Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Alaska Fairbanks Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UAF is a very active campus. Alaska in general is not for a city person but Fairbanks the town itself is a good environment for school because there isn't a huge night life. Someone that loves the outdoors, friendly people and a new definition of cold would love UAF!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for anyone entering college: I was the type of student in high school that did not study for a test ever, just showed up to class and as long as I took a few important notes down I would be fine and pass with flying colors, it came naturally. Well in college it changes, a lot! what you cover in class is what most people have questions on and then the rest you have to teach yourself by studying the text, bad for me, I didn't know how to study, but there were a lot of resources available at UAF!! I strongly recommend you take advantage of them!! They are free and help so much!!

    Bang for the buck

    This question is deceiving, your education, yes you get what you pay for but when it comes to housing, its horrible! I like that there are on sight washers and dryers and how everything a student would need is within walking distance but I did not like how small the shared rooms were or the fact that if living in a dorm room, you are required to buy a meal plan.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first I disliked everything about UAF, as most freshman and new students feel kind of lost, well UAF did an amazing job of making sure there was always some kind of activity going on, on campus- intramural sports, poetry slams, music department always has concerts, movie nights, dances, fun mixers- and that there was always an available staff member to assist with absolutely ANYTHING! After the first couple weeks I loved the people, environment and how things worked around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Although all of the classes i have taken at UAF ( engineering based as well as a few rec) have been very enlightening and I personally feel you get the level of teaching you sign up for- 100, 200 level classes- I have heard from more than one east coast person that they don't feel challenged enough.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UAF is great for engineering and undergraduate research, as well as music, language, and education. If you LOVE the outdoors and enjoy hiking, camping, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snow machining, or ice climbing, the outdoors program here is amazing and has trips almost every week to take advantage of all of these opportunities. Also, if the cold is Too cold for you, it's a short drive over to the hot springs. Just... try to forget about all of the ice everywhere =P

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the cold weather. You can always add more clothes whereas down south you can only take off so many. If you're looking for cold, or for a very unique experience, UAF is the place to be. Also, what will all of your friends back home think when you say, Yeah, you're going to Yale, but I'm going to Alaska!

    Bang for the buck

    Being an in-state resident here makes UAF really affordable. I'm paying the university (in advanced of course) $11.40 every hour I'm in class, which is really cheap comparatively. For out of state students I believe the cost per credit hour is $161 while for in-state is $141 (Undergraduate class rates). Either way, UAF receives millions of dollars in funding by both state and federal sources to do undergraduate and graduate research projects, and to give to its students as scholarships. UAF is primarily an engineering school and has many opportunities for funded projects and cold-climate housing sustainability retrofitting. In addition to just the class costs, it is affordable to live and eat on-campus, and the fee for the gym (which I use very often as well as the ice rink and the swimming pool) is really cheap for the semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    My time at UAF so far has been nothing less than enjoyable. It was strange when snow first fell in the third weekend of September, but it quickly warmed up to 40 degrees for a week or two. Now (almost the winter solstice), the sun rises at 11:30 and sets at 2, and the average temperature is a tad cold at 30 below zero, but you walk into a building and the first thing you feel is a rush of hot air being provided by ceiling heaters! The food here is fairly decent. Being allergic to eggs, I find breakfasts a little challenging, but fruits, cereals, and yogurts are always available. For lunches and dinners, I have noticed that the vegetarian food is often better than the normal people food like the burgers, pizza, and rice. They have specialty meats every Sunday, which is a welcoming gesture to the students. Ohh! And the soft-serve machine is amazing!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a current student at UAF studying foreign languages. I am taking Russian, Spanish and French right now, and you can probably imagine how difficult it is to keep them all straight. I often hear from my Spanish teacher tell me I have a Russian accent in Spanish! Well, with all of these languages running around up there, I often find myself in one of my professors' offices trying to sort things out! All of the professors are willing to help out-of-class and are incredibly dedicated to their students whenever they need assistance. The three language classes I am taking are 101 (except 201 Russian) and are all conducted in the target language. Anybody who's ever taken a language knows that listening comprehension, that is to say - knowing where one word ends and another begins when listening - is one of the hardest parts of languages and being able to reproduce them.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is probably best for those going into engineering and liberal arts. Both programs are very strong and there's lots of opportunities with both choices. Also, students who are willing to experience more than just book-smarts will have a great time.

    Tips for prospective students

    UAF has lots of opportunities. There's tons of groups and clubs to join, you get your daily work out if you live on campus without a car, if you stay in Moore remember that some people ignore quiet hours with loud blasting music and occasional screaming, do your homework and study, ... and ... don't become a hermit. Don't sit in the dorms all winter just because it's cold. Get some friends! Go out and meet people! Doing that not only gets the stress off your shoulders but the new people you meet can sometimes help you with homework or start study groups. Totally worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, UAF isn't exactly the most expensive college out there or anything ... but that doesn't mean it's cheap! I do have to say that it's definitely worth the money to come here. Although, if you're from out of state that can completely change everything as it's really expensive to fly in from somewhere.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at the university of Fairbanks. It is very close to my home, so if I get homesick, I'm right there. Along with that, a lot of the time Fairbanks is warmer than Delta. Not always, but most of the time. Also, I am one of those people that try to stay away from drugs and alcohol and found that it's not difficult to avoid such things at this campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am only a freshman at the university of Alaska, Fairbanks; this being my first semester. Although I've only had this much experience, I'd have to say that I have learned so much. Not only book-smarts, but I have also learned many other important things, such as what it's like being on your own, being an adult, making sure that I keep to my word, avoid the bad stuff, and how to deal with the climate. This university is perfect for shaping someone into a tough person both intellectually, common sense, and life-long experiences.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider the weather if walking from class to class. Also make sure to visit before deciding. Make sure they have the degree you want.

    Bang for the buck

    UAF is very affordable. I looked at other schools and had to rule them out because of tuition. You definitely get your moneys worth here.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is home for me, so it is more of a comfort thing. I do feel that we have a lot to do such as student life and I feel we have a nice campus. The cold weather can be a downfall when walking from class to class.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a current student at UAF studying Chemistry Forensics. While I have only taken my general requirement classes, I feel that a majority of the classes are very well planned out and teach new information. Some of the classes are easy to pass with little time involved. Overall the professors do a great job.

  • 11/19/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 11 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, most colleges much more expensive.

    Did enjoy being here

    Wish they had heated walkways between buildings & a parking garage.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Research-oriented. Winter enthusiasts. Students that like small college towns. Self-directed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the accreditation, if the school isn't accredited in the program you want, it's not for you. The winters can be harsh, stay active; go hiking, camping, ice climbing, to the gym or pool. Take one recreation class a semester, college should be fun. Get adequate sleep, studies show it improves performance and efficiency. Find something constructive you can do that makes you happy, I enjoyed gourmet cooking, breakdancing (a class is offered and should be taken), slacklining (court 3 has posts for it), and snowshoe running. Realize that you determine your education, its quality and its value. If things get overwhelming, step back, give yourself a day or two of f*ckits and get back to it. Finally, if a university isn't for you, look at other options.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering that students pay out-of-state tuition here and it can be cheaper than in-state tuition at home, I would say the school is affordable. Not all of the classes are perfect, not all of the professors are mind-blowing deities, but if that is what one expects from another person they will always be disappointed. I did not have any professor that was bad. Most researching professors are extremely interested in helping students get involved in research. Also, I really enjoy that three years after a class, a professor I had and didn't really interact with an exceptional amount remembered me, my name and was interested in my progress and goals (and how they had changed).

