Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

U. of Massachusetts-Dartmouth (UMass… Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just have fun while you can because the work really gets packed on after the teachers think you can handle it. Which is about two weeks into your college semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to know people (with kitchens) because RES food is not always that great.

    Bang for the buck

    It really depends how you look at what your paying from if you are just in college for the good times and to sly on by then your money is being wasted here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student life can be on the dull side on occasions, but when Umass Dartmouth parties we really know how to put it down.

    Am learning a lot

    I know that I set out to learn from some of the top professors in the New England area, however who would have thought that these Masters and PhD holders would be so cool. They have bright and creative ways to help their students learn and because of the smaller classes it makes it easier to focus.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that live near by who cannot afford a more expensive college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, live there! Commuting wastes a lot of gas, especially if you want to do things there on the weekends. During the winter, it is so much safer than driving in the snow. Lastly, look at their scholarship page on the University website while you apply. There are so many scholarships no one applies for, giving you a better chance at paying less for your education!

    Bang for the buck

    UMass Dartmouth can be a great school. Some majors have a great reputation there, such as any major in the Engineering school. Nursing majors coming from UMD also tend to do really well. A friend actually showed my an article in the local newspaper recently. It was about people coming from foreign countries and how a lot of them were choosing to go to UMass. So I guess it can't be that bad! ;) It is also a great option for anyone who comes from a family that is short on cash, if you want to put it that way. If you are a decent student in high school, UMD will be GREAT to you. So, look for more information. If your intended major is one what UMD has a good reputation for it is an excellent college choice! However if your major is not one of the most successful at UMD, the bang for your buck may be about 2 stars. Oh! And, UMD has a lot of resources for students such as the Writing and Reading Center that your tuition pays for. That resource in particular is known for being VERY helpful to students who need help with their papers and reports. Also, your tuition and fees cover a wide variety of things including intramural sports which can be a great way to spend your time!

    Am enjoying being here

    Honestly, at the beginning of the year I was enjoying myself but UMD doesn't have much going on on the weekends once the school year actually gets going. Also, if you are a commuter MAKE FRIENDS FAST! It's hard to meet anyone new after the first week or so because the people that live there tend to bond and create strong relationships with their roommates and suite mates. It's great to be apart of that so take the opportunity while it's there! And, having friends on campus is awesome if you have early classes and don't want to waste your gas! :)

    Am learning a lot

    I have am currently in my first semester here at UMD. I have leanred that the professors here are a hit or miss. There are some amazing professors that are so intelligent and intriguing; even if you have always hated that particular subject, you will want to learn as much as you possibly can about it with these professors. I have witnessed this first-hand. I have hated English my entire life, but for the first time I enjoy writing. I actually wish I had enough free time to write cool stories just for fun! On the other hand, I do have some professors that I could teach a few things too. The only thing I can say about that is you have to take the time to learn the class material, as best you can, on your own. My advice for this, check ratemyprofessors.com when choosing and enrolling in your classes! If you find out you have a professor that has poor ratings and time/your schedule permits, switch to another section with a better professor. I did it and you won't regret it I promise! That website will be your best friend!

  • 11/05/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business majors, not so much teaching though. Driven, hard working, willing to sacrafice more then some colleges would ask

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships if possable. Price might be an issue for some people but if you're dreaming of a certain college, don't let that get in the way. college is a once in a life time oppertunity. Also, do your research. Some people don't, and they sound stupid posting unresearched stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    You graded this without a comment. From all of my college research, this is the best priced out of state school I could find. You'll learn alot here, especially if you're going for business or law

    Will enjoy being here

    You're an hour away from Boston, theres alot to do there. you're 15 minutes from the beach when ever, not just summer. You're a half hour from barnstable, dennisport, and a lot of other places on cape cod that have ALOT to do not just in the summer. do your research

    Will learn a lot

    For the person that reviewed this badly: You dont know about the classes for sure. You dont even go to the school. Yes, I don't either, but I'm not going to turn down a college for that. Let alone make someone who hasnt been to the college think its aweful because of that.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 18 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 2 people found this inaccurate. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who live close enough to commute and not spend too much for this rediculous state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go here if you want a fun, colorful atmosphere. The place is completely made out of concrete and disgusting in the way that there was gum stuck to every floor, outside the dorms were broken beer bottles and caps, along with other unmentionables. The campus is designed to be in a ring which is a good idea, however those within seem to lose all concept of what is so much better outside the ring. However, big props to the cheerleaders who are doing great with Scott Bouchard!

