Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Houston-Clear Lake Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security located on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    new veterans club.

    What to do for fun

    get involved in clubs.

    Food and Dining

    amenities are nice.

    Dorm Life

    housing is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    work hard and you will achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply. attend class. graduate.

    In three sentences

    great school. great facilities. great resources.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of University of Houston Clear Lake has a great campus police. I am constantly getting email updates of what is going on at the campus and alerts. They also provide police escorts throughout the day if you need to be walked to your car.

    Greek Life

    The University has only one social and service sorority on campus, which I happen to have helped start. Delta Xi Nu Multicultural Sorority, Inc. was founded at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas in 1997. While attending Sam Houston State University for my undergraduate studies I joined Delta Xi Nu there. After starting graduate school at the University of Houston Clear Lake and seeing the lack of Greek life I was able to find five distinguished and dedicated young women who took the journey of becoming sisters of Delta Xi Nu and established the colony on January 29, 2012. Today Delta Xi Nu is thriving, as the women continue to be recognized as a new organization and help the local community through endless service activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The University of Houston has endless amounts of clubs and organizations, and has recently added its first social and service sorority, Delta Xi Nu Multicultural Sorority, Inc. Other organizations include the National Student Leadership Society, teacher focused organizations, criminal justice focused organizations, computer science organizations as well as many more.

    Great for these types of students

    The University of Houston Clear Lake has a great foreign exchange program and I have seen many students prosper in their education through this program. Students who are away from their family come together and bond creating a home away from home with local students and faculty as we walk together in their journey as well as our own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unique thing about the University of Houston Clear Lake is the fact that it is also a wild life habitat which is home to alligators, wild cats, deer, spiders and many other creatures and animals. It has a beautiful little lake that faculty, staff and students can visit before, between or after classes. The University of Houston Clear Lake also offers a beautiful nature trail which is great for afternoon walks.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty and staff truly are a great help at the University of Houston Clear Lake. Before attending the University of Houston Clear Lake, I started my graduate career at the University of Texas at Arlington... while at the University of Texas at Arlington, I had little contact and interaction with faculty, staff and other school mates. This all changed when I transferred to the University of Houston Clear Lake as I have made life long friends through the helpful faculty, staff and school mates.

    What to do for fun

    Because the University of Houston is a commuter school, many students find it hard to become super involved in the many fun activities the university has to offer. Recently though, the University of Houston added its first and only Social and Service Sorority, Delta Xi Nu Multicultural Sorority, Inc. which is sure to bring even more to the campus as it is already thriving with women of high standards who reach out to the community through different service activities.

    Food and Dining

    The University of Houston Clear Lake is located off of Bay Area Blvd. which is a main street filled with local and chain restaurants. It is perfect and super close to travel to for a break in between classes. The university also has a cafeteria which serves simple fast foods such as pizza and sandwiches. They also have a small cafe located on the other side of campus.

    Dorm Life

    The University of Houston Clear Lake is currently a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    As a graduate student at the University of Houston Clear Lake, I have grown to appreciate the high standards set by individual professors. Currently I have a graduate professor who teaches his students as if we were in a PH.D. level course which is very appreciated as most students working on their thesis are currently working to go on to obtaining a PH.D. The teachers push you and expect your best and in the end you will definitely appreciate it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although there are many student organizations, the University of Houston Clear Lake was not necessarily designed to be exactly like other schools, where students live on campus and can walk to and from organization meetings. But just because the school is unique as a commuting school do not let that hold you back from being active and involved in student organizations as the organizations the school does provide are extremely beneficial.

    In three sentences

    The University of Houston is a relatively small campus, which is great when it comes to having more personal relationships with other students and teachers. Although small, it is currently growing at a rapid pace and the school administration is working diligently to provide great resources for current and future students.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police officers and patrol units. Well lit parking areas and surveillance.

    Clubs and Activities

    Got involved in community outreach programs like FIEL and HACER, and Computer Science.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfers, Working students, Full time students, part timers, and military veterans.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for the education.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and extra curricular activities like on campus movies for less than six dollars if you can wait a week after it premieres on the big screen!

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining at the food court and bookstore for snacks.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses I have taken there have been tough but I had to complete them for my major. Just don't put off things until that last day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what your degree will be early. Double check that your filled out all your paperwork and submitted your application for financial aid or scholarships before April.

