Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Charleston Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. Campus Security is always around when needed and if a student ever feels unsafe, Security is prepared to help them in any situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    The University of Charleston offer countless organizations for students. There is a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who would like to go to a small campus but have a top notch experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Charleston has decided to lower tuition to the amount of $19,500 for incoming students in the Fall of 2012. Considering that this is a private institution, that is a good deal. Though the tuition is higher than many state schools, one definitely gets what they pay for. The facilities are fantastic, the dorms are outstanding, and the staff is unparalleled.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do on and off campus. Activities are constantly being held on campus by many different organizations, whether it be day or night. If one is looking to go off campus, the Charleston area has many places to shop, dine, and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    Students have the option of dining in three locations which are all located in the Geary Student Union. There is the Coffee Tavern, which proudly brews Starbucks Coffee, Mo Harv's Food Court, which offers the options of the grill, subs and wraps and foreign delicacies, and the all you can eat Cafeteria, which offers several different options everyday. Students can pick their own meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    There are five recently updated residence halls on campus. Students have the option to pick their own roommates or to live alone. Activities for residences are always going on.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic system here at The University of Charleston is challenging yet attainable. One has to apply oneself to his or her studies to succeed. There are many available tools on campus and online for students to enhance their learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I have would be to prepare oneself academically. I recommend taking as many Honors or AP courses as one can handle. Another tip I would offer is to make sure one's intended major and or second choice is offered at The University of Charleston. Lastly consider one's financial situation and assess what needs to be done to afford the chosen school.

    In three sentences

    The University of Charleston is small private college located on the Kanawha River in Charleston, WV. The professors genuinely care about each individual student's grades, progress, and success in his or her respective field. This institution is truly one of a kind with its top notch education, student organizations and beautiful campus.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    serious, hardworking, determined

    Bang for the buck

    UC is a pretty expensive school, but they also help students with everything. When I was going to school there they handled almost all of my financial aid and course scheduling. All I really had to do was show up, learn and get awesome grades. I have also been a student at a public university, where I had to stay on top of everything. If I didn't constantly harass the financial aid, student services and registration offices, then nothing would get done. So, although UC was a lot more expensive, it was definitely worth it to have people who work at the university actually helping students like they are supposed to.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    tough work load

    Tips for prospective students

    MUST be hard working, willing to get help

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs available for the students to be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    UC has a very good reputation within Charleston.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone knows everyone. Dorms are really nice.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this university at an 8. I like that the classes are small. Campus is beautiful.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    University of Charleston offers hundreds of clubs and organizations. It's an easy way to make friends and become more involved with the campus and college experience. There are always sports programs going on all year long so you can go and watch. It's a competitive and fun atmosphere that University of Charleston takes pride in.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting to reach their full potential as a student and as a job qualifier. This campus and university sets you up for success with every resource needed or possible. This campus is for outgoing, hard working, and goal setting students from all over the world and United States.

    Bang for the buck

    My experience at University of Charleston was the best I've had yet on another campus. The faculty made me feel comfortable and at ease with all my scheduling and classes. They provided me with every detail and information that I was looking for, and even more information that I failed to come up with of my own. The area is beautiful and offers a lot of historical background to the campus. It is located in the capital so it is a very nice small town feeling. It's very green and the nature is beautiful all around the campus and city. There's plenty of things to do and keep you busy when you are away from your studies. I can't wait to start to education at University of Charleston. I have complete faith and assurance that my education will be at its best here.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to do in Charleston. Especially if you're an outdoors person. Charleston offers biking, hiking, musical shows, and sport watching. There is also nearby places to visit such as a movie theater, mini-golfing, laser tag, skating rink, and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at University of Charleston is always mouth-watering and satisfying. Each day the cafeteria cooks three meals a day, with plenty of options to choose from. They provide many choices from pizza to a warm hearty full course meal. The cafeteria is accessible between classes or during a break, and always a good place to hang out. The amazing aromas will lead your nose to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always a huge part of the college experience. The dorm life at University of Charleston is one like no other. The dorms are co-ed, and all the students living in the dorms are very friendly. The dorms provide you with everything you need to live. A bed, desk to study, closet space, and drawers. They also have a laundry room free of charge, a big kitchen available the the students in the designated dorm area, and bathrooms with showers. There is also a general area for students to watch TV, play pool, and hang out with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is the main focus and priorities of the students and professors, and staff at University of Charleston. They have many resources for students to be successful and to stay on top of their studies. They offer tutors for all areas and also set up teachers across from their classrooms so they are easy to access for students. They provide their students with resources such as an computer lab, open 24hrs, where they are able to print papers, do research, and have internet access. Also University of Charleston has a high graduating rate, along with students getting hired after graduating and leaving UNC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students wanting to attend University of Charleston is to take a tour of the campus, meet with the department chair of your degree/major, and ask questions about the school from current students. You want to have a full understanding and feel comfortable fully knowing what you're going to be investing your time and education in. Go with your gut feeling! If it feels like the right fit for you then you should apply, if not then keep looking till you find the perfect school for yourself.

