Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Unity College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/05/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly driven to succeed at the college level, interested in environmental issues, passionate about environmental studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stand out on your application. Even if your GPA is high, this school is looking for more than just a butt in a chair. And if your GPA is not so high, don't worry about it! If you're passionate enough about what you want, Unity College will take you in.

  • 10/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People interested in the well being of our environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy or seclude yourself from activities. Unity College has what is called the Deans Cup Competitions. Residence halls compete against each other in fun activities including softball, hall decorations, potato sack races, and much more. It's a really fun place to be, and a great place to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Unity is an expensive school, but it's worth it. With it's small class sizes you have a more personal relationship with your professors and the ability for field work. The marine biology majors go on whale watches, the con law students have to find their way off of a mountain, the wildlife biology students go to moose check stations, and much more. You get a lot of experience as well as an amazing education

    Am enjoying being here

    Unity is a very welcoming community and is accepting of people's differences. It has become a second family and a huge influence on my train of thought. I am more appreciative of the people in my life, and the beauty of nature.

    Am learning a lot

    Unity College is hands on learning based. They put you out in your field of study and relate all subjects to the environment.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that loves the outdoor and wants a career outside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and try and get an interview if you can, visit if you can, and make sure that you can handle being at a smalll school. Unity College only has around 500 students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a little on the high side along with room and board, though compaired to other private colleges in Maine it still isn't bad.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't mind the cold, being away from your hometown and family, and love having everyone (including teachers) know you by your first name. Also, if you are passionate about the environment and want to do something to change it, Unity College will be perfect for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be unique. Definitely build up your resume, because on the regular online application process, there is only so much you can fit. But if you do a resume, you can really express you as a person. Don't forget to describe yourself and what you do in your free time as well as volunteer experience because it will definitely help in the long run!

    Bang for the buck

    Living in New Jersey, I do not think Unity's tuition is that high, but you will definitely love it here. Everyone is very chill and relaxed and there are many times where you will be outside conducting work studies and learning things you just wouldn't if you were in a classroom reading from a textbook.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I visited, I loved it from the instant I drove into Maine. I went in March, so there was still snow on the ground and I had to wear a snow jacket, but it was worth it. Unity College really cares about you as an individual and realizes that not everyone will go home for the weekend, so there is plenty to do here. With over fifty clubs and intramural sports to choose from, there will never be an instant where you'll be bored. And with the snow, snowman contests and snowball fights are always in effect! :)

    Will learn a lot

    Being in a rural area and at an environmental college, OBVIOUSLY you'll learn a lot. Some classes are held outside and the nearby woods offer a great place to learn more about your given major.

  • 03/05/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    environmentalists!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit and spend some time to get a feel for the area before you commit to it.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is really high compared to bigger universities, but it's a really unique school. So if you find you love it, go for it!

    Did enjoy being here

    If you're into a small, rural community, this is it. If you're looking for a crazy big college experience, probably not so much.

    Did learn a lot

    The curriculum is really centered around the environment, and the environment only. If you're an environmentalist--this is the place for you! It's definitely hands-on and outdoors. You'll either love it or hate it, but either way you'll get down and dirt in some fashion!

