Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Advancing Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 out of 32 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geeks!, Net Sec majors, smart people with potential that may not have done well in high school, DVA majors, people with a love for making video games

    Tips for prospective students

    Although there are lots of fun things happening at this school make sure that you pay attention to your studies. Also there are a lot of projects going on that can be used in your portfolio. Make sure that you get involved with them it's great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    So far I feel like I've got what I've paid for. Once I graduate I get to audit classes for free to brush up on my skills.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love this place! The students and teachers are great and the atmosphere is unlike any other college I've seen. There are tons of activities to give you a break from your studies, LOTS of games (both video and board), and gen ed classes actually integrate aspects of your major into them to make them more interesting.

    Am learning a lot

    I've taken some of the most interesting classes here. The teachers are great and they are more than willing to help you. Also the class sizes are smaller so you don't get lost in the crowd.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds! Gamers, need I say more? You'll learn the tips and techniques on creating games, about the industry, and so much more. Geeks if you love technology and want to learn more! Shy kids can even connect, you'll always feel welcomed. Outgoing individuals if you want to take charge of you education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in projects and if you have an idea start you own project! Connect with others - in school clubs and activities, at LAN (gaming party), and in classes. Check out the Phoenix/Tempe area. There always an event going on, you'll never feel bored!

    Bang for the buck

    Even after graduation I will be excited to attend classes as an Alumi for no extra charge! The classes as small (at most 30 students), so I can easily connect with the people in my class and ask for help when I need it.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geeks, UAT prides themselves on those who are of Geek status.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth it compared to other colleges.

    Will enjoy being here

    Depending on preference, some people may not enjoy the lower amount of females that attend UAT

    Will learn a lot

    A lot of the staff are extremely helpful, with a smaller group of students, each one is guaranteed individual attention.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for teens who love technology it's a rigt fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    to go there and see it for your self and research it.

    Bang for the buck

    half the cost of a private college

    Will enjoy being here

    your not that far from LA and las vegas and you have alot great outdoors.

    Will learn a lot

    I have read ther magazine and to me it looks like the best school to go too for your intrest major.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I feel I would love being at this school just because they offer so many hands on applications to the educational experience and many are offered 24/7 which is a nice touch.

    Will learn a lot

    This looks like a very challenging and up to date school with all the latest technology being taught, If I lived alot closer I would most likely apply to this school

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love technology, video games, movies, and everything of the like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible, manage your time wisely, and connect with other people at the school and different industries.

    Bang for the buck

    It looks like a lot of money, but if you apply for scholarships, it won't be. And if it is, well you'll see why it costs that much.

    Will enjoy being here

    The geek-friendly enviornment, the technology (especially the video games), and all the people just like me makes it ideal for people who likes these kinds of things.

    Will learn a lot

    I have a few of their magazines and I know students there learn a lot, in their field of study and possibly more.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -Time management is key. -Group work is a big part of a lot of classes. -Even if you are a BA, you will be doing programming.

    Bang for the buck

    It is on the more expensive side, but you get a unique learning environment. Well worth the money, if you have it.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Online student, N/A

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of attending UAT is comparable with most online school degree programs, but in m case felt is was the closest geared to my career desires.

    What to do for fun

    As I do not stay on campus and am strictly an online student in my 40's, a single parent, and working full time, I do not get much 'fun' time, but often see many activities the school has planned on the website homepage for the students to relax, have fun and enjoy themselves, along with conventions UAT is supporting and looking for students who might be interested as well.

    Food and Dining

    I am not able to answer this as I am solely an online student so cannot provide applicable information. One can reference their website to inquire the faculty as well as other students in their opinions.

    Dorm Life

    I am not able to answer this as I am solely an online student so cannot provide applicable information. One can reference their website to inquire the faculty as well as other students in their opinions.

    Academic Rigor

    UAT's online program is very rigorous, but at the same time, in researching online education, one will find that online education requires a great deal of ones time and dedication due to the flexibility the online degree program is providing the individual. It is challenging, but greatly rewarding. The classes that are offered for the degrees are applicable to the latest technology areas and seem to be often updated with the 'latest' one sees in the technology fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend anyone who has an interest in the technology arena to pursue their degrees or explore the options available at UAT. They are extremely helpful, have many great resources, and great opportunities to pursue your degree online, which allows great flexibility when still having to maintain a work schedule and take care of a family.

