Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who have a lot of energy and personality. Also great for Students who have great ideas and want to make them come to life

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure you take care of your financial aid as quickly as possible. The longer you wait the longer the lines in the Financial Aid building will be. 2. Get involved in as many activities on campus as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    UAPB offer plenty of scholarships

    Am enjoying being here

    UAPB is in a small town but, if you are involved in campus activities there is plenty to do.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants a quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, stay active, and make good connections in the university you will do fine!

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff is a bang for your buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    Pine Bluff may be a small town but, if you are involved in activities in the university there are always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are not just teaching the subject. The professors are also teaching life lessons that will help after graduation.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety here on campus is great. the only problems you here about pine bluff are off campus.

    Greek Life

    depending on the greek organization, some frats and sororities are very serious about their greek letters. if you do want to pledge, follow this rule. do not brag about what you want to pledge!! don't tell anyone!!! let the greek organization come to you.

    Clubs and Activities

    choose a club or activity that fits you. don't join in everything!

    What to do for fun

    as far as the city of pine bluff, there is not much to do here. if you do want to go shopping or anything, people majority of the time go to my hometown, little rock.

    Food and Dining

    sometimes the cafe will serve some um inedible food but other times you will go back for seconds and thirds.

    Dorm Life

    sometimes dorm life is a pain but it is also a great way to make plenty of friends!!!

    Academic Rigor

    if the school wasn't an open door policy, the academic will be a lot better than great. the professors teach more than the subject. they teach it with life lessons that you will or have faced.

    In three sentences

    if you make good friends and get active, you will have some of the best memories here!!!

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very effective in keeping order. At times they seem to be a little over protective

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very advent on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities for the student body to join in

    Great for these types of students

    those who plan on actually taking their degrees and finding careers not jobs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HBCU its very traditional in it's decisions

    What to do for fun

    party, play basketball, go to Little Rock

    Food and Dining

    cafe needs to be much more effective

    Dorm Life

    could have more kitchens for students to utilize in each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very forward and the professors are very strict with their lesson plans. Its best not to fall behind if at all possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in your studies, and don't get side-tracked with all the extra activities Pine Bluff has to offer.

    In three sentences

    As far as eating arrangements go Pine Bluff could use better cafes and methods of running food arrangements. Pine Bluff could use a much more improved student union. Pine Bluff has an exceptional educational drive.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security that watches around campus 24/7

    Greek Life

    Greek life is cool its a family hood that all comes together and treat eachother with respect

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are friendly we have M4 (band) basketball , football, a dance team, soccor ect.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who love exploring new country places.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bell tower is a great place to hang because its a nation tower of the founders.

    Bang for the buck

    Go out and enjoy yourself.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the game room.

    Food and Dining

    The dining and food is good. Its a big cafe all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok. You have freshman dorms and upper classman dorms. Also you have male and female dorms to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    Make shore you keep a 3.5 to make dens list

    Tips for prospective students

    Prosperctive students look for good networks and great friends to mingle with.

    In three sentences

    My university is worth wild. It have many great opportunities. I rate my university a 8 out of 10.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's constant public safety patrolmen in and around campus to keep us safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is wonderful at UAPB, many students can't wait to have the opportunity to pledge a fraternity or sorority and display their affiliation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join, according to your likes or favorites.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a plethora of sports activities to be a part of all year round.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The theater department is a joy to watch and be a part of, under the direction of Cheryl Collins. Mr. Henri Linton is a great artist, with many pieces of artwork displayed throughout the campus. There is a cultural museum you must visit to receive some of the rich history of UAPB.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a variety of sororities and fraternities to join. The Debate Team coach is amazing!! She has compiled a great team to compete with anyone in the world. The marching band is amazing, they marched at the inauguration of President Barack Obama.

    What to do for fun

    There are several activities constantly available on campus. Throughout the Student Union you will find many postings of activities available.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafeteria, I've heard the food needs more flavor. The prices may be a bit high for college students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay from what I'm told. I've never resided in any dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically UAPB competes with some of the greatest schools in the nation. Judging from the results of our debate team, UAPB ranks amongst the best academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Familiarize yourself with the campus and it's various buildings. This familiarization will prepare you to be on time for your classes. Pay close attention to your Personal and Social Development instructors and what they're teaching.

    In three sentences

    UAPB is a historical college, rich with southern history and pride. Home of one of the greatest bands and vesper choirs throughout the world. UAPB has an amazing Debate Team.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is an important facet. We have excellent security. These safe guards are in the forms of the presence of security, at all times on and around campus, excellent telephone and emergency tactics and systems in place, and the watchful eyes of designated personnel in our dorms and other buildings.

