Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Hawaii at Hilo Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a different lifestyle than you may be used to. Before I could afford my first car, I walked everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    I am happy with the fact that my entire tuition cost for my undergrad education equals what some of my peers on the mainland pay each year.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is my favorite place

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much at UH Hilo, not only in my classes, but also about different cultures and lifestyles. I have many friends that are exchange students from other countries who have taught me so much about the world outside of what I had known.

  • 02/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have had the chance to meet many unique individuals from all around the world and have been able to learn their cultures. I have had an experience of a lifetime. This college is great for ALL types of people. This is a college with one of the most diverse amount of ethnicities in the world. I have met people from Europe, Asia, Australia, South America, the United States, and will continue meeting more people every semester. With such a unique environment and a vast amount of climates on this island it is great for so many people that want to experience the beauty and aloha that this island has to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy life-simple as that! Stress free is the way to be. Try your best not to procrastinate because procrastination is the thief of time. Live your life to the fullest and do everything you have always wanted to do. Be outgoing and live a lifestyle that will benefit you in the future! Show your appreciation for others. Be genuine and friendly and everything you work on do it to the best of your ability. Keep a smile on your face and be who you are.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is worth every penny. You will have an experince of a lifetime!

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only do I enjoy the beautiful campus but I also love the friendly environment that I am constantly surrounded by every day. I must say I live in the most extraordinary place in the world. Hawaii has it all. From luxurious beaches to snow at the top of the mountains, you can take with you everything that constantly surrounds you. It is a life changing experience that will change your view of life forever. This university is valuable because of its diverse surroundings, landscape, people, class availability, friendliness, cultures, and freedom. I wouldn't be the person that I am today If I had not been able to experience such an amazing University!

    Am learning a lot

    I love all of the information and the wide variety of classes that they offer here. I have gained knowledge and truly appreciate the information that my professors have passed on to me. I will take this wisdom and pass it on to every person that I meet along the way. I will share what I have learned and continue expanding my capability.

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    out going loud fun all kine people !

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to UH Hilo!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure on all the majors but i know my major is Bang for the buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    What's a better place to go to school then Hawaii?? i don't know because it is amazing here. The Big Island has so much to offer during your free time you'll never run out of things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a kinesiology and exercise major and the program her is good and getting better every semester. The Profs are good and challenging but they are always there for you if you need some extra help.

  • 06/04/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 14 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    the prefroming arts aera, and the theatre

    Tips for prospective students

    this school offers all great preforming arts classes, that i hopefully will attend

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's known for its Pharmacy program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're on top of deadlines and participate in orientation. Also meet with your advisors and get registration done early.

    Bang for the buck

    It's reasonable for in-state tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. The weather can be rainy, but it's cool temperature wise.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending on the teacher and subject, you learn many different things.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    beach. swim at the rivers. church.

    Food and Dining

    awesome. variety. great employees

    Dorm Life

    great friends, like family. build relationships. able to find more information about clubs

    Academic Rigor

    finding the right teacher who makes the class interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    meet new people and join clubs. expand your mind thinking because uh-hilo had alot to offer. hilo itself has alot to offer too; beaches, visiting active lava, etc.

    In three sentences

    university of hawaii at hilo has variety range of ethnic groups. its campus allows a hawaiian language program. is a highly-accredited nursing program

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food tastes good and you will be able to try a variety of foods in the cafeteria because they make foods from many different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm rooms are of a moderate size and should suit most people because there are a variety of dorms to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    i have not yet attended an actual college class but with my time in upward bound i went through a summer intensive program at uh hilo which was very helpful in math and science.

    In three sentences

    i have visited uh hilo many times through my participation in upward bound and i have enjoyed my time on uh hilo's campus.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hilo has been a safe community; however, recently, the crime-rate has been going up.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide range of activities for everyone. There are service clubs, career/major-oriented clubs (pre-med, sociology, business), dance (hip-hop and swing) and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus specializes in Marine Science, Astronomy, and Geology, due to its resources (island surrounded by ocean, Mauna Kea observatories, and variety of volcanic rock). This is also a great campus for those that love nature. Due to the lack of nightlife, you will want to spend most of your time going to the beach, hiking, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One odd tradition that the campus has is Oh Hell Week in which the university provides a week's worth of late night activities the week before final. I presume it is an opportunity for those that are on the brink of going crazy to relax a bit before going back to studying.

