Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Illinois at Springfield Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this school to anyone who wants to attend a smaller school, but still get a great education. The other University of Illinois campuses are much bigger, and here in Springfield you get much more one on one time since there are not as many people in classes. So, it is a really good school for those who may need a little more attention and who like learning in a smaller classroom environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look into multiple schools and start in high school. People tend to wait when looking at schools and that can cause a rushed decision that you may regret. So, really investigate everything about the campus and choose a school based upon which can really fulfill your needs and/or wants. Also, if you end up choosing UIS, or any campus for that matter, I would recommend getting involved on campus in either sports or organizations. It makes things more fun and it's a great way to meet people.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the cheapest of the University of Illinois campuses, and yet you still get the U of I education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students here are all really nice. I live in the on-campus town homes and they are so nice! Living on campus is a great way to meet new friends, making everything so much more fun here. The campus throws so many different events that there is always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great! They are very accommodating and always willing to help. They are also very educated on the topics they teach making learning more interesting.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research and visit as many schools as you can so you are confident in your decision. Start early - junior year is ideal!

  • 03/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    research all schools and make sure to visit and compare prices.

    Bang for the buck

    its the cheapest U of I degree

    Will learn a lot

    the teachers are here and are amazing and are always there to help.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Watch deadlines, and put your best foot forward.

    Bang for the buck

    I am still a little worried about paying for college, but that would be the same for every college. As far as price goes, it really isn't that bad at all.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everything about the UIS campus, and atmosphere feels right to me.

    Will learn a lot

    The facilities for learning are perfect for me. The library is awesome, and the honors program has an excellent tutoring program.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A lot of athletes enjoy being here, as well as more academically inclined students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into what this school has to offer for your major, do not rely on the fact that the dorms are air conditioned and that freshmen can have cars (which are both really awesome things). Make sure you will be able to stay here for days on end and that you feel comfortable here.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is the cheapest of the three University of Illinois campuses, but you still get that U of I degree. You will have small class sizes, professors who know your name, and you will always see familiar faces around campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    You have to make your own fun here, as it is not a very large school. Many activities are provided, and there is some outside campus life as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I am still taking general education courses, or ECCE courses as they are called here. These courses are in a variety of fields and may not be specific to your intended major. The ECCE courses are intended to give you an overview of many topics.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    For every major I've tried to pursue, this school had all of them. I've seen pictures of the campus, and it is just beautiful. What I like most about how it is described is that it is a public college cost with a private college size.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depending on the time of year, the campus has different activities, but you can also see a drive in movie, shopping, ice skating, roller skating, plays, and different activities downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Springfield has not only fast food restaurants which are found closer to campus, but there are also some nicer restaurants as you get closer to the downtown area and shopping areas.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter so I can't relate to this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    After graduation, your diploma still says you graduated from the University of Illinois.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a small campus where you will know most of the students in your class this is the place to go. It's more of a commuter campus, because there is not much dorm life from what I have heard.

    In three sentences

    This is a nice small campus. Most of the teachers here are always willing to help you if your struggling in their classes, but there is also a student center to help you if your teacher is unavailable.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do often see cops around campus, and I have no issues with feeling unsafe when I'm there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am only involved in the band program, which is not very big. We certainly don't sound too good either; my high school band was a lot better. However, UIS does have a good basketball team, and I hear good things about the other sports as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who commute and won't be spending much time on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is nothing special about this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition wasn't too bad, but there's just not much to do, and the classes are pretty typical. Textbooks also cost a lot, some of which I never even used.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. The campus does have a gym, but that is mostly full of excercise equipment. I've seen gyms with pools, rock-climbing walls, raquetball courts, and in general more options for excercise. The gym at UIS doesn't have much, unless you want to run or lift weights. Besides the gym, there isn't anywhere else on campus you can go to have fun, unless you like going to the library and reading books during your free time. I don't even count Stars Lounge, since all there is to do there is play video games.

    Food and Dining

    There really aren't that many places to get food on campus, and no matter where you go, there is a lot of the same food. I've been trying to eat healthy, but the food on campus doesn't really allow for that. There is a salad bar, but I tried it once and something about it tasted strange to me. For the past few weeks, I've only enjoyed eating the soup from the cafeteria. Everything else is not that great.

