Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of British Columbia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    if you feel unsafe walking on campus alone at night, safewalk is readily available by calling them on your phone or using the blue stations set up around campus. campus doesn't feel threatening at all though, not to me. just make sure you don't leave your laptop unattended at any time because people will swoop in and you'll never see it again.

    Greek Life

    i'm not very familiar with these but we do have fraternities and sororities that i've heard people greatly enjoy!

    Clubs and Activities

    too many clubs to name: from horse back riding to theatre to wine tasting!

    Great for these types of students

    if you want a variety of social events: ubc is for you. if you want a beautiful and lively campus: ubc is for you. if you want academic prestige: ubc is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the only thing you're allowed to vandalize is the giant e pyramid block on main mall. every faculty can have a go at it: draw on it, glue feathers onto it, try to blow it up. just what ever you do, do not let the engineers see you do it or you're bait.

    Bang for the buck

    the courses are worth it but they paid millions for a cobblestone road when it was perfectly fine before...

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs to join as well as athletic activities to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    a bit expensive (especially the fruit) and the cheese is weird but it's better than i thought.

    Dorm Life

    friday and saturday nights are noisy but what can you expect? your ra is always there if you need help or advice; take part in house activities (there are loads of them!)

    Academic Rigor

    i'm in the arts faculty and there's a balance between the work being difficult but extremely enjoyable!

    Tips for prospective students

    you're on your own: no more high school teachers or parents telling you to finish your homework. don't procrastinate and be organized; get things job on time and you can enjoy your new life more!

    In three sentences

    it has a social and lively campus with many events hosted. ubc is up-and-coming in green sustainability (just take a look at the cirs building!). academic life here is enriching and fulfilling.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UBC has campus safe walk where you can pick up a phone at a designated location (or by cell phone) and request an security escort if you feel unsafe. In general, the campus is far safer than the city. The biggest concern here is petty crime, which makes up about 90% of all crime in Vancouver. Violent crimes are extremely rare. The only time I have ever had a bad experience was when I lived off-campus in east Vancouver (the shady side of town). My suggestion is to be aware of your surroundings and the risks associated with the different parts of town. In general, the campus is quite safe and I occasionally stick my daughter in her stroller and take her for an evening jog. I have never felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name, but they are listed on the website. Personally, I'm part of the yoga club.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous! Smart and fun-loving. You should be tolerant of other views and cultures as you will encounter many here!

    Bang for the buck

    Vancouver is EXPENSIVE! You have to pay to have this kind of quality of life and I had a bit of sticker shock when I arrived. However, with some smart planning, you can have fun on a budget. I have a baby in tow and I'm still able to budget and enjoy a bit of the town. Groceries are extremely expensive as are clothing stores. However, Vancouver has an active freecycle community and I have traded many a necessary item and met some great people along the way!

    What to do for fun

    Again, here there is NO shortage of things to do. Aside from the numerous community events, Vancouver has a hopping night life, jazz cafes, independent and mainstream movie theatres, a first rate aquarium, and museums. Stanley park in downtown is the most beautiful public space I have ever seen! There is also whale watching tours that are active seasonally, or try taking the ferry to Victoria and you may see some on the way! The campus offers a multitude of hiking trails or try your luck on some of the mountains north of town where the olympics were held. Squamish is right up the road if you have a vehicle, and is said to be the recreation capital of the work. The salmon run occurs in the fall where you can watch bald eagles trying to pick off fish that swim upstream.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a bit pricey here, and it's about the same to grab a sandwich and soda as it is to cook something wholesome at home. On the up-side, there are many restaurants, cafes, and convenience stores to fill whatever need. I rarely need to leave campus unless it is to grab diapers for my daughter at the larger grocery store just a few kilometers down the road.

    Dorm Life

    There is fantastic community support for student parents/single parents, and on-campus housing opportunities are unlike any I'm aware exist. The community is extremely active, and there are many opportunities for involvement on many levels.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a doctoral student and I've never felt challenged until attending UBC.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good idea to demonstrate your academic achievements clearly. Writing skills are valued here. I highly recommend contacting faculty involved with the program that you are pursuing. They can be an invaluable resource. International students can find great support through the on-campus i house office. They can walk you through the application process, study permit applications, and funding for international students as well as a number of other concerns (eg medical). The financial aid department offers a number of loan options and emergency assistance is available for those encountering unforseen circumstance. There is fantastic community support for student parents/single parents, and on-campus housing opportunities are unlike any I'm aware exist. Submit your application early to receive full consideration, and IMMEDIATELY get on the housing wait list for on-campus housing. It will make your life SO much easier! When applying for housing, it also helps to talk to residence life directly to notify them of extenuating circumstances and immediate needs. They can help! There is no shortage of on-campus activities, groups, athletics, and support. I love this school and if I had it to do over again, I would in a heartbeat!

