Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Detroit Mercy (UDM) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is ready for college but would still like the small class size, UDM is a great choice. You will never find yourself sitting in a freshman biology class with 500 other students. The average class size is about 20 students, so you can ask questions and interact with your teacher as much as you would like. Also, if you would like to live in the dorm rooms but do not want to be stuck on campus all the time, UDM would be good for you because all students living on campus are allowed to have a car parked on campus at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend prospective students to register for their classes as soon as possible, because they fill up very fast since it is such a small school with limited classes and small class sizes. Also, look into their accelerated programs, such as the Physician's Assistant 5-year program, because UDM offers some great programs that can actually ensure your spot in a graduate program while still in undergraduate school.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Detroit Mercy offers a great education but has a high tuition, about $15,000 per term for full time students. However, they offer generous scholarships that make it very affordable. A chart of some scholarships offered can be found at: http://www.udmercy.edu/apply/financial_aid/scholarships/pdf/Scholarships_and_Financial_Aid.pdf I think that the small classes and experienced teachers really make UDM worth its price, especially considering how much of one's tuition can be covered by scholarships. At UDM, freshman are often taught by very experienced teachers, where at larger schools freshman may only see brand new teachers or a teaching assistant.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel as though UDM is a great school and that I am receiving a great education, but I didn't enjoy the campus life as much as I had hoped for. Since UDM is a large commuter school, there are not many students on campus during the weekends. Also, there is not the excitement of going to the big football games (UDM doesn't have a football team) or being in the middle of a college town, as with many larger schools such as Ann Arbor or East Lansing.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that I have been enrolled in have been challenging, yet reasonable. I feel as though I am learning a lot of material very thoroughly, but I am able to keep up with it. The small class size helps students learn more especially in laboratory classes because the teacher can help each student individually, answer questions and offer more hands-on experience.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I do not know much about any of the other programs out there, but if you are a student looking to go into nursing I highly recommend the University of Detroit Mercy, whether you take classes in Grand Rapids on Aquinas campus or in Detroit it really doesn't matter, the program is great and you get to not only learn in class but you get to go out and learn things in the hospital setting. The hands on part of this program helps to create great nurses who are ready to face the real world after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Nursing program is intense, but if you stay focused and are driven you will go far, the professors are your friends, go to them with all questions and concerns. Class participation is key and the professors love to see you get into what they are teaching. The more you interact in class the better they know you and the more willing they are to help you. Don't be afraid to ask for help they want to see you succeed they don't want to see you struggle.

    Bang for the buck

    This School is rather expensive school however the classes are so not very big so the Professors get to know you one on one. You develop strong relationships with them, and they are always there to help you. They want their students to be well educated so they make the program difficult but they do their best to help the students succeed both in and out of class. The comfort and the relationships that you get to have with the professors is amazing they get to know you on a personal level and I enjoy that.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being apart of this program both the staff and the student body are amazing they truly dedicate their time to serving you as an individual student and helping you succeed. The people that attend this college are always extending a hand to help. All the students in the nursing program work together and encourage one another, which is extremely helpful when its hard to be motivated to do work

    Am learning a lot

    The University of Detroit Mercy is a wonderful school to be apart of. I am a Student who is apart of the University of Detroit Mercy's nursing program however I live and attend classes on Aquinas campus. The professors who teach are amazing they relate what we are learning directly to our future roles as a nurse, they encourage us and do their best to help us learn to the best of our ability.

  • 06/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    When i applied here, i had no idea that i would get a scholarship, let alone a scholarship for more than $10,000! although the tuition is high, many scholarships will be awarded to you, and in the end make school much more reasonable than any public university!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and there seems to be a lot of activity with the campus being so small

    Will learn a lot

    I am very excited to begin classes this fall! I know by looking at other reviews as well as listening in on lectures, i know that i will learn a lot while studying here!

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I will guarantee that this is a great school you should consider attending; I can promise you that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Concerning financial aid, I would suggest that you have a really great transcript coming out of high school, seeing as U of D-Mercy gives out scholarships based on your cumulative GPA. Also, if there is anything you do, ALWAYS remain positive because there will come times when you seem overwhelmed. But I've learned from personal experience that everything is going to be alright. Always strive for greatness and excellence! You will only go as far as you, yourself are willing to go. Finally, ALWAYS BELIEVE IN YOURSELF because whether you believe it or not, YOU CAN DO IT!

