Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Union Institute & University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Great for these types of students

    parents

    What to do for fun

    the assistant the offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    union institute and university is very convenient especially for students with family.

    In three sentences

    union institute is a very convenient. the staffs at union are very helpful and dependable. they offer very good programs and assistance.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven intellectuals with a passion for social justice and responsibility.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a pretty affordable private school.

    Academic Rigor

    I am consistently and rewardingly challenged at Union.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how to manage your time well and be dedicated to your future.

    In three sentences

    I am extremely satisfied with my education at Union. I find the online option for the BA degree in Liberal Studies to be intellectually stimulating. I believe that I learn more in one independent study at Union than I would in a year of standardized work at another University.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cincinnati is full of entertainment. There is an aquarium close by, the Freedom museum, and many other touristy activities to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Residency is at the Marriott Kings-gate in Cincinnati. The food is good and the hotel excellent. And, there are plenty of opportunities to eat outside the hotel or go exploring.

    Dorm Life

    There are 6 residency of 9 days each during the 3 year program. There is no dorm life. Beyond residency, it is all on line.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a PhD program, of course it is tough, but the professors are not arrogant. These professors are life long learners and very knowledgeable. They want to share their knowledge and they will do what they can to help learners understand, grow, and develop.

    Tips for prospective students

    Union Institute and University does not court tuition. They are truly interested in you as a learner and in your success.

    In three sentences

    The professors are supportive and knowledgeable. The PhD Cohort program is a true intellectual community. You are valued as a learner.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not dine at the UI&U campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nothing to advise.

    In three sentences

    I have had a fairly good experience with UI&U so far. This is my first semester with them, but throughout the application process and so far, all of their staff has been more than helpful in getting me started. I am currently taking my first two classes with them, and things are going well!

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Even though I take my classes online the professors are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Calling and asking questions will make you want to apply and become a student here. If they call you, answer the phone and ask as many questions that you can think of.

    In three sentences

    They are very prompt and attentive. They make looking for a college easy. They answer questions in a timely fashion.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable compared to other Universities.

    Academic Rigor

    Very demanding but do able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to write because there are a lot of essays

    In three sentences

    Extremly helpful. Very up to date on its topics. Very relevant material.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the vermont site is safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    any type

    What to do for fun

    read, watch tv, listen to music, hang out with friends and family.

    Food and Dining

    We are catered by a culinary college. some of the food is good other times I have had to go out to eat, again this is at the Vermont site.

    Dorm Life

    this campus at least in Vermont does not really have dorms. We rent a hall on another college site for 1 night.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a lot of independent study and you have to read 16 books for full time and write 36 pages worth of essays on those books you have read.

    Tips for prospective students

    its independent but there are advisers always there to help. With this idependent study they have a process and they say to trust the process and go with the flow. I have learned to trust the process and go with the flow. This helped me with my writing and making good essays.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I like how its one on one and with peers. I have learned a lot about myself and its geared toward what you want to learn.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of police officers attend this campus therefore pretty safe on any given day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Business Leaders of America

    Great for these types of students

    Work study. International. Adults

    What to do for fun

    Attend the North Miami Beach campus the fun in Miami is endless!

    Tips for prospective students

    Very good school for students with full time jobs, excellent online classes and very flexible.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small and intimate whereas the professors are able to assist you one on one. Professors are very flexible with work study students schedules. The cost to attend is right in line with standard college tuition if not less.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Call and speak to a Union rep and get the answers you need ASAP. They are always willing to walk you through the steps to get you started and help you succeed no matter what level you're on. I called and the next month I was starting class.

    In three sentences

    Union is a great college that works for me and my schedule. The instructors are helpful and willing to help me with things I may not understand. I would recommend Union to anyone that has a hectic life and wants a fulfilling college career.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like to be challenged in their academics, and who need a flexible school schedule because of their home life. This is especially convenient for adult students or people who have different types of work schedules. One of the best things is that you have the option of taking courses both online and on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Although the course are online, I have actually been on campus and seen students there I was able to connect with and do outside activities with. The atmosphere at UI&U is very friendly and there are many people there so connect with.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the experience of food and dining at campus at UI&U

    Dorm Life

    I have not had the experience of living on campus at UI&U

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Union Institute & University are great! They are very challenging at times, but the professors are always there to help if you need it. This is great for me because I transferred to Union from a private college known for it's academics, so it keeps me challenged as well as interested in the coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would tell students looking to come to UI&U is to be prepared to work. Although the course are online, the educators take their courses very seriously as well as the course work. It is evident that the professors care because they take the time to review the work, and will even converse with you regarding the things you say in your assignments.

    In three sentences

    In looking at online colleges, this is the best school I have seen! The educators are very flexible and helpful with anything difficulties you may have. The campus web and website for the school also makes it very easy to maneuver and find all the things you need to compete assignments, and educators make assignments very clear.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Distance learning and those with busy schedules.

    What to do for fun

    Read, spend time with friends/family.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging.*****

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the collaboration forum and stay in contact with your instructor.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school. Professors are great, very involved with student's success. Union offers many tools for the student to succeed.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I have not started school yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all you transcripts sent over as soon as possible. This can delay the application process.

    In three sentences

    I have just been accepted into an online degree program. So far everyone has been very helpful. I am very excited to start classes next month.