Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Alaska Southeast Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor, quiet, but always look for adventure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Juneau is a small town. No, really it is. A Fred Meyers, Walmart, One theater and road. BUT, if you are a outdoors person this is heaven. Don't worry if you're not either, you will make friends. Expect to breathe in the beauty, don't expect that we will have everything you are looking for in entertainment.

    Bang for the buck

    No matter where you go, college will forever be expensive. In state tuition for me as a resident, average $17,000. But what price are you willing to pay for a better education? Personally, I will pay the price so I no longer work at dead end jobs.

    Will enjoy being here

    Do you like to hike, swim, run or just plain walk around a beautiful landscape. Juneau is everything green. It's a quiet place and great people come from all over the lower 48 states to just visit. You will need to invest in some rain gear. Alaska is a rain-forest, I live here, I know.

    Will learn a lot

    UAS - Juneau will cover all your basic classes. It will give you time to find what you want to do with your degree. Remember though, UAS - Juneau is known for the ocean sciences programs, but that doesn't restrict you on your learning process.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would not say this campus is the safest of all colleges. Bears and other wild animals roam free in Juneau. Trash cans must be protected so they cannot be torn apart, and lighting, provided on the steep trail leading through the woods toward student housing, is limited.

    Greek Life

    There is currently one sorority/fraternity available. Alpha Phi Omega is a service fraternity that allows both male and female membership. Since it is a service instead of social fraternity, members participate in multiple acts of community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs currently available, however, anybody has the ability to create a new club. There are not many rules and the school provides you with funding.

    Great for these types of students

    UAS is the place for students who love to be outside in the fresh air. There are multiple activities to keep an outdoor adventurist busy. Also, those interested in learning about Tlingit history will be satisfied with the activities available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Egan library holds many informative and historic Tlingit shows available for the students. Included are story telling by Tlingit elders, dancing with the drums, even videos are shown in the Tlingit language.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it rains and snows most of the year, UAS is located in a beautiful cruise ship town. Plenty of neat shops, located downtown from the college, await visitors; locals get discounts when the cruise ship season is over. Christmas shopping is a breeze.

    What to do for fun

    Juneau is a beautiful place to be. When it's not raining (which is practically never) you can go for a hike or fish to your hearts content. During the winter months, students shred down the mountains on their skis and snowboards. The island also includes year-round glaciers, you can purchase a tour that allows you to walk on the ice.

    Food and Dining

    The freshman meal plan, you are required to pay for, consists of way too much money for one person to spend in one semester. It is only useful at a small store close to housing with slim choice in groceries; and the cafeteria full of greasy food and sometimes questionable servings. There are no fresh fruits or vegetables to choose from and you're lucky if you can find something including dairy. Very unhealthy!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and cosy. It's quiet at night, allowing you to sleep or study as desired. However, there aren't enough washing or drying machines to go around.

    Academic Rigor

    UAS provides many opportunities to take entertaining classes as well as those needed to graduate. The professors are willing and able to help with whatever needed. Tutoring is also available for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about your teachers in advance so that you know how difficult the class will be. Also study as much as possible, especially from the very beginning.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus surrounded by mountains and located on the ocean. Small enough to not get lost; nevertheless, large enough to find a quiet study spot. Full of kind and caring professors who want to help you learn.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Another great thing about this school, you can start your own club, about anything. You just need a certain amount of people to join you and you have a club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are places all over to get away and study in peace and quiet. The library has three floors and multiple study rooms. There is the Learning Center which is a life saver, there are people just waiting to help you with your math homework and writing skills. If you dont want to be inside, there is the court yard right outside Egan building, and you can always go down to the Auke Lake dock to get some peace and quiet, maybe even see a few eagle fly over head.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little pricey for out of state tuition, but its always higher when you are coming from out of state.

    What to do for fun

    The REC center has Kayak and Bike rentals for really cheap. And a short walk down to the dock is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! There is a grill where you order your food, or there is a nice salad bar. There is a great selection of food, and there is also a Bear Pantry up at housing, which is like a small convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. Rooms are decent sized and you only share a bathroom and shower with three other people, instead of sharing with the whole building.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all of your paper work is filled out, and make sure to use the benefits that the school offers.

    In three sentences

    Its a small college but its nice because then the classes are smaller and its easier to get help. Everyone is really nice and helpful. I love this college.

  • 12/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Juneau is definitely a unique place to live. If you love the outdoors, the arts, and a little bit of isolation from the world, it's a good place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good, comfortable, cute pair of rainboots. They're useful to the point that they're a fashion statement. Xtra-tuffs are pretty popular here. Also, on-campus jobs are fantastic. They're flexible, the experience is valuable, and it's pretty easy to get one.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many scholarships available for this school, especially if you're a UA scholar. I ended up with free housing and even got upgraded to a townhouse when the dorms were filled.

