Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Alabama in Huntsville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like hockey, basketball, baseball, and foam parties this is the place to be!! Just don't forget you came for an education!

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of Alabama in Huntsville is a great school! Especially for engineering, nursing, and business majors. I Highly recommend you apply. The campus is great and convenient and the school does have a nice setting! The tuition of the school is also moderate. There is plenty to do there and it is located in the city of Huntsville, Alabama.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that plan on getting a great education, enjoying the beautiful surrounding locations, and are looking for a bright future will excel at UAH.

    Tips for prospective students

    One main thing to keep in mind when attending this university is the career field you plan on entering. The Huntsville area is number one in the South for aerodynamics and space engineering. The opportunity to get co-ops and internships as an engineer, biologist, teacher, or mathematician are extremely high as the university is so close to the second largest research park in the nation.

    Bang for the buck

    The current president of UAH, Dave Williams, has a goal to increase the enrolled students by roughly 1500 in the next year. This is causing tuition rates to rise, meal plans to be mandatory, and on-campus housing for both freshman and sophomores to be mandatory as well. While these alterations are pushing some students away, others are looking past the current changes as hope for future students at the university. With the completion of the new dormitory in the Fall of 2010, on campus living is becoming safer, easier, and more fun.

    Am enjoying being here

    On campus life is quiet on the weekends as most students live close enough to travel home. However, don't think that there is nothing to do, North Alabama provides some of the best mountain biking, trail running, disc golf, and hiking in the state. The university itself is also within 5 minutes of Downtown Huntsville, Research Park, and The U.S. Space and Rocket Center.

    Am learning a lot

    The small class size at UAH gives students the opportunity to interact with teachers as well as other students in a growing environment. Not only does the university provide a completely free tutoring program for nearly every class offered, but there are also online tutoring sessions for those with busy lifestyles.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is kind of expensive, the dorm rooms seem small, but overall, I cant think of anywhere I'd rather go!

    Will enjoy being here

    There is no better school for school spirit. Everyone is so friendly. There are so many clubs, activities, and classes to choose from. The school has plenty of security, transportation, and people just waiting to help you if you need it.

    Will learn a lot

    The University of Alabama makes failure seem impossible. There are so many things set up to help me and make sure that I succeed. I just went to orientation, and I am very excited to start attending.

  • 10/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science, math, pre-medicine

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. The professors and other staff really love helping out :)

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are always on patrol. campus is well lit and there are escort services if needed.

    Greek Life

    greek life is small. the parties ensure no one under 21 has alcohol. the buildings are small and can be crammed at gatherings.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everyone. they are always welcoming and you jump right into fun activities.

    Great for these types of students

    uah is great for students who like smaller colleges. also, uah is a prime target for math, computer, science, and engineering majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the only thing unusual around uah are the people. there are a great variety of interests and hobbies with the people here.

    Bang for the buck

    uah has a smaller campus and is almost as expensive as the bigger universities in alabama such as alabama in tuscaloosa or uab. for science, math, computer, or engineer majors this school is worth the cash. however, dorms and meal plans are somewhat overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of clubs and events from dancing to martial arts to video gaming. one of the big events on campus is a zombie hunt where some kids dress up as zombies are hide around campus while the humans hunts them with nerf guns. they also have lan parties and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    the chik-fil-a and papa johns are the best food to get for your dining dollars. the cafeteria is average. there are a few starbucks located around campus that are great for before early classes.

    Dorm Life

    most dorms adhere to your privacy by providing you with your own room. they are nearby academic buildings and are always clean. the movie nights and dorm activities are always fun.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is not easy especially if you are a science or math major. teachers provide challenges but are always willing to help along the way. there are tutors for those subjects you just can't get.

    Tips for prospective students

    there isn't much to do in huntsville so join clubs to stay entertained. bring rain boots and be prepared for unpredictable weather. everyone is nice so don't be afraid to ask anyone about something.

    In three sentences

    the academics are challenging for everyone. if you have trouble with a subject there are free tutors that are a tremendous help. there are clubs and activities around campus for everyone.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus really makes safety a number one priority. There is a 24 hour police escort service, safety posts that call police to your location in the event an emergency takes place, and a very active police force that patrols the campus regularly. Safety matters here, and everyone takes it seriously.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a part of Greek Life, but I know many people who are. Greeks on campus encourage their members to keep up their grades with mandatory study hours. They also host charity events and work to make the campus a more friendly place. They realize that not everyone wants to go Greek, but they remain friendly with non-greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for anything and everything, Students can also create new clubs by having 10 interested people go to the SGA office.

    Great for these types of students

    UAHuntsville is a true melting pot. There are a ton of engineering students, science students, nursing majors, business majors, and liberal arts majors. If you ever felt left out in high school for being too smart or a little weird then you won't have that problem here. If you were really popular in high school, this is the school for you too! It's an accepting campus that appreciated everyone for who they are

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a homecoming week and no football team. At Hockey Games it's traditional to play a game where students try to hit a mark with a puck from the stands. The person who gets closest gets a prize. This school is notorious for giving out t-shirts. I have more than 50 free shirts (and counting!) and I just finished my second year. Muddy Mayhem Pirate Party (Fraternity) Charger Con (A giant Lan-Party/Competition) Painting the UAH sign - it's sort of a rite of passage that every student should take part in! There are many more traditions! For a small school, UAHuntsville definitely knows how to party!

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of the people I know attend this school on scholarship. I must say that the school really is generous with it's money and I've barely had to pay anything to come here (apart from housing). Obviously this school isn't huge, but I think it is on the road to becoming much larger. You can achieve a real college experience here without paying a huge amount, and that's worth so much.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do at this school! The residence halls hold programs every week, the clubs on campus are very active, and the school holds many events as well. One event, Muddy Mayhem, takes place every October. The event is a mud obstacle course that is physically challenging and rewarding. The Health and Physical Education (HPE) Department has taken it over and it is easily my favorite event. Other events have been a hypnotist, concerts by Jason Derulo and 3Oh!3, A huge zipline challenge, facepainting, balloon artists, the March of Dimes, an on campus garden, Trunk or Treat, Homecoming Week, and many more. There is always something to do if you know where to look, and I definitely give this school credit for offering fun, safe activities.

    Food and Dining

    Like most school, the food leaves something to be desired. The school offers vegetarian and vegan options, and they offer a lot of variety. Still, eating in the caf every day can become boring. When that happens, go to one of the on campus restaurants or coffee shops.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Hall life at UAHuntsville is incredible! I've lived in a dorm since my first semester, and the experience has made me more outgoing and even happier. There's always something to do on campus, and living on campus definitely encourages you to take part in the full college experience. Each suite contains four rooms, two bathrooms, and a common area. You get your own room no matter what building you are in, and that really helps when you want to study or stay up late.

    Academic Rigor

    This University wants you to succeed, but they don't just hand out A's. Your professors expect you to earn your grade, and earning an A or even a B can take a lot of work. Having said that, I have never met a more intelligent body of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships - this school gives many scholarships. Go to class - this isn't a school where your teacher won't notice you aren't there. They WILL notice, and some might even call you out. Study, study, study - this is true for any university. College may be harder than you think!

    In three sentences

    UAHuntsville pushes all of its students to become experts in their fields. It is by no means an easy school, but the difficulty results in students who go far when they get out of school. I love this school and the professors who have done so much to encourage me to be my best.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    it's not to big or to small. it's just right and i thnk i am going to enjoy myself here.

