Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Connecticut-Tri-Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any type of students will feel welcomed in this campus.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many clubs you can join such as the cultural club i'm currently in. they have massage days, movie nights, talent shows, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    be able to have an open mind when you come to uconn. you may think you want to go for something upon entering college but you will be surprised how many people change their minds after. be friendly because there are so many others willing to make new friends. have a good time; college is an amazing experience!

    In three sentences

    the classes are pretty small compared to the storrs campus. teachers are very educated and are willing to help you one on one. everyone who goes to uconn is very friendly.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police and the Waterbury Police Department is not too far away.

    Greek Life

    Haven't considered joining yet. This is also because it would take time away from my son and I.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfortunately, as a single father I have no time to join any clubs at UCONN, but I plan to go to some games and plays.

    Great for these types of students

    The university is great for all types of students, especially those who want to learn in a relaxed environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't seen any yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I moved to Connecticut six years ago was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Doing so opened up many doors for me. One of these doors opened recently when I learned that the University of Connecticut offers programs to those working full-time to earn their bachelor�s degree. UCONN'��s Bachelor of General Studies Program is a curriculum designed for me. Since July 2001, I have been the Executive Assistant at the Law Offices of Thomas P. Puccio in New York City. Although, my job title is Executive Assistant, I perform other tasks. For example, I work in the capacity of office manager, bookkeeper and paralegal. For twenty-five years, I have enjoyed the challenge of working for large and small law firms and law departments in various companies. I attended Brooklyn College from 1983 to 1985 majoring in theatre with a minor in communications. At Brooklyn College I had a high appreciation of learning. I was a natural when it came to reading, researching and writing essays. Often completing my term projects days in advance. Even before the age of Internet and personal computers! Regrettably, however, I discontinued my studies in theatre and communications in 1985, and my GPA suffered when I forgot to withdraw from the Spring 1985 semester classes that I had previously registered for. I thought that if I went to a trade school, I would be able to enter the workforce much more quickly and help with my parents� finances. Therefore, in 1986 I attended Taylor Business Institute graduating with a Certificate in Secretarial Studies. At the trade school, I continued to quench my desire to learn. Mock business meeting scenarios and visits to certain businesses within the campus vicinity added to my admiration of the craft of communication and writing. From 1987 until the present those mock business scenarios became my reality. However, for more than a quarter of a century, I lamented not completing my studies at Brooklyn College. Because of this, I have endured years and years of a repetitive dream with the same narrative: I�m in class at Brooklyn College; I don�t know what and where my next class is; and I roam all over New York City and get lost looking for help. This dream would always have me wake up frustrated. And since I worked full time in the legal field for as long as I can remember, I believed that I would never have the time to finish what I started in the Fall of 1983. Fortunately, I was mistaken and decades later my life changed drastically for the better. After adopting my six-year-old son JJ two years ago, I was motivated to be a father whose life he can be proud to imitate. One of the ways I can be a great example to my son is to accomplish what I started in 1983 and obtain my Bachelor�s degree. Once I began to contemplate opening the door to the University of Connecticut, the door on my repetitive dreams closed. Earning my Bachelor�s degree at the University of Connecticut�s General Studies Program will give me the opportunity of changing my line of work to one that will be more enjoyable and rewarding -- like a career in occupational safety. UCONN�s Bachelor of General Studies Program in the Health and Society Theme will not only refine my communication and organization skills, but will also assist me in accomplishing my goals. After all, every workplace must be a safe environment. So the need for safety coordinators is ever present. Also, my interest in psychology will be satisfied since the Health and Society Theme offers PSYC courses. This Fall, I am prepared to walk through the doors of UCONN�s Waterbury Campus, one of which I know I will never get lost finding my classes in, and earn my Bachelor�s Degree in General Studies. Not only will this bring a great feeling of satisfaction and joy to me, but will demonstrate to my son that he too can accomplish anything.

    What to do for fun

    I like to take drives with my six year old son. We both love the outdoors so we bike and take hikes. We also geocache.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten here. It's a small campus so there isn't a cafeteria. Food is available on Main Street.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so I can't comment. I would assume it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is ready to learn. I've noticed that the other students at my classes are eager.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply and register for your classes early. Classes get filled very quickly. Use the help of your assigned guidance counselor. That's what they are there for.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at UCONN/Waterbury is professional, yet casual. People here, students and teachers alike, seem to be very friendly and helpful. I have a guidance counselor that is devoted to my educational career.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The great education that you get here is WELL worth the money. With the cost of Storrs being so expensive and rising every year, going or at least starting out at the Tri-Campus is a great way to save money and still get an amazing UCONN education.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is what you make it. It's hard to plan big community events because it is such a small campus and everyone is a commuter and has jobs and outside activities, but like i said, it's what you make of it. If you get involved and give your input and set up events, it's a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus, and the food is absolutely delicious and the prices are very reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging. But, as long as your willing to put in the effort and willing to work hard, you will do great. The teachers are very understanding and always ready to work with you and give you extra help so that you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look in to this campus. But don't underestimate it and don't wait until the last second to apply thinking, oh, its just a Uconn branch, it will be easy to get in! because it isn't. It's getting harder every year as more and more people apply each academic year.

