Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Mary Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who truly want the best experience for their undergraduate degree. It's also good for any people who want a quieter campus that's farther away from town. Great for those who want a chance to deepen their faith and have the opportunity to serve in almost any way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and apply for all scholarships. Do your best to get to know your RA and ask a lot of questions. This is a dry and tobacco free campus, so do your best to stay away from that. Make sure you tour and see what campus is like. It's not necessarily to everyone's taste.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education and unique opportunities available for students (including a campus in Rome!!!!) are things that really drew me in. Some of the same stuff is offered at other state schools, but here you receive a lot more individual attention. Yes, the University is private, and thus more expensive, but it is also one of the cheapest private institutions in the country. For the size, quality, and everything, it's hard to beat the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I truly enjoy this school. I am a second year RA here, and always seek to help my residents and provide activities for entertainment. There are ample opportunities to find people to become friends with, that you will share many interests with, despite the small size of the school.

    Am learning a lot

    As a music major, I am incredibly pleased with the music faculty. They are incredibly knowledgeable, and are very willing to help in everything they can. Other professors are just as willing to do so and are fully qualified to teach their subjects. However, much like any school, you get out of the class what you put into it. Classes can be easy or hard, but it's always what you make of it.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our campus is small and not much happens as far as danger goes.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    we have lots of clubs and activities. some of the major clubs are stlf, cfl,and this year we have a focus team on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    those who want to grow in their spiritual lives, become leaders, or just want to experience north dakota.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    prayer day on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i would say that spending the money to go to university of mary is money well spent. we are the university on the grow especially in our faith background.

    What to do for fun

    well we have lots of activities on campus that will keep you busy. always have daily mass if you enjoy going to mass.

    Food and Dining

    chartwells is not the greatest but they do have a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    at the university of mary our dorm life could use a bit of work.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your major, especially nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    come and tour you will love the scenery. also if you are interested in a small school feel university of mary is right where you want to be.

    In three sentences

    university of mary is a great school for anyone who wants a well rounded education. not only does the university prepare you for your future career but also for life. i think the university of mary is one of the best catholic schools in the nation.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety aspect has picked up tremendously since my initial enrollment. We have full time security guards that circle the campus every hour. The RA's and RD's have stepped it up as well and enforce the alcohol and drug policies more firm than they used to.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs to join on campus. Some are directly related with majors offered at Mary, some are community focused, and a lot are for various interests and passions. The school is always open to the creation of new clubs and activities and quite frequently new ones appear around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The student that would benefit the most from this type of school would be a more soft spoken, academically focused, and strong on their faith kind of prospect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school just celebrated its 50 year anniversary within the last couple years. One place that students are forbidden to venture int is the old nun graveyard below a bluff on campus grounds. Some weird rumors circulate the school concerning it with most of them being pretty viral, but students that have visited the grounds have been expelled immediately if caught.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish I would have done more research when I was considering universities. I do enjoy the campus a lot and the people even more, but I believe I would have succeeded and enjoyed college a little more at a more lively and well-known school. The academics are okay, but you're really paying for the smaller class sizes, the chance at succeeding in an athletic program, and the odds of gaining employment upon graduation.

    What to do for fun

    The intramural scene is growing around campus. We also have a rock climbing wall that is underutilized, but the activities around campus generally keep a bored body pretty busy. Also, the campus is a only a stone throw from all outdoor activities including hunting, fishing, bike trails, and off road vehicle use.

    Food and Dining

    The university opted to sell their dining options to a commercial dining service in 2010. The food they make is pretty par and the spread is generally pretty basic. Being a college student I don't expect prime rib and shrimp every night, but I would like it if my food stayed warm until I sat down and there was a little more nutritional value to the courses.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms vary on separate sides of the campus. On the south end of Mary the dorms are very religious and academically focused. The people are very focused in their faith and their studies. On the opposite end of campus the environment is much more active, social, and you would think it is an open door policy on both the mens and the woman's sides.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Mary is average. As a business major I do have some classes that truly challenge me, but a majority of the courses for my major are quite simple and easy. My harder courses maybe involve an hour of dedication a night towards the material, but my lighter courses are lucky if I look in the textbook at all throughout the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Truly consider your faith, your academic passions, and your future goals. Mary is a very faith oriented institution and it is viewed on a daily basis which may or may not be for prospective students. Have a good idea of what you would like to major in, because more than one semester of juggling your intentions will have you staying a semester or more longer, and have your future goals in order because one step backwards or gong in blind will only cost the student more in tuition and expenses.

