to them not just about school topics but about personal life. Many other majors I have heard are very good, however I do not have experience in these areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes for winter; it gets very cold! Winters can be brutal, but not always. Just remember to come prepapred and as long as you bundle up you will have no problem. Also, invest in some good boots. Sometimes walking from class to class in the snow your feet can get cold. Be selective in what you choose to eat from the cafeteria. There can be some really good food in the T'orias Bar. However, the main food can sometimes be a bit scary because of the vegetarian meals provided. There is a lot of cheese and salt used so if you are looking to keep your figure better try a salad or sandwich.

    In three sentences

    Union College is a great learning environment. Students and staff are very friendly and helpful. Teachers are concerned about your learning experience.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, campus is the safe place to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    College have missionary trips to other countries. It is fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small classes, kind teachers, and family environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is seven Adventist college, no Saturday classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth of investment

    What to do for fun

    College have a huge sport complex

    Food and Dining

    Food is great

    Dorm Life

    I herd that dorm life is christian like.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent School. I can give it a five star.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always read the material, study hard and do home work on time.

    In three sentences

    It is the great school. Teachers are nice. I recommend this school for everyone.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Union is lucky to no have many campus safety altercations through out the year. Even though it is located in the town of Lincoln, NE we are fortunate to provide students with a safe environment for learning.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately Union does not have a greek life on campus right now. I do believe that they could be a great addition to campus however.

    Clubs and Activities

    Union has many thriving clubs on campus, approximately 40 to choose from highlighting each major or group on campus. If you do decide to come to Union make sure to sign up for #1 ASB and #2 BCS club.

    Great for these types of students

    Union is a great place for students looking to get involved with their college. Whether it be in student run campus ministries, student government, campus clubs, or various academic committees, Union wants to build students through doing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Union has an awesome, catchy school song! What's also cool is that we have alumni all over the world so chances are if you starting clapping and singing Singa 'da Ink a Union grad will join in.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other adventist colleges/universities Union is quite priced on the lower end which is certainly much appreciated. Alternatively, when compared to other Christian colleges it is high for its location.

    What to do for fun

    Union has a thriving social life on campus. The student government, associated student body, plan social, spiritual, and academic activities for student to participate in on a weekly basis. There is always something happening that student can enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Union has by far the best cafeteria of any adventist college/university. Recently updated, the cafe staff do their best to cater to students requests and provide a health option for food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm facilities are somewhat run down and, in the past, have created problems with wi-fi and necessary amenities. The dorm staff however are well aware of the facilities and are always willing to provide additional support to students if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    As a business major, I have enjoyed my classes and feel they have appropriately challenged me. As I am completely internships and will soon be entering the workforce, I believe that the education I received at Union is preparing me well. I do however believe that there are to many general education requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    Union is known for its culture of being a small friendly campus. Any prospective students should certainly come and visit to see the culture for yourself. We are deeply spiritual with a commitment of supporting our fellow students.

    In three sentences

    The thing I love most about Union College is the culture. Students are encouraged to grow in the direction they desire and the faculty are very supportive and offer support in any capacity. Union also provides students with the opportunity to practice the skills they are learning in real world situations.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Union is worth every cent considering what kind of person I am today compared to when I first arrived on campus. :) The experience, the friends I have can't put a price to it.

    What to do for fun

    Ivanna Cone located in the HayMarket area in downtown Lincoln, (hands down) has the best homemade ice cream! Parks are abundant as well as bike trails, coffee shops, movies, an outdoor mall, an indoor mall, and boutique shops.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a bike! It's nice to bike out, and a beautiful lake is only a few blocks away! Perfect place to picnic, jog, and bike.

    In three sentences

    Friendly student body. Professors are sincere on helping students succeed. Nursing and PA Program are very well organized and are aimed for excellent student learning experience.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great and healthy. dining hall is so nice and just a great place to eat at.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are there to help you and to teach you new things according to your major. They are so dedicated to helping you learn and understand the information that they are teaching. They are willing to work and help you with any disabilities you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure you have planned out all of your financial aid and you have that taking care of. 2.make sure you are focused and prepared to meet new people and enter act with your peers.

    In three sentences

    I feel I have made a extremely good decision to come to union college. Union college is a very unique college than any other college I experienced. I believe Union college can help me to reach success in school, it is the best decision I have made in my life.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Professors really care about you here - you are not just a number.

    What to do for fun

    There are many spiritual based activities throughout the week for anyone to engage in.

    Food and Dining

    Vegetarian and vegan food is available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Graduate students may choose to live off campus and in accordance to the college's rules.