    Will enjoy being here

    There is not much to do around town excpet maybe visit the beach, however, that would be for the summer, not school year.

    Will learn a lot

    How can you learn in huge classes where attendence may take up to 30 minutes and you depend on the teacher's aids?

  • 03/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kids who may love sports but were never number one in high school. You have an opportunity here! I did not know what rugby was till I got here and now I love it! Kids who want to learn! Come prepared to like learning! You definitely will here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet as many people as you can as soon as you can! Spend as much time outside as possible! I did my first month and now I know someone every where I go! Join! Join different clubs and organizations to have fun and meet even more people! There is a club here for every one.

    Bang for the buck

    I chose this school at first because they were the best with financial aid and really made my goal of attending college possible. The financial aid office will work with those who may be confused and need a little help as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy it here! I play rugby and it was probably the best decision I have ever made. The kids are so welcoming and fun! I stay active with rugby and the gym here has awesome hours. The students here definitely know how to throw a great party so just keep your head in the game!

    Am learning a lot

    I am only a freshman here and I love it already! Academically I enjoy attending my classes. I have many friends who moan and groan about going to class and I am EAGER to do so here! I have 4 classes now in lecture halls of about 200 students but the professor knows my name! They really make an effort to keep you interested and feel good about what you are learning. They also really push for you to use their office hours to see them for any reasons!

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Art Students; Illustrators, Graphic Designers, Jewelry/ Metals, Sculptors, Painters, The list goes on and the staff is amazing! Philosophy Majors...and that is all I feel comfortable in recommending.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time before just going right into college right from high school. Figure out what you really want to learn, and a career you want to pursue in life that will make you HAPPY! Not just pay the bills, because if your going to be pursuing a degree just to pursue the cash flow, there is a high probability that you won't finish. So just take your time, focus, and make the right decision.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the staff could definitely belong at a higher paying and therefore higher cost of the student school. Many of the professors genuinely care about the benefit of their students, and want them to all do well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Facilities on campus as far as food, and learning are great. I do not live on campus so can not go into the Dorm accommodations. But I've never heard anything bad about them.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of the staff really know they're area of expertise. So many of the philosophy staff are so passionate about what they teach along with the Fine Art staff.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any trouble with the law around here, but from the emails I'm receiving about safety advisories, and from how I see them on everywhere on campus, I feel as if they are on top of everything around here.

    Greek Life

    There are several different fraternities and sororities available to join, as well as co-ed fraternities. Though I haven't joined them, I have friends who have and all they can talk about is how great of an opportunity it is. The Greeks set up a lot of great events that usually is open to anyone on campus, as well as friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't explored many clubs since I've been here, but from I can see, there are plenty of them for all kinds of different activities. Whether from video gaming to sports, there's a club for anyone. There are even clubs that are made to get people of the same major together.

    Great for these types of students

    This school has people from all walks of life. Future Engineers, Businessmen, Nurses, Politicians, and Artists are born here. Though the school is greatly accredited for its Engineering and Nursing majors, there really isn't anyone who won't find a great education and life here.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very affordable school, and I feel like I'm getting a great education here. You really get what you put in here. A lot people can disagree, but this school has everything you need to advance in a lot of different careers. The only thing different you get from going to a much more expensive school is a piece of paper. In the end, you learned the same things, and are just as good as they are.

    What to do for fun

    Being placed in North Dartmouth, there's plenty of things to do around here. Things to consider is the Dartmouth Mall, the Caddy Shack golf driving range and amusement center, several plazas containing large stores (Target, Dick's Sporting Goods, Best Buy, Wal-Mart, etc...). The SAIL office at UMass Dartmouth, as well as many fraternities and sororities, are also constantly setting up events that are usually free admission or very little cost.

    Food and Dining

    With plenty of restaurants and food carts, as well as a built in Wendy's, there's plenty of places to go for food. If you're eating in the dining halls, the food there is okay, though a lot of people feel as if it goes right through you.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to college so I can't give you an accurate response to dorm life. But from what I gathered from other students who dorm, and compared to my friends who attend different schools, the living conditions are decent enough. Though, they're not as nice looking as some other dorms that I've visited, I'm sure they get the job done.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put in. There are definitely a lot of classes that you can breeze on through for the next few years, depending on your major. But than there are the classes that you really have to try in to succeed. The professor's tend to be very fair, and so long as you're willing to learn, they are willing to teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although most of the UMass Dartmouth's instructor team is made up of great teachers, I would recommend thoroughly looking for the right teachers. Not really look for an easy A, because than you don't learn anything. But you don't want a very difficult teacher where you don't learn anything either. For example, my friends and I attend different Engineering classes. I know just as much as they do, and learn the same material, but I have a much more fair professor.

