Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Arkansas-Fort Smith Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are interested in their studies and want the full college experience on a smaller, more unified scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There is ALWAYS something going on, whether it be Greek life or on campus itself.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good tuition for the opportunities offered.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great school with a wide variety of people.

    Am learning a lot

    I love my classes. Most of my instructors have been really great so far!

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone in the medical field, education or computer based programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your adviser often. Your adviser will be a lifeline if any questions or concerns may arise. He or she can also help you find degrees or clubs that will make your college life more enjoyable. Being an active member on campus is also very important. There are so many clubs and events that you will miss out on if you just show up to your classes and leave when they are over.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is cheaper than any other school I applied to in this area. It is practically nonexistent with all of the scholarships and grants available to students. Your Lions Card gives you access to the campus store, cafeteria, and many local businesses at discounted prices. You are also provided with a lot of bonuses already added into the tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors and fellow students take the time to actually notice your presence on campus. The atmosphere is really friendly throughout the entire school. The professors have given a great effort to making themselves available to students in and out of the classroom. The campus also offers many enjoyable events free to students. These events allow students to socialize with others and have fun. Almost any student can find an events he or she will love.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really are here for YOU. Each teacher provides various methods for excelling in the course. All of your questions can be answered with ease. The flexibility makes succeeding possible for any student.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff going on around campus whether it be concerts, games, or plays, there is always something. There is always somewhere to get free food in case you are low on cash, and tons of opportunities to get free t-shirts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little pricey, but the quality is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The Lions Den is really great. The rooms are very well kept and put other college dorms to shame.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers at UAFS are very qualified in what they do, they explain everything thoroughly and keep you well informed on your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is hard for everyone, just hang in there. Even though it will seem unbearably hard at times, you can do it.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas in Fort Smith has a really nice campus, everything is very well kept and clean. Not only that, but the classes are taught very well. The teachers are very good about explaining the objectives and keeping you caught up on your grade status.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students who need an education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be ready for a campus full of activity.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a low cost school that lets you get the education that you need.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this college because everyone here is so nice. I have meet so many friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much more than book knowledge. I am learning how to function in society.

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Medical, like nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Instead of coming to college just to go, look at what career you want to pursue first. THEN look and see if this school has the right degree for you.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is practically in our back yards! I am living at home, and drive everyday. The parking can be tight, but if you arrive around 7:30 for 8 am classes, you will have no problem. the tuition is about $2000 a semester, but with my band scholarship I pay around $1200 a semsester. If you are a music major, they practicially get a full ride. Bug your professors to get the information you need! You are a paying costomer at college.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many Campus Activities that go on throughout the semester. The best way to make connections is to get involved! College is what you make of it.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a Graphic Design major. The school has a small community feeling that adds a bit of personality. The best way to get the most out of it is by putting effort into the school yourself. This is not highschool, and they are not just going to give you worksheets and spoon feed you anymore. Get to know your professors! They will become friends after awhile (in graphic design anyway).

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UAFS has a great program for medical and dentistry students. This year, they also told us that psychology was the most popular degree for the year 2010-2011. UAFS offers the most common degrees. And they do a great job at choosing the professors to teach in these fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise future students not to skip class and miss their work. College professors at this university tend to take off points for people who miss. Take good notes, study them, take advantage of your books and highlight everything you need to know!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is extremely affordable. I am very thankful for that. Especially if you are eligible for the Arkansas Challenge Scholarship. Not to mention, this university offers many scholarships itself for all different types of current and incoming students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this college because it is so close to home. I can still live at home, and go to school every day. The campus is very nice. It is lit up at night for those of you with night classes. There are many class time options, so it is easy to work around any type of schedule. We have a great cafe, and a great fitness center. The two places I tend to go when I have a break between classes!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at this university. The teachers are great, just as long as you pay attention and study just like you should be doing! I have lived in my books for the past year, and my freshman year FLEW by. But it was all well worth it, and I am so glad to be at this college working towards my degree.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reguardless of the run-around you may get while trying to get your FAFSA, do what needs to be done. You will be greatful. And use Cappex.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy my family, reading, education, and christian background.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate UAFS as a five star.

    Tips for prospective students

    UAFS has an office on campus for local colleges.

    In three sentences

    UAFS is a very unique college. UAFS provides an online level of education to meet your needs. UAFS travels to advance your education as needed.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get a degree but don't exactly want a lot of student loans to pay off, but still want a quality education, this university is ideal.

    Am learning a lot

    The proffesors here are very caring about each student. They are always willing to help anybody having any trouble or questions.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to join as many clubs as you can.

    Am enjoying being here

    I grew up around the university so I know much about the state and the city. There's constantly something to do there!

    Am learning a lot

    I believe that the professors here actually care about you! If you have any problems just tell them and they will work things out for you.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who like a small town.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is well worth your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorms are really nice and the atmosphere is really great here.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are nice, the ones I've taken anyway. They stay on you about your work.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get in the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    I am currently taking courses online from UAFS. The instructors are excellent and the content is superb. I would recommend this college to others.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police Phone Boxes are located throughout the campus and they are happy to walk you to your car or class if you feel endangered in anyway.

    Greek Life

    Each Sorority and Fraternity has their own personalities, creating a fun, friendly environment for anyone who wants to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about anything you could be interested in! I personally wish there was a creative writing club though.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good price for tuition, however you are not guaranteed finishing your degree plan on time, due to the lack of teachers and classes.

    What to do for fun

    Students receive one free ticket each to many fabulous events going on at the campus and around town all year long. You simply have to go to the campus's box office with your university student I.D. and you'll be able to receive your ticket.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Chic-fil-a, Subway, Pizza Hut, and other options!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a decent size, but constantly cold and a bit bare.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but you must study in all of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Discuss your schedule with upperclassmen. Visit http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/ to see how your professor teaches. Get a lot of use out of the library (It's a great place to study!) Avoid loans. Don't buy your books until after your first class.

    In three sentences

    This university is extremely easy to get into. The tuition is a decent price and there are many opportunities for scholarships. The Student-Worker program is fantastic.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities, clubs and organizations available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books and live off campus if possible.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean and conducive to a good experience. The faculty, staff and students are friendly and generous. The graduation rate is not high, but the overall experience is good.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a UPD Officer somewhere near by. They are great about walking students to their cars or dorms after night classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do here. There are intramural sports, clubs, and things like athletic band and chorus.

