Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Maine at Farmington Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pre-med, pre-law, art, writing

    Tips for prospective students

    Has plenty of pre-graduate programs, and art programs but it seems to be very expensive reaching over 20 grand for an instate student.

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Being well-prepared plays an important role to help to enhance yourself and it is the first step to succeed. Try to make effort if you can. Do not be afraid of failure. Everyone learns from mistakes.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though my financial situation is not very good, I still want to study here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am an exchange student this year who come from Hong Kong. I'm now studying high school and I'm going to graduate here. I do love the learning environment in the US. Everything here goes very well. I'm planning to establish my career in America. I want to be a Chinese teacher. I hope I can explore more and more cultural differences between Chinese and Western countries.

    Am learning a lot

    I like learning new things, especially learning different languages. Languages provide me a chance to get along well with others and to meet new friends who come from different countries. Besides, through learning languages, I can explore the cultural differences between different countries. I like challenging myself and I will never stop learning. As a saying goes, 'Never too late to learn'. I learn from my everyday life and I do enjoying learning so much!!!!!!

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aspiring Education majors would enjoy UMF.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Education program seems a bit challenging to get into from an outside perspective- most students are Education majors of some form. The psychology classes are outstanding, and if you're looking for a math class, look for one taught by Mike. Art students- this place might not be for you. Depends on how you feel about disorganized classes, professors who are difficult to contact, and paying for courses that you don't get a lot out of.

    Did enjoy being here

    If you have any interest in learning technical art skills, I would not recommend this campus.

  • 10/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking a B.A. in Education make up the majority of the school, and the program is fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to trying new things and new classes, be flexible in your schedule, and be prepared to get tired of the food after a while.

    Bang for the buck

    For the quality of education I am receiving, the price is very reasonable. The school also gives financial aid generously.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Farmington! The students and staff are incredibly welcoming and warm. The surrounding area is beautiful, especially if you appreciate the outdoors.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are relevant to my major, interesting, and productive. All the professors are unique, and know the subject they teach very well.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything and everyone, and if there isn't, then there will be soon. Creating a new club is as easy as finding an administrator in the staff, having the idea signed off on, and recruiting members.

    Great for these types of students

    Every one - no exaggeration, this college has something for everyone. Well, everyone who wants to learn - even some of those who don't. There is a great social atmosphere, academic stimulus everywhere, and a gym class (I thought that was a cool random fact).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a strip of hallway in between the radio booth and the South Dining Hall called 'The Beach'.... there's nothing truly special about it other than its shape. But it does have a calming effect on me whenever I walk through it, come to think of it.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for - actually, you get more. Great teachers, great community, great dorm-mates. And the opportunity to study abroad or within the country at a different college!

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can always head down to 'FHOP', the local pizzeria; or 'Wicked Gelato' a local shop specializing in gelato (no kidding), sandwiches of many kinds, and soups - and it gets better, they have free Wi-Fi! Or, you could just check your email once a week for the countless number of programs and events being put on by the school and held around campus. But if you're lazy, you could always hang out in The Landing and just wait for all the crazy, fun things that take place there to take place.

    Food and Dining

    We complain about our food - but doesn't everyone? The portions are generous and you can always go back for seconds...or thirds. The Aramark staff have been working hard to provide us more healthy options and ways to eat better, and they do a good job of making healthy foods taste good as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms vary. Some are older (Mallett and Purington), and some are newer (Stone and Scott). The positioning is key, however, and even the older dorms have their charms. Mallett is in prime position, it is in the middle of the campus and is within 10 minutes or less of almost every destination you may have on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Each program is designed to fit in as much information as is possible within the space of a semester. Each class is led by an experienced teacher recruited by other teachers, and evaluated by their students. If you're having problems in a class - any class - there are tutors who are just waiting to help you, and teachers who are willing to provide further instruction wherever it is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether or not you get to visit the campus before you enroll doesn't matter. The environment is no different from that of any other college. You just have to be prepared to work hard. Of course, if you do get the chance to visit, you should! You would get to develop a relationship with your teachers before you start classes - who would pass that up?

