Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Arkansas at Monticello Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UAM is full of older people who want to go back to college. Also good for lower income families. I transferred there myself because of the cost of attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask your professors for help. That's what they're THERE for! And they're all very eager to make sure their students do their best.

    Bang for the buck

    UAM is very affordable. In fact, they set up their fees and tuition so that students getting federal/state funding can easily attend their school without going into major debt.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people at UAM are amazing. It's like a little family. I've never been in any classes quite like the ones I'm involved in for my major, where all the students intimately know each other and have each others' back.

    Am learning a lot

    I previously went to Henderson State University, and attending class, but didn't really learn anything, and had no incentive to, as the professors didn't really care whether or not I succeeded at their establishment. Professors at UAM, however, are quite dedicated to their students, and I've been very interested in what I'm learning and getting along better with my professors.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Usually on Thursday nights, the MBSF has a meeting where we worship the Lord. The friends you will meet will help you and will stay with you for a long time. You can hang out anywhere.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and sometimes the local buildings will serve the students lunch for free.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher will push you, but they will also help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't skip class.

    In three sentences

    I like University of Arkansas at Monticello. It is affordable and worth the time spent there. I have learned a lot so far in the one year i have been there.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a decent college if your a local and wana be close to home but the people that work there are plain rude! I have not had an advisor yet in the education field that has been nice or seem to care about their job ! The advisors are very rude! I had one in a middle of my meeting tell me to leave because she gets a phone call from a friend anud just waves bye! My gf is a pre med major and her advisors also give her run arounds and act like they don't want to help you!! It's their job ! I've even been put into classes I didn't need by the education advisors. People Tht work there are awful and I hear about it from a lot of kids on campus as well. If uam would fix the people Tht work there it would be a great place!! But untill then I can't suggest anyone to spend 4 years there.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus saftey is normal! They're strict on certain thing. UAM is a smoke free campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of diffrent type of clubs & activites to get involved in. You will enjoy them all.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of student. Tradational & non traditonal! UAM also has 3 campuses! The main in Monticello & two others in Crossett & McGhee

    Bang for the buck

    Not really expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities to attend. Go to sporting events, greek outings. UAM also has a family & friends day every Fall semester! You can invite your family & friends over to a free cookout, football game, pep rally, & etc:

    Dorm Life

    University Apartments are best if you're deciding to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Criminal Justice

    Tips for prospective students

    Go Green! Even if you aren't satisfied you can always transfer

    In three sentences

    This is a GREAT school. The eduaction is awesome. The campus is a little dull.

  • 11/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i think it has an excellent cost to attend compared to other colleges

    Will enjoy being here

    I will very much enjoy being here

    Will learn a lot

    I think that the University of Arkansas at Monticello will be an excellent college choice for me .

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When entering the college as a first time freshman, have a current college student help you with planning your schedule.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety on campus at times isn't so great. there aren't any security cameras on campus, although if you are ever in an emergency our campus police are there in a hurry.

    Greek Life

    the greek life on campus is really close knit and provide many fundraisers on campus for students. they also do a great job at making students far from home feel as if they have a second family.

    Clubs and Activities

    uam has many different clubs and activities for all sorts of people to enjoy. we have a gay, straight alliance club, foreign language society, amazing bands, biology club, forestry club, and many many more.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are athletic, love playing or watching sports, and especially love music then uam is a great school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    for the most part i would say that for the price i get a descent education from uam.

    What to do for fun

    uam has many different ways to have fun. one is our different athletic facilities including tennis courts, basketball gyms, workout gyms, indoor swimming pools.

    Food and Dining

    the dining in the cafeteria can be compared to any normal college cafeteria but one thing that really attracts the students is our java city and montegue's deli. which serve delicious healthy food in an atmosphere where it's comfortable to hang out with friends or just study.

    Dorm Life

    the uam residences range anywhere from the older dorms that have been updated inside but still keeping it's traditional look outside to brand new apartments with most modern day amenities.

    Academic Rigor

    in many programs the education system at uam can be very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    no matter how hard things get in college, never drop out or take a year off because you definitively will regret it in the long run.

    In three sentences

    uam college is growing with students every year. uam has one of the best music programs of any surrounding colleges. uam is very competitive when it comes to academic scholarships.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    high achievers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    didnt find any

    What to do for fun

    fight nite , gaming socity

    Tips for prospective students

    dont be scared to ask for help

    In three sentences

    they have overall the best administrators. have a great library. and the best student body.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is on patrol 24/7 and in the last year has increased the patrols and even offers rides late at night if you don't feel safe walking at night by yourself.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek organisations for everyone. The party hardy ones are under strict control.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are to be found on every subject imaginable.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who are from a small town or have never really been one for being away from your family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has its very own nature walk and yea it is a working forest. On most campuses you here that see car crashes out their window or door. Here you can walk across campus or out your door a nd see wildlife. It isn't uncommon for a herd of deer to be seen all over campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has a lot going for itself the academics and extra curricular actives are extraordinary.

    What to do for fun

    Resident life is always having shows and bring activities to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is commendable during the fall and spring semesters. its all you can eat in the cafeteria. the school also offers credits than can be used in the bookstore, and coffee shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all up to date technology but wireless is not available there. Great way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to class or you will either lose your scholarship or be kicked out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, go to class, and check weevil net daily.

    In three sentences

    The school has a very hectic system. officials are usually never there. Over all the campus and education are better than most colleges.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus activities to enjoy and get involved in for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very spacious and has a wide variety of food. There is also a java city cafe that provides fresh salads, smoothies, and freshly prepared sandwiches each day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty small for both girls and boys, but the on campus apartments provide roomy living space!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not too complex at this university and most teachers are willing to help you if you do get behind. So you can excel as long as you do attend class and pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to get involved in as many clubs as you can!