    In three sentences

    This university has rigorous programs. The networking opportunities with potential employers is superb. This university is consistently involved in cutting edge research in most categories.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are so many resources on campus that can keep you safe. First of all, there's safewalk where if you don't feel good about walking on campus alone at dark, you can call them and they will send over one boy and one girl to walk with you. Of course there's campus security which goes 24/7 and will pick you up if you need. There's also polls all around UBC that if any case you are in an emergency, you can press it.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is an important part of UBC party life, however, it's not the only source of party life. The frats have their own houses while the sororities are in panhelinic houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many clubs at UBC that you can find your own.

    Great for these types of students

    really, ANY type of student can thrive at UBC. Whether you party, whether you do sports, whether you're really serious about academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Too many to name. Some of the more famous ones include LDOC (last day of classes) BLOCK PARTY. Which is this huge party out in the UBC Mckinnes field where we have live DJ's and bands play like MSTRKRFT and Mother, Mother. It's fairly popular and everyone just get drunk out of their mind. Another funny one is called the Undie Run where during the night before exams, students to gather to run in their underware around UBC for one last night fun before exams.

    Bang for the buck

    As an international student, I did have to pay more but it is fairly priced and way more cheaper than the schools I looked at in the US

    What to do for fun

    Vancouver is a great city to live in so if you're looking for some fun, you can take a fourty minute bus to get to the buzzing down town area. However if you're looking for more outdoorsy fun, there is a beach right next to campus which is always crowded around summer time. There's also skiing and snowboarding available 40 minutes away, or if you're really serious about winter sports, there's Whistler, the host of the 2010 winter olympics.

    Food and Dining

    Although it's a little bit repetitive, it's still fairly decent and convenient. Both residences also have a convenience store which is sponsored by your meal plan so it is easy for freshman fifteen to happen.

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING. Make sure to live in first year residence, it will honestly be the funnest and craziest times of your life.

    Academic Rigor

    UBC has two four month terms with very little breaks in between. The classes itself are challenging but very doable if you study. Sometimes midterms occur 2-3 weeks into the course and you have to prepare yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can afford it, make sure to live on campus! Residence life has been the shaping factor that has made my year. There are always new and exciting things happening on residence that are either planned by your Residence Advisors or just put together by residents. Whether you're looking to party or just relax, residence life looks to accommodate that desire.

    In three sentences

    1. Although UBC is huge, it is easy to feel a little bit lost at times but it but because of its big size, it's also easy to find your nietzsche. 2. UBC has one of the most gorgeous campuses in the world, hands down. 3. UBC has a great international community and is extremely diverse.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    In the residences there are cafeterias in the common room open for early morning to 11pm. The food is very good, especially the wraps. However, it is also expensive - like everything on campus. The meal cards that are mandatory with first year dorming are very convenient and can be used in almost every store that sells food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Apart from the on-campus convenience it holds, residence life is a great way to meet new people. However, it has many downsides. Some of them are: sometimes there aren't enough showers in the morning, people talking loudly in the hallway when you are studying in your room, drunk and high people, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science student, it is essential to stay on top of all your work and readings. Some days we cover an entire chapter in a 50 minute class, so you need to learn ahead of time the material that you are learning.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel fairly safe on campus. All streets are well lit and well, there's just something about this atmosphere where you don't really feel too endangered.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everything here and with a student body of over 47,000 There's bound to be a group for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to do! Things such as, hiking, rowing, sports, clubs, shopping, and dining. Even making friends and having a movie night in your room or dorm lounge. It depends on if the student is willing to take advantage of all the new experiences to have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    They only use the best Vancouver grown greens, and they work very hard to stay as green and clean as possible. The food is wonderful and will fit to any dietary needs. There are also restaurants throughout campus and off campus, most even except student cards as payment.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful. Most of the dorm buildings are new and beautiful and you may even be able to sign up for a single as a freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what faculty a student is interested in, the more rigorous the class. The professors will be available to the students though and it won't be difficult unless the student stays organise and is aware of their priorities.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to work extremely hard, even before coming to university. If you'd like the best experience as possible, work. Be friendly and walk around with a smile on your face. When you come learn something new. Take up frisbee, dance, or even quittage.