    In three sentences

    My University is a segway toward independence, developing leaders, sculpting christian professionals, and allows students to envelope themselves within their passions and to discover new ones. Their growing athletics program has allowed me to develop life long friendships and instill a defined work ethic through my involvement in baseball. The staff and faculty their go beyond the notions of simple teaching styles, and instead they engage their students through hands on exercise within communication conducive size classrooms.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of Mary is a very safe campus. We have campus security driving around campus 24/7 and the beginning of the year the Resident Assistance make sure all freshman have campus security number in case they get into an unsafe situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the beginning of the year all the clubs and activities on campus have a day where they have booths so students can see what they would like to join. I'm involved with Vera Forma which is a group for Catholic females to grow in their faith. We do things out in the Bismarck community that benefit the community. I'm also involved in focus bible study.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend or every other weekend resident life puts on activities so students have something to do other than going home and partying. The activity I enjoy the most are the swing dances. We also have winter formals, Halloween dance, hypnotists come, comedians, movie nights, all campus pumpkin carving, and winter fest.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the University of Mary is not my favorite but I am a picky eater. I wish we had a wider variety of food to choose from. Chart wells is who caters our food, I can tell they are trying to improve their dining. It takes one step at a time.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life at the University of Mary. We have six different dorms at our University. I live in St. Scholastica, which is a woman's faith based dorm. This dorm helps you grow in your faith. If that's not the thing for you there are other dorms that aren't faith based too. Almost every weekend our RA's put on activities for us.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of Mary is a very high academic school. In my Athletic Training program it is not easy. I average four tests a week, which means I'm studying every day. Our school encourages our studies by having the library open until ten and during finals week we have a studyathon where students can study in a quiet area and win prizes every hour while they study.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a school I recommend going with your heart and on what feels right. Yes your parents may try to push you toward other schools, but if you get the gut feeling that this is where you should be then go for it!

    In three sentences

    The University of Mary is a leadership academy that focuses not only on academics, but also on your faith. The small campus life helps with one on one interaction with your professors. I feel so welcomed and at home at the University of Mary, it is the only place I toured and applied to because I fell in love with it on my first visit.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None existent.

    What to do for fun

    We swing dance quite often!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your coat.

    In three sentences

    There are not many class options. The staff is very helpful. Very spiritual.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not good. Nothing has happend, but it doesn't feel safe. There are very few guards on duty considering how large the campus is. And Sometimes I literally don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Nada

    Clubs and Activities

    Sucks, basically none. We have a few, but it would be nice to gain more.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, scholarship peeps, Bismarck students who don't want to leave home ever.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their really into swing dancing? Prayer day, but it feels like its more for adminstration then students.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on major and amount of fincial aid. But, it is a really cheap private school. Hope the -50 windchill is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    LEAVE.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of option...except on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    I wanted to give it a zero.... The dorms ares not coed, there are curfews INFORCED!!! Its lame. End of story. I think Greek life off campus could really brighten the place up, so if anyone wants to start a frat...

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its good if you live near home, have an awesome schorlaship, or are super religious.

    In three sentences

    Univerisity of Mary is cold, boring, and barren. There is nothing today, very strict rules from admissiontration, everyone leaves, no school spirit and the food is gross. I would love to see more diversity in its clubs and activities and passion amoung students, but its just lame.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are employed full-time or out of state.

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy the online classes and the instructors are very helpful.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Honestly, since UMary is so far away from Bismarck, it isn't a bad place safety wise. However, recent events reminded us how it could definitely improve. It's safe, but that doesn't mean we don't have room for improvement.