    Did enjoy being here

    It was difficult at first. Mostly, the only thing that ever stopped me from having a truly terrific time was my own attitude. When one realizes just how amazing it is to be in such an environment, a lot of the BS drops away. I, and anyone attending any college, is an incredibly fortunate individual. I never felt entitled to it which helped me enjoy the school, the people and the harsh environment (on a side note, the summers are beyond compare).

    Did learn a lot

    Yes, I learned a great deal while attending UAF. Sadly, I really only got into the swing of things in my last couple years. This is not to say that I slacked off during the first years, I merely mean that I did not start directing my own education and owning the school until the end. All of the professors I had were very willing to help me, but I had to put forth the effort to ask for guidance in shaping my education. Because of the small size of this school, it is very possible to interact with professors and perform research in their labs...if you ask and let them know.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Be active.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never talk to Student Employment. They were the only people who were never very helpful. If you want information about jobs then go to the uakjobs website. Student Employment will just direct you there anyways

    Bang for the buck

    UAF has been very helpful with finding the right classes for me. They are willing to answer all of my questions and to direct me to people who know about what I am asking. As a homeschool student, this has been very helpful for me.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have always loved the scenery and the quiet in Alaska. Fairbanks is a beautiful city and has a very nice university campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I am going to be a History major. I believe that UAF will help me to learn a lot and help me to pursue the stuff that I want to do the most.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't seen any crimes in my time being here and the officers are good people.

    Clubs and Activities

    i haven't had too much time to look into the clubs, but there are a lot here on campus and they provide useful information. there's even a quidditch club if you like running around on a broom.

    Great for these types of students

    biking to campus is great, and in the winter the campus rents winterized bikes. there's also plenty of space for jogging.

    What to do for fun

    there are all kinds of events held on campus, and in the winter there is a great sledding spot by the gym.

    Food and Dining

    people who live on campus have to get a meal plan, there is no other option. most say the food isn't that great but its better than nothing. there are other places on campus for those who don't like the campus food, such as subway, pizza luna, taco bell, and a sushi place.

    Dorm Life

    the rooms are small, but you have high-speed internet, cable tv, local phone access, and a great bus system for getting around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the science classes can get difficult fast and have a bunch of online homework assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    use the computer labs or the math lab, they're great places.

    In three sentences

    this campus is great and the bus system is a plus for those without vehicles. the hot summers are nice and the cold winters not that bad if you dress warmly.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1) The application process is pretty simple and doing it online doesn't take long at all, 2) never be afraid to contact the University and ask for help if you get lost in paperwork (it's a life-saver and people are really helpful), and 3) start looking for a very good parka if you decide to go.

    Bang for the buck

    By far the most affordable University that I considered attending.

    Will enjoy being here

    People are extremely friendly here. It helps that I'll already have plenty of friends attending, but even if you don't know anyone it's considered to be the University of Alaska campus with the most active student-community. That is, it's widely-considered to be the UA campus where students interact with each other the most and are highly involved in day-to-day campus activities, so it's easy to make friends. I have been to Fairbanks in the winter, and yes, it's COLD –– but bearable. I'm also extremely excited about the variety of student activities that are available.

    Will learn a lot

    I first took classes at UAF through a (highly recommended) summer bridge program held at the University called the Rural Alaska Honors Institute. It was the best summer of my life and completely worth the summer and the effort. It's a good University and offers classes with fairly decent content. RAHI was an advanced, accelerated learning environment so I don't expect college there to be quite as extreme, but am looking forward to a worthwhile academic experience nonetheless. I plan on transferring to another University after my freshman year, but that's partly because I want to go to a school with a broader Political Science program, and largely because I want to be farther away from home for college.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is located seconds away from the dorm rooms and all the streets are well-illuminated. Students don't have to be concerned about safety on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    UAF has over 100 active clubs and plenty of activities on campus. From intramural sports to dancing clubs there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is adventurous and looking to do something completely different than the rest of the students in their graduating class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After enduring -40 F temperatures and as little as 3 hours of sunlight the during winter months, students at UAF welcome spring with open arms. This celebration is Spring Fest. There are no classes on the last Friday in April, and the students engage in all sorts of outdoor activities.

    Bang for the buck

    UAF is an affordable University with plenty of scholarship and Financial Aid opportunities. Your money goes far, since UAF provides students will small class sizes, one-on-one time with professors, and access to numerous on-campus facilities.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do for fun in Fairbanks? In the summer, go rock climbing, canoeing, fishing, kayaking, hiking, or just enjoy the never-setting sun. In the winter, fight off cabin fever by ice climbing, mountaineering, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, sledding, or hanging out with friends at the on-campus Pub.

    Food and Dining

    Not only is there a Pub on campus, but there are also three food-dining services. From salads to hamburgers to Thai food, UAF has a wide range of services to satisfy hungry students. The large food court is located at the bottom of a hill, so be prepared for a hike back up to main campus to burn off that freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms always have activities going on for students. There is a store located in the entry way, so feel free to wear your pajamas when picking up late night snacks. When you first move in, be prepared to see friendly faces waiting to welcome you.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes and highly qualified, unique professors make academic life at UAF difficult and rewarding. Be prepared to be challenged to think outside the box. UAF professors come from all over the world, to share their vast knowledge and offer students incredible experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what degree fields interest you, and if you can't decide talk with an adviser to get an idea of where to start. In addition, be sure to take full advantage of the numerous scholarship opportunities UAF has to offer. Don't be worried about making new friends, since all the students at UAF are extremely welcoming and have diverse backgrounds.

    In three sentences

    To say the least, UAF is a unique, culturally diverse University. Fairbanks has opportunities available for students that no other university can offer (ice climbing, anyone?). Small class size and a community atmosphere make UAF the perfect place to call home.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is decent, some days are much better then others. variety is lacking. in addition to the commons a number of place around town accept bear bucks which come with the meal plan and you can spend them instead of eating at the commons.

    Academic Rigor

    the introductory classes are just that, introductory. their are harder classes as you progress and many of the professors are top notch. research opportunities are everywhere for students that want them, even as freshman. go beyond the easy classes and you can learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are willing to live in alaska. you either love the weather or hate it and if you hate it you can't escape it. that isn't saying the weather is unbarable. even in the coldest days people do things outside, have parties inside, stay active. if you love the city and love the warm weather this might not be the best.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of extra-curricular activities provided--sledding, skiing, a recreation center for basketball, soccer, volleyball. the students are also provided free bus passes throughout the whole semester. therefore, going downtown to go bowling, enjoying a dinner, going to the movies and so much more is very much an option.

    Food and Dining

    the system that is set up is really very impressive.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life for the majority of the students is average. the university does great with coping with the weather and supplies the students with, basically, everything necessary.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the major, the academic performance expected varies. compared to major universities, this one is pretty lenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    the university is a great place.

