Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Union University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart driven students, kids from down south, students who desire a Christian school, and kids who are willing to go to a smaller school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the schools you are looking at and ask to sit in on a class and meet a professor in your desired major. Just going on the campus tour will not tell you much about the school but meeting the professors and seeing classes will.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little expensive but you get great housing and a wonderful education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are nice and the environment is very welcoming. There are a lot of smart driven kids at Union so we study hard but we also play hard. There are always activities going on and a club or group to get involved in. The food is good and a fun thing about Union is you have a kitchen so you can invite your friends over for dinner at your suite.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics are wonderful. Not only do you have professors who are top notch in their field but you have professors who care about you as a person. I have learned so much because the professors are willing to sit down with you outside of class and give you the help you need.

  • 11/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Union is a great place, but it's very much a bubble. The Union bubble consists largely of white, middle- or upper-middle class, Christian (especially Southern Baptist) students. While there are many students who do not belong to this bubble, myself included, it can be frustrating. Nevertheless, there are bubbles wherever you go, and ours is no reason not to go here. If you are already in this bubble, Union will be great for you. If not, you can still have a great experience here.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing you can do is visit the campus and talk to current students. As is the case anywhere, enrollment counselors will tell you almost anything. Get the facts from current students, and do your best to actually visit the campus during the spring or fall when school is in full swing.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is too expensive, but they can't help it. It's a private institution, so they don't receive government subsidies. Nevertheless, Union is generous with their scholarships, so it's easy to fund your education here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life is very enjoyable. I am a member of one of the three fraternities on campus, and the Greek life here is different than almost any other school. Along with the three strong on-campus sororities, Union's Greek organizations enjoy an alcohol- and hazing-free environment. Jackson is a boring city, but Union provides plenty of opportunities. There's never a shortage of student groups for getting involved, and the on-campus coffee shop hosts concerts almost every weekend. Union's small student body (about 3,000 undergrads) provides a close-knit atmosphere. It's hard to walk into the cafeteria without seeing at least someone you know. Friends are easily made here, and living on campus is a lot of fun (not to mention the incredibly nice dorms).

    Am learning a lot

    Union's professors are top-notch. Almost all of them are active in their field; different professors are constantly churning out books and speaking at conferences. In fact, many of the professors came to Union from teaching at a grad school or seminary. The curriculum is distinctly oriented on the liberal arts and rooted in a conservative biblical tradition. Other Christian schools have abandoned their conservative heritage, but the liberals on faculty at Union are few and far between. The class sizes range from 2 to the 20s; even the core classes have no more than 20-something students. Most professors genuinely care about the students' learning and gear their classes accordingly.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Union has high academic standards, and so I would recommend this school to anyone who's a hard worker, and does their best in keeping up with studies. One can get swallowed in studies anywhere, but it's especially important not to get behind here. Union is also a great place for students who desire to be a part of an amazing Christian community, with plenty of places to minister, both on campus and in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour and experience as much of Union life as possible. Talk to current students about their life at Union, sit in classes, talk to advisors of the major you're interested, or just talk to professors who might be available.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of Union is pretty dissuading to prospective, and even current, students, seeing as how the school costs close to 30k a year. The scholarship award program is very good though, offering students significant financial aid. The costs for things are a little high, but after evaluating at the services that a student receives, it balances it. Free laundry room use, a generous amount of free printing, wireless, beautiful and up to date premises, wonderful dorms. Everything is thrown in, making the price rise, but it’s worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Union is one of the best places I could imagine myself being here. The community of people is so strong, and the spiritual atmosphere is wonderful. The campus is beautiful, and I can't imagine having better dorms than the ones provided at Union. Various clubs and regularly scheduled meetings provide a person a lot of opportunities to experience different activities and get to know people.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty here at Union University are wonderful doctors and professors who truly care about your success as a student. They make themselves available for students who have questions or need help, and their instruction is superb. Classmates are another source of learning, whether it be through friendly relationships, peer tutoring, or study groups.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love a smaller atmosphere with many opportunities to get involved in activities and leadership. Dorms allow for students to have their own room while sharing either one or two bathrooms, a living area and a kitchen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit on a preview day or when students are on campus. It is much more exciting because you get to see interaction between students or you even be able to sit in on a few classes. Make sure to talk to the financial aid office. They are always willing to help and would never want a student to be turned away due to financial status.

    Bang for the buck

    While Union is on the expensive side, it is definitely worth it for the education. Union is a top accredited school in all areas of academics. The School of Nursing, School of Education, and School of Pharmacy have all been recognized for the education they provide. It is also in the top tier of schools in its category for the 13th straight year in the U.S.News & World Report college rankings.

    Am enjoying being here

    Union's atmosphere is inviting and active. Although Jackson is small compared to places like Memphis and Nashville, students still find fun activities to do off-campus as well as doing a lot on-campus. On-campus activities can range from greek life to debate team to wellness activities like Zumba or intramurals. Off-campus you can find coffee shops, shopping centers, running/biking trails, and much more. One of the favorite things students enjoy are concerts at the on campus coffee lounge, Barefoot Joes. Artists such as the Civil Wars, Andy Davis, and Derek Webb have performed there.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics at Union are impeccable. From the president to the part-time professor, you can see their goal to make each student better. I have learned so much already about how to make a difference in a specific field. Union prides itself on being a liberal arts college, therefore, its goal is to make each student well rounded in all areas of life and education. The classes are smaller therefore allowing a better relationship with professors and better understanding of the curriculum.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 out of 10 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university offers a Christian atmosphere and great counselors, as well as teachers. I enjoyed almost every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is expensive but the campus is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. If you can afford it, then you should try it out.

  • 11/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANY and ALL types!