    Dorm Life

    The only plus about the dorms is the fact that residents don't have to share a bathroom with the entire floor. There is one bathroom per four students. This is nice, but other than that I do not enjoy dorm life. I feel like I was not matched with a good roommate, and we did have an issue with mice getting into the dorms. The rooms are also extremely small. When I toured the campus, I was shown a room that was bigger and had a high ceiling, which I really liked. However, it turns out that those are only the first-floor rooms, several of which have been turned into offices for professors. I ended up with a very small, cramped room with a low ceiling. I can hardly stand being in there.

    Academic Rigor

    I do find the classes to be challenging so far, and I am only a freshman. There are some classes that are pretty easy, and others that require a lot of effort. It really depends on what you choose to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    This would probably only be a good school for you if you are already a resident of Springfield. There really isn't much to do on campus, so if you plan to live in a dorm, you're going to get pretty bored. Also, I don't recommend enrolling in the Honor's Program. My grades in those classes are pretty good, but I find them to be a complete waste of time.

    In three sentences

    The only good thing about this college, for me, was the small class sizes. Other than that, the campus is not located within walking distance of any other part of Springfield, and the Honor's Program requires classes that I believe to be pointless. There also isn't much to do around campus, and I am completely unhappy when I am there.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are super strict!!!

    Greek Life

    NONE!!! :(

    Clubs and Activities

    SAC is the best group ever!!

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students

    What to do for fun

    Be part of a committee! Actually go to campus events.

    Food and Dining

    Everything is pretty tasty!!

    Dorm Life

    They are super nice. Although they are kind of strict, I loved living here.

    Academic Rigor

    I worked hard in HS, so UIS was super easy. Teachers are also pretty forgiving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!!!! I was part of SAC and while being part of that committee I finally loved UIS. Also keep an open mind!!!

    In three sentences

    UIS is a very small school. To have a good experience, live on campus. To not be bored, get involved!

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students usually go Stars Lounge to hang out, chill, study, and play video games and board games.

    Food and Dining

    UIS has some great areas to get food, such as the Food Emporium, the Late Nite Grill, and Stars Loungue.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. There are nice dorm rooms, loungues, and bathrooms. There are even great study areas in the dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great at UIS. They provide great opportunites for experience and networking. It's very easy to create great professional relationships with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't procrastinate. 2. Know your priorities. 3. Be responsible at all times.

    In three sentences

    UIS is one of the greatest colleges I've ever known. The academic resources are amazing. The overall campus life here is just outstanding.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here. If there is no club or activity that is not here people will create it. Also dodge ball is every Tuesday and Thursday.

    Great for these types of students

    For the students who want to make a lot of friends and like a smaller Campus, Springfield is the school for me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Fountain is a nice hangout spot on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the on-campus events and participate in activities.

    Food and Dining

    Springfield has the best food ever and if you get tired of it, you can always go off campus where there is actually some good restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is the best espically when you get along with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Some academics here are hard

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are trying to come to Springfield make sure you manage your time, be organized and prepared, and also make sure you show up to all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    University of Illinois at Springfield is a smart school feel with educated teachers and students. There are wonderful majors here. The graduation rate is high and the students here are amazing.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look up instructors before signing up for class. Some of them have very poor teaching skills.

    In three sentences

    Great online program for computer science. The career center is very helpful as well.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are working 24/7 they drive around campus checking parking lots and they patrol on foot to check common areas as well. You feel secure to walk around at midnight here.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty new on this campus, We currently have three fraternities and two sororities but we are trying to bring more on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus, depending on what you like to do you will find something you are interested in. I am a member of the Organization of Latin American Students (OLAS), I am also a dancer in Global Rhythm, I am in the Biology club, and I also play in the Dodge ball club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Saturday nights everyone is invited to Salsa night located in a restaurant just outside of campus, the DJ is a current student in the university, the best part of this is that it's free!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for this university is pretty cheap and you get help from the professors one on one if needed.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun on campus, intramural sports runs all year long. Also there is different clubs and organizations that anyone can join.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is good, there is three main places to get food on campus and they have different operating times.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! Everyone is friendly and it gives you the sense of a family.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very helpful and there is also tutoring services for students that need help with any of there class subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    In this university it is very easy to fit in, everyone is friendly and welcoming. It makes you feel like you fit in as soon as you get here.