    In three sentences

    The campus is amazing, you can feel close to nature and isolated, or suburban and connected to the world - depending on where you feel like walking. The teachers care about their students and you can tell, you can stay after class for as long as you want, take them to dinner, lunch, just to keep the conversation going. The classes are intense but you can leave them knowing that you've learned something new every day.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is open to the community. Anyone who lives in Farmington can use the dining hall, gym and Library. This makes it very easy for unsafe situations to happen. The campus is also very poorly lit in some areas. There is a campus police station and an escort program if you are nervous walking alone, but over all I feel like safety could be improved.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity on campus, so there really isn't one.

    Great for these types of students

    -Wants a small school. -Dosen't mind being bored. -Wants to be an Education Major

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the spring students rarely ware shoes...which is strange.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs if you find something you like. Other then that there is absolutely nothing to do in Farmington or the area around it.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is done by Armark and it is terrible. They have a few good things, but they dont have them often. The options are very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Now this rating might be a little unfair. It applies to Scott Hall, which is where I stayed. I have heard that Mallott and Purrington have better social settings in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt like I was doing High School Level work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to make sure that you really want a small school, with not much to do. I found myself being extremely bored. The entire area shuts down 8pm which drove me crazy. Also, this school does a decent job with creating great Teachers. I wouldn't recommend it for any other major.

    In three sentences

    This school is VERY Small. It is a good choice if you like very rural areas. The professors are extremely nice, but the classes themselves, I found to be like high school.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very few reported crimes or incidents, and an effective police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    Opportunites for involvement and community are many here.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors enthusiasts, alternative-lifestyle, artistic people, non-traditional students, people who just want a decent college degree without too many thrills.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though I'm paying out of state tuition, I feel that the education here is a reasonable value, particularly if you do the majority of your work as a transfer student at community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with the Writer's Guild, and go to the art gallery every time there's a new exhibition. Plenty of hiking in this area, and snow-sports in the winter. The student center offers lots of relaxing and recreational stuff. There are many interesting trips and programs available for free during the school year.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, there is one buffet-style dining hall which serves 3 meals a day in-season, and one snack bar, open late. Both are operated by Aramark, which I think is a little of a shortcoming, as outside interests don't always do a great job running food service departments. In town, there are a few restaurants, but they are good ones. I like Soup for You and Thai Smile the most.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I'm not sure...people seem happy in the dorms, though.

    Academic Rigor

    This hasn't been an over-challenging program for me, which is to say, it hasn't come with too much unnecessary pressure; an important thing for an artistic person. There are academic programs here that are quite challenging, such as the educational and psychological career tracks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the CLEP for as many requirements as you can, before being accepted!!

    In three sentences

    You can receive a well-round education here, whomever you are. Classes are small, and professors work hard to remember names. Overall cost of attendance is low, comparitively speaking.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs. Zombies and variants of it happen every semester.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are consistently putting on new events and even old favorites. There is always something to do in Farmington.

    Food and Dining

    UMF dining is great because they have a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are a great place to meet new people and to just hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    While there are a few easy classes, you are challenged in everyone of them to rise above and try new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to come on a tour here to UMF you see more visiting UMF than reading about. Words cannot describe the campus and the people.

    In three sentences

    The University of Maine at Farmington is a great liberal arts college. They have great faculty and staff as well as student. The campus is so diverse, that you can do just about anything here and it is a lot of fun.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus, and we have an escort service if you feel unsafe walking around at night.

    Greek Life

    We have three fraternities on campus, I believe that they are all co-ed, although they are not party fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from, although some would be bothered by the lack of football.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, self-motivated students.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for in-state students, not so much out of state.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, walk around downtown, join one of our many clubs, attend a craft night, go to open mic, or stop by a house party.

    Food and Dining

    I've been told that we have more options than a lot of schools, but that doesn't mean that they're healthy options. I have a limited diet, and even my non-limited friends end up eating the same unhealthy food three times per week.

    Dorm Life

    I would recommend living on campus your first year. The majority of my friends here were made in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I found it to be about as rigorous as my public high school. Expect to do a lot of writing for most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You absolutely have to be open-minded to come here. Ignorance and intolerance are very much frowned upon. Also, go to Summer Experience if you can. It really does give you a head-start.

    In three sentences

    Everything you need is nearby. Teachers are passionate and supportive. The dining hall is unhelpful.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the cost of a degree at UMF is much better than some other Maine institutes.