    Food and Dining

    We have recently changed food vendors and the food isn't just awesome in the dorms, but in the campus center you can get things like Subway and Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great place to make friends, and the housing staff will help in anyway they can to make your stay here like being at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your dream major, the classes are either super easy or, in the case of some of the more difficult majors like engineering and biology, they are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus if you can afford to. There are so many more opportunities to make friends and enjoy the college.

    In three sentences

    I love school here. The campus is like one giant family and there is always something going on no matter what you're interested in. Its a wonderful place to be.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    They have one of the nicest campus' In Arkansas.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper...... eh It's getting more worth being around on campus due to the renovations and additions.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great small campus with lots of people to hang out with all the time. Friendly environment, and lots of student activities and other organization to keep you involved.

    Am learning a lot

    You get out what you put into it. Easy as that.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    close to home

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of free scholarships

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel pretty safe walking around campus on my own but i am a big guy and i can handle myself pretty good.

    Greek Life

    i don't know what that is.

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm not in any club or activity.

    Great for these types of students

    have money, independent, can multitask, don't need help finding anything like information, help, scholarships, scheduling classes.

    Bang for the buck

    i transferred to uafs from another university because of cost but it's such a hassle to get money to go to uafs anyway because no one helps me get more scholarships that there's not much difference between here and where i was. i do like my science classes though, but i wish i could get the courses i actually need to graduate.

    What to do for fun

    tv and watching episodes online of old great shows. sometimes i walk around the campus or go to the gym for exercise and get my mind off school.

    Food and Dining

    it's hard to have time to eat but when i do i usually eat alone and quickly so i can get to my homework.

    Dorm Life

    it's quite because i don't have room mates which is good for me so i don't get distracted and no one tells me to clean up, but i do a good job of staying tidy if i do say so myself.

    Academic Rigor

    i bust my chops every week to get my homework done. i call my family when the assignments are really tough to find out where to get the information i need to write my papers and do the best i can.

    Tips for prospective students

    know what you want to do for a living after college because it will make finding the schools that offer the major required to have that career, easier. don't wait until the last minute to pick a school and do your fafsa or you're in for a world of misery and a lot of loans. ask teachers, older siblings that have been to college, college recruiters everything you can about the homework load, ease of getting financial aid, who you can go to with other questions you come up with later that works at that college. really, just don't be lazy about looking for the right school to go to and you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    the office of admissions is short staffed and i think that's why it takes so long to get confirmation of scholarships, loans, and other information on my tuition. it's hard to get scheduled into the classes i need to graduate and i don't have time to eat between them so i go hungry until the end of the day. i wish there was someone i could get clear and quick information from in uafs to make being here better.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus are not your typical mall-cop campus police. They can issue tickets and arrest. They make rounds every half hour and are very reliable. In addition to the police, the Resident advisers (RAs) are available for anything.

    Greek Life

    There is absolutely no hazing! UAFS does not tolerate hazing and none of our Greek life does it. The people in Greek life become really close and enjoy themselves at every chapter. Each sorority/fraternity has their own rules which must be followed. You learn more during rush week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's just about a club for every kind of person. It's easy to become a member and you make really great friends. There are over 60 organizations that you can join and you can also create your own.

    What to do for fun

    Every Thursday, Applebees has karaoke night, the Student Activities Office (S.A.O.) hosts many events on campus the whole year around, as well as the Campus Activities Board (C.A.B.) and many others. Thanks to community donors, students get to go to free shows at the Convention Center, almost monthly. There's plenty of sports games to attend, as well.

    Food and Dining

    The chefs in our dining hall make the food fresh. If you're a health person and like to count calories (or need to), that has been taken care of. It's buffet style so you can get as much as you want for your meals. The only downside would be that you're not allowed to take food out of the cafeteria, but with the added option of getting a to-go, it's not too much of a problem. The food court within the student campus center offers a variety of different fast foods if you don't make it to eat or don't have the time to sit down and enjoy. It uses lions cash which means you don't have to pay out of pocket for the food since it's included in your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the Lion's Den is something I would not want to replace. It's a blast living with people you don't know because you get to hang out and learn about them. There are so many adventures that happen within these walls and great memories. The apartments on campus, also known as Sebastian Commons (or SebCo), are perfect for upperclassmen who are ready to start having a place of their own, but still keep a sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors all have their own teaching style and the classroom sizes are small enough to have the interaction between teacher and student be on a personal level. The coursework isn't impossibly heavy, but it makes you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend cub camp. It's a great way to meet your fellow classmates and make friends before classes start. Join a club to get involved; it makes it the college experience so much more enjoyable. Get to know your teachers; the classes are small enough that it won't be much of a problem, but if you ever need to talk, it's nice to know your teacher knows exactly who you are. They are here for you. Don't be afraid to try something new--after all, that's what college is about, right?

    In three sentences

    One of the least expensive schools around, with amazing staff that make your enrollment process easy. Friendly people, so you won't have to worry about not making any friends your first week. It's a small campus, but still growing, which allows the professors to get to know you and make your learning experience greater.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is very involved with keeping students safe.

    Great for these types of students

    students that want a smaller, more personal college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    great education for the tuition $.

    What to do for fun

    basketball games, baseball games, mall, mini-golf, movie theaters, lots of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    decent food court.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home, but have friends that live in the dorms. they are comfortable and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    high academic expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and decide what interests you early on.

    In three sentences

    university of arkansas - fort smith is a great campus. it is small but offers a great education. it is a very personal college.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems like you could walk across the campus at night, and not be afraid of dying. Always a plus!

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is good, but the food isn't always great. Pretty typical for a college tho.

    Dorm Life

    They just redid the dorms, they're really nice now.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend some time in town, to get to know it and see how you fit. If you don't like a town, its hard to like a college. But I'm sure you'll like it.

    In three sentences

    Its a great campus, one you can feel at home at almost at once. Great dorms, teachers, fellow students, and the town is so quaint! Doesn't cost that much either, compared to other universities.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of programs and stuff going on all the time

    Food and Dining

    have a fairly good selection..but i live on RAMEN

    Dorm Life

    new lions den dorm is pretty sweet.

    Academic Rigor

    it's easy in some classes but hard in others..just like any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour! see if you like it! they recently are building new things here such as library add ons.

    In three sentences

    it's a really fun school to attend. it's on the smaller side, but has good teacher/student interaction. there are many programs going on every day.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I just want to say this University has a nice campus. It is not hard to receive scholarships or for them to increase. If you're looking for a university with great scholarship opportunities, University of Arkansas-Fort Smith is the place for you!