    In three sentences

    The University of Illinois at Springfield is a great school. It is located in the rural section of Illinois. It has a very friendly environment and it's a great place to learn.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Judged from my own apply case, I can tell UIS is a school seriously consider students' leadership experience and speciatly. With not sound but acceptable GPA and ACT, but with official rating is top ranked in United States Chess Federation and winning several national titles, as well as school club leadership experience, I was admitted.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UIS is great for students who want to attend a four year college, but are more comfortable in a smaller college setting.

    What to do for fun

    UIS has many activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    UIS has a great cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was worried about keeping up with assignments at a four year college, but I found myself not overwhelmed by assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin the application process a couple months in advance. If you are in need of financial aide be sure to find out about deadlines for paperwork that will need to be submitted.

    In three sentences

    UIS has been a great place to further my education. One on one assistance from professors is wonderful and UIS provides many other help services for students.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every year their is a week called Springfest. This is the one event on campus you do not want to miss! You create a team and each day of the week you compete in a contest. Events include: trivia night, scavenger hunt, chant contest, community service day, spaghetti dinner, and sports day.

    Food and Dining

    You have two options to go for food. The food imporium has many options. They have a grill where you can get burgers, chicken, french fries, etc. They also have a salad bar, a deli, cooks nook (which is your homemade meals), and showtime (oriental food). You can also go to the Lincoln dorm hall for pizza and fried food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at UIS are very nice. You and your roommate will share a bathroom with your suitemates. Therefore, there are 4 people sharing one bathroom. This is much better than community bathrooms. There are two dorm building. Each is three stories tall. They are both new and modern.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at UIS are great!! They all care about their students and will know your name. You are not just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are okay with knowing everyone in your graduating class because you will! There is not much public transportation so be sure to bring a car or a bike.

    In three sentences

    UIS is a small liberal arts university located in Springfield, IL. The campus is smaller in size but very modern and beautiful. UIS creates good teacher to student relationships.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. There are blue safety poles throughout the campus as well as having our police station on campus. As a small campus, if there is an issue an officer can be to your location in about 30 seconds.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs at UIS and it is very easy to start a new one if you want to. The clubs are highly involved and frequently put on expos so that you can see what they are up to and get involved if you are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    University of Illinois at Springfield is great for students who like a more intimate atmosphere with smaller classes and easy access to all professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest tradition at University of Illinois at Springfield is Springfest. Springfest is a week-long competition where students compete in teams for the championship. Activities in Springfest include trivia night, scavenger hunt, sports day, and many others.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to have fun on campus. There are always events happening at nights and on weekends as well as being in the heart of the Springfield community there is always downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of the food is great as well as the variety, but the prices do tend to run on the high side. Most students have a meal plan so the prices are not as big of an issue, but for some it can be a problem.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. There is an excellent community in our dorms and people are always coming up with great things to do. The housing facilities are also very nice with a housing staff that is present and available to help any time you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Clinical Laboratory Science major the course work is challenging and demanding, but everything that we learn and do is directly related to future careers that you can get right out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to get involved as quickly as possible when they get to school. There are lots of awesome opportunities on campus and getting involved helps you to have fun and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    University of Illinois at Springfield is the best school I could have asked for. Everything about the campus, the academics, and the environment meets my needs and I am very happy here. University of Illinois at Springfield is a great school that offers a lot of opportunities for its size.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart, work hard and guarantee you'll be successful coming out of here.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. I love this school. You should strongly consider coming here.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Off campus fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should explore all opportunities offered at UIS and never hesitate to ask for help when needed

    In three sentences

    I really like this campus. The atmosphere is very calming. The staff is always very helpful.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few issues on campus, but nothing terribly frightening. The campus is small enough that there aren't any bad walks, except to the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    Not interested in Greek Life, so I do not have a clue.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Lounge often has fun things going on. There are a good amount of things to do. There are a lot of events, so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I am a picky eater, but the PAC has super nice workers and a nice variety. They offer some interesting specials that gives you a chance to try lots of different stuff. The Student Lounge has good cheap food, but Founders does not have very nice people working there and doesn't have that good of food.

    Dorm Life

    Decent sized rooms, but there needs to be more control. The RA's are useless. Many people run around and make it so I can't sleep. There is the quiet hall, which I plan to move to next year so I can sleep without all the wild stuff.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly good so far, some of the teachers are not the best. Many of them really aren't interested in teaching I have found. There are some really helpful ones though. You just have to make the right connections.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many scholarships as you can and make sure to do your research to see if the honors program is right for you, because it is quite odd.