    Academic Rigor

    The graduate program is paced wonderfully for people who can keep themselves on track with assignments and enjoy learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your own life motivations and goals. Then tell them to the interviewers in detail!

    In three sentences

    Union College is a wonderful program for Christian based students that are eager to learn.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station right next to the girl's dorm as well as campus security at all hours!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Project Impact is a day where classes are cancelled for the day and we come together as a school and serve the community. We all split into teams and spread across Lincoln helping in different areas. From the Children's Museums, to hospitals, to preparing meals for the homeless, to yard work for a neighbor. It's a really neat experience!

    What to do for fun

    Yes, we are in Lincoln, Nebraska but the key is friendship. Once you have friends, you don't need theaters and bowling allies. A simple walk around downtown Lincoln, especially Saturday nights after a Huskers game, is full of excitement and life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to this school, it's because you were called to do so. Every student here comes with the mentality that they are here for a purpose and because of that, we can encourage one another to grow spiritually and emotionally and as a person as a whole. Come prepared to learn a lot about yourself and don't be afraid to be yourself.

    In three sentences

    This school offers not only an education but a transformation. They encourage self discovery while small enough to have an eternity of opportunities and resources yet big enough to make new friends every day. They love God and it makes me love Him too.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since this is my first semester at Union, I don't really know what most people do for fun. Myself, I play bb and workout at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Actually, the food is good, but getting enough could become costly if you are a male who has a healthy appetite. The atmosphere of the dinning commons is comfortable. Lastly, there are enough dinning places to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really fun. Since the school is small, dorm students come to know each other quite well. The environment is much like a family. Union College is a Christian school, so dorm students must attend worships. Some worship activities are sponsored by the dorm. I have found them to be nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is challenging, but the professors are very good at explaining their subjects. The challenge comes mostly in the form of reading. You must be able to ingest large quantities of material in a short amount to time. However, there are many resources to aid students who are willing to meet the challenges. I am a Union Scholar, which is like being in honors classes. These classes focus on critical thinking, discussion, and hands on projects. They offer additional experiences in leadership development as well as other skills for advancing your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to get involved. Be prepared to be engaged in your studies.

    In three sentences

    The campus is refreshing! My major, IRR, is innovative! The people are great!

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ASB has weekend activities: banquets, laser tagging, free concerts, barn party's, talent show, handshake, etc. there are also clubs you could sign up for: business club, International Rescue and Relief club, Math and Science, Drama, the International club, etc. Around the campus there a few places to go: a park, restaurants, laser tagging, downtown, stores, mall, Movie theater, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but can be repeated many times...

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Union College has a really good Nursing program and International Rescue and Relief program as well. There are other good majors in the school that may be challenging but doable

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great place to be, but I would suggest for students to come and check the school out before making a decision.

    In three sentences

    Although Union College is in Lincoln, Nebraska, a place where it is not so populated there are a variety of things to do. The college keeps students busy by providing school work and great activities. Union College is a great place to meet international students and for getting a taste of what College is.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are trained students monitoring campus 24/7. Every student with a cell phone can get emergency updates on lockdowns, severe weather updates, and the like from the school. There is a police station right next to the school and the officers practice drills in our buildings so they know the campus in and out.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at Union College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of activities and clubs for students. Union is a very student-led campus, so if there is not something you want, you can ask to get it into motion and it will happen! Each major has a club with perks and free stuff. There are year round intramural games and Associated Student Body events to keep the students occupied.

    Great for these types of students

    Union is great for students who love a friendly family feel. Every person you pass is willing to give a smile and a hello - even if you've never seen the person before. It's a very at-your-own-pace place with a structured and motivating atmosphere. Students who excel when given responsibility will thrive there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Union is known for the amount of squirrels on campus. It is also considered an arboretum due to the amount of beautiful trees on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is about 27,000 dollars, depending. But it is worth it to me for a Seventh Day Adventist education.

    What to do for fun

    Lincoln, Nebraska is a fun little town! The UNL Huskers are a BIG deal in Lincoln, so there is a ton of pride permeating from every corner of Lincoln. There are plenty of local restaurants and funky bars to go to. Cycling is a very popular activity in Lincoln and there are many trails that accompany the need!

    Food and Dining

    Union Market is one of my favorite things about Union. It is all student's choice, meaning - the cafeteria workers listen to what the students want and cater it to the needs. The market has an always open salad bar and fresh fruit bar with its' own bakery and fresh fruit smoothie bar.

