Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Dubuque Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International, military, small town.

    Tips for prospective students

    The sooner you apply, the more financial aid you are likely to receive.

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers many scholarships once you have been accepted. They offer them for GPA, and a really great one is for going to school overseas. I think that encourages more overseas students to enroll at UD.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the University of Dubuque. It makes you feel like you are at home away from home. The other students are very friendly. There is a great diversity of people here from all over the world. Another great thing about UD is that the professors don't see you as a number, they actually see you as a student and take the time to learn more about you and get to know you over the semester.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot here at the University of Dubuque, even though I have only been here one semester. The information that you learn over the course of a semester is about the same course load as high school, but it is in a semester. Although you learn this much in a semester, it doesn't feel like you are always bogged down with work.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is pretty much always on point at this school. they are truly here for your safety, but they can get overly crazy about the rules

    Greek Life

    small local fraternities and sororities and a few national fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    people who really want to focus on their education go here. they have a lot of sports here. we are a division 3 school. we have been doing great in basketball, football, soccer, and wrestling.

    What to do for fun

    you could party on campus, but good luck with our securtiy and ras that are on duty. i'd say just make close friends on campus find they activities they got going on there. also, we have and amazing recreational center. it has an indoor and outdoor track, great weight room, snack bar, and is clean!

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is pretty bad. it is has improved since last year. i heard a rumor that the performance arts center they are building will have a subway and another cafeteria. i would eat in our fast food area called the underground.

    Dorm Life

    the basic dorms where most people live in are donnell, casset, and aitchison. it's your basic dorms that you an extreme dislike for. i'd advise you to bring about two fans for summer purposes, because there is no air conditioning. one positive is there is the park village on campus apartments. they are really nice with 4 to 5 single bedrooms, a kitchen, dishwasher, and a living room.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your field that your looking for this school could be good or bad for you. the professional programs at ud is aviation, education program, and nursing. they also have a great health, wellness, recreation major which i am currently majoring in.

    Tips for prospective students

    one tip for going the university of dubuque that ud is a pretty expensive college. so, i would do your best to get scholarships or try and be an resident assistant early! being an ra gives you the benefits if free room and board, unlimited meals at the cafeteria, and you live in your own dorm without a roommate. you need to know that college is not high school anymore so you can make mistakes, but now you have to learn from your mistakes. understand that the people in the classes that have to do with your major will be your competition in the future. take it seriously!

    In three sentences

    the university of dubuque is a great place for focusing on your education. i know people there put their time and effort into their education, because it is a dry campus that is worried about the safety of their students. it is also a beautiful campus that has modern buildings and it is currently constructing a performance arts center.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it sounds like it will definitely be worth the money if you can afford it. i have talked to a few people in the computer graphics field and they say it is the best college/university around for computer graphics/interactive media, which is what i plan on going into.

    What to do for fun

    it sounds like there will be plenty of activities, and there are trips that you can go on like bowling or skiing. there are also trips to other states and countries were you go with the professors and learn about the places while having fun. they also have a few games to play in each residence hall like pool.

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafeteria and many other places where you can eat like the underground. if you don't like what they have in the cafeteria, there are many other options you can use to your advantage.

    Dorm Life

    it looks like dorm life won't be a big part of your life while on campus, but the rooms are decent sized and they do try to put you with someone of the same major so it sounds great to me.

    Academic Rigor

    it sounds to me like it will be a school that is academically concentrated. if you don't have good grades, your coaches and teachers will help you out as much as possible, and they have on-campus tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    check it out before making your decision.

    In three sentences

    i have visited the university of dubuque twice, and had a few family members go to the university of dubuque, and so far it has been great. i have met the professors who i will be learning from and everyone seems to have something interesting to say every time i visit.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe. i never have to worry about walking by myself at night. if i every felt uncomfortable or unsafe i could always count on the security officers to escort me to my car or building.