    Bang for the buck

    From fees, the university provides a lot of perks. There are discount plays, privilege to the new student life center and pool, and access to many student activities.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much of a nightlife in Hilo town. However, the student activities do provide a variety of activities (proms, dances, concerts, etc.) to keep you entertained. There are also many beaches, parks, etc. that you can visit within the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are excellent. There is a variety of choices, from the salad bar, to the deli, to the grill, and finally the entree and action station. The food is reasonably priced for the amount you get, however the drinks are rather expensive, so I would suggest stocking up at the 7-11 down the street.

    Dorm Life

    This review is with reserve. The current dorm life makes it difficult to get the exact dorm that you want. Based off of my experience, it can get rather loud during quiet hours. However, the university is currently in progress of building more dorms across the street, so that may change.

    Academic Rigor

    In the science department, the rigor of academics is high. As you reach the upper-division classes, the work-load becomes more intensive, most labs becoming writing intensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to many of the activities that the university has to offer. This will make your college experience thoroughly enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    The University of Hawaii at Hilo is currently in renovation, building up to attract the prospective student. Due to its diversity of student, the university provides the necessary tools for one to graduate as a well-rounded student. The university will continue to grow and become a competitor in the eyes of many future students.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't get me wrong there are security guards keeping watch, you just have to be careful at night for theft or any crazy-drug addicts waltzing the streets or campus at night. Be street smart, even a small friendly island has some bad people. Also some locals don't care too much for Haoles (foreigners), most of the time associated with very fair-skinned individuals. So stay with a group and watch out on the roads. Some drunk people in their cars tend to aim for Haoles, but don't get me wrong, mostly everyone in Hilo are laid back and friendly.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is any Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nice clubs, I recommend joining as many as you can.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is awesome for geological, pharmaceutical, or environmental enthusiasts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is two fish ponds above the Campus Center that hardly anyone knows of. Between the dorms and the Student Life Center (gym) there is a bridge with a heavily flowing river when in rains. If you sneak past the bridge there is also a nice little path/dirt road if you want to look closer at the river. There is a really cool Palm-Tree garden full of many species of palms behind the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a hard working student then it's worth it. If you are one of those crazy genius/prodigy/smart people, you might get bored.

    What to do for fun

    The gym has this great program called: Outdoor Adventures. That program takes students to different parts of the island every weekend, most of all its FREE. Lots of beaches and hikes to go to, and I recommend going to the National Volcano Park there-you'll love it. There's a pretty nice mall across from Target and Walmart. Also Downtown Hilo is always an up-and-happening place, especially during Wednesdays and Saturdays when the Farmers Market is open. I found so much cool and interesting things at that Farmers Market, even if you're just visiting Hilo, you should also visit there as well. There is a great snorkeling/diving beach called Richardson Beach Park, it's very beautiful and close to the school. If you are a college student in Hilo, bus rides are free as long as you have your student ID. Many historical sites to visit, and many natural-sites to view. There is an astrology center nearby the school called Imiloa Astronomy Center. On Mauna Kea there is also an observatory. Also there are Hoolaulea's (festivals) and the Merry Monarch Festivals to look forward to. :D

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE THE FOOD THERE! The cooks and staff working to prepare your meals really do care about your needs, and there is always a variety, and you can always put in a request for a certain food item you would like to have in the cafeteria. Others sometimes complain about how some food are prepared, but that is why there is a variety and an option to put in a request for later days. Meal Plan at this schools runs with flex points. You might want to look at food off campus as well I know there is a good Korean style, sushi shop, Subway, and if I remember correctly a Thai restaurant down the road.

    Dorm Life

    Well kept Dorms, safe atmosphere,roommates and RA will most likely be friendly. Just watch out for theft. There has been a lot of car-break ins, and Bicycle thefts by the dorms at night. Also time to time you might pass by a dorm that smells heavily of marijuana. Also at night around campus and all around the Big Island the lights are yellow, dimmed, and not very bright, so as to block light pollution from the observatory.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends what degree you are going for. Anything involving the Sciences at this school will have you on your toes. Beside the sciences, it's a cake walk.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are aiming for a geological, pharmaceutical, or any scientific majors, this school might be right for you. It has a small student ratio, so you have more time to visit professors if you need to discuss anything with them. Just to warn you Hilo is a very small town so make sure you have numerous hobbies/ activities to keep you occupied. Courses are realitively easy, just don't fall behind or skip classes, some professors grade heavy on class attendence. I recommend to check who your professor will be for any of your courses, because some of them can be pretty...bizarre. RateMyProfessor.com is a great site to check up on their information. Normal weather for the week is: rain,rain,rain,cloudy,rain,rain,rain. Sometimes during the dryer part of the season you'll get good sunshine. If you are physically active, the university has an awesome gym and many workout programs. They even have trips up to Mauna Kea every week, and to other parts of the island.