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is not only beautiful but incredibly safe. I always felt at home and never worried about myself of my property while at this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    UAFS offers an extensive array of 2 and 4 years degrees for an amazing price compared to most other 4 year programs.

    What to do for fun

    The UAFS campus offers many great opportunities for students to be involved in campus activities. The campus center offers student activities ranging from movies, games, and events almost nightly.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very reasonably priced as well as many options available for students. The dining area is easy to access and provides many options for payment. The dining area is also very well maintained.

    Dorm Life

    I am unfamiliar with dorm life. I lived off campus during my time on campus. I did get to see several of the dorm rooms and do know that the dorms are very nice, clean, and have great security.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are very helpful to students and willing to provide one on one assistance if needed. Compared to other institutions I have had an easier time getting in to speak with instructors after class or during office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive to class early because parking is limited close to campus.

    In three sentences

    Very well laid out and campus friendly, especially for new students. The campus is very unintimidating for a first time college student. Classes are small and easy to locate.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For kids who like to have fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with clubs and meet new people.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many student lead activities every day.

    Food and Dining

    They have absolutely the best food services in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard to learn the information. Some degree programs are competitive and only a select few get in.

    In three sentences

    The University is small and personal. Though it is small it is well funded. The staff are well qualified to be teaching

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to choose from!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    24 hour computer lab at the student center (just need student ID to get in after hours).

    What to do for fun

    Fort Smith is lacking a bit in public transportation (but a bus does come to the schoo) but the school is within 5 blocks of the mall so places to eat (movie theater there as well).

    Academic Rigor

    Fair

    Tips for prospective students

    Get books online if possible or rent them :)

    In three sentences

    Great small school with smaller classes and good teachers!!

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They blue phones everywhere on campus. The blue phones are emergency phones, that allow you to use if you feel unsafe or any reason to have help where it goes automatically to the security office. They have security cameras everywhere, they also have security police on campus 24/7 that will escort you to your dorm or for any reason at all if you need their help. You also have your ID which you swipe to get in to places like the dorms, so no one without and ID is able to enter the dorms and other places.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Arkansas- Fort Smith has amazing prices for the exceptional education they provide you with. It worth every penny to come to this college, though some may not be able to afford all of it they do very well.

    What to do for fun

    The University has plenty of different clubs and sports clubs they would love you to join for your spare time. If they do not have a club you like they will allow you to form your own club for others to join. Not to mention the sports for students to attend are very satisfying.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent dinning facilities, and have campus lunch rooms.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at the University is intriguing. They have multiple selections of room types you would enjoy. Also, has laundry and a lobby for study groups on every floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of Arkansas- Fort Smith is academically challenging, which is very rewarding to successful people. In programs like BSN they only accept the top 40 and have a B average, similarity the Dental program takes on 16. Proving that you have to be your best to become successful here, which is again a great academic inquiry.

    Tips for prospective students

    To tour on their campus, to really get the feel of it. Going to cub camp to learn about all the ins and outs for the university and to get a head start on meeting your suite mates, professors, and students. Also highly recommend you and your parents to attend orientation.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas-Fort Smith is one of the most spectacular colleges I have visited, though I have not started my classes yet, the professors have already made me feel at home here. Everyone in the environment is upbeat and outgoing, many times they have remind us of the importance it is to be responsible and showing their care to our success.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on the campus. Campus police are also always present. Just be careful when crossing streets.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is wide variety of clubs to choose from, but if you don't find one that is to your interest, then you can request to create a new club.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an excellent education for an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    They often have free concerts or plays going on.

    Academic Rigor

    You definitely have to take notes and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers and let them get to know you. Don't be afraid to ask questions because that's what they're there for. Don't skip classes. Most instructors will begin to drop your grade if you miss too many days. Also if your late to class or leave early it counts as a half day absence so be careful about that.

    In three sentences

    I have been going here for two years through the WATC program. The teachers are fantastic and want to get know who you are as a person. The classes may not be easy but they are well worth your time.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many things near by in Fort Smith to do for entertainment. Fort Smith is always growing and changing into a better city every day.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I don't plan on living in the dorms, but I have seen the inside. They're state of the art and beautiful!!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended yet, but the courses seem challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the website to gather everything you need before going to admissions! I had to go back twice because I didn't know I needed certain documents to apply.

    In three sentences

    Very beautiful open campus, but slightly too spread out. Everyone I've met there so far seems quite nice. I really look forward to going there!

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love this school. They are all about u and not about getting paid. It's the perfect size school you won't be just another number.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a bargain

    What to do for fun

    Join CAB :)

    Food and Dining

    Food was always pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    In three sentences

    Awesome place and great tuition! I loved every moment I was here.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is awesome. They are so concerned with your well being and they do everything in their power to make sure you are safe. The rules and guidelines to keep you safe are very manageable and I always feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge part of the university. I am not currently involved due to the amount of studying I do, but the different groups are always having a blast and doing fun things.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are vast. There are many ways to get involved in all of them. There are your normal groups like Spanish, french, and robotics; but also there are plenty of not so normal groups so everyone can be involved in something.

    Great for these types of students

    The university is great for any kind of student. We have a lot of international students, out of state students, traditional, and non traditional students who all say that the university is a great campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the University of Arkansas, Fort Smith, there is really cool hangout area in the middle of the campus center. There are tons of couches, TVs, and tables. Its a very nice set up so you can study and also hang out with your friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny. The university is small enough where you can know a lot of people and can easily ask for help, but large enough to where you are always meeting new people and learning new things. Professors really care about their students and the students success.

    What to do for fun

    I always went to the courtyard in between the dorms. There is always something really exciting going on. Also, sometime the university has bands and special activities you can participate in. The sports are really the main attraction though!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is AMAZING! There is such a wide variety to choose from every night and the cooks never cease to amaze me!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting and stressful all at the same time. I lived at the dorms my first year and i thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The only down fall is the space and privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is somewhat difficult. The professors really push you to get as far as you can, but they offer a lot of support along the way to insure you meet the bar they have set for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Two important tips I would give to prospective students are to get involved in the different organizations and clubs. Knowing people can help you socially and also it can help you when it comes to finding a study group. My second tip is to use the library as much as possible. It is a wonderful way to find people to help you, while staying in a relaxing and quiet environment.