    In three sentences

    The University of British Columbia is a large, beautiful school located in an extravagant area off the coast of Vancouver BC. It has spirit and liveliness to it and it's as if this energy engulfs you into it. The options are endless here.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any issues with people on campus even if it is at night time.

    Greek Life

    One of the Fraternities was mysteriously shut down.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities on campus although it's not always easy to go to all of them if the student is off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rose garden is a gorgeous place. Also we have a nude beach right on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    All the items are usually overpriced but once in a while there will be something worth buying.

    What to do for fun

    Go shopping at Metrotown or Richmond outside of campus. If on campus it is better to visit club events.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeterias are often undercooked or overcooked and taste bad. It is better to go out of campus for food.

    Dorm Life

    Unless living in one of the newly built housings, the on campus dorms are not that spectacular. For example, my dorm recently had a water tank break and our water mixed with rust.

    Academic Rigor

    There are quite a few courses which are extremely challenging. For example for first year Chemistry there is a chance that 1 out of 4 people will fail the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although UBC hosts a lot of parties be careful and only go to them once in a while. Focus on studying.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus and it is a fun place to take a walk. Also, it has lots of nice faculty members and students. Most of the people here however are of Asian descent.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know it's decent. I haven't heard of problems, and I know there are different resources for help.

    Greek Life

    The presence of fraternities and sororities only detracts from the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not active in any, but there are a wide variety of clubs and athletics.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious and academically-inclined. The student population is probably mostly international, so you can meet people from all over the world, too.

    Food and Dining

    I rarely eat at school (I'm a student! I can't afford to eat out!) but there is decent food here.

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually live on campus, because it costs far to much. In fact, all of Vancouver is expensive, especially the closer you get to UBC (which is on the western coast of the city). Instead I live in East Vancouver, where I pay $980 for a two-bedroom suite, and groceries are cheaper.

    Tips for prospective students

    UBC is a bit cryptic to newcomers, even if you've spent a few years at other schools like me. Expect your marks to drop by up to 20% from what you were getting in high school. For both your marks and your pocketbook I highly recommend doing your first few years at another school if you can, then transferring.

    In three sentences

    As a large and old school, UBC tends to follow the status quo; the emphasis, as with most universities, is on hyper-specialization, though they are very good at it. However, if you look for it, there are lots of small initiatives for community integration with courses, for example, or programs that teach about social activism.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go exploring with mountains, oceans, stanley park, granville island and all of Vancouver withing reach there is plenty to do to occupy your time.

    Food and Dining

    Spectacular world class dining everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus as a first year but have made tons of friends who love the dorm life, the cafeterias are phenomenal and the dorms are close to the beach.

    Academic Rigor

    Incredibly challenging academically but it will be a worthy payoff in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take easy classes in your senior year of high school, you need to challenge yourself to begin to prepare for the work load of UBC.

    In three sentences

    University of British Columbia very focused on academic success. The school is incredibly international and amazing for expanding ones horizon. UBC is such a beautiful campus surrounded by oceans and mountains.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Researching.

    Dorm Life

    Researching.

    Academic Rigor

    Researching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Something for everyone in a city like this, just be sure you have an appreciation for outdoors.

    In three sentences

    Skiing. Vancouver. Academics.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walked for the bus loop to my dorm at 4 am by myself once, and I was still not afraid. Honestly, there haven't been an issue walking by yourself at night, but always stay safe.

    Greek Life

    If you are looking for the traditional Greek life, then UBC is not your school. There are 9 fraternity and 7 sorority which the sorority do not have houses. Out of the 9 fraternity, two of them do not have houses. Girls have to pay to get into the Greek parties so sorry ladies. The Greek life at UBC is really small, but all the fraternity and sorority are really close.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 300+ clubs to choose from so take your pick.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, UBC is great for every type of students. UBC is great academic school and we do have some great parties so there is nothing more you can ask for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During exam period, we have the undie run where everyone is basically running around campus in their underwear. We also have two huge parties in the beginning and the end of the year which famous artist came to perform like Morgan Page, Dillon Francis, and also K'naan. We also have Storm the Wall which is the largest rec event for a college. It is basically a relay race all around the campus where a team of 5 people races other teams to whom can climb the wall first.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a top 30 school for the price of a top 1000 school. Tuition is affordable and is cheaper than a private school in the states.

