Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Louisiana-Monroe Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for everyone! There is no specific type of student that is made for this school. There are students from in-state, out of state, and even students from out of the country! There is no one that can't come here. ULM is truly an excellent choice and you will not be disappointed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to ULM prepared for new friendships, new lifestyles, and much more learning! Come with a positive attitude knowing that when you leave ULM after four years of excellent education you will be better prepared for whatever career field you have chosen. ULM is an excellent learning environment for student athletes, scholar students, or just someone who wants their college education. You can never go wrong by choosing ULM. There is a wide variety of majors and minors in case you cannot set your heart on one. With all of the student organizations and events that happen on campus there is something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    You get way more than you pay for when you come to ULM. The classes are much better than people lead on. Every professor I have had so far takes a personal interest in every one of his or her students. The amount of education and personal maturity added together that you will obtain by attending this university is much more than anyone can pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying every minute on campus and in the town of Monroe. The campus is a smaller university than LSU and even LA Tech, but that is what makes it so great. It does not take very long at all to walk across campus to my classes. It is also a campus that is very pleasing to the eye. A large majority of the buildings are new and there is also a bayou that runs right through the middle of campus. The fellow students are very nice and love to make new friends. You would have to try very hard to come to ULM and not make any friends.

    Am learning a lot

    This university is a great place to learn a lot. There is never a dull moment or topic on this campus. Not only in the classrooms, but outside of the educational walls there is always something new and interesting to find out.

  • 07/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would advise anyone who enjoys learning,getting help, and be able to find the right field for them. I love this college because you can get help and the people/teachers are very friendly. This is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I transferred here from Arkansas and I have to admit it is very different. It is actually a home away from home You can get comfortable and have small things to keep you occupied meaning getting your mind off home sickness.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ULM is GREAT for all types of students! It is so diverse and there is always something for everybody!

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a great experience... just do not forget why you are here. Reading in your textbooks is a major bonus. Also, utilize your teacher/professor's office hours. (:

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a bang for your buck. You get access to everything: activity center, student success center, tutors, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    I no longer live on campus but I still enjoy being on campus as much as I did when I was living on campus. Campus life is always buzzing.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are extremely helpful with making sure you know the material. Most classrooms on campus are equipped with smart boards and other high tech equipment so you're not just hearing the information, you can see it as well.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY STUDY STUDY!!! DON'T WAIT TIL THE LAST MINUTE TO STUDY. Tutoring is free so I would advise you to take advantage of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being on the campus, there are many fun activities that i am able to attend to have a good time. THe campus is so fun that i hardly ever go home

    Am learning a lot

    Althought ULM is very hard, I have learned alot. The material they go over is not for you to memorize its for you to learn and keep for a lifetime

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for scholars and athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn first, make friends, and have fun at activities on campus.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a police station on campus with police officers that patrol throughout the days. There are also call buttons located around the campus, in case there is any trouble.

    Greek Life

    ULM provides a vast range of Greek life for the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs available at ULM. From drama clubs to a Harry Potter alliance. There is something for everyone to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students will feel welcome on ULM's campus. Due to the variety everyone will be able to find something to spark their interest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located next to a bayou. This gives an amazing view and location for the campus. It is always so pretty and must people like to sit by the water and relax or study.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something going on on campus. Each event will have music and free food. These events are conveniently located on campus, so if you walk out of your dorm, you will be right next to everything that is going on.

    Food and Dining

    ULM offers a cafeteria that serves a variety of food; from home cooked to pizza. The staff are very friendly and willing to take suggestions. There is also food variety provided in the Student Union Building (SUB). In the SUB there is a Chik-fil-a, Subway, coffee shop, Grill-Works, and a place to order Chinese food. The campus also has a Starbuck and a Convenient store available to the students.

    Dorm Life

    ULM offers several dorm options. There are three coed dorms, an all boys dorm, an all girls dorm, and an honors dorm. There are also apartments available that are conveniently located on campus. The quality of the dorms are very good. Rooms are clean and there are study rooms located in each of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work at ULM is rigorous, however it is very doable. Here you will be receiving a quality education where you are actually learning the material that is being taught. Life is not easy and neither is college. But nothing worth having in life is easy, and a ULM education is definitely worth having.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are nervous about making the transition into college, than ULM is the place for you. There are several programs geared directly toward freshman to help make them feel welcome. These programs will make the transitions smoother and help you to make new friends. Everyone is welcome at ULM and no one is left out.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a small tit-knit college where everyone is friendly. It is not to small, but it is small enough to feel like a home away from home. The education that you will receive here will be excellent and provided by caring teachers.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life is part of the experience at ULM, the people are great and lovable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun at ULM. The activity center always has many nice people where you can make friends and enjoy activities. There is a tennis court, outdoor workout place near the colluseum, and a huge library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are to make friends, get involved into student activities, and try to take a step out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    ULM is great and a wonderful place. The people and faculty know how to make people feel at home. The campus is great, there are many things to keep us students occupied.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 6 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend this college (or any other college for that matter) do get your study habits up to par. It wouldn't do you very much good to make it to this point in your life only to be left behind because you didn't study. CRAMMING IS NOT ALWAYS THE ANSWER!

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, you certainly do get a bang for your buck...considering that you have any left.

    Am enjoying being here

    I live off campus, therefore, I'm unable to enjoy the full extend of what it means to be a student here.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors of the classes seem to be knowledgeable.

  • 05/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love ULM! I am from a small town four hours away from this college. I was a little nervous about being so far away, but on my first day of school, it immediately felt like home. I love that it is a small school because everyone is so friendly. It is really easy to meet new people. I went to ULM knowing no one. Now I cant walk on the sidewalk without someone telling me hey. The teachers are also very helpful and friendly. All of them are willing to meet outside of class one to one. The school is also a lot of fun! There are all kinds of free events around campus and they love giving us free stuff. The campus is beautiful and has a bayou running through the middle of it. There are so many fun things that go on throughout the year. We have awesome concerts (past concerts: Sara evans and Josh turner, Lil Wayne), Spring Fever week, Oozeball, and much more. ULM was the best decision I have ever made.

  • 09/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Many of the students that have went to ULM said this college is great for education, very fun, and you will not regret it!!