    Tips for prospective students

    Union is a small college with a little over 3000 students enrolled. It provides an amazing opportunity to get close to many students and professors. My main piece of advice is to pay close attention during orientation week because you will learn so much important information that will help your transition be so much smoother.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is a little pricey but its definitely worth it. Housing is amazing, even for freshmen! The quality of teaching is amazing and the teachers are definitely qualified to teach their classes. The campus is beautiful and classrooms are comfortable and technologically equipped. Union offers the highest quality of private education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Union is very fun and tries its hardest to help students have fun! Freshmen are invited to countless events during the first semester at Union and are constantly given the opportunity to participate in fun and exciting activities.

    Am learning a lot

    Academically, Union is a very challenging school. Classes require you to think hard and build on what you have learned throughout the year. I have learned SO much this year and know that all this knowledge will be extremely helpful in my post-college years!

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a legit Christian environment as well as a legit education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to your professor. They will and are eager to help you if you will ask. Get involved with a variety of activities on campus as well as off campus. Find a church and get plugged in.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is very expensive... However, after attending a year there, I have no regrets and will have no regrets on the money that is spent on my tuition. Every penny is worth it because of the great experience students have at Union.

    Am enjoying being here

    The extracurricular activities that are available at the school are endless! I love having so many choices. The environment of the school and the whole student body is incredible.

    Am learning a lot

    Union has excellent professors that are not only extremely educated but also very helpful to students.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Union. There is a guard at the gate who protects us. It is a Christian environment.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities on campus. After much consideration, I chose to bypass membership. The hours required to each group was more than I could afford.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, depending on your major. There are always some kind of activities going on around campus. Absolutely, there is never a dull moment.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Christian and seek a purpose for your life, I would recommend Union University. The faculty and staff are readily available to assist you in any way they can. They continually pray for the student body and the chapel services are awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two of my room mates are form Kenya. Their culture is very different from ours. They recently experienced bacon for the first time!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition a Union is very expensive. My parents continue to sacrafice material things for my education expenses. They consider it an investment in my future.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Union. Intramural sports are my favorite activities. I also enjoy movies on the great lawn.

    Food and Dining

    There are two opitions on campus and many nearby off-campus restaurants. I ususally eat lunch on campus. I frequent the nearby Chic-fil-a for supper.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome. I live in a quad, with three roommates. We get along great and hang out with our neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are tough, but the faculty really care about you and want to see you suceed. Be disciplined and ready to study hard. There are many resources available to accomodate your study needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus visits are a great first step. You will be given a campus tour and meet potential teachers and faculty memebers. You will also get to visit the student housing and get to experience what campus life is all about.

    In three sentences

    Union University is the best school on the face of the earth. Teachers really care about the success of the student and encourage the students to do their very best. Almost all of the students there are friendly and genuinely care about their peers.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'd imagine that any student would find an area to fit in, here at Union.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit every college that you want to go to and even some colleges that you don't (I only visited Union because I had friends there, I was planning to attend another college). Always ask about free Applications - almost all colleges have a time when they offer them.

    Bang for the buck

    At ~$30,000 a year, Union is definitely not light on the pocketbook. However, the professors are great, the campus is amazing, the students are friendly, and it's The oldest Christian university (founded in 1823) that is still connected to a State Convention (Tennessee Southern Baptist).

    Am enjoying being here

    Honestly, I couldn't imagine myself at any other college. The dorms are absolutely fantastic: Even in the Heritage dorms in the every student gets his own room, and shares a bathroom, kitchen, and living room with three other students. Four words: Friday night NERF Wars.

    Am learning a lot

    To be honest, I came to college a bit cocky. Union showed me that I still had a whole lot to learn.

  • 03/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you desire academic excellence, I believe I can rightfully recommend Union to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! I've visited colleges and the very ones I thought I was going to love and adore, I pretty much was disappointed with when I visited. So, really, spend the money to go visit the school! It's better to spend 1k to go and visit, then to enroll without a visit and be in a mess! Plus, with visiting, you will most likely know your answer after you're done!

    Bang for the buck

    I believe it'll be well worth it. However, it is very expensive, and even though my parents could afford it, it is a great deterrant to me. I have viewed and visited other schools that are less expensive, but what it boils down to is Union seems worth the cost for what you're getting. A private bedroom for each student is by far one of the greatest deciding factors for me in my search for a college. I believe that kind of privacy is very important for young adults. We're not children growing up in a Walton-sized household! I have my own room and like to keep it that way! I'm not anti-social, mind you, it's just nice to have your own space and your own life, if you know what I mean. I slept over in the dorms and their awesome!!!

    Will enjoy being here

    Union has a great campus, which is clean, friendly, and quiet. The only thing that I felt I needed to say is for Creationist Christians. I contacted Union and asked them about their stand on evolution, and their response was very disappointing. They said that we have not yet formulated a positional statement on evolution and also said in response to the validity of evolution: whether it is true or not. Obviously, they seemed to be quite wishy-washy in their stance on evolution. So, I suggest you weigh this into your decision, for those of you who believe in God's literal six-day Creation. I know I am weighing this in my heart, and praying about it.

    Will learn a lot

    The academics really appeal to me greatly, seeing that I love to study and am highly motivated to achieve great academic success. Their nursing program is incredibly state-of-the-art.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security is all over the place. While crimes certainly do happen on campus, there nonetheless is a very present and active Safety and Security.

    Greek Life

    Union has a very unique type of Greek Life. There are three fraternities and three sororities. Greeks are not allowed to live in their houses, but live in campus dorms with the rest of the student body. About 10% of Union students participate in Greek Life. Union urges its Greeks to approach Greek Life from a Christian perspective, which means that it takes on a very different form than Greek Life at a secular university.

    Clubs and Activities

    Union has a myriad of activities and clubs of every different sort. It's hard to choose just a few to be involved with! It truly does have something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, creative, hard-working... Remember that even if you don't fit the stereotypical Union image, there are plenty of others who don't.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Explore Jackson's underground tunnels as a freshmen with your life group, a group of freshmen led by two upperclassmen. Enjoy coffee and bizarre costumes at Halloween's Costume Coffee-house. Swim in the Jennings fountain after dark. Mock the sidewalk couples standing awkwardly outside the dorms. Play hide-and-seek in the labyrinth of the PAC.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is very, very expensive. It is also a great university with much to offer. Thus it's a bit hard to measure the bang for the buck and that probably depends greatly on one's individual experience.