    Greek Life

    UAPB has it- Greek life! It is diversified and exciting. Greek life is the nucleus for many smart and interested students who work hard and join these organizations. For us observers, it is it is an emotional charge to see the Greeks perform, and to attend their activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tops! UAPB offers a whole smorgasbord of clubs and activities. The list would be nearly infinite. The sweet inspirations of purpose and resolve, however, allows the students multi challenges and opportunities of participation. I feel that it is more important to address that, rather than to name the affiliations and activities. Yes, the many clubs and activities allow students an independence that is most valuable. An independence to choose and to participate, an independence to identify with others on a college level, to compete on a college level, and to enjoy as college student in a safe and supervised setting.

    Great for these types of students

    The biology department is equipped with master minds who have provided an excellent foundation for many graduates that have become health professionals: nurses, doctors, dentists, and so forth. Students interested in the sciences will appreciate this institution. There is a rich heritage of teachers from our school. The education Department is a great place for those who want to go into that field. Students wanting contemporary skills can appreciate our Home Economics/ Child Care/ Life Skills Areas. There are more to apply, but little freedom to do so in this brief assignment/ writing today.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whereas, many schools have abandoned the idea of giving thanks to a higher image than ourselves, UAPB assemblies and gatherings traditionally begin with giving thanks and expressing thanks for what already is. We have a fishery department. the aquatic exhibit there is phenomenal.

    Bang for the buck

    The biggest truth I could tell you is that while UAPB is predominately Black, so am I, and I love it that way. The social life aspect expressed by many students is that they enjoy knowing so many of the same ethnic people as they are, who are about something really good, really serious, really aspiring. In other words, it is great to be around people who are not absent - mindedly running their lives with foolish interests and non-productive lifestyles and hustles. It just makes us proud.

    What to do for fun

    Students can enjoy game rooms, speciality dances, plain ole' sock hops, talent shows, fashion shows, Greek participation or observation (whichever), all kinds of sports like tennis, and etc., youth ministry involvement/fun, contests in specific areas, fitness activities... lots of fun going on around here @ UAPB. Fun gets an 8 on my rating scale.

    Food and Dining

    It is a subjective view, but I have to give you what you ask for, here. Our Southern Cooks provide an array of delicious foods in or mess hall everyday. We have snack bars for sandwich-type dining available on campus, and variety food and drink machines in handy locations . I'd have to give our food and dining facilities another 8.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable, safe, new and exciting are words that describe my dorm experiences @UAPB, so far. Although we share many items, it is still wise to leave no one in your room without being there yourself. We are on a smoke- free university campus, so some problems (mainly like careless fires) are unlikely to happen. Our dorms have computer rooms and lounges. These are the real escort for us students who are seriously pursuing an education. These services along with kitchen facilities put a smile on our faces each time we get home (to the dorm, I mean). I'll give our dorms a great 8!

    Academic Rigor

    I find that you get what you put into each class. Teachers @UAPB will help you through your work, but they do not do it for you. They encourage you to do it, persistently. Classes require a lot of reading, memorizing, and a lot of written interpretation. Tests come about real often. In some of my classes, students are expected to know and do (research) above and beyond on that unit, but there is often a bonus for this extra mile. Programs such as, The McNairs Scholars Program gives UAPB's academic platform a big boost. Students receive direction, guidance and stiff but meaningful assignments that are academically challenging to them. I'll give the system a big ole' 8.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to make early requests for services you need, like preferred roommates or extra space, because many students have made contact for a long time as they wait anxiously to get in UAPB. Also, request a calendar and pay attention to important dates for Orientations and workshops for new students. Recruiters @UAPB go the whole mile and some more- so I'll give them an 8 for their tips also to interested students.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas @ Pine Bluff (UAPB) deserves a high grade of 8 out of 10 on its smooth admissions procedures for students. It deserves an 8 for its research provisions @ the library for students. It deserves an 8 on how it allows the student government to be effective in the entire scheme of promoting and implementing ideas for us.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With my degree,I'm shoot for the stars. This school will help me with my goals and get me on the right track.

    Will enjoy being here

    As I look into this college, I found out that this will be be school for me. I hope to see you all soon! Thanks for all the reviews!

    Will learn a lot

    Because some of the past students I talked to said that UAPB will take their time to help me learn.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great Schlolarships!!!

    What to do for fun

    If you like to party..lol... but I don't suggest it.

