Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Hawaii-West Oahu Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always around. They even have their own building. There are emergency buttons around the school if anything happens and there is a lot of light in the parking lot at night. Emergency buttons are also located in the parking lot as well as a stationed security guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are still getting started so there isn't a lot to offer. The school is willing to allow new clubs and encourages them. You might have trouble finding support from other students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that don't care what electives they take. The options are limited. Humanities and business majors would love this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is probably the best thing about the entire campus. It's huge. There are two floors and many rooms for private or group study. You can eat in there and relax as well as research. The librarian doesn't nag you to keep your voice down because of the soundproof rooms others can use to study. But if you yell, you will get in trouble. On top of the library, there is a huge mosaic that lights up at night. It's really a sight to see. The image is so huge that one could see it lit up from the freeway at night.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs but most are unorganized. The clubs are just getting started. There's also an xbox in the student lounge which is awesome. There are comfortable couches in the lounge and library for sleeping if you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. All of it is from their home-grown gardens. It is definitely not worth what they charge for it though. The interior of the cafe is really nice. You can't hear any of the T.V.s however.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available until 2018.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned a lot at this school. Only some professor rely too much on books. Though each teacher stresses it, the books are similar to their lectures. Learning was easy and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are being recruited here, do not fall into the you'll be a part of history trap. That's how they got me. They are new and they like to tell students they could be a part of the first years of the school. Be warned that West Oahu is a great school, it is at the edge of Kapolei and Waipahu. The nearest place to eat, besides their overpriced kitchen, is at the Kapolei mall. If you drive, it may not be that far. But if you're walking or catching the bus, it's pretty far still.

    In three sentences

    University of Hawaii at West Oahu is comfortable, low-stress, and considerate. All the teachers go the extra mile to make sure you get your homework done on time and learn as much as possible. As a new school, they are still lacking in clubs, sports, and college majors.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always speak to the person/head of department personally, get their name.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, but unorganized staff. Frustrating to deal with.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    feel safe at all times. security goes around on golf carts and is always watching the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of variety of clubs and activities. there isn't an education club currently on campus which i feel is important.

    Great for these types of students

    who live on the north or west side of oahu who don't want to drive all the way into town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every beginning of the semester they have a student welcome back event. free food and prizes.

    Food and Dining

    no food and dining available at this campus. however, there are food and dining options located right next to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    there aren't any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask for help. everyone working on campus is very friendly and more then happy to help. also, go to class everyday and work hard.

    In three sentences

    university of hawaii west oahu has been an outstanding experience. the teachers, faculty, and students are all warm and very friendly. i look forward to my next two years here.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    be involved with clubs and organization on campus.

    Food and Dining

    they do not have a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    they do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    their academic rigor is achievable. they set their academic rigor to where all students could be eligible to attend the university. there has not been one thought that this institution's academic rigor is challenging. all students are able to reach and maintain good academic status.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for a university that you know will be comfortable for you. a university that offers what your looking for is probably best to look into it. never doubt the university by its looks, meaning do more research on the institution to see whether it fits best of your interest or not. the best way to choose a university is the financial aid package they offer. the university that gives more financial aid and offers more to pay for college, than consider that institution. this all lead to my decision to choose this university.

    In three sentences

    west oahu is a warm, welcoming university to students. it offers classes that are minimum of 25 or less students. professors and students get to have that one-one relationship to understand the course.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because of the closeness of the campus, everyone feels a sense of security on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There have been an increase in clubs and one can almost find one that would meet their interests.

    Bang for the buck

    With all of the services that are available, students have access to more services than say your average research campus.

    Food and Dining

    Currently in the plans

    Dorm Life

    None at the moment, currently in the plans.

    Academic Rigor

    The curricula in all programs can get challenging but most of the faculty members are there for their students and are willing to assist. There are also tutors available for all students, so you hardly feel alone in your struggles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like most other campuses, it is good to go in with an open mind and don't be afraid to ask questions. The faculty and staff are all willing to help the students with their needs. Further, the clubs are all welcoming.

