Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/29/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to learn and who want to avoid the social distractions of schools with a lot of students living on campus will do great here. The bar is set a bit higher than some of the other schools because students are older, more disciplined and dedicated to their goals. Employers, at least the local ones, know this and have a higher regard for UALR graduates than graduates from most of the other state schools. The average age at the school is 27, but lower for students attending day classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will never make it if you don't study. This isn't at all like high school. Most students really don't understand the importance of maintaining a good GPA of at least 3.2 in order to obtain good job offers and internships. Otherwise, you are just another average student with a diploma, which is certainly vastly better than having nothing at all. It's critical to network with other serious student, and stay away from the slackers. The good students will help you if you help them - share notes, keep in touch via email, help them if they miss a class, and then try to coordinate your future class schedules with theirs. It pays off, big time! I got my first interview from a former professor (thank goodness I aced her class!), and when I went to the interview and met my would-be boss, he was a former classmate who I'd befriended. Of course I got the job!

    Bang for the buck

    While not the most inexpensive school, it's still a good value for a degree from a respected school. Being located in the capital city, as well as the business and financial center, many of the professors are employed in government or business, and only teach here because they love it. A state Senator taught one of my government classes, and I've had professors who were lawyers, financial advisers and accountants. You can gain a lot of practical knowledge from such experienced professionals. Additionally, there are partnerships with local companies, and if you keep your GPA up you will have lots of job opportunities.

    Did enjoy being here

    This is a nice school and the perfect place for the serious professional who is interested in learning and getting a degree while working. All business degrees, including an MBA, may be obtained by taking night classes, if preferred. This is not a party school, and it's not defined by its athletics and social life. Some transfer students from other mid-level state schools have told me it's much tougher than where they came from, with the possible exception of UA-Fayetteville.

    Did learn a lot

    Obviously not an Ivy League school, but virtually all of my teachers were very helpful, and almost none of them would simply pass someone for giving a half-hearted effort.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering, technology, and natural science students with a great academic record get the most respect here. They get to live in the apartments, which are better furnished than the dorms, and get larger scholarships from the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your GPA and ACT scores up, otherwise you'll pay through loans. Also, prepare yourself for much larger work loads.

    Bang for the buck

    The scholarships they offer are a real help, but if I were paying out of pocket, I would hate it. If I had to get loans, there is no way I would think UALR is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is pretty comfortable and friendly, but even in this metropolitan area, there's nothing to do.

    Am learning a lot

    How you can attend this university and not learn is beyond me. The professors teach in a way that is interesting and meaningful and assign projects that really help increase subject comprehension.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering, Medical, and Liberal Arts majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Asher and University are a dangerous part of town. Park as close as you can to campus and never travel alone at night unless completely necessary. Get involved with as many student organizations and your college experience at UALR will be what you make it.

    Bang for the buck

    Educationally yes, socially no. UALR has a wide range of professors from all kinds of back grounds. Even some Harvard graduates are on the pay role. So if a good education with almost no social activity is what your looking for its the right place. But again there are mild changes being made in campus life through the student government and University Program Council.

    Am enjoying being here

    It wasn't my first choice but it's OK. I don't like the inner - city environment and the campus life is practically non existent. But the Student Government is aiming to make major improvements. Until then don't expect to see many people on campus after 1:00 p.m.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great at opening your mind to new ideas and ways of thinking. No matter if the course is a basic requirement or a senior level discipline the professors are very focused on expanding the educational process.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never walk along on campus at night. Always be alert of surroundings. Having campus police on speed dial isn't a bad idea

    Greek Life

    I love it! A lifetime commitment with a group of people that you will grow to love. I encourage anyone who needs help with networking/social skills to join the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Joining clubs help the social life for college students. People tend to build bonds for numbers of years after joining clubs and campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    College is a great experience for all types of students. It's up to the individual to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many schools have student lounges where many people hang out. As for me, I don't hang around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Manage your money accordingly. Never get more loans than you need. Keeping a 2.5 GPA or better will keep anyone in good standards for scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Join campus activites, and clubs

    Food and Dining

    College introduced me to chicken Wednesday's, and fish Friday's. This I will never forget.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was wonderful, and I wouldn't trade it for nothing in the world. My roommates were the most outstanding individuals I have ever met.

    Academic Rigor

    Knowledge is power. Always strive for the best

    Tips for prospective students

    Check financial aide status daily. Always study hard, and be the best you can in life because you only get one.

    In three sentences

    Before transferring here I was nervous, and didn't know what to expect. I am truly grateful for the education that this school has provided me with. I don't think I would ever find another cheerful, caring, and educational environment as this one.

  • 11/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UALR is great for the type of student that is looking to get their college education the right way. Without the interference from parties and alcohol.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely consider UALR because you get the same education as you do at a more top-notch school and you get a better learning environment.

    Bang for the buck

    UALR is cheap compared to the other schools in this area, but also a little bit more expensive than the lower schools, but they offer a variety of scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here. UALR offers a very non-traditional type of schooling. Here at UALR there are many non-traditional students (meaning people older than your normal college student). These students provide very interesting discussion in the class room because they have actually had life experiences and they can really talk about things without being ignorant.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at UALR I am learning a lot of things that I didn't know and re-learning a lot of things that I did know. Re-learning is a definite plus because there are a lot of things that you forget when you start college, and UALR does a great job at making sure that you aren't left behind in class. This is offered mostly because UALR consists of a lot of students that have taken time off of their education and are just now returning.

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I chosed UALR because it has alot more opportunities, also has interesting major programs, and a great academic society.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study time and focusing on school will pay off at the end. Always study 2 hours for each to have a greater chance of passing exams.

    Bang for the buck

    It depends on your background and how well you perform in your classes. Try to keep your GPA up to at least over a 2.5 or a 3.0 to have a possibility of getting a scholarship

  • 10/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, continuing college after a break, transfer students from 2-year colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    Take initiative to research class topics beyond what is required. Discussion in class is a huge part of individual and group learning, and bringing new ideas to the table is always appreciated by the instructor.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll find it hard to match the value of an education at UALR. Each year it seems, new classes and majors are added to the curriculum.