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas at Monticello is a very small hometown type of university. The curriculum is not too difficult and the expenses are very low, so if you are looking for a cost effective school this school is optimum. Finally the class sizes are small and intimate so you will have a personal relationship with your professors.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus patrolmen and police are ALWAYS on it. They make sure everyone is safe and sound. I always see them patrolling the area day AND night!

    Greek Life

    All the fraternities and sororities ALWAYS host parties and they are so fun to attend! They have step offs in the cafeteria and they are really friendly people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Biology Club Renown

    Great for these types of students

    If you are very friendly and like to chill and hang a lot. If you are really not a GO LIVE type person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place called the MBSF where we have church and it is open 24 hours. We play ping pong, pool, video games, have cookouts..anything you could name!

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is small enough that you can walk around to your classes in less than 10 minutes. You get such a great vibe when you step on to campus, like you've never left home. The teachers and faculty, along with other students, will help you feel welcomed.

    What to do for fun

    We are in Monticello, Arkansas which is a small town. There is really not much to do in town except the movies, bowling, and parties. Everyone LOVES going and hanging at the pond in the middle of the campus. It is really peaceful and beautiful.People usually go to neighboring cities to go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food here...is AWESOME! Everything is buffet, and there is even a place where you can make your own ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty decent and a nice size. There is PLENTY storage space and stomping ground for you to walk. My roommate and I made our room really comfy for the both of us so it's really enjoyable!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard classes, but the teachers make them easy because they are always there by your side to help you. If you don't understand something you can ALWAYS go to your teacher or advisor's office and get help. The door is always open.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, you would love it. Everyone, including the teachers, are friendly and will help you if you need it. I made friends really quickly!

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas is a GREAT school for education. I wouldn't choose any other place. It is home away from home.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus control is great! They always have campus cars paroling around and making sure that there is nothing bad going on.

    Greek Life

    They have so many great sororities or fraternities. Whether your looking for a major greek or a simple one they have them. They also have several community service greek systems.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a ton of different clubs and activities such as : band, choir, dog lovers club, debate, FBLA, FCLA, They have a rodeo club, football, softball, track, cross country, volleyball, and have a whole bunch more. I can't even tell you all the different clubs they have. They also have these things every month where they offer certain classes like self defense and cooking classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody wanting to major in forestry, music, or nursing should definitely come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Weevil pond.

    Bang for the buck

    They have great professors, people, atmosphere, and they really know how to make you feel at home. They have a low tuition price and do everything they can to help you afford everything that you need to. They have a great work study program where you can work and do your homework at the same time. They have nice dorms and nice facilities. They have all kinds of clubs that you can be in. They also have all kinds of events that you can go to help you meet people.

    What to do for fun

    They have a bunch of different clubs and activities that you can be in.

    Food and Dining

    They actually have really good cafeteria food and also have other food places such as java city and a sandwich shop on campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    They really help you understand your assignments. They have tutoring labs and everything that you need and you can always find your professors in their offices and they will help you to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Do your homework.

    In three sentences

    The professors are wonderful and make sure you understand your assignments and work with you. The atmosphere is great, nice buildings and classes. They have a lot fun events to really help the students mingle!

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of different things to do on campus. You could enjoy a walk arond the pond. You could go to the U.C. and play ball or lift weights. You can also interact with other students around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good. You have a choice of what you want to eat everyday even on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very fun. Once you meet the people you will find that there are many people just like you. You will connect with them, and they will make your time living in the dorm a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    The majors are not very complicated. If you come in with a plan in mind you will succeed in getting a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend this school, its a great choice. You will enjoy yur experience here as a student, but dont get caught up in the fun that you'll have.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school. The teachers are very supportive, and help to make sure that you learn what you need to in order to succeed. I enjoy being at this school.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always something going on with frats and sororities on campus. Off campus, there is a movie theater, a bowling alley, and a few shopping places as well as many restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe was only open at certain times of the day and never seemed to be when I was hungry. But there are always several options available including vegetarian dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't all that great to be honest. Unless you're likely to room with a friend you know or join a fraternity/sorority, it can be quite bland. However, they just started the slow process of renovating all the dorms on campus, and living on campus at UAM is still the cheapest in the state of Arkansas!

    Academic Rigor

    There are a handful of difficult classes, but the professors are willing to help as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying for housing early before high school graduation will help your chances of getting into the dorm hall you want. Also, make sure to attend early registration; it's less of a hassle and will help you get it out of the way to enjoy your last summer of high school!

    In three sentences

    UAM is overall a good school. The classes are small allowing the professors to get personal with the students and offer extra help. Also the faculty are very helpful and mostly understanding of student issues.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I participate in clubs whenever there are meetings or go to movie nights with friends and go bowling in town.

    Food and Dining

    Each week the foods are changed from cultural aspects. Sometimes there'll be Italian food or Chinese food. It is great!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, however, I have heard from my friends that live on campus that dorm life is great. Don't stay up hanging out with friends for too long though.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not as hard as they seem as long as you pay attention. I have a 3.3 so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your professors for help if you need any. They do not bite and will not make fun of the questions you have. They are there to help.

    In three sentences

    University of Arkansas at Monticello is a great university in my opinion. There are many professors willing to help each and every student in need of help with their classes. Also, there are a great variety of groups and organizations available for the students here to help give the a better perspective of the major they are getting into which is helpful.