    In three sentences

    The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth is everything you would want in a school. It has a large quantity of different majors, taught by great instructors, as well as being highly affordable. On top of that, it's centralized in North Dartmouth, a great town with many places and activities to keep you busy.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    I haven't started school yet, but the summer reading, Blink by Malcolm Gladwell has already taught me a lot and it has been the best summer reading I have read.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone who is willing to make some friends and find out who they truly are.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Robin Burr (Psychology 101); shes a sweet older woman with a very low voice. Sit in the front and you should be alright. she accepts late work at full credit and attendence is extra credit. she gives you a study guide with everything that will be on the test including the essay. *Alan Thompson (Arts&Crafts): a very useless class if its not youre major but you learn a lot either way. He gives one quiz, a midterm, and a final. Hes very funny and likes class discussions. And dont worry he gives study guides. *William Riley (Music 101); one of the few teachers that you can actually tell that he loves his job. he give out easy notes, plays a lot of music that kills time and a lot of in class concerts. i didnt but the book and CD and i still passed the class. *Robin Kish (English 101): shes very sweet and understanding but there are four papers due in the first semester. you have to peer edit every single one but she lets you pass in the peer edits later. she gives you the option of re-doing two papers for a higher grade. *??? Marikan (Chem 130): hurry up and take bio 11 if you can. choose this class last minute and got stuck with a very sweet lady with a heavy turkish accents. she goes through the notes very fast because everything is in the book. rarely takes attendence but if youve taken chemistry before and have any common sense you'll pass. I got a 90 and its out of 154 so you cant get anything wrong.

    Bang for the buck

    For a state school this place is really cheap and there are a lot of merit based scholarships that you automatically qualify for once you're accepted. I got a crap ton of them and my GPA was only 2.6! Professors are beyond helpful, food is crappy at the Res but great at the other places, freshmen dorms are a lot bigger than you think and most people are friendly.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying myself here despite what some people would say. But its all about who you know and who you are willing to get to know. I've made upperclassmen friends and freshmen friends so there are always countless party invites, countless plans to the mall or movies and countless dance parties. Its up to you to make sure you enjoy yourself here because if you're going to be antisocial and judge the place before you've experienced it, you're going to hate it here.

    Am learning a lot

    The profressors I've had so far are amazing. I thought my lectures were going to drag on and on and that I was going be doing the same things that I already knew from high school general education classes. but of course I was wrong. I ve learned soo much in my first semester than I thought I would and it has challenged me to try harder and harder everyday to get better grades. But it really depends on what professors you get, I lucked out.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has lighting, and police right on campus, as well as safety phones located at every corner

    Clubs and Activities

    deca is a business group, where students compete in case studys, presentations, or roles plays and you get to travel!

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing or shy, everyone is nice. outstanding school for people looking into business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    birch is a food location on campus that is open till 3 o'clock on thursday! there is also a food truck that drives around till 3 on the weekends!

    Bang for the buck

    this is an affordable college, where you get great oppurtunities, lots of fun and a great education. so worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    join in on on campus activities, you will meet new people and have so much fun. very often there are also buses to the clubs in providence, ri.

    Food and Dining

    there is a different variety at every place you go here on campus. plus many outside dining places available.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorms are awesome you meet so many friends and can join in on so many activities! also they have apartment style lving, and mini condos, its a great thing to look forward to moving into your upcoming years.

    Academic Rigor

    even if in high school you didn't have the best of grades or slacked of umass gives you that second chance to get a great education even if you didnt end on the best note in highschool.

    Tips for prospective students

    when seeking umass dartmouth as your school, or any other college, look early, and contact a person at the school to keep your stress level down.

    In three sentences

    as a freshman you have many expectations and i can proudly say umass dartmouth filled all my expectation of a students living their college dreams. they have many clubs to participate in and make you feel involved. being part of a campus gives you a sense of community and really gets you started for an independent life.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I take pictures and spend time with family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    There a lot of healthy choices and everything is good!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but I heard that it is okay.

    Academic Rigor

    In CVPA no one is strict or harsh but you should get things in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to get things done. Just do it now!

    In three sentences

    The campus is a good size. There are many groups and opportunities to get involved. The professors in the Art departments are great!

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you can call any time of the day and night and have someone escort you to your car if you do not feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    great pride alliance and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    education, teachers, history, arts and sciences, nursing, engineering., business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lounge area between classes, third floor bathroom is the nicest.