  • 11/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are into sports, clubs, or just want the convenience of the city, but a country campus this is a great school for you. There is always some type of event going on and even when there isn't there is always something for everyone to do. ULM also is very technology savvy. I am always using the college website to do homework or check out how I am doing in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone looking to go here, it is a great college. There are so many different organizations and sports to participate in. The best tip I can give you though is to study when you can because the tests pop up on you faster than you think. Oh and don't stress too much. At first it is a little overwhelming, but after the first week everything calms down.

    Bang for the buck

    ULM isn't very expensive. For a four year university, i thought i would be paying more but I am glad it is this way. The price is reasonable and I am definitely getting a good education there. Everyday I learn something new .

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful. There is a bayou right in the middle of campus with cypress trees everywhere. It is like being in the country right in the middle of a city. I love the view and the teachers are pretty cool too.

    Am learning a lot

    This school offers many courses about pretty much anything you could think of and the schedule is very flexible. I have learned so much already and I have only been here for one semester! The curriculum is fast paced but as long as I study I am learning and doing good.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business and Pharmacy

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Business because the dept is awesome

    Bang for the buck

    i love it

    Am enjoying being here

    its amazing

    Am learning a lot

    its awesome

  • 12/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The students who will fare the best at ULM are social, friendly, hard workers, who are focused (but not too focused!) on school work and their futures, and who like to be involved all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you accept, it's definitely worth it. Also, talk to someone in the department you're interested in before coming; I know a few of the departmental websites aren't quite up-to-date, which can cause some confusion/ disappointment. Most of all, good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    Since ULM is fairly cheap compared to other colleges, it's definitely worth it. Also, there are plenty of work options for students, even if they don't qualify for grants, and a large variety of Foundation Scholarships offering a few hundred extra each semester. However, there are always those hidden costs to take into account (books, supplies, parking tickets, club fees), but they're almost negligible. Perhaps the worst part about attending this school, is that there seems to be very little funding for study abroad programs.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are tons of clubs and there is constant activity on campus. The students, faculty, and staff are all very friendly and helpful. Even the president greets students and tries to visit as many events as possible.

    Am learning a lot

    While, most classes aren't academically challenging, the professors really provide the educational experience, sharing with students the most important skills they will need for professional school or the workplace. For more of a challenge, the Honors Program is always looking for more students! (http://www.ulm.edu/honors/) There are a few established Honors courses that are required, then you have the option of Honors in the College, in the Major, or in the University based on how much of a challenge each student wants.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Besides sports games, there are lots of campus activities that take place over the year, including Ace's Amazing Race, and there are lots of spirit days. The school offers special prizes and contests for students. School spirit is extremely important here. The campus is spacious, with plenty of room for frisbee and flag football, and there are clubs and opportunities for the less-active students as well.

    Food and Dining

    Home-style, delicious food, with many different options. Never have I been so impressed by a school cafeteria. You can get pizza and burgers or comfort food, or you can go to a make-your-own station and eat customized meals like baked potatoes and macaroni and omelettes.

    Dorm Life

    The halls are clean and tidy and the Hall Directors and RA's are nice, even if you accidentally lose your key. Unless you request a specific roomate, you don't know who you'll get, but that is a gamble you have to take with any university. ULM will give you a personality quiz so you'll be placed with someone compatible, at least, and you can always opt for a private room.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies from class to class and I've only been here a semester, so I can't rightly say.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! There aren't many tests in a semester, so every one you take plays a big role in your grades. Don't be afraid to ask questions, because the professors are always ready to help and there are lots of resources available to you.

    In three sentences

    ULM is quiet and close-knit. Teachers, staff, students, even president Bruno, are all a part of this family. It might be in the middle of nowhere but this college is just as great as LSU or Tulane.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    freshman must run through the sprinkler.

    What to do for fun

    students should at least go to one football game.

    Food and Dining

    i have heard that the food is very good and the there are many resturants near the campus. in the student center alone is four different resturants.

    Dorm Life

    students have many choices in the dorm changes. a student could have his or her own room or choose to share the same room. there is an all girl dorm and an all boy dorm plus three co-ed dorms. the dorms are place in the middle of campus were it is easier for the student to get to places on time.

    Academic Rigor

    the school has a wonderful recorder of success.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy yourself-make sure to make memories

    In three sentences

    university of louisiana-monroe is a five star school. ulm is a school based around the students. it basically like living in a small town in a big city.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is approximately at 5 mile radius around the school that has virtually no crime rate.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities to participate in. ULM is home to a nationally rank ski team and it is fun to watch the team skiing on the bayou. During Spring Fever, you can play Ooz Ball (volleyball in the mud), attend music concerts and other activities. The 2012 Spring Fever concert featured The Fray.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus much; however, the campus has a variety of placed to choose from. ULM has a sushi bar, Starbucks, Java, Chick-fil-a, and many other placed.

    Dorm Life

    I live a home and not in a dorm, so I cannot comment on the dorm life at ULM.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers seem to work with their students to insure their students' success. Most of the teachers I have had in class are willing to help if you have any questions or concerns.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may want to price your course books on campus as well as online sites. During the winter months, you might want to always have a hoodie with you due to classes being cold. Make sure you play close attention to the parking zones - you don't want to receive at ticket.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a very clean and friendly campus. The faculty and staff are very helpful. The campus is very pretty especially at sunset when overlook the bayou that runs through the campus.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is probably one of the safest in America! Campus police are always seen patrolling or just posted up by Starbucks observing. Professors also make it very clear of the safety rules especially in labs There hasn't been a single safety issue since I've been there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite ULM traditions is Spring Fever week. The Campus Activities Board (CAB) always cooks up fun things to do to give students a chance to break away from their books and unwind. We had laser tag one year which may seem childish but surprisingly everyone played, even me! It felt like we were kids again at a friend's 10th birthday party. Oh, and my absolute favorite Spring Fever Week tradition is Oozeball. What is Oozeball you say? I can't tell you! You'll just have to come to ULM and find out!

    What to do for fun

    ULM's campus is so lively. There's a bayou in the middle of it (no really, a real bayou) so you have a chance to go fishing, go canoeing or kayaking, you cant go swimming in the bayou though, but that's what our Natatorium is for. Yes, we have an indoor pool. The activity center is also available for the more active students who want to go play racquetball or shoot some hoops, or even just work out if that's your thing. Nor to mention its FREE to students! You'll soon find out that college kids love the word free.