    Greek Life

    the greek life is growing. dubuque has both local and national fraternities and sororities. some of the fraternities here on campus are: athenaeans, mu sigma beta,phi beta sigma,omega psi phi, and the thirteeners. some sororities would include: delta phi sigma, gamma phi delta, lambda tau delta, zeta phi, and sigma lambda gamma from what i understand a lot more will be introduced.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of club on campus. they try to make it so that every major has some type of club. we also have choir, hip hop club, student and government. in addition we have many multicultural and religious organizations. with there being so many clubs and organizations there are always things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    the university of dubuque is a great place for those who are looking to expand their horizons both mentally and emotionally. it's perfect for students who want to focus more on academics rather than party life. this university is especially good for students who need one on one help ,whether it be with their professor or with one of the tutors.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is really expensive. they give you some scholarships to make up for it though, but your academic standings, involvement in the community, and leadership role plays a big part in getting those scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do unless you're in a sport, fraternity, sorority, or in a club/organizations. sometimes there are movie nights, game nights, or we go out to bowl.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is horrible! there's not much variety. however, there's a place called the underground( it's under the cafeteria) that serves all sorts of food. at the recreational center they serve more healthy food. as far as places to eat outside of school, there is a hardee's behind one of the school parking lots. there's also a buffalo wild wings, happy joe's pizza, subway, papa john's, mcdonald's, and taco bell located no more then ten minutes from the school.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are fun. there are about 35 residents per floor. the bathrooms and showers are always kept clean. you never have to worry about fighting over the toilet or showers. the walls are paper thin, so there's a possibility you might here the conversations of you next door neighbor. the residents assistants are extremely helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics aren't very challenging. they have an academic success center which provide you with tutors, so really there is no reason why one shouldn't pass a class. they provide you with all the necessary tools.

    Tips for prospective students

    be mindful of what you say and who you say it around. this is a small school, so things travel very fast.

    In three sentences

    i would give the university of dubuque 3 1/2 stars. this school definitely prepares student's for their career, but there it's not much of a party school. the university is also located in a small town, so there's not much to do;you kind of have to make your own fun.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is super nice! They will help you across campus if it is late out and you are scared to go alone!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student athletes! Since it is a small school, you are surrounded by athletes and people who are always trying to push each other to the next level!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a house in the middle of campus where an old man lives. He comes out every once in a while and is super nice! He's lived in that house forever!

    What to do for fun

    The school is right by the Mississippi River! There are plenty of paths and even when it gets hot out the beaches open up so you can hang out there for the day!

    Food and Dining

    The food service people are nothing but nice! They help you with anything you need and are very open to suggestions!

    Dorm Life

    Just keep your dorm door open and someone will be sure to say hi while walking by! Since it's a small school, you'll get to know people quicker too!

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously you are going to have more work in college but the teachers give you plenty of time to do your work! Some are also very lenient on extensions on deadlines!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor early! They will help you with just about everything and when it is time to pick your classes they are on top of it!

    In three sentences

    Since it is a small school, you are not just a number. The teachers care about you and actually know your name! It's is also a very tight knit community

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International, military, those who are used to a small town feel and want a home away from home

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and just visit the school. Once you visit, talk with some students to see what they think. You will understand right away that the UD community is one of the most friendly and welcoming communities.

    Bang for the buck

    UD really tries to give you as much financial aid they can. Many students get financial aid for their grades. Even if you're not a straight A student, you will still get money. They help as much as they can and understand college is expensive and they try to lighten the load on the money you will be spending.

    Am enjoying being here

    I cannot see myself anywhere else now. The UD family is a place where you will feel welcomed by everyone. It is a small, friendly, fun campus to be at with so many things to do and so many new people to meet. Our school is so diverse and thats what makes it such a great place to be at. So many people here want to see you succeed and will do so much to help you to make sure you do succeed. It is such a great community and it really is my second home.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn a lot of new things here. The gen. ed. classes may seem like classes you've taken in high school, but you will still learn something new in every single class you take. The work load is not too bad and if you are having trouble, the professors are more than willing to help you. I've only been there for a year and I have learned so much just within the basic classes. Once I get into my actually major, I know i will learn so much more!

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus saftey is great. I never feel uncomfortable walking back to my dorm at night, there is always security guards driving around patrolling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity or a club doing something everyday. There will always be something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get college done and not mess around while being here. Studies are most important.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Mississippi close by with a nice walk along. There is also a mall nearby and an ice rin.k

    Food and Dining

    Great viariety of food in the Caf and there is something for everyone if they don't like one thing or another.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are wonderful and clean. Not too many people and never loud.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes and major you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips are go to class everyday, get your homework done, and study as much as you can; there is never too much studying.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and staff are very helpful and supportive. The campus is safe and security is great. It has everything you would want in a small college.

