Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Hawaii Maui College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Maui Community College is great for students who like a laid-back environment. It is a small school, but has a lot to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest having a plan and sticking to it. If you are always second guessing yourself or changing your plan, you are just going to be left with last minute decisions. These decisions affect your future so spend time thinking about what you want to do. For one thing, do not let anyone interfere with your plan. Do not let the negativity of others affect you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the fact that I am going to college, but just the fact that I am still on Maui is not exciting to me. Since I grew up here, I want to get away, experience college life somewhere else. Here, it is so boring. I like being in college, but not here.

    Am learning a lot

    I did learn a lot during my first semester here, but I feel that the teaching could be improved. It seems like some of the teachers come to class, teach, and are waiting for it to be over with. The interaction with students are not as strong as it should be. I know this is not high school, but having a teacher that has a bit of an attitude toward their students, does not really help in a learning environment.

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i am willing to submit any information that i may be required to and also to dedicate myself to this college. i believe my money will be invested into a school that will benefit me with my future goals and help me make a smooth transition to a mainland university.

    Will enjoy being here

    i feel that i will definitely enjoy my time at maui community college. the scenery as well as campus are both beautiful and the beaches are only minutes away. it also allows me to become independent but know that im not far away from my relatives.

    Will learn a lot

    from studying this college, ive found it to be a great match to what im looking for. the classes are relatively small and there are many places on-campus that i can find help. after reading some reviews of instructors, i seen that they use different tools to help students understand the course.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being on Maui, the school is very close to the beach. You can go sunbathing or surfing depending on the waves. The college also offers dances and parties for certain occasions.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students provide lunch daily and offer different meals consistently. You will always have many dishes to choose from that taste delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot accurately rate dorm life because I don't live in the dorms. I have heard they are pretty nice and a decent place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the level of the class and the subject/teacher. I am currently in the nursing program and it is very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you sign up for a class, attend it. Don't waste money on classes that you don't end up going to. Take classes you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    It is a very culturally diverse atmosphere where you can meet people from all over the world. Most of the teachers are passionate about what they are teaching and there to help students when needed. This school is in a great location and has a great environment and look; it is very well kept.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Meh. There's not much going on in the way of student life.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food! The culinary academy is talented. But it's kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    They have dorms, but not on campus, and I don't stay there.

    Academic Rigor

    It's decent.

    In three sentences

    It's a great starter school. There are so many options here for changing your career path, and the school is growing every semester. They even have a new astronomy observatory on campus.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Arts, Automotive, IT and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find yourself a room to rent in a house in Kahului. Maui has a great bus station to get you to and from school for a reasonable price.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for paradise just a ittle but it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending UH Maui College. We have a beautiful campus, very open and inviting. They have numerous computer rooms for students use and a bookstore.

    Am learning a lot

    UH Maui College has the best teachers. They are all very involved and care about your education 100%. I have taken a Computer class, Human Services class and a few English classes and loved all of my instructors.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    nothing else

    What to do for fun

    i live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    just keep your grades up and stay in school.

    In three sentences

    i rate this college with two thumbs up. i get alot of infomation that i need from the college. this college is great for everybody that wants to go back to school no matter what's your age.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Maui has many OUTDOOR activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and be diligent!

    In three sentences

    I love the convenience of being able to attend school on the island that I reside. I love the convenience of the online classes that the college offers. I would love if night classes started at 7pm and if weekend classes would become available.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, and see security guards walking around all the time. As a small woman, I feel safe walking by myself around campus.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't a very wide variety, but they are all mostly student controlled which gives them plenty of wiggle room.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for people who want to walk/exercise and people who love hotter weather.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Even though its in Hawaii, you need to bring a sweater to class, especially the language building. The air conditioning is always blasting and in the smaller classrooms it gets cold fast.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is high, especially for non residents, but I feel like the education is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The school is right by the beach and across the street from the mall. Everything is within walking distance, and there is even a bus stop on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and the dining hall is conveniently located, but the prices are high.