    Food and Dining

    Ehh. Fish Friday and Soul Food Sunday. Not MY cup of tea but whatever.

    Dorm Life

    BEST FRESHMAN DORMS IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS... well for the girls at least. (:

    Academic Rigor

    Idk. Haven't studied there....

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. Don't waste all your time partying...

    In three sentences

    Different but possibly what some people need in order to grow and learn.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are patrolling 24/7. If they see unusual things going on or even unusual cars passing through they will check the scene, not to be a pest but for our own safety.

    Greek Life

    I've heard the Greek life is amazing but, I wouldnt know bc I'm not Greek.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can sit around the bell tower, which is located directly in the center of the campus, hang out in the union, the student lounge where you will see many of your friends or even fellow classmates, or if your Greek you can hang out at your Greek's house.

    Food and Dining

    The food at UAPB is not only healthy for you but it also tastes great! It may not look as tasty but give it a try im sure you'll love it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. This helps you meet great new people! All dorms have security for your safety. The only reason I didnt give this 5 stars is because the dorm coordinators can be a bit unreasonable at times

    Academic Rigor

    One word GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips I can give is go to class, get to know your professors,do your work, and have fun but dont forget why your there

    In three sentences

    UAPB is a great university. Despite of all the flaws it has the school overall is great. There are great teachers as well as students. Theres always something to do around campus. Your never bored unless you decide to be

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food here at UAPB is very healthy and is good for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun just get a little home sick every once in awhile.

    Academic Rigor

    UAPB is very academic and if you really want more out of life they will give it to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip i would give anybody wanting to attend UAPB is that if you really want help the instructors will give you one on one sessions in their offices after class if you need help.

    In three sentences

    UAPB is a great school it is a lot of hands on learning. I think that more people should come to Pine Bluff and give it a chance. the best thing about it is that we learn a lot while having fun incorporated with our study schedules.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Musical marching machine of the mid-south. Great place to further my education. Teachers who expect their students to succeed individually.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i live off campus but i have visited the campus police department and they seem to know the campus well so if you need them i'm sure the will respond right away.

    Greek Life

    not into greek life just yet, it's my first semester here.

    Clubs and Activities

    by me living off campus i havent had time to check out any clubs yet.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who want an education. check out the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i live off campus.

    What to do for fun

    i live off campus.

    Food and Dining

    i live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i've met a few graduates who graduated from here and they always tell me that there experience was very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    please! please! please! stay on top of you information. always know what is going on with your money.

    In three sentences

    i transferred in here to complete my college experience. so far i have had a interesting experience. my teachers are very nice and are willing to work with me as a student. the financial aid process was a struggle.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't really much to do for fun other than homecoming week.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining gets annoying after awhile because the same food is served.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very amusing. It's hard when a person moves in because it takes time to become situated. Overall it's great to have freedom as a student.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very severe that you maintain a grade point average of 2.5

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're an incoming freshman quite like myself, establish a relationship with your instructors.

    In three sentences

    I think the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff is a great school to attend. It's a very historical school and is the oldest HBCU with a lot of notoriety. Also, the school provides helpful instructors as well as staff members.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to little Rock and parties

    Food and Dining

    It is not all that ! the only good meals are breakfast and fried chicken Wednesdays and fish Fridays. Rally's is nasty. you will get tired of eating that mess everyday.

    Dorm Life

    if you have to stay at the complex you will hate it . they treat you like kids. we have visitation hours and a curfew. we are grow young adults.

    In three sentences

    UAPB is in the middle of the hood and smells. They are always trying to get money out of people. This school has some good things about it to like the football team and the class sizes.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the campus is really great for me i think I'm going to have fun there

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I hardly eat if any, but I would not eat at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, however I have been told that they are nice

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are very strenuous and others are an easy A .

    In three sentences

    I love the hospitality that the university gives to the students and visitors. They make it seem as if you are apart of a family. The knowledge that I am gaining here will help me in my future endeavors.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great School Great Campus

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and intimate. The teachers are very helpful and hands on. You learn more about life not just books alone.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police, but they are not very proactive.

    Greek Life

    Very active.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and greek frats/ sororities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for African Americans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone is really close like a family. The Belltower is the most historic spot on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is horrible.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Little Rock! Pine Bluff is not a great place for fun and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The only food they have is Checker's and the cafateria. They do have a variety of foods but not very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very loud and not very clean. I have lived in two different dorms here and would recommend looking for an apartment off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They are not very hard in education. This school is very easy to make good grades in if you show up to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the worst. This school is in a run down town with nothing to do. I would not reccomend someone going here.