    Bang for the buck

    if you take 5-6 courses a semester you really are making the most out of your money with financial aid. i also take summer courses which are a great opportunity to get ahead. as far as a state school umass is not that expensive and you are going to get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    there are plays throughout the semester, bus trips to boston, and many activities going on especially near the food court.

    Food and Dining

    there is everything to choose from and they cater to food allergies, vegan, and vegetarian diets.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are clean and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    some professors ask for more then others but overall the workload is doable taking 5 courses a semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    take summer courses so that you will be able to graduate early. there is an excellent education department with a new doctorate program. don't waste time on classes that will not count directly towards your major, make sure that every class you take meets a requirement.

    In three sentences

    it is a good school with great opportunities. the programs are well put together and offer a lot of options. umass provides students with a well diverse college experience.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved

    In three sentences

    i love the courses offered at umass dartmouth. i love the people i have met so far; everyone is very different and unique. however, there's not much to do socially around campus and no information is ever offered. i always have to take the initiative to found out things for myself, even if i'm not sure what that may be.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Could be better but they try their best.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wonderful Wonderful WONDERFUL club life. Get involved...it will make everything a lot more fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The corsair olympics are fun. Just for freshman and its a big party. Great for meeting new people and feeling like you fit it. Also there is a set of benches. Three benches in the shape of 6s. The rumors are that the designer was a satanists. Lots of conspiracy theories. And lots of cool locations but I'm not gunna spoil it. Come here and find them yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is my home. I feel for this campus as if it were a family member. I want to find the things that need to be improved and help to make them better. I want to see it from every point of view and help it give the right impression. I am involved in clubs and I plan on joining more. This university has given me everything I could look for in a university. I am excited for the day I can proudly say that I graduated from UMass Dartmouth.

    What to do for fun

    Any club you can think of. If we don't have it you can start it. And adventures. Nature walks. The gym. The swimming pool. And the people!

    Food and Dining

    As good as any college food might be. Lots of options and eagerness to please, for the most part. Also a good chance to get employed on campus

    Dorm Life

    Freshman is the worst it gets and even that isn't bad. You get to know people and make a lot of friends. After freshman year the friends get closer and the dorms get nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors will help you in every way. Some will fight you the entire semester. Try to find a balance between respect and a back bone. It isn't easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good shoes. Even if you don't think you will walk a lot, you will. Explore this school. It is kinda like a dungeon and kinda like a castle. It has caves and tunnels and nooks everywhere!

    In three sentences

    I love the conspiracies behind the architecture and the never ending steps. I love the campanile and the sitting places every two feet. The community I have found on campus is more fulfilling than any I have known before.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dartmouth has quite the few fun things to do. It has a mall, and other entertainment areas. If nothing in the college interests you, then maybe the beach will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your work and send in the your papers ASAP. It is very crucial that you do this, and it may just be the difference between getting in or not. Also, scholarships, don't wait till the last minute either. Or you will be in big trouble.

    In three sentences

    I've heard that this is quite the nice college. My art teacher used to attend this school and that's how I decided to go. I'm looking forward to going and I can't wait to begin.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Depends on the day. Sometimes you'll see the campus police just chilling out in one of the parking lots, other times they take their badge to their brain.

    Greek Life

    I'm not really a fan of Greek life. I don't see the point in joining something that is basically another class, that they expect you to run around naked just to join. Also, there is a fee you have to pay every semester that you're in it. I have better things to waste my money on.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs you can get into, just watch out the students can be kind of snobby.

    Great for these types of students

    UMD has a mixed group of students. You have the engineer and nursing students who think they're better than everyone, then you have the music and art major kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The buildings take a little getting used to, since everything is made of concrete. Also, you'll hear the crazy story of how the guy that built the school committed suicide on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Paying twelve grand a year for some classes that I can never get into for my major was a little insane. They should lower tuition...or at least have more classes other than 4, for students to get into.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is close by so that's always a go to spot. Also, if you travel to New Bedford there are tons of restaurants and little shops to visit.

    Food and Dining

    I don't really eat on campus, but from what I've heard the food sucks. Also, if I do buy something on campus the food is over priced. Almost two bucks for a cookie?! Come on!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, not sure how dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    Psychology is moderately challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    For commuter students, make sure you get to school early, there is not many parking lots for commuters so you're always fighting someone for a space

    In three sentences

    UMD is great. This school was my first choice. I'm really happy I go there.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Campus won't seem terrible if you have a car...but even then there isn't that much to do. The school isn't really a Go,Fight,Win school so don't expect too much when it comes to like school spirit and all that.

