Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Arkansas Community College-Batesville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Older people who have decided to go back to college, or beginners so they can get the feel of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Budget, enjoy your time off, have extra money, and also plan ahead.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the class are just right, or a little bit more than another smaller college around the area. But if you live in the Independence area, usually they do scholarships with the high schools around and you be able to go on a free ride.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a college student, so I would enjoy being anywhere else than in class. But with the small classes our teachers are more enjoyable, and tell a lot more jokes, which makes me like being there more.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot more than I did in high school. With the teacher only teaching up to 20 students at a time, we are able to interact, and ask lots of questions. The teachers there also can tell if the whole class is struggling and will spend more time on the study or since the class is so small, they remember you and talk to you after class about it.

  • 03/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students, older persons wanting to get a quality education for cheap, students fresh out of high school that need their basics, persons interesting in Nursing. We have a very good nursing program and are building a new nursing building. =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't make my mistake and think that just because it is in a tiny town and is a community college that is is less useful than the traditional 4 year universities. Larger universities generally don't really have the time to put in quality time with each student. Smaller colleges, however, do.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is VERY affordable and you get a great education.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a small town, so there's not much to do socially. If you decide to attend UACCB though, you've most likely grown up in this area and know this. I enjoy the atmosphere. Everyone is focused on learning and gaining skills for the workforce instead of lazing around and being a student.

    Am learning a lot

    I attended a 4 year university and left it to move closer to home, while transferring to UACCB. I feel like I've learned more in my one year here than in the 2 years at ASU-J! The teachers here are more focused on teaching you the skills you'll need later in life, whereas at ASU, they seemed more focused on just teaching the subject instead of how it related to the real world.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its the tops

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back country folks

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is great you get a lot for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun here and around Batesville if you know where to look. They have tons of student activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great also.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here although there are some apartments behind the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses and the instructors challenge the best of us!! 5 starts

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the place to be. The tuition is great and the students could not ask for a better place to attend school.

    In three sentences

    The location is wonderful. The instructors are the best. It is community and student focused. It is the tops.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ducks are named Drake and Daisy.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes I had a free ride at UACCB

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do in the town of Batesville, but the school tries to have events going and so does the town and Lyon college.

    Food and Dining

    The town of Batesville has many places to eat, and does discounts with UACCB. Also the grill inside UACCB was wonderful and a fast place to eat between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus, or a lot of apartment pickings.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned a lot more than I thought I would.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the programs and teachers at the school it will be worth it.

    In three sentences

    I love the teachers, and the atmosphere at UACCB. I wish they would have picked an mascot and sticked with it, other than that I will miss the place whenever I transfer.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get the education you pay for. But UACCB is also significantly cheaper than a 4 year college and they'll help you with transfer scholarships if you intend to transfer. :]

    What to do for fun

    UACCB works with the community and the Student body to make sure they have things planned for fun all throughout the year, especially for holidays!

    Food and Dining

    The grill on campus has great food and it's not as pricey as other colleges!

    Dorm Life

    This is an community college so there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on staying at the school to study, there are great tutors in the student success center. Also, along with the computer lab, you can use the computers in the library or student success center.

    In three sentences

    UACCB is a great school with an great atmosphere. The teachers there are phenomenal, they will meet with you outside of class to make sure you understand the material if you need them too. There are also many great opportunities available for transfer students.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many cameras, and also several security guards check into each building every so often.

    Clubs and Activities

    UACCB will have campus days in which some days different club activities will go on. Last semester, they had a Zombie war for a WHOLE WEEK! Professors were even in on it, too.

    Bang for the buck

    Be prepared to pay an arm and a leg for books. It is awful!

    Food and Dining

    UACCB doesn't have a dining room. Instead, there is the Grill which is like a concession stand that is open between certain hours.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is not offered here. It is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is very good. The rules are always spot-on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking can be hectic. Always make sure you leave for class in enough time to possibly drive around the parking lot for a spot... unless you want to park far. Also, if it rains even the slightest bit, make sure you park your vehicle on the hill so you won't have to swim to class.

    In three sentences

    UACCB is a small, but safe campus. The professors are all helpful. Its easy to become friends with other students, whereas it may not be easy at other colleges.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ITS A JOKE. lol they dont do aything but eat and walk to the lunch area, dont feel all the way safe. need cameras

    Clubs and Activities

    Deans list,

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided, or decided, People who start late in school and ones who want to take there time

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie hunts, face paintings, Churches come a feed us which is such a blessing!

    Bang for the buck

    Over priced books and food,I understand the collage is trying to make money but think about the students who the goverment says make two much but really only have enought to pay bills and never get ahead.

    What to do for fun

    Clean my house, Go to church, fish, read books and play with my animals

    Food and Dining

    Food was okay I did not like the fact the cooks and handlers with our food did not use gloves. I stoped eatiing there after that!

    Dorm Life

    This collage has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers take their time and make sure we understand what we are learning which makes it easier for us to learn when given the chancne and oppertunity

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the deadlines for when to drop a class and get a percent of your money back, i didnt keep up and dropped a class and had to pay. also TIME MANAGEMENT on studying!

    In three sentences

    Very scatterd and small space but great teachers, i was blessed to have a few teachers that cared about my education instead of their selves. love the staff and teachers!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many club offerings, but if you get enough participants, you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for everyone - esp. transfer students.

    Bang for the buck

    At less than $70/crdt, you can't beat the value!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, golf, historical events, film fest every March.

    Food and Dining

    There is a campus grill mostly with bar food options. Excellent fries. Specials are a real value!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging for those who struggled in HS, but it's not impossibly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have lots of great resources. Go visit in person to get the most info. and to meet the right ppl.

    In three sentences

    UACCB is a great local option for people who would otherwise have to travel too far for post-secondary training. It's a very personal environment. If you are really invested in your education, you will get tons of help.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny.

    Food and Dining

    Great food for the price. Also there are plently places to eat around you besides on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most definitely challenging! I know I will be more than prepared. When you graduate, your employer will know you have a lot of potential.

    In three sentences

    They genuinely care about you and are always willing to help if you need it. Not only are they great educators, they are mentors, friends, and overall great people. An amazing, academically challenging college that values community and discipline.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. Everyone is honest and friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students are extremely welcome here. To be honest, however, this school is for all kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Renaissance Days is the biggest.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of clubs and events to join into. I love the Renaissance Days. In fact, I was the president of the Renaissance Club for a year; we did a lot of community based activities that were tons of fun for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. We don't really have a cafeteria, but there is a grill area that serves all kinds of food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This place is packed with excitement and happiness for the academic arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the student success center! It will do wonders for you. Also, if you have a question, don't be afraid to ask. The professors are more than willing to answer.

    In three sentences

    I give this college a well-deserved A. The staff here is amazing; they try to help in any way they can. The campus is beautiful as well.