    In three sentences

    Uconn Torrington is a fantastic school. The class sizes are very small, which allows for a very personalized learning environment. It is a great place to earn your degree, get to know teachers, and make friends.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities to get into during your attendance at University of Connecticut. Any club you can think of is located here from governmental clubs, to foreign languages, arts, sororities, math and science,etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, health related, sports, veterinary science, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending the University of Connecticut is cost effective if you are an in-state student. It runs about $23,000 per year without the cost of books. If you are a student paying your own way, it is beneficial to obtain scholarships that may help with your living expenses. I am a college planner, and have figured out many ways to obtain extra money while attending school.

    What to do for fun

    I study too much, no fun involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent on the main campus which includes cafes and dining halls. Food can get expensive.

    Dorm Life

    This particular campus does not have dorms, however Storrs campus (the main campus) has great dorms and specific rules that ensures that the students maintain a clean facility. Many students there are serious about their work and sports, therefore most of the students are respectful and helpful to new students.

    Academic Rigor

    My program is part of an advanced level program in which the level of teaching could be better. A teacher should be a well rounded individual that possesses knowledge on multiple subjects. Unfortunately, the University of Connecticut is still figuring out the organization of multiple programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid and keep all paperwork. Do not assume that the college will pay attention to things for you.

    In three sentences

    This particular campus is located in an inner city area. The on-site security make the campus safe and secure. On Fridays, the campus is more senior oriented.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is located in down town Waterbury, the police station is literally right next door. Also, there is always security and police officers in the lobby and stroll around the building if there was ever an emergency. They even walk students to their cars if asked, they are very friendly and super funny.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities that you can take part in at the Waterbury campus. Dr. Brown is constantly sending out emails for clubs and events and different things to do around campus to get involved.

    What to do for fun

    Most people sit in the lobby to talk to their friends or study. There is nothing fun about commuting the Waterbury campus, all you do is save money and live at home.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria on campus. There is the school store that has a few snacks and crappy heat up burgers and chicken sandwiches. Other than that, if you want an actual meal, there is a pizza place across the street, a dunkin donut down the street, or chinese food next door.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Wuconn (Waterbury Uconn). They try to throw little things for students to do like field days, basketball games, and cookouts.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all classes are super easy or super hard, the average class is pretty difficult but manageable. It is definitely a work load if you are taking 5 classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get to know your teachers well, the more people you get to meet and become friends with the easier of a time you will have. Talk to people about their classes and teachers they have had, it really helps in deciding your classes and also preparing yourself for a class you will have to take.

    In three sentences

    This school is overall good, its no Storrs but it gets the job done for commuters. All the teachers are friendly and encouraging, as long as you do your job as a student they do their job as a teacher.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take friends down to the recreation spot! It's a good way to release stress and just not think about work.

    Food and Dining

    Mostly frozen food along with chips, snacks, etc. However, there usually is a day in the month where there is free food offered from restaurants such as subway.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is your time, focus on yourself and aim for your goals. The mentors and professors here WILL help you reach them.

    In three sentences

    Vast choices, wise mentors, and growing future experience. I'm pleased at this campus.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. There are officers all over campus to ensure safety. There are 2 parking garages. One of them connects to the school, but when that one fills there is another parking garage across the street. The only time I have ever felt unsafe is when I have to go outside in the dark after a late class to go to the second parking garage. However, the officers stand at the exits and offer to walk you across the street.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The bulletin boards are all filled with the activites going on on campus, tutor information, and new clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for the type of student who is really focussing on their education rather than on partying. Students with all different types of majors can definitely come here. I know many pre-medical, pre-pharmacy, pre-dental, and physical therapy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus, there are events once in a while. Although I have never attended them because I don't live in the area, there have been Halloween parties, hookah parties, and more.

    Bang for the buck

    I just love how helpful all my professors have been. They're all concerned with their students, and on helping them do well. If there are any struggling students, the professors make it easy for them to contact. Inside the library, there are many free tutor centers, which I have definitely taken advantage of.

    What to do for fun

    I generally focus on my education; I don't really look around for fun. But I suppose if you want to have fun, then this isn't the campus for you because it is a commute campus. As far as fun goes, there's a nail salon right across the street.

    Food and Dining

    There's not too much food inside the University. At least, I don't buy it because there are plenty of stores and deli's right outside. On the same street, there are 3 pizza places, a chinese food restaurant, and dunkin donuts. Nearby is a shopping mall and more restaurants, such as Buffalo Wild Wings, there.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life because this is a commuter campus. For the most part, I just go to class and sit in the library on my breaks to do work, and then I go home.

    Academic Rigor

    All the professors I have had so far have been very helpful and wanted you to do well. All the professors provide office hours and emails to reach them which makes asking questions, and reviewing simple. Some professors even go the extra mile to provide tutors!

    Tips for prospective students

    I tip I would have liked to have gotten before coming to this University is to be prepared for the commute, and to take all my prerequisites first. Don't expect a lively campus because this is a commuter campus so everyone just comes to class and then leaves.

    In three sentences

    This University is smaller than my high school was. It is a pretty quiet campus that I feel very safe in. Everyone, uncluding officers, teachers, and administrators, are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus does various activities, such as water day, massages, and holiday feast.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of restaurants around the campus that you can go to.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at this campus for the most part are very interested in helping there students succeed and very passionate about what they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to as many activities as possible to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    The University of Connecticut-Tri Campus's may be small but they try to incorporate as many activities as possible into the schedule to assure all students have an enjoyable time. The faculty is very friendly and helpful. The campus police always make you feel safe and are available at all times.