Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Cincinnati-Clermont College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every student! Especially non traditional students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students that want to go to UC, to attend the Clermont Branch campus and SAVE, SAVE, SAVE, their money!

    Bang for the buck

    While gaining credits for you University of Cincinnati degree and SAVING thousands who could say no?

    Am enjoying being here

    Like I said I enjoy being a COUGAR! I love the atmosphere, and the cafe. This is some of the best food on all of the University Campuses. The people here are awesome and you will always run into someone you know which makes the college transition comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    I love it! I have a personalized setting with my professor where they know me on a first name basis and can honestly help me and I can tell that they are enjoying they're job.

  • 05/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Read the book, even if the professor doesn't make you.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    do not eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are easier than others, but they all take work.

    Tips for prospective students

    be flexible! ask questions if you don't know! always check blackboard!

    In three sentences

    has a nice, well-maintained campus. professors are knowledgeable and approachable. has a great variety of online classes to choose from.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    awesome

    Dorm Life

    cool

    Academic Rigor

    cool

    Tips for prospective students

    its fun

    In three sentences

    Awesome

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe. Our campus security has helped me out on two seperate occasions when other students have hit my car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are but I prefer to not participate focusing entirely on my studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of shady, quiet places to sit and study.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than going to the main campus in Clifton.

    What to do for fun

    I pretty much go to my classes and go home afterwards.

    Food and Dining

    Have hit the snack machines but prefer to pack my lunch.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors and supprt for the students .If you study you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your college career at UC Clermont, it will help you financially and academically.

    In three sentences

    I really like the ease of getting to my college. I also can find a parking spot at this location. My teachers are easy to communicate with, easy access.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on-site.

    Food and Dining

    I gave this a one simply because I attended UC-East and there was only vending.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging upper level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for your program of choice and speak to your counselor/instructors about your degree requirements. Requirements change sometimes from year to year and you need to make sure you are taking the right classes for you.

    In three sentences

    This school is easy to apply to, easy to get ready for classes, and everyone is extremely helpful and willing to work with the students.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe here. The campus is set back away from everything are there are campus police on call. I have never heard of any problems. It is definitely safer than UC main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There really is a club for anyone here. There is so much to get involved with if you desire to and the clubs are fairly small so you can make some close friends as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking to save money should check this campus out. Anyone who wants more individualized time with the professors will enjoy it here as well.

    Bang for the buck

    You can save a ton of money by attending this campus for your associates degree. If you plan to transfer to UC main campus, as I am doing, you will save half of the tuition cost while you attend UC Clermont. The professors are amazing and you will definitely get a quality education if you apply yourself.

    What to do for fun

    If you join clubs there is a ton to do! If not, the campus seems very quite and boring. There is a gym, which is free for students. There are also campus events every now and again, which are usually hosted by the various clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small lunch area with a decent amount of choices. I never really ate there since I did not spend much time on campus outside of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Not a very challenging campus. With the small class sizes you get a lot more individualized help. Professors are more easy going than those at the main campus and understand that people attending this campus are usually those who have a more hectic home life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend this campus and then transfer to a four year college, double check which credits the college you are transferring to will accept. Take advantage of the learning center early on! It is the free tutoring center and they are extremely helpful and welcoming. Even if you already get good grades they can teach you how to study more efficiently. You could even volunteer there and have more to put on your resume.

    In three sentences

    This campus is a great learning environment. Students and professors are very helpful and personable. It is a small campus with small classes; a great place if you are looking for a more personalized educational experience.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around and there are multiple call boxes in the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved, but I think they have some here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various department clubs (i.e. Biology club).

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to get a degree and get a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a community garden that they use for service learning for the BIO classes in the spring, summer, and fall. They donate all of the food to local shelters and non-profits.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good education for the price, as it is the cheapest of the UC colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There is the easgate mall area with shops, restaraunts, etc close by.

    Food and Dining

    The Cougar Cafe food is fine, but nothing special. Prices are average to a bit on the high side.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some teachers that are hard just to be hard, but most of the ones that I have experienced have a desire to help you walk away from the class with lasting knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Traffic on Rt. 32 can be a bit slow sometimes, so give yourself plenty of time. Show up to class and pay attention, that's 50% of it right there.