    Bang for the buck

    U of D-Mercy has a very high tuition, but I believe that paying the tuition is worth it. As an Architecture major, going into the world graduating with an accredited Master's degree in five years; I definitely wouldn't mind paying the tuition. I suppose it depends on what you're majoring/ minoring in. But I believe that I can speak on the behalf of every college and school at U of D in saying that paying the tuition and graduating from here it's definitely something I would recommend doing...!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really do enjoy being here. The school staff is very friendly, generous, and caring. They treat you with the utmost respect; making sure that you know that you are important to them and also as a person. I have a disability and even though I have some physical limitations, everyone that I encounter treats me with kindness and respect, instead of belittling me; as if I don't belong. And, that really means a lot to me. Lastly, what I really like most about this school is the campus! The campus is so beautiful, you don't have to do too much walking, and I feel very comfortable and safe...!

    Am learning a lot

    I must say that I couldn't have asked for a more challenging curriculum! As a transfer student, I have to admit the things that I've learned here completely blows the college that I previously attended 'out of the water'. I am an Architecture major and in everyone of my designs and studio classes, I have the chance to always work hands-on. My professors usually point out two or three things that I did right on my project, but then they'll point out ten things that I did wrong. But you can't take it personal because that's how you grow and learn from your mistakes. Failure is not an option, so they force you out of your comfort zone and push you into your full potential. There isn't a moment that goes by when you aren't learning something. Every experience that I have had here was a learning experience, whether you're learning about your classmates, your teachers, your environment, or even the class subject. And because of U of D-Mercy, I can truly say that you really will learn something new every day!

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Being active in class and participate. Professors here love seeing students who actually get involved, they will help you with whatever whenever you need.

    Am enjoying being here

    UDM is a great place to meet new people and enjoy getting your education at the same time. It has helped me see a part of the country i have never seen before and opened my eyes to new and exciting things to help our country.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are difficult yet mangable and challenge you to strive to do your best and gets you ready for the real world.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety can always be found around campus. They can be seen driving around and are positioned at the entrance gates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The various fraternities and sororities on campus periodically paint the rock. It usually looks very pretty and is always nicely done!

    What to do for fun

    There is a couple places to go for fun. The basement of the freshman dorm has a big screen TV and pool tables. There is also the fitness center being built for students to work out. The basement of the Student Union has ping-pong tables, TVs, and pool tables for students to enjoy. On weekends, the fraternity brothers host parties open to all students. The students also have the option of joining one of the fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple options on campus for food. We recently opened a Subway, which many students enjoy. We also have two dining areas. One dining place is buffet style with a salad bar and other options. The other dining area is a made-when-ordered style place. Here there are also many options for a variety of food choices. We also opened a new gas station style store with snacks on the first floor of Shiple.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the prettiest of all the ones I have seen, but they have the necessities: a desk and a bed. There is also plenty of space to bring in other items such as a fridge, microwave, game console, and TV. The dorms are what you make of them. They provide you an opportunity to meet new people and make great friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at UDM are challenging, but very relevant to the major of each student. The professors are also more then willing to help students with the work assigned. So while the classes are tough, there are many places to receive help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should apply for outside scholarships because, even though the university is very generous, it is expensive. Also, make sure to plan a tour around campus in the spring to see the true beauty of the campus.

    In three sentences

    UDM has a beautiful campus and a very helpful staff. Professors work with students and do everything in their power to make sure each student succeeds. UDM is small, but there is a place for everyone to fit in here.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Games, student center.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to avoid crowds. Get all prerequisites done before coming here to keep cost down. Enjoy.

    In three sentences

    University of Detroit Mercy has small class sizes and great instructors. The campus is smaller and therefore more commutable. This school has a wonderful counseling department.

  • 03/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who would like to be in a peaceful environment at a smaller school, also for those who prefer smaller class sizes so that their learning experiences is better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make your grades are good and that you have a good ACT/SAT score. So study, study, study!!!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a little on the expensive side; however, if you attain good grades and good scores on the ACT/ SAT test and apply for a lot of scholarships you can easily be able to afford this school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because the campus is beautiful and the school is small so I do not have to worry about feeling too overwhelmed.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot here. Some of the classes are pretty challenging a great benefit of coming to this school is U D M students receives free tutoring.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything possible that doesn't interfere with your studies.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious !

    Tips for prospective students

    Join study groups. Take great notes. Go to class. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    My college is a ten. The students and staff our very friendly and helpful. The school is a team in making sure each student is successful in reaching their goals.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know much about dorm life here, but the campus seems very quiet and reserved.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I hear that the food is not the best, but they do have a subway right across the street that alot of student walk to during their break.