    Did enjoy being here

    The University is growing at a very fast pace. At the same time, it's unlikely you'll get lost in the crowd because of the culture of the school. Other students are very helpful, whether it be a technology issue in the Library, or if you're just trying to find your way around campus.

    Did learn a lot

    Received a B.A. here in 2005, and have returned (Fall 2011) for my M.A. I find the instructors to be very knowledgeable and always willing to spend a few minutes outside of class to discuss topics in further detail.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college would be great for anyone! UALR is a very diverse community.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students would simply be to work hard, make the grades and do as much community service as you can. UALR is based on community and my community service from high school was a major help.

    Bang for the buck

    UALR offers many scholarships which I have been able to take advantage of. The awards have helped me tremendously.

    Am enjoying being here

    At UALR, the staff has always been available for me when I need help with anything. I appreciate their availability and support in better preparing me for my future goals as far as school and work.

    Am learning a lot

    In my current year at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock has been very rewarding. I have learned a lot, not only with academics, but with life situations, I have learned about the subjects I've been taught while also learning about responsibility and social awareness.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i'm giving this school a 4 because it's amazing the things they do to educate us. i've visit it before and i loved it. also the school gives you a chance to learn on how its going to be in the real world.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the thing i like to do for fun is go to the program that the resident assistants put together for the residents.

    Food and Dining

    food and dinning on campus is the best. now, since we have the dining plan we have variety of choices. the chef are also very good at there jobs as well.

    Dorm Life

    i love east hall dorms. they are the best there is. they are the oldest ones here but i feel that they are the best. they have best quality.

    Tips for prospective students

    the tips i will give other prospective students is to stay focus and make sure you have all you financial aid in oder.

    In three sentences

    the university of arkansas at little rock is the best school for me. it rates a high level in academics and living conditions. it has also opened many doors for me in my career field.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus and off in there area around it.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in these activities

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in these activities

    Great for these types of students

    I believe University of Arkansas is great for non-traditional students. I am one and find them very helpful. The campus has a wonderful mix of traditional and non-traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are good at providing a lot of spaces on campus besides library or student union for students to gather and do homework and study.

    Bang for the buck

    They are a bit more than a community college but they are worth it. They are cheaper than a lot of other colleges I tried. They are very good at helping students find a way to make it work. They helped me through the financial aid process.

    What to do for fun

    I have enjoyed the welcome to school events every semester and they are a lot of fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at the food court in the student union. They have a traditional court with hot foods, salads, fruit and other choices. They also have Taco Bell, Quizno's, and a Star Bucks.

    Dorm Life

    I am non-traditional student and do not live in the dorms. I have heard many students say they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock has a great academic program. They make sure they keep up with all the latest information in the field and their students are on top of things. They are very prepared for their career and life after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in all the activities. This helps make you feel like you are a part of the school and helps with the transition.

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock is a great place to go to school. The counselors care and go out of there way to help their students. I also enjoy all the teachers and how they care and teach their students for success. They are wonderful help for non-traditional students like myself.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events that are held for students by different organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is OK. The other options are Sub Connection, Quiznos, Taco Bell, and the new Trojan Grill.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms that were built for freshman are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you. You will definitely have to earn your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and become familiar with your professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school and offers many different scholarship opportunities. The staff and students are very friendly. There are plenty of on campus organizations you can join.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security, cameras and phones are all over campus

    Greek Life

    TONS of clubs to join based on whatever you like.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is awesome. I am proud to be called a trojan.

    What to do for fun

    You are down town so you can go to clubs or concerts. There is always stuff going down and the river market has great food.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafe and fast food but you will be in little rock so eat on the strip!

    Dorm Life

    There are new dorms with updated furniture and utilities.

    Academic Rigor

    STUDY STUDY STUDY. This school can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to study hard and apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    This school has great professors. The school really prepares me for the real world and I am getting a great education from here. The only thing I have to say is that the school is a little pricey.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UALR is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is more than adequate.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs and activities are offered.

    Great for these types of students

    The university is great for students who are laid-back, very relational, friendly, and upbeat.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel my education is worth the funding.

    What to do for fun

    The university offers many extracurricular activities for students to challenge them both physically and mentall. The university is located in the natural state and surrounded by many parks and recreational activities.

    Food and Dining

    They offer many options for dining both centrally located and throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the experience of a lifetime!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is medium to moderate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the relaxed environment.

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock is a great, friendly place. The campus has a natural, rustic feel, but is still in the city. There are many shady trees all over the campus.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UALR has a bad reputation for not being safe because of its less-than-central location in Little Rock, but there are not any instances of violence on campus on record.

    Greek Life

    There are a number of sororities and fraternities on-campus; I'm not in any, but the people I know who are love them!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone: non-traditional, straight out of high school, any major. UALR is hugely diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    UALR has one of the lowest tuitions in Arkansas, yet some of the best professors in the state!

    What to do for fun

    Just about anything! Go to a movie, a number of cool restaurants, check out the River Market area, go to a show downtown, or even a play. Little Rock has it all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the deadlines for those scholarships -- you may not be starting school until August, but the deadlines are usually some time before March 1st!

    In three sentences

    Located in the very center of Arkansas, UALR is close to many restaurants, cafes, shopping places (malls, shopping centers and boutiques), and various other hangouts and places of entertainment. In addition to location, the school has a fabulous array of available majors. There are several really great scholarship programs, including the Donaghey Scholars Program and the Chancellor's Leadership Corps.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great meal plan for all types of students.

    Dorm Life

    Great, although I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Chemistry

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the campus. It is really laid back, and a great place to stay focused. The campus is kept pretty clean, and great staff.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities that the school provides and there are always flyers advertising things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions about everything.

    In three sentences

    There is not enough parking for the amount of students attending. The teachers are amazing. The classes offered are great.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not as it should be. Most of the UALR police are not around when they are needed. The only time you would see the police is when they are giving speeding tickets to someone. I feel like the police should step a lot especially in the parking lots. There have been some cases where students have gotten their cars broken in to.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun to watch and participate in. There are various types of fraternities and sororities on campus. There are certain weeks where each sorority or fraternity host a certain week in which they put on shows, give insight in to their organization, have activities, or have swimming parties. The greek life host parties and have cookouts to help all the students come together. The greek life also do community work around the area.