  • 05/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small classrooms. who want one on one attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small school that will give you your moneys worth, then this is the school for you.

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like small towns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get more scholarship money. Make sure all financial aid is straightened out. College visit is a plus. Try to research the school as much as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like they can offer more here for as much as you are paying to go here.

    Did enjoy being here

    I actually hated being here. there were tons of things to do but i guess being from near a big city its kinda hard to cope with the small towness here.

    Did learn a lot

    UD is not a bad school i did find my professor and advisor very helpful. It was a decent education. They just were good for me in my medical studies.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There security staff is wonderful. They are all so polite and willing to help you out.

    Greek Life

    University of Dubuque offers a variety of clubs and activiities. Being a non traditional student and mother, I did not participate in them.

    Clubs and Activities

    University of Dubuque offers a variety of clubs and activiities. Being a non traditional student and mother, I did not participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a sports person, you will love University of Dubuque They have something sports related going on every week. There are some students as far away as California who has come to University of Dubuque on a sports scholarship.

    Bang for the buck

    University of Dubuque offers Seminary classes to those who want to study the seminary. They also offer Aviation. They are building another building where they will be focusing on the arts.

    What to do for fun

    As a non traditional student, Dubuque has a variety of different things for everyone to do. The college has sports, plays and clubs. But Dubuque has a variety of theaters both for movies and for plays, if you're old enough there are a variety of bars and two cascinos. There are several parks with pools and many shops to explore.

    Food and Dining

    Well, from what I hear from others, nobody cooks like mom. The Underground, Sylvia's and the cafeteria all serve quite a variety of foods. The cafeteria is set up where you can go to different bars to get your foods. Soup and Salad, Desserts and the long counter where you get your main entrees.

    Dorm Life

    From personal experience, I have no idea. From what I hear, if you want to study you need to get out of the dorm and go to the library where you can get some solitude so you can study. There are alot of parties and things going on that makes it hard to study.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are going to college, go with all your heart. Regardless if you are paying for it or if your parents are paying, you need to put your 110% effort into it. There are many who think that college is just an extension to high school. Play days are over with and you really have to work hard to get that degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a traditional student get involved in all the activities that the college has to offer. They offer many things for students to participate in . They have a variety of fraternaties and sports for those who are into the social spotlights. There are various clubs and organizations that the student can get involved in such as drama, hobbies and organizations that are geared towards their career choices.

    In three sentences

    University of Dubuque is a university which values both the traditional and non traditional students. They have an excellent learning center which they assist the individual with all their learning needs. The teachers are very helpful and they care for their students.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe in my first year of college and feel that they have a good security plan in place

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a lot to offer in terms of sports both for fun and on a more serious level. The offer anything form basketball, football, wrestling, track and field and many more

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the student who struggled in high school or at other colleges trying to find their academic niche it does a great job with helping a new student get acclimated to college and making that transition

    Bang for the buck

    I think it would be nice if the tuition and books were a little more affordable. I would like to see Dubuque move to a book rental options as now many other colleges are offering this would be one way they could help keep the student cost down. My overall experience with Dubuque has been good and I do love the smaller campus and class feel. I would recommend this school to my family and friends

    What to do for fun

    There were not as many fun activities to participate in as i had thought there would be

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria menu is pretty simple and limited and could use a make over for sure. More variety would be appreciated there were many days when the only thing that was available that looked appetizing was a salad and you know you can only eat so much salad. I was also disappointed to find out the student account is a use it or loose it meaning no refunds back for non used meals and they also do not allow you to carry them over to the next year. I think this should be changed tuition is expensive enough to loose out on your meal plan just due to non use really sucks

    Dorm Life

    I think overall the dorm's are pretty good I think they could use a little improvement in the bathroom and common areas maybe adding some vending or additional entertainment.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a priority with this University and they offer a lot to help make you as a student very successful being that it is a small campus you really do get a more one on one personal education

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour Dubuque before making your decision, I thought I was decided until I toured Dubuque the student learning center is very helpful and not all schools offer one with a full staff like Dubuque they really do put a lot of focus in the student success rate and I love that my first year was awesome

    In three sentences

    Overall very impressed with Dubuque. Love the Student learning center Love the small classes and small campus

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there is always a campus cop on duty, very low crime.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is huge, but they do host events and are involved in the UD community.