    Am enjoying being here

    Juneau's a pretty small town, but they have a great arts scene. I've joined an improv group, been to poetry readings and slams, and gone to tons of lectures. There are also a couple different community theaters that are really talented.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great. My government class is taught by a man who has been studying the course material for almost 40 years, and my english teacher is a published author.

  • 03/23/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for the weather. Get yourself some Xtratuffs (thick rubber boots) and a nice winter jacket. Past that as long as you are ready and wanting to further your education you will be just fine.

    Bang for the buck

    From what I understand tuition isn't too bad. The university I am currently attending is a significant amount more expensive than UAS and that's without considering the AK resident rates.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone I know enjoys attending UAS. The campus itself is beautiful and has plenty to offer and the teachers up here are fantastic.

    Will learn a lot

    All of my friends attend UAS either through traditional classes or via internet. Every single one of them say it is a great school.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody

    Bang for the buck

    No matter what, college is expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers make themselves available for any questions and offer tips to succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    They offer all of the classes that I need for my degree online which is important to me since I work full time and online is the only way I can get my degree.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Absolutely safe.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant.

    Clubs and Activities

    While there are a lot of clubs, they aren't as active as other campuses. Also, no intra-murals.

    Great for these types of students

    Undergraduates looking for marine biology majors or those who are planning to go to graduate school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the polar bear plunge, turkey bowl, and various other outdoor activities focused around the cold (20-30 degree) winters.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, UAS offers a good education that is the perfect jumping off point for graduate studies. However, as an undergraduate school only, it is acceptable, but not incredible.

    What to do for fun

    If you like outdoor adventures then UAS is a great place to go to school. There is hiking, nordic and alpine skiing, ice hockey, water sports, fishing, and beautiful surroundings. UAS offers outdoor education classes that facilitate the students' involvement in the outdoor community.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining staff are horrible. They are mean and do not care about the students. The food itself is decent, but over priced.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the apartments is wonderful. They are large, spacious, and incredibly affordable. The dorms themselves are nothing to write home about, but if you can get into the apartments then it is an excellent living situation.

    Academic Rigor

    While the lower division classes don't require much effort, the upper division classes are rigorous and require a lot of studying and perseverance. However, the studying is worth it as the professors will reward effort with good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive at UAS with an open mind and no expectations. It is partially a commuter school, community college, and high profile marine biology institution. Expect a friendly atmosphere and be open to new experiences and outdoor adventures.

    In three sentences

    This institution has tremendous faculty with the possibility for personal relationships with the professors. Although it is not a prestigious school, the academics are rewarding and the teachers care about how every individual is doing. Unfortunately, if you are not interested in the majors offered, then there aren't many opportunities to pursue other academic fields.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i have had great teachers so far, and the classes also include tutoring!

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in the dorms so idk.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would definitely recommend this school!

    In three sentences

    i'm a distance student through uas. i'm really enjoying it. they're distance program is well put together!

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security, and with small town there is always help available.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor enthusiasts, those wanting a small school feel at university level, Wanting to experience part of Alaska full of culture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Polar Plunge, in Alaska- In January or February

    Bang for the buck

    Great pricing on credits, offer many options for student financial aid- scholarships-grants-tuition assistance.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, campus life events, gym, hike, snowboard

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has good food.

    Dorm Life

    Apartments are awesome (each student usually gets their own room.) Laundry, internet, and small campus store is available on site.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology courses are intense, and you leave feeling accomplished and like you have learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your academic advisors, get involved on the campus, embrace the environment.

    In three sentences

    UAS is a school that feels like a family. Instructors are caring and compassionate and staff take a genuine interest in students. Resources are available to help students succeed.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. There haven't been any attacks on students, that I have heard, here.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide variety of clubs to choose from, and if none of them strike your fancy you can create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be in a small town, and those who want small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Zombies vs. Humans competition in October. It's a lot of fun, and there are a bunch of participants.

    Bang for the buck

    The whole experience is amazing and the faculty are cool.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the movies, shopping, or the activities hosted by the housing officials and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria has food for just about everyone. You can also special order items off of the grill. They also have a bunch of restaurants that you can order take-out from or go to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing! you get to know just about everyone. It is kinda like a small city.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too hard as long as you pay attention and do your homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the functions hosted by the different clubs. They are a lot of fun and you get to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    This college is amazing. The classes are small enough that the professors know your name, and actually get to know you. The housing is within walking distance of campus.