    In three sentences

    it is very cold but the university acknowledges that and work to make sure every individual is warm and cozy. the university is really great. everyone is very welcoming.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    this place is great for someone who doesn't like really warm places this place is just right. it is great for the adventurous and the people who are outdoorsy and like to play. also for people who want to learn as well.

    Bang for the buck

    i think i am getting what i really need from the college right now and i am enjoying myself, learning a lot and just having fun with my life.

    What to do for fun

    there is mud volleyball, frisbee golf, hocky, and many other fun things to do. it depending on the season skiing, snowboarding and sleding. or if your an indoorsy type person you can curl up with a book anywhere, there is bowling alley on campus and pool. if over 21 there is also a pub.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good you will get many different choices. you can make sugestions and if you have allergies they will adjust food for you.

    Dorm Life

    nice dorms a bit small but comfy, safe and warm.

    Academic Rigor

    has many great opportunities for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    prepare for cold and snow fun.

    In three sentences

    can be challenging.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one location i would like to share is the university museum. it has wonderful facts and art of alaska.

    What to do for fun

    for fun, i observe the annual ice sculpting competition they have ever year. go for a walk under the northern lights, and attend the native yupik dancing.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would have to advise you to bring your winter gear!

    In three sentences

    the university of alaska fairbanks is often freezing below 0. it has one of the few states in the united states teaching the native language of alaska. therefor because i am interested in my native language i rate this university as a ten.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are miles of hiking/skiing trails. there is the student rec center for indoor sports on those cold days. also, there is a game room located in the campus center.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the cafeteria can be better. but there are other dining options and restaurants located throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    the ra's are awesome! not too chill and not too strict. they regularly hold social events every week, games, movies, zombie survival, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor depends on how many credits you take per semester. some take 12 (the minimum) and some take 17+. take what you feel comfortable taking

    Tips for prospective students

    bring warm clothes. also, -51 degree temperatures not as bad as it sounds.

    In three sentences

    just. plain. awesome!

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    what is there to do for fun?

    Food and Dining

    how is the food ? how big is the dining facility?

    Dorm Life

    how is dorm life?

    Academic Rigor

    i have no idea

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is good if you wont to get away from your parents

    In three sentences

    UAF looks like a nice school to attend. I can't wait for chance to visit.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the cold, snow, clouds, nature, diversity, and physical activities will like it here.

    What to do for fun

    Spit in -50 degrees and watch it shatter as it hits the ground. Cross country skiing is fun and inexpensive to students if you rent skis at the Outdoor Adventures found in the Wood Center. There is one movie theater in the whole city of Fairbanks, but there is another one on the outskirts of town, if you can stand watching a movie in a barn. Chena Hot Springs is about an hour's drive from Fairbanks and is fun to go to in the winter to feel the extreme differences of temperature and watch your hair freeze. The Ice Park exhibits cool sculptures, literally, and the Pioneer Park offers mechanical engineering porn with its engines and whatnot. On campus, there is a gym of sorts. . . with a rock climbing wall. The Northern Lights are often very visible any time between December and February (about), although you might have to stay up a little late in the cold (or in a warm vehicle) to see them.

    Food and Dining

    Many would suggest that you bring things to cook with, but I honestly believe that the food at the cafeteria is not that bad, although weekend meals are atrocious. It's all you can eat buffet style, but there is also a place where you can order something. There are many places you can eat around campus, too, such as Taco Bell, a grill, and a pizza joint all in the Wood Center. There's a small cafe within walking distance, although that would be charged from out of your pocket.

    Dorm Life

    I recommend having a roommate, even if you don't think you want one. This allows for you to meet someone new and potentially make a friend with whom you will spend a lot of time. There are showers (not group showers but stalls with doors and latches for privacy) in the bathrooms on every floor, a kitchen, and at least one lounge (depends on what resident hall you're staying in). RAs do their best to create programs, so you should grace them with your presence now and then as encouragement.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to work your butt off the further you get into your major. Math seems to be exceptionally hard here, as the professors weed out students. Engineering students: expect to not have a life outside of your homework and projects if you want to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring to UAF after a few years in a different, perhaps closer college, take all of your math first; don't take it at UAF. That's what I did, but I have heard from many how much more difficult it is to take a math course here, especially upper level. Also for transfer students, be sure to compare courses so that you transfer ALL of your credits; UAF is notoriously hard on transfer students. Other than that, in general, be prepared for an extremely cold winter: -30 to -40 degrees Fahrenheit is normal from November to February and maybe even March.

    In three sentences

    UAF has a beautiful campus and a lot to offer its students. The engineering department is very helpful, encouraging, and educational (which is the goal, right?). However, the math department seems to greatly detract from the school, often believed to weed out students.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus patrol is located in the middle of campus and is always looking out for young individual `s safety.

    Greek Life

    there is a very very small Greek system on campus. its size is due to the small amount of people in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many sports clubs and different extracurricular activities provided through the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an unusual sight for me was finding out that the school has an actual quit-age team ( a game from the book, Harry Potter)...

    What to do for fun

    for fun during the warmer times in the year there are always activities happening on campus but during the winter it is pretty much up to you to provide entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There are many dining options on and off campus to give us a selection. there are fast food places nice places to dine and healthy choices located on or near the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but cozy and its nice to live in a cozy place during the winters of Alaska.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic programs are excellent! The work load all depends on what classes you take but the professors and TA`s are very helpful in finding the appropriate work load for students. Every school has its harder, more rigorous academic load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for cold weather and lots of studying. It is important to be prepared for all of your classes well before they start by purchasing all materials required for the class. Be ready to be far away from any real city life and get used to a small town.

    In three sentences

    This school is small in a good way. There are really good science programs. It is really easy to find your way around.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I like campus life you always run into someone you know on campus. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    very predominant.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities you just have to find them if its not there you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, outgoing, laid back, Alaska residents

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gulch is really fun. It is a tradition to have a competition between teams of who can build the biggest bon fire.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really you pay high prices for dorms and food and its awful. The teachers can be awful you have to know which teachers are good. Some teachers are amazing though.

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, swimming, gym, ice skating, watch hockey games, traditions events, events put on by Resident Assistants, movies, glow putt, snowboarding.

    Food and Dining

    Awful! Don't even bother eating there half the time the food is rotten and they try to hide food or bad food under breadcrumbs or deep fried food.

    Dorm Life

    Old buildings molding and falling apart.

    Academic Rigor

    Generals are a piece of cake it is when you actually get into your major that the academic rigor goes up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships, go to the writing center and get help when you need it. Ask people about the teachers you have not all of them are good.

    In three sentences

    I would give UAF a B. They have some good professors but a lot that do not know how to teach. A lot of the facilities need to be updated too they are all falling apart.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police department in the middle of the campus and there are campus security officers as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Art Students! As well as prospective engineers.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very affordable and if you decide to transfer, this University is one of the Western Exchange universities.

    What to do for fun

    On the campus, groups are always throwing activities. There is a Pub that has Karaoke and live bands play. Sometimes there are dance parties and every September there is Starvation Gulch, where groups on campus build multiple two story bonfires celebrating the anniversary of when the campus became no longer a dry campus.