    In three sentences

    Decent so far. Honors program not that as great as it was put out to be.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are normally around and with such a small campus, it isn't too bad. Have heard of a few issues though.

    Greek Life

    Have no knowledge of.

    Clubs and Activities

    If I had time there are plenty of clubs that I would love to join. If you don't like what is there, can always start your own. One of my freshman friends did.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students from smaller towns. You are on the edge of Springfield, but everything is within reach. The cornfields are close, so us country people can feel at home. All the kids from Chicago are bored, but us country kids love it there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The stairway to nowhere is a must to find!

    Bang for the buck

    Is expensive, but not as much as the other schools in the area. Financial aid seems to not be even, but it happens.

    What to do for fun

    You can easily head into town for some fun, or there are plenty of activities on campus to keep everyone busy. Also the student lounge has pool tables and video games.

    Food and Dining

    The PAC people are super nice and very helpful. I am a picky eater and find the selection great. They offer more homemade food at showtime, so it is always worth checking out. I would stay away from Founders if you can, their food is not near as good and the people are not as nice. The student lounge also has good snacks for a good price.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are a good size and no community bathrooms is a huge plus! Lincoln is quite noisy and the RA's are useless to do anything about all the yelling at 2 in the morning. Next year I will go to the quiet hall to hopefully be able to sleep better.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors program is a bit odd, but you just have to give the teachers what they want, even if you do not believe a word of it. The classes so far are good. Some of the teachers seem like they do not want to be teaching at all. I have found some good ones though. The computer science department needs to stop having class at 9 pm!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start the search early! Hit up those scholarships as well. College costs a lot and you need all you can get. I would give anything for some more aid, but I don't qualify for a lot sadly. So search early and often!

    In three sentences

    So far okay overall. Probably nothing could be much better.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems since I've been living on campus. It seems pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    This school is very dry on Greek life. UIS just voted last semester to bring black Greeks to the school. I am very excited!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am planning on joining the Black Student Union and other clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive, but as other young adults would say college is an investment.

    What to do for fun

    This is my first semester here, so I haven't gotten out as much.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have a meal plan because I live in on campus apartments. The school does not require students who live in apartments to buy a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm. I came to UIS my junior year so I stay in the apartments with the upperclassman's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do your research before coming to the University of Illinois at Springfield. As a college student, please make sure you can afford the tuition. Make sure you are investing your money into a school that you love.

    In three sentences

    I would give the University of Illinois an 8. My major is social work and the teachers in the social work department are wonderful and hands on with the students.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It has the cheapest U of I degree and the class size is small so that is a BIG plus. :)

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but buttery. Here you can order from a set menu and they will make it up for you pretty quick! I like the different things they make everyday for the specials because ordering the same things can get tiring or boring after a few months.

    Dorm Life

    It's really not as exciting as it is meant out to be. I guess you only make it as exciting or interesting as you want it to be. It is fun at times because you are living on a floor with people of the same age and interest, but for me personally i don't really enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher's are pretty academically challenging. This is my freshman year, so I am mainly taking required courses, but I still get plenty of work. There is a strong sense of having class discussions with the teachers in all the classes I've taken so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a campus tour. I am not sure if they have it, but perhaps an overnight schedule to see how you like the dorm life here. Also, you may want to consider becoming familiar with the city of Springfield, or any other town a college you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice, small campus. The class size is awesome because it is such a small campus. There is not much to do here though.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    This is basically nonexistent on campus but there is interest building so that could change quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty to be involved with on campus and this is always changing. Students can create their own club or activity if they want to. There is always something that one can be participating in.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for a small campus environment. The small population allows for more personal leadership opportunities or other opportunities in general.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the school is worth it for what you pay. It is considerably cheaper than some other in state schools but in some ways you are getting what you pay for. It is not a traditional college in many ways.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous restaurants and/or activities to do off campus. The life on campus isn't too exciting. Student Life does a nice job of trying to provide activities for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't that great. The cafeteria is a little costly for what it is, but the ala carte style of dining can be nice for some people.