    What to do for fun

    At Union there are endless opportunities to make your own fun. Attend hipster concerts at our truly hipster coffee-shop, join Nerf Wars on Friday nights and play games of zombies and slayer with foam darts, watch movies in the Bowld Commons, throw a goofy dance party in your dorm on the weekends, attend a fraternity party, explore all of Jackson's unique places, go tunneling, join one of Union's endless clubs...

    Food and Dining

    Union has two dining services: Coburn (the cafeteria) and the Lex (a fast-food, diner-style restaurant). Neither are particularly spectacular, but Coburn does offer a certain amount of variety and you can always opt for chicken strips or a sandwich in the Lex.

    Dorm Life

    Union has apartment-style dorms--so no cramming two beds, two closets, and two strangers in a bathroom-size room! The apartments truly are the best I have seen on college visits. This does mean that the dorm community is a bit different than at most colleges and that friendships have to be more intentional. Some buildings have community, some do not, but if people desire to have a good dorm life, they can certainly have one. One downside is that during weekdays there are no open dorm hours when the opposite gender can visit, but there are common areas that are available to use most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Union is quite academically rigorous. Unfortunately, most (but not all) classes use a 95-100 grading scale, which makes it even more difficult to maintain a great grade. However, the academic difficulty is very beneficial. It forces students to work and to truly learn. Although difficult, Union's academic rigor is made perfectly tolerable by professors who truly want their students to succeed and are willing to put in the time and effort needed to ensure the best academic experience possible for those students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get as full of a perspective of Union as possible. Spend the night on campus, try to meet students from as many different circles as possible. Do try to have a picture of the stereotypical Union student--in other words, know that Union is generally conservative and Christian, but don't make the assumption that all Union students or faculty fall into those categories. Read through the student handbook, but also spend time on campus talking to students about what life at Union is truly like.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a fantastic school that, for the most part, lives up to its portrayal of itself. Union claims to be excellence driven, Christ-centered, people-focused, and future-directed. It truly does meet those claims.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It's a beautiful campus and very welcoming. Everyone I've spoken to about Union has had nothing but great things to say. The enrollment counselors are also very helpful. I can't wait to attend!

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If there is any doubt about this school, a visit will help things out. The campus is amazing and just one visit will take your breath away.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a bit high, but the education is high quality and is worth every penny. If money is the problem, they will do everything they can to help you out. They have great scholarship opportunities as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are amazing and understanding. The environment of the school is amazing. The coffee shop, the library, and even the hallways of some of the buildings set up a perfect studying environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Union has a great Biology program. It also has a great introductory course to the Union environment that helps understand who they are and what they stand for.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit classes when you go and talk to students!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive and that's why I'm not sure if I can go there (but fingers crossed)

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is BEAUTIFUL! The dorms are super nice and set up like an apartment so you have your own room

    Will learn a lot

    I attended a class and absolutely loved it! The students were so engaged in the class and the discussion

  • 12/19/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jocks, geeks, Jesus freaks - I believe that just about anyone would appreciate this school. Dr Dockery is a great leader of a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school. Ms Sarah is great with calming your anxieties and making feel good about your decision.

    Bang for the buck

    More expensive than more by other school choices. I believe it will be worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Love the facility, dorms, food areas, rec and chilling out areas too. Great sports teams to cheer for as well.

    Will learn a lot

    Has a very elaborate nursing department. Was pleased with the tour and discussion with Ms Edie.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I have been on a tour of the campus and absolutely fell in LOVE with Union University. I hope and pray that I will enjoy my years to come at Union.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome!!

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is caring and treat you like a person.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful caring school and focuses on your Christian Life. I recommend it!!!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are really cool peeps.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated Christian students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tunneling, NERF wars,

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but you get what you pay for 10 fold.

    What to do for fun

    Nerf wars, intramural sports, concerts, film showings, and sleep. You'll loose a lot of sleep, so it's great when you have some.

    Food and Dining

    No.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice, though there is very little dorm activity compared to the traditional dorm experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to similar colleges, Union is extremely rigorous. Frankly, some professors do take this too far, however you will learn a lot while you are here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. There's a lot of things that you simply won't pick up on through these websites.

    In three sentences

    Union is a great school with extremely rigorous academics, great people and great professors. The Christian environment really helps you grow in your faith. The DMS program is simply amazing.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security cars that drive around frequently, and they have texts sent to every students' phones in case of emergencies. They have a hotline available to call at any time if you feel threatened, and the entire campus is, in a sense, shut down around 2 or 3 in the morning to keep any unwanted company out.

    Greek Life

    Union is one of the few private Christian colleges that have acknowledged Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a great variety of clubs and activities available. They have programs to help stop human trafficking, abortion, etc, and publications, along with many other clubs. The sports teams are good too.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a liberal arts college mainly, but it also has a great nursing program from what I've learned, and it's also excellent for anyone wanting to do anything ministry related, as it is a strong Christian campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a weekend set up for incoming freshmen called Focus Week, where it is just freshmen and transfers on campus. This is a great way for the freshmen to get to know each other and a few upperclassmen, along with the grounds, before the rest of the students arrive. It's very jam-packed, set up to keep students from getting homesick in the first weekend or so, and it works.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is rather expensive, but it is a private Christian university, and I believe you get your money's worth out of it. The teachers are phenomenal and work to get to know you. Plus, there are so many facilities available to the students that comes with what you have already paid.