    What to do for fun

    UBC is 30 minutes away from downtown Vancouver so it is really close. The drinking age is 19 in Vancouver so just be prepare for that. There is something for you to do on any given day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing special but the chefs are the coolest people ever. Make friends with them and they will take care of you! Trust me! The dining hall have booths and a fire place. It is really cool.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. I think UBC have the best dorms a freshman student can ask for. I have a room all by myself which is sweet. A couple of my friends have their own bathroom with a shower! That is unheard of for a freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    UBC is rated top 30 in the world so of course it is difficult here. The work is hard and you have to put a lot of time into it to get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    For international students, go to Jumpstart. Jumpstart is a program to introduce international student to Vancouver and make friendships before school starts. For all students, just relax and take your time picking a school to go too. Make the decision if the school feels right to you.

    In three sentences

    University of British Columbia is a fantastic school. It is located next to 7 beaches and have their own rose garden and Japanese garden. UBC is top ten in Science as well.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take their campus safety very seriously, the tour guide said he always felt safe there. But he knew people who did not and they used blue phones that you can call and then someone will come to escort you to your room.

    Bang for the buck

    From what i can tel (based on what i heard on the tour and what they told us at the briefing) it is very good, it is a fairly inexpensive school, but it is one of the top ones in Canada.

    Food and Dining

    I did not see any restraunts, but then again i did not look so im not sure.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice, if i remember correctly 60 percent of them are singles and the other 40 percent are doubles. So you can choose whichever you like.

    Academic Rigor

    I am fairly sure that the academic rigor is high, because only recently did they adopt a profile for application. Before that i think it was purely transcript.

    In three sentences

    I thought that the campus was amazing. It is in the middle of a forest like place, and one area that really impressed me was their Asian garden. It is definitely the best college campus i have been on so far.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Besides the creepy stairways on your way back to First Year Res (after an all-nighter at the librarys), there is no reason to feel unsafe at UBC. There are always ppl around to help with any situation and security alarm posts just about everywhere.

    Greek Life

    I have honestly heard mixed reviews. I for one got very tired of frat parties very quickly. Despite being so excited for them my freshman year.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a student that loves cool art and designs the campus is full of some of canada's greatest architecture. For the athlete type you'll love the Weight Rooms and Varsity facilities, there with out a doubt top-of-the-line.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One that seems to get everyone excited is the annual Undie-Run. Essentially the American Pie: Naked Mile, except with lingerie and boxers. I missed it... but I heard it was crazy fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything at UBC is for the most part reasonably priced. Prepare however to be pouring money into meal plan dollars as these programs were designed for kids without appetites. Sorry UBC, that doesnt exist.

    What to do for fun

    My top suggestions for fun would be attend all of the varsity games as possible. The environment you get at a UBC Basketball and Football game is great! You'll feel as if your a 6th man on the court or a 13th man on the field.

    Food and Dining

    Not gunna' lie to you.... When 3 or 4 cooks prepare the same meal for 1500+ residents, its not the greatest. But the service is excellent and the staff is always fun and entertaining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the same as studying in the sense that it is as good as you make it. Stay in your room and dont join groups and socialize and you'll most likely get sort of bored and it wont be fun. If you do the opposite you'll love it!

    Academic Rigor

    School is really only as difficult as the amount of FOCUSED attention you put into it. It is easy to get caught up in campus life and forget to put ample time aside for your studies. Longer is not always better, but prepare your self for quality studying in a good environment and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend your teachers available office times, this gives yourself a more personal relationship with your teacher and shows that you are there for more than an easy A. Utilize the various study spaces around campus. Everyone seems to have a different favourite, so its important that you find the best one for you. Also, try out some of the extra-curricular groups and activities for students. I havent heard anyone ever complain after an event at UBC. They are all well organized and a great deal of fun.