    In three sentences

    This is a great campus to attend. Recently converted to a 4 year campus, the faculty are very approachable and willing to help each student attend their academic success. In addition, although the campus life is still small there are clubs for may interests to form networks among majors and divisions.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    All types of local food that taste good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms yet

    In three sentences

    I have heard a lot of good things about this college and I plan to visit on tuesday. I also hear that there food is really good.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on the look out on almost everywhere around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are varieties of different clubs and activities that UH West Oahu offers.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into a more of a small campus with small amount of students, this campus is for you. Or if you are the type that is more interactive with students and professors, this will be very great for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our library has a a 100 feet glass tower that lights up the whole campus at night as it gives a little light show every so often and changes colors.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth every penny with all kinds of opportunities and that this campus offers.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things you could do at this campus for fun. If you're more of a person who spends their free time in a quiet place, the library is a very comfortable place to be. If you are more of an active person, you can join club or even interact with other students and play games at our big field.

    Food and Dining

    I personally give the food and dining 5 stars because the dining area is very beautiful. It has a comfortable vibe in the area with a very beautiful view out each windows. They offer varieties of different foods which is absolutely amazing. The chef from a T.V show in Hawaii is working as a chef at our cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is currently no dorms for this university.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficulty of challenges is will occur but as mentioned earlier, there are many people from professors, staff, and even students who are able to help which will help smooth things out along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    If students are ever worried, lost, or confused about anything dealing with school and/or campus, any staff member will be willing to help them out with care and support. If school work were to be difficult, every professor is willing to help one-on-one along with other staff members that are able to help. Do your best but remember you will not be alone.

    In three sentences

    The campus of University of Hawaii at West Oahu was considered an underdog of all the universities until the campus has transferred from one city to another. It has a beautiful campus for students to be able to work in. The staff is also incredibly friendly who keeps all the students in their care.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is patrolling 24/7 and there are posts set up to make emergency calls.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot. Still being developed.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and go home.

    Food and Dining

    Nice cafeteria area but fairly small. There is a cafe underconstruction.

    Dorm Life

    Nothing to offer. No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class but work is fairly easy if you keep up with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait until the campus is at least half way developed with dorms and sports.

    In three sentences

    The campus is still very new and under development. Has alot of up to date technology like and a nice library. Very limited majors/minors and no dorms or athletics.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. So far there has been no problems concerning the campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs at UH West Oahu. There are still clubs being formed!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a huge green great lawn. Its very relaxing to just enjoy the breeze and sit around. A few groups of students always play football or volleyball on the field.

    What to do for fun

    Sleep in the library!

    Food and Dining

    Must eat here! It's delicious. Be prepared to workout because you may get addicted. But there is a wait because they make one dish after another instead of combining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming available.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes it is hard to understand certain teachers and their lesson plan is unorganized. But the teachers are great and are willing to always help along with the tutoring system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should always try their best to attend all classes. Most classes only allow three unexcused absences.

    In three sentences

    The new Kapolei campus is very nice. Everyone is very friendly. The cafe has ono food.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    uh... well, this is one thing I believe they could work on. You barely see the security guards doing their JOB. I've seen them in the cafe buying food and sitting to eat to sitting at the computers in the library doing who-knows-what. It's kind of ridiculous but I know, from what student government have said, they're working on it. They better be...

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned before there are many clubs offered here, such as: Psych Club, Psi Chi Club, Poly Club, Investment Club, Anime Club, Glee Club, and so much more. Plus they hold awesome activities throughout the semester. We've had field day, health fairs, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to start off at an actual university at a rather low cost. Also this campus is great for students who work better with smaller classes. I think the largest class I had, included 35 students. Which is pretty awesome in cases where you need one on one time with the professors.

    Bang for the buck

    If we're talking about tuition, I'd say yes, you get the full potential of what you're paying for. It's one of the cheaper universities that I know of, and I think they're programs are fantastic. Our student Government has A LOT in store for the future and I can't wait to see how it rolls out.

    What to do for fun

    I am a freshman in college, majoring in Psychology so therefore I joined their Psych club. So far we've gone bowling and hiking and we also volunteered to help at the Great Aloha Run. :D Our campus has a vast variety of different clubs and I think it's great! (especially since this is West Oahu's first year being established)

    Food and Dining

    Hawaii's Grown Kitchen is the company who operates our dining facility and I have to say they have pros and cons that are affiliated with them. First off, they're food is kind of expensive for certain things and you might not get much. Secondly, they close at 3pm when there are still a whole bunch of students on campus till 8 or 9 pm. I think they could close at 5 or so.. However! They have some pretty good dishes that they offer and I'd grade their service an A+.