  • 12/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I know it’s a great school for nerds because I’m a nerd and I like it. It has a great engineering department and co-op program, and there are plenty of engineering jobs in the area, particularly for aerospace. It also has colleges of science, business, nursing, and liberal arts. I assume these are good too, but I never looked into anything aside from engineering. There are a variety of different kinds of people here, and everyone I know likes it fine as well, so it’s probably a good school for pretty much anyone, unless you are lazy or are looking for a party school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you score high enough on an AP test to get credit, take it, even if you do not think your high school teacher was any good. Start the scholarship application early because there is a lot to do on it and the priority deadline is December 1. This year I had to write three, two paragraph maximum essays, and obtain two letters of recommendation, one academic and one personal.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive, and they offer a lot of scholarships. They even have scholarships that one is guaranteed to get if one has a certain ACT and GPA, starting with a 3.0 GPA and 25 ACT (or equivalent SAT). The smallest of these guaranteed scholarships give $2,100 per year. The largest gives full tuition for up to 15 hours per semester, housing, a meal plan, $500 dollars in course fees, and a book stipend. They also offer a lot of other scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm a nerd and do not go out much, so I definitely do not know everything there is to do in Huntsville. I do know that there are at least a couple malls and movie theaters and plenty of restaurants near campus. Pretty much everywhere you would want to go is on University Drive. There are also a lot of events to attend and organizations one can join on campus. They have everything from ice hockey to pep band to a math club, except a football team. I’m rather glad they do not have a football team though. The dorms are amazing! They are all set up as four person suites with private bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a common area with tables, chairs, a couch, a microwave, and a refrigerator.

    Am learning a lot

    I was the Valedictorian at my high school, and I was still challenged. Join the honors program if you can. I took an honors English class this semester and enjoyed it even though English is my worst subject, and my writing improved a good deal. I learned a lot in my non-honors classes too. Most instructors are willing if not eager to help if you ask. Even the one I had that seemed somewhat scary would answer questions.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UAH is great for just about anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are too many resources here on campus for you to fail. Apply for Financial Aid. Go to the Student Success Center for help with classes Attend PASS sessions

    Bang for the buck

    Most of my friends are attending other colleges for $20,000+ per year. My freshman year at UAHuntsville was roughly 15,000 at the most.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very diverse and we all have a ton of school spirit. Most of out housing facilities have themed floors to make that transition to college easier (International Floor, Honors Floor, Academic Success Floor, Engineering Floor, Leadership and Development Floor) . Be aware that all of or housing residences are co-ed (but we do have all girll, all boy themed floors as well)I was also introduced to a lot of different activities and events my freshman year (LANparty, Charger Stomp, Frosh Mosh Everyone is considerate and I've met people from all over the U.S.

    Am learning a lot

    Everyone wants to see you succeed. Class sizes are small so you don't feel to hesitant to ask questions. Professors want you to succeed and encourage you to drop by during their office hours. They don't intimidate you or try to cram things into classes. In addition to Professors, you will also learn a lot form current students and regular staff members. They are all very encouraging

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    One word: Engineering. As a major, UAH is the best place to go for a degree in engineering, which also makes it great for any kind of technical-minded student. This doesn't just apply to classes either. There are so many clubs and societies on campus that tends to our particular interests (e.g. Starcraft, FPS club, Human vs Zombies) that there's bound to be something that fits you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for internships. They're everywhere, but take a little digging to find. As soon as you can access ChargerPath, go ahead and set up an account and upload a resume, but it definitely wouldn't hurt to look for yourself. Also scholarships. There are plenty of new opportunities that weren't available to high school students that you now have access to. Take advantage of it.

    Bang for the buck

    As an engineering student, of course! In Huntsville, I'm withing arm's reach of NASA, Lockheed-Martin, and military/ government service jobs that are all waiting to grab some little college student for a life-long career. From my perspective, that sounds like a dream.

    Am enjoying being here

    I knew a few of the students here when I first arrived, but nowhere as many as I would have known if I had attended a school closer to my hometown, like UAB or Bama. Good thing the people here are friendly. I love my dorm (save for the 5 a.m. fire alarms) and the people that I've met in it. The only complaint I have about the campus is their Wi-Fi system. It's frustrating that only one person can be on the internet in a suite room at a given time, which makes group studying fairly difficult. I also don't have too much cash to throw around to pay the $40 a month for wireless.

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman, most of my classes I am taking this year are required core classes that have little to do with my major, so most of my learning is coming from familiarizing myself with the campus and joining clubs and societies that suit my personality and field.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    take a campus tour and check it out.

    In three sentences

    i really liked this school when i went for a visit. it had a great atmosphere and setting. i also like that it is next to the u.s. space and rocket center.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are great places to eat at campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didnot live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Coursework is somewhat hard.

    In three sentences

    Education professors are very down to earth and care about their students. Tuition cost is way too much. Parking lots are always crowded.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are pletny of Intamural sports to get involved with, Greek life is popular at UAH, and there are differnet types of clubs to get involved with. The University Center have club fairs every semester, so check one out and find a club that sparks your interest!

    Food and Dining

    The variety of food is unique good at the Caf in the University Center. Each day, they have different main courses, and everyone eats there. It is also an excellent place to socialize with friends and faculty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. The RAs (Residental Assistants) are very helpful, friendly, and they have very creative ideas to help dorm life become fun and memorable.

    Academic Rigor

    UAH is a difficult school. Form study groups, don't procrasitnate, and build good relationships with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard, make a lot of friends, and be bombared with awesome clubs and activities that can help you get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    UAH is one of the top research universities in the United States. The school has an outstanding engineering program. During the basketball season, UAH Men's basketball brings everyone on campus to life and together!

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will never feel harmed or unsafe on this campus. There are plenty of body guards and check- in desk to keep up with you. There are even telephones and places to call for help if you have car trouble. Not once have I ever felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    You are never forced to join a soroity or a fraternity. These clubs are a good thing to consider though. Greek life can help you get to know people all over campus whether it be students, teachers, or staff. They do many things for the community and take much pride in helping others. Never be afraid to try a taste of Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have an open mind when considering clubs and activities. There are so many things to choose from and the people in these groups are so friendly. They will give you a run- down about how they work, what they do, etc. Never be afraid to join because it could help you achieve a goal mentally or educationally.

    Great for these types of students

    UAHuntsville is great for students looking for an education where you can work with the newest and most updated technology. It will make a huge difference in the long run, especially when the administration can help you find a job. The campus is great for students looking for a place to feel at home and meet great people and staff. There are always things going on for those who want to be entertained. UAHuntsville is mostly for those who want to make a difference and truly pursue after their dreams. There are endless possibilities at this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always be on the look out for secret gatherings on floors in the Multi-Purpose Rooms (MPR's) or your neighbors dorms. You never know what kind of Xbox competitions, movie nights, or awesome things people throw.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, it is definitely worth the time and money to pursue my career and education at UAHuntsville. I never knew how excited I could get knowing that I am apart of such an awesome college with the best technology for my major, clubs to be apart of and make a difference with, and people to be working with. This campus has definitely opened my eyes and showed me what a college should TRUELY be- a place that feels like home away from home. I am proud to say that I am a Blue Charger!