    Food and Dining

    Our campus cafeteria is great. Thats just it, its really great. I mean, to say its cafeteria food it really tastes like home cookin'! Initially my hopes were down because I'd come from the days of mini milk cartons and circle pizzas for lunch, but our cafeteria staff really adheres to the needs of us growing young folk.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I lived in is set up like a dorm you would see on TV: Big room, two beds, two desks, and two sets of dressers. They have dorms where you can have a separate room inside the big room, but I feel like you miss out on the real college experience. Living with another person like that enhances your interpersonal skills. My roommate and I started as complete strangers but now we're really close. And who knows you might get a roommate from Switzerland! Everyone in the dorms were friendly and sweet and each floor's RA was kind and helpful. There were never any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of easiness really depends on your major. I'm a Dental Hygiene major so I take a lot of Anatomy and Anatomy labs alonf with many Nursing and other Health Science majors. I have to admit, A&P Biology is my hardest class, but my other classes and professors teach without feelinf like you're being taught, like Sociology. ULM makes sitting in a lecture for an hour and fifteen minutes less boring. Although, i have heard horror stories about some Chemistry and Physics teachers, but all you have to do is ask around to see who to try and avoid. Studenta tell all

    Tips for prospective students

    My number 1 tip for student hopefuls would be to utilize your weekends! College isn't like high school where u spend 8 hours of your day at school. At the most you spend 6 hours in class, but college is so active you spend time doing other fun things instead of studying, I know I did. Though it sounds boring, students must learn to use their free time on weekends to study. Another tip is to get involved. Don't overload yourself with extracurriculars, but if you can handle a lot of clubs and organizations go for it. The people you meet and connect with are amazing. Especially at ULM. I've gotten so many new friends and study partners from being in student organizations and believe me, study partners are the bee's knees!

    In three sentences

    If you want to go to a school where your teachers challenge you academically then you should pick ULM. This school has taught me a lot about pushing myself and about independence. The faculty and even the students treat us like family and are all big on helping others; they're willing to work with you when they can.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. The campus police ride around 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You can also request a police escort back to your on campus residence.

    Greek Life

    There are lots of fraternities and sororities for everyone to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    ULM has many clubs to join and a lot of activities. In the Spring, there is Spring Fever Week, which has different activities all week long and a concert at the end of the week.

    Great for these types of students

    ULM is great for everyone. There are a variety of international students and students from all over the US. Everyone makes you feel welcome. No one person is pointed.

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than what you pay for at ULM. There's free tutoring services, you get in all the sporting events for free with your Warhawks ID

    Food and Dining

    There is home cooked food and fast food on campus. ULM has a subway, chick-fil-a, Einstein Bros, which serves bagels, and Grill Works, which serve home cooked burgers, chicken tenders, fish, and hot wings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Everyone is very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic curriculum is a tough but at the end of the day the students know the material. It makes other course related classes easy. The professor are willing to help students if the students ask. There is also free tutoring and supplemental instruction to help with chemistry and biology classes.

    In three sentences

    ULM has an at home feeling. The professors do their best to help all their students and professors also know their students on first name basis.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ULM has great safety service. The campus police definitely take their job very seriously. There are also call buttons in various locations around campus, just in case.

    Greek Life

    I personally, am not a member of a Greek community, but I see they are ever actively involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    ULM, has 50+ student run organizations. There is literally something out there for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something out there for all students. ULM takes pride in being very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Like all universities, we have our little traditions. One that comes to mind. occurs during Spring Fever week, there are loads of activities to take part in. One of the most popular is the Ooze Ball competition. This is a mud volley ball tournament.

    What to do for fun

    Ulm, is the only University in the nations with an actual bayou running through it, so it is common to see students canoeing, fishing, or even water skiing on their free time on a sunny day.

    Food and Dining

    The food, in the dinning hall, is the best you can expect from a campus cafeteria. There are made to order stations, along with the home cooked meal of the day. The Student Union, also has some fast food you can grab on the go. Oh and don't forget every college students best friend:STARBUCKS.

    Dorm Life

    There are 6 dorms. Bayou Suits, is fairly new and for the honor students. Commons i and ii are pretty nice has well,and there is an all girls dorm. But, it is known throughout campus to try to avoid Masur Hall,or Madison. There are also on-campus apartments for those with 30+ hours.

    Academic Rigor

    ULM offers many academic options. We are primarily known throughout the state for our pharmacy program, our biology group has a very high acceptance rate to master programs. That is only a few.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early,and turn everything in as early as you can! Most things are a first come basis. Also, if all possible go to the actual campus to tend to any business.

    In three sentences

    Over all, ULM is a great university. We are a small enough campus to get the homely feeling,yet we have many opportunities. I would recommend it to most anyone.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Monroe is a small town. There are things to do on campus and we also have a mall about 10 mins away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a bit on the hospital side. I normally cook at my apartment or purchase something from a fast food stop.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was great. Prior to moving off campus I stayed in a two bedroom apartment on campus. There are extremely nice, but a bit expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    There is only one way I can describe the academics: AWESOME!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should remember to always stay focus. They should keep in mind those late house parties may sound awesome at a particular time, but you will eventually pay for it if you lose sight of the ultimate goal.

    In three sentences

    My experience at this Unversity has been extremely pleasant. The coursework as well as instructors is the best. My acceptance to this University was a dream come true because I will obtain something that my parents did not have the opporunity to do. If it had not been for my wonderful advisor's at ULM I have no idea where I would be today.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student who takes academic serious while having to pay for college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located on a bayou, how cool is that?

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly could not afford any other college and that is why I need scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Many social events take place almost every night of the week.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not stressful, for some

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class. Professors will work with you if they know who you are and see you have put in effort.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana-Monroe is a exceptional university where students can take advantage of a great education and an affordable cost. Expectations are high for each student to which we all strive to be the best possible student. ULM is giving me opportunities to excel in life.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Frat parties, movies, campus games.

    Food and Dining

    Besides the sub which is the student union building there are many great restaurants around to enjoy life in college and away from home.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm needs improvement!