    Dorm Life

    My roommates are awesome, and super nice. But we technically live in an apartment complex with a lot of little kids. Plus they charge for electricity.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your course load classes may seem harder, but the majority of the classes are fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books either early in the day or later, if you go in the middle of the day you will be waiting in line for at least an hour.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very friendly and easy to talk to. They are very understanding of student situations. The campus is beautiful and easy to navigate.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is well seen on campus. They patrol the campus morning, noon and night. They also have emergency call buttons throughout the school which helps me feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. Unfortunately, I am a mother and a wife, so my focus is caring for my family and doing well in my academic studies.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are wanting to immerse yourself in a multi-cultural environment, University of Hawaii, Maui College is the place to be. There is so much emphasis and respect for all cultures and that is something hard to find.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hawaiian culture is huge on campus, although I wouldn't call it unusual. It is definitely rare to see such historical culture on a college campus. They also have Okinawa, Filipino, and Keiki (children) events on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Eating at school is always a good bet, but for non-school days, eating at the lunch trucks in Kahului Harbor is cheap and good. Also, there are some good spots in the Queen Kaahumanu Center across the street from the University. As for me, I usually cook for my family at home.

    What to do for fun

    I like going to the beach. It's close no matter which beach you chose to go to that day, and its free!

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food at UHMC. They have an excellent culinary academy and it shows because food is delicious and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I am a full time student with a family size of four. My husband is the head of household so we live off campus. I cannot comment on dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year of nursing school tends to be more difficult because it is writing intensive. Having to learn so much new medical jargon on top of the patho-physiology can be difficult, but stick to it and it will all come together.

    Tips for prospective students

    While in lecture classes, be sure to ask plenty of questions to ensure you are understanding the content. Also, get plenty of sleep for this will help you retain more of the information taught during lectures.

    In three sentences

    I feel the education at the University of Hawaii Maui College is excellent. I enjoy how the instructors help promote learning the content by having us apply what we learn in simulation labs, as well as, field course work (i.e. community health fairs, assisted living facilities). The atmosphere is relaxed and the instructors encourage communication and feedback.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, hike and any activity known in Maui.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Don't do drugs. Have fun.

    In three sentences

    There is a wide range of types of people in terms of age and ethnicity. The teachers and instructors want you to succeed and care about your education. Fairly small school compared to other colleges, about 4000-5000 students.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The school doesn't offer much clubs as compared to other schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Relaxed students are most comfortable here.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the student lounge if you have time or visit the computer labs to finish homework.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans aren't required however they do have open cafes and food booths that are open to students and the public.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms however I've heard that it's not a very nice place to live. Because of lack of students, it is open to the public and this sometimes causes problems with the students.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are responsible for their own work and must complete their homework on their own time.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Don't procrastinate 2) Do your homework ASAP 3) Don't get sucked into the black hole called the Student Lounge 4) Balance your schedule 5) Attend class!

    In three sentences

    University of Hawaii at Maui College has a very open environment for students of all races, ages, and sexual orientations. It has a variety of computer labs and student learning centers for students with limited schedules. Tuition is also, generally, cheap compared to other schools and they offer financial aid for students in need.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    GET A GOOD INSTRUCTOR.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall, join intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program is unmatched. The food is really expensive, but it's worth it to eat at the cafe a few times during your career.

    Dorm Life

    -- I didn't live in the dorms, so I'm giving a safe rating.

    Academic Rigor

    I had harder classes in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early so you can get parking. It's very messy, parking-wise. Ask everyone you meet what instructor they recommend for a course taught by multiple people. There's always a good instructor, and it's worth it to make sure you always get a good one.

    In three sentences

    It's all about what teacher you get. Some of them are really good and should be teaching at a higher-end institution, and some seem uninformed on their subjects. The campus itself doesn't feel overcrowded by buildings, and the school is transitioning towards greener programs. The experience of going there was worth having.