    In three sentences

    One of the best educational experiences you will ever come across. There are many opportunities to get involved in the social aspect of college. Professors and other staff are always willing to help and give you the best advice.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love it there. The professors take time to make sure you are understanding the material.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is great for college students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. It provides everything one needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic is important at the University as it likes to see students succeed in life.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas Fort Smith is an excellent University for anyone. The college campus is great and is always being taken care of. The University provides many majors and good professors to teach the classes.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always campus police monitering the campus

    Greek Life

    delta gamma

    Clubs and Activities

    spanish club

    What to do for fun

    The greek life is big here so get involved!

    Tips for prospective students

    buy a planner

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere! The smaller classses make it so much easier to communicate with your professors. Ususally they really want to see everyone suceed

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is one of only a few who had a police department that allows the officers to carry guns. They always have people on duty, and with such a small campus the response time is fast.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities to join at UAFS. It is a great way to make friends and get the full college experience. There is also a strict no hazing rule, so that is one thing potential members do not have to worry about.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus and school is great for students from small towns or students who appreciate smaller class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    UAFS is an accredited four year university, and has one of the lowest tuition rates in the state, and with the many different majors and minors they offer, the bang for the buck is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many opportunities for fun. There are fraternities and sororities to join, intramural sports going on year around, concerts to go and watch the band at, and many others events that are put on throughout the year to entertain students and give them a brief reprise from the rigors of study.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has two major dining areas. The food court has places like Subway, Blazing Burrito, and Pizza Hut. It also has a Starbucks for all the caffine a college student could ever need. The Lions Den cafeteria is an all you can eat buffet style dining hall. Though they do occasionally lack variety, the quality of the food they do make more than compensates for it.

    Dorm Life

    The students at UAFS are all friendly and the dorms are all very nice. The Lions Den is new dorm style housing on the campus, and is quite nice. Sebastian Commons are the apartments on campus and they are nice, though a little expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at UAFS will challenge you, but that challenge is what you will need to prepare you for the real world and the career that awaits you when you graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should come check out the campus. It is a great place, and quite pretty. UAFS also offers many degree plans and has low tuition rates which is a plus.

    In three sentences

    The University is great! It has one of the lowest tuition rates in the state, especially for the number of degrees you can get there. The campus is small and will give you a feeling that you do belong. The professors at the school are all really knowledgeable in their areas of study, and always willing to help their students succeed.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A security car is continually making the rounds of the campus. I feel quite safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available throughout the year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is to get your picture taken with the NUMA lion.

    Bang for the buck

    There are multiple places to 'hang out' or study. No place seems overcrowded.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are concerts, games, exercise, shopping....and anything the city has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food with a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced dorm life but the dorms are close to the classrooms and look very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not found the academics to be overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation. It helps familiarize you with your new surroundings.

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas-Fort Smith is very up to date. It is a beautiful campus. The faculty is helpful and friendly.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UAFS has amazing security, key cards for all the dorms, well lighted walkways between classes, and some amazing patrol officers. Plus, students are notified imediatly via text and email if a threat has been detected on or near campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a giant brass lion (our mascot) named Numa. We have a Birthday celebration every year for Numa, free food and shirts are given out as everyone wishes Numa a very happy birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    An excellent education for a modest price. Plus free Food is everywhere! Some of the best burgers i have ever had have been free on campus.

    Food and Dining

    At the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith, dining options include Cafeteria, food court, and all the amazing restaurants in the city of Fort Smith. The Cafeteria is often hit and miss, however is an all you can eat style buffet. The food court offers a venue from Subway, Chick-fl-a, and more. Down town Fort Smith is full of amazing restaurants, ensuring variety in ones diet.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are only a couple years old and are in very nice condition. They have many freedoms and offer a safe clean living environment.

    Academic Rigor

    This University has challenging courses for most degrees, but offers the academic assistance to help almost anyone to pass a course.

    Tips for prospective students

    It doesn't matter who you are, where you're from, or where you're going. Just do the best with what you're given.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas-Fort Smith offers challenging courses in many fields. The University meshes the best of small campus life, with the vast opportunities of its parent school (Fayetteville). I continue to be very impressed in my sophomore year.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly patrolling the campus and the streets surrounding it. On each side of the campus, there are emergency poles that can alert the police department when an emergency is happening. The police department can be reached at any time of the day. Students can even send anonymous text alerts to the campus police department to report bullying, vandalism, or anything else that may be unsafe. The campus is always very brightly lit at night, and there are always campus officials keeping watch. When a safety issue has occurred near the campus, a Lion's Alert is sent to students' emails and cell phones to notify everyone to stay safe. UAFS does everything they can to maintain a safe environment for its students.

    Clubs and Activities

    UAFS offers over eighty clubs and organizations. Each year brings about new organizations. These organizations arrange exciting activities like dances and competitions. If the university isn't offering an organization that a student desires, they are encouraged to develop their own organization. With all the possibilities available at UAFS, every student can find their home.

    Great for these types of students

    UAFS is a great place for students looking for a smaller campus without sacrificing the big campus feel. This university offers everything that a big campus would have, but you don't have to worry about getting lost on your way to and from class. UAFS is perfect for students that are willing to face the challenging academics while still being able to occasionally take a break from the work and enjoy a fun-filled student activity.

    Bang for the buck

    UAFS is one of the more affordable four-year universities in the area; however, it does not sacrifice its quality for its tuition. Students have access to a newly remodeled library, multiple computer labs, and other great resources like the Student Success Center, where free tutoring is offered. UAFS offers outstanding professors and exciting extracurricular activities, which allow students to achieve a balanced, well-rounded education.

    What to do for fun

    At UAFS, there is always something fun to do. There have already been several student dances this year, some of which encourage students to dress up in their favorite costumes. Students can also attend or participate in volleyball, basketball, and intramural games. There are also events that have the dorm residents compete against each other. In the Student Center, there is a 24-hour lounge with a big-screen television. Many students enjoy bringing their video games or movies and hanging out with their friends all night. There are also Wii Wednesdays during most weeks, and occasionally, the college will host a movie on the campus-green. It seems that there is always something to do for fun on campus. The best way to experience the fun is by joining several different clubs or organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The Lion's Den cafeteria serves three meals on weekdays and two meals on weekends. They have convenient hours that work with nearly every schedule. Their food is absolutely delicious, too! They offer pizza, a home-cooked meal, grilled food, gourmet food (such as stir-fry), a full salad bar, a variety of deserts, and of course, an ice cream machine. The cooks and workers are always very friendly and often come to know you by name! There is also a food court in the Student Center. This food court includes: Espresso Edge Coffee Shop, Subway, Chick-fil-A, Pizza Hut Express, JUMP Asian Express, Southern Fried, and Simply to Go Deli. At the food court, students may choose to use their Lion'Ã?Â?s Cash cards to purchase their meals.