    In three sentences

    This school is moderate to high level difficulty. If you can keep your self occupied and active you won't go insane from the smallness of Hilo. Variety in food, culture, environment, and people. :D

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student will find something that interests them at UH Hilo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is located in the heart of the campus, which is symbolizes UH Hilo's commitment to learning.

    What to do for fun

    Hit the beach, climb the mountains, hunting, fishing, shopping

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you will do great!

    In three sentences

    University of Hawaii at Hilo is an awesome school for those who are looking to go somewhere that is moderate in size. The faculty are competent and the new science facility is amazing!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always activities from the Stusent Activities Center and there are weekend trips at the Student Life Center. There are plenty of clubs to join and many people to meet.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. The prices are higher than most people would like. There's only one food company providing food for the institution and that's Sodexo. They have little carts around the campus with food and drinks. The dining room gets filled really fast when high schoolers come over on field trips and especially during lunch time.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors give a lot of homework, some don't. You're expected to complete your homework before coming to class where discussion will take place on the homework. Always be one step ahead.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your FAFSA even if you think you don't qualify, you might be surprised. Always turn in your paperwork and homework on time. Call in to double-check the status on some things being processed. Get to know your instructors, they might give you an A just by being nice.

    In three sentences

    It's a medium-sized campus with the community college just down the road. Most of the faculty and staff have you in mind. The financial aid office is always willing to help you pay for school.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe, despite the occasional rash of vehicle thefts that happen in the parking lots from time to time. There are call boxes situated all throughout the campus that instantly put you in touch with security should an emergency arise.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs, but it's easy to start one up. All you need to do is get in touch with the student affairs office, reserve a room, and you're set.

    Great for these types of students

    If you prefer smaller classes, and professors that are actually sociable, then UHH is definitely for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a resident, so my tuition is pretty cheap. Students coming from other states might find UHH's tuition to be a little steeper than most public institutions, but it's well worth it for the experience.

    What to do for fun

    There's actually a lot you can do. This is Hawaii after all. If you're confined to the dorms, check out the Student Life Center. It's a full feature fitness center that's complete with a pool. All you need is to show a validated student id and you can work out to your heart's content. The Student Life Center also takes people out on excursions around the island. All you need to do is sign up.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty tasty. Food and dining is handled by Sodexo, and they enforce a strict policy of take all you like, eat all you take. Meaning, you can eat as much as you like while in the dining hall, but you aren't allowed to bring any food out with you.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I couldn't really tell you from experience, but my fellow students tell me that dorm life isn't without its ups and downs. In one of the dorms there is issues with the plumbing, so you need to be careful not to overflow the toilets.

    Academic Rigor

    You're expected to work hard. Simple as that.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're serious about your career choice, then you need to bring your A Game. UHH is a public institution, but that doesn't mean you can just kick back, party into the wee hours of the morning, and expect to get a passing grade from your professors. No, UHH values, above all else, the integrity and hard work of its students.

    In three sentences

    The University of Hawaii at Hilo is a great campus if you aren't into large class sizes. All of my professors take a vested interest in my academic development, providing assistance and encouragement. UHH truly gives you a college experience that you won't find anywhere else, and you won't soon forget.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking for a nice play/work/study area. There's people from all over the world so you'll learn new cultural ideas and such.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of my friends who are staying here going to a UC or Cal state are paying as much as i am but aren't getting to travel to paradise!!

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do. You can go to the beach one hour and then be hiking the next. There are many restaurants from different nationalities.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of restaurants 15-25 minutes walking distance.

    In three sentences

    Very nice little, university. Clean campus and hard classes. Well worth leaving California in my opinion. :)

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing has ever happened to me, but there have been a couple cases of theft.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of heritage clubs. Exm: Hawaiian and Samoan

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who enjoy the outdoors and don't mind or love the rain.