    Am enjoying being here

    I attended another school before I came to UMF and I like this school so much better as I feel the school is much more close knit and the campus is very nice.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are very informative and quite interesting.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I attended UMF as an Upward Bound student, I found the food to be bland and dreary. The dorms were a hazard(fully enveloped in flame in under 2 minutes.) The people however were unique and kind in typical Maine fashion, I'd highly recommend this campus for anyone pursuing a teaching degree.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions if you have them.

    In three sentences

    UMF is a nice small town college, the activities that happen on campus are usually to help you with your major. There is always someone that can answer your question. It is also a friendly town.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although crime is inevitable anywhere you go, I must say our PubSafe is phenomenal. As a staff member of a hall, I personally know each officer. They are so kind, and so good at what they do. I feel safe on campus and know that escort services are available when needed. They are quick to respond to calls and do their job efficiently!

    Greek Life

    We have one fraternity- APO. although I am not a part of it, many men and women on campus are. They do a lot for the community. Although it is time consuming, we do have it available to those who are interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    We are full to the brim with clubs and activities! and the best part is, if you want to start a new club that doesn't already exist, its so easy to do that!! We have anything and everything! Intramural water polo, comedy troupes, poetry slams, stitch and b****, etc!

    Great for these types of students

    Education, education, education! UMF prides itself in being a top education school. However, we have so many strong programs that don't seem to get attention called to. Our psychology program is our second best, and I am blessed to be a part of it. We are also one of the few schools that offers things such as creative writing, rehab, business psychology, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is one of the oldest in Maine and contains so much history. We recently started a new advertisement line called we used to be normal, which highlights the old traditions and strangeness of UMF. There are plenty of ghost stories to go around due to the old buildings- all of them at one time housing students.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus could use some love, but the education you receive is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    our student involvement groups always provide fun things to do on campus. If you would rather not do something on campus, we have tons of little shoppes down town to wander into, as well as a great gym facility.

    Food and Dining

    We don't have the 'best' food sometimes in Aramark, but my friends and I have found that things are changing in a good way in the way of dining. Our snack bar is always top notch, and its definitely a great 'hang out spot'.

    Dorm Life

    I work as an RA in our largest building. Although its true that UMF doesn't have the best facilities- they need a lot of work- the staff here makes your experience as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I know that I work hard to keep my hall comfortable and happy, as well as all other RAs and our AD in the building. We know we're not in any top of the line facilities, but we make due with what we have and turn our experiences into something special.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely challenging classes! The professors here help incoming students acclimate before the push begins. They push you to be the best student that they know you can be, and are always available to help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions about the university to not only professors or admissions, but to students too. Most students will be willing to give you input, and it's super helpful. No question is too 'dumb' or 'pointless' for anyone!

    In three sentences

    Amazing, top of the line education. Up and coming in the way of facilities. Everyone is eager to help you succeed.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is wonderful here. They are real cops, not just security guards.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, including club sports, international, government, and support clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    LGBTQ students thrive here. While there are a few nay-sayers, the general community is very supportive.

    Bang for the buck

    If your in education, this is the school for you. Its the best in the state and one of the best in the country.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wonderful and cheap movie theater within walking distance, a few restaurants, and its only 30 to 40 minutes from Augusta.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many choices for vegetarians. Its the same choices every day, and a lot of the time the food isn't cooked all of the way through. But the choices are immense with many different stations.

    Dorm Life

    The Community Assistants really help making the Res Hall life very enjoyable for residents. Being one myself, I can say that we love our job and we love our residents. The community overall is very supportive.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what teacher you have and your major. Some classes I've had a very challenging and required studying outside of class, others I just passed no problem!

    Tips for prospective students

    Not all of the residents halls have single user bathrooms, if you want your bathroom privacy, I encourage you to live in the Scott halls, in the Stone wellness community, or in FAB (for upperclassmen). The best halls to live in if you want to focus on your academics are Stone or the Scott Halls, if your main concern is fun, most likely Dakin Hall.

    In three sentences

    UMF is a great place for students that enjoy a modern and diverse lifestyle. There are many different kinds of people here, some from as far away as California and many foreign exchange students. The community and the professors are very supportive and caring.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's an AWESOME haunted house every year in the theatre!

    What to do for fun

    There are always a lot of cool things put on by various student run groups on campus, and there's also a small downtown area of Farmington as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come out and do the activities put on by other students!

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The environment of UMF is fantastic. The professors are awesome.