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love the outdoors, want nature to be your biggest teacher, don't mind the cold, and want to make history in the environmental world, this is the college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself, you will find friends and have loads of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I will admit that it is expensive; however, it offers lots of hands on experience. How many other colleges have labs that include handling animals, training them at the animal shelter, learning first aid, rock climbing, ropes courses, camping, farming, building and Lot's more. If you want to do more than learn, Unity is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. Most of the classes are outside at some point, there is ALWAYS something to do on a Friday night, and It's small, so everyone knows everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much about animals, which I'm Specializing in, that it's crazy. Go ahead, I dare you ask me a question. It helps that the teachers have all had careers putting the subject that they teach into practice. This helps us want to learn because they can relate it to real life.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good at Unity College. You can always find them driving around in their metallic powder blue minivans. They love to get to know the students, and they do their job well. Unity College has an extremely minuet crime rate, so when campus safety does have a crime related situation they are able to do their job well and take the time they need in order to make sure that the problem is solved. They also do nightly rounds around campus and inside the dorm buildings along with the RA's to make sure that everyone is safe and secure. Campus safety gives free parking passes to the students, and allows up to two visitors at a time for each student.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, Unity College does not have any sort of Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a wide range of clubs and activities! This includes clubs such as the Marine Biology Club, the Ultimate Frisbee, Primitive Skills, Archery, Herpetology, Beekeeping, Choir, Ice Hockey, Drama, Outdoor Leadership, Search and Rescue, Outing club, Trail Crew, Sugar makers, Wildlife Care and Education, Woodsmen team, FFA, Conservation Law Enforcement (Con Law), Service Squad, Art, Martial Arts, American Sign Language, Curling, Wildlife Society, Earth and Environmental Science, Role Play, and much more! Students are encouraged to create their own clubs in addition to the numerous clubs offered!

    Great for these types of students

    Unity is great for people who are both loud and quiet. It's for the people who love nature, animals, guns, archery, waterfowl, primitive skills, the ocean, the woods, rock climbing, skiing, snowboarding, and many more. This college is great for those who do not enjoy large schools (Unity College has 500 students) but want a small, tight knit community instead. This is a great school for students who want to become involved in spreading awareness about anything such as global climate change, and genetically modified foods or volunteering at countless places such as the Loki Wolf Refuge, Waterville's Humane Society, or the Avian Haven Rehab Center-just to name a few! It is also great for the students who want to learn how to grown their own crops, medicinal herbs, and livestock. If you want one on one time with your professors on a first name basis, small classroom settings, hands on experiences, the taste of different cultures, and to create a great name for yourself with a complete resume, as well as multiple careers already lined up for you when you graduate. This is the right college for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school is definitely unique compared to most colleges. Some of our traditions include the Polar Bear Run, The Swedish bobsled team which includes a group of crazy goofballs that run around sledding in ridiculous swim wear on every snow day collecting men from each of the dorms and speaking in Swedish accents. Another tradition would include the Hunters & Huggers dinner where we gather together with students and professors to eat locally grown fruits, vegetables, turkeys, lobster, lamb, and veil. We also have our annual Formal Flannel Dance! This is where the men and women get to choose whether they would rather wear a formal outfit to the dance, or their best flannel, jeans, and boots! An unusual location on campus would be our very own Unity Rocks, which is a mini remake of the Stonehenge, surrounded by blueberry bushes, we also have Terra haus which is our very own sustainable dorm building that houses 8 students with a complete kitchen, our shed that houses chickens, and more to come future livestock, as well as a complete archery range, and the Woodsmen Field, used for timber sports!

