Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Dallas (UD) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious! Esp. Catholic. If you're serious about your faith, you will grow in it to the max at UD. The university also has a very high percentage of Republicans/Conservatives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to write numerous papers per class, and no fluffing allowed! Every professor at UD knows exactly what they're talking about, so they'll know if you don't. Read the material and you'll do fine. No matter how smart you were in highschool, you will fumble a few times your freshman year. UD profs grade hard. Just learn to adjust to what they expect of you, and you'll get back on track.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. NO kidding. Do your best in high school so that UD will offer you as much financial aid as they see fit. Apply for private scholarships as well. Expect to take out at least one student loan...this school is worth the expense, so there's no harm in applying to see where you stand.

    Am enjoying being here

    The University of Dallas is fun! The campus is often described as a bubble, because, while living on campus, the rest of the world sort of fades away. You study at school, live at school, eat at school, socialize at school. Downtown Dallas is maybe five minutes away, in case you have to get out every once in awhile, but chances are, you'll love UD so much that you'll hardly want to! Look forward to Charity Week, Battle of the Bands, Groundhog, and Winter Cotillion. Also, sophomores at UD spend an entire semester abroad at UD's campus in Rome, Italy.

    Am learning a lot

    This University is definitely a challenge. You will learn to make connections between two or more subjects you're studying simultaneously, and can therefore more easily apply your knowledge to everyday life and your future career...UD is big on the classics: Aristotle, Plato, Homer, Virgil...you'll read, and enjoy, them all. Your brain may hurt at the end of every day, but, no pain, no gain, right?

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UD embraces many different types of students, but most share a love of learning. If you are - curious - want to learn about more than just your major through the Core Curriculum - want to spend a semester abroad in Italy - are a Catholic looking for a supportive, moral environment - want a small school with small class sizes - love a good challenge, then you should definitely consider the University of Dallas. UD has very strong Biology, Theology, and Philosophy programs, and is a good choice for those who would like to go on to law or medical school. It’s also a very good place for science majors who want a liberal arts education while still learning the technical information required by their chosen field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a prospective student, the best thing you can do is visit the campus. It's what convinced me to attend UD, and I know many other students who had a similar experience. If you do attend UD, then DO: - Go to Rome. UD has a campus in Due Santi (just outside Rome), and students often attend school in Italy for an entire semester during the Sophomore or Junior year. More information about the program can be found here: http://www.udallas.edu/aboutus/offices/advancement/giving/givingopportunities/rome - Visit Campus Ministry. The people there are the most quirky/interesting/goodhearted people you will meet, and Denise Phillips, the Campus Minister, is a wonderful help if you just need to talk to someone. You’ll also find out about volunteer opportunities more easily, if you’re interested. If you’re not Catholic, it’s not a problem – Campus Ministry exists to minister to the non-Catholics on campus, although Catholics are welcome too. - Go to Open Anselm on Wednesday nights – it’s free food and a movie, but you don’t have to stay for the movie. Did I mention there was free food? Well, there is. Free food. Don’t miss it. - Try swing dancing. It’s very popular at UD, and it’s not hard to learn. - Get to know your professors. Many of the professors at UD love nothing more than for you to walk into their office for a friendly visit! - Bring a printer. UD has a computer lab if you need to print, but it’s cheaper and easier to use your own if you can. Also, the healthy bacterial cultures which live on the computer mice are rather disturbing (I know, because I tested them myself). DON’T: - Climb on top of the art building roof. It’s an easy climb, so many students are tempted to do it, but campus safety officers check for students there regularly, and if you’re caught, you’ll be fined a few hundred dollars. It’s not worth it, especially since the Dallas pollution prevents you from seeing many stars. - Skip class. The UD class size is small and professors do notice when you are missing - they don't appreciate it. If you attend class regularly and participate in class discussion, they’re much more understanding when real problems come up (you’re sick, you have a major test, etc.) and you’re more likely to get a good grade in the class.

    Bang for the buck

    UD is very expensive compared to public schools, but compared to other Catholic schools, its tuition is normal. Most students do receive a large amount of financial aid, and there are many merit-based scholarships for students who are willing to work hard. National Merit Finalists receive full tuition! Work study is also readily available for low income students. The education and the atmosphere is definitely worth the money. UD is not very well funded, however, and all of the departments recently received budget cuts. There isn't a lot of money to go around for clubs and student government, but it is enough to keep the students happy. The cafeteria is not worth cost, but the comaraderie with other students is nice. The dorms are not as nice as they could be, and sometimes things take a little while to get fixed, but overall they are still pleasant places to be. I think UD is worth the money, but if you would have to take so many loans that you're paying them off well into your 40's, it may be wiser to attend a different school.

    Am enjoying being here

    It may sound cliché, but I am having the time of my life at UD. The friends I’ve made are the best I’ve ever had. UD students are not afraid to be who they are and do what they want to do. For some, it means having hours long conversations about Plato and Aristotle; for others, it means spending every spare minute in the Drama department; and for one of my friends, it means walking around in a banana suit on special occasions (I’m not kidding – everyone loves it!). In addition, there’s always something to do on campus. RHA has multiple events each week, Swing Club has dancing from 9-11 every Wednesday night, SPUD puts on TGIT, Dallas Year organizes weekend activities off campus (anywhere from a fancy dinner to Six Flags to a baseball game), and the many clubs on campus have plenty of events throughout each month. UD also offers some very much beloved traditions throughout the year, including Charity Week (watch out – you might get jailed!), Lazy Faire (the snow cones and water slides are refreshing, to say the least), Winter Cotillion (all ballroom dancing – it’s fantastic!), Groundhog (only recommended for those who like to drink), and Spring Formal (more modern than Cotillion and usually located at an off-campus venue). Sometimes, though, watching a movie in the dorm with your friends, playing a board game, or getting off campus to see the city is more appealing. There’s even a 50 cent movie theatre near campus. There’s hardly ever a lack of things to do on or off campus, nor friends with whom to enjoy them!