    Clubs and Activities

    UD has a lot of different clubs and they are always hosting different events.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are here for their education but also who like to have fun, go out on the weekends, and catch a game or two.

    Bang for the buck

    Since the school is a private school, it's a little pricey. Still apply for financial aid, the school is private, it has more money to give.

    What to do for fun

    Dubuque is a small city but there's always something going on. You can catch a local hockey game, football game, or just hang out by the river and relax. In the winter, you can go to the 2 ski resorts located nearby.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Hardees on campus, other than that, the Underground Cafe offers a variety of different foods and Sylvia's Coffee shop is always cooking something up.

    Dorm Life

    Lots going on, UD host annual parties and the greeks organize lots of fun events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help! The Academic Success Center is always open with free tutoring and your professors are more than willing to help and see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    UD is very diverse community with a welcoming feel. Smaller campus but right plave to be if you want or need extra help at times. The school has more of a strong family feel, close knit community.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always social events and clubs to join on campus

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than most, but still needs a little work.

    Dorm Life

    The are three dorms, Cassat, Donnel and Aitchison, that the freshman can live in. The rooms can either be a double or a single which depends on if you want a roommate or not. You have the necessities in the room except the bathroom is public for everybody on the floor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in all work and don't be late with anything.

    In three sentences

    At the beginning, I was very excited to see what a college class was like and how a college life was like. My first class was only 50 minutes which I thought was going to be easy, but found out I had a lot more coming when I had to read and study books all night. After my first semester I was feeling confident that I hung in there and I'm still going on with my second semester now.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security every where, cameras near important stuff. You're good to go.

    Greek Life

    The only thing that matters here. Everything else is way over shadowed by the hype the Greeks bring.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety of clubs. If you're not in sports; you have no reason to not be in clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Jocks, Flight students, Nurses, and kids looking for a place to go, but not looking for stressful and difficult classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The underground is a great place to eat food under the cafeteria. The Seminary houses are full of edgy kids who do all kinds of fun and entertaining activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It gives out quite a bit of aide. Most students aren't paying much. However if you're not poor you don't get very many scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    If you smoke marijuana you're set. If you like to drink, you're out of luck

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent upstairs and on occasion very good. The

    Dorm Life

    Very dull and boring. Nothing to do on the weekends except childish venues.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing is challenging unless you look for abstract classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to not have hard classes. The dorms aren't big, but they come with a microwave and fridge. Dont over pack, and dont dress to impress. Everyone just wheres jeans or shorts with a t shirt or hooded sweatshirt.

    In three sentences

    Good sense of community. Football is important as is track. Partying is very overrated here, but fraternities are the single silver lining.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security usually walks around campus and is very helpful for times when you lose your keys! They are friendly people.

    Clubs and Activities

    For as small as the school is, there are a whole lot of clubs & activities! No matter what you are into, there is most definitely a club here that suits your liking.

    Great for these types of students

    UD is really nice for students who are academically engaged. Also for athletes! Most of the students are athletes, so it's pretty cool.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any traditions held on campus, other than things that go on during homecoming week! There's a bunch of different things that go on. This past year we had a cool dance, a hypnotist, and a bunch of bake sales and all that during the week.

    Bang for the buck

    Although UD may seem a bit expensive, I think it's worth it. They usually can find you scholarships! Plus most of the facilities are new, so there is a lot of new equipment. It's a small campus so it doesn't take very long to get to class; great for winter!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many intramural sports to do! Everyone joins them! You just gather a team together & sign up for anything. There's volleyball, basketball, pickle ball, dodgeball, etc. It's always a good time. There are also student-founded activities very often. For example, dances and speakers.

    Food and Dining

    There is usually a variety in the cafeteria for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There's a salad bar, which is really nice. There is also a place called the Underground on campus, located below the cafeteria. This is where you can get food on the go! It's quite convenient for meals between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others but they, for the most part, are good. The rooms are a pretty decent size, especially if you & your roommate decide to bunk. The bathrooms are well-kept, thanks to the custodians.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult, but you learn to manage everything. You truly learn a lot if you apply yourself to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever need help, your professors are always available. The classes are small enough so that they will know you one-on-one. The athletic events are usually very fun.