    What to do for fun

    This is an out door place. The life center offers a trip every weekend that includes transportation. It takes us to beaches, hikes, the astronomy center, and just about every nature spot available to the island. Beaches are non-the-less available within bike riding distance (10 minute bike ride).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is actually really good. There is quite a variety. This is where most students eat during lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is super nice. The only thing that can become difficult is getting around town for groceries if students don't have a car. There is however public transportation, but an additional charge would be applied per extra bag being carried.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is pretty much laid back, so as long as close contact is kept with professors, things can generally be worked out. If the expected work is done when required, academics here are smooth sailing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send all paperwork as soon as possible because the processing of it tends to take longer than necessary.

    In three sentences

    It is a place where everyone is friendly. Professors are always willing to help their students. The athletic programs however, lack support in general.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there when you need them. There are always. Caring people around if you need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost any sport you can think of except football. Wide range of clubs anyone could join.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to stay at home.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Hawaii resident and enrolled full time prices are relatively low.

    What to do for fun

    You go to the pool, the student life center has field trips every week, and you could join a large variety of sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food is batter then the last time I went to redlobster

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm, but the town has some nice places to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    A Lot of hard work, but it all pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind in class work. And always study for the next test.

    In three sentences

    UH Hilo is a very fast paced, education oriented, welcoming institution.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hit the beach Check out the student life center Check out places like : Kona, hapuna Beach Waipio valley, honokaa Rainbow falls , Hilo

    In three sentences

    UH Hilo has a very diverse campus where I see it with transfer/ exchange students and the local students. The majority on campus are the minorities, :) Small classes, where students are able to listen and focus well with their professor

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym and pool on campus or find a good snorkeling spot or go Honolii surf spot. If you want more action then you would want to make the trip to Kona side.

    Food and Dining

    Love going to the cafe to get lunch and I especially love munchies and going to the student life center to eat a hot dog and drink a smoothie...yum!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very convenient. Food in the dining hall is okay.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics I feel are very well. There are good professors that are very knowledgeable about the classes they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good school. If you don't care for athletics being the stars of the school, nothing to really do then you would like it here.

    In three sentences

    Very good place to concentrate on your studies. There's not much of a night life nor anything to really do in Hilo except study and homework. The study abroad opportunities are very good!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun, just going to the beach, going shopping in various places including the mall, and going to the movies. It will only be fun if you have a lot of friends and family here at Hilo.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very awesome. The servers are customer friendly and they always show the aloha love. The schools serves a variety of food at good price and outside food are somethings that you;ll always crave for.

    Dorm Life

    Dormitory life is fun and very interesting. Diverse people living in the same area. Different things to do with different people. It is very interesting how total different culture come across each other and mingle as if they were relatives.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are very accurate and helpful. There are activities that students join in to earn credits for class and learn something new about Hilo. There is a good chances of student passing due to one-on-one interaction with students and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is good to have friends and family out here because there are not much to activities to do. The good thing is that you can focus more on your studies.

    In three sentences

    University of Hawaii at Hilo is a very interesting school with many diversity of people. I chose University of Hawaii at Hilo because of the tuition rate and the weather here. I enjoy being in Hilo and hope to graduate soon and go on to a graduate school.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is close to many things, beach, dining, shopping, etc. There are many adventures to participate in also.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is worth it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty decent, actually.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small, you can get help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send in paperwork and transcripts early and follow up to make sure they have been received.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus & supportive & friendly staff. Great school.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Out doors activities, beach, hike, fish,

    Food and Dining

    Large Variety of local foods

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. Sciences are most challenging

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball

    Food and Dining

    Needs new food, same old stuff

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks if you dont like quietness

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard at all as long as you're not goofing around 24/7.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work first, play later.

    In three sentences

    UH-Hilo is the perfect school for me because it is away from home but still feels like home. Everyone on campus is friendly. The best part is probably the Hawaiian Studies program, which I am in.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have a couple questions about UHH. I have been accepted and I'm trying to decide whether to go here or to one of the main land colleges. HHM or UHP. I really am in love with Hilo's programs and goals. I love the small size, hands on learning, the enviornment etc. But I was wondering about the weather and the beaches. I love surfing and swimming and was wondering how far away the beach was? 10 minutes? an hour? Also, I have heard so many different view on the rain here at Hilo. Either its terrible and depressing, or its sunny and it rains at night so its not that bad. So coming from students who go here, could you please help me out! I dont mind rain. If its sunny thats wonderful but I don't like the misty always cloudy and raining type of rain. Any information about these two questions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much! =) If you can't reply on here. You can email me at odimauro@metmail.org Thanks soooo much

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You very rarely hear anything about assaults or thefts on the campus, but over the years I've attended, a number of cars have been stolen/vandalized in the past from the campus parking lot. Security has long since improved, and there are now regular patrols made throughout the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs already in existence, and easy to start a club if you have an idea for one. Also use of the Student Life Center is free to students with a valid student id, and they allow you to sign up for weekend excursions to various parts of the island FOR FREE.