    Academic Rigor

    The majors are challenging and require you to stay focused and dedicated to the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and party a little and you will do fine. Make lots of friends for study groups.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere here and the people are friendly. Chi Alpha is a great organization to join and is for us young college attending students seeking to stay with God. The people you meet in organizations are very kind.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ride on the bayou

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it

    In three sentences

    This is a great school and great envirnoment. The students hear help incoming freshman. Everyone is friendly.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is beyond safe, if you're not wearing a seatbelt the whole ULM police department will show up

    Clubs and Activities

    ULM has every club and organization you can think of, even a Harry Potter & TOMS Club.

    Great for these types of students

    ULM is great for all types of students !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oozeball, which is volleyball played in a mud hole

    Bang for the buck

    For out of state, the cost of tuition is relatively inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can hang out with Ace the Warhawk. Go fishing or canoeing on the bayou.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazingly delicious, they serve home cooked meals. So if you're feeling homesick, I'm sure eating at Schultz will cure that.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms completely furnished, and they are really nice inside.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small, so that it will be easier to get to know your professors. They also offer free tutoring for all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would say definitely go there if you are wanting to be on a smaller scale campus.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a beautiful campus. The current students and staff, are very friendly and welcoming. Overall, everyone there makes you want to attend the school

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there when you needed them and do an amazing job.

    Greek Life

    PHENOMENAL

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life and CAB seem to be the best options in organizations. The football games are extraordinarily hype, the Misster ULM pageant is hilarious and the big concert at the end of the year is always memorable

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oozeball and the Misster ILM pageants.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties, a recreational center, and always fun activities going on on-campus.

    Food and Dining

    Home-style Louisiana food for those who love it, but also many other options such as Subway, and Chick Fil-A for those times when you want fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a very decent size and look very well-kept.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a party school nor babysitting service. Your teachers will teach you whatever you need to know but you are responsible for your own success.

    In three sentences

    The University of Louisiana at Monroe has a medium sized campus compared to other colleges. The population is very diverse which lowers typical minority attendance stereotypes. It gives off a very comfortable vibe, with very friendly students and staff making you feel like you belong there.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school has a lot of different choices as far as food is concerned. They have a cafeteria as well as a Sub which gives you a choice between fast food and home cooked meals. They have a wonderful variety of foods. They also have a convenient store which has different foods as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for the most part are in good shape but they could use some improvements, but living on-campus makes your college experience a lot more fun. Even though you're in school to do your work you can still have a social life, and living on campus gives you that extra time to experience more on-campus events. It also saves you gas because you're in walking distance of everything.

    Academic Rigor

    The overall work that is required of you is nothing unusual; the work itself isn't extremely hard if you study and do what is ask of you. They require you to learn things that will help you further your education and to receive your degree. Make sure that you stay focused you do not want to wasted your time and money.

    In three sentences

    University of Louisiana-Monroe has a wonderful teaching staff. I absolutely enjoyed my first year of college. The teachers go above and beyond to help you succeed.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We actually have a Harry Potter Alliance club! Also, every year we play volley ball in a huge mud pit!

    Bang for the buck

    There are many organizations that are a ton of fun, and you can receive scholarships from them!

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs you can join! There is something for everyone, weather it be religious, wake boarding, fishing, water skiing, or many others!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    In three sentences

    I am a first year, full time, Pre-Pharmacy student here at ULM. So far, all of the administrators I have met have been extremely kind and helpful to me. The university is beautiful and very well kept, and i look forward to my college career here!

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police station, it has a first alert call system set up all across campus. They have a response time of under two minutes, and if you do not feel safe you can ask for a police escort to your dorm or car.

    Greek Life

    Is every where and it seems fun, but I am not in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Look them up and if they do not have one you like start one it is not hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ozz ball. it is volleyball in mud pits, the Christmas (tree lighting) ceremony, and a bayou that cuts through campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Every church group on campus has a dollar lunch. The cafeteria is a pay then eat buffet. Many free events that offer free food. It is ridiculous.

    What to do for fun

    Swim, intramurals, CAB activities (free programs to get students involved, such as week of welcome, Miss ULM, Mr. ULM, Spring Fever, dances, concerts, movies, and more), canoeing, and clubs or RSO's (recognized student organizations).

    Food and Dining

    The food at the sub is amazing, and the school cafeteria has great music.

    Dorm Life

    The showers are still awful, the space is small, and lets be honest it isn't in the best condition.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very challenging, but who doesn't like a good challenge. ULM strives to have its students graduate with the highest possible grades, and shortest amount of time. If you need help you can go to the professor, go to free tutoring, go online, or even get your own free studying room.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Know where you are supposed to park, or pay a $50 fine *Always be on time to class *Bug the professors during their office hours they want to help you, but can not help everyone especially if they do not know who you are. *Attendance is required. *GET INVOLVED!

    In three sentences

    ULM is where unity is encouraged, motivation to graduate is guaranteed, and leadership is everywhere. Like all collages it has its ups and downs, but that is to be expected. Lastly living on campus is great.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After eating in the cafeteria you can go by the bayou and feed the ducks.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities scheduled on campus and Monroe has sports and arts activities every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and the student union both have great choices.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home so I don't know about dorm life.

    In three sentences

    Collegiate program is an awesome opportunity for high school students and Robyn Jordan is great to work with.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe they have an alert system that tells if there is bad weather coming or if something tragic happens on campus such as a fire or a shooting

    Bang for the buck

    Overall its not a bad university to attend for the price the dorms and tuition are really cheap

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, Running, working out, and exercise classes

    Food and Dining

    The food is good though not many dining options on campus, however there are several local business that accept the schools flex dollars.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good they have three relatively new dorms that are in excellent shape

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be scared to ask the professors for help, because they are more than happy to do so

    In three sentences

    The classrooms are small, and the professors are willing to work with the students. The campus has many activities to watch and play. The campus is very clean and neat.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Any student can go canoeing on the bayou for free. There is an indoor swimming pool on campus, as well as a gym that offeres a variety of work out classes daily. There are also tennis courts. The student organizations put on different events all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage prospective students to take a tour of the campus before deciding to go there. Also have a idea on what classes you want to take and look up your professors before making your schedule. Lastly, get involved in clubs & organizations.