    Dorm Life

    I hear there are no refrigerators or stoves just a bed and a desk.

    In three sentences

    I have not yet registered for classes, but i do see that there are great counselors who truly CARE they will always return your calls and try their best to reach all so that you can succeed. The university is small, with small classes. that sounds great to me, that way I am able to have one-on-one relationships with my professors and get all the help I need. I am definitely ready to explore the world and I think this is the one university that will help me.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very strict on where you park. If you dont have a sticker or parked in the wrong parking lot you WILL get a ticket even if there for only 5 mins. however, they also will walk you back to car or dorm if you have a night class.

    Greek Life

    What is that?

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an array of clubs you can join. Since its a Catholic college there are alot of religous life clubs. I am a part of nursing clubs also

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, nursing, love small schools, the schools campus is in the middle of the woods it is beautiful

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Moose is the campus coffee shop, its fun to hang out and do homework there. Its also a place you can relax.

    Bang for the buck

    Like any school, its expensive

    What to do for fun

    After studying, I like to go to the plays the schools theater department puts on

    Food and Dining

    Wege, the dining cafateria is average. Some days the food is better than others.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to school but from what I hear and other activities I have attended at night with friends, the dorms are very friendly and fun

    Academic Rigor

    As any nursing program, the criculum is challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    If youre going in the nursing program, make sure you understand the program entirely. Ask someone knowledgeable about it. Once you begin, get involved so you can meet people.

    In three sentences

    Detroit Mercy's nursing program at Aquinas is very unorganized. There is a lack of communication between those in Detroit and those in Grand Rapids. Not to mention annoying and confusing for us students trying to register for classes, pay fees and such

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very good.

    Bang for the buck

    Private education is costly but education is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities, clubs, and intermural sports.

    Food and Dining

    Very delicious

    Dorm Life

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but the resources that you need to pass are provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are on top of your game. Do not be afraid to ask any questions.

    In three sentences

    The best university that I have ever been to. Everything at the University deserves a ten rating. Admissions are the most helpful when it comes to classes.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Their academic is five stars...

    Tips for prospective students

    look ahead for the future. Don't give up no matter what, and know that there is always someone willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I would rate University of Detroit Mercy a nine. They have smaller classes, and the instructors are very nice. They have a ton of people who are willing to help you.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TOUCH DOWN JESUS, there is this statue of Jesus with his arms open wide in the middle of campus and it looks like he is making a touch down. If you ask any student on campus about TOUCH DOWN JESUS they will know exactly what your referring to

    Bang for the buck

    You get out of the school what you put into it. UDM is an expensive school so I would advise you to get the most out of it as you can.

    What to do for fun

    The dorms always have fun things going on. You can join an organization and go to those events. But making friends and hanging with them around campus is allot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    We got a subways last year

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but they are preparing you for the real world and the teachers are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in student life. Student Government Association is a great way to meet people who have been successful in the field they are going into. Living on campus is also really nice. The dorm staff plan alot of things for residents to do once classes are out.

    In three sentences

    They really want great things for you. But if your not willing to help yourself they aren't going to force you. So make UDM the best college experience you can, I know I am.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Hard Working student

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a lot of financial as well as academic support.

    What to do for fun

    Ping Pong all day every day

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste time.

    In three sentences

    It is an outstanding facility that creates an oasis in a troubled neighborhood. I think it is an excellent example of what Detroit should try and mirror.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never tasted their food, but there are a lot of surrounding resteraunts to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Most of my friends that go here live off campus, because it is so close to home.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear it is challenging. If you put your mind to it I'm sure you can do it.

    In three sentences

    I would rate UDM as an 8. It is a really great school.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You really cant do anything fun unless you have a car. There are alot of parties but if parties arnt your thing you will be bored. Usually I just sit in my room and study.

    Food and Dining

    There is good food there but my friend gotten food posioning from it. The hous arnt good either. And if have a meal plan that doesnt help much either.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms arnt really that good. But you will stay warm in the winter and cool in the summer. There are alot if pipes problems. And the w2ater doesnt seem too clean.

    Academic Rigor

    There is alot you can learn. But pick the right teachers. There are times where there are clasess npt offered. But the people at the office will jelp you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on your studies. There are alot of parties so make sure you dont get enfluenced. And there are alot of apportunuties to serve our city for the better.