    What to do for fun

    There are many parties for those who like to party and hang out. Also there are game nights on certain days in the student center that you can actually win money when playing. There are people who come from all over and speak. We even had Hill Harper come an speak to us. There are many greek shows that occur every semester. There are a little something for each and every person that like different things.

    Food and Dining

    In the student center there is the cafe, starbucks, taco bell, and quiznos. Quiznos and taco bell is where everyone usually eats at. The cafe food is not that good at times. Most of the time they repeat what they cook in the cafe and you get tired of the same thing. Other times the food is not seasoned at all and taste very bland.

    Dorm Life

    If you are a only kid and is not use to sharing your room with someone i suggest living in one of the apartments on campus or getting a room to yourself. It is a real challenge for people who are not use to sharing space with someone. The Room Assistants usually have games and activities to keep you from being bored all the time. Most of the time the dorm life is fun depending on the people living there also.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lot of challenges to help you fully understand the material. The material is not like highschool and it takes time and effort and good study habits to get the material. The teachers never give up on you and will make sure you are not behind. There are even tutors on campus that will help you if you are just not understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely make sure you get advised before you sign up for classes. This will help you make sure you are in your right classes. I suggest you stay on campus for your first year at least. Staying on campus will help you make new friends.

    In three sentences

    UALR is a great school to come and be challenged. The teachers are very helpful and make sure you get the material. There are many activities to keep you busy.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock is an awesome university with many opportunities for students.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life has many events throughout the year to make college life more enjoyable

    Food and Dining

    The caf food isn;t the worst, nor is it the best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are great. A lot better than any I've ever seen in Arkansas. Freshmen prefer to live in West Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I can sum this up by saying it will be what you make it. If you aren't putting forth effort and completing assignments, you will quickly fall behind and it does take time to catch up! Come ready to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to enjoy your college experience and earn your degree iin your field of study! There are many helpful events that occur on campus to help encourage students to be the best that they can possibly be and to strive to complete their goals! Also look into the Chancellor's Leadership Corps scholarship for Freshmen. It's a great scholarship, and if I'd known about it, I would have applied for it myself.

    In three sentences

    University if Arkansas at Little Rock is a great University to complete your college career! The professors are great, have personality, and are very intelligent. There is also great opportunities to relax and have fun with all of the events campus life offers throughout the year.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at UALR. There is always something going on for students to participate in and our gym is pretty cool too.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not very fond of the food's taste. However, there is a variety and that helps.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a little biased because the whole roommate thing was foreign to me. I was not prepared for the issues that can come with sharing a room with another person, and I will not be doing it again as long as I attend college. However, to each his own.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is all about it's academics! No worries though we have sports teams too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for a culture shock.

    In three sentences

    This college is quickly expanding and becoming a better place for all of it's current and incoming students. It is a whole new and totally enjoyable world from high school. College is truly what you decide to make of it.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, with poles to alert the police anywhere on campus and text messages to inform you of crimes that took place.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to meet people form different cultures and backgrounds. Fun Professors.

    Bang for the buck

    They provided a lot of services compared to the cost

    What to do for fun

    Hang out or go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Good food but expensive

    Dorm Life

    Friendly neighbors

    Academic Rigor

    Study everyday

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up for class and ask question, it helps a lot.

    In three sentences

    Its a good place for One-on-One time with teachers. I love the campus life. The teachers care about your education.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    SODEXO is horrible.

    Tips for prospective students

    UALR is a great option for students who plan on working while attending college. Do not get discouraged by the fact that it is UALR, the school is great, the campus is nice, and the profs are great.

    In three sentences

    UALR has amazing somewhat hidden gems of departments. The International Studies department is amazing, the faculty and staff both who are a part of this department made me enjoy going to campus every week. The Interpreting program is also outstanding and under-utilized.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been incidents of theft and robbery on campus--HOWEVER the victims usually seem to have been distracted, like texting or playing with their iPhones and not paying attention. Watch where you are, walk with a friend after dark, and if you ever feel uncomfortable, campus security will always walk you from your classroom to your car if you call them.

    Great for these types of students

    UALR is great for commuting students and students with families since there are options for class times outside the regular 9:00-3:00 schedule. It is still a school with rigorous expectations and respected degrees.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I have gotten an excellent education for a very affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time in the outdoor amphitheater near the Fine Arts Building. It's a pretty little spot near a stream where you can people watch, meet up with friends for a study group, or have a quiet moment to yourself.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options on campus, including fast food and a cafeteria in the student center. A Starbuck's is centrally located next to the library.

    Dorm Life

    I can't actually review this because I have never lived in the dorms. However, they are brand new and Gold LEED-certified with many amenities and suite-style rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a graduate student, the expectations are higher, but I have witnessed excellence in teaching and similar successful outcomes in students at the undergraduate level.

    In three sentences

    UALR is a vibrant, research-oriented university with faculty whose primary focus is teaching. You are taught by professors, not GAs, and a wide variety of academic degree plans are offered.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UALR has its own police force, and emergency poles that direct you straight to the department of public safety. Although it doesn't stop people from committing crimes, it does help the situation. UALR also has quick service from the fire department.

    Greek Life

    They are plenty of Greek life on campus, They sponsor parties and events, some free, some not. Regardless of that, i recommend it to those who are interested. They aren't any racial biases; one traditionally black sorority has many white members.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are a plethora of clubs and activities, and if you don't see anything you like, you can create your own club. They have a type of open house for clubs to display what they are about.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student, because UALR has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an small outdoor ampitheather sitting near the river. It's great for some classes that go outside on nice days, or students who like the outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    Its affordable to go here with the right planning. It's worth it, so far.

    What to do for fun

    They are plenty of things to do at UALR. They is a prominent Greek life. A housing committee that plans free events for the students to participate in. All is takes is for someone to join the fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality is good. They are varieties of food you can choose from. They have a cafe, and two restaurants in the campus. They also have vegetarian and diabetic options for the students. And there is a little grocery store for those who like snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing dorms! UALR has built a new dorm as of this past year, and the quality is of a 5 star hotel. They also have other living options, not just dorms. They are all affordable with careful planning and discretion.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't the easiest thing in the world, but they are doable. The teachers do care about their students, and will give needed help for people struggling. They don't want their students to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to due dates, and don't procrastinate. One slip up can cost you greatly.