    In three sentences

    A beautifully designed campus flourishing with inspirational people and designs. An lively yet focused learning environment. The best overall on the westcoast.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with a club or two, and if you play sports, participate in UBC Rec.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food on residence is overpriced for the quality and quantity of each serving.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best, but still a great experience that you should enjoy if you have the chance to.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not underestimate classes, not even supposedly easy ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and listen to lectures, it makes everything so much easier when studying for finals.

    In three sentences

    UBC is a great learning environment. Whether it be fun, friends, or education, you can find it all at UBC.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    theres campus safety light all around campus

    Greek Life

    Frat parties which are bigger than any high school party you have every been to x10.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you can possibly think of, they have.

    Great for these types of students

    any type of students. There are so many groups and clubs - stuff to do for everyone!!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but worth every penny

    What to do for fun

    Everything you can think of: Swim Hike Ski and Board Shopping City life Boating Food!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    very good; however, food is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    A blast

    Academic Rigor

    very competitive school

    Tips for prospective students

    Balance your social and academic life. Get involved!!! Make lots and lots of friends

    In three sentences

    It is a very multicultural university with countless opportunities. The student, professors, and general community is extremely friendly and social. Did I mention how beautiful the campus is?

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are actually a lot of clubs. Like Quidditch.

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters and people who like the woods, forest or nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is a little bit of a hype beast.

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, some people go skiing and there are a lot of concerts that happen around (that's if you're 19+).

    Food and Dining

    Everything tastes the same in the Dorm dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends if you're living in a single room type dorm or have a roommate. Single room type is fine since the rooms are newer.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty tough, if you're aiming for that A grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work and walk and deal with hipsters.

    In three sentences

    It may not be such a challenge to get accepted, however, it's staying in the university that is the challenge. It's a huge campus and lots of walking involved if you live in campus. Don't be deceived by the University advertisements, it rains all the time and the sun only comes out in April.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Everything is so much more expensive in Vancouver it really sucks

    What to do for fun

    There's lots to do from going down to Wreck Beach, hanging out in other houses, going to a party on Rez (friday and saturday nights you'll ALWAYS find something) or hitting up the frats. If campus life is boring you hop on a bus and head down to Kits, Granville Island, or Downton Vancouver. There's so much to explore you'll always find something new to do.

    Food and Dining

    1st year residence meal plans are a rip off, they really suck. You pay so much for a meal plan for food that's so overpriced it's ridiculous. The food itself is alright but very repetitive. Unfortunately a Meal Plan is required for students in 1st year residence so get the Minimum Plan: you can always add more on later if you need it.

    Dorm Life

    DO IT. Live in a Residence in your first year. you will meet so many people and experience a lot of new things and the RA's (residence advisors) are stellar. Apparently Totem Park is louder than Vanier but either one is awesome. At the end of the year you might think back and go well I'm never doing THAT again but overall, you'll be so glad for the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The grading is harder than in High school. You're marked a lot more heavily on a lot less work so don't brush anything off until last minute. I know you're going to do it anyways but don't say it didn't warn you. Have a good repore with the Prof, go to office hours and don't be afraid to ask questions either in lecture or via email/office hours. You're PAYING to learn and if you're not understanding then it's your loss.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Invest in a bike or longboard: UBC Vancouver is a huge campus with lots of hills and trust me so wheels will help cut down the commute time. 2. Get ready for the rain: It rains a LOT. Accept that. Get a good rainjacket, some rainsboots and an umbrella. Trust me you'll come to enjoy the rain (or at least accept it) and all of a sudden a bit of sunshine seems so much more amazing 3. Don't be afraid to change your mind: this is something I'm working on right now after fininishing 1st year. Things I thought I would enjoy ended up being quite dull and I fell in love with things I didn't expect. Life isn't straightforward so be ready to go with the unexpected

    In three sentences

    UBC is big, get used to a lot of walking. UBC is wet, it rains A LOT but you really come to appreciate the sun. UBC is interesting, there are so many classes I didn't even know existed and the profs are always there for you.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, I felt extremely safe living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers so much, my favourite would be the beach simply because its a great way to clear your mind after a long day. The amount of nature and beauty accessible to students is very therapeutical as well as entertaining living on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Alright, the service was really good, but the overall quality was alright.

    Dorm Life

    Again very good, it allowed me to meet a multitude of different types of people easily.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good, its high academic standing has made it a very motivating and inspiring environment for me to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very large campus so don't be afraid to ask for help, try new things, and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    UBC has a beautiful campus. It is also very diverse making it easy for students to feel comfortable. Because of this it is a very motivating environment for students to succeed.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of activities at UBC that I can not start to name all.