    In three sentences

    UAT offers individuals campus and online degree programs that are very in tune with the demands of the computer / technology world today, and their degree programs are targeted to those areas accordingly. Aside from campus degree programs, their options for online degrees are available and geared to computer / technology markets that are high profile 'need' areas for our generation and world today as we know it, as well as the future. The staff, faculty and Student Success Team are very attentive and responsive to the students needs and or concerns.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are self-motivated and visual learners.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't feel that the instruction given is worth the price that you pay for the classes.

    Academic Rigor

    If you follow the syllabus and keep up with your course work, the classes are pretty manageable. The breaks between classes are very short when you take everything online though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do much of the instructing yourself. Try to buy your books online through a secondary source and not directly through the school's library if possible. This will save you hundreds of dollars.

    In three sentences

    This college offers a wide variety of degrees that you may not be able to find at many other colleges. The professors have all been pleasant, but the courses are very teach yourself. Transferring out of this university may be difficult as I'm not sure many colleges/university accept credits from here.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Computer Enthusiasts (Geeks)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cybercave for Network security and technology forensics students.

    Bang for the buck

    Seems a bit expensive - however, you must consider that the school operates on a trimester (attend all year round) allows you to be complete in less than 3 years.

    Food and Dining

    small cafe with limited choices.

    Academic Rigor

    This university uses the latest in technology to conduct innovative learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Must want a small technology university. This college is unique and must be a 'good fit' for your major and personality. Weather is awesome but HOT in the summer. Operates on a trimester scheduling (all year - no summers off); however, you will be done in less than 3 years!

    In three sentences

    UAT is an excellent college in Tempe, Arizona. Advertises themselves as a 'geek college' for gaming students. However, I am currently a technology forensics student.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety at University of Advancing Technology is great. They really take protecting the student, and educating the students on safety seriously.

    Greek Life

    Life here is good, and if it is your first college you attend you will most likely enjoy it a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs here are great there just so many, I forget what they are. There is a club for about everything you could imagine.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is good for Tech people, and Geeks( I mean that in a good way), and people who like to make video games.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs Zombies is very interesting, and the people here take that game seriously( it is a lot of fun to play)

    Bang for the buck

    University of Advancing Technology can be a little on the expensive side. It it does lack in some areas. However, I would say it is not a bad university to attend, if you can afford it.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy 3D modeling in Blender, and creating digital drawings in gimp. I really like working with open source projects.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not always the best, but you have different selections you can choose from such as the hot bar or sands-which bar, so in the end it evens out.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms are good for the most part. I enjoy leaving here, and the people are nice

    Academic Rigor

    University of Advancing Technology can have some very prestige's courses, so do not take your classes lightly

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do you homework, do not get tied up in playing video games all day. We have a lot of dropouts because of that.

    In three sentences

    I would have to rate the University of Advancing Technology a three in half out of five. They are however improving a lot so this rating is subject to change throughout the year.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 8 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IT, Computer, Game Design

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking lot has security patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fencing club is awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for geeks, nerds, and computer wiz kids.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel that careers here offer the best job opportunities after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    I love the fencing club the best.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria serves a lot of variety and offers nutritious food as well as junk, your choice.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but have several friends who do. They say it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are industry specific and teach the latest in computer technology, robotics,and digital animation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love hi-tech gadgets and software, this school is for you. Surround yourself with geeks and share a love of the hi-tech world.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my first year attending here and would highly recommend U A T to anyone. This university specializes in state-of-the-art computer, security, and digital media studies. It offers great opportunities to pursue a degree in the most current and in-demand fields in the US today.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are fun activities every week on campus, the movie club's movie marathons, and various game tournaments, and every other week there's Nerf Wars where we all run around on missions and shoot each other with Nerf guns.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans here are really expensive which is a minus, but it is also thirty seconds away from the dorms. Its open most of the day for a couple hours at a time, and there's different food choices every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a thirty second walk away from the main building, and classes which is the nicest thing for those early morning classes. All of the RAs are really nice and helpful. There's a full kitchen available for use. As well as a movie room, with a projector, a game room with a television and various game systems. Think tanks on every floor to go and study in and a pool table in the lobby.