    Bang for the buck

    Aside from the numerous free activities I listed in our what to do for fun category, our school offers all Microsoft word programs for a $15 steal. The school's student activities and the Outdoor Adventure Center (OAC) provide trips to places like Bar Harbor, Portland, Acadia, a weekend cottage getaway to Cutler Coast and many more are free! The school offers many chances for each student to gain a taste of the different beautiful places that the state of Maine has to offer. In addition to this, the clubs also offer free trips as well! If students cannot afford items like a sleeping bag, a life jacket, a kayak, a canoe, a hiking backpack, or any other camping item, our OAC is able to supply you with these materials for as long as you need! Our library is also able to supply you with any sort of video making equipment necessary for a certain amount of time as well! Our science building is also willing to give any materials needed for a project, such as vials, alcohol, microorganisms, pipettes, and whatever else you may need. In addition to these, our SAC and local restaurants such as Unity's House of Pizza (free delivery), The Purple Cow, the Amish Bakery, and Spanky's Pizza offer a delicious decently sized portion of food for a decent price!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of fun things to do for fun on campus is an understatement. Our school is constantly offering fun activities to do for fun! Every Wednesday we have a coffee house that offers free coffee and tea, and a local band or musician to come play in our Students Activities Center (the SAC). In the SAC alone, we have pool, darts, TVs, couches, food, board games, and a liquor license. On Thursday our school offers a DIY craft that you can come down and make for free! We also have themed dances, karaoke, talent shows, free movies at our local theater, Ultimate Frisbee, soccer, ice hockey, basketball, volleyball, yoga, hiking trails, ice fishing, kayaking, sailing, we have a bonfire pit on campus that anyone can start up as long as they have permission from campus safety, we have rock climbing in the gym on our rock wall, yoga, girls night at the wellness center, clubs, sports, and much, much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Unity College is fair. At times students can find the food to be very starchy, filled with carbs, and greasy, but there are ways around it. For example, we have a stir-fry station, a sandwich station, a salad station, and an around the world station that has food from Mexican, to Chinese, to Thai, and Indian, depending on what day it is. Students look forward to our annual Thursday-grill cheese day! And our once a month holiday meals that are DELICIOUS! We do our best to make sure our food is all from local farmers and organically fresh-like our milk! Our cafeteria is small but very inviting. It offers warm colors, large tables, and large private booths. It even has a great selection of music that plays, and a beautiful glass sunroom!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Unity College is fantastic! I personally transferred from a previous school before I came to Unity that was disgusting! I can guarantee to anyone that this school has one of the cleanest dorm buildings I have ever seen. Dorm bedrooms are decently sized, with large spacious windows that over look vivid sunsets and sunrises depending on what size of the building you live on. You are allowed to paint the rooms, add shelves, or add whatever addition you would like to the room as long as the Director of Residence Life approves it first! Fish are allowed, and for those who are 21 & over, all dorms except one (Woodhall) allow alcohol in the room. Most buildings come with a large common room that you are allowed to decorate. They have couches, tables, foosball/air hockey, organic vending machines, a microwave, a convection oven, a sink, and a flat screen TV. The only complaints I have would be that the Resident Advisor take hall sports, and loud music pretty seriously. Another complaint about the building physically would be that the drafts from the windows can be very strong when the wind blows. Also you have to pay for laundry, and the walls are pretty thin. But other than that, dorm life here is not some thing to complain about!

    Academic Rigor

    Truthfully, the academic rigor for Unity College is challenging. Professors have high expectations for their students, and want the best knowledge and education for them. This includes a decent sized workload at times. Although this may become stressful, it teaches you time management, as well as helps you to gain the knowledge needed to outshine in your major. Our professors have several degrees from places like Harvard and Princeton. They excel in their work and are willing to negotiate with you as well as work with you during private hours to guarantee you understand the material given. Classes are about 20 students or less and they are very hands on. This means field trips whenever possible, or going out into Unity's very own Unity Pond, Sandy Stream, or the forest trails.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip that I would give any prospective student would be... Do not be afraid to get involved the moment you step on campus! Unity college students love when prospective students are not afraid to come pick up a Frisbee or a guitar and start playing! We encourage you to ask any questions you have no matter how ridiculous you may think it might be because we can guarantee you that at some point we had the same exact questions as you do now. If you are looking for a school with the best name for itself, that is sustainable, and is serious about giving it's students the best education for their major that will ensure a great future career, this is the school for you!

    In three sentences

    Unity College is perfect for those who love the outdoors, who seek adventure, and who love everything science and nature have to offer. Even if you aren't outdoorsy (like myself) but you would like to be- Unity helps you get there! If you are an avid hunter, a marine biologist, if you love sports, being involved, having fun, if you are a scientist a psychologist, a farmer, a fisher, if you love ALL animals- or just a select few, then I can guarantee Unity College is the college for you!

  • 05/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 7 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Sample review.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities at Unity College that people can get into. If you are someone that likes theater, then there is a drama club. There are many clubs/activities that are here at Unity College, that you could pretty much get into anything and also start up your own clubs if you get a slip from student government to get signatures from students that may want to join that club that you are trying to get started.