    What to do for fun

    There's a ton to do on campus itself. There's running paths, a gymn, an indoor pool, library, etc. Outside of that, Jackson is a decent sized town and many of the places are within biking distance of campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have both a cafeteria with a variety of food that ranges from decent to good, and they have a cafe-like place next to the cafeteria that also runs on the meal plan that has excellent food. There's also a coffee shop as well that has great, low-priced coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There's alway some activity going on, whether it be movies on the line or ice cream socials at the president's house. Freshmen especially have a ton of things available to do. And the rooms for students are amazing; every student gets their own bedroom along with an apartment-like complex to share with three other students.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a great variety of classes set up to challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Visiting the campus will show you just how amazing the place is. Also, try spending the night here to get to see just how life on campus is.

    In three sentences

    Amazing school all-around. Everything here is welcoming, from the professors to the students to the campus. An excellent school.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    So far, Union is the only college I've seen that lets all the students have their own bedrooms. Definitely a plus for me, and for anyone who finds they need space and quiet to write effectively.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say without a question that the academic rigor seemed high. Union is a Christian college, but it was also made very clear that it aims to produce students who will be accepted at any high-level academic situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with a professor in the department you will be in. This will allow you to get a better sense of the goals and culture of your particular area.

    In three sentences

    I went on a campus visit in March, and was struck by the passion exhibited by both students and professors at Union. It was obvious that they were dedicated to both faith and learning--demonstrating their own motto: Excellence driven, Christ centered. The high academic level and the welcoming atmosphere have ranked it high on my list!

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but you get your own room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Union is a lot harder then most school and the grading scale is picky, Studying everyday is crucial and attendance matters. Miss class too many times and you will fail.

    In three sentences

    Union is an amazing school that really cares about there students. The school is a great place to learn as well as have fellowship with other students. There isn't a faculty that doesn't care about you.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety Department is GREAT!!!!!

    Greek Life

    There are 6 total, 3 for women and 3 for men.

    Clubs and Activities

    So Many

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-Working, Dedicated, and Motivated students.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot (seriously so many you'll have a hard time trying to decide which event to attend) of various activities planned throughout the year, there are two facilities where you can either play games with friends, practice music, watch TV, study, or just lounge around. Check out the website at uu.edu and select future students then Residence Life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, although the meal plan is expensive. You have two options: 1) Dining hall type of area (buffet/self-service in the sense that you can eat whatever you want, but a worker will fix your plate depending on what they have.) 2) Lex - kind of like a restuarant/diner because you order your food and then they call your name when it's ready.

    Dorm Life

    Although housing is expensive and you have strict rules pertaining to visits/visitors, they try to compensate by having a lot of activities, places to hangout and play games with friends, places to practice music, or simply watch TV. *Each Student gets his/her own private bedroom with shared bathroom(s), and kitchen. If you are an upperclassman, you live in the Quads with 2 bathrooms and a laundry section. If you are a freshman, you live in Heritage where there is only 1 bathroom in each apartment, and you have to do your laundry at MacAfee, the freshman community area.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic curriculum is very rigorous. Sometimes you will feel as though you are not equipped with the proper tools to excel, but if you continue to work hard and seek help, you should have no problems passing the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard in school in order to receive the most scholarships and to make sure you're not struggling in class because you slacked in high school. If you find yourself struggling in class, go to the prof.'s office for help or visit the Hundley Center. Please develop good note taking and skills before entering Union or you will be sorry. But overall you will enjoy your time there.

    In three sentences

    Although it's challenging at times, I enjoy studying here because it makes me think critically, and use parts of my brain I forgot was there, while developing skills I've never had/knew I had. I love Union's dedication to provide an excellent education while incorporating Christian aspects. The Chapel Services are Awesome!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is probably the safest college campus your tuition money can buy. The only bad part is the occasional bad weather. All of the dorms have tornado shelters and every year they are used a few times in inclement weather.

    Greek Life

    I am currently involved in the Greek life at Union University. There are 3 fraternities and three sororities which comprise Greek row: SAE, ATO, LXA, XO, ZTA, and KD. None of the Greek houses offer boarding. Approximately 25% of the students that attend Union University are involved in Greek Life. There is a VERY strict no alcohol on campus policy since it is a Christian college and the Greeks here strictly abide by that rule.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities offered here for a variety of different types of people. Anything from being a student member of the American Chemical Society to being part of the Judo club.

    Great for these types of students

    Union tends to attract lots of homeschoolers. This University also tends to attract the metrosexual hipster types of student. That being said, there are a lot of weird people who go here but there are also a lot of cool people to meet too. No matter who you are, you will fit in at Union.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is a good school but it is definitely not for someone who is looking for the full college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There really is not much to do for fun on Union's campus or in Jackson at all. Weekends consist of hanging out in dorm rooms or in the commons. There is also a restriction on when guys can go to girls rooms and vice versa. Union tries to put on events for the student body. But most of the venues are things that the majority of the campus does not show up for. Sports are not a huge deal here either.

    Food and Dining

    The dining on campus is not very good. Hardly anything at the Brewer Dining Hall is ever really good and its NEVER healthy for you. The Lex is not much better. It seems like they are always closed when you are hungry and its a rip off that you are paying $800/semester to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. I like that every person has their own room but shares a common living room, bathroom, and kitchen. The dorms are a great size and are really fun to live in during your Freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    Union is a MUCH harder school than I imagined it would be. There are no easy classes. Union has a 95-100 grading scale in most classes in order to get an A, which is no easy feat. I am a Cell Biology major and Union has a difficult science curriculum!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join Greek life! It is a great way to network and form friendships which will last a lifetime. It makes the college experience so much more than just academics.

    In three sentences

    Union is an Christ-centered, academically rigorous program which will prepare you for the real world after college.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, they are on the job 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    A student who wants to learn in a Christian atmosphere without all the headaches of the outside world.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay form.

    What to do for fun

    I like to come home and spend at least an hour with my animals and my family, have dinner and then go back to hitting the books.

    Food and Dining

    Can't comment on this as I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    Can't comment on this as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very extensive, but what is needed in order to perform the career each of us has chosen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in prepared to work hard and learn. If you don't, it's your own fault.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful campus that shares the joy of Christian ethics as well as academics. A very enjoyable experience. An excellent academic program.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security cars that have stripes on them so they look like cop cars. Union is very safe and has a pretty environment.