    Academic Rigor

    UD professors really challenge students to think about things, develop their own arguments, and make connections with what they’re learning in one class to what they’ve learned in another. This dynamic is facilitated by the Core Curriculum – every UD student is required to take specific History, English, and Philosophy classes, in addition to politics, art, and economics. Admittedly, some professors are easier than others, and you can manage the difficulty of your classes by asking around for who is and isn’t a hard teacher. That being said, I would highly recommend taking the hard teachers (Moran for Lit Trad is wonderful); they really make the UD experience special. Dr. Olenick in Physics and Dr. Hendrickson in Chemistry are especially noteworthy as exceptional professors for those interested in the sciences. Overall, I am very happy with the education I am earning at UD!

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is very diverse and accommodating. They stick to their morals and will not try to sway you one way or the other, but will present the truth at face value, giving it to you to make of it what you will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be a suck-up. Just be yourself, but the best of yourself, when applying and speaking with the faculty here. They are great people and are actually interested in you. With the studies, learn how to manage your time well. There is a lot of reading, but in good amounts, that is, unless you have let it pile up for a week or two.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the price you pay. I will be in debt for a while at least, but the education here is worth the price. Also, if you have good grades and test scores, you can get a very good amount of scholarship, as scholarships are based off of merit. Study hard!

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met and am meeting so many amazing people. The atmosphere here at UD is wonderful, the activities and outings Student Activities plans for us are loads of fun and the cafeteria is not all that bad.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are amazing. They are so helpful and if I am in ever in need of help, they are excited and eager to help me out. The classes are just as great too! I never thought I could be learning so much, and with the Core Curriculum, I am becoming a more well-rounded person.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Catholic thinkers, people that want a real liberal arts education, and those who want to study theology or any humanities. UD is not well known for its math and science programs - and probably rightly so - it's known for the humanities and having a good Core; so people seriously interested in math or science might want to look elsewhere, unless they really want the Core Curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades! Your best bet at coming here and not having to pay too much is by getting the academic scholarships. Also, learn to enjoy reading. You will read in pretty much every class here - and not just books based off of first sources, you read the original texts of Plato, Aristotle, Homer, etc. It is somewhat daunting, but if you're a good reader it's definitely manageable.

    Bang for the buck

    This was by far the cheapest Catholic university out of all the ones I applied to. The financial aid was very generous and definitely much more than what I was offered at similar, or even worse, Catholic and/or private institutions.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students and faculty are very welcoming. Unfortunately, there's not much around the campus, so the only way to get out into Dallas or just off campus in general is by car. This can be somewhat good - because you and your classmates have to create your own entertainment quite a lot of the time, but there lots of RHA and club events that you could attend as well, so as not to sit bored in your room all day.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are both challenging and rewarding. The workload can be intense depending on what classes and professors you have, but if you enjoy learning and actually want to get something out of the college experience, you will definitely get it here.

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I chose to come to UD because of the Catholic identity and the liberal arts education and many of my fellow freshman came for the same reasons.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and remember that knowledge is better than book smart. I would also recommend applying at the Early Application deadline in November so that you have a better chance at scholarships and acceptance.

    Bang for the buck

    Most colleges are very expensive and UD is no exception, but like several other reviewers said: do really well in high school so you will qualify for scholarships. After talking to many people, a lot of us are here on generous scholarships. The quality education you receive here is worth the cost though. It is very rare to find a school that across the board uses original texts for the classes. You don't learn history from a text book, you read John Adams, Herodotus etc. I would recommend UD to anybody who wants to really learn.

    Am enjoying being here

    Honestly when I first arrived for freshman orientation I was concerned about finding a really good group of friends. I shouldn't have been concerned! The people here are great and very friendly. After being here for a couple months and living through Charity week and going to the weekly music at TGIT, I can testify that there are so many opportunities to do things on and off campus. In my hall we have biweekly movie nights where we just relax and get to know each other better. I never thought college could be this much fun!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a freshman here at UD and am enjoying all my classes immensely. Each professor expects you to do your best and won't cut you slack, but they also are willing to listen to you if you have a problem or have a question.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The University of Dallas has exemplary academic departments and faculties for any student looking to study in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, art, politics, theology, classics, modern languages, drama, economics, education, and psychology. Our science departments of physics, chemistry, and biology are beneficial for students pursuing careers in those areas; for these and all of our students, the University requires completion of a Core Curriculum, which includes a sampling of nearly every subject we have to offer. For example, if a student is a biology major who has a great interest in a liberal arts field, he or she will be able to enjoy courses in that field alongside their biology curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking at the University of Dallas, ask yourself if you want the well-rounded, quality education you'll find here. If you want to learn how to support your own claims and develop valuable writing, rhetorical, and problem-solving skills, this could be the college you've been searching for.

    Bang for the buck

    With a private institution will always come a more expensive price tag, that almost goes without saying. At the University of Dallas, I find it has been worth the extra effort that's gone forth to fund my education. We receive such a multi-faceted education here with our Core Curriculum, and really benefit from the small class sizes and the excellent, well-versed faculty that the university has on tenure.