    In three sentences

    UBC is a brilliant school. The atmosphere is refreshing and the professors encourage students to think critically whether it is in an English class or math class. None it is easy but it is very resourceful.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit the tourist attraction places such as beaty biodiversity museum, botanical gardens and the on campus beaches.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is good but bringing your own food from home is preferable.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in a dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and then Party hard :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Live your 4 years of undergrad up to the fullest

    In three sentences

    It is the most beautiful university in the world and provides excellent facilities to students on campus for both studying and pursuing non academic activities. The ambience of the campus is very calm and serene which motivates a student to concentrate on it's study.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have safe walk (call them and they will walk you home), with emergency poles every 100 m.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is cheap enough, but not crazy cheap. Have heard good things about dorm food though.

    Dorm Life

    Have not lived in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging, yet interesting.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security hands out safety whistles at the beginning of the year and most students are aware of the SafeWalk program. With this program a student can call and SafeWalk will send one man and one woman to escort the student(s) to wherever they need to go in case he or her feels unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, the sororities here don't have their own houses, but the sisters still meet regularly. The fraternities do have their own houses and often host great parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs, sports, and activities available at UBC. From a quidditch team to the mustache club, pretty much anything you can think of exists. And if it doesn't, you can start a club for it!

    Great for these types of students

    What I love most about UBC is I feel that it is a place for anyone. There are numerous amounts of clubs and causes that cater to a variety of interests. Also, the multitude of possibilities for majors, minors, and specializations can make this school a great fit for anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -The Undie Run is an unusual tradition, but fun! Around March/April students gather together late one night and strip down to their underwear to do a rowdy lap around popular spots on campus. The run usually ends with students jumping in to the outdoor pool and the clothes are donated to a charity or local cause.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel that UBC is worth the price. For a top ranked institution you don't pay the price that you would otherwise at other schools in a similar rank.

    What to do for fun

    -Visit Wreck Beach (Caution: this is a clothing optional beach) -Check out the awesome museums on campus -Go to the sporting events -Fraternity and dorm parties -Snow skiing at one of the many close mountains -Visit the sailing centre at Jericho Beach -Various on-campus tournaments, parties, and events

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty decent and the chefs do their best to switch up the menus to cater to the variety of tastes from around the globe. There are authentic forms of food from around the globe on campus which is nice if you like to change things up from time to time. There are cafeterias, a food court, and restaurants so you can also change up the dining style too.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I enjoyed dorm life, but it can get old after some time. UBC does its best to provide housing for everyone, but that's not always possible so that is a downside to housing on campus. However, first years are guaranteed housing which is great!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is one of the best ranked universities in the world and I feel that the institution supports this reputation with its outstanding academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Take advantage of free resources -Get involved on campus - there's a club for every interest it seems -Take part in one of the infamous campus events - The Day of the Longboat, the Undie Run, or Storm the Wall

    In three sentences

    The school offers a diverse group of students from all around the world. I love it here because I feel there is a niche' for everyone. There are also multiple free resources that are extremely helpful and available to students (i.e. counseling services, silent study spaces, etc.)

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    generally, it's been ok for me. but there have been alerts before, of weirdos on campus. however, security is very responsive in this case

    Greek Life

    too overrated...

    What to do for fun

    partying is usually good at ubc, lots of activities, clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible, very expensive, and no proper food.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends very heavily on program/professor/course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an advisor, actual person. Talk to them all the time, show them your schedule all the time. Demand your questions answered; you have to decide yourself is not good enough.

    In three sentences

    It's alright. If you have passion for exactly one thing, you can easily succeed here. But if you're not sure, it will be a lot more difficult.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The good food tastes great, but extremely expensive. The cheapest thing on campus are McDonald's cheeseburgers. Sushi places go for about $5-8 per tray, noodles are $8-9 and burgers and fries are about $6-10.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not overwhelmingly so.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any issues with the campus. Feel free to walk around at night without problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs on campus, and a few club fairs near the beginning of the school year (Sept) offer students a chance to interact with club members and learn more about the clubs before joining.

    Great for these types of students

    UBC is great if you are looking for a highly academic university filled with smart, like-minded people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harry Potter room in Irving! Go check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many other institutions, UBC is very affordable, especially if you are from Canada.