    In three sentences

    It's a great campus, and has a lot of new opportunities now that there are new buildings and housing options. UALR has a great campus curriculum, that has programs for anything imaginable.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I give the University of Arkansas at Little Rock a 10! It has an amazing campus and it offers some great majors. I also like the friendliness of the faculty and students.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on their job and take it very seriously.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a little more expensive than other schools but Its worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Extracurricular activities, night clubs, etc.

    In three sentences

    UALR is a great school. I love it.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who apply themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up with your admissions process and come prepared to learn and do the necessary work to do so.

    In three sentences

    UALR is very covenant as far as location. the teachers and staff are very helpful. UALR's student resources or excellent.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at the school is good on the outside, but safety on the inside of the dorms should be improved.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is very lively.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs that you can join, so if you're participating in those clubs I'm sure they'll have some activities for their members.

    Great for these types of students

    It's good for all types of students that are mentally stable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a waterflow beneath a bridge near the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper if you dont live on campus, but you have more fun if you do.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out with friends. You can participate in school events. You could also play games with other people who live at the dorm. You can also go to the Commons and play pool or foosball.

    Food and Dining

    There's a nice variety.

    Dorm Life

    It's fun when you're with friendly people, but isn't as good when you're around people that you're not comfortable with.

    Academic Rigor

    It's average in my opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should make sure that they wake up early so they can do all their personal needs so they're not late for class.

    In three sentences

    It's a very big campus. The on-campus living is nice. The security needs to be a little better on the inside of the dorms.+

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see a police officer on patrol at some point each day, and there are emergency towers in place all over campus to ensure against any possible crime or violence.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun happens off-campus, but there are plenty of student organizations to get involved in and intramural sports and clubs to fill your schedule on-campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always serving multiple types of cuisines and there is also many other restaurants to choose from if you're in a hurry or want something particular.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and are also secure from uninvited non-residents, and the students in my building are all nice, friendly people. The RA's are genuinely interested in every student's well-being and mine especially is not strict about enforcing rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes are challenging but not too extremely difficult, however I am having to work at my chemistry course more than any course I have had before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should set up their schedules as early as they can so that they can go ahead and order their needed books instead of waiting for the rush at the beginning of the year.

    In three sentences

    The staff around the university is very helpful and everyone seems intelligent and willing to help which creates a nice environment for new freshmen and transfer students as well. My classes all are taught by knowledgeable professors who all seem to be concerned with my own academic success rather than just getting through each lecture. The other students on campus are generally quiet but are nice people who open up as you get to know them.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    What love about the campus Safety we have fire drills and our police officers are right their were ever you go. The officers is patrolling the area morning and night at all time to make sure you are safe.

    Greek Life

    Just like clubs it's great for your resume to say you were involve in a organization. I am currently doing a fashion show for Delta Kapa Fala for a foundation.

    Clubs and Activities

    I like the clubs because it fun and it great for your resume to say you were involve in a club. The activities may not be that great but it nice to say you did something in your community from this club.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student are treated equal. Everybody that's are on our campus are like your brother or sister. If you need help there will always be somebody to help you at all time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a lot of international student on campus, so you will see a lot of people with different religion. But they are all friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    I really don't know what this mean. But I love having fun, being activites and doing me in college having the college life.

    What to do for fun

    Well UALR do not really have a lot of activities on campus. So I try to stay in organization to keep me active in school.

    Food and Dining

    What I like about the food is that you have different variety of food and different types of food courts so when you tried of the same food you do not have to outside the university you can just go to a different food court. That's good for students that do not have a car.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life. We have so much fun your RA make you stay involve with your floor mate. It's pretty cool because you are getting to know who you are living with.

    Academic Rigor

    College is different from high school we have more quiz's that test. There are a lot of paper that we have to do some time it can be 10 pages long. The student have to be capable of handling the work for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involve in organization it will help down the road. Make sure pay attention to your professors. Always put school work first before anything else. On your free time take advantage of it, make time to study Make plenty of friends, they can help you get around and also help for a good study partner.

    In three sentences

    It alright, I think they should more students activities. They should have more athletics like a football time for the students I like the educational programs

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always on the ready if needed.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at UALR is a lot cheaper than other universities. They also have a great reputation around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are numerous clubs, that range from religious groups to ethnic groups and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    If you dont like huge campuses with overwhelming amounts of people, then UALR is the perfect place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    UALR offers many scholarships, and is one of the cheaper universities. The university is definitely worth more than the price.

    What to do for fun

    Inter-mural sports is definitely one of my favorite things to do at college. It is a great way to meet new people and get good exercise.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food here is actually not bad. There are also a few other alternatives that you can use your dining dollars at.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at UALR are amazing compared to many other dorms I have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at UALR are great. They push you to accomplish your goals and get that degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to fill out all your scholarship applications, and read your emails carefully.

    In three sentences

    UALR has a great student to teacher ratio. You won't just be another number. There are countless student aid programs, including the writing center, counseling, and many more.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities all over campus and sporting events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    It's hit and miss

    Dorm Life

    Always stuff going on and lots of nice people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but it's possible to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Look for scholarships even after you are already in college.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school that feels like a family. The teachers are great. The school is slowly getting bigger.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anything major that goes on on campus (such as burglaries) are e-mailed to the students. It's nice to know that if something happens everyone knows.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricier than some other colleges in the local area, but definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of school events to get into, whatever your interests are.

    Food and Dining

    There are many choices if you don't like cafeteria food. There's Starbucks, Quiznos, Taco Bell, a deli spot and a grill.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been in the dorms, so I can't rate it honestly...

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the teachers make it fun. Even during midterms and finals when things are stressful, you can always count on the atmosphere of the school to make it seem not as strenuous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finding a college that fits you is always the best college to choose. UALR has many different students and many organizations to choose from. It's definitely a college worth checking out.

    In three sentences

    UALR is a wonderful educational facility. The class sizes are small with amazing teachers, and the educational opportunities are endless. There are many majors to choose from allowing for many career opportunities.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is slowly improving, there is room for improvement during the past few years that I have been attending this school. Crime has gone up so the school is making a point to improve this aspect.

