Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

United Tribes Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I like living in Bismarck it is fun and i meet new people every day. It is a great environment to live in.

    Am learning a lot

    We just started classes, so i'll find out if I am learning a lot some time in the future.

  • 12/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Native American, Non-Native with an open mind, those desiring to study hard, Family, Non-Traditional,

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get your housing requests in. You will need to remember the little things like vaccination records! Come prepared to meet amazing people and form bonds that will last for the rest of your life!

    Bang for the buck

    Tribes is affordable, friendly and success oriented. They have a whole team of Financial Aid folks, who are there to help you with essays, scholarships, applications, FAFSA, etc etc etc. It's not only affordable but they make it so easy for you to get funding that you are driven to do it.

    Did enjoy being here

    Tribes, is a short distance from a lot of amazing things that Bismarck, ND has to offer. It isn't just a school it's a community and family. I have to say that Tribes will forever be one of my favorite places to be!

    Did learn a lot

    I had an amazing opportunity to learn at UTTC. My instructors were well versed in the topics they were teaching, and were able to give me real world examples along with theory from my texts to support the lesson!

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorm, but i hear good things about it.

    Academic Rigor

    the education is good here, however, i would rate the administration (financial aid etc.) poorly. they are not helpful or friendly and i found i had to do a lot of paperwork by myself.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    njcaa for sports but not alot of other clubs

    Great for these types of students

    single parents or stundents with famlies

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the biggest pow-wows in the world is held at uttc.

    Bang for the buck

    the food isn't good and the dorm rules are stupid , but its a cheap 2year school and if you have kids its the perfect college for you.

    What to do for fun

    wellness is usually has something going on and movie passes are giving out plus bingo is fun at tribes.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not good this is the one places your going to dislike the most.

    Dorm Life

    the curfew rules are not fitting to adults in college

    Academic Rigor

    classes are easy and professors are very helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Network at tribes and a lot of good things will happen for you.

    In three sentences

    It was cheap tuition and small campus size. Class sizes were not large. The professors were very helpful and tried to help in anyway to get students to pass there classes.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    ..weightlifting

    Great for these types of students

    Native Americans,

    Bang for the buck

    700. meal plan, 350. rent a dorm 150 parking fee (even if you dont own a vehicle)

    What to do for fun

    a lot of gym activities. volleyball, baseball, basketball. the school takes the student bowling and to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    may 12, 2012, hte meatloaf was literally, uncooked. the dorm supervisor ordered pizza, thankfully

    Dorm Life

    12 o clock curfew, which they are deciding whether to change it to 9 pm. visiting hours from 4pm to 11pm. we are adults, we dont need curfews.

    Tips for prospective students

    weigh your options

    In three sentences

    UTTC is a great school for single parents or families. UTTC needs to adjust the food facilities, $700 for the meal plan, and 6 out of 10 times ive come out sick. Ive had a teacher lose my papers three semesters in a row. which is the main reason my GPA dropped.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend all the free time I can with my children. We love outdoor activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions. Never take no for answer. This is your education and your money that you are spending on your education stop at nothing to make sure your experience and success is priority.

    In three sentences

    I believe my experience so far has been abrupt and not as smooth as I wold have hoped. But I am just glad to be here. I do believe the communication among the faculty and advisors to students doesnt need immediate attention. Had I not attended college before I would not have known half of what i needed to know to get my financial aide and other things done. Facultys poor communication with each other and their students puts the student in a very ackward position and at times a very discouraging position. I do hope this changes for the benefit of future students and their future.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a very high priority at United Tribes. They want to keep their students and residents safe while at the same time making them feel safe. Security is constantly seen throughout campus and they will not tolerate any misbehavior from anyone. The campus is drug and alcohol free so there is no need to worry about substance abuse. The people at security do their jobs well and effectively and there is rarely any trouble seen or heard on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do when students are not in class and a wide area of this is seen in the clubs. From Zumba to class study groups if a student is looking for a good time they need only check the announcements. Every day there is always a fun club or activity to join and the best part is if it is located on campus then it will not cost anything. This is a great way to relax after a day full of classes and talk with friends or family. It will also take your mind away from anything that is bothering you or on your mind.

    Great for these types of students

    United Tribes is perfect for any type of student, they do not look down upon others and they do not view themselves as being better than anyone else. For the student that enjoys walking and being outside there cannot be any place better for them to attend school. As the campus is rather large and spacious a student may walk back and forth between their class destinations and even if they did not have to walk far most of the buildings have stairs to climb. Tribes is also great for those students that are looking for a home feel to their school. When students are not in class one can almost forget that he or she is in a college setting, as it seems more like a small town than a campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some people who are not used to the Native American tradition will be awe struck when they witness their first Powwow. It takes place about two weeks after school begins and is a celebration for the entire campus. The inner circle used in the Powwow is set up year round as a symbol of their beliefs and to serve as a reminder of the hardships the Native Americans endured to all students. The campus itself is very spaced out and is not only a campus to the college students but to all families that live in United Tribes. Regular houses and families reside inside the campus and not all students attend school there. This is yet another factor that expresses how United Tribes acts as a community.