    What to do for fun

    Go down to Wreck Beach, head out with friends to the city, there's plenty of activities to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, but lacks enough variety. After a while, the few places on campus get old. However, Vancouver is lively and has good food if you're willing to take a bus to get out.

    Dorm Life

    Love the residences and all the efforts to make them a welcoming place. I met some of my best friends through residence.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are quite demanding and require effort. What you put in is what you'll get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply on time and not to accidentally miss deadlines. First year students get guaranteed housing if you apply before the deadline.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful place to learn and grow as a person. Academics, athletics and clubs are plentiful. People are generally friendly and the city is great.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SafeWalk ensures you never have to walk home alone. There are safety 'stations' visible from any point on campus that you can use to reach RCMP and campus security. I always feel safe. The only issue is bike theft. But this usually only occurs to unlocked or really nice bikes.

    Greek Life

    A large and active Greek life at UBC. The fraternities and sororities dominate a portion of campus life both physically and enthusiastically. A very involved aspect of the UBC community.

    Clubs and Activities

    A million and a half clubs are available with over thirty different culture clubs. There will be definitely something you enjoy as a club at UBC. I personally and a part of 5 clubs and that is after I cut a few from my list. Never a dull moment at UBC.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will thrive at UBC. If you need extra help, it is readily available. If you don't, even better. You can even take many courses online as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The yearly Ski and Board Undie Run is one of my favorite traditions. Everyone strips down and runs a 5km run around campus during final exam season. It relieves stress; all clothes get donated to a charity and it finishes with a jump in the outdoor pool (not sanctioned by the school)

    Bang for the buck

    Living on campus can be expensive, but the location is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    My favorite past time is heading up to Whistler but I also enjoy hitting up the beach or seeing sweet concerts at local venues. Vancouver is definitely a culture hub in Canada.

    Food and Dining

    The residence cafeteria will spoil you with options. As well, they provide lots of options for food restrictions.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are 5 minutes away from north america's biggest nude beach. Need I say more?

    Academic Rigor

    Very academically rigorous. Sometimes other students will get too competitive over marks and lab scores.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, this is the school for you if you enjoy a wide variety of activities from athletics to educational opportunities. It's a great location being close to the mountains (a bus ride away from whistler) and not far from downtown. Living on campus is 5 minutes away from the beach. This is a great school and you will not regret going here!

    In three sentences

    A great variety of opportunities with clubs and extracurriculars. The rivalry between faculties leads to a negative sense of community. The facilities are great and provide with great access for you education.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UBC is a campus largely isolated from any sketchy areas. Campus security is visibly present, and there is a safewalk program that offers walks to any residence or transit stop. Transit runs well into the night, and there are help phones scattered across campus. Crime rarely occurs on campus, but in the case of injury, UBC features its own hospital.

    Greek Life

    UBC features a good set of fraternities and sororities for those seeking to get involved with Greek Life. The selection is more extensive than other Canadian Universities, but Greek Life isn't as important as it tends to be stateside.

    Clubs and Activities

    UBC offers over 350 clubs. There are clubs for nearly every academic and non-academic interest - if a club doesn't exist, it can be created! Some of the largest clubs on campus are social clubs catering to international student or students of certain ethnicities, and others are student societies for those specializing in certain subjects.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, motivated, balanced, responsible, ambitious, fun-loving, sociable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UBC features an annual undie run, to raise funds for charity. There is a cairn on campus with a large E on it - this is the engineering cairn. It's tradition to try and deface the E and not get caught by the engineers, but it will be repainted eventually. It's also commonplace to complain about the constant building construction and rain.

    Bang for the buck

    UBC's tuition is reasonable as it goes for Canadian schools. However, the cost of living is quite steep if you choose to rent apartments or even live on upper-year residences. It's easy to get carried away on lavish expenses such as prepared food, so it's better to get disciplined sooner than later and start cooking for yourself. However, the educational experience in itself is worthwhile. There are options to travel abroad and undergo all sorts of enrichment - all of these can potentially be funded to minimize expenses to yourself.