    In three sentences

    This University has alot to offer if you have the right teachers. Some teachers do not teach like they want to further our education. And as far as learning who the good teachers are, you will have to as karound.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are tons of on campus events for you to attend.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good so you do not have to go far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for tons of schoalrships because you will need them.

    In three sentences

    The university is pricey but the class sizes are small. The technology on campus is a little dated but they are working on it. The professor are great and flexible.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On the AQ campus, campus safety is great. They are very helpful and can always be found.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not being at the main campus, I really can't speak to this.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious. The courses are difficult and require your full attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    While the education is great, the tuition is very expensive, and just went up, making it very hard for students to pay for their school.

    What to do for fun

    On the AQ campus there are many different activities and student groups, as well as a cafe, and the campus is within walking distance of downtown Grand Rapids and a farmers market.

    Food and Dining

    Again, because I commute I can't fully speak to this, however I know that at the AQ campus, where my program is, the food is supposed to be very good.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, so I can't speak to the dorm experience.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very academically challenging school, and the programs I'm enrolled in are wonderfully taught, although seeing the online classes is sometimes difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going to be at an off-shoot of the school, make sure to talk with your advisors and check Titan Connect often for any information that may be pertinent to your account.

    In three sentences

    I attend UDM's off-branch at Aquinas College in Grand Rapids, and although I am not on UDM's campus, I do deal with them on a regular basis. Overall, I find that being on an off shoot can be difficult. However, the education I'm receiving has been wonderful.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe, at night, in the afternoon.

    Greek Life

    A broherhood that will take you far in life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you can imagine!

    Great for these types of students

    All students who want something different.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school, make you proud from the first moment you are there. You know you are going to be part of someting big.

    Bang for the buck

    Can't put a price on education.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball games, the fitness center, student government, lots to do here.

    Food and Dining

    Just like home!

    Dorm Life

    Great! Could not have asked for a better dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but help is available

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up!

    In three sentences

    Detroit Mercy is a different kind of University. A great gem in the heart of Detroit. Dedicated to helping you succeed.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I looked up the different greeks there and I didn't see Kappa's.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know yet and not interested in staying on campus.

    In three sentences

    I have yet to actually attend the school. I have only visited the campus once. It is beautiful and the students are very helpful.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been couple car break ins on campus which is not good!

    Food and Dining

    Titan dining room is always clean and the food is always fresh, but the food can use a little more seasoning

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I hear its kind of small, but not so bad

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going full time, and expect to keep your grades up, be prepared to have no social life because the classes consist of a lot of work!

    In three sentences

    I love U of D so far, although the tuition is quite expensive. There's a subway on campus that's absolutely the best. The teachers are friendly and seem to be genuinely concerned about the progress of students in their classes. Its a heavy work load though!

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every entrance has a security guard and requires I.D. to maintain access to campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is fun, a smaller and more intimate group.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports teams on campus, sororities, and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who do not want to hide because of the small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Campus all of the sororities and fraternities paint a rock located near the dorms and will spend all night sleeping near it in the cold and rain.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but the education you receive is worth it because of small class sizes and the high graduation rate.

    What to do for fun

    There are many nearby restaurants and bars and it is only 15 minutes from downtown Detroit for sporting events and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway on campus which is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very small.

    Academic Rigor

    The architecure program is challenging, the building is accesible through student I.D. cards 24/7 because long hours in studio are expected

    Tips for prospective students

    You should live on campus your first year, and get involved in as many student activities as possible because most of them are student not faculty directed, which allows for a lot of freedom.

    In three sentences

    Detroit Mercy is a great school for academics, especially architecture and nursing. It is does not have the best location in proximity to food and other amenities. It has small class sizes which is great for getting the most out of your education.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always patrolling the area and you can call them anytime for help.

    Greek Life

    This is not as big as other schools and the girls cannot have a house off campus, but they are still close and fun to be in and get people involved and the frats are fun to dance at.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and if they dont have your club you can start one along with intermurral sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    This is good for student athletes, the teachers are really understanding of the schedules athletes have to maintain during season.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is really into sports, get involved!

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a lot of great scholarships especially if you play sports. To go to a private school you will get a lot for a little amount.

    What to do for fun

    The frats are always having something on the weekends which is always a fun thing to do after a long week of classes. But there is also sports and a great sports center being built.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible the only good thing is the snacks and the fact that they put a subway in last year.