    Great for these types of students

    Students desiring smaller class sizes, a culturally diverse student body, and just a general change from the fast paced hustle and bustle of the mainland.

    Bang for the buck

    Textbooks are a little steeply priced, but that's what Amazon is for. Just be sure you order your textbooks far enough in advance to give them time to ship over to the island. In state tuition is the cheapest I've ever seen, and out of state tuition isn't much worse. Also, UH Hilo offers a number of scholarships, and federal work study positions to students taking at least 6 credits.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on the campus. Whether it's a Board of Media Broadcasting sponsored event, a play or musical put on by the performing arts department, or just a simple fund raiser put on by one of the many clubs, you can always find something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is subpar at best. My work allows me to participate in the USDA Summer program, but for the most part I don't care for the food offered in the dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I can't really speak on the subject of dorm life. I can say from a technical perspective, the Internet at the dorms isn't the greatest and it might be a good idea to not count on having fast Internet for last minute assignment submissions late at night.

    Academic Rigor

    Speaking from the perspective of a Computer Science major, Professors aren't afraid to load you down with projects. You will cover a diverse array of topics, and may or may not have multiple midterms for each class throughout the course of a semester. As I've said before, come ready to work and you will be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come relaxed, but ready to work. Procrastination is not your friend as you will find yourself loaded down with projects, and studying for your various exams. Ultimately, UH Hilo is very low stress, but the work load assigned by Professors is on par with any other institution and can break you if you don't learn to manage your time.

    In three sentences

    UH Hilo is great for students desiring smaller class sizes. The campus is rich with culture and offers a diverse range of majors in both the Natural and Social Sciences. Not only that, but most of the faculty is really nice, and more than willing to help students be successful during their time at the University of Hawaii at Hilo and beyond.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Generally safe campus- only a few minor things here and there during the year. Just make sure to lock up your bikes, don't leave dorm room unlocked when you're gone, normal things like that, etc... There are emergency help buttons placed around campus in the case of an emergency, and security is constantly walking around the place. Hilo, the town, in general isn't a big crime place. Just stay smart at night, don't go running out in front of cars, or place yourself in dangerous situations and you'll be fine.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a different college experience than any other collge in the U.S. You're in one of the most diverse places in the U.S. (you'll meet people from literally all over the world), you'll learn about numerous cultures and backgrounds, have the chance to expand your taste buds beyond what they ever were, and have a great time exploring 11 out of the 13 climate zones in the world- all on this island! I was a rigorous, well-studied student before I came here, and was always stressed and worried about every single grade. I still am a very well-studied student and earn good grades in all classes, but I understand there are bigger and more important things in the world now. Also- it rains alot here over the winter and early spring times- so if you do not like rain at all (meaning, if you can't handle a full week of almost non-stop rain), this might not be the university for you. This university is for students who don't mind having nothing to do on the weekend- yet can also come up with activities to do and know how to have fun on their own.

    Bang for the buck

    As an out-of-state student, I paid quite a bit to come here- much more than it seems in-state students pay. But I think it is definitely worth it because the enviroment is so study-friendly and relaxing, it's difficult for me to become stressed here. I also like to take trips off campus to get away from the study enviroment, which helps too.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus during the week- there isn't too much of a party life on campus. The university provides and adventure/outing group every weekend that goes on various trips around the island to neat spots. The gym/rec/pool center is a nice place to go to during the weekend- for you will always find a lot of people working out or sitting by the pool. There are the occasional parties at the pool too, some parties that happen around campus maybe once to twice a month. Other than that, most of the 'parties' happen off campus at students' homes. You practically live in a tropical rainforest, though, so there are an unlimited amount of things to do around town, outside of town, and around the island. It's a great place to get out and explore nature!