    What to do for fun

    Where to start! UAHuntsville offers entertainment like no other! If you are interested in being in a fraternity or a soroity, they have Greek Week playing all sorts of games and having many competitions. The whole campus has things such as Zombie Walk where you can dress up like a zombie and walk across campus and town. They have live concerts, shows, awesome basketball and hockey games, and so many things to just have a great time at. It is literally impossible to get bored at this campus. UAHuntsville's campus is always buzzing and lively.

    Food and Dining

    If you're a vegetarian or a meat lover, it doesn't matter; UAHuntsville has a great cafeteria. They offer a superb vegetarian bar and many others such as wraps and sandwiches to home- cooked food. And if you're not in the mood for cafe food, there's many restaurants on campus such as Chik-fli-A. There's always good food being prepared by an outstanding staff. The culinary staff is always friendly and inviting. Kick back and eat a sandwich, it's alright!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great here! The dorms are so nice and up to date that you actually feel kind of at home. The Residentail Assistance (RA's) keep up with everyone on their floor and make sure you keep your dorm neat and tidy. Your neighbors will be very friendly and inviting and you will always be kept up to date with things going on either by your RA or floor residents. Everyone should give dorms a chance.

    Academic Rigor

    UAHuntsville has the best and most updated machinery and technology for any kind of field you are majoring in. When a college links with worldy businesses such as NASA, you know something good is going on. Also, this college has many tutoring programs if you think you will or are needing help in a certain area. Don't be afraid of failing because this place has the best of the best. The administration and students will help you every second of the way!

    Tips for prospective students

    First, never be worried about not being able to find something to do. There are ALWAYS things going on, and fun things at that. ACE (Association for Campus Entertainment) keeps everyone on their toes! There's always something going on every minute of everyday. Second, don't ever think there's not any kind of club you wouldn't like. UAHuntsville has tons of exciting and friendly clubs that range from Student Government Association (SGA) to Canoeing Club. And third, just be open to try new things on campus. You never know what kind of fun you could be having with awesome people doing things such as going to live concerts with 3oh!3 or Jason Derulo, having Zombie Week across campus, Xbox tournaments, or High 5 Fridays throughout the town and campus. Don't underestimate this campus because it will take you for a ride!

    In three sentences

    The faculty and students are very friendly and inviting. The various clubs are always making campus life exciting for everyone. There is always an atmosphere of achievement.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police stay on top of things. There are safe buttons all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very time consuming. It is great if you do not have alot of other things going on in life.

    Great for these types of students

    All!! This school has something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons of activities during homecoming week. There are usually astronauts or other prominent people from the fields of science and education here giving speeches.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life, Shopping, Fishing, Disk Golf, Geocaching, Reading by the pond

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get caught up in the social scene. This is a very academically minded school.

    In three sentences

    I love going to school here. The teachers are very helpful. Campus is always buzzing with things to do.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Huntsville has night life and concerts so there is never an excuse to sit at home and do nothing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but faculty and students are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the scholarship application. There is only one for everything so you don't have to spend days combing through the list for the ones that fit you.

    In three sentences

    So far so good. I start upper division nursing in the fall and everyone, from the student medical center to the admissions office, have been very helpful. The classes are scheduled well and everyone is friendly.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Pfft. there is a coul-de-sac of Greek houses. They mainly focus on service and community work. Apparently they throw parties and stuff, but i live off campus so I wouldn't know.

    Great for these types of students

    engineers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a sign outside of the (current) Student center that the school encourages students to paint. every holliday it has a new paint coat. you never know what it will look like. Also: Humans vs Zombies.

    What to do for fun

    I love off campus so I hang out in the Dorms with my pals for fun. every wednesday the Association of Campus Entertainment (ACE) brings in magicians, comedians, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very open, easygoing school. Not a party school so I'm sorry if that's what you want. Still a fun, friendly place to learn.

    In three sentences

    I like it so far. The campus is clean and fresh. The teachers have been helpful so far.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much...hang out with friends? There are a couple of registered fraternity parties...but half the time the fraternities are on social probation because the Greek adviser is super strict.

    Food and Dining

    They have a pretty good selection of food here and it all tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is super fun and it's AWESOME that each student gets their own room in a 4 bedroom suite. Then all 4 of us share 2 bathrooms and get our own sinks too.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering is pretty hard. The other classes require effort, but if you do what the professors say you need to do to pass the class then you will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else if you want a real college experience. Go here if you don't ever party and love studying and think you can conquer the engineering degree.

    In three sentences

    Too many engineering nerds and guys. Greek life is crazy small. The people who run most of this school don't do things very efficiently and it is annoying.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard working-focused on your studies students! UAH takes a lot of hard work to do well in but the rewards are great! Also great for transfers who are looking for a harder curriculm. I am not currently going to UAH, but plan to go back soon because I enjoyed the challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved!!! When i was at UAH i got involved with SGA and loved it! And through SGA and mutaul friends, i got to know a lot of the greeks, which made me wish I had gone greek my freshman year. When I transfered away from UAH, I went greek at my new school because of how amazing the greeks at UAH were. I wish I would have joined a sorority while I was there instead of waiting til i was leaving.

    Bang for the buck

    UAH is straight forward about what you are going to pay. There are no hidden fees so you know up front what you are getting yourself into. As an engineering student, this is probably the cheapest and best engineering school in the state.

    Did enjoy being here

    I LOVED UAH and the Huntsville area! There is so much to do on campus! From ACE events (which is the on campus entertainment group) to SGA sponsored events and then all the housing events. I would definitely reccommend living on campus so you can get involoved!

    Did learn a lot

    I definitely learned a lot while at UAH. Most of the teachers are helpful and will spend time with you explaining how to do better on the next assignment and test. But the classes are very challenging and there is no way to prepare oneself with that relization. They have tutoring services available and students get together in study groups all the time. But just realize u will be spending a majority of your time studying to succeed!

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs and organizations as you can! Networking will lead you to scholarships, grants, internships, job opportunities, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    I love how UAH is focused around giving students a quality education! After just one year here I feel confident that I will have no problem obtaining a job in the aerospace field after graduating with a degree from UAH.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for Engineering, Nursing, Mathematics, Accounting, Computer Science, and Liberal Arts. Huntsville is booming with jobs that require all of these majors! It is not crazy to say that you may have multiple job offers while being at UAH.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thoughts That Go Through New Students Heads... OH NO! My first class starts tomorrow! - Before the semester starts, it brings the mind at ease having your stuff ready before you go to your first class of the semester. Car, bike, or walk.... - This college is located in the midst of some big businesses and neighborhoods, so be careful if you decide to walk to your classes. Driving or biking is the best idea for making it to your class on time. Just give yourself ample time to make it there and get your seat. Did they say this teacher is terrible?? - When signing up for classes, I recommend looking up how good the teacher is by using a 'teacher ranking site'. I recommend RateMyProfessor.com. These are reviews from previous students and they are mostly on point describing the teachers teaching methods and their attitude towards teaching. My classes are so stressful...How am I going to get through this? - Guess what. Semesters only last 15 weeks and only 10 weeks for Summer semesters. Just take it one semester at a time. College is supposed to be an adventure! Yeah, some classes are tough, but not impossible. You can make it through it! These books are SO expensive!!! - They don't have to be expensive! There are great websites that sell textbooks cheap and other school supplies just as cheap! Amazon.com and Half.ebay.com have the exact textbooks you need for an incredibly cheap price! (Wow, I sound like a promo) The fact is, the on campus book store charges outrageous prices for their books and you can order them a lot cheaper. Windows or Mac - Well...This is more of your preference. I don't want to turn this into an all out debate. While Windows computers are more versatile to programs you need, the lifespan on them are much less. Macs are built for quality and will last much longer than a Windows computer, but they are more expensive in general and some programs you need may only be available for Windows computers. In short, if you got the money, go Mac! If you want to save money and don't mind the maintenance, buy a PC computer. Before any more anxiety thoughts pop through your head, remember that you are not alone. There are many other people who are starting college for the first time or this is their first year at this college. Make friends and get through it together. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you, help each other (I don't mean cheating!) and you will be helped. So now I close with. . . . . Welcome to UAH =^) GOOOOOOO CHARGERS!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Living at home can significantly help the college bill along with places to eat that are available on and near campus. Just like any other college, there are charges I wonder where they are being applied, but it still costs less than other 4-year colleges. The question when picking a college to attend comes down to do you want to pay for the experience or do you want to pay for your education?