    In three sentences

    The University of Louisiana-Monroe is a great college. It's very diverse and an array of courses are offered. Student life is outstanding; there is always something going on and something to look forward to.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are not the party type or used to being in a busy setting. You'll have to search for fun here. That's sad to say because it actually used to be kind of fun my first semester.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school academically you will definitely get your money's compared to other schools in northern Louisiana.

    What to do for fun

    You can go kayaking on the bayou

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is decent to say the least

    Dorm Life

    He dorms are nice with the exception of masur of course.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are not easy, but the teachers will help in anyway they can and they have tutoring for everything

    In three sentences

    The students here are pretty friendly and open, you won't get the feeling of everyone being cliqued up. The campus looks nice with the exception of masur hall smh, but I'm sure they'll do something with it this summer. The food in the cafe�they can do better is all ill say.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is nothing threatening on campus so I guess the police do a pretty good job.

    Greek Life

    Lots of parties. Pledging gets you friends and makies things alittle less boring.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many artistic outlets. You really have to look for the clubs. They're pretty low key and don't advertise much. Almost nonexistant.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're nerdy, a jock, hunter or really into greek life and parties this is your place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Me and my friends work out and laugh at each other because we're pretty out of shape.

    Bang for the buck

    Great academics with NO distractions...... unless you have a car.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing but listen to music, sleep, study and hangout.

    Food and Dining

    The food will either be really good or very bad in Schultz. I suggest that you stick with pizza, cereal or a burger. 7/10 The food will be good. The only other place to get food is Starbucks and the SUB. The SUB is super high but has Grillworks, Subway, Chic-fil-a (or watever its called) and some bagel/breakfast place.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Madison, which is the all male dorm. There is a movie night or free pizza every now and then. Really small dorms. THe only thing you're given is internet and cable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great! If you don't do well you can ony blame yourself for it. All of the teachers are reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get addicted to the few sources of entertainment that you have. The music on campus is pretty outdated. There are very few artistic outlets on campus.

    In three sentences

    Its really boring. If you're going into pharmacy its top notch. No distractions for miles around.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus Police are riding around campus around the clock. There are also these police beacons scattered around campus. If you press the button then the police officials will be there in a heartbeat.

    Greek Life

    There several Fraternities and sororities. ULM has a place for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can play sports, participate in intramural. The Greek life on campus is very active. The religious groups are very involved also.

    Great for these types of students

    ULM is best known for their Pharmacy and Nursing program

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ULM is the only school in Louisiana with a Bayou in the middle of campus. Fishing is great too. They also serve free all you can eat craw fish in the spring.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of attending, if your not in the special programs like Pharmacy or Nursing, then a different school would be better for you.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Bowling alley, skating Ring, Movie Theater, a mall, or you can hang out with friends at the local bar.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria cooks excellent food, and the restaurants on campus are very nice also.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms are nice, but I'm staying in one of the older dorms. It needs some work.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of classes that are more difficult then they should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around before you schedule classes because some teachers have a bad reputation and you don't want to be stuck with them. Do not buy your textbooks from the campus bookstore because they are very overpriced.

    In three sentences

    It is small, compared to other Universities. The staff and students are friendly and fun loving. The Teachers are helpful and the classes are passable.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The ULM police department is very profession.

    Clubs and Activities

    ULM offers lots of opportunities for students to join on-campus organizations. This area of ULM is very developed.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to attend ULM should be interested in Biology, Education, Toxicology, Pharmacy, and Nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very cheap considering the education a student will receive. Also, ULM's partnership with a community college off campus allows for a very cheap education system. However, ULM is highly specialized in some areas of study, while lacking in others.

    What to do for fun

    ULM offers lots of activities, which are offered through the Campus Activities Board. Also, the area in which ULM occupies allows for multiple celebrations that are not offered anywhere else, like Mardi Gras.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very expensive on campus, but there are a variety of choices a student may choose. Warhawks express, the campus credit system, is accepted in a variety of different places off campus, which makes it very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life could use some adjustments, but the resident halls can be very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The science department on campus is phenomenal. There is a high drop-out rate of in chemistry courses due to challenging professors who teach these courses. However, ULM does not offer much challenge in other areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into what the University of Louisiana - Monroe offers before you make the decision to attend. ULM is highly specialized and focused in specific areas of academia, but lacks the variety of choose that other universities offer.

    In three sentences

    The academic environment provides many students with the opportunity to get involved on campus. The low student attendance allows faculty/student interactions unlike any other university, except private universities. However, the limited variety of majors to choose from creates a taxing experience for students who want to major in other areas.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the activity center. There are zumba classes, a pool, basketball courts, exercise machines. If not the activity center then there's almost always some kind of activity going on with organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food sometimes is awful and sometimes is pretty good. They do have a variety. However, the meal plan cost is ridiculous.

    Dorm Life

    The only thing they ask about when rooming you with a stranger is your sleeping schedule. They should at least attempt to room you with someone that has the same interests or hobbies you do, but they dont, which can lead to problems. Also, many people live in the same building are very inconsiderate. There are times when it's really hard to study, even having my own room, because there will be people running and yelling down the halls at times.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not really a party school, they actually care about the grades your making.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be time efficient!!!!!!! Time management is probably the most important thing a can stress to incoming students, it can make or break you to make sure you have enough time to get everything done.

    In three sentences

    Almost all of the professors are wonderful people. I love the campus; there's always something to do and somewhere you can go, plus it's nice so walking to class isn't a chore. Parking is horrible.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am currently in nursing school. In my opinion, we have the best one in the state.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security around. You will always feel safe here.

    Greek Life

    I plan to pledge AKA, when I met some of the girls, I just knew that it would be the group I needed to pledge to. Some people you just talk to, and they make you feel like that's where you need to be. Talk to the pledges. They make you feel so welcomed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous things to do. There is a club for everyone, seriously. Absolutely no reason to be in your dorm all day!

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to socialize and make connections for future references, like me, this is your place.

    Bang for the buck

    You may spend a little money, but every reason you spend it for is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to get into that if I began to name them all, I'd literally fill the whole page. There's so much that can be done on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options and places to eat. I thought that most of the time, people just ate from cafeteria food in college, it's not like that here. Your meal plan lets you eat just about anywhere around the campus!