    Dorm Life

    UAFS has a great dorm life! The dorms are currently only two years old, so they are in awesome condition! Rather than your typical dorm (with brick walls and community-style restrooms), the Lion's Den offers suite-style living. The dorms are fully furnished; they include: a bedside table, a desk, a dresser, a wardrobe, and a loft-able bed. The dorms also feature eco-friendly toilets and automatic sinks that operate from solar power. The North and South buildings each have their own lobby area with a big-screen television for movies and gaming. The North building specially offers a ping-pong table, which is very popular among students. Both buildings have a laundry room with eight washing machines and dryers, and a kitchen area with an oven, microwave, and dishwasher. Living on campus is a great way to meet new people while getting to experience life away from home. There are often many activities that involve dorm residents, such as intramural sports and North VS. South competitions. Living on campus seems to make everything about college even better.

    Academic Rigor

    UAFS has challenging courses, however they are not impossible. The university's curriculum really requires students to work hard and study, however, students will have the knowledge and ambition they need to be successful with their futures. Teachers are always available and willing to help answer their students' questions and clear any confusion they may have. Tutors are also available, either by appointment or by walk-in, at the Student Success Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip for prospective students is to talk to your teacher as soon as you start to struggle in a class. Don't be afraid to ask questions, even those that may seem stupid. Your teachers are there to help you succeed, and they will work with you until you are confident with the learning material. Also, don't be afraid to introduce yourself and make conversation with your teachers, even if you aren't struggling in their class. The more a teacher knows about you, the more likely they are to help you with your learning needs. Take advantage of your teachers' office hours. Again, they are there to help you succeed. I definitely recommend for students to get involved with the campus' activities. This is a great way to make new friends and to find something that really interests you. UAFS offers some sort of student activity nearly every day, whether it's a volleyball game or a movie on the campus green. I also recommend joining clubs! Within clubs, you will find a group of people that you already share at least one common interest with. Clubs also provide you with volunteer community service, so you can build an impressive college resume while having a great time with your new friends.

    In three sentences

    The university has a great learning atmosphere with outstanding teachers that are willing to help you with any of your concerns inside or outside of class. It is a small campus, but its student numbers continue to grow each year, so you get a big-campus social experience without the hassle of getting lost on a huge campus! There is always some sort of student activity going on, whether it is a volleyball game tailgating-party or a movie on the campus-green; the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith definitely provides its students with plenty of opportunity to have a great time!

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent on campus police. The college has very few if any incidents. The campus hosts several free safety courses just to be prepared.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is lower then most colleges with superb instructors. You get more than what you have paid for.

    What to do for fun

    The college has several student activity groups and host events daily. There is always something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent for a college!

    Dorm Life

    I don't know personally but I have several friends in the dorms and they are referred to as nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You are pushed to your limit and leave with a definite understanding of your subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors provide challenging courses, but never be scared of your professors, they are there to help.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas offers a wide variety of degrees, while maintaining a commonsensical staff. It has all the luxuries of a large university in a smaller setting.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    24 hour computer lab for any hour access to study. Have to have school ID to get in and doors lock behind you to keep others out.

    What to do for fun

    Many oppurtunities for fun: Basketball games Vollyball games Greek Life Dorm activites Plays Many of these are free of cost to students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very demanding, but the teacher teach you what you need to know, and you leave each and every class informed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Declare your major as soon as you can, but know that you can always change it if you aren't happy with what you are studying. Overall, even if it takes longer to graduate, you'll appreciate doing what you LOVE to do.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas Fort Smith is an exceptional school. It has a variety of minors and majors for everyone to choose from. The teachers are also above par, for sure!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy a quality education, this is the right university for you. This university is in touch with other countries and cultures, so it will provide you with a multitude of new experiences and excitement.

    In three sentences

    The level of education and the quality of education is superior. I adore the connection UAFS has with other cultures. There are many opportunities for clubs an extracurricular activities.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has 24 hour police surveillance. You know the officers by name which makes you feel more at home. There are emergency towers all over campus encase you feel threatened or need assistance with a circumstance.

    Greek Life

    Not involved. No comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    BCM is the best club you can be involved in. No fees or qualifications necessary!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The BCM is a great location to be aware of on campus. They are open all the time. You can get wifi there or just hangout with some friends. Most people go to do their homework, eat, watch tv, play games, and worship!

    Bang for the buck

    UA Fort Smith is pretty reasonable about their tuition and costs. I get money back from the two scholarships I received.

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of the work-study program on campus. Between classes I answer phones for pay. I am also involved with the BCM on campus which is a great place to get involved at! I also use the workout facility here and I am involved with the Talking Buddy program here where I spend a couple hours a week with a foreign exchange student helping them with their English.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! But too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    My first semester experience in the dorms was not all that great. They placed me with a couple of girls who were of a different religion than me which made bad company. Overall it is a good place to stay. The facilities are very nice and almost brand new!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too terribly hard but they are definitely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to continue on to graduate school, UAFS is a great place to get your Bachelors that is guaranteed to prepare you for your future career.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas at Fort Smith is a great place to get plugged into. It is a small campus which makes classes convenient. The campus is well kept and clean; always looking its best.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here! You have to have personal cards for everything! Parking lots and sidewalks and well lit, and there is always a cop around.

    Greek Life

    Average Greek life, three fraternities, three sororities. Fun to be a part of something, but they don't run the campus here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, these are what you make it. The more you get involved the more fun it will be!

    Great for these types of students

    Band kids, nerdy kids, smart kids, athletic kids, average kids, and kids that really don't know where they fit in yet (like me).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Intramural sports are actually a big deal, we are also for the most part a pretty chill school. Lot's of groups to be involved with. For the most part, people are friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    Relatively decent price for state university degree. Although some classes can be terribly expensive (Spanish I costs $710 for one semester!)

    What to do for fun

    Get involved, go to campus concerts, join some kind of club. Buy a hammock and find two good trees to chillax!

    Food and Dining

    Great choices.

    Dorm Life

    Super clean rooms, I've never seen a bug or a speck of mold.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order books offline, get involved and don't chase the squirrels.

    In three sentences

    Small, but lively at times. Not much to do, but it is what you make it. Very clean, and faculty is helpful!