    Food and Dining

    The University has a dining hall, as well as a separate dining building. There is a Taco Bell and Subway on campus. There is a Pub on the campus that serves typical pub food as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a close community. There is always something going on after classes and most dorm mates get along. The dorms are semi co-ed, with boys on one floor and girls on the other in the same building. You can also find a lot of single dorms and apartments on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The University staffs some of the best professors, but the school is known for Engineering, Marine Biology and Natural Sciences. They place strong academics, however for the Arts as well. There are always tutors for all subjects on the campus, even on holidays.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having trouble with your applications or financial aid, do not be afraid to call them! They are serious about their dates on items due.

    In three sentences

    The professors and staff at UAF have always gone above and beyond when I have needed it. The atmosphere is inviting and there are always activities on campus for students, academic and extracurricular. Plus, the campus is beautiful and offers many sights that are only in Alaska.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, safe campus, no fear of nothing. Provides a good system for disabled people. Easy to get around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Wood Center you can play billiard,ping pong, bowling,arcade games. There is a gym, exercise, working out, weight room, play indoor sports. Ice arena and swimming pool provide with recreational use and sport use.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and a good clean environment. A good variety of different foods you can get. Lots of good places you can sit down and relax and eat your food. Provide really good beverages.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everything is possible, all it takes is some study time and you will be successful. Was never really good with school but i find it really easy when you study. This school provides lots of time to study and flexible opportunities. It can match your needs to how your most comfortable with it.

    In three sentences

    This college provides great help and a cooperative system. It is nice and expandable in lots of aspects. This is a welcome, relaxing college that provides you with a great tuition and lots of benefits.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent protection provided by the majority student run fire department and the on campus police department.

    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    outdoor adventures is awesome

    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy, eccentric, conservative, free-spirited

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Starvation gulch- a massive bonfire with large objects constructed out of hundreds of pallets.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best in the country for its value.

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, snowboarding, rock climbing, hiking, photography.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty expensive and not very good on campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty small dorms that are fairly cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    Offers quality classes that are not overfilled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to the idea of not having much to do around town. Being outdoorsy helps a lot.

    In three sentences

    I love the rural, small town feel, on top of the fact that students in Alaska get an education for dirt cheap. It truly is a land of opportunity in these financially difficult times. As a firefighter, it has offered me a chance at gaining experience at a very young age/

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During winter, Fairbanks is a tourism hot-spot in Alaska. Many sled dog races take place in the area, and professional ice sculptures resonate throughout the city. There is also a hot-spring within the vicinity.

    In three sentences

    UAF offers an healthy variety of programs to suit all characters. They're unique location of Fairbanks, Alaska is like none other than any other institution in the United States. UAF also adopts a distance learning service, much more quality and promising than other online programs.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military, people who like big campuses.

    What to do for fun

    I get out an enjoy Fairbanks. Its beautiful here. Skiing, hiking and enjoying outdoors is basically whats here. If you like shopping I suggest you become an online shopper because there aren't may shopping options here.

    Food and Dining

    Do not eat on campus so I do not know.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Highly reccommend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make you plan way ahead when picking your classes becasue they fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    This college is huge. It is great with advising and also with all student services. It is very military friendly.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Lived off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Its has great science programs and also Alaskan Native cultures and development and management programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    JOIN CLUBS!

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed going to college. In order to have all the experience you want in college is to join a few things, anything such as clubs or something close that. Its better than doing absolutely nothing at home and just sitting around having no ambition.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who won't mind the cold, and won't mind an adventure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have these tunnels beneath our campus that have rumors about booby traps or other unfriendly-keep-away signs. It is not an official tradition, but I believe students every year attempt to find their way into those tunnels.

    Bang for the buck

    I get WUE, which is really good. Alaska tuition is typically cheaper than the rest of the country, but money is still money and it is not something many people have a lot of, myself included.

    What to do for fun

    Keep each other company and watch netflix. We have a rec center and intramural sports, volunteer or activity clubs and study groups same as any other campus. Something unique about UAF is that during the winter season we finally have an ice climbing wall.

    Food and Dining

    More often than not it is hit or miss. As with any dining area, some days you'll get lucky several days in a row until you find that snail in your salad again, and make peace by comforting yourself with the thought that at least it's fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Small enough living situation that you'll pretty much see the same people everyday. If you don't mind the monotony, it is almost comforting to know that your neighbor is as bored as you are. There are not too many activities to participate in on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As you take higher course levels (not to be unexpected), the academic rigor is much more demanding. Most of the departments have those notable professors that get whispered out about and branded as the tough teacher or the teacher that you shouldn't take if you don't want to work hard. If you put in the time and effort, more often than not you will learn more from these so called tough teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a scarf or five. Be prepared for the below 40 weather. It isn't too bad if you don't mind it. What you should watch for is when everyone is cooped up inside. Wash your hands. Keep things clean.

    In three sentences

    Although the winters can get cold, the campus community provides plenty of warmth. The campus is beautiful. The school is on a hill; this may or may not be a plus.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    overall what you would expect from the college level

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The RA's or Resident Assistants are very caring and will make sure that all students are safe

    What to do for fun

    I play basketball and other fun sports at the Student Recreation Center.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good but gettings kinda boring after a while kinda the same thing over and over again but its really good though

    Dorm Life

    Very awesome but suggested for people for that are quite and like quite environments get Skarland. For freshman that want a lil bit more fun Moore Hall is the place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure to always study cause it will be to easy to get behind on your school work

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and never slack off. Bring a lot of warm clothing for the winter time. Make sure to stack up on items so you don't have to be running down in town to the stores so you'll be set if you don't really like the cold weather. Just be yourself people are very nice and friendly.

    In three sentences

    I would rate University Of Fairbanks Alaska a 10 out of 10. Its in a great location to get to everywhere important in town from entertainment to business pleasures. Last but not least the faculty and staff are very kind and considerate and will do there very best to make sure you have a great education and Alaska experience

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police, many police call boxes around campus, low crime, well lit, and there is a shuttle service that runs from 7am to 9pm that will take you from wherever you are on campus to anywhere else on campus. If you feel uneasy, you can call a police officer to escort you. The biggest danger on campus is wildlife.

    Greek Life

    There is not a lot of sorority or fraternal influences around campus, but we do have them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any age, any race, any gender, traditional and non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have whats called Starvation Gulch. Why we have it is an annual celebration of students in the 1920s winning the right to have alcohol on campus after a prohibition on campus. We attend the first hockey game of the season, and afterwards have a HUGE bonfire, and drink all night! By the way, we are known as the Nanooks, which is Alaskan Native for Polar Bear.

    Bang for the buck

    Great in-state tuition rates!

    What to do for fun

    There is a recreational building, the Wood center, that has everyday rec things like bowling, arcade stuff, and things, but the Wood Center also has a full functioning bar called The Pub. Also, there are many nature trails around campus. One could sign up for activities such as camping, mountain climbing, rafting, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different places to eat on campus, and off. The school has a Bear Bucks program through your student ID card. One can have money placed into an account through the Bear Bucks program and purchase food all over campus, or even an participating restaurants in town!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, however I have an idea about them. There are freshman dorms which have many rules and no alcohol allowed, but after that, you can move to either an alcohol-free dorm or an alcohol friendly dorm. Also, if you are married or have a family, there are apartments available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Each professor is different, but most are not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are out of state, tuition can be steep. One must be an Alaskan resident for at least 2 years before getting in-state tuition. However, summer classes are at in-state tuition for everyone. There are many different ways to have class; one could do the traditional classroom, one could have a class by snail mail, email, online through black board, fax, and even over the phone.