    Greek Life

    Zeta Kappa delta Chi-Omega Lamba-Chi Alpha ATO SAE

    Clubs and Activities

    Psychology club

    Great for these types of students

    Union is a good school for ard working, ambitious, smart, fun, outgoing, different, and talented students. It is a great school for anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Couples only go to wal-mart together. Chapel is on every Wed. and Fri mornings. No PDA.

    Bang for the buck

    During finals week, Unin provides FREE food for you!

    What to do for fun

    The is movies on the lawn when the weather is pretty out. There is a gym, pool, and courts to hang out at. The coffee shop also host open mic nights.

    Food and Dining

    The Lex has Chick-Fila on certain days. the Lex is yummy! Our coffee shop is delicious. If you bring your own cup the coffee is really cheap!

    Dorm Life

    I like how every one has their own small bedroom. You do not share one big room like most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    very high

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear rain boots on rainy days, or your feet will be soaked! Do not skip classes, because sometime teachers take pop roll-call. do your best and you will do great at Union! :)

    In three sentences

    Union University is a great and challenging school to attend. I have grown as an individual, spiritually, and mentally. Union is a top school and will push you to succeed.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love the safety and security guards! They are really dedicated to making sure we're safe.

    Greek Life

    There is definitely a sect of campus that is Greek, but it's definitely not as segregated as other schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good number of clubs, but the clubs appeal mostly to the sorority side of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Intellectuals, Sorority-girls, and those who might not fit anywhere else are welcome at Union University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the Circle is a fountain with a circular area around it; a great meeting place, as well as the U which is a hedge in the shape of a U.

    Bang for the buck

    It has gone up in tuition recently, but for the education you're getting, it's pretty much worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports games to attend, there are always concerts going on at Barefoot's Joe coffee shop, and West Tennessee is full of things to do outdoors, so there's plenty to do!

    Food and Dining

    It could definitely use more variety, but it is definitely better than any high school cafeteria I've ever seen.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fantastic! You are able to keep your own privacy, but grow healthy relationships with your room and dorm mates.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a great challenge and definitely a place dedicated to academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait till your second year before you rush. The first few weeks, you are trying to make friends, get accustomed to living away from home, and it simply creates more stress, going to parties where you know everyone is watching your every move. I would say wait to see what each sorority or fraternity is really like.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a place dedicated to critical thinking and academic success. It also, however, fosters a love for Christ and a spiritual desire to grow after college. I would definitely recommend this school to others coming here.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is available 24/hrs a day, 7 days a week. If you ever have a problem, you can call them on your cell and they will always answer. If they miss your call due to being on the other line, they will always call you back immediately. This is very reassuring for students and parents! Another great feature about campus safety is that all of the entrance gates on campus are closed after a certain time every night. One entrance remains open at this time and is guarded by security who ensures that each car entering is permissible.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and fraternities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Union University is expensive to attend as it is a private college, however, there are many scholarship opportunities available to help fund your education.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining available is adequate. Meal plans are designed to make it easy on the student and the parents. There is a cafeteria available that has several different cafe type set-ups so you get a wide variety of options. They also have a grille area, made fresh to order, where you can get diner-style food if that's your preference.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms at Union so I cannot share my personal thoughts and experiences. I have heard nothing but great things, however.

    Academic Rigor

    Union University is not a school for the student who is not serious about his or her education. I am in the Nursing program and it is a very taxing yet rewarding experience. The faculty expects a lot from you but only because they believe in your success that much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting with faculty members and staff in your desired program is most helpful! The staff is very knowledgable and can help direct you in your path to success.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a private, Christian college with an amazing staff and faculty! They truly value you as a student and are always supportive in helping you attain your education goals. The resources available to students are endless and I am confident in knowing that I am getting the best education available.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. There is constant security, and if you have to be out late at night and you feel uncomfortable, you can call security and even be escorted if you'd like.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs and activities to be involved in! There will be something for every personality!

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students; nursing majors; music majors

    What to do for fun

    You have to look around to find things to do on weekends and such if you aren't involved in things like Greek life. However, there are things to do in Jackson, and when you find them and go out with your friends, it is a lot of fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend Union to any student. It is a wonderful Christian school. It is fairly expensive, but the learning experience is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Union is a fantastic school with a wonderful faculty and staff. The students show their interest in learning and really enjoy being involved. Professors make it a priority to connect with each student as best as they can.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I might attend this collage I am touring the campus tomorrow. I don't know if they have my intended major here. I am wanting to go to a collage that has a christian background so this could be the school for me.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. The Safety and Security team patrols at all hours. If you feel uncomfortable walking back to your dorm alone at night, just give them a call and they will escort you back. The phone number is posted all around, and students are encouraged to save the number.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in Greek life, but some of my friends are. They stay very active and have lots of fun doing stuff all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have a job and usually a lot of homework, so i do not have the time to get involved in a club. However, Union does have many to offer. We even have a Judo club that some of my friends are in, and they love it! Union also does many intermural sprorts that are a blast! Anyone can play in them for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type really. But I've noticed a good deal of trendy people. We have a coffee shop on campus similar to starbucks where evryone likes to hang out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone sems to have their own peculiar coffee cup on campus. I even have one. It's pretty fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but it is most definitely worth the cost. Scholarships are very helpful. I would not choose to go anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has two different commons buildings with games, quiet rooms, movie rooms, and all sorts of things to do. We also have committees that plan amazing student activites. For example, we have a night of progressive snacking where all of the RA's made snacks to give out to all the students who visited. There is always something fun happening on campus. Plus, Jackson is a fairly large city with plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not always spectacular, but it is edible! And the kitcken staff are wonderful people and I love going there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Union are wonderful! They each have a living room, kitchen, bathroom, and four separate bedrooms. You do not have to share a bedroom with someone.. And if they are driving you crazy, you can simply shut your door. It's very convenient if you have a big assignment to work on.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty tough. But I now feel so much more prepared for whatever lies ahead. I feel I have gained knowledge that will help me in my profession as well as my everyday life. I can feel confident in an intelligent conversation. Also, Union is a liberal arts school, meaning that you will be well-rounded in your education upon graduating. This is not to waste your time, but rather to help you in all areas of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    The cost is overwhelming, but don't give up! Union wants you to be there and they will help out as much as they can. The cost is worth the experience to go there.

