Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Maryland-Baltimore Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Phi Theta Kappa members get scholarships from UMB.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send in your application early! Then check online for status updates. It will tell you when they received reference letters, application fee, transcripts, etc. For some reason, most of my transcripts got lost and I had to resubmit them. I barely made it by the deadline. So apply early!!!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems to be very good. All buildings require proof of ID before entering.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    Students going into the Medical, Dental, Nursing, Legal or Social Work professions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    Bang for the buck

    Unknown at this time.

    What to do for fun

    Baltimore is the greatest city in America. If you can't have fun here or somewhere between the mountains to the ocean coastline of Maryland, your not a fun person.

    Food and Dining

    Campus and the hospital have several options. Other neighborhood options are in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Appears to be rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and arrange a personal meeting with an advisor with the school or college you intend to attend.

    In three sentences

    University of Maryland- Baltimore is a clean safe campus. UM Baltimore shows dedication to diversity in the student body. UM Baltimore is home to an internationally recognized shock trauma facility.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be incredibly careful. Don't ever walk around with your ipod on, don't have your phone out, don't take out your wallet on the street, anything. Don't carry more than you have to, and always be cognizant of your surroundings.

    What to do for fun

    Baltimore is awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad, but not amazing, in my School.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check in with your advisor often. Check in with your instructors often. You don't have to get to know them if you don't want to, but it doesn't hurt to introduce yourself, and always ask questions. They like to connect with students and stay current. And they are your ace in the hole when you need a letter of recommendation, a reference, a good word, even an award. It's a win-win situation.

    In three sentences

    I have been pretty satisfied with UMB, overall. I can only speak for my School (Social Work), but the faculty have generally been very nice and accomodating, and knowledgable about what they teach. There are lots of interesting courses available, and I actually had the Dean go out of her way to do an override for me when a class was full. One thing they're not so great with is communicating information (like, when orientation is, when the semester starts, how to add/drop a class, etc.) clearly and in a timely manner, however. They often give 1 day's notice for things, and you have to scramble around to get things done. This is stressful, and something I have pointed out to them before. So, you need to be on top of your game to do well here. That's true anywhere to an extent, but here, especially.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I only gave it 3/5 stars because it is a city, there is crime/violence/etc. You can't get away from that in any city (or anywhere). But the campus itself is great, there are police around all the time, and you can call them for escort-services at any hour if you feel you need it. It's all about the mindset: be careful, walk with groups, get home before a certain hour, know your routes (learn them during the day), avoid situations that look like trouble -- I could go on, but this little box isn't the place for that. I've never had any trouble though, I keep aware of my situation all the time and avoid trouble. But, honestly, I've had infinitely more strangers say hello to me, give me directions, or just strike up a conversation than I've had threaten me, because I've never had an issue with crime, violence, or anything else.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not as much as an undergrad environment. Again, the purpose of the professional school is to really focus on a career choice, not necessarily and job (there's a difference if you haven't figured that out yet). They have an awesome gym, and they always have stuff going on - dozens of classes a week. Anything you could find at a 3rd party gym on the street you'll find here, and if it's not, they will work with you to provide it. Activities around Baltimore are endless. Also, DC isn't far away, Columbia, Annapolis, skiing, hiking, rock climbing, movies, shows, theater, concerts, fine dining, wineries -- you're within a drive of whatever interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    You can find anything mainstream in Baltimore, but if you like originality, Baltimore is the best city for it and has been known for it for years. There are so many eclectic stores, coffee shops, venues, shows, everything, going on all year long. If you have an original taste, or want something less genuine that you can find anywhere, Baltimore will have it. Anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a professional school, there aren't too many traditions that go on like with undergrad, but each college within the University and the University as a whole itself keeps a lot of activities going on to involve the students and engage their interest with the campus staff and the University itself. They're really good about morale and relationship building, and community and individual support. They're excellent at working to make the atmosphere a welcoming and friendly place.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot of buck you'll be paying, there's no lying about that and no sense in deceiving anyone here in this review. But, you will get your bang out of what you're paying, if you want to. Again, it's all about who you are as a person. It's there if you want to be involved and take advantage of everything that's offered to you: educationally, communally, personally -- it's up to you to involve yourself and dedicate yourself to living it.