  • 11/30/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Is the same for any UA college and I think could be cheaper since UAA has more fees it seems

    Will enjoy being here

    I reallly liked it there other than the small town could use more stores but is a very nice homy feeling to the campus

    Will learn a lot

    Yes they have all the required classes for my first two years before I go into Nursing School

  • 04/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with disabilities like my self, students who dislike large classes. who like being in an atmosphere with friendly staff, teachers. students who are looking to further there education and are willing to put forth the time and effort. and if you are that upcoming student, then UAS is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    all i really have to say is that, if you like small classes and if you need extra help on anything, UAS is the way to go. I am glad i chose UAS over UAF. if i would have attended UAF i probably would not be in good standing like i am with all my classes. UAS has helped me allot Thur my first year of college and i Highly RECOMMEND! this college to any and every body.

    Bang for the buck

    for what you pay for classes is better than anything i have seen. the classes are a fordable. For what we do pay as students to attend these classes, it is worth it. you really do get you bang for your buck sure classes are going to be expensive no matter where you go. Over all UAS is the choice to go. the classes are worth it. and like i said you do really get your bang for the buck you spend to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here at UAS. it is the school for me, small class sizes. you get all the help you want and its a great atmosphere here. everyone is friendly and kind. and the weather is great to. i came from freezing cold weather back home to a wonderful change in climate and weather. and if you are like me and have some disabilities, they have a specialized person that will work with you, to make sure you have the proper accommodation that you need to succeed at UAS. over all i rate this school 10 out 10 i love here and i know you will to.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at the University of Alaska South East, i am learning everything that i can. the School is a great place to get a degree in any major that is available. UAS has a wonderful staff on hand, they answer any questions that come up, and they will work with you with any problems that happens like financial aid, registering for classes. when it comes to students need, UAS puts them first and makes sure everything is taken care of. the school even has excellent teachers. when ever you need help one on one time with you professor they make sure they can do everything they can for you to make sure you have a successful time her at UAS.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The school is fine, the people are nice, but don't come to Juneau and expect to see any sunshine. The majority of the year is rain, snow, sharp winds and overcast. If you don't care about cold weather then this is a good option.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marine Bio/Biology, Art, English, Math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what the abbreviation for each building is on your schedule, some of the tech ed classes are down town not at the student REC center! Get to know your academic advisor and if you don't like the one who was assigned to you, you can easily change who your advisor is.

    Bang for the buck

    It has a private school feel at a public school price. Cafeteria is a bit pricey for what you get, but all in all this campus is awesome.

    Am enjoying being here

    The scenery is gorgeous, there is a lake on campus and easy to rent kayaks and canoes. There's a lot to do downtown and there are a surprisingly large amount of activities for such a small campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professor to student ratio is fantastic here! The most students I've ever had in a class was 22 so you really get a chance to know your professors. All of the professors I've had are extremely approachable and easy to get along with.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus

    Greek Life

    not extremely well developed

    Clubs and Activities

    International club, campus events board, student government

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors, adventurous, native studies, science

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The classrooms are all right in front of Auke lake, which has beautiful mountain views. There are also opportunities to experience native Alaskan traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    For such an inexpensive school, it sure has a lot to offer!

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of outdoor activities here! Whale watching, kayaking, glacier viewing, hiking, fishing, skiing and snowboarding. There's also many campus events. There is a bowling alley and a movie theater a short distance away.

    Food and Dining

    There are not very many places to eat on campus. Spikes cafe int he library is good, but expensive. The cafeteria has big windows and is a good place to study.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well kept and in a good location. Near both the campus and the harbor.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, especially upper level courses, require your attention. It is necessary to go to class and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can handle the rain! The weather here is usually cloudy but don't let that hold you back from going outside and experiencing the beautiful campus. Be willing to step outside your comfort zone and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I love UAS! The campus is located near beautiful Auke Bay and offers breathtaking views of the Mendenhall Glacier. The courses are diverse yet personal, and there are many undergraduate research opportunities.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swimming--two great facilities, hit the gym, movies, danicing, hiking, biking, kayaking, hanging with friends, culture, theater, lots of community activities.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food--need I say more? Within walking distance of a great coffee shop that sells amazingly yummy waffles. A phone call away from great delivery food, bus ride or a ride with friends to other great restaurants in town.