    Food and Dining

    The dining at Unity College is good or mediocre at times, it all depends on what day it is and what they are serving, but every college is different when it comes to food. Unity College does have a meal replacement, so if you do not have the chance to eat lunch/dinner, then you can go up to the Student Center to get meal replacement.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Unity College is awesome! In any of the dorms that you are in, you pretty much get to know everybody and make new friends everyday. You get treated as a family in a way when living on-campus because of the community-based feeling that there is in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Unity are good and can be challenging depending on what major/minor you are going into. Since I am a marine biology major, there is a lot of science/math classes that I have to take, but other than that Unity is a good place for academics in your specific major/minor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to ask lots of questions about the school and if you can, talk with current students from the school because we would be the best people to ask since we are a student there and know what goes on for events throughout the year.

    In three sentences

    If I had to rate Unity College and it was out of 10, I would give it a 10 because I love the small-based community that Unity has for students. You pretty much know everybody at Unity College and there is a lot of events that go on for everyone to do.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety makes rounds every night. They are also where guns and knives larger than six inches are stored when not being used. Overall, it is a small and safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from Big Worm Ultimate Frisbee, Woodsmen, to Search and Rescue. If you can't find a club that interests you, then there are opportunities through Student Government to create a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Unity is great for people who are willing to put in the effort to make a difference and who are hands on learners.

    Bang for the buck

    Unity may be expensive but you learn skills in practical ways that are the most beneficial. By the time students graduate they should be well prepared to find a job or go onto further education.

    What to do for fun

    Res life, student activities, and the OAC offer a lot during the semester from bands and dances to off campus trips for hiking or movies. Waterville is only about 20 minutes away and Bangor is about 45 minutes away. If you really want to do something, you have the means to do so.

    Food and Dining

    There is usually a little bit of everything in the caf. Most students do not like the food offered however, it is a lot better than other colleges/universities. If a class or practice runs into lunch or dinner there are extended hours up to the SAC where you can order pizza, burgers, or sandwiches for meal exchange. Also, with your meal plan you get either $25 or $100 to eat at Unity House of Pizza and Spanky's.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone on campus is really friendly and doors are usually open for hanging out. As the Director of Residence Life is known to say, these are residence halls where you can live not a dorm where you only have a place to sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are really hands on which for most people is a great thing. With the right amount of effort, Unity isn't too hard with homework however, you will learn the skills that you need for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make yourself as desirable to admissions as possible with your GPA and extracurricular activities including volunteer hours. Most importantly, show them who you are and what you have to offer as an individual. It's such a small college that you are not just a number, you are a person who will add something to the Unity community.

    In three sentences

    Unity is a great environmental college. Courses are hands on and there are many activities that students can be active with. Overall, there is a relaxed atmosphere with a little bit of everything for anyone.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. It's pretty rural so there's not much that's going to happen, but if it did, the public safety team is great!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Pretty much endless. We even have an ultimate Frisbee collegiate team!

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, passionate, environment interested, and cool people!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot! Unity students are weird! We bang on drums, we plant trees and we hand out tomatoes to people. But its all in good fun! Sometimes for class we take a walk out to Unity Rocks, which is a rock garden with benches that was created by a graduating class.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but I wouldn't go anywhere else. Check it out online, and if you seem like that kind of person that has an interest in the environment it will be way worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are school sponsored outdoor trips nearly every weekend. Also, student activities sponsors concerts and dances. There are so many pretty places to go in Maine, you can always find someplace to go.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria sucks. The ladies that work there are amazing though. The food just sucks. You can get meal replacement at the tavern though, and they make a pretty good hamburger!

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a little expensive, but I loved it! The buildings you will get your freshman year are pretty old and kind of suck at times (two of them are actually old chicken coops) but they are pretty good. A lot of improvements have been made and some are still being worked on. As an upper class man, the residences get pretty cool. Even one of the buildings being the most energy efficient dorms in the country!