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria is open during the day for breakfast and lunch- and provides ample choices for any sort of food preference, at a decent price. There are efforts to integrate locally grown foods into the menus, so that decreases the price and makes it healthier. For dinner, the other cafeteria is open (for only a few hours each night, so I suggest going early to get all the good food). I usually stick with just the fruits and veggies, for they look the freshest and I can trust where they come from most of the time. As with the other food- they provide a good vegetarian menu and sometimes have good cooked foods and fish. Other times, I'm not even sure what the food is nor where it came from. But you can usually find something to eat nevertheless.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't much of a dorm life on campus (there are no fraternities or sororities), which makes for a nice studying enviroment. Outside of the main school buildings, the dorm areas are pretty quite (most of the time) and are just a place for people to relax. Even on the weekends, you won't see a great deal of people out and about around the dorms nor on campus. They do provide fun weekly acitivities for those residing in the dorms, however, so I suggest trying those out once in a while.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor really depends on the level and type of class you take. Most of the general education classes require that you just take notes, pay attention, come to class, and put in maybe 30 minutes worth of studying every few days. In other words, some of them do not require too much time, energy, and brain power. But those classes do provide an interesting array of new knowledge and ideas- so try to make the class fun. Major required classes (i.e. organic chemistry, physics, calculus) actually require an ample amount of time and extra effort to excel in the class. It's not like high school where you can breeze by without doing the homework. In these classes, doing the homework, forming study groups, and spending a good (at least) 8-12 hours on work per week is normal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to meet lots of people from all around the world with different backgrounds, ideas, and beliefs from yours. Learn how to accept all of these people with open arms and be kind to everyone (including those you don't know, professors, and everyone around the campus and town).

    In three sentences

    A relax and easy-going campus that allows people of all backgrounds to come, mingle, and learn all there is to learn about the world and surrounding enviroment. It's a small campus that's easy to get around, with friendly people at every turn. The academics are starting to pick up and become better quality and rated programs.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Baseball

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. There are security guards constantly walking around, and there hasn't been any case where a student has been harmed in any way.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities or fraternities at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs that you can join. The only thing is that you kind of have to go searching for them. Sometimes clubs will post flyers to let you know when meetings are, and others you have to play it by ear.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is good for those who want to just focus on schoolwork and not really want to do any partying. If you like the rain this school is perfect because it rains just about everyday.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every first Wednesday of the month the student activities committee holds a raffle and such at the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good school, but they can be rather unorganized. They do seem to give good financial aid if you qualify. But everyone here is pretty nice so that's a big plus.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really much to do in Hilo or on campus. There's a mall just about 5 minutes away from campus, but it can be rather dead. The student activities committee does plan some sort of activity just about every week to keep students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias on campus and food at the cafeteria for boarders (where you eat if you're on a meal plan) isn't all that great but it's not completely bad either. The cafeteria at the Campus Center is pretty good but can be rather pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Some people aren't very considerate when it comes to others, such as some people would be talking really loud right outside your window. But for the most part dorm life is pretty nice and quiet. There aren't any crazy parties that go on in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work isn't really that hard. The professors are helpful and there's tutoring if needed. The only thing that gets difficult is the workload of all your classes combined.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school if you want a fairly peaceful environment to focus on studies.

    In three sentences

    Tuition isn't that bad compared to most colleges; it's the price for books are what can really empty your wallet. The professors are really nice and people here are friendly and willing to help one another. It's a fairly easy going college to attend with activities just about every week to keep students entertained.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not great at all.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hawaiian club Samoan Club Japanese Club Chinese club and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused students and students that take 18 credits or over

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Academic wise it is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Unless you have a vehicle to go to the beach , there is nothing to do for fun in Hilo everything is on the Kona side.but even then there are only beaches.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is crappy. The dining hall's ceiling is falling apart. At one time there were piece on the tables from the ceiling.

    Dorm Life

    There are termites in all the rooms and there are no blinds on the windows. They don't clean the community couch at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are excellent here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT come to this college. It does not have anything for you to do outside of school. The jobs are scarce on and off campus.

    In three sentences

    I rate University of Hawaii at Hilo a two for the work-study availability. I rate University of Hawaii at Hilo a nine for the academics. I rate University of Hawaii at hilo money spent wisely a ZERO because the college recently spent money on statue worth $700,00 when the bathrooms are falling apart, MOLD in the classroom.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Attending this college is a great way to experience a different culture and the classes are easy if you are willing to put in the work. Overall this is a ood school minus the weather.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very friendly environment but be careful because there are a few shady characters around.