    Dorm Life

    I've been there to see the dorms, I promise it feels just like home.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone that I know who has graduated from here have all become successful people in life and love their jobs. They are thankful for attending ULM.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to have a great time learning and interacting with other people, this is definitely the place to be.

    In three sentences

    I am currently accepted, an I have been on campus twice. The atmosphere is so warm and welcoming, and I believe I made a great decision when I chose this place. I have not started classes yet, but I can already say that I'm proud to be a Warhawk!

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are always patrolling day and night. If there is an incident that happens on/near campus, students are notified immediately. We receive emails and texts from the safety and emergency network. It's mandatory you set up an account. You can set it up at PREP

    Clubs and Activities

    GET INOLVED! Emerging Scholars is a great program to get to know your professors and learn more about anything! Peer Leaders is also a great organization to reach out to fellow students. There's so many, it would take too long to go through them all!

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, involved, school-spirited, happy, determined.

    What to do for fun

    The mall in Monroe is great. There's great dining and shopping in Monroe and West Monroe. Can get a little boring if you're broke though.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! You won't go hungry on this campus. The cafeteria has great cooks, who are super friendly! The SUB also has great food. We have a chick-fil-a, grille works, sushi, pizza/Italian place, Einstein's bagels, subway, and Starbucks. It's convenient and tasty!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great if you have to live on campus. There's a variety of dorms to choose from. They're kept in pretty good conditions. Try to get into Bayou Suites or Commons 1 or 2 if possible. The others aren't bad, but they're not quite as looked after.

    Academic Rigor

    Undergraduate classes can be tough, especially the sciences and maths. Get to know your teacher, and take advantage of their office hours! Tutoring is also a great help for these classes. The first 2 years can be the toughest because they're mostly the weeding out classes.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a great school with a lot of pride! Students are proud to say they attend ULM, and enjoy supporting in any way.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ULM is a campus that puts safety first. If there is any type of threat on campus or even in a nearby neighborhood, campus security is diligent in spreading the word by sending out campus wide alerts via email and text.

    Food and Dining

    According to the different pictures posted the food looks good but I don't eat on campus so I cant honestly say.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student so I'm not sure about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Ulm is academically sound, after every course you will gain valuable knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all of your paperwork for financial aid is together and ready to be submitted and when enrolling the early bird gets the worm.

    In three sentences

    The school of my dreams. Flexibility is ULM's middle name. Ulm has a heart of gold for education.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty to do for fun on campus. With a bayou running through the middle of campus, you could go canoeing or kayaking. There's a pool located on campus if you enjoy swimming. There's also a Activity Center with 5 basketball courts, a indoor, upstairs track, a weight room, two racquetball courts, a ping-pong room, a sauna, and volleyball court. There's also a park that we call Bayou Park where you could play flag football, soccer, Frisbee, skateboard, and much more. It also overlooks the bayou.

    Food and Dining

    ULM's cafeteria is a great place for students living on campus. The food there is great. With a variety of stations, you'll never have to worry about eating the same thing over and over. There's also the Student Union Building (SUB) which houses a Subway, Chick-Fil-A, Grille Works, Bagel Shop, and a Italian place which serves pasta and pizza. The campus is also surrounded by various fast-food restaurants which are in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Campus living is great also. Every dormitory is surrounded with security cameras for each student's safety. You will never feel like you're in harm's way. I love living in the dormitory that I've been living in the last 4 years. Each dormitory is nice and is kept up by a great cleaning staff.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic curriculum at ULM is great. There are a variety of majors and degrees to pursue. Any major that you wish to take up, ULM will have it. I'm not saying they will have every one, but it'll have 90% of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending ULM, you have to come in with your head on straight. Attending any college comes with its challenges. ULM will challenge you and push you to your full potential, which is what you should want. There are dedicated professors who are willing and ready to help you. You have to be willing and open to accept their help. ULM is a great institution and I would highly recommend attending this college.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a great school for students who plan on attending school in Northeast Louisiana. The learning atmosphere is great and the campus is gorgeous. I love my institution and don't have any regrets on choosing ULM as my college.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The main thing that makes the campus unique is the bayou that runs through the middle of the campus. You can fish, watch the water ski team, canoe, or sit in the grass on those nice, sunny days. Like I said before, get involved in as much as you can so your college experience will be great! It will be boring if you don't see what is out there to do. Look up the atlas on ULM's website to find all the recognized student organizations (RSO's). It will give you a little description of each one.

    Food and Dining

    Majority of the people in the cafeteria are pretty friendly, and the food is okay. They don't have a wide selection, so you just have to take what you can get. They do have more options in the Student Union Building (SUB), which many people seem to like better. Use your flex dollars wisely!

    Dorm Life

    Apply as early as you can for housing to increase your chances of getting the dorm you want. They say they assign them by time stamp or they give the upperclassmen first choice, but that may not always be true. Make a college visit, make sure you see ALL of the dorms, not just the new ones.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major and on the teacher you take. Some teachers may be an easy A, where others make you study all the time even though they are teaching the exact same thing. Make sure you ask around about which teachers to take and use ratemyprofessors.com.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved on campus! Your college experience is what you make of it. Joining organizations that pertain to your major is a great way to get to know the professors and other students with your major. Your classes will be much easier if you surround yourself with people who are working towards your same goal. Also, take advantage of the tutoring in the Student Success Center (SSC) and the Supplemental Instructors (SI). These are students who have taken your classes and can give tips on how to get through the semester successfully.

    In three sentences

    ULM's small, unique campus provides a cozy atmosphere for students. Many of the professors are easy to get to know and are very helpful when it comes to making sure students understand the material. Although it is a small school, ULM gives students opportunities to get involved and have fun through various organizations.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every campus has there issues. We do as well, but we are lucky to have a fantastic police force on campus. They are respectable and they keep us safe. We also have little spots on campus with emergency buttons so if you need help they can find you easily.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the very beginning of your freshman year students are given a list of 55 things to do before graduation. Some things include jumping through the fountain in the middle of the quad and eating at The Fieldhouse. Also, there's the Mardi Gras ball every Spring and Homecoming in the Fall. Pay attention to emails because sometimes there are free lunches out near the SUB for students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations to be involved in, Greek life, and sports. Football, softball, track and field, cross country, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The SUB has many different options for students including Subway and Einstein Brothers. We also have Schultz near the dorms that has a buffet style setting.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms, but my friends have and they seemed to like it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing (give or take a few) and the classes give you knowledge that you can take with you for years to come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to make friends. It isn't hard. Most of the other students are in the same boat you are. Also, keep up with their studies because most teachers don't take late work. If you have any problems with classes, there usually is a tutor in the Student Success Center to help you . Also, don't be afraid to talk to your professors when you get a little lost. That is what they have office hours for.