    Bang for the buck

    What makes United Tribes an exceptional choice to further one's education is the cost. Unlike most colleges that offer tuition at $30,000 or $40,000 a semester United Tribes will generally ask for only $10,000 per semester. This will include cost for credits, tuition, other fees such as food cost, housing, board, books, personal expenses, transportation for those living off campus, and finally cost of attendance. This may seem like a lot to pay for but most of the things only cost between 300 and 700 dollars. Plus as an added bonus United Tribes requires all of their students to apply for the FAFSA program. This gives up to a $5,000 grant plus loan options so no student will be left behind with a large bill. There was a student that attended class and graduated not owing the school a single dime because she was granted grants and scholarships and did not have to take out a single loan so it is possible to never have debts caused by college.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great deal of activities and places to go to relax and have fun around campus. One of the more popular areas to relax is the sauna and exercise room. If you ask most of the instructors around Tribes they will tell you that they are spoiled with the amount of equipment they have received. There are not many colleges that come to mind when one asks if they have an actual sauna and whirlpool. United Tribes has also recently gained exercise bikes for the students that could not exercise efficiently in the winter months. Aside from exercising there are also dance activities and the library where there are books to read for fun and computer access.

    Food and Dining

    Other than the hard classes the other thing college students complain about is the lack of variety in their food. United Tribes wipes clean the slate of poor food choices for students. They serve a variety of foods each day and the cost is very little in account to the service and quality of food. They do serve food that every college student craves, such as pizza, hamburgers, and chicken but they also serve more healthy food choices and encourage students to eat healthier.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Tribes is much like every other college, sometimes a student wants to sleep until noon and forget about their morning classes or they think they can do anything they want when ever they want because they are adults now. The one thing seen most in the dorms is fun, which is not uncommon for a college but it would seem strange to see how much fun the students' have. The males are separate from the females but it is not forbidden for a male student to visit a female student in her dorm. The dorms are home for many students, their rooms are hidden sanctuaries that they use to escape the hardships of being away from home, and throughout every room laughter is the tool for making their days seem not so tough.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students complain the first few months they are at college because it is so different from high school. The courses are not very hard at United Tribes but they are meant to challenge each student to an extent, all college classes are. If classes were impossible to complete then there would be no point in taking them if every one would fail the course, however the same could be said if every one could pass with an A+.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing that almost every college student has is fear, whether it is fear of leaving home or just that he or she thinks they might not make that next test. United Tribes will help any student in the best way that they can, but they will not hold your hand for everything. The best way to describe how Tribes helps you is like a family, they will push you to your limit and sometimes over the limit but they do it because they care about their students' success. That is the one thing that is missing from most colleges is that they treat their students as students, not as family like United Tribes does.

    In three sentences

    United Tribes Technical College has one of the friendliest environments any college student would ask for. They focus on a student's will to earn their education and they work together as a community. United Tribes is not just an environment for Native American students but all students that want a better future for themselves and family.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student Nurses Assoication

    What to do for fun

    I am a single mother, so taking my one year old son out side for walks, taking him to the park are always fun for the both of us.

    Food and Dining

    United Tribes Technical College has an excellent dinning services with a variety of nutritious foods great for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is pursing excellence in everyday learning experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe that United Tribes Technical College is a college for anyone. The key thing I love is the on-campus daycare.

    In three sentences

    United Tribes Technical College is a great school. It has many opportunities for everyone. The instructors believe in you and will do whatever it takes to see you succeed.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security

    Clubs and Activities

    Student senate, other groups

    Great for these types of students

    Native Americans,and any other who would like to come here

    Bang for the buck

    Good experience, to better one's life

    What to do for fun

    Basketball, pool, swiming, movies, bowling

    Food and Dining

    Food is good some traditional, need more traditional foods

    Dorm Life

    Not enough going on, to stay on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned alot about Automobile in this first semester, and want to continue my education

    Tips for prospective students

    Do more research on what you want, to accomplish in your life, it's well worth the time

    In three sentences

    I have really learned alot this freshmen semester, and continue to feel, more confident about how i took steps to change my life for the best. It's a very good life lesson.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, Outdoor activities, Community events, Shopping Malls, Movie Theaters

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus here offers a wide variety of choices to those that purchase a meal plan with their tuition.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a family unit with my wife and 2 sons on campus and the home is very nice and adequitly fits our needs for housing!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here are very in depth and give you a broad spectrum of the field you are studying!

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for class and do your homework, ask questions and everything else should just fall into place!

    In three sentences

    The training here at United Tribes Technical College is top notch. The instructors here are genuinely invested in your success. I would highly recommend this school to anyone interested in attending a vocational school with tribal affiliation!

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    frisbee golf, open gym, transports to the mall, intramurals sports, clubs, and traditional games

    In three sentences

    its campus environment is amazing, its very friendly and cultural. its beautiful and quiet different from where am i'm from and the classes are great. untied tribes has a lot to offer any future student that is looking to go far in their lives.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No alcohol or drugs on campus! Thank Goodness!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of Prayer during certain events because of the main culture as native american students.