    Dorm Life

    As of right now, they don't have dorms. It's a brand new campus, so I don't think we should expect it any time soon. But, the great thing is, Parking is free till then.

    Academic Rigor

    West does not have a lot of possible majors here, but from what I hear, they're working on it. I, for one, am majoring in Psychology and they have a great Psychology program here. I'd recommend it to all future Psych majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say, make sure you know your major because West Oahu doesn't offer all majors for now. Also, even though they may not have your major, it's good to start your liberal arts here since this is a university and not just a community college.

    In three sentences

    I would give the current campus a B, only because I know that the student government has a lot in store for us students. Being that we're at a brand new campus, we shouldn't expect the best for the first year. In my opinion, they did really good for the first year.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security all around, on golf carts and bikes

    Clubs and Activities

    A student can join the many existing clubs or form their own.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a variety of ethnicities that attend this university and students travel from all parts of the island,because it is located in the opposite direction from traffic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Large area for tossing a frisbie or ball around

    Bang for the buck

    There are open markets & roadside veg/fruit vendors that grow their product in the agricultural area around the school campus.

    What to do for fun

    Beach, Swim, Surf & Sun. Bicycling around the Kapolei area.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants just 5-10 minutes away from the campus, or the dining area at school also offers a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small, so a student can talk to the professor on various assignments. It is vigorous depending on how many classes are taken and the degree that a student is working on.

    Tips for prospective students

    The location is an asset if students live on the Leeward side of the island of O'ahu, prospective students do not have to contend with sitting in 2 hours or more of traffic, sometimes longer if there is an accident, stalled vehicle or emergency on the freeway. I am not exaggerating when I say 2 hours and that is from Makakilo/Kapolei area to Manoa, Kapiolani CC or Honolulu CC, so altogether it would be 4 hours of traffic everyday.

    In three sentences

    The university's location is convenient, the classes are small and the teachers know all their students

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend using Rate My Professor when registering for classes, it helps to gain some insight about the teaching style of the professor you'd be taking

    In three sentences

    The campus was really nice and I loved the fact that the classes were not large. My first year experience was really good and I felt comfortable with my fellow students. Everyone on campus is extremely friendly.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Guards are always around if you're in need of help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join Psychology Club or go on The Hoot (Newspaper).

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for this University is affordable. they have an option of letting you have financial aide (FAFSA).

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs you can join and they create events for the club members to have fun and bond and interact with people.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is amazing. Whenever I have a long break, I always find myself buying food at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this time, but there will be in the later future.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are helpful when you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in a career of business or teaching this university is right for you. Be sure not to be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    We've recently moved to Kapolei and the school has been 100% improved. We finally have a bookstore. The UHWO staff and faculty are friendly and they help you get to where you need to be.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs here are great. i am currently in the investment club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this festival that we host every beginning of the school year called west fest!

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out at the student lounge and play some xbox on my free time. Also some students hang out at the great lawn and play games together/socialize.

    Food and Dining

    I love the dinning hall at this school, the colors are so vibrant. The food is also exquisite!

    Dorm Life

    Sadly my school does not have dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The school if very strict, but they are always willing to help you when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wake up with a great attitude and come to class. The university will help you with the rest.

    In three sentences

    The new University of hawaii - Manoa. My school makes me feel very renewed and wanting to learn everyday.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Outdoor activities such as hiking, surfing, stand-up paddling

    Food and Dining

    In terms of food and dining, I feel that the island of Oahu, in general, has a wide variety of food establishments. As a student who currently lives off-campus, I'd have to say that I'm more than satisfied with the various eateries throughout the island.

    Dorm Life

    As a current student who lives off-campus, I can't comment on the dorm life of UH- West Oahu.

    Academic Rigor

    Throughout the course of my enrollment at UH- West Oahu, I've been fortunate to receive a quality education at an affordable cost. Considering that majority of my classes have been online, I've been able to develop time management and interpersonal skills, both of which are crucial elements in a professional setting. Furthermore, because of the nature of my courses, I've been able to maintain additional responsibilities outside of my education.

    In three sentences

    University of Hawaii- West Oahu is a relatively small institution comprised of a mixture of working adults and newly admitted students from various high schools. One noteworthy factor is in regards to UH- West Oahu's offering of online courses, which many other educational facilities lack. UH- West Oahu's current offering of online courses provides students the flexibility to maintain their personal responsibilities while furthering their education.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have securities on campus, and especially the alert button for emergencies. The campus is extremely safe based on how nice the people are.