    Am enjoying being here

    GO CHARGERS! UAH has been a great college experience for me. There are many events you can attend such as W.O.W. (Week Of Welcome), dances, concerts, sports events, and many academic clubs you can join to enhance your learning experience in whatever major you are in.

    Am learning a lot

    If I could describe UAH in one word, I would have to choose 'challenging'. This college encourages you to become the best you can be. You learn the material well and it sticks!

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i went through the admitted student program, and i had fun on campus all night. the magic show was great, and my host was really energetic. i can't wait to start in the fall!

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always around and keeping an eye on the safety & well being of the students.

    Greek Life

    several. with a greek row & some nice living facilities.

    Clubs and Activities

    sports, sororities, fraternities, religious groups

    Great for these types of students

    any

    Bang for the buck

    i am from massachusetts, so the cost of this school is peanuts compared to what i am used to. if you live off campus and are taking a full time course load the total cost of tuition and fees is between $3,000 and $4,000 per semester.

    What to do for fun

    there are many things to do in rocket city. on campus there is occasionally some type of event going on, such as a concert, sporting event, campus wide competition etc. they are improving on their campus activities & student involvement.

    Food and Dining

    the options for meals on campus monday- friday, 9am- 6pm are wide and vast. there are many options to choose from and they even have a convenience store on campus to get your basic essentials. the weekends are rough. none of the cafe's are open, the only thing open is papa johns & the convenience store & the cafeteria ... and not even all weekend. only one day each. be prepared on friday night to have food in your dorm or apartment for the next 2 days

    Dorm Life

    i have a few friends who lived on campus and enjoyed it very much. the dorms are suit-style so everyone has their own bedroom and are relatively well kept and clean. the resident advisors are usually pretty great. the guest policy is a little rigid but not intolerable.

    Academic Rigor

    it is an engineering school, i am a business major. the various majors offered at uah are more challenging that at other institutions due to the fact that as an engineering school the requirements are higher all around. the math & science load is heavy. though professors are great and a great education is what you will get.

    Tips for prospective students

    live on campus at least your first year. i was a transfer & lived off campus and it was much more difficult to be involved and meet people when you are off-campus. use the library, take advantage of it when its open, and absolutely study.

    In three sentences

    it is a academically challenging university. it lacks activities to get students more involved in campus life, as well as hours of operation for dining services & the library are not ideal. it has a beautiful campus and many opportunities for post-college careers.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't that great. There is a papa johns on campus along with a chick-fil-a. The Papa John's isn't very good there pizza has always been disappointing to me.

    Academic Rigor

    it is challenging but not so difficult that it is impossible.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are not a lot of campus safety problems at UAH. The only one that sticks out is the recent problems with biker safety. There have been various reports of bikers getting hit by traveling cars on the cross walk, as of now there are no circulating solutions to solve this problem

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities on campus. However, half of them are inactive or have dwindling membership. Though this is typical at UAH, the campus does offer opportunities for people to start their own clubs if they choose

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Gamer/ Anime fan/Comic book fan UAH is the school for you. They are always having some type of Human vs. Zombies game, Nerf wars, and comic cons, on campus. You will definitively find your home at UAH for these type of activities

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do on campus. You may not like all of the activities, but there will be at least one thing that you are interested in. Also there are eating restaurants, malls, and other attractions surrounding campus for people to get into.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe gets old after a while. The food is less than appetizing. If you do not have enough chargers bucks to go to chick fila, papa johns, or the deli than going out to eat or fixing dinner will be your alternative. Other than that food and Dinning is okay

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. There is always something to do because of the residential advisors. Also everyone has their own individual rooms rather you are living in a studio or a Suite

    Academic Rigor

    UAH academics are tedious. The some classes are hard and some are not, but with any class you take the work load is going to be tedious. So it is mandatory that you pay attention in class

    Tips for prospective students

    All incoming freshman should pass Charger Success, it is a giveaway credit class, the only way you can fail is if you don't show up. If you fail Charger Success you are pathetic. All Freshman should pass their first year classes with flying colors , freshman year will be your ONLY easy year. And whatever you do, DO NOT live in CCRH dorm

    In three sentences

    Overall I enjoyed the Campus. The people were friendly, the living condition were nice, and classes were reasonable. However, I am thinking about transferring because UAH is a technology based college and I am a liberal arts student, there are just not enough opportunities for my major.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on around campus. Each dorm also has a multitude of programs going on within them.

    Food and Dining

    No lie, The Cafe could be better. At the least it will keep you regular... Not many places outside of The Cafe to eat on campus but there are tons of restaurant within walking distance, not to mention the Papa Johns and Chic-Fil-A on campus

    Dorm Life

    Always a diverse group of people. There's no way you won't find a place to fit in.

    Academic Rigor

    You have got to do the work here! Don't be afraid thoguh, the school is filled with teacher who actually care about you passing. If you fall behind just talk to your professor and he'll be sure to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to study, study study! This school is a lot of hard work but when applying for a job and having this school show up on your resume will put you ahead of the competition!

    In three sentences

    UAHuntsville is an intense school. Getting a degree from here shows you are a hard worker and you actually know how to approach problems from a logical point of view. Finishing here shows that you've got guts

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always available on campus.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Kappa Alpha Delta Zeta Alpha Tau Omega Delta Chi Pi Kappa Alpha Sigma Nu

    Clubs and Activities

    More than 100 clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who motivate themselves by going against the best. Or want a personal setting in a classroom. Maybe someone who would rather have their professor know you personally by name rather than see you as a number.

    What to do for fun

    You can always get involved in school activities such as clubs and school wide games. There are also clubs, malls, and other places to go to in Huntsville.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and look into anything that interest you and what's even better is that someone will always be there to speak to you about it. All you have to do is ask.

    In three sentences

    It is a uniquely competitive and intelligence based university. It also provides a wide selection of interest for the students who are seeking to branch out more than their intended major. Sponsors from the surrounding areas allows the institute to provide a larger variety of interests and eventually potential work fields for students.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since the shooting there has been an increased police presence on campus.