    Greek Life

    very few fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is much cheaper than most public universities and the classes are smaller. It's like paying public school tuition for a private school education.

    What to do for fun

    Surf, swim, hike, road trip, clubbing

    Food and Dining

    Dorm dining room has good food but little variety. Downtown has a wide variety of good restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    You meet some awesome people but the dorm rooms are small and have mold growing in some places.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is as difficult as a large institution but the one on one with professors helps alot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stay in the dorms, there are much cheaper and more comfortable housing options off campus.

    In three sentences

    UH Hilo is an small school which means you get more one on one time with your professor. Most professors are very helpful while there are others who are difficult to work with. The university is in a small town so you will make friends fast and everything you need, from groceries to the airport, is right around the corner.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Relatively safe...

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    What to do for fun

    - join clubs and get involved

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, but can be a bit expensive. I suggest getting a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms are being built, it should be better than the current dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very limited in their majors because it is a liberal college. But overall good quality education

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun in college, but don't forget to study...

    In three sentences

    If you want to go to a university in a small town then the UH Hilo is the college for you. The town of Hilo, Hawaii is VERY small town and has very relaxed atmosphere.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The meal plan comes with the housing at University of Hawaii at Hilo.

    Dorm Life

    I personally never been to the dorms at University of Hawaii at Hilo but they are very new so they must be very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not gone to classes at University Hawaii at Hilo yet but I heard great things about it.

    In three sentences

    I think the University of Hawaii at Hilo is a great school for local kids to go to after high school because it is not to far away from home. I also think University of Hawaii at Hilo is a great school because they offer a degree in something I like Marine Biology. Lastly, I think University of Hawaii at Hilo is a great school because I have been to Hilo and it has a home feeling to it without actually being home.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see them making their rounds, and I know there's a number one can call. I've never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    I haven't noticed any, but then again, I also haven't looked

    Clubs and Activities

    Well I've taken up Jujitsu, and Swing Dance, there's tons of workout groups, and cultural groups, and a great Student Activities Council who has the beat on all activities around campus, (and does events for prizes like gift cards and things you may want in your apartment). With Hilo being as tight knit as it is, if you have a hobby, chances are somebody knows when/where you can find a group.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a relaxed environment where they get to experience being a minority (I don't think there actually is a majority at the campus, it's so mixed!). Meet people from New Zealand, Europe, Japan, Korea, and of course the Pacific Islands.

    Bang for the buck

    For experience with cultures -both national and international- its wonderful! If you're looking for a chance to learn in paradise it's way less expensive than any vacation- especially for the length of time you're here! Is it a super tough school where you're locked in your room studying? You know, part of that can be your major, part time management. I personally don't think so, but I'm very careful with my time.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor Edventure is an outstanding program where they take you for free to various places around the island with other college students. Kayaking, Volcano National Park, Green Sand Beaches, Snorkeling, Hiking, Maunu Kea, and if you get to know some locals (which you will), the entire island opens up to you.

    Food and Dining

    Affordable, yes, does it cover quite everything? Well the 7-day plan I had I still needed a couple hundred more Flexpoints to have a meal called lunch. Sodexo food is great and I will probably buy the food when I'm running between classes, but I'm going to utilize the local grocery stores and my fridge this semester. The all-you-can-eat meals are great at the beginning of the week, but are consistent, and aren't always the best, especially as the week goes on.

    Dorm Life

    I think they are great! They provide basic furniture, bathroom, haven't run out of hot water yet. If you're in apartment style- know to bring your own dishes/utensils/cookware/ect. And know that with a mild climate air conditioning consists of open or closed windows. They can be loud at night, whether it's from the neighbor's music, or the Koki frogs who like to sing all night.

    Academic Rigor

    As with all colleges there are good professors, bad professors, and ones who you wonder why they are there. Rate my professor .com is a wonderful tool, also utilizing your fellow students. If you balance your time and homework you can have a great social life and get your homework done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hawaii has a very easy going culture, which can make getting technical information a challenge. That said they are super friendly, so get a hold of an office or exchange emails and don't expect an immediate response. Hold your end up on the due dates, and don't try and save it all for last minute.

