Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Great Falls Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is excellent for academic and athletic students, especially for outdoorsy people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of homework, go to class, and ask for help when you need it. Because of the size of this school, it helps to get involved!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a bit pricey - after all, it's a private university - I believe the value of the education available to me here is worth the money. There are scholarships available for those that need it such as the UGF full tuition, Discovery Grant, Great-for-Great-Falls Scholarship, and a number of athletic scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school. It is a small school and a close knit-community. It is much larger than my high school, but still has that close and friendly feeling to it. The classes are small - usually between 20 and 30, often times less than that. I like having small classes because then I am more than a number; I am a student that the professors are willing to assist. I also like the activities made available to me through core of discovery: rafting, camping, hikes, snowshoeing, etc. It makes it easier to get to know people, have a good time, and take a break from schoolwork.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses available are outstanding! One of my favorite type of courses are called ILCs, which combine two different areas of study and show how they are interlinked and how the areas can affect you personally. Both my core classes and the classes for my major or intensely interesting. I've learned more than I ever thought I could.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, energetic, athletic, academic, courageous, outdoorsy, spirited, faith full, spiritual

    Tips for prospective students

    Show dedication to community and your peers. The school takes a great amount of pride in its sence of community.

    Bang for the buck

    The change from high school to college is very noticeable. The faculty at the school are really willing to help when ever needed. The small classes and close knit community make it a great environment to learn and have fun in!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to UGF. It being a small school you really get a chance to meet everyone on campus. The school hosts tons of fun events and there is always something going on.

    Am learning a lot

    The academic courses available at the University of Great Falls are outstanding. I have learned more in the first semester of school then in all four years of high school.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for everyone. This school does not have any specific type of students because the students here are all talented and it is a good mix of colors and diversity. All students are either good in sports, excel in academics, and awesome at theater but that does not matter because the programs at UGF overlaps one another enabling students to do one thing while doing another one.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend this school to everyone. If you are looking for a school with affordable tuition, small class sizes, awesome faculty, and fun social life, this school is the best match for you. You cannot go wrong with this school. I can guarantee that.

    Bang for the buck

    This school gave me many scholarships as well as to other students. The tuition is very cheap and it is affordable to everyone. University of Great Falls made it possible for students to graduate without any debt or debt less than the national average. The school financial aid is so easy to access because when the school gives you scholarships, there are no applications required.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here because it is a small school and everyone knows everyone. Freshmen lives in the same dorm which builds relationships that will last for the whole college years. The upperclassmen are so nice and kind and they are always there to help the freshmen out. They help us from tutoring with our home works to recommending classes that are fun to take.

    Am learning a lot

    University of Great Falls is an amazing school. The small class ratio between faculty to students makes it possible for students to connect to the teachers at anytime. Hard classes with small class size enables for everyone to learn everything without any hassle. Smaller class size is beneficial for me because I can easily ask my teachers with question that I am unclear about. I do not need to make any appointments or anything like many big schools out there.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I checked out the incident reports myself and in the last 5 years no assaults or rapes have occurred. The only crime is minor dorm or car theft, almost always done by students just taking advantage of other students who didn't lock up their stuff. You're safe on campus, even an night, and you are in Great Falls in general. The town dies down around 10, and while you might want to carry mace on you, the chances of you having to use it are slim.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist here

    Clubs and Activities

    Doesn't have enough liberal arts clubs, like a writing club or a reading club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to keep to themselves or to be social, you can have it either way. You won't be outcast for keeping to yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Heavily catholic - you will find fasting and Ash Wednesday and all that, but they aren't pushy about it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's certainly cheaper than other private schools, and costs half of the nearest private liberal arts school, but the programs are not vast, but it is the only place in Great Falls offering an English degree.

    What to do for fun

    Montana offers a lot of outdoor activities, even in winter. Otherwise you have a mall, bowling alley, movie theater, or bars. A lot of bars. Find activities that don't include drinking; it's a bit of a problem in Montana.

    Food and Dining

    I always bring my own lunch, and for good reason. The cafeteria here is not stellar and does not serve many healthy options, and the salad bar they do have is rather wilted. You're better off bringing your own if you want something healthy to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it three stars because I honestly can't say one way or the other since I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Your mileage will vary from teacher to teacher, but you will never be without homework help. Some teachers are easy, some are not, but work hard and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    In the winter, always bring layers of clothing. A lot of the buildings don't have adequate insulation and can be freezing at times in the winter. The first day of the spring semester in January, it was -53 with windchill, and my face nearly froze off outside and inside was almost as bad.

    In three sentences

    The University of Great Falls has a wonderful student-to-faculty ratio, for one. The campus is small but pleasant, with students to match. The library is a nice, quiet place to relax and study.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs on campus and all kinds of activities with holloween partys, movie nights, dances.