    What to do for fun

    UBC has its own Student Recreation Center, which hosts intramural sports and even gives lessons. These include yoga, basketball, badminton, soccer, and almost any sport you could imagine. There is also a fitness center and aquatic center for those needing to pump iron or go for a swim. UBC has its own on-campus pub called the Pit Pub, which offers cheap alcohol on Pit Wednesdays. In terms of attractions, UBC has a variety of gardens. The Nitobe Memorial Garden is a Japanese-style garden, the Rose Garden features roses, and the Botanical Garden features a wider variety of plants than either of these two. UBC also features a few museams, including the Museam of Anthropology, and the Beaty Biodiversity Museam (which features a full-size whale skeleton).

    Food and Dining

    UBC offers a variety of on-campus dining options. For students living in residence, the cafeterias stock a variety of home-style options with entrees and sides. Beyond that, there's a selection of cookie-cutter cafes scattered across campus that sell a variety of soups, sandwiches, salads, coffee, and pastries. The Student Union Building (SUB) has some more variety - including sushi, a deli, burgers, fast food, chinese food, korean food, pasta, Subway, and there are salad bars as well. A further stroll from campus leads to the University Village, where there are establishments such as Starbucks, Pizza, Sushi, McDonalds. A food court at the University Village has options for chinese food, vietnamese food, mediterranean food, and indian food. Wesbrook village, a short bus ride from campus, has a fully stocked grocery store, as well as options for taiwanese noodles and frozen yogurt. Of course, a bus ride into the neighboring suburbs of Vancouver has more extensive options. A longer ride into downtown opens up even more!

    Dorm Life

    UBC offers two first year residences - Totem Park and Place Vanier. Despite the ever-switching reputation of one dorm being the 'study dorm' and the other being the 'party dorm', both dormitories offer a thrill if you're up for one and some quiet study space if you're looking for it. Some of your closest friends will be formed on your residence floors, and your residence advisor will be there to guide you and help you with any problems that may arise. RezLife holds a variety of events through the school year, which are engaging both academically and socially, so it's a good idea to participate in as many as possible! The food in residences isn't so unbearable if you know what to buy and what you're looking for, and money isn't easily squandered if you have good self-control. Overall, 1st year residence is an amazing experience - it allows you to fulfill your social needs and be conveniently on campus. Upper year residences offer a wider selection of buildings. For housing during the school year, students draw in a residence lottery to determine who gets placed. There are choices between townhouse, apartment-style, or suite-style residences. There are also year-round housing options which are first-come, first-serve for students that aren't successful in the residence lottery. Dorm Life in these upper year residences tends to be equally close-knit, as all residences have RezLife staff, but your mileage may vary based on your roommates. Towers such as Marine Drive and Walter Gage towers can offer some breathtaking views!

    Academic Rigor

    UBC offers a diverse range of courses, some with a reputation for being exceedingly easy, and others with a reputation for being notoriously difficult. There are the famed 'weeder classes', as well as the 'GPA boosters'. From my experience, no matter what class you end up taking, a good grade cannot be pulled without making sure you put the work into the course. Even GPA boosters can fall apart if no effort is applied, and the so-called 'weeder courses' can be triumphed over by putting in that extra effort by going to office hours or doing some past exams. You should overall be comfortable with the classes you're taking - avoid classes that seem too easy to prevent becoming complacent, and avoid classes that may be too challenging to take on all at once. UBC offers courses to suit many levels of students, so be sure to make your choice accordingly!

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin with the end in mind - even if you don't know what you want to accomplish by the end of university, chances are some of the courses, clubs, and activities you'll be a part of will help you realize that. Once you're set on your path, seek out as many opportunities to get involved in both academics and extracurriculars. UBC has an undergraduate student society for all of its faculties, and this is a great place to start. The number of campus support and peer programs is astounding as well. In your 4, 5, or even 6 years at UBC, you'll have plenty of opportunities for academic enrichment through involvement with research, attending the annual Student Leadership Conference, or even presenting your own Student Directed Seminar. The classes you'll be taking at UBC are challenging but worthwhile, so that doesn't mean everyone can dive into them headfirst and expect to come out on top. It's worthwhile to do some research as to your professors, course content, and anticipate any personal or academic difficulties you might have. If you scan ahead for any potential troubles, and keep the end in mind, then your undergraduate career will be a blast!

    In three sentences

    Innovative, eye-opening, and self-bettering. The University of British Columbia is a world-class institution that truly doesn't hold its students back. The programs and courses offered here are so diverse that you can truly do anything you want, and ultimately let your education fuel your ambition.