    Dorm Life

    You get to know a lot of great people when you live in the dorms. They are very close together and are welcoming, you can style your room up however you like.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are extremly well educated and care about what they are teaching and do not use teachers assistants so you are learning first hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to go here and you live far away from this school, your first year may be hard to adjust and get home sick a lot, bring a car!

    In three sentences

    This school has a great amount of history that it likes to take pride in. It is also happy to help the community of Detroit and get students involved with community service projects. There are a lot of very well educated teachers here that care for the students.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS Rules! Always up to date with them via e-mail or text!

    Great for these types of students

    Wanting a small class size education as well as a small campus? UDM is the place for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like studying by the fountain in the warm Fall sun. Catching up with a friend in the Kassab Mall is also nice too in the warm weather! Very relaxing. The new fitness center is a new place to go hang out and exercise with friends - even if you're a commuter you have access to the gym's facilities!

    Bang for the buck

    The school gets costly - but much worth the small class size!

    What to do for fun

    UDM is a mile or two away from Woodward AVE, Downtown Detroit, Royal Oak and Ferndale. These cities offer so much to do for college students to do on their free time. Experiencing different restaurants down Woodward Ave, in Greek town, or Mexican town or roaming in the downtown feel of Royal Oak and Ferndale for some thrift-shop finds or just because! Concerts and sporting events are always occurring in Downtown Detroit which is always fun, just to go to on the weekends!

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is a plus but UDM is surrounded by Woodward, Downtown, Royal Oak and Ferndale which offer many wide varieties of delcious restaraunts.

    Dorm Life

    Residing in the urban side of Detroit, students get a feel for the urban setting of Detroit. UDM offers many opportunities to grow into the city and know what it's really like and to get accustomed to how beautiful the city really is, even after the hard economic times. UDM being in the epicenter of the Joe Lewis and Comerica Park, there is so much pride in the city when it comes to Hockey and Baseball games.

    Tips for prospective students

    UDM is a great school if you want to have a focused education with the right set of instructors. With great career and interning opportunities, UDM offers much guidance and to their students as well as well-known programs that are ranked at a high level.

    In three sentences

    University of Detroit Mercy is a small college that is career focused. With small class sizes, students are able to focus better and have one-on-one time with instructors. A wide range of programs and colleges offers students better opportunities and ranks top notch for wanting better things for students.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is in charge of campus security but they don't really do a good job...it's up to the students mostly to stay safe and be smart. There are some incidents but not nearly as many as other comparable university campuses in Michigan.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 different sororities and 3 different fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and organizations to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, hardworking students that know exactly what they want out of their education.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school because it is private and Catholic. But they usually give large scholarships to students with high high school GPAs and ACT/SAT scores. Make sure to fill out a FAFSA as well. This school has lots of programs and that is what attracts most of the students.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to Royal Oak and Ferndale and there are lots of places to go eat and have fun! If you don't have a car then you can always hang out with friends in the dorms or go to frat parties ;)

    Food and Dining

    The food is not great. They did put in a Subway now and they are talking about putting in a Starbucks but other than that, the campus food is terrible.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on how social you are. You can choose to join greek fraternity's or sorority's, service organizations, etc. There is a lot to do on campus if you seek it out. If you have friends that also live on campus and you have a car, there are things to do with friends. Commuting usually has a negative effect on social life with people from the same school.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficult school and the classes are rigorous but that is what is needed if you plan on attending and exceeding in a graduate school after undergrad. Almost all the teachers have PhD's and high degrees in their fields. Classes are not taught by TA's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be safe on campus! It is Detroit, but if you are smart about your choices you will be fine. Don't walk around at late hours by yourself, don't text while walking around (be alert), don't leave valuable items in plain site in your car, don't leave your belongings attended, etc. Be smart!

    In three sentences

    Although it is located in Detroit, MI the campus buildings are nice, they have all the amenities expected on any college campus, and there are a lot of students. This year they even build a new fitness center available for free to all students. It's a good school and a good campus.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I saw that the campus was gated off, so I feel like I will be safe here.

    Bang for the buck

    I was already offered a large scholarship, which will help a lot!

    Food and Dining

    Has food on campus, but there are also restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not planning on staying at school, but I have heard that the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I expect my freshman year to be rigorous. College is different than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am glad that I was accepted here, because I want to be a nurse and didn't want to go to a community college.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is definitely not that big, there are a few things to do, but not that many. We are definitely not a party school, I do not think there is a party every night like some other schools do.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many choices to choose from, when eating at the school. The food is not absolutely horrible, but it could definitely improve. There is not much to eat, when you are a vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen year, the dorms are not that good. Upper class man has the best dorms, because the rooms are bigger and one of the dorms have an oven where you can cook.