    Great for these types of students

    athlete's.

    Bang for the buck

    it depends on what you want from the school if your a real sports person its great.

    What to do for fun

    you can always got to the games, and join a club or two.

    Food and Dining

    not great.

    Dorm Life

    i live in some of the apartments there not that great.

    Academic Rigor

    great classes and teachers.

    In three sentences

    good classroom size. really into athletics. like living in a small town.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus and it has good security and you can feel safe walking across campus at night.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on the UGF campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to be involved in as well as activities and intramural sports to do. Plenty for everyone to find something that they are interested in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We now have a heated fountain in the middle of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school to go to but for the type of education and attention you get it seems worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to be involved in as well as activities for the students organized by the student counsel. Not to mention all the different things the town of Great Falls, MT has to offer with all of its history and outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in the dorms so I am not sure how they are are UGF.

    Academic Rigor

    They stress the importance of academics through everything especially the sports teams. They give homework and really push you to do your best. They have you take a good base of courses to make you more well rounded not only in your field of study but rather everything so as to better prepare you for anything you will face.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to jump right in and get involved in some clubs and activities. It is a great school that you really get the chance to know other students as well as get a great education. But be sure not to just sit on the side lines but rather get involved and enjoy all it has to offer.

    In three sentences

    It is a awesome small university where you can get to know other students and teachers get to know you personally and take an active interest in your goals and schooling. There are lots of activities to become involved with as well as plenty of academic support. It is a dedicated school for dedicated students to learn not only about their major but to learn important life lessons as well.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    appropriate

    Clubs and Activities

    something available for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    any!

    Bang for the buck

    appropriate

    What to do for fun

    movies, sports, skiing, snowboarding, sledding, hiking, biking, jogging

    Academic Rigor

    appropriate

    Tips for prospective students

    The University of Great Falls is a great college in a great location. You will be embraced here!

    In three sentences

    An great university with intelligent, innovative professors and staff, and an outstanding and diverse student body. The programs offered are progressive and ample. The facilities, however, are outdated and in dire need of updating.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never encountered trouble, sexual harassment, or a situation where I ever felt in danger.

    Greek Life

    None existent. There are no fraternities or sororities associated with the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of great clubs, but they often demand more attention than feasible if you want to be a good student. Personally, I found time to only commit to one and keep the commitments expected of me.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes. Non traditional, disabled, and gifted students beware!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a Catholic institute, you can find several quiet study / prayer areas throughout the campus. One of my favorite areas is the balcony above the chapel. Beautiful stained glass windows and a peaceful air surround you while studying.

    Bang for the buck

    As related to the academic rigor, I found that my first semester felt like a waste of money because I wasn't challenged, and I was reprimanded by one instructor for asking to be challenged. However, my second semester with classes focused in my liberal arts major has been much more challenging, and worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Continual inter-mural competitions - all different sports. Weekly kickboxing and zumba classes offered for free in the fitness center. Fitness center and all on campus sports events are included in the fees, so you can attend games for free or work out if you enjoy doing so. Routine movie nights. There is a variety of clubs focused on both majors and hobby activities. Hang out in the library - great for studying and kicking back. Bug the professors. If you're a good student, they don't mind if you come by with random questions just for fun.

    Food and Dining

    My medical issues include life-threatening food allergies, so I choose not to eat at the school. However, the coffee bar makes a mean latte that is actually affordable on a student budget.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know. Due to medical issues, I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a gifted student, I am frequently bored in core classes and hated the education program because it was too easy. However, the liberal arts side of the college focuses on student ability and challenges everyone to be their personal best, even if their best isn't necessary to make the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a campus visit. Speak to current students - not just the ones giving tours and entertaining you. Ask about hire rates for the program you're looking at going into.

    In three sentences

    UGF is a school with an amazing liberal arts program. It is also a small university where students matter to the professors, and relationships can easily be built with them. However, the administration has some issues, sometimes ignoring student problems, or the needs of special groups such as non-traditional, disabled, or gifted students.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It was conveyed to me by the staff that UGF is a very safe campus. They have policies and procedures set in place should some unfortunate happening take place.

    Greek Life

    I loved when my father, who has now passed away, would read us stories about the Trojan War and other Greek mythology.

    Clubs and Activities

    This will be my first year so I do not have any personal experience with UGF's Clubs and Activities.

    Great for these types of students

    UGF is great for all types of students!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This will be my first year so I do not have any personal experience with UGF's traditons.

    Bang for the buck

    I was completely surprised at how compassionate the staff and faculty was. The President sat down and spoke to me. I am truly in awe because of this visit to UGF.