    Am enjoying being here

    This University houses a friendly community of a diversity of students. While we are by fact a private, Roman Catholic institution, many members of other faiths find a home here as well, and we make a tight-knit network of students, faculty, and staff. We have excellent outlets for faith here, but also an amazing array of extracurricular activities. There's always a social event on campus; we study hard, but we like to have our fun as well.

    Am learning a lot

    We learn a great deal of material at the University of Dallas, but not only that--we learn thoroughly. Our professors challenge our minds and in doing so make us stronger. We come out of our courses more prepared to face the world in supporting our own arguments and convictions.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're the person who would read during lunch or recess instead of socializing, this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to study like you've never studied before.

    Bang for the buck

    It's ridiculously expensive but so, so worth it. Be prepared to sign up for a lot of scholarships and financial aid, though.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students and faculty are delightfully odd, and the campus is fun to explore at night.

    Am learning a lot

    My mother told me yesterday that I sounded, collegiate. I credit UD for turning me into a stuttering, pop-culture spewing teenager to someone who can have an intelligent conversation and be taken seriously.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I will always enjoy being there. I always have so much fun when I have visited the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    You will learn a whole lot when you get there. The school is academically based on the classics and philosophy so if you can't already tell you'll be having a great time!

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel so safe walking around campus even at 4 in the morning. Always security officers walking around.

    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE. But the dorms are so small it's like being in sororities and fraternities anyways.

    Great for these types of students

    Pre-med, Catholic, Business Majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Groundhog park. You'll know what it is when you get here. Tower lights up blue for Alumni events, which are fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely pricey but UD gives out good scholarships and it's an investment towards your future. Make sure to keep up that GPA.

    What to do for fun

    UD hosts tons of school sponsored events and campus is lively during the day. Music is played on the mall, and frequent trips to Dallas are sponsored as well.

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria and one fast food dining hall with endless buffet options. There is always something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are small and a bit rundown, but the quality of student life is sublime. Living in the new dorm when you're a sophomore and apartments when you're an upperclassman will make up for freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    As previously stated, be motivated. Especially if you're a science major--you need to work to stay here. UD will challenge you and propel you to pull all nighters and shed tears and sweat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming into UD I was a bright eyed, bushy tail 18 year old who graduated with top honors, a near impeccable GPA and high SAT scores. However, my first semester was tumultuous because albeit I dedicated hours to my study, it wasn't the right kind of studying--I would get easily distracted by the novelty of college life and seeing my friends, late nights watching netflix in my dorm room. Projects and tests would be studied for overnight and I was simply overwhelmed: I did not prepare myself fully for the workload of UD. Yes, I had been in honors and AP courses, but at UD, it's always a struggle no matter how many classes you have taken in preparation for college life. Learn to study better, and utilize quality study areas such as the third floor of the library, the empty rooms in gorman, and the science building's vastness.

    In three sentences

    UD is an extremely challenging university that will push you harder than you have ever been pushed. You will meet wonderful people and professors at this institution that will change your mentality and who you are as a person, as well as making great memories. Anyone who can tough it out here can survive anywhere in the real world.

  • 08/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science Majors and Pre-Med Planers

    Tips for prospective students

    It 's a school for different types of people. You're bound to find something you can really connect to doing.

    Will enjoy being here

    Beautiful campus and very, very energetic and helpful counselors.

    Academic Rigor

    Great credentials

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GROUNDHOG DAY!!!! It is the biggest festival of the year! It sounds weird, and my friends from home always laugh when I say it, but our school goes nuts over it. They hire a couple bands, there are hay rides, it's celebrated in the woods, free beer and food, etc. Greatest night ever.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get a good scholarship, it's worth it. Most people do get great scholarships, so that is super helpful with everything.

    What to do for fun

    Dallas Year is the most inviting opportunity for fun. They have fun events to do in the city or on campus for way cheaper than you could ever get by yourself. Like a concert would be $10 when usually it would be $50. Also, there is TGIT where there is always a live band and $1 beers.

    Food and Dining

    This section is a bit hazy. The food from the caf is not all that great. You are required to have a meal plan while living in the dorms, which kind of stinks. But the main draw to the caf is the social aspect. Last year I never went to dinner with someone else, and I ended up sitting at a table of at least 5 of my friends - no matter what time of the night I went!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. There is really a sense of community in the dorms. I met a lot of my current friends from just the dorm life. While studying abroad in Rome, the dorm is where everyone hung out, so it was really beneficial to live there. All you have to do is walk down the steps to the lobby, and there are 10 people hanging out at all times!

    Academic Rigor

    This school is extremely challenging. The students and professors claim that an 'A' at a public college is a 'B' at UD. So that gives a little insight to how hard everyone has to work to maintain their scholarships given by the school. It is nice though, because every student is studying, which makes it easier to have the motivation to do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded going in because the religious aspect can be overwhelming at times. When I went in, I was not expecting religion to be an easy conversational topic. I knew it was a Catholic school, but in the past, my Catholic schools were more liberal. Just be aware that people take their religion seriously.