    Academic Rigor

    They are really strong on academics. Advisors/counselors keep check of your GPA, especially if your on an academic scholarship. Although, the school offers many different opportunities for students to get help. There is plenty of tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are particular programs that definitely takes you on a great path to success. The school has a great dental, nursing, medicine, engineering, and more.

    In three sentences

    It has a lot of great programs in the medical field. The school prepares you, for the field you want to go in. It is quite diverse environment at the school.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very Expensive

    Food and Dining

    I would not know since I am an off campus student

    Dorm Life

    I would not know since I am an off campus student

    Tips for prospective students

    Expensive but great faculty

    In three sentences

    I find that all the faculty/professors are helpful and personable to all students. They are all willing to give the educational support a student may need.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there is 24/7 public safety officers, break-ins to cars are known to happen. There were multiple times I, personally, felt threatened on or just outside campus. It is important to be aware of surroundings on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is one of the best aspects of this campus. I took the opportunity to join and then become president of one of the organizations. I learned a lot about budgeting time and money, working with others, making tough decisions for the good of the organization and working with leadership of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are three social sororities and three social fraternities I would strongly recommend because of their passion. Also, University Ministry leads many interesting groups especially Alternative Spring Break where students are provided an opportunity to learn about the underserved in our world. There are also clubs for all types of academics.

    Great for these types of students

    UDM is great for pre-professional students looking to prepare and excel before graduate school. UDM is also great for metro-Detroit students looking to commute to a University that will provide individual attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The oldest steam powered clock tower in the nation is located on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    UDM is very expensive but that is combatted by the hefty scholarships handed out and financial aid given.

    What to do for fun

    Go greek! Go on alternative spring break! Attend mass! Join a sports team!

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible quality and very unhealthy. Oftentimes there are no healthy options available for students. The hours and availability of food suppliers on campus is inconsistent and undependable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are outdated and dirty, typical of city life. Many student choose not to live on campus and therefore miss out on the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Student will be well prepared for professional schools or careers they choose. However, small class sizes and personable faculty allows students to succeed in undergraduate courses too.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you to get involved and reach out to other students and staff. There is so much more to learn in college then what is presented in lectures. Please take advantage of everything UDM has to offer.

    In three sentences

    The University of Detroit Mercy is a proud Catholic, Jesuit, and Mercy school. It stimulates students to grow intellectually, spiritually and socially. The smaller university provides more opportunities for students to stand out which makes it great for pre-professional students.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated and security is all around. For the most part, it is safe. If you're walking around late at night on campus, you can just call campus security and they will take you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, activities and volunteering at UDM. It's a great resume builder.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The stacks is where to go to study in the library. TDR is Titan Dining Room. The rock is painted by Greek Life every time there is an event occurring on campus. I love the Annual Midnight Bike Ride that occurs throughout Detroit.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price you pay for your education, UDM is a great school to receive it. The professors are great people to get to know and become friends with. Some of the professors that teach at UDM are some of the smartest people I know. One professor has been at UDM for 60 years and he is a great professor. If you have had Father Albright, then you will do well in any other class you have taken with him. Student who attend UDM become diverse and well-rounded students. Oh, cannot forget that the university just built a new fitness center that is pretty nice and amazing.

    What to do for fun

    School organizations, alternative spring breaks and volunteering. Being in Detroit is fun all around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Too much of it though will not be nice to your stomach. Some meals are better than others. It's campus food.

    Dorm Life

    I only stayed in the dorms for half of a semester. The freshman dorms are not so great, it has community bathrooms, not so stable internet and much more. They did put in a new dorm store that allows you to go get food and necessities. The quads are a lot nicer than the freshman dorm. They have two rooms joined by a bathroom. It's a lot better.

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of Detroit Mercy is very helpful financially when it comes to tuition. They offer scholarships that helps make it affordable for a great education. However, like every school, the financial aid (some staff) is a little difficult to work with. If you're expecting to attend a school that has a campus life or parties UDM is not the school. Campus life isn't very exciting and most students study instead of party. There are many extracurricular and volunteer opportunities on campus. The food on campus isn't anything to be crazy about, however, UDM recently installed a Subway and a Starbucks on campus. The campus is small, it would probably take about 10-15 minutes to walk from one end of campus to the other end. The entire campus is gated with two entrances that have security at the gate to allow visitors, students, faculty etc on campus. The school is dedicated to its mission statement. UDM offers several programs such as nursing program, 5 year PA program, 7 year dental program, Architecture and much more. UDM has so many great professional and graduate schools that students should look into and take into consideration.