    Dorm Life

    There is one girls dorm and 2 boys dorms. I LOVE Rees Hall and the girls in it. The Deans know every single resident's name and make you feel at home. There are plenty of dorm parties and chapels that even make the shy person come out of her shell. The rooms are a good size and the community bathrooms aren't as bad as I was thinking they'd be.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, there is quite a level of healthy competition and rigor. As a Theology major, we are planning to become pastors and Bible teachers, and I feel like I am being wonderfully equipped with everything I need along with my amazing classmates. Class sizes are small and the teacher's are so personal. Union has a gret at Physician Assistant program that is very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Union! The campus visits department definitely give guests a great time - I know because I visited before I attended! I instantly felt at home when I stepped on campus. Be ready to treated like a son or daughter by teachers and the community!

    In three sentences

    A loving Christian environment that encourages values in service, discipleship, learning, and community. Attending Union College has been the best experience of my life because the staff are dedicated to showing students how to passionately live a Christ-centered life. It is small enough to feel like family, but big enough to include everyone who needs a home.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around, on call, and on the prowl. The campus feels very safe!

    What to do for fun

    Union ASB keeps the campus busy with banquets, vespers, concerts, picnics and much more. Varsity sports are a big part of campus life, also.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options at school get somewhat routine, but that is to be expected. The food is all vegetarian, with gluten-free options, salad bars, cereals, fresh fruit, and much more. There are also many close to campus restaurants walking distance from the school-many of which offer discounts to students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is all I could have wanted it to be and more! The dorms are old, but are clean, spacious and inviting. Deans are always on call, RAs help keep the students connected, and single room options are available.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged, prepared, and involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with other students by accessing the various Facebook clubs and pages to meet people, get involved and receive updated information on transferring, extracurriculars and student life.

    In three sentences

    Union College is an excellent institution that allows for educational growth, social, as well as spiritual growth. The campus is beautiful, teachers are well-qualified, and students are friendly. Lots of options for housing, majors, activities, and much more.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Take initiative if you want to see changes.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Lincoln! There is tons to do. Attend vespers and other spiritual events! Be sure to become active in the clubs you sign up for.

    Food and Dining

    They could be a little more accommodating towards students with severe allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Aside from the girls dorm not having an elevator, the buildings are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The class load is a bit more due to the individualized setting but it truly prepares you for graduate work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! They are there to help you. Adventure the campus! Find other places to study-the Student Center is a lifesaver. Lincoln has lots to offer and plenty to do, but do not let it distract you from your studies too much. Be sure to get involved in the campus ministry. Find an upperclassman and become friends. More often than not they love sharing tips and advice.

    In three sentences

    A spiritual revival for any incoming Freshman. Union College is more than a community, it is a family. I feel as though I am actually learning.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I mean, it's Nebraska so...

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own computer and don't come if you don't want to live with or around Seventh-day Adventists.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college full of wonderful people. It does, however lack two things: technology and university status. The computers in the library here have not been replaced for eight or nine years.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Very dense, and security is always willing to give ladies a lift.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and every Saturday there is a Student Body activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Active, artistic, Christian, business minded people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The clock tower sings every Friday night.

    What to do for fun

    Lincoln is full of bookstores and antique shops. I go rollerblading and hit up alot of movie theaters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to Barry Forbes. Check out the campus, and bring your bicycle.

    In three sentences

    Union College is a great Christian school. It is a small school, but this makes for a very friendly atmosphere and the teachers can remember you. The school also has an amazingly green campus.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Business club and math and science club is where it's at!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Lincoln, the park, concerts...etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    HAVE A CAR. Go to classes, your graded on it a lot. Get a job.

    In three sentences

    Really friendly, easy to meet new people. Small class sizes and small school in general. Lincoln is a nice place to live.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every Saturday night, there's something fun going on: cardboard boat races, ice skating, roller blading, singing, cookie baking, and more. The clubs go to plays and concerts. There's a lot of free food!

    Bang for the buck

    This place is amazing: once you're here, you won't want to leave! The clubs have great events, there's a pool and a tennis court, and plenty of music and drama opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Walk to Holmes' Lake Park, or drive downtown. Go shopping at the mall or swimming in the on-campus pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is vegetarian, with vegan options provided. And it is pretty good, for cafeteria food. But there aren't a whole lot of options if you have a food allergy or intolerance.

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually live in the dorms, but from what I've seen and heard, dorm life looks pretty awesome here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but there are students and professors who are always willing to help. Classes are small and learning is hands-on.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get a feel for the campus, come visit Union!

    In three sentences

    Union College is a place with friendly people, awesome professors, and a wholesome atmosphere. The professors learn your name and get to know you as a person; they genuinely care about how you're doing. Student activities and events are plentiful, and it's easy to start your own!