    In three sentences

    The University of Dallas is accepting of all kinds of people, and really challenges the students. There are plenty of opportunities to succeed and people who are willing to help you get there. The people here are extremely friendly and always looking for a good time.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety office is open at all times and there are always officers around. They patrol regularly to make sure everything is safe, and are very friendly to students. Many of them are known by name.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life. Since there are only about 1300 undergraduates, the whole campus has a bit of the feel of one large family.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are just about as many different clubs as there are types of people. Almost any interest that a student might have is covered, and if it is not a new club is easy to form.

    Great for these types of students

    Strongly academic students will love the University of Dallas, as will strongly religious students, especially Catholics. Anyone who wants a tight-knit community will do very well. A generally conservative outlook is reccomended.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of festivals. The most notable are charity week in the fall and Groundhog Day in the Spring (Winter actually). Many students like to take walks in the woods or to seminary hill (when it snows this hill by the seminary next door is great for sledding).

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive, but what can one expect from a small private school? I definitely feel that the University of Dallas is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or participate in an activity. The swing dancing club that meets weekly is vibrant and lots of fun. For those who like video games, anime, or role playing, the dragon club has you covered. There are many many other clubs as well to serve all interests and personalities.

    Food and Dining

    While the food is not amazing, is is currently undergoing major renovation and I am excited to see what comes from that.

    Dorm Life

    The University of Dallas is no party school, but there is a real sense of community, especially in the traditional dorms. They may not be the most comfortable, but college is about education and activity, not comfort. The New Hall is gleaming very comfortable, so those who stay for a second year will get to experience this along with everything else the university has to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but managable, the University of Dallas provides a top-knotch classical education for all those willing to open their minds to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Groups that require a big time commitment are the best to join because those are the groups in which you will forge friendships to last a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    The University of Dallas is a wonderful school in so many ways. Its academics are phenomenal, its study abroad is breathtaking, and its religious community is solid. The University of Dallas is a family that is worth becoming a part of.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe...people leave expensive MacBooks for hours unattended, and nothing gets stolen

    Greek Life

    BBB: honors biological society. APO: charity club

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of cool stuff for every interest

    Great for these types of students

    Want to challenge themselves academically, grow in Faith, and make life long friends with wholesome people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Groundhog Day! We celebrate this day with merry cheer and our undercover mascot; the groundhog! Mallapalooza: 24 hrs that day, a band is playing on the central student campus. Charity Week: a week long event with activities in which all proceeds go to local charities

    Bang for the buck

    Win those scholarships and save money in highschool, it will help pay the growing private tuition. After scholarships, the price is affordable, and worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    Every Thursday, a local band is invited to play at the underground cafeteria. Many students attend this social event, as well as other random events planned on the weekend. Activities range from concerts to sports, and even knitting activities can be found at this school.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, but not the healthiest. Healthier options could be added.

    Dorm Life

    Very safe environment, and the 10 pm curfew for quiet hours helps keep peace in the dorms. Many events are planned for students throughout the semester so that even without a car, life is enjoyable on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but worth every ounce of hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to read everything starting from 2000 B lot wiser.C! Don't give up, because you will leave this school veryy wise. Start reading the summer before, and chose your major early on in order to plan courses accordingly.

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend this university because it shapes students into well rounded individuals-in science, classical philosophy, literature, politics etc. The small student body is made up of incredibly warm, friendly people who are ready to help and encourage fellow students to persevere in studies, especially during tough finals! I love everything about this school: bright professors, fun and intelligent students, challenging courses, and exciting student activities.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel secure on campus no matter what day of the week it is. The campus police department is no joke and looks after it's students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't any reason for you not to be busy on campus! There's plenty going on! From sports to theater! The University of Dallas provides an extended amount of extracurricular opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to learn and grow as human beings. It's that simple, there is no real hidden agenda here. Either you want it or you don't. Realistically the material and the courses given needs to be given everywhere. It's the type of work that begins to hinder inside of an individual and begin to ask all of the real questions about life.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private university, so there's no surprise this type of education is going to cost a little more. But with the financial assistance you get, and the vast array of scholarships available it is very affordable. Plus there's always scholarship opportunities all over campus.

    What to do for fun

    It may come to a surprise, but with the academic rigor and the student life (besides sports) a lot of what's fun is what's being learned on campus. Again this isn't your ordinary campus. Here everybody wants to learn and grow more! As humans we have our interactions and fun, downtown Dallas is ten miles away. Fortunately, the knowledge and real education sits right there for us to enjoy and savor.

    Food and Dining

    Buffet all day! I've seen the menu and I'm already hungry. The meal plan provides a thorough and reasonable amount of food. They've got you covered from breakfast, lunch and dinner! The menu is open to bacon, pancakes, eggs, burgers, fries, fried chicken, YOU NAME IT! It's all good here!

    Dorm Life

    I will say from what I've heard the dorm life is special. Everybody enjoys the campus as much as they enjoy the dorms. Lots of mobility, and very welcoming settings in the community of The University of Dallas.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a huge commitment, and overall the course work will involve a lot of your time. From what I am finding out about my reading list and what's ahead for me: To make the grade, this isn't just some ordinary English course. It is vivid work, that involves you to be very meticulous. You're going to read everything form the Bible to the Iliad. You will grow as a student, there's no way you can ignore the work that's been put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really find your path with what you feel you NEED to know. There's a huge difference between someone who is attending a university, and someone who is thirsty for doing what they want to do and learning what they want to learn. Ultimately have the sense of urgency to learn if you're willing to make the commitment to this school, it is unlike any other I've seen before.