    In three sentences

    UAF has small classes, great professors, low in-state tuition, a beautiful campus with views of mountains, sustainability initiative, a bar, and so much more.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not the place for you if you want to join a well known Fraternity or Sorority.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. The Platinum meal plan is the best option if you're on campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's nice being so close to everything but policies aren't always followed by the people in charge. Be prepared for loud music, parties and more.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman core classes are a wake-up call to students who didn't have to study much in high school. Teachers expect a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start talking to an advisor before you graduate from high school. In person is best but over the phone is good too.

    In three sentences

    UAF is a great school if you want to do research. Students are great to be around. Staff are hard to deal with, even when you can find them.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's many dorm facilitated activities, and if not theres hiking, snowboarding, skiing, and other outdoors things. They have an ice climbing wall and an indoor rock climbing wall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible, but the dining hall will ruin your favorite foods for you. Since its interior Alaska, its harder and more expensive to get fresh fruits and vegetables for mass consumption. Other than that, they have a salad bar, a grill, and a constantly changing menu of all you can eat food.

    Dorm Life

    Staff are always willing to help if needed, theres many activities constantly going on and if there isn't then the activities are in the makings. The rooms are kinda small, but other than that, its good.

    Academic Rigor

    It is in the top accredited schools in the USA and is top 3 for Petroleum Engineering.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become friends with financial aid. Bring your heaviest jacket and clothing for winter.

    In three sentences

    UAF is a really good school that bases its values on community. I would always recommend this school to my friends who are looking to complete their degrees, or just looking to complete there general studies. Its the farthest north school in the US and definitely worth it.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs from Fencing to Akido to Anime. Even language clubs are offered here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't afraid to face the subzero temperatures, love the outdoors and don't want to sacrifice an arm and a leg.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Starvation Gulch is a tradition celebrated at the end of September where there's a festival of sorts with massive bonfires, fire dancing and food to welcome new students. Spring Fest is another tradition where classes are cancelled and marks the end of winter with picnics and watermelon dropping from the tallest building on lower campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable compared to other universities. Though the cost is low, some of the professors are amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a food court situated near the library, with a bowling alley, game room and an on campus pub to make it safer for students. Also, there's always something happening on campus. Outdoor Adventures allows ski and kayak rentals, as well as offer a variety of field trips ice climbing, rock climbing, snowboarding and skiing.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are situated on both upper and lower campus. Lathrop is considered the best dorm on campus, whereas Moore is cringed at when mentioned. People are always doing something or having some event in the dorm hall.

    Academic Rigor

    There are quite a variety of professors. Though some are pretty tough in the Upper division courses, a lot of the professors in the lower division courses are easy going and very understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the cold! The best way to battle the arctic temperatures is to layer clothing.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and small. People at the Business Office and Financial Aid are kind. Most classes are small.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Responsive campus emergency personnel.

    Greek Life

    Little to nonexistent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall campus bonfire.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoors are popular, other options available with some searching.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre, little healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    Can be quiet and slow if allowed to be so.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies widely depending on courses/instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plug vehicles in during winter. Search for campus life.

    In three sentences

    Good biology, engineering programs among others. Nice campus life but very cold at times. Devision 1 hockey team.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is swimming, bowling, and exciting events that take place on campus.

    Dorm Life

    this does not apply to me

    Tips for prospective students

    If at all possible enroll, register and/or pay all fees in person. The staff are curtious and reassuring.

    In three sentences

    There are lots of options for furthering your education here. The staff at this university take time to educate you on these options. The employees ensure that your experience here is memorable.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is the best here!

    Food and Dining

    I've had food at the cafeteria and for being in Alaska, it was nice to have fresh sushi and fresh smoothies on my breaks.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt live in the dorms, but from what I hear from friends and classmates, the dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing but awesome curriculums!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stray away! UAF has so much to offer! If I could stay another year I would, but my family needs me in Texas. I love UAF!

    In three sentences

    UAF has been such a pleasurable experience for me. Despite the weather, I have enjoyed my time learning there. The teachers I've encountered have been really helpful and have taught me not just lessons on business topics but also life lessons in which I will forever hold.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the only campuses in the USA to have an on campus Fire Department (which by the way, ladies,? is staffed by hot, young, student firefighter men,) and an on campus Police Department.

    Greek Life

    Kind of lame, but it exists!

    Great for these types of students

    EVVVVVERYBODY! but seriously, everyone has a place here at UAF.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Starvation Gultch: a celebration of the beginning of the school year dating back to 1914. There are usually 6 teams which build huge wooden structures, and then they are set on fire! SUPER AWESOME and so much fun. Don't get too close though... your face might melt off... There are underground tunnels that connect the buildings, 'cause we're cool and produce all our own electricity and heating. Join the -40 club and dance around the streets in your under-garments at night when its FORTY DEGREES BELOW ZERO. It's awesome fun, and you'll be the most hardcore person on the planet when you get home :)

    Bang for the buck

    Solid place, solid people, and super chill teachers!

    What to do for fun

    GO OUTSIDE :) play hockey join one of 300 clubs volunteer star gaze

    Food and Dining

    Its really not that bad, considering we are in the middle of Alaska :) There's lots of options and the meal plans are quite reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    MOORE HALL 4 LYFEEEE No really, with a large majority of undergraduate students living on campus (and about 80% of those in dorms,) the dorms are awesome! There's always some sort of activity going on, the RAs are cool and helpful, and laundry is free!!

    Academic Rigor

    They push you to reach your full potential. Kind of cheesy? Yeah, I thought so too... at first. Turns out, I actually really like it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for financial aid. That's really the only thing I didn't really like during the application process - the sluggish pace at which they responded to me. If you don't like your roommate in the fall, move. Once the dark and the cold sets in, they'll be a pain. And nobody likes pain, right? Get out and play! There is so much fun stuff to do on campus. Definitely get involved outside of class!

    In three sentences

    1. The coldest and hottest university in the northern and western hemispheres. 2. Math, science and research, baby! 3. We aren't afraid of nature. Nature is afraid of us.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good, very active on campus police

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about everything, though in fewer numbers.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor lovers Dog lovers Physical and biological science majors biathlon lovers hokey players

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bikini picture in-front of the temp. sign at -40.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable tuition with excellent faculty and modern campus, but high living expenses.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, trails, dog mushing, skiing. All kinds of outdoors activities in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food court, city is small and lacks many mainstream restruants but some of the local stuff can be really good.

    Dorm Life

    most students live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are rigorous, but most faculty are understanding and helpful for students who take studies seriously, even if struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for cold, 2 months of highs around -20 F is not uncommon. Living expenses are high expect $1400/ living frugally.

    In three sentences

    Good mid level research school. Good value, affordable tuition and fees with an excellent faculty. Nice campus, simply an adventure.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you are in state, not too bad for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Pub opens at 4:30 during the week and noon on Fridays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to transfer out mid year.

    In three sentences

    Easy to get to. Hard to park at. Pub at 4:30pm!

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus cops and firefighters, which also can be students.