    In three sentences

    It is close to home and great faculty. The University has plenty of partnerships and internships available with local companies like Boeing, Lockheed Martin, and NASA for technology and science. I also think it was a fantastic Anthropology program.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UHCL is ranked one of the safest campuses in the entire state of Texas. They also have their own police force.

    Greek Life

    None other than academic-oriented fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of options to join social clubs or activities are available. And the groups always have events going on at school including give-aways, such as free coffee an snacks on exam days.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who work full-time; commuters; full time students; grad students; undergrad students (junior and senior years only).

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of this university is SUPER affordable which was perfect for me because I work full time and am a single mother. And it is nationally accredited. I get all the stuff I would get from the main University of Houston campus but in a smaller, safer, prettier package!

    What to do for fun

    The nature trail is fun and the whole campus is so quiet and beautiful you can just sit out by the ponds and watch the deer that hang out all over.

    Food and Dining

    It is a small campus, but there is a cafe in each building with decent food at low prices, though slow service at times, and there are several vending machines on every floor. Also, restaurants and fast food are a short drive away.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus so I cannot personally attest to the housing other than to say there are plenty of resident housing apartments located within walking distance from school and patrolled by campus police.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework can be very challenging. But the professors are all so personable and eager to help you if you just ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your classes fill up during online registration, see your advisor. They are all so nice and can manually register you for a class you need even if the online registration tool says class is full. Take courses that are tougher such as statistics or finance online and use the free tutoring for help when needed; this ensures you get the help you need, but can then take your exams as open-book with your notes. I found that helpful. Please note that UHCL only offers 3rd and 4th years for undergrads so do your first 2 years at a local community college and transfer--it saves you tons of money as opposed to a full 4-year institution. They offer full graduate degrees and teacher certification as well.

    In three sentences

    The University of Houston Clear Lake (UHCL) campus is consistently ranked one of the safest in the state and it is beautiful, tucked away on a nature reserve though close enough to the big city conveniences of Houston. The quality of teachers and academics here rivals any you can find at a large or private institution, yet the small size means you get personal, focused attention. All of this combined with the affordable tuition and flexible classes makes UHCL an excellent choice for pursuing your undergraduate or graduate degree(s).

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat in campus or around campus for cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments close by linked to the unviersity to live at.

    Academic Rigor

    The university giv es several opportunities to succeed and options that fit you better.

    In three sentences

    The university of houston clear lake has several programs to where people can decide what to major in. The university has a good teacher program for education. The professors will help as much as they can and will help[ you be successful.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police on campus. I have attended here for four years and I have never had a security problem.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students, from all walks of life, and all ages are welcomed here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love that they are all about student success! They offer tutoring, mentoring, and even free counseling. the services there have really helped me stay in school.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer great prices,and help with financial aid too.

    What to do for fun

    They have various clubs to chose from. There is always something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The University of Houston- Clear Lake has various dining options inside. Whether you want a sandwich, a coffee, or a simple snack, you can get it on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in a dorm, but some of my friends have. They say its a great experience!

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic rigor is excellent! I'm very happy to be a student here!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to ask questions. Never be too shy to ask.

    In three sentences

    This university is great! They offer many degree plans. The staff is always friendly.

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who work part time, full time, or are on a budget.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to dedicate a decent amount of hours out of class if you've never been exposed to programming languages(this pretty much goes to all classes though, not just science and computer engineering).

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is relatively cheap for a 4-year degree. That said though, UHCL is a transfer school and doesn't have any freshmen or sophomores. For what i've learned in such a short amount of time, I'm pressed by the cost performance ratio.

    Am enjoying being here

    The class times are very flexible for all students. They offer great morning, afternoon, and evening classes. The environment is friendly and people in the classes are easy to talk to and personable. Teachers respond quickly to email and answer questions to their best without flat out giving away the answer.

    Am learning a lot

    The junior level technical classes are moderate in difficulty but are not too stressful. The teachers here are professionals in their field who have a lot to teach.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots

    Greek Life

    not aware

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty

    Great for these types of students

    undergrad and grad

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    lots!

    What to do for fun

    make friends n socialize!