    In three sentences

    Union is a wonderful school filled with wonderful people. I am so blessed to be able to attend Union. I did not want to go anywhere else!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety and Security on campus is one of the best. They patrol 24 hours of the day to make sure the students are staying safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on-campus opportunities for students to participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not overwhelm your self by taking too many classes at one time. Take a few hours above the minimum for full-time students so you can be assured that you will pass and gain those credits.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that has a great Christian environment. The student to teacher ratio is low so you can get more one-on-one time with your teacher. It is overall a great place to attend.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life at Union is wonderful! Greek like makes up about 25% of the students. There are 3 girl sororities, Chi Omega, Zeta Tau Alpha and Kappa Delta, The 3 boys fraternities are Alpha Tau Omega, Lambda Chi Alpha and Sigma Alpha Elipson. Those involved in greek life are also involved in almost every area of campus life.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, Jackson, TN is not top on the list of places with exciting things to do. We DO have more restaurants per square capita than any other city in the state of TN, though! You will never run out of places to eat. There are also a number of wonderful churches in the area to go on Sunday mornings and Wednesday nights. There are several movie theatres, parks, as well as many ways to get involved in the community.

    Food and Dining

    Like all college dining, the dining at Union is definitely not moms cooking. Considering that it is indeed college dining, I would say the food is pretty decent. There are adequate amounts of food choices, so almost everyone is satisfied in one way or the other.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful! Even as freshmen you have apartment style dorms, so you have the space you need and the ability to shut your door when needed. There is also such an incredible sense of community in all of the dorms. They really become your family.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Union is by far the hardest I have ever seen. At the same time, it is so rewarding to know you are actually working for your degree, and not just being handed a degree. It is so fulfilling to actually put forth the effort needed to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to come in on the first day and automatically be an A+ student. If you want great grades, you've really got to work for them. Take advantage of the faculty and staff available to you. They really do want to see you succeed and want to help you in any way possible. They can be a great help. And always remember: Study groups are your friend.

    In three sentences

    Union is a very intense but rewarding university. You really get out of it what you put into it. The staff and faculty really encourage you to aspire to be the best you can be.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My parents and I both feel very safe on Union's campus. There is a guard at the entrance and there are guards available to walk with you on campus at night if you desire. My key unlocks/locks the main door into my dorm and then my individual room door also locks with a key.

    Greek Life

    There are several very good sororities and fraternities available at Union. Many students participate in these groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to be a part of. There are clubs and activities to mentally, physically, and spiritually challenge you.

    Great for these types of students

    The students at Union are diverse and represent many different countries and cultures. I feel all students are welcomed and feel a part of the family at Union.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Union has a Remembrance Day for the community in which all students participate in some kind of hands-on mission work. We love our new Coffee House. Our student activities building is state of the art with TV rooms, computer rooms, hang-out places, and gym.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I will be very prepared by Union for my job and future success. The cost is high up front but I believe it will pay itself back. The excellent dorms are worth every penny. The attention and time each student receives from the professors is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Union provides outside movies, coffee house fun, All-Sing, sororities/fraternities and different activities in the activity building. We have our sporting events, music events, speakers, services, and many other events going on all the time. There is always something to entertain us.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better.and it has gotten better this year and I feel they will make some more improvements in this area. Union has state of the art gas grills for student use available. There is a good variety of off campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are like an apartment, each student having their own private room, shared den space, shared bathroom, kitchen, and washer/dryer. The dorms are new, furnished, beautiful, and have a safe room for weather. We make them look cute and homey with our decor.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Union is strong and you do have to study and apply yourself. Tutors are provided in every area of study if help is needed. The professors are going to expect you to study hard, but they are there for support and help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Union expecting to work hard, play much, and learn real life lessons. You will feel cared for by the professors and treated as an individual not a number. The campus is cozy.

    In three sentences

    Union is helping me become the person I want to be mentally, physically, and spiritually. The professors at Union care about you as a person and strive to help you become strong and prepare you in your field of choice. Union provides me a home away from home feeling and the students feel like a family.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. its hard for people to get on campus if they are not supposed to be there. Safety & Security cars are alway, at all times, riding around keeping an eye out on things.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun !

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, hardworking, active, and Christian.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The art department has unusual things going on, but its pretty funny and cool though!

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money's worth. After all it is a Liberal Arts school.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do. You just have to find your niche!

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok... but there is a lot of off campus dining options. not too far also. walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Best dorm living! All apartment style dorms. It is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but with hard work being successful is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. Also make sure you definitely afford to come here.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a great school. It is very challenging academically. I would highly recommend this school to others.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a Frisbee golf course on campus that is a lot of fun to do with friends. I go hiking at the local state park and see movies at the theater down the road

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus and have no need to eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so do not have any idea about life in the dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the tuition cost and just know that you can ask anyone anything and they can either help you, or send you to someone who can.

    In three sentences

    Union is a great university. The staff and teachers are there to help you with any questions you have. The tutoring system is by far the best I have seen anywhere

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and security not only patrols throughout campus 24/7, but they are genuinely concerned for your safety and activities. They are friends and familiar faces to everyone on campus.