    Dorm Life

    Is isolated from the rest of the college and community but everyone should live at least the freshman year in the dorms for the great cultural and diversity of people and is a great way to meet fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    Is no more difficult than other universities for class content. What is difficult is the serious lack of daylight as fall and winter approach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of where the University is situated in comparision to the rest of the community and how isolated it is from the rest of the world and realize there are only two avenues to pursue in leaving Juneau.

    In three sentences

    Difficult and misleading for transfer students. Fantastic location--Juneau is fabulous. Should assit the non-traditional students more.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all good here!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    student lounge is comfy!

    Bang for the buck

    Walmart

    What to do for fun

    Study :)

    Food and Dining

    Limited

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Limited

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all your options!

    In three sentences

    Its the only college in town so its the Best!

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is what it is

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, sailing, kayaking, snowboarding, skiing

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty hit-or-miss, especially since they're changing up the cafeteria staff and menus left and right

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is actually pretty easy, better than most I've seen (and i went to boarding school most of my life.) On-campus apartments are great and like actual apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be interested in the outdoors Be prepared for lots of rain Little snow, relatively warm during the winters

    In three sentences

    Good for what it is; really cheap way to get the Gen. Eds out of the way. Lacks a lot in huge major fields, but good for marine biology and outdoor majors. Really friendly and workable teachers.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There seem to be a decent number of clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    As of this year the UAS campus has no computer lab available to students. For whatever reason the computer lab was closed this fall which cut the number of available computers on campus roughly in half. The only currently available computers are placed in high traffic areas of the library and in the learning center(used for tutoring and is not a quiet place to work). You can check out an old laptop on a daily basis from the library but only if your willing to pay a $1200 fine (these outdated laptops are worth $300 tops) if something goes wrong with it. Honestly, what kind of school doesn't have a computer lab?? Students are also forced to pay for a membership at the rec center. Much of the equipment is in disrepair and if your looking for a treadmill to use you're likely out of luck. One out of seven treadmills actually work for someone who wants to run on them. Two treadmills have been out of order for around four months. There is a LOT of money being spent around campus to make it look nice (Although I liked it more before they cut down so many trees and got rid of the only grassy area to study) but not much of this money goes to the educational aspects of the school.

    What to do for fun

    The ski resort is the best!

    Food and Dining

    Poor overpriced food. The manager was always rude.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to not have the schedule or variety of courses available that you would have at another school. Plan to provide your own computer as the technology here is outdated and at times unavailable. If I could do it all again I would go to UAA, UAF, or somewhere else. Other universities offer more variety in classes which are available more often as well as better and more available technology.

    In three sentences

    First of all, UAS has some seriously great instructors. They will go far above and beyond to insure you get the best experience in class. The availability of classes and technology however is very poor and seems to be getting worse.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel exceptionally safe on this campus, day or night.

    Greek Life

    There is a club for people with high GPAs and that is it

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Greek club for people with high GPAs and that is it, aside from Student Council

    Great for these types of students

    This is exceptionally good for non-traditional students. Most classes are available in the evenings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I have ever been a party to. There is a third building that is on the water, but there aren't very many traditional classes offered in it.

    Bang for the buck

    This is exceptionally good for non-traditional students. Most classes are available in the evenings.

    What to do for fun

    Occasional things to do on campus, but for the most part you should just go out and enjoy Ketchikan.

    Food and Dining

    There is a vending machine in the student lounge and free coffee in the library. They took out the water cooler.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are extremely hard, and they are dedicated to making sure that if you pass their class, you WILL know the subject material. Some teachers are more lax and are more interested in you just trying. There are, of course, the teachers who are convinced that they are making a difference in the world and who only want to float around dispensing nonsensical wisdom but trust me, you'll get those everywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good place to go to start your degree program. I recommend getting as many of your generic classes out of the way and then actually talk to the teachers to see what sorts of classes are available that may take you through a degree program to help you find a job in the future.

    In three sentences

    University of Alaska, Southeast, Ketchikan campus is a good University. It is a good school to start out in and get your pre-reqs out of the way, but going through all the classes you need in four years is challenging. The teachers are wonderful and care about each of their students and will help you however they can.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime is non-existent. The only danger that students need to worry about is Alaska's weather and animals. There are those rare times where bears or deer will appear and people need to very cautious.

    Greek Life

    There is a co-ed fraternity/sorority. It's not really a greek club, but a service. They usually do community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities on campus everyday. The student body is very close-knit and all have ambitions to get the students and community involved. It can be from fundraisers, meetings, concerts, and dances.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, quiet, adventurous, studious, out-going...UAS has a very diverse campus, it's very accepting of any personality type.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the annual Polar Dip where the community and students jump off the harbor docks. You get a free t-shirt! There's campus kick-off where it's held the first week of the first semester. It helps the students interact and meet new people. The campus started HvZ, so be prepared for a week long of Nerf gun wars.