    Clubs and Activities

    iam involved with the wildlife society which is great for my major. there are a number of clubs on campus and there are always new ones being created.

    Great for these types of students

    for those who like to read there is a huge library with computers to use as well. there is a gym for those who are in sprots or who just like to workout.

    Bang for the buck

    this campus has an advantage of being small because it means less students in class so that the teacher will have more time to get to know each student and have more time for on one with their students. and that is nice for students who are shy and usually dont ask question until after class like myself. this may have not been my first choice for college. but i sure am glad that i am attending this school now.

    What to do for fun

    in the winter there is a hill that lots of students will go sleding down. there are sports games to go to, like hockey, basketball, volleyball etc. people like to go to the gym for fun. there is also the wood center where they is a bowling alley and pool tables and game to play. the wood center also has a bar inside too.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the tilly i hear it not that great, but i wouldnt know i havent ate there. i ususally go to wood center because it has a variety of different places to go too like taco bell. there is a subway in one of the buildings that houses dorm residents. on the upper part of campus is a cafe place. i havent ate there either but ive seen of it from passing through for classes it looks very decent and clean.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live at the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    there are alot of acedemic couses to choose from here. alot of classes are pretty small and other could have a 100 or more students but overall the teachers are great. they want you to learn and succeed. they will take the time in class and out to help you understand the material. the courses are not easy either, they set high standards so students will push themselves to succeed. and to be ready for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the shuttle busses in the winter. do not make your classes to close together if one is on lower part of campus and the other is on west ridge. you will not make it on time. those who drive you want to get to campus early to plug your car in the winter or you will find yourself in the parking lot without a plug. take advantage of study sessions like SI and help from teachers, because they are willing to meet with you anytime to help you succeed in their class.

    In three sentences

    this campus is small but has alot to offer anyone who wants to attend. it has teachers who love what they do and enjoy teaching others. it offers all kinds of majors, minors, sports, clubs and it is always improving to give its students the best possible experience in class and out.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe, we have an awesome UPD and UFD, that work super hard to keep everything as safe as possible. The most challenging part of that is our campus is on a hill, and the roads can get pretty icy so there tend to be more driving related incidents then anything else.

    Greek Life

    We have three Greek organizations on campus, a co-fraternity, a fraternity, and a sorority. The co-fraternity is the biggest and the most popular. It's mainly about community service, and doing whatever they can for the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of both, and if we don't have it you're not just encouraged, you're practically persuaded into starting your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous. Spontaneous. Up for anything. If you're looking for a totally unique experience you simply won't get anywhere else, come on up. You'll love it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have this massive (I mean HUGE) bonfire called Starvation Gulch- which is basically in celebration of us being one of the ONLY universities in America to have it's own pub on campus. Heck yeah. We also have Spring Fest which is a festival we host in the Spring right after snow melts. A week of concerts, sports, and carnivals with killer prizes really can't be beat right before finals.

    Bang for the buck

    UAF is probably one of the cheapest universities in the states right now. That being said I'd say it's also one of the best. There really is nothing more I could ask for, for what I'm paying yearly. They take care of you up here.

    What to do for fun

    The SAO office is always hosting and throwing events, so there is always some scene to go check out. If you like the outdoors, we have an ice-climbing wall (or rock wall in the summer) outside AND one in the Student Rec Center, plus a fully loaded terrain park for ski-ers and snowboarders.

    Food and Dining

    Look out for the Tilly. Iffy is probably the mildest term I could put to it. Always have a back up plan and if you can always get the Munch Money plan.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is totally the way to do it. Our student activities office (SAO) and Residence Life are all about creating fun, safe, productive environments for us here on campus. Plus there is always something going on, (I'm talking concerts, performances, comics, dances, outdoor tours, all kinds of events happening all the time).

    Academic Rigor

    UAF is definitely an engineering college, that being said if you're in to the sciences this is the place to be. We center around research- not so much what you're learning in your classes so much as outside of them. It can be really competitive. The course work definitely keeps you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gear up for the cold- we don't exaggerate. Don't hesitate to ask questions there is always someone willing to help you. That being said, UAF offers TONS of tools and opportunities for us the students that go unused because no one seeks them out. Take advantage of all the awesome stuff here on campus. You won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    This university offers three things: adventure, challenge, and wonder. If you're up for that, a totally new way of looking at life, while having the time of your life, then what are you waiting on? An absolute blast!

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really great, there are police, firefighters and I've yet to hear about a crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all students, but if you love Alaska, the snow and the outdoors, it's definitely for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    40 Below Club. You stand outside at -40 F or colder, in a bikini or swim trunks, (or in shorts and a tank top) and you take a picture standing in front of the sign. Every February, the engineering students build an ice arch.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the gym, skiing, sledding, rock wall climbing, billiards, swimming, bowling and just hanging with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    It has a good variety, from a cafeteria to Subway to Taco Bell, there are plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    It's good, there are plenty of things to do and all the people are nice. It can get loud, but what dorm isn't?

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging in a good way, it forces students to pay attention and truly learn the material, not memorize for a test and forget.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dress warm, it does reach -40! Ice cleats are a good idea and if you're at the right place at the right time, you can pick up a free pair. It is cold and dark, but keep busy, do things with your friends, go to the gym, attend the activities the RA's put on.

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent school for mathematics and sciences. The campus offers a wide variety of activities for all types of students. The campus community has a great feel!

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University of Alaska has a great rental program. You can rent outdoor equipment to got hiking, climbing, boating, or any other outdoor activity you can think of, they have trails on the campus to explore. Many students bike in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus and do not eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and do not stay in the dorms, but have heard from other peers, that it is comfortable living quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking a basic math class so I may begin my college level courses. I have not been enrolled long enough to have a feel for the academic rigor. Although I am pleased to say, that the math class is going at a very good pace and the homework is legit

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan on spending part of your semester in the cold of winter, dress warm and you will adapt to your environment in the one of the coldest places in Alaska. The University of Alaska has a great bus system to transport you from the bottom of the hill to your designated building.

    In three sentences

    University of Alaska Fairbanks is up to date on current events. University of of Alaska is a fast paced environment. University of Alaska is a great place to go to school.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an amazing new sustainable village on campus, an option for housing for those interested in studies in sustainable living and research.

    What to do for fun

    Play outside!

    Food and Dining

    Again, unknown as I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    Unknown--I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for winter weather!

    In three sentences

    UAF is a great state school with a wealth of academic offerings. The faculty and the staff at the school are very approachable and supportive, and they make it a joy to study here. Fairbanks is in a remarkable location, surrounded by incredible wilderness areas with lots of outdoor opportunities.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are countless activities in the summer; biking, hiking, kayaking, rafting, etc. The winters are another story, If you're like most people, 40F below zero isn't ideal skiing weather, so find something else during those months, maybe a fitness class or a book series to fill your spare time!

    Food and Dining

    Being a health conscious person, I end up eating a lot of plain salads at Lola Tilly.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms as a student.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to really buckle down and commit to your education no matter what school you're at, but I find UAF to be even tougher than most. There are less teachers to choose from so if you're stuck with a teacher you don't like, you're going to have to find a way to work through it. It's a pretty fair preview of the real world; you won't always get the boss you like!