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall right down the street, as well as a movie theatre. The campus usually always has activites going on and if you live on campus your floor does activities as well. There is also things like the basketball and baseball games that the students here lovve to go to!

    Food and Dining

    The food is like a buffet and you could eat eight plates if you wanted(: Pizza bar, salad bar, grill, and then there are always hot meals and meals on the stove like stir fry. It's cool because they make it right in front of you so it's fresh and yummy. They have coffee, tea, and all different kinda of soda, milk and chocolate milk and ice cream bar for dessert. Definitely an easy way to get your freshman fifteen on! The cafeteria is only open certain hours, but if it isn't open the Student Union has food like Pizza Hut, Subway, ChickFilA, and Chinese food.

    Dorm Life

    Living with someone, especially in the same room, that you haven't lived with before is challenging. No matter where you go. But it is SO important to be open-minded and sometimes you just need to go to the library or out on a walk because being with someone constantly when you aren't used to it is overwhelming. The dorms are so nice, they have washers and dryers that don't require change. The caffeteria is super close as well as the library.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a lot of studying, a lot of homework, and you can't slack off. It's important to have self-discipline because no one is telling you that you HAVE to go to class that day, but if you don't you're only hurting yourself. Take notes, everything the professor says it's usually because they want you to know it. Use a planner. My planner became my life. Write everything in it, your tests, quizzes, homework, study time, and what you have to do for school and then you can use that to see when you have free time.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a whole new experience, but there are people all around you that feel the same way as you do. You aren't alone. Get involved in the activities that the campus puts on, you'll meet some really great people.

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas Fort Smith has provided a great opportunity for not only my education experience but something better than that. They have given me a comfortable place to stay, while still getting my college experience and am learning how to gain independence. The staff, the people, and the freshman living accommodations are more than satisfying.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, organizations, sororities and fraternities.

    Food and Dining

    Lion's Den has the best choice of food.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't lived in the dorms but they are new and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging proffesors but they are all about helping you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    When in doubt, ask a lot of questions, they won't mind addressing your concerns.

    In three sentences

    Great campus. Lots of opportunities and organizations to be involved in. All proffesors have an open door policy so you can approach them at any time during their office hours.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is taken serious here. there are randomly placed emergency polls out in parking lots and in the middle of campus and they are 24 hour use. also campus cops are patrolling at all hours.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a school that has great people that love to help each other out this could be the right place.

    What to do for fun

    There are many ways to have around here. Clubs, sports and even random soccer in the green.

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining has pretty good food but if you have allergies to certain types of food it can be hard to enjoy the place.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a excellent choice! I have lived in the dorms and the student apartments and have loved them both. The only difference between the two would be that the dorms are far more social and alive.

    Academic Rigor

    I think its great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay cool and do not be scared to ask questions if you are confused or not sure about something.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas-Fort Smith is a great college. I love and enjoy the classes here. The school is not to big letting students have a close relationship with faculty and professors!

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The UAFS university has a very active, useful campus police system. I myself have required there aid once or twice with car problems. I was extremely impressed by there response time, professional attitude, and sincerely helpful nature. Built around the campus are emergency call stations that students can use if they need to speak with an officer, but can't reach the police station.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life has a few Sororities, and a few Fraternities for students looking to be involved. These groups are small, but very loyal to each other. These students help each other have fun, and are known for receiving excellent grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 30+ clubs on campus that are always hosting events. UAFS offers everything from Fraternities/Sororities to animation clubs, university focused groups, religious groups, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    I can personally say that this is a great college for students who are looking for a small, active college. The college is known for it's nursing degree's, and is becoming known for it's Animation degree, as well as many others. There are online classes set up for students who can't make it to the campus directly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition on campus was built for the Senior students graduating. A list of objectives is given to a student, and they must complete them to receive a special honor on graduation day. These objectives include things such as: Borrowing a friends truck and going swimming for the day.

    Bang for the buck

    UAFS is still a small campus, and the prices are lower than most colleges. For example, most Animation degrees would cost $100,000 minimum. At UAFS the cost of an animation degree is under $50,0000 and the technology used in the classroom is still years ahead of many colleges.

    What to do for fun

    On the UAFS campus alone, there are always events happening. The university holds events from concerts to school games such as basketball and volleyball. Students always have access to these campus events with 1 free ticket when they show there student ID card. Student led activities are always happening as well with parties, competitions, awareness days, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Lions Den Food court changes slightly just enough to keep it interesting. A student can normally get anything off the everything you can eat bar from pizza, pasta, burgers, deserts, salads, and much more. The best part of the Lions Den Food court is that it's only 8 dollars a meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great way to hang out with other students, and always a great place to hang out or study.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic studies are easy enough to understand, and hard enough to challenge a student. The professors teach what they need to from the book, but always bring a personal twist to keep the class interesting. You will learn what you need to know, and why you need to know it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with the financial adviser on campus, as they know a quite a few ways to pay for college. If you want to live in the dorms or Sebastian Commons, look into those as early as a year in advance. I highly recommend the cub camp for incoming freshmen.

    In three sentences

    This university is small, but growing quickly. The technical degrees are supplied with equipment years ahead of most colleges. The smaller classes provide students with easier access to professors when needed.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fayettville only being 45min away is a plus. Have not lived on campus yet but will attend fall of 2013. With the Arkansas river being a short drive from campus is awesome. Since they have the Big Bass Bonanza every summer which means great fishing.

    Food and Dining

    Have not personally tried the food on campus but, when I visited the city it was all the great restaurants and fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    Lions looks wonderful. I am excited to meet fellow suite mates. The laundry rooms on each wing seem new and best thing is they will text you to notify you when there open and unused.

    Academic Rigor

    Have not been through classes yet but have heard classes are far from easy which is great because you want your academics to show you how to achieve success in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus. Fill out the scholarship page during the summer of your senior since the deadlines are in October.

    In three sentences

    UAFS looks like a college straight from a magazine. Campus is marvelous, elegant, and clean. Everyone seemed to mind there own business and were friendly as far as i could tell.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramural sports, concerts, band concerts, plays, schools basketball team is top.

    Food and Dining

    your popular fast foods and own meals that the university sells.

    Dorm Life

    New clean dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Professors make class interesting and easy for students. Very helpful and the school does take a look at student surveys to improve there education in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    UAFS is growing tremendously, even though its not a top college it has this feeling that makes you feel that it is. This university will continue to grow and soon be bigger then what it is today. The professors are very very helpful in making sure you succeed. No matter if you take one of there classes they will always be there to help you out when you have a problem in anything.