    In three sentences

    Honestly I have yet to attend, but the impression that's been given is pretty clear how humbling the school is. There's a huge regard towards the deep thoughts of knowledge and how far an individual can go by becoming the independent thinker. I find it welcoming, with a warm environment.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Great for forming lifelong friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an academic school so they take grades and GPA here very seriously. However, teachers are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don’t spend all your time in your dorm room, get out and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    The University of Dallas is an excellent institution that is made great by the many truly wonderful people you can meet here.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety can often be seen throughout the university, which allows students to feel secure. Then, at the same time the officers are friendly while maintaining their appropriate space if they are not needed.

    Greek Life

    Due to the small population of about 1200 students there are not Greek houses. However, students tend to have a lot of pride in the dorms they represent and there is a strong student government.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that meet consistently. These range from Spanish club to Sailing Club. There is truly something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is especially great for any Catholic trying to find a school that shares his or her values and maintains a fun yet serious atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most well-known traditions is called Ground-hog Day in which the school yearly sponsors a dance with food and drinks out in the woods. Another unique aspect is that every Friday afternoon an organized group of students plays popular music in the center of the campus that encourages an upbeat atmosphere. Also, there are many other events on campus throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to this university being private the cost is a bit high, yet there are many scholarships offered by the school and the financial aid office is always willing to work with the students.

    What to do for fun

    Student life is a high priority. So there are constantly activities being presented to see the Dallas area at reduced prices and there are many events held at the university as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, and there have been actions taken to improve the quality and taste. Also, the cafeteria is currently being remodeled.

    Dorm Life

    The university recently constructed a new dorm complex that incorporates a beautiful design with a practical layout for a large number of dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at this university are often challenging, but for most classes there are tutors available and the professors are always willing to meet outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage any student considering college to visit the University of Dallas, since they will quickly be attracted to the high quality classes and excellent community life.

    In three sentences

    This university has a conservative and Catholic atmosphere that heavily emphasizes the liberal arts. The professors are dedicated to their students and they truly show their motivation that even runs off on the students. Finally, the school is not too small or too large, so the class sizes are perfect.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe, there are rarely any instances of theft or of that sort. The campus even feels safe to walk around at the dead of night, even though you should be cautious because people from the neighboring neighborhoods like to walk around campus for exercise.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a greek life, no fraternities or sororieties

    Clubs and Activities

    ROTC, UDEarth, Crusaders for Life, Psych Club, Ultimate Frisbee, Alpha Phi Omega, Indian Food Club, Martial Arts Club, Movie Club, Juggling Club,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Winter Cotillion right before you leave for finals and such, it's a winter dance where you do Ballroom Dancing. We have Charity week where we pick a charity to donate all this money to and have fun activities like a jail and such. In the Spring we have Spring Formal, a normal dance you probably had in high school and we celebrate Groundhog's Day with a big outdoor concert with smores and burgers and it's a unique tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Dallas and downtown Fort Worth are just a few minutes drive away and there is plenty to do there. The DART is available for Dallas. Also, many upperclassmen are willing to drive you somewhere if you are going to the same place. There are also field trips that are organized throughout the semester, nearly every week to do different things like ice skating, to painting, to concerts and more.

    Food and Dining

    As always, cafeteria food is cafeteria food so always be careful what you eat and enjoy yourself. You will get tired of the food regardless of where you go.

    In three sentences

    The University of Dallas is a strong and highly academic school, which focuses on a basic core curriculum for all students to go through in order to become a more rounded individual. This school is a Catholic university but it is not necessary to be Catholic to attend because the school prides itself on the diversity of the students from all around the world with different religions and other views.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CSO drives by every 10 minutes. Safe like most colleges.

    Greek Life

    Non. Almost had a social (non house) fraternity but it got shot down with a lot of uproar.

    Clubs and Activities

    See 'what to do for fun'

    Great for these types of students

    -Philosophy/English/Bio Major Seriously don't come for Business or Computer Science. Those majors are jokes. The only people who say otherwise are the ones taking those majors. -Also some advice. Meet girls freshmen and sophomore year . They start courting junior and senior year and it's more difficult to carry out a normal conversation. Ex. I'm holding a baby and playing with it. Freshmen and sophomore year it's nothing. Junior year and senior year, a girl watching me do it might be thinking is he trying to impress me?. Nevertheless 25% of students get married the year after they graduate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TGIT-band plays every thursday Groundhog Day-UD tradition. Huge party in the woods with a band playing. A lot of Alumni come.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure to apply for scholarships. The financial aid office can help out a lot. My friend applied for a 10k scholarship through the office and because nobody else applied for it he got it.

    What to do for fun

    Sing in the woods on weekends, visit friends in Old Mill and Dorms. If you're old enough you can take the train and go to bars. You can take the train (right behind the school) and go to downtown Dallas. There is a Church, seminary and monastery, so you could visit any of those guys if you'd like. As always there are a lot of Campus events going on all the time. The best part, TGIT on Thursdays! I recommend, enjoy TGIT on Thursday, party in Old Mill on Friday, party some more on Saturday, and then do homework Monday-Wednesday.

    Food and Dining

    People complain about the cafeteria, but only out of eating the food every day. The main cafeteria is eat all you can eat and it does have a wide variety. By junior year most people save money by not having a meal plan. Beans, tuna, spaghetti and cheap food instead. That's the Old Mill Diet

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms might not be that nice, but everybody ends up getting to know each other really well. New Hall (Sophomore and Junior Year) is like a hotel, and Old Mill (senior year) is a downgrade but living in apartments next to all your friends right across from school is a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    Everybody who doesn't study their freshman and sophomore year gets weeded out. (Mostly people who come in only for sports...not that any of the teams are good.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Junior year during Odyssey days to apply for scholarships. Really, as long as you're good at whatever subject you're being tested for it's worth a try. Also, try not to plan on transferring in because freshmen and sophomore year are when people learn to really know each other. Plus Rome semester is sophomore year!