    Greek Life

    I do not know a whole lot about the Greek life, but I do know that the Greek Life at this particular school always volunteers and gives back to the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different colleagues that host these activities and clubs. There are international clubs, political clubs, academic clubs, and there are very many different options of things to do at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Overall just keep focused in your studies, and you will do great and reward yourself by joining a club or two and becoming knowledgeable amongst yourself and your peers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many different unusual traditions or locations includes for one : a specific club for minorities where they host different fun topics such as dance, script writing, acting, and spoken word. I found that very great as a diverse aspect of the school, helping the minorities come together and embrace their races and who they are.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy the school personally, this school is very spread out academic-wise and eventful-wise. Meaning, there isn't always a wild scene going on throughout the campus, or lots of loud music or particularly loud anything. It is a pretty quiet school, while also having things to do for the students, and also helping students get acquainted amongst each other. You attain a little bit of both worlds, because there is a mixture. While also having many different minorities attending as well.

    What to do for fun

    There is a campus life department that had came up with different events every now and then, as well as elections for students. There are also intramurals for students, cultural events, international events, and clubs of different interests as well!

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. There are many different options of what you may choose to eat. From Taco Bell, to Quiznos, to hamburgers, pizza, to Asian buffets, ect.

    Dorm Life

    I have been in the dorms once, and they are pretty descent. Starting 2013 students will be required to stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is very well focused because they aren't very outward about events going on, it is a pretty quiet school so you can stay focused while also joining a club or two if you want. In which I like, because you are not pressured into doing anything, you can just stay focused on academics if need be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that you should always visit websites that rate your professors at your particular school, because there can be a few that are easier at communicating the subject more than others.

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock is a very focused University. While being very focused makes it easier for the students to learn, there are also exciting events that can take place but not too many to take up the study time needed. This school provides many internship opportunities as well.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are patrolled by campus security as well as emergency poles set up all around campus just in case there isn't time or a phone to call for help. They are lit up blue poles with a red help button to press and help comes right away.

    Greek Life

    All different types of Greeks. From Simgas to Deltas to AKAs.

    Clubs and Activities

    UPC (student council), Sororities, Fraternities, Campus Life, Ethnicity groups,

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL types of students. This school is very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the fraternities have their frat houses far away from campus but we have a frat house right across the street from the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    What I love about my school is how diverse and friendly the students are. Aside from that I know that if I need help with my work I can receive it. There's a writing department that helps with writing and rhetoric. There's a tutoring center as well as different help stations in each individual department.

    What to do for fun

    UPC and Campus Life keeps activities for students. Movie nights, carnivals, comedy shows, mini parties and game nights.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food! There's different choices in the cafeteria, as well as the food court. There is a Starbucks, Taco Bell and Quizno's available on campus. They recently added a Trojan Grill close to the dorms which is open late for student who can't make it to dinner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your priorities in line and you will do great. As long as you focus and get any help you need, school will be fine.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas at Little Rock deserves a rate of a 10. The reason that I say this is because this school is wonderful academically. I noticed that they have a lot of available tutors and help for student that need it, it's not a party campus.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, but don't hang out at night by yourself.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student center is a good place to hang out and meet friends and also new friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Taco Bell is the place to go for lunch.

    What to do for fun

    Has a great deal of activities for you to do and have fun doing them.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do your work and stay on schedule with homework. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    This is a excellent school were you can meet new friends and learn a lot. The staff is very informative and friendly.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent. UALR isn't in a great part of town, but school security of pretty good.

    Greek Life

    Lot of Frats. Some might say too much, but Greek Life is definitely not lacking.

    Clubs and Activities

    The River Market area in downtown Little Rock is pretty awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    Computer science majors, athletes, people that hunt.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stabler Hall used to be a parking deck.

    Bang for the buck

    Great college, just make sure that you research all available financial aid and scholarships before you apply.

    What to do for fun

    Huge gym, and the school has a ton of activities within their departments.

    Food and Dining

    UALR will get you with their meal plans. Far too pricey, and the on-campus restaurants aren't great.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms, not terribly expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others. For the most part, It hasn't been unbearable, but I have definitely had teachers that make the class as difficult as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible. UALR doesn't help a lot with financial aid, and can make it difficult to retain scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Great college, excellent professors. I have personally found all of the departments to be very helpful, especially the School of Business. UALR can tend to be a bit unorganized, so you have to stay on top of things.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety sucks. Campus police usually go after the students who are speeding rather than arresting the people who come onto to the campus and rob people with loaded firearms. Particularly at night time at the Trojan Grill.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is okay. Nothing special like if it was UAPB, Henderson State, or UCA.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a technology or business major this is the place for you. These two majors are probably two of the top five on campus. Also if you appreciate the older students who've been around the block a couple of times you will never have a dull learning experience.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of places to shop at like Belks, Marshalls, The Nike Outlet, etc. We even have an Apple Store. If movies are your thing we have plenty of movie theaters in the area from as close a 2 miles to 6 miles out. No matter which you choose, whenever you want to see your favorite movie they are right at your finger tips.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat. Just about every restaurant whether it be fast food or a casual diner is low cost. That's good new because you never have to worry about going hungry. Also there is large variety of food for those who like to experiment.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't really know because I don't live on campus. It does seem that people complain about their dorm mates regularly, mostly because they are messy.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has some challenging majors particularly for those who are majoring in business and technology fields. Try to make friends with older students (non traditional) because they are the perfect type of people to model your academic career after. They know the ropes and have more wisdom than you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come to this school if you're looking to party. With all seriousness most of your peers or classmates are pretty serious about their education. Again, do not attend this school if you're not serious about learning and making something of yourself.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for people who are interested in pursuing business and or technology degrees. This is a non traditional school which plays a big role in it being such a respected school.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes teachers really challenge you

    Tips for prospective students

    Study

    In three sentences

    Its boring here I wanna transfer

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gunfire on and near this gun-free campus. Security is lax. Cannot legally carry concealed weapon on campus.

    Greek Life

    Again, they try hard to have a greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They try hard...