    In three sentences

    UAFS is a great school environment. It provides wealth of opportunities for academic, cultural, and social activities. The professors are the best part of this campus helping us succeed for the our future.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots to do in fort smith that is fun.

    Food and Dining

    Nice variety of food options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I can't answer this question.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university is a great option.

    In three sentences

    This university is great. It is a warm and comfortable environment. The professors actually care about the students.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing and the dining rooms are clean and roomy. Its defiantly worth it.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are top of the line and they are very nice. They offer so many things to make your stay fun, exciting, and you can study with ease.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging at times but they are overall great. the professors help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload yourself and interact with the activities and with other students because it will relieve stress and help you get through school.

    In three sentences

    The staff at UAFS are very helpful and will assist and go out of their way to help a student. The campus is very nice and i feel safe at all times. The professors are great and some of the best in Arkansas and the students are nice and very helpful as well.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on at the campus green. The week before school starts there is cub camp for incoming freshman, it's really exciting and very fun to participate in!

    Food and Dining

    We have the dining hall which is buffet style and the food there is AMAZING! Also in the campus center we have a food court and of course vending machines throughout campus. You will never go without and there is something of every kind of food from sandwiches to Chinese!

    Dorm Life

    When you live on campus it's easier to participate and you can meet people a lot easier.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not so tough that you cant understand but they do challenge you. Every professor will help you and offers up office hours that you can get extra help. They will sometimes lower the pace or speed up if that's what the class agrees on.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Don't be shy everyone is really kind -Participate in the events that go on -Go to the gym it's easy to meet people that way and they have fun classes

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous and it;s easy to find your way around. The staff is always there to help you whether it be with your studies, personal issues, or just your way around campus. There is always something going on, at least one event every week!

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price is the reason I chose this college. It's affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Can't really say either because I eat at home too but when I pass the Dining Hall it usually smells pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Don't really know because I live at home but I heard it's nice. Also, you don't have to worry about traffic or parking since you're right on campus, so bonus.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, I don't think it's too hard. Just do the work, pay attention, attend your classes and you'll do fine. The teacher's are always open to questions too, so that's nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes early if possible just don't late register because you might not get all the classes or at least the times you want.

    In three sentences

    Campus is pretty. Classes are relaxed and not too strenuous. The people aren't antisocial.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're comfortable in a small school setting that isn't a huge leap from a high school experience, then UAFS is a great choice. However, if you're used to being in a larger community or are looking to make a lot of new friends and enjoy a big social scene, then you may want to look into a bigger school.

    What to do for fun

    If you get involved with Greek Life, then you will have no shortage of things to do. If rushing isn't for you, then you need to get involved with as many teams and clubs as you can to stay active.

    Food and Dining

    All of the food is excellent, well-balanced, and there is a wide variety of great options to choose from every meal. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    I can't speak highly enough of the dorm buildings (Lion's Den.) The Sebastian Commons apartments however, are a total wreck. My apartment has been infested with roaches, Black Widow spiders, house flies, and drain flies since the day I moved in and the head of housing here, Bree Gates, refuses to do anything about it and was very rude whenever I brought the issue to her. The buildings are very old and there are not enough Maintenance crew to staff it. There was black mold in our vents when we moved in, we were missing furniture, the toilet, oven, ceiling fan, and air vents were all broken when we moved in. If you're going to live on campus, live in the dorms... They're all brand new and very very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    My Gen-Ed classes are a complete joke, and make me feel like I'm back in kindergarten, but all of the classes relevant to my major are EXCELLENT. The professors obviously have a passion for what they're doing and it shows. Their enthusiasm and teaching styles make class fun and engaging for me, and make me want to put in the work to challenge myself with every project.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Show up to class and get interested in what you're learning about- depending on your major, you could be in for a lot of work, but if you take advantage of the people and resources around you, you can make the most of it.

    In three sentences

    Overall, UAFS has offers challenging courses taught by very engaging professors who work hard to help their students succeed. On-campus life is active and easy to become involved in, and there is always something to do. The dorms on campus are very nice and offer a whole spectrum of support and fun to the college experience.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs exist for certain hobbies, languages, and interest. Many students partake in recreational sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    An early understanding for the layout of the campus will come in handy, as well as computer lab locations.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas Fort Smith is a great educational institution. The staff and students are friendly and make for an easy adaptation to campus life. The overall potential for success is fueled by instructors and professors wiling to help one on one.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At the dorms, there's ALWAYS something to do(unless everyone went home for the weekend). I had the best few months when I lived with some awesome dudes.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining took a little hit this year by switching food service. But we have an on-campus Chik-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what sold me on UAFS. The people you hang out with are world-class and some of the best RAs are here.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good math and engineering departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Yes, it's hard, but drag your butt out of bed and get there.

    In three sentences

    UAFS is a beautiful campus. The people you meet here are some of the best people in the world. I will forever be thankful for every single friendship I've made here.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has multiple phones located throughout the campus and parking areas to ensure students are never without a link to the campus police. They also provide escort if it is dark and students feel unsafe. The campus police are also some of the nicest and most efficient, professional people I have personal met!

    Food and Dining

    UAFS offers two cafeteria, one a buffet style that students can use their meal plan to purchase food from. The other cafeteria has vendors, like Subway, Pizza Hut etc. that are accessible in the Student Center for on the go meals!

    Dorm Life

    UAFS has recently built a new residence hall for the growth of students. Students are friendly and living on dorms is a great way to make friends and meet new people out of your comfort zone! Great study sessions too!

    Academic Rigor

    College is what you make out of it, therefore, make the best of UAFS. The instructors are qualified and while some are more challenging than others, putting in the work and time and effort is a must to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious in your academic success and if you find yourself in a position where you need help, communicate with your professor! The best thing about UAFS is that it is small but active enough for instructors to know their students on a first name basis!

    In three sentences

    Out of five stars, with five being the best, University of Arkansas-Forth Smith scores a 4.5. The professors are flexible and willing to work with students to ensure their educational success! The staff and general faculty are also friendly and willing to ensure the success of each student!

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus we have our campus police. They are very good about keeping everything under control. There are several 911 phones placed throughout the campus, and plenty of night time lighting. It's a really safe place.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek community on campus. However, being a Theatre student I don't know much about it. I do know that they throw parties that everyone is invited to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bell tower, it is the center piece of our campus, and everyday around noon it plays a little concert. Also, our campus has more trees than any other campus in Arkansas. It is a really pretty campus with plenty of places to enjoy the outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pretty good price for everything except maybe housing. Make sure you pay attention to what you are picking out when choosing a housing contract.