    In three sentences

    Excellent Core, good people. It's a very specific school, but if you're looking for a really good liberal arts core curriculum (2 years, make sure to look at the courses. they are very specific) and you enjoy being around the type of people in this school (large families, some home schoolers, from religious families), then this school is perfect for you.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pre-Meds, Pre-Law, business and marketing students will love this place. Now, we have a nursing program, also!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work your fingers to the bone! Math classes are difficult, but I love them anyway. Take notes, stay organized, and find study-buddies...that shouldn't be too hard!

    Bang for the buck

    Time will tell (after graduation) but for right now, I'd say it is an excellent value.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most of the time, I do. Sometimes, I am overwhelmed and don't feel there is enough to do in the area. I also would like more free time to play, but the work schedule simply does not allow for that.

    Academic Rigor

    I am amazed how much I have learned. FAR beyond my expectations! I never even considered myself an avid reader, but the University of Dallas has turned THAT all around!

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the cafeteria and talk while you eat. There are several dances throughout the year which I highly recomend going to since there are some fabulous dancers on campus. Swing club meets every Wednesday and is a lot of fun. Itramerals are also great. Every Thursday night there is TIGIT for which a student band or some other group is called in to sing. Beer is served to those of the appropriate age. There are also various private parties around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Some people do not like the food served in the cafeteria, however I don't think it is that bad. Pizza is always a safe bet, and there is a nice sandwich bar somewhat reminiscent of Subway where they make delicious sandwiches. There is also a small sort of fast food restaurant known as the Rat which serves pizza, sandwhiches, burghers, and salads.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life, especially freshman year is a lot of fun. You become very close to the people in your dorm since they are small and you know everyone in them. There are interdorm activities which included in one instance a Louisiana style dinner with singing by different students. The lounge is deffinitly a favorite place to hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult at this school academically since many classes are based upon great texts from the past from Aristotle, Plato, Aquinas, Mellville, Homer, ect. You are expected to be able to comment intelligently on what you read, whether in class or on papers. You are also expected to read a lot over short periods of time, an entire Shakespeare play in one night for instance. Even those people who are more science minded are required to take humanities courses. Everyone is expected to learn to write well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go to this school if you do not like to read. Be prepared to read challenging material since you will be reading the classics. Also, be warned, the school is Catholic and you are required to take theology which are taught from a Catholic perspective. Hang out with people at dinner, you can have a lot of great conversations with people in the cafeteria, some serious, some simply fun. The people at this school are great, and many of them are very interesting.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school for anyone who has an interest in the Catholic Faith and in a Great Books program. It is academically challenging and there is a great social life. I give the is school an eight out of ten.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dallas is really close. Fort worth is an hour away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go if you want a great education and are ready for a lot of work.

    In three sentences

    Good School. Too Strict with drinking. Too much work literally 8 hours of studying a night or more If you want above a 3.0

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safer here than I do at home. Not that Big Brother is always watching or anything like that, but the immediate area is safe. I wouldn't recommend just leaving your laptop sitting in the student center, but I've done it before and it was fine.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent, thank God. If you need community, there's campus ministry or sports.

    Clubs and Activities

    Despite being only 1300 students strong, the offerings of the school in way of clubs and activities is staggering. The two sports clubs, rugby and Ultimate Frisbee (co-ed), are quite popular. Swing dancing is a weekly, well-attended event, There are also the various service and academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    You must be willing to work hard, like writing, and have a desire to explore outside of your major, because the core curriculum is quite extensive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We take Groundhog's Day very seriously...the celebrations last about 4 days. Charity Week is chock full of fun things, like a Jail (people pay to imprison their friends) and KAOS (Killing As Organized Sport). Oktoberfest and Mallapalooza are the two music festivals of the year. We know how to have fun! The Capp Bar is worth checking out (iced mocha with coconut!), and the woods are fun to explore. The campus has lots of nooks and crannies.

    Bang for the buck

    After my first year, I am convinced that UD is worth the money, which is reinforced by some of the sacrifices I see my peers making. The scholarships are generous if your numbers (GPA, ACT/SAT) are high.

    What to do for fun

    Live music is a weekly thing on campus. There are two-stepping clubs nearby which students take advantage of on the free nights. I've heard rumor of a 50 cent movie theater, which wouldn't surprise me because Dallas-Fort Worth has a lot to offer. The theater productions on campus are great (and free!). My weekends are typically spent hanging out with friends on campus, or in the apartments across the street, or exploring the woods.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is good. It gets repetitive, but it's not bad. It's pretty easy to find someone to drive you off campus and hit up one of the hundreds of restaurants on MacArthur (about 10 minutes' drive). There's also a bar & grill, which apparently used to be better, but I don't have a problem with it.

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't the best fit for my dorm, but I did love my roommate freshman year. I had a lot of friends coming into my first year because of a summer program right before the start of college, so that's probably the reason I wasn't part of the dorm community. I never had any real problems with my dorm or the people I lived with.

