Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Connecticut-Stamford Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for In-state really, because it doesn't have housing so out of state would need to commute.

    Tips for prospective students

    A decent GPA like 3.2 should get you a spot. When you choose your classes use ratemyprofessor.com to choose the best profs (or try to get them!). Join a club! Be active.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is perfect for everyone and will you a diploma from a highly respected state school. To be honest, I'm not completely please with some professors, but like I said use ratemyprof!

    Will enjoy being here

    I've already applied and I think it'll be alright, I don't like having to stay in my hometown because it does get boring being in the same place but for people out of state, it's close to NY because we're in stamford and there's a mall, well, it is a town.

    Academic Rigor

    Be especially careful when choosing your professors. I use Ratemyproff to carefully select mine. There may be a required class which only has one prof, if that's the case try to get a tutor (I use Wyzant). Don't be scared though, I've had amazing professors as well!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs/events organized by the student government.

    Food and Dining

    No dining halls, just a campus cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, and challenge yourself to think outside of the box. Develop a good relationship with your professors and go to see them during office hours. Use the writing center/tutors that help you for free, reserve an hour with them on the advapp website! (ask your advisor for more information)

    In three sentences

    University of Connecticut at Stamford is a well organized, stimulating learning environment. The professors are genuinely interested in the subjects in which they teach, and have a desire for their students to do well. The class sizes, and student-teacher ratio is my favorite attribute of this regional campus.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for every major

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gym

    Bang for the buck

    Defiantly worth the money

    What to do for fun

    Train station located down the street, easy access to take a trip to NY

    Food and Dining

    The Stamford camps in located in downtown where there are multiple stores and restaurants. Has all types of food and there's a place to eat on each street you walk on!

    Dorm Life

    The Stamford camps does not have a dorm but the Storrs camps does.

    Academic Rigor

    High in academic

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to attend if you are looking for a way to stay home/ an easy commute or to save money.

    In three sentences

    very good school, has a huge variety of clubs and majors. has an excellent degree for business.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of cops, emergency buttons and nothing is really unsafe about this area. Don't talk to strangers, mind yourself and be nice.

    Greek Life

    There is a sorority, which have quite an amount on them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join the stamford campus sports club or go to the gym, great way to meet people!

    Great for these types of students

    For those that are going to be there all day I suggest bring a bunch of food and snacks. Get a locker and put your gym stuff in there to go during one of your breaks. Then heat up your food in the cafeteria when your stomach requests. Then when you get bored after that walk on over to the mall or library to read. Also get your computer fix, by going to the library.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a career center that people tend to overlook. It's good for those trying to get places - USE IT!

    Bang for the buck

    The gym membership at UCONN is only like $20 a semester, and it's so convenient.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room, where there is a foose ball table, pool, video games and a TV. There is also a fitness center, so you can workout before, after or in between classes - great way to pass time! It's also near lots of restaurants, a library, the mall and the YMCA. If you have a large gap of time, there is plenty to do. There are also many planned social events that happen on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty standard burger, sandwiches, pizza, chicken tenders and fries kind of deal. They do have salads, wraps, yogurt and fruit for the more health conscious!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there is a Sorority which provides housing if wanted for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The writing courses are called a W for a reason, they involve a lot of writing. Just do it and get it over with. This is only a tiny portion of your life that will be over sooner than you know it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off, college isn't supposed to be a breeze. If it is then great, but if not try harder and don't give up!

    In three sentences

    There is good curriculum, which is easily understood. There are good teachers who are understanding. There are activities and social events to keep students engaged with each other.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    stamford is a city with many opions, also Uconn has a game room

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the first orientation, it lets you choose your classs first

    In three sentences

    UCONN has a outstanding campus with many student services. There classes offer a wide variety of adaptaion in an intended schedule/major. They are one of the top public universities in the country

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stamford is a nice city with many restaurants, theaters, and offers a central location with an easy ride into NYC.

    Food and Dining

    The Stamford location has many convenient eateries within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    What you do with your academics is up to you. Your dedication to your studies will reflect in your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school because you want to not because you have to.

    In three sentences

    Full service school with passionate people to guide and support you along your educational journey.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    joins clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    be active and on campus thats many ways to meet new people in the area as well as fellow classmates

    In three sentences

    This campus is very friendly, energetic, spacious and clean. the staff are all helpful as well as the professors who are easy to get in contact with any questions need to be asked. Overall, this campus met up to my expectations.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is wide which means, everybody can see what's happening if something goes wrong. It's a pretty safe place.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places you can go to all around the school. You just have to look.

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok. There are restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put your mind through your work, you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all the work, even if you don't feel like it.

    In three sentences

    I love this school, it fits me economically, I live at home while looking for a job to transfer to Storrs. The professors are nice and very patient. The environment is nice, and the school has a lot of places attached to it.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are loads to do for fun. You can head to the game room, hit the gym, or play the piano that the school had. If that isn't enough then go outside and explore since the University of Connecticut-Stamford is in downtown Stamford.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is okay but if you want a better variety just head outside since you're down town and there are plenty of options to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    The campus does not provide dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging and others not so much. In my English class we had to write a 5 page essay every other week. There was first a draft, then editing and revising, and then the final copy. On top of that we were given homework, like reading from the book and have discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Head in with a hardworking attitude, don't think you can slack off. I have a friend who taught college was going to be easy for him. He ended his first semester with a 2.4 and was very disappointed. Also when mid-terms and finals come make sure you give yourself enough time to study because these tests are based on everything little thing you've learned in the class.

    In three sentences

    The school overall is good, not to difficult but not to easy. You have to be willing to put in the effort to strive. Plus the location is nice with companies surrounding the campus and the availability to all the resources.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secured by Uconn Police cops not normal security guards. They walk around this building and drive there cars to secure the area. They even patrol neighborhood crime activity but there main objective is the school.

    What to do for fun

    There is not that much to do for fun on this campus. There is a game room but its mainly two pool tables, a ping pong table and a t.v. The student government tries to make it fun on some days by making an event such as laser tag. But this is not everyday only a couple times a month.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is like a neighborhood corner store that fries food and such. I would recommend not buying any food from here it is barely good. But because this school is in the buisiest part of Stamford there are plenty of good places to dine. But its pretty expensive at some places, and others give a discount for being a Uconn student discount.

    Dorm Life

    This school has no dorms at all if you need to live near campus you must rent a apartment,and stamford apartments are not cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not an easy school,but also not hard just do all your work and ask the professor questions. If you do not get something they will help you out so you can pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for people looking to come here is, save money for the train if you are going to commute. Metro north does not give you discount for being a college student and the school does not help either. But they do give you a shuttle to and from the train.

    In three sentences

    Uconn stamford is not a bad campus i was not quiet happy with attending there at first, but its not that bad. This campus is kind of small and nothing really to do there,but the student government trys to make it fun. If I had to give the school a rating which i kind of do out of 1-10 I would give it a 7.