    Dorm Life

    Campus population itself is small. The dorms are nice, though. The suite style dorm set up works well.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small and the professor are easy to get in contact with making coursework, projects, etc easy to complete and easy to get help on. Professors and Academic Professionals on campus are willing to help anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    -the campus has a small population of on campus students, most are commuters or online students. -it is in a more suburban setting, anything you want to do is within driving distance

    In three sentences

    Overall friendly and welcoming environment on campus. UIS allows students to explore their interests and get a college experience without having to pay too much.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i really don't have any to share

    Bang for the buck

    out of all the U of I schools it is the cheapest and when you graduate the diploma doesn't say which U of I you graduated from it just say U of I so to me if you don,t have a preference in size you should come here but if you prefer a big school than its not for you or if you play football or run track because we don,t have them sports at our school.

    What to do for fun

    we have a game room/lounge at our school that everyone hangs out at. there are multiple parties/ events that the school holds throughout the school year. there is also a gym right across from the residence hall and it is where the basketball games are held so you can get a quick workout in and go watch the basketball teams play after worth or before you workout

    Food and Dining

    the food at the school is good but it is expensive to me. the off-campus is more cheaper than the food in the school. McDonald's Mcdoubles are a dollar and i get at least two of them and it will equal one cheeseburger at the school but i must say besides the food costing much it is worth it though.

    Dorm Life

    i like because the freshmen and sophomores live together in a choice of to residence halls and they are right next to each other so all the underclassmen are basically all together.

    Academic Rigor

    the class is small where all the teachers can interact with the students and help struggling students right there during class get where they need to be opposed to big schools where the teachers would make you contact them via email and tell you to make an appointment.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up your grades, get involved on the campus, get involved in lots of activities in high school, join clubs and organizations. do some communinity services activities

    In three sentences

    this school is good to me. it is not big and it is small but not too small. everyone is involved on campus and together.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great, safe campus. You will never have to worry about your life being endangered.

    Greek Life

    new to Greek life upcoming in Fall 2013.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over thirty available activities and 50 available clubs that anyone can join.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very resourceful. you will have great students around you along with great professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its not an unusual college campus where things are placed a huge distance away from one another. For the most part, everything is quite easy to find around campus and its layout makes for good, quick transportation from class to class.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though its not the most expensive college out there, the school could pursue more student activities and programs to help have a great college experience.

    What to do for fun

    often you have to 'find your own fun.' There is not many activities to do on campus, but off campus there is a variety of places you can go to have fun and let loose.

    Food and Dining

    Not many options available, but they do offer some great foods that you can eat and will fill you up so you can study for that midterm exam,

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. they have great, safe living areas and you will be able to study if needed due to quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but is very due-able if you can keep distractions away and stay focused on your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you learn about all of the resources that is offered to you. There are many including academic and social.

    In three sentences

    Attending UIS has its pros and cons but is overall a great college. You will have the opportunity to pursue a degree with excellent teachings. Also, its a safe environment to live in.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit, police patrolled and very safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tradition on the campus is to run through the fountain.

    What to do for fun

    I go to soccer, basketball, baseball and softball for fun. As well as the numerous free events on campus sponsored by the university.

    Food and Dining

    The food emporium has restaurant quality food. Every year they have raised the prices on menu items since I have been here.

    Dorm Life

    Campus living is great. Lots to do, many people to interact with.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors constantly challenge your knowledge and push to new heights academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to every event that you can and meet as many people as you can.

    In three sentences

    University of Illinois at Springfield is a student friendly campus. It is a safe campus with little crime, lots to do, academically rewarding and a nice place to live.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things to do for Fun is go to the games like the basketball games, soccer games, and volleyball games. Participate in activities which are so much fun. In spring we have springfest which is based off the hunger games, it is very exciting. In the summer you can play frolf (frisbee golf) and sand volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    In Springfield there are 3 places to go to eat. One is the Pac which costs more meal plan money, but the food is good and there is variety. The second one is the grill which is in one of the residence hall buildings. The last one is the stars lounge which is the cheapest there.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life is awesome, yes its kind of expensive, but it is worth it. You make way more friends in the dorms then you do in the apartments or townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the Academics for Springfield is high. Some classes are tough. The level of difficulty for classes depends on what professor you have. Different professors want different things from students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending UIS make sure you become friends with coffee or some type of energy drink and become best friends with the library. I promise you, you can get all your work done at the library-there are no distractions. Make sure you turn in work on time and do not wait to the last minute to start focusing.