    Academic Rigor

    The focus here is more on experience than grades. Some classes can get pretty difficult, but there is a lot of opportunities for tutoring and teachers love meeting with students to help them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors. They all encourage you to call them by their first name. Become friends with them because you will learn more from a one on one with them than a classroom ever could.

    In three sentences

    A place for environmentalists. Learn from the experts in your field. Unity is known in the fields it turns out students in as a great place to find employees.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The president of the college lives on capmus, we have public safety in the middle of campus (they are on duty 24/7), any weapons (i.e. guns for hunting) are locked up in public safety and have to be checked out.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure what this means?

    Clubs and Activities

    woodsmen (lumber jack events), archery, ultimate frisbee, knitting, Conservation law enforcement club, soccer, volleyball, basketball, the wildlife club, captive care and education club

    Great for these types of students

    bold, outgoing, adventurous, outdoors, hunters, earth-loving, people interested in animals of any kind

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tree planting ceremony for each incoming class and we have a program called NOVA (5 day manditory camping experience used to break the ice between people and give a taste of what Unity is all about).

    Bang for the buck

    Unity is expensive but I love going to college there.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much in Unity itself but Maine is littered with lighthouses along the coast, a movie theater in the nearby town, malls, restaurants, mini gulf, and many beautiful trails to walk on relatively anywhere you can think.

    Food and Dining

    I am an extremely picky eater but there are other options if I don't like what is being served. We have a place called the student activities center where I can go to find yummy food to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I have an amazing roommate and we plan on styaing roommates all 4 years. Living in the dorms is fun but kind of loud at times (what do you expect when there are a bunch of other kids living in the same dorm too). The only downfall is it's expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are extremely tailored to the major you have chosen and they really help you obtain knowledge that will be useful in the real world and your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Procrastination really catches up to you in college so stay ontop of your school work, but make sure there is still you time.

    In three sentences

    Unity is an incredible place to be; they offer countless opportunies and experiences that are really tailored to me. If I had the chance to redo going to college here, I wouldn't change a thing. I recommend Unity to anyone and everyone that wants to do something with animals or nature.

  • 11/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are dedicated to / interested in the environment. Students who love to be outdoors and who care about our world. Also students who would like individualized attention from professors and a great, unique college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved! Unity is a commUNITY. It's not just a place for learning, but also for fun and involvement. Don't be afraid to be active and join clubs and go on trips. College is an adventure! But of course you should take your studies seriously. Also take advantage of the unique internships available to you.

    Bang for the buck

    Unity is expensive, but they do have a number of scholarships and grants available. Also, it will be totally worth it for the unique experience I will have there and an education that I couldn't get anywhere else.

    Will enjoy being here

    Unity has tons of opportunities for fun! Day and overnight trips, lots of clubs, intramural sports teams, activities in the res. halls, and lots more. I also already know a few people there and so I know that it is a community of great people.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm expecting to learn a great deal at Unity. I know that they give a lot of hands on experience and have lots of opportunities for day and overnight trips. The class sizes will be small and I will be able to develop a good relationship with my professors and get the help I need.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    an amazing school that makes you feel at home the minute you get there

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we are in the middle of no where but we still have a good safety team

    Clubs and Activities

    there is lots to choose from and they are really welcoming to evryone

    Great for these types of students

    eco friendly or animal lover

    Bang for the buck

    i totally think this college is working on always improving so yes i think it's worth the price

    What to do for fun

    walmart! lol the oac and sac are always having something fun to do

    Food and Dining

    could be better but i like the different stations

    Dorm Life

    my dorm is crazy but we all know each other

    Academic Rigor

    depends who you get really but so worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    just be yourself

    In three sentences

    you get that freedom, caring feeling here. the people here easily become your good friends and family.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety can be called from any school phone located in all the buildings and residence halls, can also be called by cell phones. They do nightly patrols around campus, they keep the peace, and lock the doors during the week at 10:00 pm, and during the weekends at 1:00 am.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities here