    In three sentences

    The school offers a lot of the benefits of UC, but with a lower cost and more of a small town feel. There more than a few really good professors here who care about their students and remember their names (most of my classes focused on chem, bio, and psych). There are a wide variety of older, middle-age, and recent high-school-grad students here.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Clermont is SO much safer than main campus which is located in a big city, specifically Clifton which is infamous for all it's crimes. Clermont is located outside of a small town and there are no surrounding places besides Kings Way Fellowship Church and an apartment complex. Campus police patrol around the parking lots and there are call stations you can use if you ever feel unsafe walking around.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities located directly on Clermont campus. However, I'm almost certain you can still become a part of one through main campus or if you transfer to main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clermont has many clubs and activities to participate in. Ranging from Psychology Club, to Biology Club, to women's volleyball, to men's basketball and much more to look into. Clermont also encourages students to start their own clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Of course, Clermont is great for anyone who wants to save money! It's also great for students who work better in smaller class settings or want to stay close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clermont always has something going on on campus. They have festivals with free food (always a plus), international education week where they bring in guest to talk about travel and different cultures, and many other things. A notable location that many colleges don't have is the Learning Center located in McDonough. Students work as tutors and to help anyone struggling in a class, who needs their papers reviewed, or just need a friendly environment to study in.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't emphasize the amount of money you save by attending Clermont enough! It's about 10,000 dollars cheaper a year for the same education. Even if you go to Clermont for the first two years before transferring to main campus, you're saving that much. Sounds like a deal, right?!

    What to do for fun

    Clermont campus has a student loung located by the cafeteria. They have game tables, televisions, and a piano, which is what I really enjoy. Clermont also has a student activity center for playing basketball and other sports. Like I said before, Batavia is right down the road from Eastgate which has a shopping mall, miniature golf course, and other various things to do. It's also only 20-30 minutes away from downtown and Newport, Kentucky which have endless amounts of things to do. Cincinnati is full of museums, parks, bars, restaurants, theaters, shopping, and everything else city life has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Clermont campus has it's own cafeteria, called the Cougar Cafe, located on the bottom floor of Synder. The food is pretty good and they have a large selection of subs, burgers, chicken fingers, fries, salads, fruits and veggies, coffee and so on, but some of the food can be a little expensive. Batavia is also very close to Eastgate which has many restaurants to choose from, most of which would be cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    Because of how small the campus is and it's location, there are no dorms. However, the greater cincinnati area has many great and affordable places to live and Downtown Cincinnati and UC's main campus are only about 20-30 minutes away from Batavia. I love how close Clermont is to my home!

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the professors at Clermont are great. Because of the smaller class sizes, most will know you by name and make an effort to talk to you. They want to help! If you are struggling in a class, they want to do anything they can to make it easier. Clermont also has a pretty large selection of classes for being such a small campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about going to Clermont rather than main campus! Even if you go for a couple years to take general education courses and transfer later, it saves you SO much money!

    In three sentences

    Clermont Campus is a great alternative to University of Cincinnati's main campus. It has the benefits of main but is much more cost friendly, has smaller classes, and is close to home. It's definitely something all students thinking about attending UC should look into!

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at UC-Clermont is great, it's a small campus so not much really goes on in terms of crime but there are emergancy phones all over campus if needed. Clermont also has the option to have campus police walk you to your vehicle if it's dark and you would like the added safety.

    Bang for the buck

    UC-Clermont is a very good choice if you are trying to save some cash, tuition is reasonable and since it's a community college you don't have the fees of dorms and meal plans. Also, UC-Clermont students have the opportunity to take half of their classes at main campus while paying Clermont prices if they desire.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is generally a really laid back place and most people just hang out between classes, however, twice a year UC-Clermont host fall festival and a spring fling, where there is music, games, prizes, food and a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The Cougar Cafe is where most students get their meals on campus, the prices are a bit high but the food usually taste good. If you don't want to spend the money though there are a lot of fast food places ten minutes down the road.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be anything ranging from easy-difficult, it really depends on what class you are taking and whom you are taking it with. If you want an easier class just ask other students and they will point you in the right direction, if you want a harder class do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing for anyone interested in attending UC-Clermont is to always be willing to ask for help. If you get lost in a class, or just need some extra help there will be someone there each step of the way. If you are willing to ask for help you will ALWAYS get it.

    In three sentences

    UC-Clermont is a great school for anyone who wants to attend college but stay at home a little longer. The staff at UC-Clermont are always helpful; and tutoring is always available for FREE. UC-Clermont is definitely a college that is devoted to the success of each student.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    On a tight budget. Want small class sizes. Don't want to go to a school in the city. Are not sure what to major in and just want to take general classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, sports, and some games in the dining area. There is a state park that's about 20 minutes away. There is also a mall and other places to shop that are 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, a bit pricey though. There are a lot of fast food and other places to eat within 10 minuts of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't have to live in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is free but try to get there early to get a decent stop. Print out the campus map. Always ask questions, there is always someone to help.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice small campus and small classes. The professors are nice, helpful and care about your education. The location of the campus is nice and not located in the city.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very relaxed in a safe part of town. I have never felt in danger here. Students who attend Clermont College are also non-threatening and easy to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs for every subject that students can join. Some classes offer part time jobs such as a lab assistant.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring and fall there are festivities on campus which include music, food, drinks, and booths set up for various groups. In biology class every year the students harvest the maple tree sap on campus and make maple syrup. The best places to meet up with other students depends on your type of project. If computers are necessary then the library and computer lab is the best place, but students must keep noise minimal. If large discussions are necessary then you should go to the meeting room with the piano.