    Academic Rigor

    I have a shirt that says University of Dallas on the front, and If It Were Any Harder, It Would Be Harvard. Grammatic problems involving hard vs. difficult aside, you will be challenged like never before here. UD is intense, but it is worth the effort. I finally feel like I'm learning here!

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you to take a risk and look at a distant school. Listen to your parents, too...mine loved UD before I did. Keep in mind that changing your mind is good when it comes to majors and careers. Don't be put off by liberal arts schools...you can still have a proper major, like business or science, and still take advantage of an intense core curriculum. This is the time in your life where you have the energy to be daring...take advantage! Also, be aware of the challenge and the Catholic, conservative atmosphere of UD when considering this school. It's not for everybody.

    In three sentences

    If everyone I knew lived here, my life would literally be as perfect as it can be. The University of Dallas is the best thing that ever happened to me. The community, atmospere, study abroad program, and core curriculum are a few reasons you should seriously consider UD.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown Dallas is accessible by the DART and so there are many things to do on the weekends. UD also has a Dallas Year program which is where the school sells event tickets for extremely discounted prices and also provides transportation to these events.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is nice and the food is pretty good. There isn't much variety on a day-to-day basis but there are many options. The only problem with it is that there aren't any food options on campus late at night because everything closes around 9.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are average. The facilities aren't the nicest but they are very comfortable and work fine for college dorm life. The upperclassman housing options are much nicer though

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very challenging but the class sizes are small and the professors are very willing to help and have very flexible office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn all about what the school has to offer. Visit the school, meet with counselors and other students and find out about financial aid and scholarship opportunities so that when it comes time to make a decision, you are well aware of what each school you are looking at has to offer and which school is will fit you the best

    In three sentences

    University of Dallas is a small college with a strong sense of community. It is a Catholic school so most students are Catholic but students of all faiths are welcome. UD is a tough school academically but the class sizes are small and the professors are very flexible and willing to help.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    UD seems to have a wonderful community of dedicated students. One thing that attracts me to the school is the Rome program-it is developed, and my sister has participated and highly recommends it. The professors seem dedicated and care about their students.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over thirty different clubs and organizations, so there is sure to be something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UD has the second largest Groundhog Day celebration in the U.S.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do on campus. There is the swimming pool, or you can climb the Braniff Tower. There is usually something fun happening on the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, both in the cafeteria and in the Rathskeller.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of clubs and organizations that have events on campus. There are lots of weekly events, such as Music on the Mall, and TGIT, where different bands play each week.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have seen, UD has extremely difficult academics. However, the professors are willing to work with you. If you need to, you can make an appointment with your professor to discuss your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to try the Cap Bar and visit the Art Village.

    In three sentences

    An excellent university. Academically challenging, with a strong Catholic faith. Tons of fun stuff and activities on and off campus.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Everyone is respectful and campus safety is always patrolling at all hours.

    Greek Life

    UD does not have any frats or sororities, but if you want authentic Greek life, you should definately do the Rome Sophomore program. There is a week spent in Greece, it's life changing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate readers. Also those of the Catholic fate and conservative or Republican beliefs. However, it is a good school for just about anybody as long as there is mutual respect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Groundhog day, where the students and staff get hammered drunk.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive. A lot of students that attend UD are on scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Sleep. That thing that I don't get on school nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, and it isn't always the healthiest but it does the job.

    Dorm Life

    The traditional dorms are not the best looking but they suffice. The New Hall is a lot nicer. Either way there is a very good vibe no matter where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    This is NOT a school for students who do not like to read. If your serious about your education learn effecient study habits, and quick. Just winging it will not get you anywhere. Read. Read. Read.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grades are not everything. Teachers look for students who want more than an A. They want someone to truly engage in the material and give it their all.

    In three sentences

    UD has such a peaceful, laid-back environment, there has never been an instance in which I felt like someone would harm me. The faculty and staff are very kind and helpful, you can easily build a close relationship with any of your professors. And the academics are rigorous but very excellent.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The drive around all over campus 24 hours a day to make sure anything suspicious is checked out. They have a good response time and the school is so small that you really don't need to worry about any sort of dangers within the school. The only concern that some people would have is living in the dorms that are close to the Dart Rail station due to non-students being able to walk into campus. It has never happened however so it's not a great risk or danger.

    Greek Life

    We unfortunately do not have a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I honestly don't associate with any clubs do to my focus on school and sports, but there are plenty to choose from and you can join as many as you want.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the people that love to learn and are serious about learning. If you are motivated to finish school and have a great career, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual tradition that we have is celebrating Groundhogs Day. I heard that it is a pretty fun celebration but I just did not get to go due to me being away for a basketball game.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are expensive, but they are totally worth it due to the challenge that they all have in them and the connection that all of the classes have with each other.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs on campus. I am an athlete so most of my time was spent on school and basketball. However, you can take the Dart Rail and go into Dallas to have some fun if you know where to go.

    Food and Dining

    The hours are pretty close together and it makes eating all the meals sort of challenging. There is no 24 hour service either, so if you are hungry at 10 pm, you either order a pizza if you have the money or just suffer till breakfast time.

    Dorm Life

    It is pretty easy to make friends there if you make the effort. I honestly just said hi to people and a few small conversations but still managed to get along well with the people there.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficult and challenging school and not everybody is cut out for this school. So if you are not serious about learning and having a great education this is not the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off at all. It is hard to catch up, especially if you slack off from the start. Take some core classes and some electives to have some easier classes and some serious classes for balance.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school from a scale of 1-10 as a solid 8. This school is very challenging but all of these classes help you grow up to the model student and the model liberal thinking citizen. It is totally work coming to this school even though it is challenging.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is an amazing Catholic University that is academically challenging but will teach you to learn. The school is small so it is easy to get to know your classmates. The overall atmosphere is welcoming and energetic about the faith and learning.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety of very well covered at UD and the security officers are very involved with the students and they know everyone and are always available.