    In three sentences

    University of Illinois at Springfield is kind of a small school but this allows students to make friends easily. At this school we have the easiest general education classes. The professors are funny and encouraging.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I would give UIS a 8 on a 1-10 scale

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police lights everywhere. You can go to the womans center to get a wisle for late nigh walking. We have this thing where you can download a app on your phone to show the police where you are at all times and if you feel that you are in danger they will come and pick you up.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life is really small. But they come and support a lot of events so they can get new members.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have any thing you can think of and if we don't all you need is 5 people to make a club.

    Great for these types of students

    For the students that like it quite while you study we have quite hours Monday Thur Friday just for those people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing happen that is weird everything is known

    Bang for the buck

    1. Teachers come to class early or stay late to help. 2. We have a on campus tech center. 3.The library has all the books you can think of and if not they will order it for you. 4. We have a writing center that is always open to help you with any type of writing. 5. Jobs come to the school to help students get jobs so we can make some extra cash to help pay some of them loans off.

    What to do for fun

    They have activities during the week for the students as well as the staff. You wont find yourself with nothing to do. And the parties are fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is A1. You can get all day if you really wanted to. There are also places in your dorm with food so you don't have to leave and go outside. There is everything and they change it up everyday. So there will also be something new that you can try as well.

    Dorm Life

    As long as you get along with people and know how to talk things out then everything will be OK. But it takes time it don't happen over night. Everyone is not use to living with three other people sharing a lot of things.

    Academic Rigor

    This is #1 at UIS this is what we are here for.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Always ask for help even if you think you know what you are doing. 2. Make friends with classmates because you may need help one day and they may know what you are looking for. 3. Always talk to the professors because they always have the last say so. You may have a 89% in the class and all you have to do is talk to try to get that 90%. It really works. 4. Never give up it is going to get hard but life is not easy so why not keep trying to reach the top. 5. Use your time wisely this is very important because this is no longer high school where you have your parents to tell you to do your homework every night.

    In three sentences

    This is a place where you find your inner self. Everyone is there to help no matter who they are. Giving up is not an option because they will not let you.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Can walk around anytime of day. Need card to access building and be able to use school supply

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They are many clubs on campus, game rounds different groups to be apart off. you are even able to start up your own clubs sit the supports of other peers.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody, UIS is open arms to any students that is willing to be heard and be known.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that separates the school from other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is bullied in a great environment. they are a lot of stores shopping places food, etc. also it in the middle of a town where student are able to focus and not be distracted by outside.

    What to do for fun

    Game room, Gym, Join sports, ETC, great places on campus for outside games.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but adding few new things on the menu will not hurt, and keeping the dining longer open would be great.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. easy to meet people and make new friends. well cleaned and builded.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard classes but help are always available when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out Try things make friends dont be shy to speak out get know on campus be involved

    In three sentences

    Very small place

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend plays, join clubs, join sports, attend festivals and fund raisers

    Food and Dining

    better than what you would expect

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fantastic. You get to be with friends all day and the dorms themselves are amazing

    Academic Rigor

    so much is offered for the students its great

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get help from the staff, they are great and really intuitive to students needs

    In three sentences

    UIS is a great extension of U Of I and has proven to be a helpful and reliable school. I'm grateful for the opportunity to be apart of this school. They truly understand what students need financially and in the classroom.

  • 07/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem in 4 year.

    Greek Life

    Still new but there are options.

    Clubs and Activities

    Go to the Involvement Expo or the SOC office to get involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -Springfest-enough said. -Picnic on the Quad--Plenty of free food. -Running through the water fountain.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper and smaller U of I school. Professors know your name, no lecture halls! Same U of I diploma as sister campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown Springfield or to the mall. Watch an athletic game too-free stuff is handed out during some games!

    Food and Dining

    Just like any other campus-the food gets old. Plenty of places to eat around Springfield.

    Dorm Life

    Have to live in the dorms for two years unless you are from the area and will be commuting. The plus was that there are no community bathrooms! Just have to share with 3 others. Room was very spacious plus cable & wifi in own room.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are willing to meet with you before or after class. Go to their office hours-they love that plus it may boost up your grade. I learned a lot and took challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! You can set up individual tours during the week or come to a Saturday Preview Day.

    In three sentences

    Small class size and small campus. An easy walk from one side of campus to another. Get involved right away during welcome week. If you manage your time and your classes then you will be fine.