    Bang for the buck

    What in the world does this mean?

    What to do for fun

    Bike trails, Basketball courts, Family parks, the Zoo, Golfing, Civic Center Events. Lots of things to do in this City.

    Food and Dining

    3 meals a day does not cut it. So I suggest you get a job!

    Dorm Life

    Its fun and exciting, but dont get caught up in the negative things.

    Academic Rigor

    Be there at class and ready to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to be involved as a student successor from your community. Be understanding in learning and accepting the diversity of people. Work hard in your studies and you will Succeed!

    In three sentences

    Untied Tribes Tech. College is a excellent college which encourages success. Also it is a community based college to help each other to work and succed without being left behind. United Tribes is a TEN on my scale!

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on watch 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    FANS Club Professional development days.

    Great for these types of students

    all different cultures are put into one at this school

    What to do for fun

    I like to do at home activities with my daughters such as coloring, taking a stroll, playing learning games with them, and enjoy watching them grow.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate at the cafeteria, but i heard it is some very good food and nice staff

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Very great academic programs and very welcoming

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in school and keep up with good attendance. Follow up with classes if you miss. Do homework and hand in on-time.

    In three sentences

    United Tribes is a great college to attend, you can get along well with faculty and all classmates. In individual vocations you feel as if that is your family. Its a fun, loving, patient, considerable college

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1st year 1st generation Single parents like I am Don't wanna go far from home Basketball

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a traditional powwow at the college once a year in September. It's one of the largest ones in North Dakota. It's fun .

    What to do for fun

    Alot of clubs and the students are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check for deadlines.

    In three sentences

    I really like my school, my mom actually went to college here. The environment is very peaceful. My teachers are awesome and help alot.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not that bad but could do better.

    Dorm Life

    Not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Not that bad.

    In three sentences

    The Professor and the faculty are pretty helpful.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The schools campus is set up on an old historical site. There are many old building that were use in the time of war on campus. They have been maintained and are used as offices and some as classrooms and dorms. its a beautiful setting.

    What to do for fun

    The city has lots of entertainment for everybody, depending on what you like. The school also has activities for people to do and also takes student to do different things within the city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is open on campus 7 days a week for kids that live in the dorms. It is about a mile or two out of Bismarck, ND but transportation is offered through the school and they will take you anywhere you need to go. There are many delicious eating and dining establishment within our city.

    Dorm Life

    I have a family so I do not live in the dorms. I do live on campus and enjoy it here. It is small but friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    I for one, think this is a tough college. The classes are small, so its good one on one time and the staff is very helpful in whatever you may need. I have learned many things within my major in just the few weeks I have been here, but you have to be here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about going to school, go to class everyday. Ask for help, whenever or whatever you may need. Do your best and don't give up!

    In three sentences

    United Tribes is a small college with many degrees to choose from. It is a small college so everybody knows everybody. They are very helpful and concerned about you staying in college and finishing with a degree.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is pretty strict about anything. Safety is a big issue here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of acivites on this campus most times. Ckubs im not to sure of. I know for a fact there is a Automovtive Club which I'm apart of. We got voted for most active on campus so that pretty much sums it up.

    Great for these types of students

    any student who wants to start small who are not sure if they want to go to a bigger college. ethnicicty don't matter here theres all types of people out here you wouldn't expect. if you like teachers taking a interest in you succeeding in your major or career this is a place to look into.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are an Native American Technical College so thats pretty unusual if you catch my drift. people fromm all over come here and experience what Natives are like or the culture we put out there. Our traditions may or may not be the same. Im not the one to judge, but its pretty legit

    Bang for the buck

    This school is intersted in the students they care like your family. They take care of you when you fall down or just can't take it anymore, The school has a good atomosphere to grow as a person. The people that work here are really helpful in anything your interested in.

    What to do for fun

    Go to activities around campus. Some people hold gaming nights so thats always fun.

    Food and Dining

    somewhat okay. its college what do you expect? it takes some time getting useful. its not no fine dining what you get is what you get.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. if you want alone time its best to do the girls/boys dorms if not uou have the co-ed dorms

    Academic Rigor

    its only hard if you make it. Were all diffrent individuals here and we got our own expectatons of ourselves. So that being said do what you have top do to stay positive on all levels. Just be prepared for anything because you never know what could come your way

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be prepared for anything. Attendance matters here so you got to be serious if you want to pass.

    In three sentences

    it's a good school to start out small and build your self up to what you want to be.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an excellent campus Security team on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The college always has stuff for the kids and adults to do on the weekends, like swimming or bowling, just different things.

    Food and Dining

    I have to pay for my meals so I don't really eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about the dorm life, I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I like my advisor and think she is very knowledgeable and helpful for obtaining my degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the website if they have questions or like United Tribes on facebook. If they have questions they can answer questions that way.

    In three sentences

    I like going to United Tribes because I feel more comfortable going to school with my own Native American people. I feel as a person I can be myself because as a Native American we live differently and only other Native American's understand why we are like we are or why we do the things we do, I also like that they try and help the college students if they can.