    Greek Life

    Three sororities and three fraternities. About 25% of the campus is involved in greek life. A great way to meet others and get involved on and off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over sixty organizations on campus, and if Union doesn't have a club for your interest, all you have to do is pass it by the registrar's office and soon there will be one!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a place which will challenged them in every area of academics, faith and community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, these aren't technically school activities, but you really can't graduate from Union until you camp out on several of the academic roofs. Or perhaps take a swim one of the fountains. Or hike through the woods. Or climb the campus trees. Or play frisbee in the quads. Or slide through the mudslides in the freshmen dorms during a lightning storm. Or take late night get-togethers in the downstairs neighbors' bathroom for tornado drills. Take your pick.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the pricetag may seem high, Union offers a high variety of scholarships and grants. In exchange, you are given an individual room, rigorous academics, a thriving community and thousands of other students who are studying for the same purpose as yourself!

    What to do for fun

    Jackson has just about every store and restaurant imaginable. Seriously. We are close enough to take trips easily to nashville for concerts or to memphis for the day. Union itself has over sixty organizations, as well as greek life. If you are like me, you will want to know that, yes, there is ultimate frisbee as often as you could like. Think of something that you enjoy, and Union will most likely not only have a club for you, but also many other people of similar interests.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide selection of foods throughout the day. We also have a sub and grill cafe which is open most of the day and later in the evening. If you don't feel like walking to the cafeteria, you can always cook for friends in your kitchen apartment!

    Dorm Life

    Get this, everyone has their own individual room! Freshmen dorms have apartments with a fully furnished living room, kitchen, bathroom and four bedrooms. Upperclassmen dorms have two bathrooms and a washer and drier. This setup makes it easy to study, sleep and eat one your own schedule, but is also easy to get to know those living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are looking for a place that will challenge and prepare you for your field of study, look at Union. Aside from the nationally acknowledged for excellence programs of study, Union gives one experience in the field while still at school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and make sure to visit. I loved everything I saw on the website, but I wasn't sold until I experienced the community and interacted with the people who would be my classmates, faculty and staff.

    In three sentences

    A community focused on integrating faith and learning in every aspect of life and academics. Nationally ranked for excellence and one of the best Christian schools in the United States. My experience has been more than I imagined in every way and I would recommend Union University to anyone searching for a place to grow individually and communally.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good on average, but somewhat hit or miss.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are amazing. Simply amazing. I have never seen another school with dorms as nice as these.

    Academic Rigor

    Union is an academically rigorous school, but also has a lot of academic support for students who need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out as much as you can about Union through visits, the website, talking to students, etc. There is so much that Union offers that you have to look around to see it all.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a wonderful school that you won't regret choosing. The academics are very high quality, and the professors are capable and caring. The community here is also very strong.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining halls are pretty good, for the most part. We have two dining halls: Brewer, which is more of a cafeteria and the Lexington Inn, which is more fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great- Apartment style with your own bedroom. However, the closed dorms-- Where opposite genders cannot come into each others dorms during the week, except the weekends for select hours. Otherwise, the dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are some of the best in their fields. They will challenge you, but they're willing to help and give you grace so long as you're actually doing your work. All of the professors I've had are super personable and are interested in you as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Three tips: -Find a good church in Jackson to get plugged into. -Don't be afraid to go and talk to people. We love to hang out and spend time with people (for the most part, every so often you get some crazy people in college) -Take advantage of the free tutoring, free food, discounts and everything else that Union life has to offer.

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing college with a loving, faith-based community, great teachers and God infused campus. I've been beyond blessed with my time here and so have most of the people I've spoken to. The only flaw I really feel like should effect your decision is the money-- It's not a cheap school.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is constantly .patrolling

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters Religious Fun

    What to do for fun

    Well, for fun, there's the commons that has video games, board games, TVs, movies, pool table, ping pong table, foozball table, etc. You can hang out with people in there. People have Nerf wars, go swimming. People go rollerblading, Sometimes the coffee-shop puts on an open-mic night or a concert.

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good. The upperclassmen say that it's better than it ever has been before, so that's great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent. The RAs are awesome, they are always there when you need them. And there are always activities going on that will help freshman meet other freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rough, but as long as you pay attention and actually do your work, it turns out alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for skateboards. Always do your work. Don't be afraid to use the Hundley Center. Even if you've never been in a play before, audition for one; they need you. Don't be shy, make new friends. Don't feel like you don't belong, because you what, everyone else feels like that.

    In three sentences

    Union is amazing. The professors are amazing, the campus is beautiful, and everyone is so Christ-centered. So many opportunities at Union.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Union has some of the best security I've heard of, and I have never heard of a crime being committed on their grounds.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricy, but for a private Christian university that boasts such strong academics and student life, it is definitely worth it. They also do their best to get students the money they need.

    What to do for fun

    Be involved in campus life. From movies on the lawn to Variety Show, Union has an active student body with many clubs and organizations to get involved with. The student body is closely connected, and this creates a unique environment for friendships that will last far after a student has gone.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest, the food is not great, but it is improving. The staff is really great, and they work hard with the ingredients they are given, but it is clear that Union doesn't spend as much on dining as their professors. It is bearable though, and it teaches students to learn to cook for themselves. It also is a strong encouragement to use the workout facilities on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, and each has a hand-picked RA who loves his building and provides many events to build community and comradery among the student body. The dorms are an apartment setup that has 4 private rooms connected to a living room, kitchen, and 2 bathrooms. These are some of the nicest dorms you'll find anywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    Union's first pillar is Excellence-Driven, and they maintain this pillar well with their high standard of scholarship. They provide rigorous courses and professors teach the students well to prepare them for future jobs. Many students complain of Union's high standards, but this is what helps students to become the best they can be in their field and be truly excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the school, especially the professors and staff members. The faculty and staff are very helpful and love their students, and you want to take advantage of their openness and willingness to help students. Take advantage of the many resources available to be involved in community on campus, as this is one of Union's strongest points. Work hard and show respect to your fellow classmates and professors, and you will do well.