    Great for these types of students

    Risk takers (due to gunfire). Urban dwellers. Those who need public transport to commute from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Note: you cannot legally carry a concealed weapon on campus. Urban drive-by shootings and occasional gunfire do occur on campus. Robbery at gunpoint occurs here also. It is wise to keep up to date with life insurance premiums.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many things our fees pay for, which are not an option on other campuses in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Study group.l

    Food and Dining

    Fair selection. Prices are a bit high. The dining hall does not offer ala carte, and the meal is over $7. Bring a lunch with you.

    Dorm Life

    I understand many freshman students will be living on campus next year, as a general requirement.

    Academic Rigor

    Demanding instructors push us toward excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in class, study, prepare for class. Learn about high-impact outlines to aid in your study.

    In three sentences

    UALR is centrally located within the largest city in Arkansas. There are many non-traditional students on the UALR campus. Many instructors are willing to work with me, especially if there have been changes at work which impact classroom participation.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. There have been a couple of armed robbery incidences but I always feel safe when walking around campus at any time of night, day, or morning. The campus police have made strides to improve the safety as well.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities at UALR. One fraternity currently has a house on campus and another is building one on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are enough clubs on campus for everybody to join three each. You'll have no trouble finding a club to join.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is extremely diverse, and I think that just about any kind of student can succeed here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because UALR doesn't have a football team they celebrate Homecoming every year during the last home basketball game.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest four year universities in Arkansas. For the money this is a great choice for school.

    What to do for fun

    Little Rock is home to a ton of fun things to do. Anything you want to do you can pretty much find. As far as on campus it's not too lively, but there are things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good most of the time. There are several other options beside the cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is solid. There are not a lot of choices, but the few dorms that are available are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics seem pretty strong. They are said to have a really strong science department especially.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely fill out for housing as early as possible and register for classes at the first minute that they become available. Things fill up really fast.

    In three sentences

    Overall UALR is a good university. The campus is beautiful, facilities are nice, and they offer an array of majors. I'd recommend it fairly strongly to anyone.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location is in the heart of Little Rock. With that being said, safety has become the #1 concern for the campus staff. There are security guards for escorting students to their cars at night (or daytime if requested), also there are help stations posted within eyesight all around the campus (with an emergency phone). There are security measures placed in all locations that are related to vehicle/student interaction, and the staff will assist you at any time if you end up in need of something.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in any of the Greek lifestyle, but UALR has plenty of the sorority and fraternity involved students attending and representing their family!

    Clubs and Activities

    No experience in extra-curricular, although I know they have plenty of things to do on campus for students looking for an outlet

    Great for these types of students

    Who enjoy an open layout, relaxed atmosphere, student interaction, and of course the social aspect of being a part of a university that you can invest your time in and be sure that your time is being used wisely

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is very pretty, consisting of fountains and plenty of walking trails. They are always looking to improve the campus, visually and for student convenience. The campus undergoes construction every once in a while to ensure the best experience for their students. They recently put up a brand new (technologically advanced too) student center for all of the student admissions type departments, and they did a great job of streamlining the experience of getting set up to take your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are more expensive than a small technical college, but you are really getting what you pay for in this situation. The prices are on the bottom end of dollar per credit hour, it is very reasonable for someone having to pay out of pocket for a few classes. If you are looking into full time you may want to check out their scholarship information page or contacting someone in the Financial Aid about Student Loans. Plenty of options for students living on a budget

    What to do for fun

    They have multiple extra curricular clubs and sports, I have not experienced any but if you were to look into it, i'm sure you could find an outlet for your free time!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few fast food chains on campus, and also the option of the cafeteria that hosts different food year round and is quite delicious. A few of the other choices are Taco Bell, Starbucks, and a deli similar to subway.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus, nor have I considered it due to my current living situations. I rate this as 4/5 because I have heard nothing negative from classmates about their lives staying on campus. The dorms are nice, more of a modern apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    UALR has plenty of opportunities to express your drive, including the CLEP placement tests. There are plenty of learning labs and student tutors that are available when you are really wanting to sharpen your studying skills or just get to the bottom of a unforgiving math problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to ask questions... I go by the motto If you SEE something, SAY something. Being a prospective student, everyone knows that you are qualified to be taking college courses, there is no shame in having to ask a question. In fact, most college professors agree that a student who asks questions will perform the best in a course... You just have to be committed and have the drive to do well and absorb as much information as possible!

    In three sentences

    Rating UALR on general terms; I think that attending this university is a great example of the university college experience. The academic advising department is top notch, and all of the staff recognizes that my time is a priority. With advising appointments every semester, they really assist me in earning my credit hours as efficiently as possible to reach my goals.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I give them a four!

    Dorm Life

    good!

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Rate My Proffesor.com when looking for teachers!

    In three sentences

    UALR has one the business colleges ever.It also has an excellent MBA program. I also heard that the teachers were excellent.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been some problems on campus. It would be nice if there was more security patrolling the grounds.

    Great for these types of students

    UALR is great for non-traditional students. They have a program that helps non-traditional students work school into their lives. They also have a great disability resource center that helps students be successful in the classroom. As well as this there is a program called TRIO that helps eligible students be successful. UALR also has a wonderful art program with very talented teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers really help the students and you learn a lot if you work hard.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different options for food on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the instructors expect a lot of the students. If you come to class, take notes, and study you can do well. There are some problems with online classes. Some of the online instructors do not communicate with the students which makes it difficult to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you walk around the campus and familiarize yourself with it. The campus isn't too big, but it can be a little tricky to get around.

    In three sentences

    UALR has a lot to offer the students. There are many academic programs to help students be successful in their classes. They also offer many different programs to fit students needs.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The university has a variety of clubs and activities to be part of. Take advantage of the diversity of the clubs and find the ones that best fit your interests.

    What to do for fun

    The surrounding area of Little Rock has a decent amount of restaurants and Arkansas is full of hiking and biking trails.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced the food or dining that the campus offers. I anticipate that it will be average based on what I have seen but cannot make an accurate assessment.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be staying in the dorms nor have I seen them.

    Academic Rigor

    As I have not yet started attending classes, I cannot make a fair statement regarding the university's academic rigor. I anticipate that it will be middle of the road per what I have experienced so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the administration! Do not wait for them to contact you if you have urgent matters or need answers quickly - and take the initiative to do it yourself.