    Bang for the buck

    Clermont College is a very good bang for your buck since there are some bachelor level programs available for less than main campus price. If someone is looking to get an associates degree or transfer then this is a good place to be. Also, I have learned a lot since my time at Clermont College from the knowledgeable instructors.

    What to do for fun

    In the Cougar Cafe there is a pool table and ping pong table that is available any time, if you can find a time where nobody is already using it. Right outside of the Cougar Cafe there is a large meeting area with a piano where many classmates meet up to have group project discussions or students lounging on the couches.

    Food and Dining

    The place you will find food on this campus is in the Cougar Cafe. This cafeteria offers a relatively large variety of food to pick from including cheeseburger, hoagies, pizza, fries, lunch meat sandwiches, salads, and deserts. The bad thing is that the prices are a bit high and I rather eat somewhere else.

    Dorm Life

    Clermont College is a dorm free commuting campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the only college I have attended so I will base my opinion on my past performance. Obviously some classes and professors are harder than others but in general everything is very doable if full effort and dedication is present.

    Tips for prospective students

    For starters it is good to get your class schedule worked out as early as possible since many classes get filled up to capacity very quickly. The students around campus are generally quiet and/or to their own group, so meeting new people may take some effort. The classroom is the best place to meet other students and I found that most teachers here are very class participation oriented.

    In three sentences

    A college that is close to home with a small time and relaxed feel. This campus is very clean inside and out which provides for a good learning experience. The professors at Clermont College are high level instructors, with many of them having real world experience in the subject they are teaching in.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its not worth it at all

    Academic Rigor

    its horrible! CANT ask for help and when you do the teacher doesnt care that you need help

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you dont need hands on with your professors and make sure you dont need help with finances unless you know how to do all the paper work yourself .

    In three sentences

    i dont like the school at all.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Another bonus, this campus is extremely safe relative to the average college campus. In my 2 years of experience here there has never been a safety hazard nor have I ever felt threatened of one. With that being said, I do not recommend hanging around at night alone, showing off your Rolex. Normal safety-sustaining actions are enough to keep you safe here and to have a wonderful college experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want a dorm-life and students who prefer more intimate experiences vs. big and distant.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday there is open volleyball held at the gym with a Chemistry teacher...

    Bang for the buck

    Getting a great academic collegiate experience, small but enjoyable campus, and a very helpful and personal environment all for cheap community college prices.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of chill spots on campus. TVs are located everywhere, couches too, and if outside is your thing there are nice benches. The main hangout area is next to the cafeteria where there are couches, TVs, pool table, ping-pong table, and tables and chairs. The library also provides computers that are accessible at any time you wish. If you need a quiet place to study, the second floor of the library is a perfect place to go where talking isn't permitted. Sports are also an option for those who would want to participate in athletics.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a small size but the choices are rather tasty and for not-too-shabby prices. Don't think ballgame (which is more expensive) and don't think fast food (which is less expensive), but expect prices somewhere in between. Meals 4-8 bucks.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a college and taught at a collegiate level, but not similar to Ivy League schools or big name, big money schools. Very personal environment where help is just a question away. Very doable for anyone who is willing to utilize the resources provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the resources provided such as the helpful counselors and a completely free, daily opened Learning Center, which functions as a tutoring hub where students can go to get one-on-one or small group help. This is an absolute gift of a feature this college provides. Especially come Final Week.

    In three sentences

    Great environment to ease someone into the college life and get started on their college career. No dorms, it is a full-on daily transport to-from college. Nice, clean, small campus, professors that care about their students, and cheap collegiate prices.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price of this college is not high, it is the least expensive of the UC branches. I feel like I'm getting a great education for what i am spending on tuition.

    In three sentences

    UC Clermont has a beautiful campus that is filled with intellectual people. The staff is incredible and always helpful. The students are all very smart and kind making this college an easy place to go to everyday.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! They are all so friendly and caring for the students, and whenever you need someone, there are places you can call them on campus and they will come immediately. They also will walk you to your car if you have a night class and you do not feel comfortable.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who want to live at home and do not want to spend a lot of money on college. It is affordable and a friendly college. I love it here.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I always go to the student lounge and hang out with people, or I play ping pong with some friends. It is one of the friendliest places you probably will ever go.

    Food and Dining

    The food and cafeteria is great! They actually make pretty decent food, however it is a little pricy, but I still love it since I have breaks in between classes and it's nice to sit down and have a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I am still living at home and commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is much harder than high school was for me, however it seems to be easier than other colleges I hear my friends talk about. It depends on which professors you have. Although, I love my classes and everyone in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready for college, have an idea of what you want to do for the rest of your life, be positive, make new friends, and most definitely have fun!

    In three sentences

    This college is so personable, cares for their students, and wants everyone to succeed in whatever they choose to do. I love this university so much and I have met so many great people here. I am very happy I chose to go to the University of Cincinnati, Clermont College, because it has been a great experience for me and I am still able to live at home.