    In three sentences

    University of Charleston is a 4 out of 5 stars. The faculty and staff, as well as the campus is so friendly and welcoming. Also the location is in the capitol of the state, so there's a lot of history behind it; only downfall for me was it's far from home.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since the University of Charleston is located in the city of Charleston, you have access to many different fun activities. The West Virginia Power is a local pro baseball team. You have all the sporting events at the University of Charleston and there are many places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very close to each other and allows for a close community type feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a great school academic wise. It is a regionally ranked school and is highly recognized. The University of Charleston is a challenging school but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to go to all the school events. University of Charleston has many events for students to attend and be involved in. Another tip is to manage your time wisely, everything moves so fast in college.

    In three sentences

    University of Charleston is a very small campus that excels in one on one teacher student relationships. A great small campus atmosphere where everyone knows you by name. All staff make you feel welcome and help make your dreams become a reality.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety will get you if you do not park where you're supposed to. Hellllooo parking tickets!

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities...they have bad reputations though. The frat on campus no one even knows about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to get involved in. Not too many club or intramural sports though.

    Great for these types of students

    NOT party kids.

    Bang for the buck

    UC is really expensive and if you want a small school to focus on studies, go here!

    What to do for fun

    Well...the campus is really a ghost town on weekends so there isn't much. Impulse, a night club, is downtown and some go there on weekends. It isn't too fun though. There is the Cellar, a bar downtown, and Atmosphere, a gay bar. That is about it...the Civic Center is alright.

    Food and Dining

    You get sick of the food realllly quickly here. There are not many options so BRING YOUR CAR...it is useful for food runs.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman maily live in Brotherton Hall, or 'Broho'. The first floor seems to have the biggest rooms because the ceilings are very high, but they are longer rather than wider then the other floors. The third floor has the smallest rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a General Biology major and I have no complaints about my teachers. They're all great. Your advisors load on the credit hours though (I took 41 my freshman year).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in a good Athletic Training program, really consider UC. The campus is mainly made up of athletes, so when an athletic team is gone, you will know it. It is a very small campus and just like high school. There are cliques and everybody knows everything about everybody, even if you do not know each other.

    In three sentences

    Small athletic training school, mainly athletes, BIG commuter school

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is fabulous. There is a very low crime rate and has not been a rape in at least four years. The secuirty gards are at the campus around the clock and are always willing to escort anyone their destination.

    Greek Life

    There are paitings and classes dedicated to Greek life. Some of the food is Greek. There is a herb garden outside.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and other activities to do. There is something for any kind of student. There clubs and activities range from band to football.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who want one on one attention. This is wonderful for students who want a small school that does not have an outstanding crime rate. The security staff walk students to their cars if one is to scared to go by themselves. The staff are helpful and know students by name. The meal plans can work with any type of budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a new parking garage and building for graduate students. The buildings are set up almost the same as apartment buildings. The University has a room where special events are held which include weddings.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Charleston has small class rooms so students get the one on one attention students need to do well academically. The university has a library that has private rooms so students can go read in private or do academic work without being bothered with the noise of fellow students or staff members. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are security gards who will walk a student to their car if they happen to be to afraid to walk out by themselves.