    What to do for fun

    It's Baltimore! Charm City has just about anything -- you're either a city person or not. But if there was a place to convince you to be a city person, this might be it. I moved into the city from the country and, I'm still a country kid at heart, but the people are really nice (everyone is super helpful and just nice, it's very different from the expectations I had as a country kid going into a city).

    Food and Dining

    Food around the city is great, nothing provided by the school itself, but hundreds of places within walking distance -- more if you want to take a short drive.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on-campus provided housing. There are no dorms - they have commons and apartments. I would recommend just getting a place around the city. You can live within a few blocks and walk to campus for cheaper than what the schools living areas cost -- I looked at the school housing, but went on my own to find a place. Or you can commute if you're local, parking is expensive for the area garages, but cheaper than moving if you're within a drive-able distance.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm starting a new career in Nursing at UMB and the program is extremely difficult. I would rather go get my Chemistry degree all over again, without knowing what I know now. It's a good education, but you will work for it. It's not perfect, nowhere is, but it's a very good school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's competitive to be accepted, but being well-rounded is more helpful than GPA. My incoming class (including myself) was from a very eclectic background; not all of us were stellar students, but we were all focused on our career paths, starting new careers, or bringing something new to the table to advance the field. Life experience, work-experience, and wisdom can go a long way in every aspect of life.

    In three sentences

    They have dedicated and caring faculty, a rigorous program, and an environment that lets the strong-willed and dedicated to succeed. If you are interested in getting a quality educated, and definitely putting in the legwork for it, this is a good place to start, continue, or finish your journey.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends, play tennis, and go sightseeing (since I live in Europe).

    Food and Dining

    Wouldn't know., I don't go to the actual campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. So I don't have a review.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers make sure you understand whats going on, they help you when you ask, and unlike most professors they get to know you a little better and personally.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on taking classes and working, then UMUC is great. They work with you to make what you need available.

    In three sentences

    I'm attending the military classes with UMUC of Europe on Spangdahlem Air Base. The classes are easy and the school works with your schedule. They offer lunch time classes and after work classes so you can work and go to school as easily as possible.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great cafe on campus

    Dorm Life

    I commute

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school and faculty

    In three sentences

    The school has one of the best nursing programs in the nation. It is currently helping building nursing programs in the developing world. It is easy to access.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Baltimore has a plethora of entertainment options from night clubs, restaurants, and the Baltimore Aquarium too.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining all. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The program is a healthy challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep persevering, even when the semester seems very overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    I feel that the staff and faculty support my desire to succeed. There is always someone to help answer my questions. My professors are knowledgeable and invested in my education.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is very safe.

    Greek Life

    great

    Clubs and Activities

    many organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Job

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of it.

    What to do for fun

    It is fun to play soccer.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are very good and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very peaceful.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students have to be dedicated to do good in school.

    In three sentences

    University of Maryland is a great school. It is a credible school, and It provides great opportunities.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Again, LITERALLY EVERYTHING! Plenty of activities at the inner harbor. The campus is 5 minutes away from the Baltimore Raven's stadium and Oriole's stadium. A lot of dining, bars, clubs, malls, shops, aquariums etc.

    Food and Dining

    LITERALLY EVERYTHING! It is right next to the inner harbor and various restaurants, cafes and neighborhoods. You're bound to find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    On campus is basically double the tuition but there are plenty of apartments and condos surrounding the campus with a free shuttle to and from school for students. The off campus housing provided by the housing website has pretty good deals for students (utilities and internet included, 1-12 month leases, 0 down payment, etc.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make yourself as competitive as possible by getting work experience and doing more extracurriculars.

    In three sentences

    The campus is great! Very urban; a mixture of D.C. and New York. It is also really close Inner Harbor!