    In three sentences

    The fact is, it's Hawaii. If you want to learn about the culture of an outstanding native people with other students from around the world this is a wonderful place to come! If there is interest in the outdoors you have everything from snorkeling to cliff diving to hiking, 9 climate zones and a volcano there's more than enough to explore.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, there are many security officers on campus and they patrol all day and all night long. You can even call them to escort you to your dorm if you do not feel safe walking around at night by yourself or if you are drunk.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that everyone can take part in. School spirit and including everyone is a big thing on this campus. All staff members are very nice and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    There are so many different student serves and clubs and activities to do on campus. There are even health services on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small botanical garden on campus that you can walk through whenever you want, it is very pretty. There are lounges for each dorm that anyone can go into to watch tv, play some pool or some ping pong, to just hang out or just to grab a quick snack from the vending machines.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm guessing this section is about on campus jobs, there are many con campus jobs and you can go to the campus career center is ask for help when applying for these jobs or to just find out more information.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student life center, they have a pool, a sand volleyball court, a basketball court, a gym that have fitness classes and punching bags. The student life center also takes students out on trips around this beautiful island. They take students to the many different beaches and even to the volcano (which is safe because the volcano is not active).

    Food and Dining

    The food is of good quality. There is a dinning hall and a cafe on campus. The cafe is not apart of the meal plan, so you will have to pay with money but the food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is decent. Students can be very loud at night at times and the dorms can get very hot, I recommend bringing a fan with you to college. The dorms are not that cleans so I also recommend bringing cleaning supplies, a small vacuums and a broom with you.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very good about education. The teachers will not hand hold you. Some teachers are hard to understand while others are great teachers. You have to know your learning style and you must not be afraid to talk to your teachers when you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get educated about campus and about the different major and minor degrees that this school has to offer. Get educated about the dorms and about the meal plan. Also get educated about Hilo town because you will need a car to go places, the bus doesn't go everywhere.

    In three sentences

    The University of Hawai'i at Hilo is very diverse, there are so many people from so many different places. The class sizes are not too large. There are also many different student services around campus.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None, but that's OK. The students are here to study hard but also have fun ,even without greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to pique your interest

    Great for these types of students

    Those who can manage their academic schedules and be proactive about assignments being due, studying without procrastinating, etc. Lots of clubs to pique your interest...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The late night munchies are awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    The biggest expense is travelling home and back. But if you plan well ahead, and you watch your 'pennies' , you will be ok. There are no prima donnas here, and everyone is very kind.

    What to do for fun

    You're in Hawaii... there are lots of organized activities on weekends!

    Food and Dining

    Outstanding ! Lots of healthy options around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Fun... not a country club atmosphere, but all of the necessary amenities. Everyone makes you feel welcome.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not Harvard or Stanford, but they still expect you to give 100%, You learn a lot in the small classes. You will study hard, but you will also have great leisure opportunities as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think it's all fun and games... just because you're coming to Hawaii. BUT -- if you do choose UH Hilo , you won't be disappointed. It's a very small school... less than 5,000 Undergraduate students. You can't 'hide' in a small school...everybody knows everybody... this is an awesome home away from home.

    In three sentences

    UH Hilo made me feel welcome from the very moment I landed via airplane in Hilo. The orientation made me (and my mom) feel safe and welcome, and we both KNEW I was at the perfect college for me. The students and faculty are all wonderful... in the true spirit of 'Ohana'.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hawaii is gorgeous. What more is there to say?

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure about food on campus, but I do know that Hawaii's food can be pretty expensive if it comes from the mainland. So if you like your milk, you better get a job!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were really cheap but very small.

    Academic Rigor

    The school didn't seem as rigorous as I thought it would be, but that's not saying you can't have a successful college career!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about the application process.

    In three sentences

    The school was very easy to get in to. I was surprised by how quick the application took to complete. I have never been to the campus though.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school drives students to the beach and to waterfalls. They do other crazy activities too. There are ping pong and pool tables all over campus and the Student Activities Counsel are always hosting awesome activities.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo provides the food here and it is really fatty and gets bland. Every thursday is special dinner night and the dinners are sometimes incredible, but health wise it is really bad for you.

    Dorm Life

    All the different housing units are close so you can be close to all your friends. The new dorms that were just built this year are really nice, and all the other dorms are great too.

    Academic Rigor

    The marine program here is difficult but you learn so much. classes are average in difficulty/

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for business and marine students. If your preferred major isn't specialized at this school then come just for to get your generals done, because it's a lot of fun here.

    In three sentences

    The tuition rate of University of Hawaii at Hilo is great, and I love how it is so small. I love being so close to the ocean too. The business program is great and the professors teaching really know what they are talking about.