    What to do for fun

    The University of Charleston is right next to downtown Charleston which is where many shopping malls, movie theaters, and resturants are located. The University of Charleston is almost right across from the river front park where events are always being held such as the Live on the Levee summer concert series are held. A student can never get bored and not have some kind of activity for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options at the University of Charleston. There are an abundance of meal plans that can be fitted with any kind of budget. The dinning areas are clean and well taken care of.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are safe and dependable. No one can get into a dorm room without a card to swipe. The dorms are set up well for student life; the dorms come with free internet access so the student body that lives on campus can do academic work.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of Charleston is great on academic rigor. Students are pushed to do well in all courses of learning. Students are always being challenged in the academic part of this University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Working hard is the key to do well at this school. The professors are always more than willing to help so just ask questions. Th faculty only wants students to succeed.

    In three sentences

    The school would have to rate a nine on a scale up to ten. It is very safe and there is not an abundance of crime no campus. This university is wonderful.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing Will Happen On This Campus

    Greek Life

    Some Greeks Only a Few

    Clubs and Activities

    UC Alliance , Choir , Band Drum Line , I'm On The Track Team , There's Something For Everyone If You Look.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants a cultural change, and who cares about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Powder Puff Bowl Girls Playing flag Football , I'm A Freshmen And I Participated, won't lie; It Was Fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I Pay $500 Out Of Pocket I'm Just An Avg Student Maybe 2.7 GPA

    What to do for fun

    Everything, white water rafting, fishing, ice skating, partying, clubs (gay clubs) Sports Complexes , Shopping, Dance Lessons, Music Lessons, Fitness , Yoga, P90X , Insanity, Swimming ETC.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty Good

    Dorm Life

    Avg.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Love My Teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a place to get work done , UC is it.

    In three sentences

    I grade my school if on a scale of one to ten maybe a 8 overall; academically , and fun wise. There's also a lot of job offers apply early.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe here.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a small campus with very little partying. Most of the students focus on academics.

    Bang for the buck

    Many new professors in the nursing program who need to find their way at student expense - jury is still out for spring semester.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic games and matches.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent healthy food!

    Dorm Life

    Many of the local students go home for the weekend which makes the campus very quiet on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around and find a recommended professor.

    In three sentences

    UC is a very friendly campus. It is a small intimate campus with a big heart. Athletics are very big at UC, but they continue to focus on academics, even for the athlete.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe on campus. The campus is in a very good neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure what Greek life is on campus because I am in the Pharmacy graduate program.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs for the Pharmacy students. I am not sure about the undergraduate program tho.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want to study in a small school, and want to have more teacher to student interaction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Home coming is a big deal for the school.

    Bang for the buck

    For the pharmacy program it is fairly cheap compared to schools in California. The undergraduate program cost as much as the graduate programs, but there are a lot of opportunities for scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of trails to run and bike on, two clubs downtown that are fairly decent, and a lot of places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Food choice is limited to pizza, sandwich, burgers, and buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    The graduate dorms are extremely nice. They are more like small apartments instead of regular dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure about the undergraduate program, but the pharmacy program is very intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. Also come a few days early and find out where your classroom will be.

    In three sentences

    There are lots of good professors in terms of the pharmacy program. The campus is very safe, and there is a lot of school spirit.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    Awesome

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is club 3D, the movie theater, sushi restaurants, pottery painting shops, state parks, hiking, skiing, golf and all sorts of excitement.

    Food and Dining

    Since the school is building and growing the food is ok but definitely not top notch. I expect in the next year it will be great though. Especially with all the changes they're making now.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. I may be biased because I'm an RA but everyone gets along and there are events every other week. We have movie nights with popcorn, cotton candy, pizza, and snocones. The students can pick the movies and eat all the free food they want.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very strict private school. There are high expectations and a lot of work is needed to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for tough classes and professors that push you. They really want you to succeed but they won't be easy on you. If you're a freshman visit the campus before hand. It's really nice here but it's not what you'd expect a University to look like.

    In three sentences

    University of Charleston is a school that definitely tries for the students. The president for the Beckley Campus memorized my name, major, and year after the first time he met me. I love this University and the administrators, teachers, and facilitators that come along with it.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is located near town so anything you would want to do is just an easy ten minute drive away.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best in the world, but the cafeteria is still new. I would say the food will improve over time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty simple. Most people live of campus. So dorm life is quite.

    Academic Rigor

    The Rigor seems about average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in contact with the admissions director. Also talk to a student attending the school.

    In three sentences

    I felt that the school was sort of small. I did find everyone to be very friendly though.