    Clubs and Activities

    Granted, there could be more on campus, but if a student is willing to leave their dorm room and branch out, there are a lot of different clubs and the RA's and clubs put on events often - it's a matter of reading posters. (Tip: When it's decently warm outside at all, prepare for Ultimate Frisbee or Snowball Fights - it happens a lot more often than you'd think)

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to get a great education and great reputation among employers (especially those in North Dakota)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prayer Day, Jazz Festival (not really unusual, but a tradition)

    Bang for the buck

    Rising costs is making it a little harder to go to school here, however, with all the new renovations and remodeling it's becoming a place that I dread leaving in 2 years.

    What to do for fun

    Go out! Be with people on campus! Go to events! Just like every other college - it is what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the school could probably do better than Chartwells - I don't prefer the food and am looking forward to always making my own now.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent. Larger than what the average campus would be and the ResLife staff is good about putting on events and being there for residents.

    Academic Rigor

    You're going to get your money's worth. Yes, it will be hard at times and yes some classes won't be - but overall, the education at UMary is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip class. Make friends. Don't lock yourself in your dorm room (unless necessary). Don't stress about finals.

    In three sentences

    (Not to take the mission statement but...) Faithfully Christian. Joyfully Catholic. Gratefully Benedictine.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being miles outside of Bismarck there isn't much to do on campus. There are occasionally swing dances and Grocery Bingo, but other than that you have to make your own fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is average; some days they have lots of great food while other days you're stuck eating a bagel for all 3 meals. Also, when they serve you they don't give everyone the same amount of food (guys get way more) and they usually won't give you more if you ask until you leave and come back later, which is kind of annoying.

    Dorm Life

    None of the dorms are co-ed except North Hall, but even that has a boys' side and a girls' side and a locked door in between the two after our visiting hours. However, the rooms are fairly spacious compared to other schools in the surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here vary greatly. Some classes are extremely challenging while others can be passed without going to class very often. It usually depends on the size of the class, though. The bigger the class, the easier the course is (usually).

    Tips for prospective students

    While admissions counselors may say most students stay on campus during the weekends, that isn't true. Most students go home for the weekends; the ones who stay are from far away or love to party.

    In three sentences

    The University of Mary has great academic programs, but if you want a diverse college experience this is not it. Most students are from ND or MT; the few that aren't are here for their sports. It's a good school if you don't mind the location or the limited major options (as well as the limited activities).

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bismarck has quite a few options for fun things to do. There's shopping, walking by the river, cross country skiing, golfing. On campus there's always something going on too. The Residence Life Staff make sure to have plenty of activities, especially on the weekends to keep students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food is adequate. Definitely not the greatest, but probably not the worst. There is room for improvement here, but I can't think of a lot of options to make it better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are extremely social and friendly. As a dry campus, there isn't a lot of drinking in the dorms either because of the severe consequences. I feel safe enough in my dorm that I don't always lock my door, because I know that no one will go in there to steal anything. The RA's also organize great activities that brings the entire dorm together.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome! The academics are challenging, which is something I didn't encounter at my high school. The variety of classes that are offered also help to keep things interesting and appeal to a wide variety of people. All the professors are interested in you as students and want to make their class a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check it out! It has a lot to offer, especially if you're looking at going to a smaller school. Since I came from a small high school, I knew I didn't want to go to a huge public university, so this was a great choice for me. Even if you're not sure, it doesn't hurt to pay a visit. And as a student ambassador there, I can say that the tour you'll get will be well worth it.

    In three sentences

    The University of Mary is a great college. I love the professors - they're knowledgeable about their topics of study, and they're always willing to talk to students. The campus layout is wonderful. Being out of town is nice, because it makes the campus quiet and secluded. It also makes it feel a lot safer.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Haven't lived in the dorms and wont need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of things. If you need to hound your advisor by calling them everyday then do so because they aren't that great about letting incoming transfer studies know when they can sign up for classes.