    In three sentences

    As I have just recently moved back to Arkansas, I have had a lot of over-the-phone conversations with various University employees. The university employees do not seem to be very concerned with getting back to people in a timely fashion and required me to continuously call to check in even though I was always told that someone would get back to me shortly. I rate the university a 2 out of 10 on communication and follow through.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't park on campus and don't take might classes

    In three sentences

    Mediocre at best, low successrate rate and dangerous campus

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always have security and LRPD officials present.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very affordable school with a great education, so how can you beat that?

    What to do for fun

    There are several Greek life events you can get involved in if you wanted. Or personally, i enjoy a nice evening at Jack Stephens Center watching the Ualr Trojans play some basketball. It's a beautiful facility and there are several clubs and organizations at the school to get involved in.

    Dorm Life

    They have a new dorm setup on campus that is awesome. It is spacious, clean and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you go to class and do your homework, you will be just fine. Of course more challenging courses require more attention, but all the teachers are really nice and most are willing to work with you.

    In three sentences

    Excellent chance to further you re education while meeting new people and bettering your character. It's not a gigantic school, but perfect for people who are easily distracted. Overall, it is a fun learning university to get people going on the right track.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with some of the older students because they can show you around campus and show you a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage you time good in school or you will fall behind fast.

    In three sentences

    UALR is the best school to go to in Arkansas. UALR's rating is 12 out of 10. I say that because its an outstanding university to attend.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take tour! So you don't get lost or confused on campus.

    In three sentences

    Great school the campus is huge and still growing. Friendly people and this school has every program your looking for. Also great staff and professors in a great school environment.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try hard!

    In three sentences

    UALR is a great school! I love the small community and how active you can get with the school. Great teachers in a small and intimate classroom setting.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UALR Planetarium

    What to do for fun

    Access to Olympic size swimming pool and a complete gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to schedule an interview with the head of the department before enrolling in any classes to ensure you are on the right track.

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend UALR to students who are needing to transfer from another institution. I have tried to transfer to several other schools without success because my credits would not transfer. UALR has accepted all of my transfer credits, and now I can finish my degree in a reasonable amount of time without having to take out extra loans.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of student that don't mind learning and doesn't make excuses, this is the right institution for you. Yes, it can become challenging at times, but the professors there are there for you when you need them. I haven't had a bad experience yet, so like I said before, if you have the mentality of learning, this might be the right place for you.

    What to do for fun

    They always have different things going on campus. I'm a little older than the majority of the full time students there, but movie night is usually entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty good. Nice selections

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study and learn. If you go to class and try not to miss anything, it is a lot easier to pass the courses. I enjoy learning new things all the time and if you have this type of attitude, there is no reason for you not to succeed at University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

    In three sentences

    This university is a lot better than I expected. The professors are professional at all times and willing to help their students with all questions. This university really cares and wants all of it's students to succeed. I'm glad I chose to attend school here.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun? In Little Rock? Nope.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive... 1000 won't get you trough mid semester.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent

    Academic Rigor

    Cake walk

    In three sentences

    I would be cautious based on the reviews given. Anonymous obviously works for the institution, being that it is the only review that isn't ridden with spelling and grammar errors. Here is the facts: they accept 97% of people that apply and graduate 20%. Dr. Anderson shouldn't have a job. For all the one and done freshmen out there University of Arkansas Last Resort is your choice. Oh, and just about every other public school is cheaper and better.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch a movie at the dorm, attend parties held by the school, go do fitness classes at the gym, join a fraternity or sorority, watch basketball games, play soccer at the new complex.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty great there. There are so many choices and there is also a taco bell, starbucks, and quiznos. The dining hall itself is laid back and is a perfect place to chat or do homework while you eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty cool especially the Freshman ones because they are only two years old!! The best thing is that you only share a bathroom with two other people and there is a sink and mirror in each room. Plus they are always having activities so you will never be bored and the gym and dining hall is not too far of a walk. I loved that every other night i'd meet up with a group at the dorm and we would all go do Zumba classes at the gym!

    Academic Rigor

    Each class at UALR is different so each class is different for the level of work and dedication you need to put in. However, since I've been here I have never had such an easy class where you do nothing but still achieve an A and am glad because easy classes are classes that I never learn anything in.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who are going to attend UALR I would apply for as many scholarships as I can because they are fairly easy to get! I kick myself for not applying for the Chancellors Leadership because you only have to do 15 hours of community service per year and you get $8000 a year!! Another tip is to always get your schedule done early so that you're not forced to take classes you don't need just to get the minimum amount of hours to keep your scholarship. That way you can graduate as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    I would never dream of going anywhere else because it has everything you want! The campus is easy to navigate, the class size isn't too big or too small, it's not as expensive as the other universities in Arkansas, it's easy to get to if you are driving to class everyday since it's located in the state capital city, it's a pretty safe campus, parking isn't a hassle, and the staff members are helpful. Out of 5 stars I give this college a 5!!!

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's great to watch all the Frats step.

    What to do for fun

    Workout, go out to eat, and play games.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like with any other school you have to be smart. The campus police can only do so much to make sure the students are safe. You have to make good decisions in order to be safe. If you ever feel unsafe, an officer will walk you to your car from class. All you have to do is call the DPS and they will help you in any way they can.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not that big. There is a couple groups that are big like the pikes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many opportunities for anyone to enter a club or join in on several activities. All you have to do is take the initiative and go.

    Great for these types of students

    UALR is great for any student. There is a group for anyone and everyone. The campus is very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a little creek and a cute and quaint sitting area right next to it. It's really peaceful at night.

    Bang for the buck

    UALR is very expensive but there are several scholarship opportunities so anyone can attend.

    What to do for fun

    Go to student life events or go to the work out center to play basketball or do yoga.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but that is to be expected. There are several different options of food for you to choose from. They do their best to make sure their students do not starve.

    Dorm Life

    I live in South Hall which has a lot of people with my same major in the building. My neighbor is actually in all of my classes but one, so if I ever have a question I can always just knock on his door to see if he could help me.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenged. You have to put in the work to pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take part in student life programs. You will meet so many people which make the college experience even better.