    Greek Life

    Does not pertain to this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs. Some that I know of is the Psychology Club, Sociology club, Math Club, Public and Administration Club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is a multicultural environment, one will get along just fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't have any that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    University of Hawai'i at West Oahu, the home of the Pueo, owl is a great school to attend. The students and professors are really friendly, and lenient. The administration are really helpful, but for the administration to process paper work for oneself is time consuming (so don't expect an update right away). This school is really clean, and still maturing for many more students to enroll, so it's not too late. Think about one's plans, one's future, and one's career, it is up to one to make better of one's self.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, have a college life. There is no such things as fraternities here on this campus. It is pretty much a do your own thing type of thing.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a grill that serves a good source of nutrition. It is really worth one's money.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at the University of Hawaii at West Oahu.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't stress too much, or procrastinate, and one will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all classes based on the professors schedule. Listen to professors lectures and ask questions when needed. Take cornell notes on specific key points. Show engagement in course to make time worthwhile.

    In three sentences

    New campus started on Kamehameha Highway of Spring 2013. Great for a small class environment. Professors are eager to help for better understanding.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. Security does patrols throughout the day, there are emergency buttons littered throughout the campus, the parking lot is well lit at night, and if all else fails one can dial the security office if any suspicious activity is going on.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs at West Oahu and most of them do a good job recruiting students and planning activities. If a desired club is not there, it is relatively easy to start a new club by seeing a student government member at the student lounge.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to sleep, the library has couches just for students to go and sleep. If you like to read, the library contains a vast array of books to choose from. There's also an Xbox in the student lounge that anyone is welcome to play.

    Bang for the buck

    When one gets there they will know that West Oahu is a new school because of its sheer size (very small). However the campus and classrooms are very unique and all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology. As the cheapest four-year university in Hawaii, West Oahu does provide a lot for the little students have to give.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of up and coming clubs and a lot of club days, so for fun one could join a club.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't any variety yet. There's only the cafe, but the cafe is very beautiful, spacious, and serves delicious, affordable food. All the food is prepared with organic ingredients from local farms and by students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is currently non-existent. Dorms are expected to come in a year or two.

    Academic Rigor

    The work at West Oahu is challenging, yet completely doable. Like all schools, there are some professors that may seem to give a lot of work, but most students are able to handle the challenges presented.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that this school is still in phase one or their three-phase plan. There are no dorms just yet so if you need to live here it could be costly to live in an apartment. Freshmen should get a peer mentor to help them along the way, they are very helpful and give good advice to incoming students.

    In three sentences

    UH West Oahu has excellent teachers, resources, and a beautiful campus. It is very affordable, but there aren't any sports as well as a diverse pool of majors to choose from. The faculty is extremely kind and helpful.

  • 07/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join. I am part of Campus Light for Christ and we meet on Mondays from 2 to 3pm. We share devotions, talk in small groups, worship and fellowship together. We are also planning volunteer works and participating in different events at school.

    What to do for fun

    There's a student lounge on campus. They have a video game console, television, and a microwave. I sometimes buy food from the cafe then go to the student lounge to watch come cartoons with some other students. They also have a piano in there.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafe is really good and there's many different options from fries and grilled cheese, to a plate of chicken. It's kind of pricey but you forget about the price when eating. They also do to go, so if it's almost class time and there's no time to sit and eat, it's okay to bring your food to class and munch on some lunch while in class.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms on campus at the moment. The campus its self looks like it's built in the middle of no where.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll get some hard classes, some easy but they are all classes. Want a good grade? Paying attention is very important. Take down due dates and TRY you're best not to procrastinate. Also, do your best and in your work, give all you've got. Professors can sometimes see how much effort goes into your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have more than two classes that are one right after another, wear something warm. Unless you like the coldness, All the classrooms are air conditioned. When staying in the AC for more than three hours, it starts to get cold. But have a tank top under those warm clothes because it gets hot outside of the classrooms.

    In three sentences

    It's a comfortable transition from high school to college because of the small classes and there's no dorms on campus yet. It is also a very clean school, especially since the campus is fairly new. Majority are locals, but there is a slight diversity of students from different parts of the island.