    Food and Dining

    available

    Dorm Life

    available on several campuses within the u h system

    Academic Rigor

    not difficult but still able to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    look up the satellite campuses they offer uhcl instructors out of various locations.

    In three sentences

    greart academics, great instruction, multiple satellite campuses to cover a large geographical area.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    commuter school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    commuter school

    What to do for fun

    commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    So long as you stay on top of things you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your assignments. Do not let yourself get behind.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending UHCL. The professors really care about the students. The class sizes are small, which allows for more attention from the professors.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    They have good, dedicated teachers. They also have small classes. And it has a very friendly environment.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    UHCL has many student organizations and socieites that hold frequent fund raisers and other small events. They are a well based group, very interactive, and passionate about their goals.

    Academic Rigor

    The UHCL course work is definitely challenging, but that is what school is for. You will learn and you will be required to apply yourself. The benefits of such dedication is both academically and personally rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded because everyone including your fellow classmates as well as professors will have something to teach you.

    In three sentences

    UHCL is a great university inside of a close community made up of all aged first time student, returning students, and professional students. The student base is what makes UHCL so unique. The intellect of UHCL's student base carries into the classroom creating a flourishing, fun and interactive learning environment.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to drive around. Located in Webster, TX you will need a car to get to places as there really isn't a night life webster.

    In three sentences

    UHCL is a relatively young school compared to other flagship schools i.e. UT Austin. Its curricula is always evolving and more options are available for prospective students. UHCL is not as expensive as some of the other institutions

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    They have high standards for there students but I good learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay in contact with your counselor to make sure you are taking the correct classes for your major. They are very helpful and has helped me stay on track.

    In three sentences

    I am currently in my junior year here and I transferred from a junior college. I am trying to get into the Social Work program and the university has been very helpful on helping me through this process. My overall experience has been very positive here.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police roaming.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor societies

    Great for these types of students

    Humanities majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus share a wild life preserve.

    Bang for the buck

    Great views at the campus...

    What to do for fun

    Visit the local Lake!!

    Food and Dining

    Not the best around. Consider visiting the local restaurants on Bay Area.

    Dorm Life

    Apartment complex atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Be preapare to do alot of reading

    Tips for prospective students

    participated early on research with professors

    In three sentences

    Excellent school for those who want to pursuit a career in psychology. They have an excellent Applied Behaviorist Analysis program on campus. In this program you can work with autistic individuals who are in need of therapy.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to join and be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the BEST bang for your buck college!! I heart UHCL!!

    What to do for fun

    There is a theater with special features on campus, and plenty of restaurants, a bowling alley and bars surrounding the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are two coffee shops and restaurants on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have clear expectations, and professors are educated, inspirational, and fair!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk to your adviser to make a plan! Keep up with financial aid and deadlines. Communicate, Communicate, Communicate.

    In three sentences

    The University of Houston - Clear Lake is a hidden jewel. The campus has a small town feel. Everyone feels like family.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far, so good! The campus police have a defense course, specifically for women, that looks pretty neat, but, as I mentioned before, I live too far away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of groups to get involved in if you live close enough. I am a member of the TSTA-SP, NSLS, and Gamer's Guild, but I never get to do events because I live too far away.

    Great for these types of students

    uhhh...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the library. Upstairs hidden in a far corner is a section with Educator's Editions textbooks for all grades. I loved it!

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great and reasonably priced, but if you want the most bang for your buck, DO NOT shop at the bookstore on campus. Check out chegg.com to rent books.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is not really designed for fun. Go to class, yep; find a secluded corner to study in, sure; have some fun, not so much.

    Food and Dining

    There are microwaves on campus, so for cheaper meals, bring it from home. The cafe is fine, but expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    These people are hard core. You're not in high school anymore. Get you stuff turned in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered and get your Meningitis vaccine ASAP! If you are even thinking about attending, get your vaccine today. Also, hold off on buying your books until the first day of class. Several of my profs have swapped books or approved the previous edition on the first day.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed most of my classes here and can't wait to get back in this summer. Most of the professors are awesome and are serious about their subjects, which I love! The only thing that would make it better of me is on campus child care or cheaper child care in the surrounding area.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UHCL is one of the safest universities in the country. There is 24 hour police surveillance on campus and students can ask for police escorts to their cars at anytime day or night. Students can call the police department from any school on campus and there is also a direct phone number for the department from non school phones. Police are seen surveying the parking lots everyday on the watch for unwanted crimes or suspicious persons.