    In three sentences

    University of Detroit Mercy is a dedicated, diverse and personable school. This school provides students with a private education that follows along with its mission statement. The professors take the time to learn about their students and will not only be their professor but their friend as well.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite what many people think about the city of Detroit, this school is safer than countless large Universities in Michigan. There is constant watch by detroit public safety. DPS will ride around campus during all hours on bikes or in their cars keeping a close watch. The biggest crime that occurs here is theft. It is very rare to hear of any physically abusive crimes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant rock that is repainted almost every week. The various clubs and Greek Life organizations will guard the rock through all hours of the night so that they have rights to repaint it.

    What to do for fun

    Many students utilize the brand new fitness center which includes an indoor track, two full size basketball courts, and workout equipment. There are various classes offered everyday like yoga and ab work. The main hangout place for students is the nearby cities of Royal Oak and Ferndale. Royal Oak is an upbeat town with strips of boutiques, restaurants, and fun for college students. There are parties held most weekends from the fraternities and sororities.

    Food and Dining

    University of Detroit Mercy has a main dining hall which serves buffet style food. Everyday they will have a fresh salad bar, fresh deli sandwich line, and pizza. The hot buffet food changes each meal. Next door to the dining hall is Subway, Starbucks, and the Loft. The loft serves hot cooked food such as chicken sandwiches, chicken strips, french fries, hamburgers, grilled cheese, and philly cheesesteaks. On campus, there is also a Simply To Go station inside the library, dining hall, and the fitness center. These stations have ready to go food like sandwiches, fruit cups, bagels, soup, drinks, snack bags, etc. for students on the go. The fitness center also has a small place called Tommy's which makes panini sandwiches and fresh smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    This school is in Detroit and has a small campus size; therefore, there a limited options for living. For freshman, they all live in Shiple hall. This is a co-ed dorm hall for all freshman with community bathrooms. The following years the options include the Quads or Holden Hall. There are for Quad halls, North, South, East, and West, and these all consist of two bedrooms connected by a full bathroom. It is suite style living. South Quad and East Quad have just recently been renovated. West Quad is unique because there is a full kitchen on the main floors for all occupants to use. Holden Hall is the last option and this is community style bathrooms. Many of the exchange students live in this hall, but it is cheaper than the Quads.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is well-known for many of its academic programs. It's hardest programs include Dentistry, Nursing, as well as other science majors like Physician's Assistants. They are also well known for their Business, Engineering, and Law schools. They offer a 5 year MBA program as well as a 5 year PA program. The teachers are always there to help and will provide their office hours to each student at the start of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing to consider are your top priorities for your college of choice. University of Detroit Mercy has countless scholarship opportunities, a small campus size with small class sizes, and it is a private institution. It is also a division 1 school that participates in the NCAA. They offer a wide range of D1 sports as well as club team sports.

    In three sentences

    This University truly lives up to its mission statement of serving the community in an urban context. Even with its small campus size, there are clubs, groups, and experiences for every type of person. With the small class sizes you get a very personal connection with each professor and they care about your success.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, it's Detroit, but UDM Law's campus is secure.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a Tiger's or Red Wing's game! Go ice-skating on Campus Martius! Walk the River Walk! Cross the border to Windsor, Ontario.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of food around the corner on Woodward and in the Renaissance Center.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at UDM law.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has the classes and professors who will prepare a student not only for the bar exam but also for being an ethical, successful attorney.

    Tips for prospective students

    - talk to the counselors; they have the answers - don't be afraid of UDM Law just because it's in Detroit; the city is in the early stages of a renaissance, and it is so exciting!

    In three sentences

    Of all of the schools I applied to, UDM Law made the application process the smoothest. They answered my questions, made me feel welcome, and got me into their classrooms and clinics before I even started class. I feel supported for success at UDM Law.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a public safety that patrols the parking lots and also gates that you need to come through and show your parking pass to be let onto campus. It is gated around the university also. You can sign up for a email program and text program to alert you of anything going on on campus and also off campus.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities and fraternities on campus. There are three fraternity houses off campus and the sororities do not have houses. Its a great way to get involved on campus and with others that go to your university.