    What to do for fun

    I am going to be a cheerleader and that is what I consider fun. I enjoy spending time with my sisters as they always have something interesting to offer to my life. I love getting tips of wisdome from a 6 and 7 year old. They make me laugh. I enjoy working out and being outside. It gives me a chance to clear my mind and feel better about myself.

    Food and Dining

    UGF's Food and Dining was under construction when we visited. Can't wait to see it and try the food when the campus opens up!

    Dorm Life

    I will not live in their dorms, but they did look nice and offer free laundry which should help new coming students some relief so that they don't have to constantly have change in their pockets.

    Academic Rigor

    Leadership Caring Integrity Most importantly the Courage to get a higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up when the going gets tough. UGF honestly and genuinely cares about all of its students. Have an open mind and listen to what others have to sugges.

    In three sentences

    I found the faculty and staff to be compassionate, understanding, encouraging and wonderful. I feel that they have my best interest at hand regarding my career, life and future endeavors. Their sincerity was very forthcoming.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a state fair that comes in the summer. If you plan on staying through the summer months the state fair is very fun to go to. During the winter months the ski areas are also an awesome place to go to.

    Food and Dining

    there are lots of fast food restaurants nearby if the food at school is not an option you want to choose.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very close to school so traveling to and from school will not be expensive. If its your first year of school i encourage everyone to stay in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are high here. The teachers are there to help you graduate and they focus more on the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to attend orientation before registering for classes so you know all about the school and its functions and programs.

    In three sentences

    Its a private college, more expensive but focuses on the students. The classes are much smaller so there is more one on one time with the students. When i attended orientation, it was a great experience because the staff will attend it with you so you get to know them better.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club. Go to all the home games. Many restaurant around the area to hang out with friends and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Great meals trough out the day. Just let them know what you would like of the menu and they will make it quick. Always an open place to eat without trying to wait for an empty table.

    Dorm Life

    Great experience. Helps you realize how it is living on your own without any help. Many activities going on with in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Hands on experience. Visual experience. Real Life experience on what to expect when going into your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved with the activities that are going on every day. Talk to your advisers because they will help you get trough school as easy as possible. Join a club to have the full college experience.

    In three sentences

    An amazing school with small class room sizes. Helpful teachers that would go the extra mile to help you pass. Many degree options to choose from.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theater, sports, outdoor activites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and prepare for cold weather if you aren't used to it.

    In three sentences

    Awesome campus. Always activities and events to get involved with. And a great student-teacher ratio, with most having open door office hours.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    School education there is well worth the money but it is very expensive and loans will not cover an entire degree

    What to do for fun

    I do not go to school on campus or even live in great falls so couldn't tell you :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to complete basic classes before enrolling for your major. Very expensive and you will max out loans and all before you even finish your degree.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and classes are great. I have learned so much since going here. A bit spendy though :(.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Even if you are not Catholic but are Christian this school allows for you to support your perspectives with proclamation of your morals and faith beliefs! That is frowned upon in most institutions that are not private and causes Christian students to be deprived of what should be the foundation of all life choices; that is our faith.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY!

    Food and Dining

    I can not rate the food and dining as I reside in a different town than the physical University.

    Dorm Life

    I am an off-campus, distance learning student so I have no knowledge of what the dorms are like.

    Academic Rigor

    Most simply put; standards are high and just!

    Tips for prospective students

    The tuition is costly so consideration of how much debt you want to accrue is vital! I have one semester left before I am supposed to graduate and it looks as though it is not going to happen because I have exhausted my loans and have no alternative funding source.

    In three sentences

    There are many words I could choose to describe my experience at UGF but there is not time nor the space to do so. So, I will simply say that all of those words would be nothing but of a positive nature! The majority of my professors have done everything in their power to ensure that we students receive a quality education while simultaneously taking into consideration our personal issues outside of school. I love that UGF is a Catholic college as it allows for me to learn the field of Criminal Justice while respecting the values and morals of the Catholic Church. I have and would recommend UGF to anyone starting their higher learning journey!

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not sure but I have hear great things.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure but I have hear great things.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure but I have hear great things.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, Religious, & Studious.

    Bang for the buck

    I am thankful for my room being close to the campus chapel.

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure but I have hear great things.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure but I have hear great things.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure but I have hear great things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Athletic & GPA for this school is very important.

    In three sentences

    I like quaint atmosphere of the campus life. Being a devout Catholic I feel secure with attending a Catholic college. I love being only three hours away from my home, which in MT is right down the road. :)

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see the security around. And with the dorms, only the students living in that dorm can enter, because when the doors are shut they are locked and only the students have keys to open them.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from!