    Clubs and Activities

    Woodsmen Team, Soccer, Basketball, Archery, Ice Hockey, baseball, lacrosse, Cross Country, Coffeehouse nights in the student center where you can watch live performers of all genres, slam poetry, diversity speakers. Themed dance parties. We LEAD Team. Knitting/crocheting nights at the student center with free materials and free lessons.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor lovers, People interested in taxidermy, people who want to work in a zoo/aquarium or conservation law enforcement setting. People who love animals and science. People who enjoy small colleges with the largest class size being 30 people. People who enjoy being on a first name basis with their teachers. People really in to sustainability and recycling, hippies, nature lovers.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking the many trails in the large campus woodlot, renting kayaks, canoes, snow shoes, ice skates from the Outdoor Adventure Center on campus. Ski resorts within an hours drive. Movie theaters and nightlife in Bangor, Waterville, Belfast, and Augusta all just a 30 minute drive away. Free movies and plays at the Unity College Center for Performing Arts in town, and a drag racing track to watch shows at in town.

    Food and Dining

    13 or 19 meal plans in the cafeteria, may also use meal plan for meal equivalency in the student center for lunch and dinner. Unity dollars are put on your student ID card and you may use them to buy food items at the student center on campus or the two local pizza places in town.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different dorms each with their own unique qualities, including group bathrooms, separate bathrooms, community kitchens, comfortable beds, many activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a small college of about 500 students, there are several dorms on campus and many possibilities close by for living off campus. This school and town has a tight knit community, and a great respect for and love of nature.

    In three sentences

    Unity College campus is located in the rural town of Unity, ME, surrounded by miles of beautiful wilderness. Unity College has a focus on Environmental Sustainability and has majors based on sustainability, agriculture, conservation law enforcement, and captive wildlife care and education, adventure therapy, as well as other sciences.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for outdoorsy students, that like to be hands on!

    Food and Dining

    They have many options for different types of food, so even if you are a picky eater. You will like eatting here with all the options that they have!

    Dorm Life

    They have awesome housing options!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your work, and make sure you study for all your test.

    In three sentences

    I think Unity College is a good school. They have an amazing staff, that are good with helping students. This is a very environmentally friendly school.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not 100% reliant on public safety but since it is such a small college, students here have pride and not a lot goes on crime-wise, except some minor drug use that I have witnessed and heard about.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs here at Unity relating to each major. There are constantly activities going on around campus and around surrounding areas for Unity Students.

    Great for these types of students

    Hunters, trappers and fishermen. Students who like hands-on work and don't mind getting down and dirty hiking through the woods surrounding campus.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of people say that Unity College is expensive but I really believe that with financial aid, you get what you pay for PLUS more! I love this college, it really does have a lot to off and staff is really helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor activities: hiking, fishing, hunting, camping, kayaking/canoeing, school sponsored activities.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus so I do not eat at the dining hall too much but when I do, I really enjoy the salad bar and whatever specials are going on that day.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I can't say too much about dorm life but I know I hear a lot of stories about parties every day of the week.

    Academic Rigor

    This school really does want it's students to succeed. Most teachers will work with you to make sure you pass and understand the material. This school is a very hands-on school so if you are not ready to get down and dirty, don't apply to Unity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your Unity email constantly! Make sure to do research about your major before you come to college to make sure you have an idea of what you want to focus on. Be willing to get dirty here at Unity!

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and the staff really does care about it's students and wants everyone to succeed. I do appreciate how staff is willing to help students whenever they can. The school puts on a lot of activities for students and the community.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is usually reliable.

    Greek Life

    We don't have and fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to partake in, and some sports teams, but the competitive level isn't that great.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, Animal Lovers, Hunters..etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People bring duck calls to sporting events, and there's only three places to eat at.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't think it is particularly fair that we pay so much to attend a college that is going to set us up for a career in our major that is going to pay less than the tuition when we first start out.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do in the state of Maine let alone in Unity, Maine. but there is a mall about 45 min away and some restaurants but you have to travel at least 30 min to get to any of them.