    Greek Life

    Our sororities and frats aren't like your usual college's Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    . Students with no social life . Very smart students that live with their parents . Students who don't need financial aid or hav a 4.0

    Bang for the buck

    NO, the price of tuition is a joke. There have been points I wished I could have gotte a refund for the teacher I had in ome of my classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few groups that bring some activities to campus but don't count on hanging around campus every week after class.

    Food and Dining

    UAH has a really good cafeteria. With the $400 required meal plan you better use it. But, it's better than having to leave campus and go somewhere else to get food.

    Dorm Life

    Don't waste the $5,000 a year to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are better than some of the community colleges but I have had my fair share of bad teachers that simply don't care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider other options before committing to UAH. A lot of the buildings are out dated and are having constant maintenance work on them. The smell of the engineering building is terrible. There is zero college atmosphere at this school.

    In three sentences

    UAH is an alright school at best. Highly over priced with little to no scholarship opportunities. If you don't have a 4.0 gpa or are not considered in poverty do not waste your time applying for a scholarship.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is sidewalk and crosswalks all over. the only thing about campus is it's cut in half by two pretty busy streets. I wouldn't recommend walking across them, specifically at night.

    Greek Life

    Pretty average. Good if you like that kind of thing. Plenty to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can start you're own club but there are plnty you can join also. There is an awesome homecomming week as well as a week of welcome that is poppin'

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone here if you know where to look. The basketball, soccer,and softball teams rock, so if you like college sports go to those games because they're worth it. This school is good for engineers and science majors. There is also a pretty good nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Study in the Shelby center or in the library specifically during midterms and finals. If you can go to off campus bookstore to buy books but not to sell them. Keep books in mint condition unless you want to keep them.

    Bang for the buck

    Food-wise you will not be getting you money's worth unless you go to charger village.Dorm-wise it is convenient. you don't have to share a room. but its still not very spacious or clean for that matter.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports are probably the funnest part of college unless you join the Greek life. I am part of a religious group and we have one or two activities a week during summer and regular school semesters.

    Food and Dining

    Students only receive 4 options for dinning unless you consider vending machine snacks a meal.

    Dorm Life

    It is good if you can afford a good dorm otherwise you may be stuck in an uncomfortably small space around people you don't want to hear banging around at all hours of the night.

    Academic Rigor

    the ease of even 100 level classes seems a little too strenuous for the average student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get connected to some social group quick so you can receive help and advisement from other students. Figure out which teachers are the best by using ratemyteacher.com

    In three sentences

    other than the general response time for education advising and financial aid help to emials being absolutely terrible, I feel my college experience has been good. It seems that the administrators only want to suck as much money out of us pour college students as possible. Lastly if the tuition keeps going up i wont be able to afford to attend school here very much longer with or with out scholarship assistance.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life is booming! they have beautiful houses & are involved in a lot of good philanthropy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best tradition has got to be the MOON BUGGY RACES! the students in the engineering program build moon buggies and race them at the space & rocket center each spring.

    What to do for fun

    Huntsville is a large city with tons to do. There are, however, a plethora of campus activities to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    They have so many options & each student has a charger card they an use anywhere.

    Dorm Life

    I am not staying in dorms but from what I have seen & heard they are great!

    Academic Rigor

    They have amazing facilities and strong programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the student center and ask questions if you have them! If you can't go to the campus send an email. Administrators & coaches are more than accommodating.

    In three sentences

    They have an amazing academic program. Their athletics & coaches are super awesome. They have tons of resources available to all student & are more than willing to assist you!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have emergency boxes placed around campus, the campus police patrol, and an escort car will pick you up if you don't feel comfortable walking across campus at night. The dorms are extremely safe because of their guest check-in system.

    Greek Life

    Those in fraternities and sororities seem to love it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of active clubs to join. Participating in them makes the college experience even better!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a UAH statue that clubs and organizations paint in their own colors and themes.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events are always fun. We have hockey, basketball, soccer, baseball, softball, track, and volleyball. There are movie events, karaoke night, fun trips for free, music concerts and recitals, plays, and plenty more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was good my first year, but by my sophomore I was tired of it. We also have a Chick-fil-a, Papa John's, Sandellas, sub shop, and convince store. There are other fast food options near campus if you get tired of these.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm setup has each person in their own room, four rooms per suite, and two people sharing a toilet/shower/sink. The residence halls are constantly planning activities for residents to have fun and meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Core classes are certainly a step up from high school, but manageable. Be sure to form good study habits. The professors in the upper level classes mean business!

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus life is a little slow, but growing each year. Make sure you find clubs of organizations within your interests and be active in them! Learn to study!

    In three sentences

    UAHuntsville is a great school with dedicated faculty and staff. It is expanding to become more resident friendly university. I am 100% happy with my decision to attend UAH.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police do patrol the campus but everyone must use common sense.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Go to school and do your work. Then leave campus and enjoy other activities in huntsville, al.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome! There is a hotel on campus that has awesome food. They except student cards.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in a dorm so I cannot answer that question. I did stay in the apartments on campus and the greeks there get rowdy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be assertive and ask for what you want. Don't act stupid. Be mature and get your lesson. Don't offer your number to anyone who asks unless they are the type of person you honestly want to date or be friends with.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy my classes. My teachers offer alot of help and support! The staff at the University know alot about their jobs and can help guide students in the right direction.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something happening on campus. All you have to do is look around. There's posters and writings all over the place.

    Food and Dining

    For the meal plan deal you get, it is a good value and the cafeteria people are really nice.

    Dorm Life

    The only reason I did not give this a good star is because I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on who's teaching, like all classes, but always study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always select your advisor as soon as you are enrolled. Plan with your advisor a game plan towards graduation. Keep ties with them as they will be helpful in recommending you to other professors for classes.

    In three sentences

    For a rather large school, it has the feel of a small one. The professors are willing to help in any way they can. The organization of the buildings could use a little help.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Rushing has been very fun so far. A lot of the girls have messaged me on facebook. They talked to us about the community service and the time requirements. They can vary depending on how active you want to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 110 clubs and organizations on campus, and you can always start one if you want to. The people I've talked to say Blue Crew and ACE are the top clubs to join here.

    What to do for fun

    I am not really sure what to do yet, but a few of my friends from the area say that there is a lot of outdoorsy stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    The times that I ate at the caf were decent, but I definitely enjoyed the restaurant and pizza place more. Breakfast was my fav meal at the caferteria.

    Dorm Life

    My RA has planned a bi-weekly meeting for us, and I have met several people I will be staying in the building with through facebook. When I stayed at the dorms for admitted students day and orientation, it was nice! People are always jealous when I say I get my own bedroom and have to share a bathroom with only one person.

    Academic Rigor

    While I cannont say for sure what it is like, the class I was allowed to sit in on at admitted students day was great! They had great discussions and were involved most of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to get involved early! I have been accepted into the Honors Program and Aspire Program and have talked to several club presidents about joining. A lot of people say that college is boring without being active! Talk to your roomies now! I have been having great discussions about things that we have gotten and our personalities.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful, and the buildings are mostly modern. Orientation was a great experience, and I met some friends that I look forward to seeing soon. Being in the Liberal Arts program has given me lots of individual attention so far.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a plethera of campus police, so safety isnt much on an issue. They do like to give lots of parking tickets however.