    In three sentences

    ULM is very clean and organized. The campus is beautiful and well-kept. They have fantastic organizations to get involved in and people are friendly. It is a good idea to check on the teachers, though, before you take their classes. Some of the teachers are inconsiderate and harsh. The classrooms are generally clean and handicap accessible.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Firstcall sends alerts to your cell phones; dorms, especially the girls' dorms, constantly monitor who is going in and out; and there are emergency phones placed all around campus. The police are right at the front of the campus, but in my time there I only ever saw them need to come out when traffic lights went down.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities to participate in, and you don't have to figure it out for yourself, the staff will encourage you to go to these and will tell you where they are and what time if you ask.

    Great for these types of students

    Biology, biochemistry, pharmacy, etc. There are many other classes available but this is where the most emphasis is placed. If you're willing to live out in Monroe it's more than worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's been a while since I went but I distinctly remember something involving mud.

    Bang for the buck

    They're pricey but worth it. Try and get a scholarship if you can. You get the same level of education as LSU, but with more care of you as an individual and much, much smaller classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events going on around campus and lots of clubs you can join. ULM very persistently encourages participation in events rather than staying cooped up in your dorm room. The area directly around ULM is not the best but if you get on the interstate there is a hub of shopping centers and restaurants about ten minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, if a little over-seasoned, and the staff are friendly. There are a multitude of options other than the cafeteria which are great if you want to change things up. There is usually a fair amount of variety in the cafeteria, and if you aren't up for a hot meal, burgers and pizza are practically always available.

    Dorm Life

    How good or bad your dorm experience is is really dependent more on who you end up rooming with. Some of the dorms are better than others, which is to be expected, but every dorm head will be trying their hardest to be there for you, and the game nights are a good way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Study. Seriously. Many of the teachers offer extra study sessions after class to help you prepare for tests. They care about how well you do and they are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    They're going to nail you with fees. Try and take advantage of all the extra services ULM offers because they're charging you for them either way. Go to class, study your hardest, and enjoy yourself. The campus is beautiful and full of friendly people.

    In three sentences

    If you want to do pharmacy or chemistry this is definitely the school to attend. The teachers are excellent but the administration is not entirely on top of things. Like many places in Louisiana, it's who you know, not what you know; if you want to get something taken care of you'll have to be persistent.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student I have spent many late nights in the library and never have I felt scared to walk to my car after leaving. There are places located all around campus where you can call an officer, however I don't see where these would be necessary because I always see an officer riding around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is outstanding, they are always doing different things during homecoming such as dunk tanks. Not to mention how involved they are around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are inviting and hold a ridiculous amount of activities around campus. The clubs involve everything from GLBTQ clubs to history clubs and charities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student! If your shy, everyone at this school is friendly and its super easy to make friends. If your outgoing, you'll fit right in! If your an athlete, ULM has outstanding athletic programs. Seriously, we've got what your looking for :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not really sure if our traditions are unusual, but we have a christmas tradition where everyone gathers around the front of the school, and watches the lighting of the tree while drinking hot chocolate with the dean of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    ULM has an incredible amount of clubs to join, all of which are usually accepting members. There are several things to do on campus to make friends and there is always something to do. As far as academics go there are so many relaxing places to study around campus and of course there are ridiculous amount of people who are willing to help if you are struggling with anything.

    What to do for fun

    ULM always has some type of activity going on for students! Whether it be a water ski show, a concert at the music hall, a step show, fashion shows, pep rallies, and not to mention our amazing football games, GO WARHAWKS!! If the student isn't really into any of that ULM is also located near a recreation center for students and several restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The SUB at ULM has great food! From Chic-fil-a to Starbucks and even Suchic, they have plenty of choices to satisfy every students cravings. They also have campus activity sponsored dining, for instance on Wednesday they have steaks at the cafeteria for a dollar.

    Dorm Life

    Although I never lived in the dorms, I had several friends who did and they all loved how clean the dorms stayed. The people at ULM are super friendly and help make anyone feel like they are staying at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is moderate depending on what classes you take, some harder than others. However, even if the work is harder than you expected the teachers are great at helping out. If the teacher is not available to help ,the campus is full of resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has an absolutely amazing staff. I looked at other schools before choosing ULM and no one at the other schools was quite as helpful as the people at ULM. The staff has helped so much with finding me financial aid and picking out the right classes for my degree program. The teachers are so helpful, and even though the classes are kind of large the teachers still give the one-on-one attention that every student deserves!

    In three sentences

    ULM is an amazing school! Even if you are not from Louisiana, being on campus makes you feel right at home. This college is not only full of school spirit, but is also an awesome place to get a great education.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    ULM has one cafeteria called Schulze. There is a building called the S.U.B, where you can purchase different meals if your tired of the cafe. There is a convenience store, as well as a star bucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are seven sets of dorms at ULM. Most freshmen end up in Masur, where you have a roommate and a suite mate. However, if a student is unhappy with his or her roommate, they can apply for a room change during or at the end of the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    ULM has five colleges, which are the college of business, education, health science, art sciences, and pharmacy. There are plenty opportunities to get extra help if needed. The school does recognize outstanding students, via dean's or president's list.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a small, relatively diverse college. The campus is great; there is a library, convenience store, star bucks, health center, and even a mobile dental hygiene unit. There are plenty of opportunities to spread your wings and discover who you really are.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are constantly on watch and active. There are security stations located in key-points throughout campus keeping everyone safe with a sense of security.