    In three sentences

    Not a very large school. I would not recommend going if you are not African American. Not a diverse population at all.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's okay, but it could better. A person who didn't attend the campus had students at gun point for refund checks.

    Greek Life

    Not into pledging

    Clubs and Activities

    Wish it had more

    Great for these types of students

    It's okay

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming

    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper than other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Play on computers

    Food and Dining

    Only has a cafeteria and Checkers. Wish it had more variety of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The Harrold Complex and Johnny B Johnson (JBJ) are the best place to stay since they are the only place that have maids.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and take your studies seriously.

    In three sentences

    It is an okay school. It accepts a lot of African Americans. The building is low maintenance.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad has happened to me since I been here. We have a police station down the street on campus and are always patrolling. Especially at night they keep a good watch out.

    Greek Life

    Yes, my school has many different fraternities and sororities on campus. I see many student are apart of the Greek life and those that want to be one. Some are very involved at the school. I usually see them around campus somewhere. They have several events happening throughout the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous of clubs and activities usually going on at UAPB. The only thing is that there is no variety for all students. For an example, Archy is not implemented as a class or club,

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a small community. Classroom size the average of 40 or less. There are not to many distractions around unless a person goes searching for some.The university is in a small city and country.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not witness or heard any thing strange from coming out of high school or any other college.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is a cheap university too attend to but at the same time you will be limited to certain things on capus. Being at a smaller and cheaper school means sometimes you have less.

    What to do for fun

    Some things that my friends and I like to do for fun are: go to the mall, movies, skating, bowling alley, and go into the bigger city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad, although several of the same foods are serve quite often. The variety is very limited. The cafe does not stay open long enough for students. Also the meal plan system should be set up better for students should be able to eat anytime.

    Dorm Life

    I was surprised when I seen the dorms on campus. They are not the worst I have seen but I expected something totally different than what I live in. Some dormitories are decent though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes of course are going to be easy. On the other hand, many classes are going to be a struggle for some. It depends on how strong a person is in a certain course too.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage all to take a tour of the campus before attending and check for your major being physical on site.

    In three sentences

    UAPB is revetatively same in size around the community of Pine Bluff. Mass Communications and Biology department are outstanding. Also there is a close student teacher student bond for all.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is wonderful. It's like another family. I love being apart of the Greek community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of great student organizations and clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I would not eat in the cafe. Needs a better selection

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is great....just wish some of the rules weren't so strict

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What you do for fun is all up to you. Whether you make friends is up to you, but they have game halls and computerlabs for those seeking enjoyment. They also have sports for those who would rather get out and play than sitting.

    Food and Dining

    For those who'll stay at the campus their food is good! Also if you don't want their cafeteria food ,there's restaurants around the university to savor your taste. But their food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Each residence hall has rooms with a common area, bath facilites, &laundry facilities plus much more. They have separate halls for male & also female students. they also have internet for those who need it.

    Academic Rigor

    They require you to only do your best, which is what you should do anyway. UAPB offers the world's only undergraduate Regulatory Science degree program. They have greattraditions & a rich historically black heritage, but no matter where you come fromthe experience is still great.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not like highschool ,so be on top of your assignments. Always, always always ask questions if you don't understand, that's waht the teachers are there for. Keep all your notes neat, you'll never know when they'll come in handy.

    In three sentences

    The Faculty is helpful & they assist you with toutoring if you need it. They have scholorships for those who are accepted & need to aquire financial aid. If you want there's a way you can obtian a work- study for credit.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lots of clubs to join. You can join any club or organization regardless of your major. As long as you work hard and stay forces, you can stay in the clubs on campus

    Great for these types of students

    They have a good computer science department. All students that major in this, seem to be more prepared for the work force.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never walk inside the bell-tower. If you do, you will never graduate. If you do walk in, walk in the opposite direction so the curse will not happen,

    Bang for the buck

    Join Stem or Trio

    What to do for fun

    In the Student Union L.A. Davis, there is a game room full of pool tables, pin ball machines, and table tennis.

    Food and Dining

    I personality do not eat on campus, because I do not have a meal plan. However, if I do eat there, it is a $8 charge. I've been told that the ice cream is good.

    Dorm Life

    When talking to students they preferr the Johnny B. Johnny or JBJ building. But sometimes you are placed in dorms based on your GPA.