    Tips for prospective students

    The dark winters can be tough so get involved, stay active, and make a commitment to school!

    In three sentences

    Attending UAF is extreme; both the weather and the opportunities. I've been to outside schools but UAF by far has the most opportunities for hands-on learning in countless fields of study.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security for dorms is tight. Campus police always around and definitely safer than other places around Fairbanks.

    What to do for fun

    Movies are hard to get to without a car but the campus shows some movies sometimes. There is a dance just about every weekend somewhere in Fairbanks, and at least every 6 weeks on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay but could be better. But then again what college has amazing food?

    Dorm Life

    While there is always things going on and people around the rooms are very very small and not even a sink in the room. Sink in the room would be beneficial.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes, I think are pretty easy. There is a lot of support out there if you have any trouble with work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a meal plan that gives you munch money or blocks. The plan where you have to eat your meals at the cafeteria will go to waste as you more than likely will not eat there as often as you think. Also bring warm clothing, and you definitely want a vehicle up here.

    In three sentences

    Great school to go to. There is always something going on and always people around. Everything is a 5 minute walk away on campus and shuttle service is awesome.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you feel unsafe, police are willing to come out and escort you to the dorms. Also, we have our own on campus police, and they are pretty strict about the rules.

    Greek Life

    Not too large on our campus, but existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned before, if you are interested in it, there is a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, but it seems a lot of people here are interested in the great outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have large bonfires at the start of the year. Our most uncommon one is the 40 below club, where student go stand in front of the temperature sign in their underwear at 40 below!

    Bang for the buck

    Come to Alaska, become a resident, and the prices are pretty great. Depending on your major, there are some small classes, allowing you the opportunity to really get to know your fellow classmates.

    What to do for fun

    Just about anything. We have dancing, video games, robot building competitions, rock band, hiking, biking, sledding, sports. If you have an interest, there is probably a club out there for you, or people willing to join a club that you start. Be adventurous.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple options, such as taco bell, and subway, pizza, and pasta, and some really great frozen yogurt. But, the main dining hall isn't all that great. The first week the food is pretty great, to lure you into a false sense of security. The food is tolerable, but still.. You might want to learn to cook. And cooking is a good way to make some friends anyways.

    Dorm Life

    I might rate this higher, but the dorms sometimes have to undergo construction and need a bit of love. Other than that, the different dorms have different personalities, such as the party dorm, the quiet study dorm, and the nerd dorm. Try to get in a dorm with people of similar interests and you will have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are a challenge, but as long as you are willing to do the homework, and take notes in class, you should be able to get good enough grades. That said, some classes are more difficult than others, and some professors grade more harshly. Many grade you for just showing up though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have warm clothing, and a sense of adventure. Many people on this campus are into doing outdoor activities such as cross-country skiing, hiking, biking, and camping. Also, learn some cooking skills. It saves on money, and could help save your taste buds. And one of the most important is to make friends, and don't be afraid to get involved; you need someone to text you when the Northern Lights are out.

    In three sentences

    This college is an 8 out of 10. Prices are good, there are tons of clubs and activities for all different types of people, and the class sizes are usually pretty nice. The only real downsides are cold winters, and the food could be better.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    student officers patrol daily along with actual cops, and also have our own fire department on campus

    Greek Life

    there are a few fraternities and a sorority

    Great for these types of students

    all kinds

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the 40 below club: go down to the temp sign in your undies and take pics with friends but it have to be negative 40 or colder. done every year, spring fest: mud volleyball, concerts, field days, color fun runs, watermelon drop. starvation gultch: giant a** bonfire. and much much more

    What to do for fun

    we have an outdoor ice/rock wall, a terrain park, ice rink(in and out), indoor rock wall, swimming, saunas, sledding hills, zombie outbreak games, and plenty more

    Food and Dining

    many places to choose from, some you take a chance eating there others are great

    Dorm Life

    many different places to choose from. freshman dorms, apartments on campus, houses, etc

    Academic Rigor

    both large lecture hall classes, and small hands on classes

    Tips for prospective students

    bring warm boots and gloves.

    In three sentences

    Tons of clubs and activities always going on. Multiple choices for a food supply. Winter Wonder Land

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones who like outdoor events in the cold. :-) Mixed bag of students makes it a real interesting school. Love the area landscape and love to photograph it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wildlife roam the area.

    Bang for the buck

    Like the fact that the school offers classes on the state culture. Animal wildlife is free to roam the area, and you must watch them. Everyone has been helpful in my quest to attend there.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the vast outdoors when you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out there online advisors. There very helpful with questions. If they don't know they will find out.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, and area. There is a very nice diversity in people making it a college of a interest to those of us who like interesting . The college has a great variety of professors and interesting classes on Alaska.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shiver! No, seriously, there are tons of things to do, from sports to clubs. However if you are an engineering student, you won't have time for any of them. Get used to enjoying fun vicariously, and remember that the payoff is that you'll have a job after graduation so you can repay your loans!

    Food and Dining

    There is food here, but not like mama made it. You've got to watch out in the winter, because if you aren't careful, you'll react to the darkness by eating.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks everywhere. Here is no exception.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work. Most faculty care that you learn, but they want to see effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cardio - the whole campus is one great, big hill! Don't skimp on the winter clothes, but it doesn't get really into the negatives until mid-November. Don't be shy about asking for help, and don't fall behind!

    In three sentences

    The UAF engineering program is a place for serious students to get their degree. It's affordable, so don't expect a glamorous campus. The staff and faculty are - for the most part - above average in helpfulness.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are wanting to experience a smaller place, and who want to have a campus that feels like a safe home. UAF is perfect for students who love the outdoors and who want to learn more about the Native cultures of Alaska.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a traditions stone that people choose to steal and hide around campus, which goes on year-round. We also have the 40-Below Club, where students strip down to their undies and stand in front of our entrance sign to show that they are outside at a ridiculously low temperature!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things! We have plenty of on-campus stuff to choose from, such as an arcade, a bowling alley, dances, karaoke nights, and intramural sports of any kind. RAs are required to do programs within the dorms, so students will have a chance to bond within their dorm of dwelling. Within town, there are movies, laser tag, go-karts, paintball, and so many other choices. Fairbanks also has an extremely active community, holding large-scale races in skiing and running.

    Food and Dining

    The food has increased a great deal over time; there is a salad bar, a specialty bar, pasta table, a grill, and a fruits bar. They are very diverse in their food, and it is in a buffet style dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have a tendency to feel very close, but only if you choose to expose yourself to the social life. You will find one of the best communities within the dorms at UAF.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good, but, like every college, you will find some classes that are less than satisfactory. Overall, the classes are good and will challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the cold and be prepared for a smaller place to live; the college campus is located in Fairbanks, a town that is known for its drastic temperature changes.

    In three sentences

    It is a homey place that allows their students to develop themselves culturally, academically, and socially. The University of Alaska Fairbanks is a university that will challenge you in ways that a college should. As a college, it is definitely one of the top colleges in Engineering, Fisheries, and Education.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The students are really there to just study and pass their classes. Still, the police will walk you to where you're going if you don't feel safe.