    In three sentences

    So far the University has been great. I have already signed up for classes for the spring. The only thing that I haven't liked about the school is how I registered for classes..just seemed very disorganized and I have some classes that I have to wait to see if I can get in because the class was already full. Other than that I haven't had any trouble.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt like the campus wasn't safe. Everyone leaves their doors unlocked and are not worried about theft or anything like that.

    Great for these types of students

    If you can keep yourself entertained you will like it here.

    Bang for the buck

    This college cost literally a fourth of my second choice. Tuition hovers around $14,000, but if you have good grades that drops $6000-4000. Housing is a very good deal considering the oil boom and current apartment rates.

    Food and Dining

    The grill is superb, the other dishes sometimes surprise you and sometimes are disappointing. I heavily endorse over easy egg sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are older, but mine is clean, newer, and well maintained. No complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year as a biology major has been relatively easy. The hard sciences have been my most difficult classes, but nothing has been out of control difficult. I have heard freshman year is the calm before the storm so we'll see what happens.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be imaginative! People complain about the surrounding area being boring but those are the boring people saying that. There is a never a shortage of things to do if you keep an open mind. Go camping in the middle of winter or hit up the bingo parlor and try to win that $1700 jackpot. There are plenty of on campus events happening all the time if you want to find them.

    In three sentences

    If you can stand the weather, University of Mary is an excellent choice for a variety of degrees ranging from pre-physical therapy to teaching. The cost/education value is excellent, and if money is a concern then this is a great school to consider. The campus is in the middle of Bismarck, ND; so if you aren't the type of person who can entertain themselves or can easily find something to do this school might not be a great fit.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't go here, so I think there is a glitch in this system with making me answer this...

    Dorm Life

    I don't go here, so I think there is a glitch in this system with making me answer this...

    Academic Rigor

    Just judging by the job placement time, the academic rigor must be 5 stars.

    In three sentences

    So far, although I am in the middle of my application process, I have found the staff at U of Mary to be VERY helpful. I have already been in contact with them asking questions about the admissions process and other things I need to know and I have always been treated with much respect and kindness. I truly hope that this is how all the staff is when I get up there.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a Catholic university. But with that even if you are not Catholic it is a good fit for someone who wants a religious experience at college.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a private college, so it makes it a little spendier. With that though they are always giving away scholarships that make it all worth while.

    What to do for fun

    Bismarck is a fun town in North Dakota. There is a lot to do in town if you look a little bit. Campus also has some fun activities throughout the year that you do not want to miss.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. In the past couple years it has been gettting better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life around here is pretty quiet, but still fun. There is a lot different dorms to choose from depending on your backgroud and what exactly you want out of your dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The class are tough but manageable. The teachers are more than willing to help you out in anyway possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look if the program you plan to go into has an early acceptance program. I did this with Occupational Therapy and it really helped when trying to get into my program here on campuse

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy it here at the University of Mary. The student teacher ratio is low and makes for quality learning time with your instructor. I would highly recommend this college for those seeking a quiet campus, a wonderful education, and a great college experience.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    U Mary has a great gym complete with a rock wall and treadmills. There are many events on campus regularly, such as talks by different speakers and evening concerts. That said, the location is quite a bit away from the nearest stores or restaurants, it would be a good idea to have a car in that case.

    Food and Dining

    I have had breakfast and lunch once on campus so far, and it is really, really good. There are many options for each meal to choose from, so I think a lot of people will be satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    The layout and decoration of the dorm rooms are a little bit plain, but comfortable for your daily purposes.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that students here are challenged to be the very best person in their field. It will be worth all the money in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions about the cafeteria,dorm rooms, nightlife..whatever. You will always receive a polite response, nothing is too trivial. When visiting, stay a night or two in the dorm rooms, it makes you feel like a college student, even if the floor is hard!

    In three sentences

    University of Mary is a Catholic college that prides itself on being academically excellent and also very spiritual. The students and staff are very friendly and always willing to lend someone a hand. U Mary will prepare everyone for life outside of college and how to use their skills in the real world.