    Greek Life

    Highly active, more Fraternities and Sororities than I can name. I'm not too intersted in Greek Life but there are many events hosted by the different clubs all week.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities and events are always being planned and acted out, such as with the Dance club. just about every week or so any student could attend a play, concert of special lunch event. Most On campus events are free for all students and present a pleasant break from studying and academics.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love to have fun, but not so much into Partying. although there are plenty of events and parties, there are seldom any loud or earthshaking events. Campus is usually quite and peaceful. and from an Academic standing the school, its classes and curriculum are best geared toward students perusing Degree's in Science and Pharmacy and offers many opportunists to expose students real to work environments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ooze ball - yes it is about as nasty as it sounds, imagine playing volleyball waist deep in what is basically an enormous mud puddle. its extremely fun though. I don't know if many other schools have it but i definitely will remind you that your are about as far south as it gets.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition in comparison to many other schools of the same prestige is drastically cheaper and affordable. Not only is most of your tuition paid for by Pell Grant but the access to the facilities and technology greatly present relief. The Library offers almost 24 hour assistance for both academic an personal use.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, exploring all the foods and technologies on campus is enough to keep on one person pretty excited and busy. in addition the campus offers and Activity Center where students can play/practice different sports, join aerobic, lift weights and do many entertaining things.

    Food and Dining

    ULM has been renounced in the city for its food and being open to the public. Starbucks is also conveniently located on campus next to Dorms. Campus itself is also surrounded with a wealth of local restaurants and stores.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is admittedly lacking in some facilities, but budget in these faculties are expected before taking away academics, however given the best accommodations some dorms are surprisingly luxurious giving very much security and freedom.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life like many other colleges is almost self-paced. You handle your own work load and are perfectly free to manage a schedule to allot time for school and personal life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make very good use on online and on-campus Resources, You are provided with many accommodations that were included in tuition fee's that should be taken full advantage of to make school easier

    In three sentences

    There are lots of events and opportunities. Instructed are highly trained in their respective fields and willing to work with students. National Standing is great, despite economic budget cuts, school still runs smoothly and is very well managed.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school who want diversity and fun.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    So many OPTIONS

    Dorm Life

    NO community showers!

    In three sentences

    Well rounded diverse beautiful school.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, my friends and I like canoe in the bayou. We also go to the activity center and play basketball

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun , join clubs, and make new friends

    In three sentences

    I rate my school a 10. We have a great campus. The faculty and student body is also great .

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent.

    Clubs and Activities

    A whole variety of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Scholars and friendly students. Musically talented and athletes too!

    What to do for fun

    Make friends! You learn a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried the food yet but heard it's great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really cool and flexible. (Co ed or single dorms available).

    Academic Rigor

    Lecturers are always ready to help. STUDY really hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good use of your time and always ask for help if needed.

    In three sentences

    ULM is a great university with very good programs and friendly people!

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!! Staying in your dorm room and studying is not going to work, you will over study. I did it! You have got to get out and find some friends and take study breaks.

    In three sentences

    The University of Louisiana at Monroe is a great friendly environment. If you do your part as a student and resident the campus leaders and professors will basically do whatever they can to help you succeed. Some professors at other schools don't really care how you do in his/her class however, at ULM that definitely not the case!

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    To me, Greek Life looks and seems like an amazing thing to be apart of.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, sport, activity venter, or canoe.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is not really that good.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on what dorm(s) you are in. Regardless, it always is a big help to know several people that stay in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fairly well. If you really try and work towards your academic goals, you will achieve them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having a problem in a class, don't be afraid to ask your instructor/ professor. Most of the professors are willing to help you if you let it be known. Join something on campus, anything!

    In three sentences

    Your experience at this college is what you make it. It has great opportunities to get involved on campus, so take them. The students are also pretty friendly.

  • 07/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police parked and walking around all the time, as well as streetlights and emergency centers place throughout campus. If you're feeling unsafe, you can call campus police to walk with you back to your dorm. The officers are always super friendly and helpful, and they're dedicated to helping the students stay safe. If you're still feeling scared, try taking one of the self defense classes ULM offers. I took one last semester and it was amazing!

    Greek Life

    I'm not personally involved with a fraternity or sorority, but I have plenty of friends who are and I know they love it. There are fraternities and sororities for every personality and interest, and I know a couple of chapters that were started within the last few years by students, so it's constantly growing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for any and every interest. We have a great St. Jude's group that forms teams to raise money for the cause, and a Harry Potter club dedicated to volunteer work and charity. Overall, I think there are over 300 student recognized organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Honors kids- I'm an honor's student and the program is awesome. It's still fairly new, so every incoming class has a huge impact on how we work and what we do and stand for. We're also awesome for anyone who likes water skiing. We've won the state championship for about three years now, I think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to go by Enoch's on a Tuesday. Grab a burger buddy and get BOGO (buy one get one free) on their burgers. They've got amazing food and it's a rite of passage for freshman (as long as you're over 18- they do check ID's!)

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like, for the affordable tuition price, the campus is beautiful and the courses are good. I feel like I'm being prepared for graduate school, and all of my professors really seemed like they wanted to help me get a good education and a prepare me for a job. I just wish the food was a bit better, and maybe a better internet connection in the dorm rooms.

    What to do for fun

    I love to hang out with my friends, we watch movies in the dorm and get Starbucks. We love to go kayaking on the river, which is always a good work out but also fun and relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    The only reason I rated this lower was because of the hours of the cafeteria and SUB. It seems like every time I turned around they were closed for a holiday or closed early (they close every Friday at 2!) I'm fortunate enough to live close to Monroe, so during spring break and three-day weekends, I can go home and eat with my parents, so it wasn't so bad for me, mostly just inconvenient.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I love the dorms. Keep in mind that they are dorm rooms when you create your expectations. The best thing is that the students are friendly, my random roommate was wonderful, and the campus is so well planned and central that you can walk to anything you need. They've got a Starbucks on campus as well as a center with different food places, like Subway and Chick-Fil-A.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on which classes, major, or teacher you choose. I had a biology class that was really easy, but then turned around and had a lab that was difficult. It varies, but overall it will challenge you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Don't forget to fill out your fasfa. Price match your books if you're getting them from the bookstore, or better yet- use the ULM bookswap facebook page. Take advantage of the library and staff, everyone is kind and willing to help. Don't be afraid to be yourself. Join clubs- or even better, start one.

    In three sentences

    ULM is not only full of amazing professors and students, but has majors that will suit everyone. It's affordable and credible- the classes are always interesting and worth the tuition. The campus is extraordinarily beautiful and centered conveniently in the middle of the city.