    What to do for fun

    I am a theatre student. So I don't have a lot of time for things outside of our Breedlove theatre. However, we have the school sports and intramural sports including a Quidditch tournament. (sorry if I spelled that wrong). We have a lot of free activities on campus. We have movie nights, the school shows a movie, usually pretty good ones, and give out free drinks and popcorn. The Drama Club hosts a 'Coffee House' once or twice a month. It's an open mic, you can sing, put on a short skit, or read a poem, and enjoy free coffee. And there are a lot of other things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Not only do we have a buffet style cafeteria we also have a Starbucks, Subway, Pizza hut, and Chik fil'a on campus. All of them are covered by the meal plan that is a required purchase if you live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's a bit pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers are friendly and will help you with anything that you need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and pay attention. This applies to any school.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this school. The students and faculty are all very friendly. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a relatively cheap place to get an education.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and on campus events to get interested in.

    Food and Dining

    There's an on campus Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are only a few years old and in great condition.

    Academic Rigor

    Balancing a job with assignments can get rough, but as long as you are disciplined, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to class all the time.

    In three sentences

    The student to professor ratio is small. Professors are very knowledgeable. The campus is extremely clean and well kept.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is better than the average dining hall. Many options - vegetarian, gluten free etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! They're relatively new and still in really nice shape.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't consider classes I've been in so far to be challenging, but I am still learning without a load of stress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as you can! Classes fill up fast. Live on campus if you can!

    In three sentences

    There are many great professors. On campus living is beneficial to overall college life and I've met some of my best friends by living there. Tuition is low in comparison to other colleges and quality is quite high so that's a win-win situation.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has many oportunites for fun if you keep your eyes open. They usually have movie night and fun dances for the younger crowd.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, it is not very college friendly. If you like to try new types of food the Cafe is for you. But they always have burgers, pizza and salads for the days you aren't feeling spontaneous.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms which are called the Lions Den are fairly new. They were added only 3 years ago and they have been updating them throughout the year. If you enjoy being on campus they are a great option.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very high, you are expected to do a lot and give time to each class. College is nothing like high school so be prepared to spend time studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy a very small intimate college U of A- FS is for you. If you decide to get involved there are programs but not too many to be overwhelmed. It is easy to know many of the people and professors on a friendly basis. You are expected to do a lot in the classes but professors will try and help as much as they can.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas- Fort Smith is a rapidly growing campus. It has wonderful faculty and help you in every way that they can. The classes are fairly small so you are more involved with professors and other students.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    To take the edge off of a busy week of studying, the University of Arkansas Ft. Smith holds many free events for it's students to attend to get better acquainted with their peers. Every other month in the Reynold's Room located in the Campus Center, the University hosts a movie night by providing free popcorn and drinks, showing the latest movies that have just been released on DVD. The Resident Assistants also pitch in to activities by hosting events such as smore's night, where residents are invited to roast marshmallows together by the fire. Other on campus activities vary from attending author's speeches to having a campus wide drive in night on the main lawn.

    Food and Dining

    Next to the Lion's Den one will find the UAFS Cafe, yet this particular cafe is unlike many of the cafeterias on a typical college campus. From the full sized salad bar to the gourmet station, a student can dine on anything from shrimp alfredo to red potatoes and brisket. If a student is craving fast food instead, the campus center offers Chic Fil' A, Pizza Hut, Starbucks, and Subway, as well as other groceries a student can purchase to snack on.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus at UAFS definitely has it's benefits, whether you choose to live in the Lion's Den in a dorm or in the Sebastian Commons in an apartment. The facilities are not only a few years old, but the modernity of the architecture and the resources available, such as the lounges with flat screen tvs to the full kitchen in the main lobby's, offer a more at-home feel while residing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Every student here at UAFS is held to the same standard; we are all expected to excel in our fields of study and representing the institution in a positive way. Every student has an equal opportunity to go above and beyond while achieving their higher education, with opportunities such as becoming a member of the student government to becoming an RA.

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of Arkansas Ft. Smith provides many great resources, from free tutoring to activities to further student's involvement on campus. Prospective students should be prepared to exercise great time-management skills in order to have the right balance of a good academic standing and having fun in college.

    In three sentences

    Highly conductive environment.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several campus safety poles located through out campus. However, it docent have to be a call for someone to walk you back to your dorm after writing that 2 a.m. paper! They offer other services such as pop a lock, and battery jump, free!

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer over 90 clubs and organizations! Nothing of your interest? Make a club!

    What to do for fun

    I always scout out campus events for fun! You never know what is happening on campus! Most of the time you can find free t shirts or food on any given day!

    Food and Dining

    Not only do they offer a full service Chick Fil A, Starbucks, and Pizza hut, but they have a fantastic dining hall, and offer many items to go!

    Dorm Life

    The student housing opportunities at University of Arkansas at Fort Smith are top notch! They have brand new freshman housing and are always updating and adding improvements to the upper housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I love being a college student! I am having the time of my life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! If all you do at college is sit around in the dorm you will have a very sad college life! Get out and do something, make something of yourself! If a group you are interested in isn't offered make one!

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas at Fort Smith has been a fantastic college experience. They have such a fantastic group of professors who are interested in you, and want to help you succeed in life. They have a fantastic academic success center that helps out any student if they are in need of extra tutoring, writing a paper, or even test taking skills.

  • 05/10/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    67 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i can assure you, its pretty safe :)

    Clubs and Activities

    pretty good in all sorts of activities, gonna do as much as i can!

    Food and Dining

    i heard the foods good but.. its kinda expensive.

    Dorm Life

    seems pretty good, but since im close i dont really need to get a dorm.

    In three sentences

    pretty cool campus. nice people. great education!

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great Value!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the fitness center, visit some basketball games, intramurals, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Buffet style.. i cant say more.

    Dorm Life

    The typical dorm life, lots to get used to. But you will make lots of friends, the rooms are huge and the life in the lions den is state of the art.

    Academic Rigor

    Up at university of Arkansas Fort smith, i do feel challenged but it is for the best, and the professors are fair with grading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont hesitate to join, the school is well known for its engineering program and i cant find a school offering the same degrees at such a great price.

    In three sentences

    a great school for engineering. This school is very cost effective. This school has some of the best and brightest teachers in arkansas that will challenge your thinking.