    Greek Life

    Several greek houses on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    hockey, baseball, softball, soccer, cheerleading, pep band, wind ensemble to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Extremely bright students, or one with a lot of time on their hands.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of except for hockey.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very expensive. Seven credit hours this semester is going to cost me 4000.00. It's about 550.00 per credit hour. Book usually range somewhere around two to three hundred dollars, and you have to buy a parking decal for 120.00. They increase tuition every year. If you graduate from UAH though, you will be pick of the litter for a job.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things off campus for fun. Huntsville has 3 malls, the space and rocket center, and the botanical gardens.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very very expensive. The cafeteria is $6.00 for breakfast, 8 for lunch, and 10 for dinner. There are some fast food places on campus, but they are over priced as well. A combo from chick-fil-a is roughly 12 dollars, and sandella's is usually around 15 dollar a meal.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but there are always events going on for the students living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are VERY intense and require a lot of time and involvement. Some classes are easier and more relaxed. It depends on the teacher. They require a high GPA. Being below a 2.5 is frowned upon, and below 2.0 you may be expelled.

    Tips for prospective students

    KEEP COPIES OF EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!! UAH is bad about losing paperwork. They also will not let you receive more than 50,000 in loans for undergraduate studies (estimated cost of attendance is 22,000 per year), so be prepared to find alternate resources as well. Also, be prepared to study. UAH requires 2 hours of study for every hour you sit in a classroom.

    In three sentences

    UAH is a good school as far as academics, however is somewhat strict in other areas. They require an above average GPA, and I have had some hassles getting student loans. I give them an A in academics, but a C in administration.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering,nursing, and sciences

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight breakfast: its a get together for the student durring finals where the students gather in the cafeteria to win prizes to take a quick break from studying basically.

    What to do for fun

    it depends on what going on at the time

    Food and Dining

    Its good...various options

    Dorm Life

    Lots to do on campus. Dorm room are pretty good considering everyone gets their own bedroom, though you do share a common area.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be quite challenging if you dont study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to start out at. The classes are not overwhelmingly large so the professors know your name.

    In three sentences

    The University of Alabama - Huntsville is a a very diverse school. The school challenges and pushes you to do your best and more. In my opinion this school is considered a weed out school; only the strong survives.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on campus and emergency call posts throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    Amazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any student can start a club as long as they have 10 like minded people and it is approved.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone that is dedicated!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a UAH statue that students are allowed to paint and decorate how ever they want.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of free stuff, things to do, resources, and tutoring.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something new coming up. The first week is called Week Of Welcome (WOW) and they have parties, food, and tons of information everyday for a solid week! There is a game room, tennis court, disk golf course, gym, pool, and much more to do in free time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have no fear of approaching anyone for help. Keep all information organized and handy.

    In three sentences

    UAHuntsville is the friendliest and most helpful community of faculty and staff I've met on a college campus. The network of help and resources available make classes easy to pass. The students are accepting, relaxed, happy, and helpful.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of these but they are expensive.

    Clubs and Activities

    You look for it and they have it.

    Great for these types of students

    Science, math, enginnering. They don't offer edcuation classes for teaching-that I know of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can't say there are any except for the great research tradition and facilities.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say enough about UA in Huntsville. We don't have a football team here-have to go to Tuscaloosa for that, but there are plenty of other sports.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. I was worried about dorm life and thought I would be bored and was ready to go home every weekend. this is not the case. There are so many activities to make you feel welcome and part of the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food does not offer much variety. Mostly pizza, hamburgers and friend food. I'd like more variety and fruit.

    Dorm Life

    It's okay. I have three roommates who are all engineering majors. There are a lot of activities for Freshman. The 4 people suites are small but at least we all have private bedrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is academically challenging but the faculty is always ready to help you,

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to gain the Freshman 15. Cafeteria food is high in carbs. Lve on campus at least your first year. Use the library, take advantage of it when its open, and absolutely study.

    In three sentences

    it is a academically challenging university. it lacks activities to get students more involved in campus life, as well as hours of operation for dining services & the library are not ideal. it has a beautiful campus and many opportunities for post-college careers.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    For first year freshmen dorm life is never too easy especially when adjusting to a new environment. UAH helps students transition to university life through their residential communities. Even though all first year freshman students are required to live on campus for two academic-year semesters, UAH still offers fun programs to help those freshman adjust to their new surroundings.

    Academic Rigor

    Making sure that your grades are up is the number one thing this school is looking for. UAH requires all students to stay on top of their grades. This school also offers study clubs as well as academic fraternities and sororities that can aid you if needed. These clubs include The Young Black Engineer and many more.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who are thinking about attending UAH or any school for that matter the best advice to give to those students is to love what you want to do in life and be prepared to work for it. For example, the steps to become an Engineer requires heavy studying mostly in the math and science field. Always be prepared to work hard and have the strong determined passion to become what ever it is you want to do in life. These two main things will help you stay on track for your goal.

    In three sentences

    This school is an opportunity monument for those that are trying to make it in the engineering world. Not only is this school ranked number two in Alabama for its engineering program but because UAH has a space program in the school, in my opinion, i believe they have a better on hands approach in providing the right resources to our future engineers. This school is the utopia for not only future engineers but future scientists, future architects, and future drafting and designers.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here is really good. You can subscribe to alerts on your cell phone if there is an issue or if there is a weather alert.

    Greek Life

    I am not involve in Greek life at this time

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any clubs at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for engineering majors. There are a lot of business surrounding the area that use students for co-op.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a UAH sculpture that students can paint, decorate, etc. at night so that no one can see. Depending if you are in a sorority/fraternity, or any organization, you can make it to fit your group.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the exercise area is the best. There is so many things for different people. Also, there is a program that is called PASS that can help you with studying. The PASS tutors sit in on the class that you are taking and can help you study for it. The tutoring department is great.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. I live in the honors dorm and they routinely do fun things, like going bowling, scavenger hunts, etc. The work out center is awesome. They have different types of exercises for different types of people.

    Food and Dining

    Food is OK here. You will have to purchase a meal plan, even if you do not live on campus. The good thing is I have options on what I can eat. I can go for junk food or regular food, whatever I am in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    Its really great to be living in the dorm. I live about an hour away, but I'm really glad to be here. I have met many new friends and I have also had to learn to work out problems/situations on my own. I really do miss my family sometimes, though. At least I can call them up when I just need to talk.

    Academic Rigor

    You should always keep up to date on your work. Never put off any assignments. This school has definitely put my mind through a work out!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your instructors. Ask about scholarships and places to work. Be involved, especially with your roommates

    In three sentences

    This college is a great place to get your education and have a good social life while your at it. I have opportunity to make good friends and step outside my comfort zone. I have really had to put forth a strong effort on studying and keeping up with my work, but it makes me a better person mentally for it.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and many dining choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    UAHuntsville has a beautiful campus. There are many opportunities for research. Instructors are knowledgeable and caring.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really important here. There are always police riding around campus at all times of the day just to keep an eye on things and make sure everything is going smoothly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities and clubs to be apart of on this campus and the great thing about it is they have some organizations for every major. They have clubs only for the engineers and only for the drama majors, they have very versatile clubs. It's great.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually parties on campus on the weekends and some fun events going on during the week. Every Wednesday an organization called ACE, who are in charge of the enetertainment on campus, put on events for the students. They are always a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good! I usually go eat in the cafe and I've had a few disappointments but for the most part good quality food is served there. We also have a Chik-fil-A and Papa Johns on campus that you can use your charger bucks (dining dollars) to pay for it with which is awesome because who doesn't love Chik-fil-A and Papa Johns!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here if fun. I've lived in a dorm the three years I've been here and I've had no problems since. There is usually something fun and cool the RA's have in store for the residence every other day and you're closer to your peers so you can always go visit and hangout. Plus it's on campus so nothing is too far away.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I've stated before, the academics here are excellent. The curriculum is challenging and it will definitely make you think. Getting a 3.5 GPA here and up actually means something because you would have definitely had to work hard for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect this to be a walk in the park, since this is an academically based school you have to come here prepared to try your best or it wont be likely that you make it out. It's not super hard, but it's not easy because the curriculum is set to challenge you and that's exactly what it does. Of course, you can have fun just make sure you're on top of your studies as well.