    In three sentences

    UD is extremely helpful academically. The professors are genuine. The campus is spectacular.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    being with new friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    I feel the University of Dubuque is a great school. It offers so many chances to get involved and make yourself a better person and student.UD is a good school to attend and would recommend it to anyone.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security on campus and normally there is nothing to worry about, but of course there have been a few cases of theft and other minor things that are not at all fun. In general I think it's a pretty safe campus, and I like the people there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a heritage center for performing arts where students can work and attend events. There are bands, orchestras and artists coming to perform and it's a lovely opportunity for students to see and sometimes even meet these performers.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fraternities and sororities, as well as bands and clubs to join if you want to. There are choirs, photo clubs, movie clubs and a lot more. Campus is pretty close to the mall and the movies, so just head down there if you're bored!

    Food and Dining

    We have a lot of different options, but people with allergies have a hard time getting food that suits them. These options are not very healthy, so that could be improved, and the main cafeteria needs to improve a bit because a lot of students choose not to go there. But in general we have okay food and a few things to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a little different depending on what dorm you're living in, but if you have friends living with you it's gonna be great. Sometimes it can be loud (but what do you expect from teenagers?) and sometimes something can be broken and maybe not replaced. Considering it's a college dorm, it's pretty nice, and with your friends it's all nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect a lot out of their students and do all they can to help us meet their standards. The teachers are expected to do all they can to help the students succeed, and to my experience they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for scholarships like crazy, you probably hear this all the time but it's not cheap studying here (especially if you are planning to study aviation or computer graphics which are a bit more expensive). Otherwise it's not at all difficult to get into the school and what you need to prepare, the advisors are excellent at helping out. One thing is to try finding your future roommate on facebook and get to know each other a little.

    In three sentences

    A lovely school with a beautiful campus. University of Dubuque have great teachers and all the other students are nice people. I would want for the school to have some healthier food options and more food for people with allergies.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I did not like the cafeteria food,but they have many other good food options.

    Dorm Life

    I personally didn't like the regular dorms. There is no a/c which makes for an uncomfortable first few weeks. They aren't the nicest, but they are building new ones. The town houses and apartments are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors do give you a challenge, but nothing you can't handle. They so this to push you to actual try and not slack like most do in high school. They know your abilities and interests and always do hands on activities.

    In three sentences

    I would rate University of Dubuque a 9 out of 10, but with all of the construction and remodeling, it is becoming a much better campus. The professors are great and the are all very interested in students' needs.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If there is an activity that the university is promoting, go out and do it! It leads to a much more exciting experience instead of sitting around in your dorm room doing nothing. It can lead to new friendships and relationships that you would've never had before and you also won't get yourself into trouble if the school is promoting it.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two options for dining halls, which are the cafeteria or the Heritage Center. The cafe is set up in a buffet style, the only thing is the food isn't always the greatest served there; it's really hit or miss. As for the Heritage Center, they serve pizza, build your own sandwich, salads or the Mongolian grill. The thing is though, it gets very repetitive and that's why I go back and forth between both places given to us.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is absolutely fantastic from a personal standpoint. I say this because they give you a roommate with very similar traits to you and also when you get the chance to meet the people around you they might share common interests as well. It's nice because you have the opportunity to become great friends with somebody from across the country or world honestly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and courses here keep you busy. You of course have to knock your general education requirements out, but after that's all said and done you take your classes that are specifically designated to your major and they line you up for an internship if your achieve the guidelines given. I can say that I've been challenged while I've been here, but it's very manageable with good studious habits and communication with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    As for incoming classes, there are many tips to give them; but a big one I'd consider is just be yourself and have fun, just not too much fun. I say be yourself because this is the point in time where you begin to shape your life into what you want to be and it's only right you begin to figure yourself out for the future. Also while you're still young and have the opportunity, have fun while you can! You never get to see these years again, but don't have too much fun because you came here for a sole purpose and it's way too much money to waste.

    In three sentences

    Overall I don't have anything too negative to say about the University of Dubuque because it's been an easy transition and has a very homey feel to it. With it being a smaller campus it also makes school and classes easier to focus on because the professors don't have an outrageous number of kids to manage. The programs here are great to take and the staff and advisers really make it worthwhile being here.