    Food and Dining

    The Tilly has really good food at the start of the semester when the new students and their parents are checking out the UAF. The Wood Center has a varied selection including Taco Bell, pizza, burgers, and even sushi. There's also a Subway which is really good. The water is really bad. A filter system of some kind is recommended.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms. I have painted the dorms. After I painted the dorms they were nice. The people are also generally helpful and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't take the recommended fifteen credits. Just make sure you pass your classes and don't build up debt. There are some classes that will be easy and some much harder, with no regard for the fact that the harder one is lower on the scale ( a 300 level class vs a 400 level class). It's best to talk to the students who have already gone through those classes so you don't end up with a semester of really hard courses that kills your GPA.

    In three sentences

    Get scholarships. Get a student job for resume contacts and funds. Take only as many credits as you can handle.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A really cool thing about the UA schools is that they're all connected. If an incident happens at one school the others are also alerted so they can warn their students of the possible danger.

    Greek Life

    I have recently joined the fraternity Alpha Phi Omega which is a co-ed service fraternity. The members are all really welcoming and are really involved in the school and community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students are greatly encouraged to join clubs and activities. My freshman year I was actually offered the means to create a fashion club. The Residence Life Department offered me money I would need to buy supplies and create activities to hold. It was a really awesome offer that I would have loved to take on.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on: parties, dances, movie showings, or sporting events. There's never a bored moment at UAF. The dorms create a community environment where gamers can link up and play together, students have the opportunity to receive money to create clubs, and activities are scheduled for all types of people.

    Food and Dining

    The food has good and bad days. There's always a salad and pasta bar which are good but the entrees change each day. Some are really excellent while others are bland and disappointing. There are plenty of others dining options that are not in the cafeteria that provide delicious food though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms may be small but the life is exciting. There are always events being put on by the staff to promote a sense of community in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am basing my score off of my degree, Elementary Education. However, I do know that degrees such as Biology or Engineering (which the school is well known for) would command a five star rating. The classes are academically challenging and take a lot of time and effort on the students part to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your classes. If your not in the classroom you can miss some valuable information that you'll need later for tests or homework. Teachers love helping in any way they can but if you aren't in class there isn't much they can do.

    In three sentences

    UAF is a wonderful school that creates a familial sense throughout it. It's a comfortable school to thrive with small to medium sized classrooms and plenty of opportunities to meet new people. I would highly recommend UAF to any student searching for a college.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security, and it is pretty safe, just lots of underage drinking.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for pretty much anything.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone that wants to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Great if you are an Alaskan resident.

    What to do for fun

    It is close to the city, both sides, and there are always some sort of event going on cause they try to not let students to get depressed due to the severe/long winter.

    Food and Dining

    Really nice dining hall they call Tilly's and it was a great variety and is vegan/vegetarian friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Never been in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Really it depends on the class, but you will be fine if you actually show up for class and pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where your going and you will get there.

    In three sentences

    It is i really good school with a good curriculum. It is really oddly set up but after a little but it is navigable and it is oddly on a hill as well so make sure to have good reliable shoes, none of that heel nonsense. There are maps everywhere though.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a PD which is pretty chill (except when it comes to parking), plenty of rape tower things, and the campus is small and active enough that if you start screaming someone will hear you, even at night.

    Greek Life

    Poor at best. There are two fraternities and one sorority: Alpha Phi Omega, Sigma Phi Epsilon, and Sigma Sigma Sigma. APO is by far the most popular, with a legitimate membership count (~40). It's a coed service fraternity, and is generally respected. Sigma Phi Epsilon has hit some hard times. Two years ago they had 1 member left (who was paying thousands in order to keep the chapter open). Now they've bounced back, with something like 15 members. I was a member of this fraternity, it's not worth the dues and I left. The current President's claims that they have pledges lines up this coming semester are... dubious. Sigma Sigma Sigma had 5 members last time I checked, and are having a very hard time getting new members and paying their national dues. I expect them to fall apart completely, but they've managed to stick around for at least this long.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities here! It's mostly because there's not a lot to do otherwise in Fairbanks.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes skiing, this will be your happy place.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty typical university.

    What to do for fun

    So much stuff! My favorite thing to do is parkour, I also like dancing and singing and all sorts of things.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few good options, but everything is priced pretty highly. If you live in the dorms (which is required) then you are required also to get a meal plan at the Lola Tilly, the butt of many a fine dining joke. It's certainly not worth the money, but it balances out with the low cost of tuition.

    Dorm Life

    Besides being mandatory (costs of around $4000) and tiny, dorm life is not bad at all. They are VERY strict about their alcohol policy.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what you're going for. Engineering is very rigorous, while business is less so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just remember that the University is not your friend, they are a for profit business with interest in getting every penny that they can from you. Too many people come here expecting the University to supply them generous help on financial aid and it doesn't happen. Expect huge costs when it comes to text-books, mandatory fees, tuition, mandatory housing, and mandatory meal plans.

    In three sentences

    This university is not your friend, it is a business. They will squeeze every penny they can from you with a smile. Tuition is pretty low anyway, though.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give campus safety a level 3 star because a lot of people I know have had their items stolen from them, one including a bike.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs available for students to join and participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    UAF is relatively cheap, except for book purchases. I recommend staying away from the book store because it is very expensive and over priced. Instead, look online on amazon or abebooks, just something other than the book store.

    What to do for fun

    UAF has many sport events to attend, running and skiing trails available, and a big animal research farm to visit. Nearby UAF is the ACRC and the College Coffee house, which both provide internet and are good places to study and hang with friends. Another good study spot is Take 5, which is a little bit further down the road than the other two previously listed, but once again, great drinks and a friendly place to chill for a bit.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided is generally decent and available. The best part is that there are many different food places right by UAF, so if you don't like the food they have there, it's just a brisk walk away from other types of cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    Everything I hear about the freshmen dorms is never stellar or good.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on who is your professor and the type of class you are taking. For example, my ENG 111 class was a lot less rigorous than one of my programming classes.

    In three sentences

    The University of Alaska Fairbanks is a great opportunity to help extend and further prior education to college. The professors at UAF are genuinely friendly, and since most classes up at UAF aren't as large as other Universities, there is alot more one on one with the professor. Not only are the academics decent, but the campus has lots of running and skiing opportunities nearby.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    anything outside with snow.

    Food and Dining

    Average food. But it is being updated to a new building fall 2014.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a warm jacket.

    In three sentences

    Its gets cold -40. There is a lot of snow and it gets icy. The classroom is kind of like high school.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the library to spend some time to myself, go to the recreation center to work out, and enjoy spending extra time with students and professors to expand my knowledge,

    Food and Dining

    The food was delicious and always provided great variety. There was never a dull moment during meals and snacks. The dining facility was always clean and organized as well.

    Dorm Life

    I did not personally live in a dorm however I did visit them and they are truly a great place to hang out, study, and learn. The dorms are a perfect size and provide the students with everything they need.

    Academic Rigor

    UAF contains great academic standings and truly gives students the opportunity to go above and beyond what they thought possible in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consult with your professors if you have any questions or issues with assignments; they will help you succeed in your courses.

    In three sentences

    UAF is one of the beautiful campuses I have ever seen, has some of the nicest and most helpful people, and truly assists students in achieving their goals. I rate UAF a 5/5 as it has a wonderful system, great relationships, and great programs for the students. There is so much opportunity given to each student who attends.