    Greek Life

    UD does not have any kind of Greek life offered and I do not miss it at all. Because of the size of the school you feel involved with everyone and do not need any Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities offered from all the sports choices offered. Soccer is my favorite. There is also a big swimming pool and weight room. I do wish they had a film making club as that is hard to start up on your own because you need equipment like cameras and a computer to work with as you develop a film.

    Great for these types of students

    UD is a great school for those who want to grow in their Catholic faith and want a rigorous academic challenge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ground Hog Day is a big celebration on the campus of UD. There are other fun activities like the juggling group and square dancing group.

    Bang for the buck

    UD is a great college especially because it is not a huge college and the teachers really want you to do well.

    What to do for fun

    Well as for fun activities, there is more than you could ever do and if there is not something you would like to do you can start that activity yourself. Also, the Dallas area is rich in things to do from museums, to movies not out in other parts of the country yet, many restaurants, music concerts and sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good except I am use to more spice in my food and sometime I get tired of the same foods being offered on a regular basis. It is good to go home occasionally to get real home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    I have had a great experience living in the dorm. I really get along with my roommate and the others in the dorm. The only thing negative I could say is that it is noisy and people are always popping in to talk or ask if you want to go do something so you don't have much quiet private time. But everyone is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very rigorous especially biology. So be prepared to study regularly.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for anyone interested in the University of Dallas would be for you to consider: * Do you like the challenge of a very rigorous academic environment? UD will challenge you and you will have a study a lot. * Do you like the challenge from your fellow dorm mates to grow in your faith? You really get to know and get close to the other students as you all grow in your faith together. * Do you have the drive to work hard academically and with a job because it is expensive and so you will probably have to contribute to the cost of this education.

    In three sentences

    The University of Dallas is a great fit for me. It is not a very large university but still large enough to have all the programs and activities you want to really enjoy your college experience. I also love the Dallas area that has lots to explore and learn from.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great. The officers are friendly and willing to help you, and if you respect them they will be nice to you.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's a small school so there aren't as many clubs as other bigger schools, but there are plenty, and you can always start your own if nothing catches you eye.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for kids who work hard, but also like to have a good time. It is a great mix of nerdy kids, and the party crowd sometimes the two groups even overlap.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Groundhog is awesome! By far the best campus event, but there are many others, and you just need to find your niche.

    Bang for the buck

    Overpriced, but what college isn't. As far as college goes, and the education you get it is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, dancing, games, friends . . . the list goes on and on. Get some friends together and do something fun, it's worth it.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food, so naturally its not as good as home cooking, but it's edible, and the food is not why you go to UD.

    Dorm Life

    I met some of the greatest guys in the dorm, and now they are my closest friends. There are activities, and always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very difficult school, but well worth it if you can take the challenge and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take it lightly. You can have a lot of fun, while also doing well if you prioritize and do your work. Make friends because they will last forever.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school where one can get a wonderful education in a wonderful environment with wonderful people. The academics are challenging, but the rewards are worth it. It is truly an institute devoted to the higher education of its students.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing! We have many officers on campus who make routine drives around campus throughout the day and night to ensure our safety. All dorms have keys to enter the building that are only assigned only to the people who are staying within them.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is somewhat expensive, however I am ok with the tuition due to the major in which I am in. The school of Business is accredited by an exclusive organization.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations. Although there are not many official sport teams, many of the students have come together to hold regular practices in what sports they enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Very excellent food services. I havent gotten tired of what they serve. It is buffet style and many options are available.

    Dorm Life

    Excellent dorm life, we have meetings in case there are any complaints (which hasnt happened). A lot of the dorms also hold their own activities, such as holding dinner once a week with everyone cooking something.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors take their classes very seriously and expect for their students also to. They help whenever it is needed and many tutors are available for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although this is primarily a Catholic University you are allowed to think and speak openly. You will receive an excellent education while being able to be apart of the student body with many different clubs.

    In three sentences

    Socially accepting University, very independent thinking. The instructors are knowledgeable within their studies. A great place to attend.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun on campus, but along with that there is a DART stop close by so you can visit downtown. I love visiting downtown to see the art museum, and eat with friends at the park.

    Food and Dining

    For cafeteria food the University of Dallas cooking staff does a FANTASTIC job!

    Dorm Life

    Great Dorm life, i know that many of the girls that i live with will be some of my friends forever, you build strong relationships with each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, have fun, and remember your goal.

    In three sentences

    University of Dallas is an amazing University. It has been an absolute great experience, and am so happy i am able to attend. This University has a great community, and a very rewarding core.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    well there are many activities and sports, however since dallas is a big city, there is alot to see.

    Food and Dining

    This could be better, but overall not bad

    Dorm Life

    better then sharing a dorm with someone else. or in a packed place.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on what major a person pick, most of the major a great.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university is very challenging, so might as well study and work hard in high school in order to deserve this elegant and cool university acceptance.

    In three sentences

    This University is very nice and has alot to discover, the environment of this university feels like home. It's a great college if the student lives around the college or maybe in dallas. This University overall is not bad faculty wise and the conditions of the dorms and the food that they serve.