    Clubs and Activities

    UHCL has over 70 organizations on campus and it is possible for a student to be apart of multiple organizations. I am currently the Secretary for the National Society of Leadership and Success on campus and involved in the Servant Leader Scholar program. There are multiple workshops available on campus and volunteer opportunities. If you are not involved, is not your own fault because there are multiple chances to become involed on campus at minimal cost or inconvenience to you.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! UHCL is an extremely diverse campus is age, gender, ethnicity, and religion. Everyone is welcome at UHCL. There are multiple opportunities for every person to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At UHCL we have I HEART UHCL day where each student displays their love for our school by wearing school colors or supporting their organization. Each organization on campus creates a both to display school spirit. We also have Chili Cook Off which occurs annually. Organization on campus compete for who has the most spirit and the best tasting chili!

    Bang for the buck

    UHCL is perfect for those cheap students. The tuition is very reasonable when compared to other universities and even other UH campuses. Many features, such as a writing center, unlimited printing, and fitness zone are included in tuition and fees at no extra cost to students. The university also has an annual parking permit which includes Fall and Spring semesters at a discounted price, and summer for free. The items priced at the patio cafe are also reasonable. I find myself eating a full meal for less than $6 or $8 depending on what I get.

    What to do for fun

    UHCL has over 70 organizations on campus, so there is something for everyone! There are multiple volunteer opportunities on and off campus hosted by UHCL. UHCL also has the Student Lounge which includes area to sit and talk among friends. There are also ping pong tables in the student lounge and other board games available. UHCL has a fitness zone which is included in tuition and fees, so students can use it anytime they feel the need to work out! For those who love books, our 2 story library is full of interesting books to read and research.

    Food and Dining

    UHCL has the patio cafe which offers sandwiches, soups, salads, pizza, hamburgers, and many other grab and go selections. There is also a coffee and drink area which includes muffins, bagels and other breakfast selections. A microwave is located in the patio cafe for those who would like to bring their lunch and heat it up. The patio cafe has great seating, inside and outside, and many televisions to watch on various channels.

    Academic Rigor

    UHCL is just as challenging as other universities. This is college people, and it is not meant to be easy. You will definitely be challenged at UHCL and will walk away with a great knowledge of whatever you are studying. The only difference is UHCL has a more personal feel than larger universities. The average class size at UHCL is 30 to 40 students which gives students an opportunity to interact with each other and the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early! When you have an idea of what you would like to major in, go talk to an academic adviser and discuss possible classes that you would need when you transfer to UHCL. Don't be scared to walk in there and say, I don't know what I want to major in. Always remember, it is ok to ask for help and change your mind!

    In three sentences

    University of Houston-Clear Lake (UHCL) is an amazing campus, and the best campus to choose if you love small close knit campuses! UHCL provides countless opportunities for academic, career, and volunteer advancements. UHCL is a wonderful campus with great faculty, staff, and the best students on the planet.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rated as one of the safest universities in the U.S.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, mature, community minded, and driven students will thrive at this university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UHCL is big on the yearly Cricket tournaments.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable tuition for an excellent institution.

    What to do for fun

    Everything from shopping, movies, dinning, kayaking, spending time at the parks along the armand byou. The town has a variety of options.

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful international selections around the town.

    Dorm Life

    Student housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    Well balanced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to study hard. The professors here are outstanding.

    In three sentences

    An ideal university for focused students.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police dept puts out a end of semester report to the whole student body listing types of crimes that were reported. though no school is entirely crime free UHCL has prided itself with keeping the students safe and the campus rate low. vigilance is the key.

    Clubs and Activities

    quite a few from sci-fi to GPA, from military to school teachers. there are a lot of groups on campus

    Great for these types of students

    people with real lives, real jobs and are returning to further their career options.

    Bang for the buck

    if your looking for a quality education at a reasonable price with training to rival the big schools..well this is the place.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few social organizations that are on campus. the student recreation area doubles as a study hall.

    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of restaurants within a 2 mile radius but only one on campus.