    Food and Dining

    The food is almost bad, It is edible but I don't like to eat it unless I absolutely have to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is average for a small college but not for one that I think brings in enough revenue to improve the facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that some of the courses are appropriately challenging but there are others that are too difficult and some that are too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you really want to go into the career that your major will put you in.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Unity College at a C. Because I originally thought that I would be going to a more hands on school. Also there are some areas that this college struggles with that have simple solutions in my opinion but refuse to change.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot to choose from and do

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor, environmental,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very friendly and small enviroment

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities, hang out with friends, video games, computer. TONS OF OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES.

    Food and Dining

    Two dining options with decent food. Cafe needs to change up menus a little bit. A lot of local products.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of campus activities. great upper classman dorms. Lower classmen dorms need improvement. Maintenance are awesome at there jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help or voice your opinions here

    In three sentences

    Great Environment and Teachers. Housing and student buildings could use improvement. Love it hear.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities are very specific to interests. Not many.

    Great for these types of students

    People who hunt and fish. People who like having no where to go. People who love the environment. People who smoke pot. People who love animals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you don't make friends on your NOVA trip it's hard to make friends because they are all in there little nova cliques.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Unity is great for the education your getting.

    What to do for fun

    Watch Netflix movies.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good sometimes, than you just get sick of it. Not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very old and out dated. Bathrooms are usually gross, especially in wood hall. Also if you have a hard time rooming with someone and you don't have things to do you'll hate it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are great. The classes are the only good thing about this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear camo, hunt, fish, love the environment, and be good at science or else you won't fit in.

    In three sentences

    If you love the environment, love animals, and or if you like hunting and fishing unity is the place for you. If you are used to a more populated place with stuff to do.. maybe it's not.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Nope.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of different clubs and activities to be involved in. Lots of support for political involvement as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Unity College is equally as excellent for the granola-chewing, dread-wearing, tree-hugging hippie as it is for the camo-wearing, American-car driving, proudly-hunting sportsman. Earth lovers will enjoy it most but honestly, this school accepts everyone - from freaks to geeks!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anarondack shelter!!!!! :D

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private college offering an education in some of the most essential disciplines known to a changing climate - I'd say the tuition is pretty reasonable considering. The incredible resources Unity College offers in way of technology (high-tech video cameras and related equipment, state of the art media labs with the most current editing software programs, internet reserves of just about any academic journal you could wish to look at, updated science labs with endless hands on capabilities, etc) also pull their weight in bang for the buck. With the inter-disciplinary approach to instruction, the cutting-edge technology offered, and the unspeakable beauty of the surrounding campus (this is rural New England after all) the tuition almost seems like a bargain.

    What to do for fun

    This is rural Maine - there's TONS to do! The college boasts something like 200+ acres of land, and so there are a number of beautiful trails to choose from if you're in the mood to hike. The outdoor activity center also offers uber cheap rentals of kayaks and canoes, etc., for the outdoor adventurer. If karaoke and beer is what you're about there are a number of local establishments willing to whet your whistle- even the student activity center!

    Food and Dining

    I eat at the SAC because I don't live on campus and the food is pretty decent. There are specials offered every single day and if you don't like what's being offered there are daily offerings of pizza, burgers, chicken fingers, and an array of salads.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at this school are challenging yet they are taught in a way that seems accessible. There are wonderful resources on campus for those who need academic help, and for those who don't there is more than enough offered in the curriculum to feel like a thorough, and well-rounded education is being obtained. Much of the learning is experiential, which is incredibly helpful in keeping students not only connected with the natural world around them but also in helping them apply the stuff they're learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wear your good pants to orientation - you WILL get dirty! :)

    In three sentences

    Unity College is amazing. This college deserves an A+ for offering the unique ability to not only educate its students but for also being able to help them shape a responsible and environmentally sustainable outlook on life. This college doesn't just require its students to take in knowledge it requires them to apply it as well - this is an indispensable step in true learning.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Like the outdoors or just want to be in the environmental field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bonfires with hot cocoa and s'mores.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities provides weekly events as well as the OAC provides any equipment you could think of for any outdoor activity, all for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school before you make your decision, an overnight stay.