    In three sentences

    This is a very academically based school. They are very good in trying to get you a job after college. They also have some of the most nicest and friendliest people here.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things on campus for fun set up by ACE. And there are also lots of movie theathers and malls around.

    Food and Dining

    Papa Johns, Chick-fil-a and the cafe. Not all are bad choices.

    Dorm Life

    Low rating only because its expensive. Much cheaper to live off campus and commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are good and informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an Engineering and Science based College. Anything other than that sometimes has a hard time getting their classes. Liber Arts students especially.

    In three sentences

    UAH is a wonderful institution. Parking sometimes sucks, but the classes are always informative. Everyone is always super helpful and nice and makes you feel welcome.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Soooo many possibilities for students to get involved and get industry experience before making it to the 'real' world

    What to do for fun

    I personally don't have much time to myself since I am over-involved in the Space Hardware Club working on future satellites and rockets that will reach altitudes of 100,000 feet.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good but can get slightly repetitive if you are not willing to try something new every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome! The living communities really help you make life long friends in your first few weeks on campus.

    In three sentences

    An awesome campus with lots of spirit! Academics can be absolutely awesome when in the right major. There is ALWAYS something going on around campus if you look hard enough.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrols the area 24/7 and every parking lot and near a building had an emergency police phone booth where you just press a button and police comes withing minutes. You can't miss this booth it is tall and lit up blue.

    Greek Life

    All Sorority and Fraternities are available

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association, Honors Society, International club, CRU (Christian club), Sorority, Fraternity, and a bunch of other clubs you could join.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for student who want to succeed and have a good challenge in their undergraduate or graduate degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They do have a foam party which I thought was unusual a lot of people kept losing their flip-flops from what I heard and ended up going home barefoot or with someone else flip-flop.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is something you don't want to miss out. The school looks big, but everything is withing walking distance. They had great companies that came out to the career fair. If you like sports we have a good basketball team and other sports available. You can even make your own team to play a sport at the beginning of the semester with your friends.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations. They also go on trips if you like outdoors they had a kayaking trip in the beginning of my semester. All of the students are nice and easy going so it is not hard to make friends. If you are religious they have a protestant group and a baptist group. They have bible studies, parties, grills, game nights, and a bunch of other stuff that they do together.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is basically a buffet of foods you pay when you enter and eat as much as you want. They have a couple of restaurants outside the cafeteria if you rather eat healthy. The food here is terrific. I would say the food is normal pricing, but to eat in the cafeteria it is rather cheap.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is right on campus is a fair price and you can meet many students of different backgrounds.

    Academic Rigor

    This school challenges each and every student. The teachers job is to make you uncomfortable but not too uncomfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete all of your assignment in your classes including extra credit assignments. If there is a subject you are not good in there is tutoring available for free.

    In three sentences

    This school has allowed me to challenge myself academically. There are many clubs and organizations available to all students attending University of Alabama in Huntsville. The goal of this University is to challenge students to succeed for their futures.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cemetery behind Morton Hall. Morton Hall itself is a very old building, especially compared to the rest of campus, considering it was the first building for classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to UAH would mean an investment in your education. The teachers are willing to help you out if they see that you are trying. There are many clubs that are fun and others that are more informative in nature, such as the anime club and the green club. This leads to many opportunities to build leadership skills as well as a network.

    What to do for fun

    One can participate in intramural sports such as ultimate frisbee, softball, and other sports.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of places that one could eat at on campus. The general consensus is that the food at the cafeteria is a little less than perfect, though.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs make an effort to make sure residents are entertained and fed through the variety of programs they have.

    Academic Rigor

    While many of the freshman-level courses are basically cupcake classes, many of the upper-level courses are not. Sometimes, even junior-level classes are harder and have a more of a workload than senior-level classes, though this could depend on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    One should have good credentials.

    In three sentences

    UAH has a very welcoming environment. Be prepared to work hard and be challenged. It is cool.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are twelve campus cop cars that are constantly patrolling the campus. I have never heard of any criminal activities going on at the campus, aside from petty theft. There is also a school bus that runs routes and is available for any student who is afraid to walk at night.

    What to do for fun

    There are many options for fun activities. There is a gym on campus that includes a pool and many exercise classes and a basketball court. There are many school related activities that happen during the week, including salsa dancing, bake sales, sports games, movie and game nights, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge variety of food options at the campus. There is a building that includes a chic-fil-a, papa johns, boar's head, and a convience store. There is also a cafeteria located on the campus that serves a variety of foods throughout the week. The tables are always kept clean and there is plenty of seating.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is excellent. The rooms are plenty big enough and their is plenty of furniture. There is only one front desk in the dorms so that there is maximum security. Every student must show their student ID to ensure that people will not enter the dorm that aren't supposed to. There is also a sensor on the doors that must be activated with a student ID.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at the University of Alabama in Huntsville are pretty challenging, but not so much that they would run you off from the school. The instructors make sure that they explain what they expect from you in the course, which makes it easier to understand what lies ahead of you. Some of the instructors scale their grades at the end of the semester if they feel that their course was too harsh on the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is don't be afraid to ask questions. Every staff member is always willing to do their best to answer your question. Also, make sure you see an advisor because it is too confusing to try to plan your schedules by yourself. Finally, I recommend going to class because there is so much information that you could miss out on by not attending a class.

    In three sentences

    The University of Alabama in Huntsville has been very welcoming. Every staff member is so willing to go out of their way just to help a student that has a question or a request. The university is always updating their campus to keep it looking really clean and professional.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Several options.

    Academic Rigor

    Known for aerospace engineering and nursing.

    In three sentences

    A young school with a feeling of new. Right in the heart of Space country.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Aside from the numerous campus activities, the community has 5 theater groups, a professional ballet, a symphony, and several arts related community events all year round. There are several running, hiking, and cycling groups in the city. This is Tech Mecca of the South, which means that GREAT internships are available! After all, NASA calls this its main home.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a transfer, engineering student. My instructors are extremely approachable. I do spend all my time in engineering, math and science, so I cannot speak to the rest of the departments. My humanities were completed before transferring in.

    Tips for prospective students

    UAH is in a city that has everything you could possibly want right at your doorstep.

    In three sentences

    As a non-traditional, transfer student, I have found the university to be both approachable and enriching. The transfer process was simple and seamless. Also, I love the fact that it is a very diverse campus with people from all over the country.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, Nurses, any kind of Chemistry or Biology major.