    Dorm Life

    most people live off site

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are WAY harder than others. talk to others who have had the class and plan accordingly.

    Tips for prospective students

    arrive early. plan to spend extra time in your schedule to get to know your class mates. get involved with a social organization.

    In three sentences

    I give UHCL a B+ its a small but growing campus and so is suffering from growing pains. classes are small, instructors are accredited, but some courses are only offered once in a blue moon. it is academically like the big universities but still maintains its junior college feel and classes are not so large the instructors can't learn your name.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is good. There are police everywhere. Every time the slightest thing occurs, bulletins go up everywhere.

    Greek Life

    What Greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and advertisements for them, but with a lack of a ever present student body, there is a lack of student involvement.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for commuters, parents, retired folks, international students, or students seeking a degree that isn't offered at most universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The university is built on a wildlife habitat. There is an abundance of wildlife including the endangered pileated woodpecker.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the negatives, the university is one of the cheapest modernized universities in Texas. If you want to save on tuition, this is the college for you.

    What to do for fun

    There is a weight room too small to be called a gym on the second floor. Unless you are a nature lover and enjoy walking in the woods and along the bayou, there is not much else to do.

    Food and Dining

    It is a joke as I said. There is only one cafe, which you can order sandwiches and coffee or snacks. They should really add a restaurant or something.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a joke, because there are no dorms. There is one apartment complex to which they have multiple room apartments that they call dorms Mixed in to the complex are efficiency's to which they greatly overcharge you for. However it is very quiet which is indispensable. Also, the majority of the people in the complex are unfriendly, most of them being international students

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but not overly difficult. The workload is not terrible, just keep up and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own food to campus. Either commute to school or find housing off campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school for education majors and commuters. The campus is very green and well taken care of. The campus has limited housing and meal options.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good.

    Clubs and Activities

    good.

    Great for these types of students

    for good acadamic life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing can be considered.

    Bang for the buck

    well.

    What to do for fun

    we can enjoy everything here.

    Food and Dining

    good.

    Dorm Life

    perfect.

    Academic Rigor

    good.

    Tips for prospective students

    any one can apply to this university and this is the one of the best university for research work , but fundings given to the students are less.

    In three sentences

    this university is really good in all aspects.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is one of the best universities in Houston area. I live being a student in UH Clear Lake. I recommend you to choose UH Clear Lake

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students but especially commuters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Annual Chili Cook-off! So much fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The only reason I rated so high is because of my involvement on campus. My qualifications for jobs came through my experience in student government association, a student organization and my mentor-mentee relationship with two of the staff members. I print as much as I can and try to utilize the services to make absolute sure I get my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is on a nature reserve so there is plenty of sightseeing, running, kayaking, fishing and nature walks. We are also right by a lake that leads to the Gulf of Mexico and there is boating, jet skiing, fishing and there is the boardwalk for games and rides and entertainment. We are 20 minutes downtown for nightlife but taking a cab is ridiculously expensive.

    Food and Dining

    There is not much food on campus BUT they do have great food trucks come by for the students. It's too inconvenient and far for me to walk when I am on campus so I bring my own food or get a small garden salad or soup. There is a few fast food spots by campus and Pho restaurants that are yummy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on this campus. There is one complex that gives decent student pricing but it is not family oriented. I live less than a mile away there are plenty of complexes but it is quite a decent area so rent can be very pricey especially for a two bedroom.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe this would absolutely depend on the degree plan one is pursuing. For the most part I have been able to raise my son as a single mother, in class full-time, often working, VP of a student or and an SGA rep, and I have still managed to keep a decent GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    I felt I answered that already however, I would also say it is important to build relationships with people and give yourself a great support system. Take advantage of the gym! Use any and all resources such as computer labs, libraries, free symposiums, movie screenings, counseling, faculty advising, the psychologists for students, career services and tutoring. This school can launch you into a career anywhere in the world, take advantage of it!

    In three sentences

    The University of Houston-Clear Lake is an absolute launching pad. Dr. Linda Bullock and Dr. Maria Curtis have created for the greats opportunities for advancement in my life and the school would not be the same without them. I would recommend that anyone going there would be involved in student organizations and attend the Student Government Association meetings regularly as the political climate on campus could use some improvement for the future of minority students.