    In three sentences

    The teachers know you by name and keep you from failing. There are more hands on learning experiences than most colleges. Most of the other students are very welcoming.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a multitude of clubs on campus to choose from. There is even a Club Night where all the clubs come and set up posters and talk about their club so that if you want to join one you can decide which ones and join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with an environmental, sustainability, and/or wildlife interest as well as those looking for a small school with a hands-on, personal learning experience.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. There are different sorts of music artists, movie nights, and other activities that are put on by the Student Activities Board on a constant basis and there are all sorts of trips and festive events held and put on almost every week by the college. Unity is a small town, but there are amazing pizza and home-cooking joints and the bigger cities of Maine are all about a 35-45 minute drive away if you're looking for something more big lights.

    Food and Dining

    It isn't the worst food around and it is good for you most of the time because they try to keep it locally or New England grown, but it does remind me of grade school cafeteria food sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on you, your personality, and your dorm/those in your dorm. There are quiet hours, but they tend to run late enough that the late night people can have fun, but early enough that those early-to-bed early-to-rise people aren't disturbed. It is like a small family for the most part and you're all there for each other to have fun or to comfort.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on your classes, but as a general rule I feel like the academic rigor is average to relatively difficult (if I could give this three and a half stars I would). As long as you make sure that you are understanding what the teacher is trying to tell you in class or ask them about it afterwards, it isn't too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    As parent-like as it sounds, use your time wisely. There is so much fun stuff to do and you have your own space and freedom, but there is still work that needs to be done. Don't let time get away from you, you might regret it. Time management is key.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school for those who want a hands-on, personal college learning experience. At Unity College you will not be bored if you don't want to be. Events and trips are held for students almost constantly and in class hands-on and field experience makes Unity College one of a kind.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love the outdoors or animals and just want to make a difference. This college is for you. You don't have to be a hippie or a hunter or even a tree hugger, you just need to want to make a difference and you will love what the school has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can always go hiking in the woods, snowboarding tricks on the Woodhall hill, old free movies at the UCCPA or new ones in Waterville, jogging or swinging at the Field of Dreams, sports in the gym with friends, playing down at the Sandy Stream, going to any of the many dances held at the SAC, or borrow anything from the activity center for camping, hiking, or canoeing.

    Food and Dining

    The cooks tend to try to be too fancy at times which makes a normal home cooked meal difficult to find, but food is always given in choices. There is also the option of going to the Student Activity Center (SAC) for a burger or anything simple on their menu. They also make special meals on certain occasions like lobsters or turkey dinners. I especially like saying hi to sweet Gladys before each meal.

    Dorm Life

    The chances of getting a great roommate are much higher here due to the whole school being somewhat similar in interests. The dorms are constantly being updated and have the students thoughts and ideas taken into account each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here range from challenging to simply informative. The teachers will help you in any way you need. Classes can be found indoors and outdoors, hands on and in the books. They make learning interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unity is accepting of everyone, but that doesn't mean that it is for everyone. This is the type of school that visiting will either make it or break it for you. If you are thinking about Unity College and are on the fence on whether or not it is for you, then you should definitely visit. For many students this school was the first choice. For me, it was the only school I was willing to go to and I'm not the only one that feels that way. So definitely visit before coming and be prepared to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Unity College is one of the top environmental colleges in America and are nationally known for their sustainability science leadership. We are the first college to have a dorm completely sustainable of itself using only the environmental resources as its disposal. The school's atmosphere is friendly and highly inviting.