    In three sentences

    This school is very challenging academically, but the professors and employees are willing to work with you and help you when you need it. Compared to other schools I have been to, I like the staff here the best. The tuition is expensive, however, but worth it in my opinion.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are over 14 police officers that patrol the campus at UAH in order to keep students safe and the laws enforced.

    Bang for the buck

    Huntsville is also home to the NASA space center for those students who may be interested in touring off campus locations.

    What to do for fun

    Like many colleges, UAH has a multitude of student run organizations which include academics, sporting activities, extracurricular opportunities, religious affiliations and performing arts! If UAH doesn't have a club that a student wishes to participate in, forming a club on campus is a cinch. If you are a sports fan, during the season students can attend and cheer on their charger hockey and basketball players! Go big blue! The on campus recreational facility also offers students a comfortable and inclusive workout atmosphere including weight equipment, a full size gymnasium and an Olympic scaled swimming pool! If you're more of a team player, intramural sports take place year round at various on campus field locations.

    Food and Dining

    Whether you prefer dining in the cafeteria with other students or getting something on the go, UAH has unbeatable options! The Cafeteria serves up a meaty and vegetarian menu at every meal, allowing flexibility for students with dining needs. The campus also contains a Chick-fil-a, Papa Johns, Starbucks, and other desirable meal options; including a Dunk and Donuts coming in 2014! In choosing a meal option, most students prefer option number two which gives them 14 meals in the cafeteria and $125 charger bucks to use at any of the on campus food providers.

    Dorm Life

    The Central Campus residence hall is the BEST choice for new or prospective students planning to live on campus. The themed floors, such as the engineering floor, in this hall offer different student majors an opportunity to get involved with other students pursuing similar degrees. If you're planning to major in a medical profession or are enrolled with the Honor Society at UAH, Frank Frantz Hall is just as inviting! This hall offers honors students dorms with a newer and more modern look than in the Central Campus hall along with the opportunity to meet and live with senior students at UAH. The suite style designed rooms house four students, each with their own individual and lockable rooms. There are two bathrooms in each suite of four and a lounge area for those students to hang out and view the beautiful campus out of a main window.

    Academic Rigor

    Being that most students attending UAH are engineering or medical major students, there are going to be challenging courses to complete. Endurance and professionalism are the keys to success the first two years of college while getting the preliminary foundation classes out of the way. The student help center is a great resource to find tutoring and academic help and the advanced students are often paired up with lower class students who may be struggling with a course that the senior student has already passed. Challenging? Yes. Achievable? Definitely!

    Tips for prospective students

    You've made the right choice in applying to UAH and congratulations on your acceptance! Be sure to keep up with all the enrollment procedures before attending Week of Welcome including checking your student email account regularly. After attending orientation you'll have the knowledge and skills necessary to complete your registration for classes, choose your meal options, and finalize your housing application. Best of luck and I look forward to seeing you at UAH! GO CHARGERS!

    In three sentences

    The University of Alabama in Huntsville is a resplendent campus with a vibrant student life and myriad of engaging opportunities! Faculty and students enjoy access to the university's vast library collection. The offices on campus, especially the student center, are great resources for assistance in a broad array of circumstances.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing really. Campus parties are ok.

    Food and Dining

    It's ok all in all

    Dorm Life

    Fun!!

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Good luck. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Very hard school. College experience is not a big deal.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a great education, wants to be involved, and have help for any situation, UAHuntsville is the place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing I thought was unusual at UAHuntsville was that they don't have a football team, but instead they have hockey!

    What to do for fun

    In college, balancing fun and schooling is important socially, mentally and physically. The college provides weekly notice of sports and other events that are happening around the school so that the students and the community can be involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    The students who are thinking about coming to UAHuntsville, drive or walk the campus, talk to financial aid office, and come to some events provided by the college. The cost for this college is one of the lowest in Alabama, aside for community colleges. There are many opportunities for help with classes, getting career set up and helping to find what you'd like to become. The most important thing to focus on for this college is deadlines: application, financial aid, payments, and of course course work. In terms of books, you can order from the school and the off-campus bookstore; however, renting books from online (Skyo, Valorebooks,etc) are often cheaper.

    In three sentences

    The college is not just focused one major over the other, but equally represented on all majors. With so many majors, comes a great diversity of people, including different ethnicities, and are encouraged and welcomed at the college. It is so welcoming with the excellent staff, the nature-preserved campus, and everything being in walking distance.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, entertainment, you name it.

    Food and Dining

    This place has excellent food. Many opportunities for selection. Prices arent bad either!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent there. It is clean and neat, like a fancy apartment building. Excellent living quarters. Most amazing dorm ever.

    Academic Rigor

    This has been academic programs you can choice from. Engineering is what they are famous for. Being so close to a military base this school has fantastic opportunities to help you succeed. They are famous for Nursing and Business as well. It is a great thing to have this school on your resume. Very Diverse school and excellent opportunity!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have great organizational skills. This school helps you in a great way but make sure you do your part.

    In three sentences

    I think that the University of Alabama at Huntsville is a fantastic campus. It has all kinds of resources to help you in your journey. It has more opportunities for Scholarships, food, advancement, and clubs. This College has earned a fantastic rating and many people know exactly what it is and where it is from miles around.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are everywhere and the station is located in the parking deck, so parking there is very safe. Blue post are located all around campus as well for safety.

    Greek Life

    Not greek, but friends with tons of greeks. They accept everyone and there is always someone like you in the greek life. Can go greek at any time not just a freshman thing. Even if you are not greek like me, they still accept you and will still be your friend.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons and tons of clubs and can make your own if you have 10 people or more.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, nursing, and business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    High Five Friday everyone wears blue and gives high fives all day. UAH rock is a big concrete UAH logo that you can paint on at anytime. So if you feel like doing graffiti but do not want to vandalize anything just go spray paint or regular paint the UAH rock.

    Bang for the buck

    You will pay a little more for such a small school, but will definitely get your education out of it.

    What to do for fun

    ACE host events every Wednesday that are free and hilarious usually. Greek life, sporting events are always free. Hockey games are a blast even if you do not care for hockey.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is growing. A few fast food places on campus; hopefully to gain more through out the years.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun! Have a ton of activities to keep you from getting bored and also not a single dorm is a community dorm. Have your own bedroom and share one bathroom with one person.

    Academic Rigor

    A very hard school, but definitely worth it in the end. Will enter the real world knowing more than just a subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Will learn math without a calculator, so do not get use to one. Will become close with your entire class rather than a few people and teachers as well.

    In three sentences

    You will not party much; however, you will learn more at this university than anywhere else. After leaving my sophomore year; I quickly returned in one semester because I enjoyed learning my way through college rather than cheating through it. I will enter the real world knowing more than most average students.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Greek Life

    Not really sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of Clubs. I can't even name them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love Fried Chicken Wednesdays!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive

    What to do for fun

    Always things happening on campus!

    Food and Dining

    GREAT CHOICES!

    Dorm Life

    EXPENSIVE!

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of campus police. They LOVE to write tickets!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. There are lots of things to do on campus. Classes are difficult.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply before the priority deadline in order to be eligible for merit scholarships.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school with a beautiful campus, serene atmosphere and friendly students. Ideally good for business and engineering, but other majors find success here as well. Tuition isn't too bad and the education is good.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I've been there several times for various reasons. The campus is really nice, but overall not for someone looking for a small more personal school.