    In three sentences

    Union University combines academic excellence and a christian worldview in a way that is unseen in colleges of its size. It maintains rigorous academics while fostering a strong sense of community among students. This school is an incredible place to study and grow as you prepare for your future.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security are awesome at Union. There is a 2 am curfew so they patrol the gate to check ID's. They drive around campus, especially at night, to make sure everything is safe and quiet.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 sororities and 2 fraternities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone has the possibility of enjoying Union, but there is a stronger presence of homeschoolers and missionary-kids than at state schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never call Brewer dining hall by its actual name. Everyone calls it Cobo.

    Bang for the buck

    While Union is pricey, students who take full advantage of the amenities they offer get their money's worth. Room and board is reasonable compared to state schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are probably over 50 places to eat withing a 3 miles radius of campus. There are several parks around town with hiking trials just a few miles outside the city. There is also plentiful shopping. Memphis is only 90 minutes away, so many students go there on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Union is a bit lacking in the food category. There are two places to eat in campus. Brewer Dining hall offers an all-you-can-eat style which typically is hit or miss on whether the selection is good. The other option is the Lex which is a diner style which burgers, salads etc. Union only has meal swipes, no dining dollars or anything like that. But the required meal plan is only 100 meals.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm has 4 private bedrooms, a full kitchen and a living room. Freshman dorm suites have 1 bathroom, upperclassman have 2 bathrooms per suite. Upperclassman dorms also have in-suite laundry. The Freshman dorms are designed to promote community.

    Academic Rigor

    It truly depends on one's major to determine the academic rigor. Science based majors will always be more rigorous than the humanities. Compared to other faith based learning institutions, Union only requires a few Christian Studies classes. They tend to mix faith and learning together in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be turned off by its small size; Union has much to offer. It may not have the largest campus or most impressive legacy but the students love it none the less. The class sizes are under 40 and professors can often be seen at the coffee shop mentoring students on future career plans.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a private, southern-baptist University located in the heart of Jackson, TN. While it is small (around 4,500 students), the community is truly amazing, the academics (especially the honors program) do an excellent job of preparing students and integrating faith with learning, and the housing options are just amazing. Jackson is a town of around 70,000 with lots to do in terms of shopping and restaurants.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it's safe.. They have safety alerts texting and they email you if any bad weather is forecasted. There are also guards so I guess its safe haha

    Greek Life

    Yes there is greek life but I dont know much about it except that they have dances and parties. If you like partying and dancing would recommend Greek life I guess because or else you are not allowed to dance on campus-kind of- because Union is a southern baptist university. But the Greek buildings are kind of off campus so your allowed to dance there lol Well the according to the greek ppl they focus more on studying and helping each other in their studies than partying so i guess that's how it is..

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of acitivities available especially if you are living on campus. As a freshman, there were lifegroups which were groups with upperclassmen leaders who helped freshmen make new friends through activities and meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to integrate faith into learning, don't mind chapels, like intimate professor to student teaching/relationships, prefer small schools, prefer rural over urban environment, want to have a private bedroom, don't mind the rain and wind, don't mind a small international student population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Union Cup which is a competition amongst all the Union dorm buildings. Each dorm building competes with all others. We compete by playing games and the final winner gets a prize.

    Bang for the buck

    Union is pretty expensive but there are also a few perks for going to a private institution like getting free stuff and going to events for free and getting free food.. But it's still kinda very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I don't have a car so dunno that much but it's not a big city so my friends and I would go to cities like Memphis or Nashville for shopping. I think my friends usually just go to each others dorms, the college cafe, or go to the student residence buildings to hang out- you can play pool, cookout, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Eh.... Not too great. It is about 800 dollars per semester for 100 swipes which means you can eat about once everyday. It is buffet style but I find that the food is sometimes very unhealthy with too much oil. There is a salad bar but sometimes the food (especially the lettuce) is not very fresh... Not the best cafeteria I've seen.

    Dorm Life

    I think the dorms here are the best aspects of Union. They have apartment style dorms each with 4 private bedrooms- which means you don't have share your room! ;) You share the living rooms, bathroom, and kitchen with 3 others but that's not bad. It's better than sharing public bathrooms and having no kitchen at all. The residence life is pretty great with lots of activities to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Might be because I am yet a Freshman, I found the classes pretty easy and most of the tests were easier than my high school tests. This may vary depending on the person, like how rigorous your high school was or what major your taking. I'll have to see if Union will become more challenging for me in the future, but for now I easily completed 16 credits with a 4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a university where you can build relationships with caring professors in a warm and friendly Christian environment, then Union might be great for you. On the other hand, if you are a city person, looking for a party school, a one that is big in sports, Union might not be for you. Personally, I really miss the big cities I've always grown up in.

    In three sentences

    Union University is a 4 year liberal arts Christian institutions of higher learning. It has great faculty and staff who are committed to caring for their students. It is a relatively small private university located a city, but I would say it is much closer to a rural town.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Have some of the best dorms I have seen! There are huge!

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is constantly driving around campus, and are really friendly people. I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is the best thing that I have ever chosen to be a part of. I have gained so many friends from joining, not just from my sorority, but the others as well. I have also had many volunteering opportunities which allows me to give back to the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to get involved with on campus, but sometimes I don't feel that these opportunities are vocalized extremely well, so just make sure to look out for them.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is almost always decent, but I don't feel that the dining hall is always open at the most convenient times, which sometimes makes it hard to make time to eat dinner before it closes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are very nice. Each student has their own room in the apartment-style living. Having a kitchen is amazing and incredibly convenient. The only problem I ever have is that in the freshman dorms four people share one bathroom, which, for girls especially, is sometimes an issue. Other than that, I love the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are challenging, but manageable. The professors love to teach here and this is extremely evident in what is taught. They also are willing to help if necessary, and want to know each of their students by name. Because of the care that the professors express, learning is easier, even though the overall material is definitely challenging.

    In three sentences

    The campus as a whole is small, but an extremely friendly and happy place to be. I love that I can walk around campus and be able to know a lot of the people that I pass. I also love that this is a Christian campus, and nobody is afraid to vocalize that- teachers will often pray in class, which I think is great.