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers tons of scholarships to many students. Not only are there many scholarships it is not very expensive, about 30,000 dollars a year. Also they are flexible with your financial needs and expenses.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs here to join that are fun. Also there is a class you are required to take as a freshman and they can take you on many field trips that are loaded with fun. Some of those activities are, floating the Missouri River, camping in the Glacier Park area, hiking, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great you order what you want and they make it right there for you. The only thing is that they don't stay open long enough at night.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing! You will meet so many new people. You have the option of living by yourself or to have a roommate(s). Also the perks of it is free laundry services.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes offered. The UGF has an awesome Biology and education program.

    In three sentences

    The University of Great Falls is a great school for students who want to attend a school that is small, where everyone knows everyone. We have about 1200 students enrolled and we have students from all over; including Germany, Brazil, Mexico, Ireland, and many more. This school is amazing and I encourage many students to apply to become part of our community and family.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although the school has many different and amazing opportunities they could use their money more wisely, like making the housing more comfortable since the athletes have to live in campus housing.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. My friends and I go to the Flamingo dance hall to go swing dancing there are many other nice things to do in the town of Great Falls. The University also provides the students many opportunities to be apart of fun stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The breakfasts are amazing in the cafeteria and the staff is very personable and nice to be around.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use a lot of work. For example my door handle unexpectedly locks what it is shut all the way and I have duck tape over my window to keep the draft form coming in my room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want out of your future school before you make a decision. Also don't be afraid to step outside of your comfort zone because that's how you learn how to accomplish great things. The quiet reserved ones never get remembered.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the University of Great Falls an eight because the professors are willing to work with the athletes. The majority of students are athletes so it is very important for the professors to be understanding with student athletes. This is also a private catholic college which provides student with many opportunities to stretch outside their box.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of campus security, and as for the other students everyone looks out for each other. i love UGF because it is like we are a big family.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the head of a firm in the Man Club. there are over 20 clubs at this school. there is a lot of variety and the school offers many different things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, scholars, biology majors.

    Bang for the buck

    the school can be kind of expansive your freshman year, but after that it gets cheaper each year for you. in the end i will end up graduating with less than $20,000 in student loans, however i still have to pay $1,200 out of pocket each year which makes it tough.

    What to do for fun

    Well, right now i play chess with my friend matt, i snowboard, play xbox, and i am on the wrestling team so i have a lot to do most of the time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe was recently remodeld, it is a great place to eat, the food is good, and there is a giant tv to watch on Sunday's. My personal favorite is the breakfast sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was and is awesome. it is so great having so many of your friends so close, because you will never get bored and you will never run out of people to help you on homework.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes school can be stressful, specially around finals time, but if you show up to class and at least attempt to do your homework your teachers will try to help you and give you some slack when it comes to tests, quizzes, homework, and extra credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students i would suggest having a job to pay for play money and also to pay for books. i would also suggest get some help from the academic center, if you have one, on taking notes and how to further better yourself in your chosen feild. thirdly, have all your school passwords and logins written down, including your financial aid.

    In three sentences

    The University of Great Falls, Montana, has great science, education, psychology, and criminal justice programs. This school is also very small, capping class sizes at 20 people, yet it still has very many successful clubs and sports programs. Even though this school is so small, it is still A.P.A. certified, so i would give it a 5 out of 5 stars.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around and it is very easy to find them if in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs that you can join at the beginning of every year.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a students who enjoys small class and a small community where everyone knows everyone, this is the place for you!

    What to do for fun

    There's always people your age, so there will always be opportunities for you to find something to do. There are also, movie theaters, bowling alleys, and various restaurants located on the main drag of the town.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center is located very close to the dorms and has very good, home-made food. The cooks are very pleasant and polite!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, so everyone pretty much knows everyone. So, if you like a small community of people your age, this is the place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but completely do-able. Like any other school, the difficulty and how much time needs to be spent on studying and homework all depends on your major. Like any other school, majors such as Biology tend to be little bit tougher than some of the other majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If this is a school you would like to attend, I recommend that you visit to check out the area and see if this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    It is a very tight-knit school and community with many opportunities to make new friends! The class sizes are small and it is very easy to talk to your teachers one on one. It is also very easy to get involved with your community and around the campus with varies activities happening every week.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there are activities sometimes, such as an intramural flag football or basketball game. The wellness center is always open and is always full of people. Off campus there is a movie theater, bowling alley, clubs, bars, and a trampoline place.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not play a sport, I would suggest getting involved with a club. A vast majority of students are athletes, and if you are not an athlete you will feel very left out.

    In three sentences

    The University of Great Falls is great for students that want a small school. Some professors are awesome, but others are boring and lousy. I would not suggest coming here if you do not party.