    Bang for the buck

    It has really cheap tuition (in-state and out-of-state). Easy to get a job here and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Dances, mic-nights, concerts, skiing, rock-climbing, hiking, kayaking, swimming, fishing, hunting

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay and so is the student market place. Over-priced in the shop, so I advise you to go grocery shopping elsewhere. Cafeteria food is what you expect, it's good but so unhealthy. Say hello to the Freshman15!

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen live in the same building, but same-gender suites. Sophomores and on live in the campus apartments. Great place to meet new people and make life-long friends. There should be more washer/dryers though, but other than that, the dorms are okay. There is always some activity going on at the dorm lodge, so you'll never get bored. Great place to study and sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are taught at a fast-paced and teachers are always aiming to challenge their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for snow. In the winter there will be an average of 2-3 feet of snow on the trails and roads. Alaska is used to the weather, so they rarely call in a snow-day. Having a small class (20-30 students) it's easy to talk to the professors. UAS always follows deadlines. They are not lenient when it comes to deadlines, so always be on track with everything!

    In three sentences

    Small classes so it allows a teacher-student interaction. Beautiful scenery and campus-embraces Alaskan spirit. Great college for students to have a hands-on learning environment and having close-knitted classes.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They had a Zombie vs Human game go on once a semester, dances, movie night, and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    The few times I went to the Caferteria, the meals were ok, but expensive. And I notice that the saled bar did not have much to offer for vegetables.

    Dorm Life

    I was off campus. I do not know much about it.

    Academic Rigor

    I found that the material was challenging, I spent a lot of my time studying with 12-15 credits a semester. I do not know how it compares to others schools. UAS does have a learning center that is very helpful on homework, espicially math.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would check to see if UAS can offer you all the classes you need for your major. Also if you are applying, look for scholarships where you can find them. It is better to have college paid then have to have student's loans I think.

    In three sentences

    University of Alaska Southeast has a beautiful Campus Setting, Friendly staff, and tuition is really low. The cons with this school is that it is a small University, so it does not offer a lot of Majors. Another con is the weather, which is rain most of the year.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has amazing food for a college campus!

    In three sentences

    A small, friendly, community style college perfect for kids who don't want to attend a giant college right out of high school.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my kiddos

    Food and Dining

    I do not live here

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would enroll here if you are good with distance education. The teachers and school are great.

    In three sentences

    I love the University of Alaska Southeast. All of the professors help you when needed and are always there for you. VERY VERY good school.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    All different kinds.

    Great for these types of students

    Biology students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Best place to eat is waffle company!

    Bang for the buck

    Very beautiful and unique place to go to school.

    What to do for fun

    skiing, snowboarding, hiking, fourwheeling, fishing, camping, and anything to do with the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Not all that good of a selection.

    Dorm Life

    Small but nice location.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain gear and snow gear!

    In three sentences

    It's such a beautiful school and surrounded by wildlife. The mountains in the background make it a fantastic place to go to school. Being right on the ocean is great for being a Biology student.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY CLUBS! There is a club for everyone. JOIN STUDENT ACTIVITIES BOARD! It's a blast.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many student activities going on throughout the semester. We have dances, Humans vs Zombies, and carnivals. There are several whale watching tours around town and hiking trails galore. We love to go camping on the weekends or hit up downtown for the amazing nightlife.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a chance and move to Juneau. It's beautiful, the school is amazing, and the faculty and staff are wonderful. I have never been more proud of myself than I am right now for moving 3,000 miles away to study biology at an incredible school in Juneau, Alaska.

    In three sentences

    The University of Alaska Southeast is an amazing school with a wonderful science program. All the professors (that I have encountered) are incredible people that truly care for their students and do all they can to help them succeed. The staff (admissions, financial aid, registrar, advising, etc.) are so open to help and so friendly. I have never had a bad experience here at UAS.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    super secure

    Greek Life

    None:(

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor lovers, and people who don't enjoy big cites.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans verses zombies is the best!

    Bang for the buck

    Super inexpensive

    What to do for fun

    Be outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Icky, turning the freshman 15 into the freshman 50

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING

    Academic Rigor

    Homework load can be huge some days but other days not as much, the teachers are all amazing and make learning fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you come! It isn't sunny and pretty all the time, it gets really wet and rainy.

    In three sentences

    They have a beautiful campus, that is very easy to get around. It is a fairly small community so you actually have the opportunity to know your professors. I enjoy being here and I love the campus living as well!