    Academic Rigor

    Its more or less difficult depending on your major, overall as you get into the core specific classes it becomes harder and you have more work to get through. On the plus side there are very few humanities class, like English or Math that you have to take, because the school focuses your education on what you want to do after school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply, most kids are accepted and you can pick whether you start in the summer, fall or spring. Get to know your fellow students and RAs as soon as possible, everyone's nice and willing to talk to you. School is expensive, but you graduate in three years and the focus they put on finding you a job after graduating is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Small Tech school. Just about Everyone fits in. Has a great environment.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's the anime club and teachers and students hand out their Xboxlive information to discuss school and game online!

    Great for these types of students

    Gamers, Artists, programmers, and students who just want to advance in any field of technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's an anime club so everyone can gather around and talk about anime!

    Bang for the buck

    They teach you everything from C++ to C# java scripting and many more! They even allow you to take courses after graduation in order to update your skills!

    What to do for fun

    I'm a gamer and a web developer programming and coding is fun for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is explained and you're guided for extra help at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your A game. This school will make you an innovator if you put your passion and heart into it.

    In three sentences

    They're are an amazing college. I've had no problems with them they always check up on me to be sure I'm doing okay. I love the alumni and being able to contact them for advice and such. It's an amazing school.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geeks, Nerds, Technology Enthusiasts or Innovators, this school wil welcome you with open arms.

    What to do for fun

    Nerf Gun Wars, Social Clubs, Hacking Parties, & movie screenings; this school will keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    I cant comment on this as, again, I am online.

    Dorm Life

    I cant comment on this as, again, I am online.

    Academic Rigor

    I attend online, so there are some courses that don't deliver as well as others, but in the end I always feel challenged to do my best. I've learned a lot and truly enjoy the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself. This school is great for people who want an option that doesn't fit the standard college mold.

    In three sentences

    If you're a technology enthusiast in need of a culture that consists of people who are just as passionate as you, this is the place. I've never felt like I belonged more at a university than at UAT. The education I've been receiving is top-notch and I'm looking forward to going all the way to my Master in Information Assurance here.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This college is geared for fun, it has all kinds of games both computer and board. For a tech person it is the best ever!

    Food and Dining

    My research has been only on line, don't know what to say about that.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know I have only researched it on line

    Academic Rigor

    Its up there with the very best of the best. We have Lock-Head and the U.S. Military hiring from there, what else needs be said!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would just recommend narrowing your Technology Focus, it seems there is a broad variety of majors at UAT.

    In three sentences

    This is where it is at for the Tech world, from Programing to Artifical Intelligence UAT, seems to have it all. If you want a school that is all about Technology and feel like you are that Tech Geek, I would add UAT to my list immediately. The function and design of this University sets it apart from any Technical School I have seen to date.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Seems like an awesome school for tech geeks like me, and I saw in some of the posts that LAN parties are a common occurrence. Awesome.

    In three sentences

    I have been looking primarily at one school, but this school has really turned my head. The fact that everyone that goes there is a tech geek sounds awesome, and it seems like it would be right up my alley.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I LOVE IT HERE.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On guard 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Honor Society (Alpha Beta Kappa).

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds, geeks, future leaders of the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans verses Zombies Nerf wars.

    Bang for the buck

    I got hired at a fortune 500 company just attending the school (Dell) before I even graduated. The science based degrees offer great jobs afterwards.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Tempe and South Mountain. Near ASU so lots of party life and far enough away to be kept out of it if desired.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new and provide all the needed amenities for the Arizona heat.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will challenge you as much as you want beyond the course material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP Computer Science in high school. Don't play video games all day long, it will get you nowhere.

    In three sentences

    The University has an array of programs and opportunities for students to grow and prosper. You get what you put into it like anything in life but this is especially true here. I would attend the college again if given the opportunity.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The location makes it convenient for all sorts of activities. In addition to that the school has fun events like Human vs Zombies, Extra Life, Cosplay Chess and more!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love technology, this is the place for you!

    In three sentences

    UAT is a small university. This makes it possible for better communication between students and faculty. I love attending UAT1

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm impressed. This looks like a good college. I'll definitely consider applying here.