    Academic Rigor

    Classrooms are small so you have a limited chance of enrolling in a class you may need. This can cause further delay to graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be absolutely sure in what you want to major in.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the safety could be a lot better, but there are security guards that drive around campus all the time. When we are dancing out side and something crazy happens we can call security and they will be there in a very quick manner. Overall the campus is safe with a few mishaps here and there.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are very friendly (at least to me they are). When they have pageants or they showcase something it's always fun to watch. Yes there are rivals, but they all come together as one when the time is right.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is PLENTY to do at UAPB, you just have to get off your butt and go find something that interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who would be involved on campus. I believe that if you love supporting your school and going to basketball games or foot ball games you would really enjoy it, because the band is phenomenal, the cheerleaders have such high spirit, the Greek life always comes and show strolls, it is very entertaining to watch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bell tower, which is located at the center of campus has a myth that says if you walk through it, you will not graduate. So majority of people do not walk through it. if they walk and stand underneath it,they walk out the same way they came in.

    Bang for the buck

    There isn't a lot to do in Pine Bluff so it kind of sucks that I pay all this money and when I'm not in class or practice I have nothing else to do, but the school is great I enjoy it,I believe that everyone should visit an HBCU because it's a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot to do in Pine Bluff. If you want to do something fun you would go to Little Rock. It is a mall in Pine Bluff, but there is not that many options in it and the movie theater sucks. There is plenty of on campus activities for instance I am in the band, I dance, so I'm busy all the time. If your not involved on campus, you would be very bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe had it's great days and it's bad days. I would say always go and see what they have before you swipe your card. The Trio is very nice. It was a lot healthier, and they made great pizzas. We also had a checkers or Rally's on campus and it was great, but if you eat it to much you will start gaining a few pounds.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms it self were fine, with few bug problems here and there. For me personally, I didn't like being on the same hallway and sharing a bathroom with other people. Some girls were not as home-trained as I and my room mate was.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, I rate it a 4 because I am a fairly smart student, so I do not pursue easy classes. The classes that I was in were challenging and made me think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, it is a HBCU so the non-graduating rate will be high because African American do not typically put the effort into it. UAPB will be great if you put the effort into it. I would own a refrigerator because the food sometimes isn't not all that great.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school if you put the effort into it. The campus could be better, but the buildings are nice.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe campus police is almost annoying.

    Greek Life

    Prepare for the greekiest greeks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't walk through the Bell Tower, you won't graduate. It has been tried, the stats are 50/50.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties every weekend almost. 3 dollar Thursday's and the social lounge is popular. The union has cute events from time to time. Just go outside, someone will entertain you. I have fun walking to class.

    Food and Dining

    Laughable. At Uapb we lose the freshman 15. Bring granola.

    Dorm Life

    You will make it. Be respectful of everyone and everything will be okay. This is where you need to learn to be the bigger person. The ladies dorms are pretty nice, sorry fellas, but they guy's dorms are pretty sad. Except freshmen guys, those dorms are nice. Just be respectful and dorm life will be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are very easy. There some classes that are very difficult, but they can be conquered if you focus and study and GO TO CLASS. Some instructors will remind of tenth grade, others will make you think you accidentally went to Harvard. Study and go to class, and everything will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies and financial aid. That is how the flys drop. Do not come here and just chill, it's easy to become this easygoing person. Stay on top of everything, have fun, but don't let fun be the main priority.

    In three sentences

    UAPB is a wonderful institution. It has a rich history that I am very proud to further as a student there. Of course, there are a few things about the school that I do not enjoy, but as a whole I do love my school. On a scale of 1 to 10 with every aspect of college included I would rate Uapb at 7.447.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The overall life at UAPB is not worth the cost of it. It should not cost so much if there are many issues in the dorms and cafes that don't get fixed.

    What to do for fun

    If you don't want to be bored, you have to pretty much get involved in multiple organizations on campus.Pine Bluff is small and doesn't have a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    In the beginning of the year, the food is excellent. You can tell it is home-cooked. However, as the months go by, the food gets blander and blander.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are expensive, and if you stay at Delta, the most expensive one, then life is tricky. The elevator is always going out and there is always some kind of problem in the cafe downstairs.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really love what they teach, and you can get a great sense of that in their lectures. Easy and difficult classes balance each other out.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid office can be helpful, if you get there early and make the consultants sit down and have a real conversation with you. The office of career services is the best office in my opinion- they start you off in the right direction even as a freshman.

    In three sentences

    The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff can be a great place for students to succeed. That is, if you are willing to deal with all the unnecessary things this campus has... Make sure you want to be in this environment before you make that final decision.