    Clubs and Activities

    Each program has a club that will help students adjust to their new program and also you can talk to upper classmen about how to be better prepared for upcoming years.

    Great for these types of students

    The university is a great optition for students who know what program they want to be in because we have direct admit programs for students. Students who are prepared to learn and know their career route.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Detroit Mercy offers a great education but has a high tuition, for full time and part time students. However, they offer students generous scholarships that make it more affordable for these students. A chart with some of the scholarships offered to new students can be found on the universities website. I believe that the small classes and experienced teachers make UDM a better expereince for the price, and students are rewarded for their grades in high school along with their ACT scores with higher scholarships for their college career. You are also getting a smaller class size compared to a large university so the ratio of student to professor is lower at UDM.

    What to do for fun

    There are not many things to do right outside of the campus but on campus we have our college sports teams that you can be involved in or our brand new fitness center that has activites and classes that you can be envolved with. There are other actitives such as comedians coming to campus and student life puts on many different events throughout the year. Downtown Detroit, Royal Oak and Ferndale are just 10 minutes away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The universities food has been changing through my past years at the university. We got a brand new dining hall with more meal optitions and also a subway and coffee shop added to our cafe. The food is getting better and provides more optitions for any picky eaters.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other university has with freshman having one roomate and community bathrooms. This is a great opportunity as incoming freshman to meet others because you are with all of the freshman. As upper classmen you have the option to continue with the same style of dorming in one building or you can have a suitmate with a bathroom within your dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    The university is known for their turn around of professionally ready graduates. They prepare you for your boards and how to get a job when you finish your education. Through out my nursing education they have taught me a multiude of ways to prepare myself for both of these including a co-op program to help us get a job during school in our future job area. The classes have a lot of classwork along with work that needs to be done outside of the classroom. You have small class sizes compared to other universities so the professor student ratio is not large and you will never sit in a lecture hall with 400 plus students like at larger universities. This is great if you want to have more one on one time with your professor and I loved how my professors knew my name in every class that I attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing I did for my future is that I got into the direct admit program but I would encourage students to get a hold of what they want to do in the future. Use all of your assests that the university has for you whether that is for their education, or with social life.

    In three sentences

    Detroit Mercy is a very good nursing school. The professors care for their students and are advocates for their students future. It is a small campus in the heart of Detroit that is a beautiful gem to get to expereince.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school itself is very safe. Students however should not leave the university alone to walk around. The university itself is gated.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is prevalent at the University of Detroit Mercy. There are frat houses and sorority houses off campus. If one is interested in Greek Life then U of D is a good environment for it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations at University of Detroit, One organization is Campus Crusade for Christ. There are also activities that go on in the dorms which are put on by the Resident Assistants.

    Great for these types of students

    U of D is great for the traditional student. It is great for students aching for a private school. It is great for students who want advisors who have small advisor loads.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is located close to the suberbs of Detroit. It is a Catholic University. There are many traditions promoting people such as Martin Luther King Jr.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school but they do offer excellent financial aid. It would be best to apply for scholarships. If you are a grad student try to work on campus as a grad assistant to take off some of your tuition.

    What to do for fun

    You can take a cab or drive to Downtown Detroit. You can go to the casino. You can go to many of the fine dining or a sporting event.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. There is a Subway at the school. There are food stations at the library which is wonderful and comforting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful. The dorm room is very big. If you have a disability you can get a single room and pay the double room rate.

    Academic Rigor

    The school ranks up there with Michigan State so I have heard. The academics are very rigorous. People have said that the rigor of the academics have made their experience at University of Detroit one of the best experiences of their lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have financial aid together. Work on campus if you can. Live in the dorms if you can.

    In three sentences

    University of Detroit Mercy is a gem in Detroit, It is very safe and architecturally appealing. The students and staff are friendly.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe, even when I am getting out at late classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are truly dedicated to receiving the best education and are willing to put in the work to walk away with not only a degree but a full set of skills.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school but the one on one attention and dedication you get is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    I do not spend free time on campus, I am in graduate school.

    Food and Dining

    It can be difficult to find at first.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It can be a very intense work load but you really come away knowing the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they will take the time to get to know you back and they are going to be one of your best assets and resources for your success.

    In three sentences

    University of Detroit Mercy is dedicated to their students success. They take the time to know the students and help them achieve as much as they can. I really enjoy being a part of their school.