    In three sentences

    I love the school and the atmosphere. I have made a lot of close friends with my classmates and even some teachers.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They need more Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Studying is always the best

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I stay in West hall. Its a very nice dorm with nice RAs

    What to do for fun

    Shop at the stores close by the school and work

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to work very hard at this college to get great jobs.

    In three sentences

    It is okay

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The campus has a Taco Bell and Starbucks, figure i will spend alot of time there.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are part of the reason i chose UALR!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a more serious approach to your college career, I recommend UALR!! It is not as socially driven as most larger colleges. I was accepted to U of A Fayetteville and U of A Ft. Smith yet I chose UALR. It's the college for me!

    In three sentences

    i absolutely loved the UALR campus and housing facilities. So much so, that i have applied, been accepted and am looking forward to attending! Can't wait to be a UALR Trojan!

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always roaming the campus just to make sure everything is okay. I see them every day. There are also phones just for emergencies on every corner. Also, almost every building has a flyer with campus safety's phone number on it.

    What to do for fun

    UALR always has something going on. You can go to basketball games or things like that. They always have a good show on at the university theatre. The entire campus has played humans vs zombies and you threw socks at people to turn them into zombies. It is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food at UALR was not that great. We had the same thing every week and it was all very bland. There were a lot of choices like a salad bar or a pizza bar, but I did not care for the sandwiches or the pizza. They also have an international bar with different things in it.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVED dorm life. My RA's were fantastic and I even applied to be one. (Dropped out of the Ra thing at the last minute because I got engaged) I have made my closest friends in the dorms. There was always a game to be played or a study session going on. Most floors at UALR even have a quiet study room that you could go to. Which, was awesome because you did not have to walk all the way down to the library.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm at about 60 credit hours now, so I have taken several classes at UALR. My teachers are not really hard but they do expect you to do your work. You cannot be lazy when doing school work. It's college, so do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I can think of are if you can live on campus, DO IT!! I lived in the dorms my first year and absolutely loved it! I had a higher GPA and I attended classes more frequently. I live about ten minutes from campus and something about having to drive there erks me. Another tip I can give prospective students is never skip! You will get into a habit and it will kill your GPA.

    In three sentences

    I have had a very positive experience at UALR. I've never had a bad teacher and they all seem to really want to help. I loved dorm life and I am loving college all together.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The University of Arkansas at Little Rock provides a variety of food to choose from while living or commuting to the campus. Starbucks, Quizzno's, Taco Bell are a part of the food court options to all students. UALR also has a café and a place called the Trojan Grill for students to enjoy meals throughout the day. Other dining and food accommodations are dispersed throughout the campus that all students can explore.

    Dorm Life

    UALR's dorms are some the best residential halls in the state of Arkansas. They are very well kept by the student's and faculty.

    Academic Rigor

    UALR offers a quite diverse curriculum that any student at any level of education could adapt to. The University of Arkansas at Little Rock campus also offers numerous services that are of help to all students in all curriculum content. There are places on campus such as the University Writing Center that aid students at all stages of the writing process develop their pieces of writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any prospective student should be prepared for a daily walking commute to any and every place on campus. However, prospective students should be aware that UALR offers a trolley service throughout the campus, as well.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas at Little Rock is the ideal campus size for any student who doesn't quite want to go to large college but also doesn't want to attend a small college. UALR is a very diverse university from the teachers, staff and student body. UALR also has a college for almost all fields of studies, so there are many options to choose from.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The university through out the year have little tournements with different sports. Plus weekends where they have free movie nights. There is so much to do during the school year that the university offers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cheap but really good and healthy. There are plenty of places to dine inside the campus and out. You have so much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and cozy. It's just like living in your own apt. with a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great. There is plenty to choose from. The teachers are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have enjoyed every moment at UALR. The teachers are amazing and helpful. The students are really friendly. It is a great place to start out your first couple of years to get use to college.

    In three sentences

    Its a wonderful school to go to. The ratio of teacher to students is only 1-15 in most classes, so you get the most out of each class. The campus its self is simple to learn.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It can be dangerous mostly around the early morning and night when I hear about students getting mugged. The school's Green Dot program let's students request an escort to their class or their car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really care for clubs and stuff so I can't say much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    Since I am an art student I highly suggest going to UALR. Since going here I have learned a varity of concepts and mediums that has broadened my once limited horizons. I feel I have grown as an artist and I have grown an interest in other fields as a result.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel this school is cheap compared to other colleges, but I feel they don't offer enough scholarships to a varity of students.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a buffet in the Diamond Cafe with a variety of foods, and also the Trojian Grill for those in the dorms. Also theirs a Starbucks, Taco Bell, and Quiznos. Also their are many other fast food places in the surrounding area of the school.

    Dorm Life

    I find that the dorms are to costly and the area surrounding the dorms is to dangerous. Students must be on guard at all times especially at night because some have gotten mugged.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very serious about their students success, and can be challenging at times since many who go their are in their mid 20s or older.

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on the classes it can get difficult if one doesn't keep up with their work. So keep up with your assignments, and if you don't understand something ASK! Many of the teachers I have had, except for a few, are willing to help in anyway they can.

    In three sentences

    I have gone to UALR for almost two years and I find it comfortable with it's cultural diversity compared to many schools that have the majority population coming right out of highschool. The staff and teachers are willing and ready to help in anyway they can if you know how to ask. By going here I have in learned a lot about my major and have a better understanding about many subject I was not confident in before.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus can be scary at night, and several people have been kidnapped or murdered on campus in the past.

    Great for these types of students

    UALR is great for local students who want to stay close to home. It is also good for non-traditional students. They will feel right at home among all the others.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but definitely not great. About what you'd expect from a state school like this.

    Dorm Life

    I do no live on campus, and I do not know many people who do.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes and degrees are more difficult than others. Compared to my previous school, the coursework is much less demanding.

    In three sentences

    For the cost and location, UALR is a good school. It is a happy medium between a small and a large campus. A large number of the students are non-traditional students.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    studygroups

    Food and Dining

    great food

    Academic Rigor

    very lenient on the classroom vigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel like if you know the route you want to take and make a plan and stick to it you can make it.

    In three sentences

    I feel the University of Arkansas at Little Rock is one of the best schools in the states of Arkansas. They have employed the local people for the local student. I feel the opportunity to go to this university is beneficial.