    What to do for fun

    The town is really boring. The school coordinates a lot of club trips to rhode island so try and go to those just to spice things up. Other than that, learn to make the best of things with the people you hang out with. There are also campus parties, some comedy nights, hypnotist shows and all that jazz. And the majority of school coordinated events are free so why not just go to get out of your room?

    Food and Dining

    The food is NOT THE SAME AS WHAT YOU HAVE AT ORIENTATION haha that's how they trick you! But there are options around campus where you can use your meal equivalencies so take advantage of those.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman buildings aren't the best but, that's college. Try to personalize your room as best you can. And there are often that group of hooligans who insist on pulling down exit signs and all kinds of foolish stuff that the whole building will get billed for so, be prepared for that. Make sure you bring your flip flops and DON'T leave your toiletries in the bathroom unless you know your suite mates well. And even then, strangers can come into your suite because the door doesn't lock so, just be safe and keep things in your room. Bring a fan because when you move in...it will be sweltering!

    Academic Rigor

    Since i'm a science major, my workload is no joke. The key to being successful is meeting other people in your class who you can study with or compare notes with. The science department also offers group and individual tutoring so take advantage of that if you find that you need it. Make sure you check your syllabus for test dates and put them up somewhere where you'll see it. I had a few friends who went to class and found themselves taking a test they didn't know anything about.

    Tips for prospective students

    The town is really boring. The school coordinates a lot of club trips to rhode island so try and go to those just to spice things up. Other than that, learn to make the best of things with the people you hang out with. Also, check your email at least twice a day. Class cancellations, financial aid information and package pick up will all be in there so make sure you check it often.

    In three sentences

    The key to doing well here academically and socially is to BE RESPONSIBLE! Partying thursday-saturday is all fine and dandy but when midterms come around and you're clueless as to what's going, that's all on you! Have fun and enjoy yourself but make sure your work is done.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SAIL tries to keep the school as entertaining as possible so make sure you attend their activities

    Dorm Life

    Its okay but gets better as you move up.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty tough depending on your major

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on your studies and try to be involved in activities and you will enjoy your time there.

    In three sentences

    This University is pretty cool, there are a lot of activities and good resources one will find here.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different club and sports you can get involved in. If there is nothing out there for you, you can start your own club.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great.

    Dorm Life

    It is small, but homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering undeclared

    Tips for prospective students

    Study a lot, and you will be ok.

    In three sentences

    UMass Dartmouth is a very good college. It has a great job-major rate and it is a high quality education system.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem with safety. The campus police are always patrolling. There's also a shuttle service (dart Van) that drives around all day until late at night so you don't have to walk once it gets dark out.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in Greek Life, but there are a lot of fraternities and sororities on campus. There is no Greek housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs. I am part of the Red Cross Club who organizes blood drives almost every other month.

    Great for these types of students

    The people at UMD are so friendly and there's such a wide variety of people on campus that it's so easy to make friends and fit in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus just put in a windmill. I haven't seen any other schools with them so that's sort of cool.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of intramural teams and fun activities (like trivia) on campus. There is also a lot of open area where you can meet up with friends and play catch, frisbee, etc. There are two theater companies, both of which put on great plays. In the dorms, the RA's put on programs a couple nights a week of fun things to do. Umass Dartmouth is also a half hour from Providence and there's lots to do there, too.

    Food and Dining

    I wish there were healthier food choices on campus, but there is a salad place and the food carts usually have healthier sandwiches and snacks than the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other schools I've visited I don't think the dorms are that bad. It's fun to live in the dorms with lots of other people.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a nursing major and it's a challenging, competitive program. I'm so glad I chose to go here. My professors are fantastic and I feel like I'm getting a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Walk around a day before your classes start and familiarize yourself with the buildings and where your classes are. As a new student, the buildings tend to look the same and classrooms can be difficult to find.

    In three sentences

    Umass Dartmouth has a great campus. The majors are very competitive. You won't meet people like UMD students anywhere else.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is not as big as other schools, but the friends you make here will be with you for life.

    In three sentences

    Umass Dartmouth provides excellent opportunities for Science major students to excel in there fields of choice. It will be challenging, but the education you receive will have you well prepared for any thing you experience in the real world.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some lighting needs to be fixed around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and if you can't find one you like you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Social butterflies and people that can ignore distractions. I've also heard the business program is really good and they have a new building. The nursing and Med Lab Science programs are also pretty good.

    Bang for the buck

    I went there for the Marine Biology program, but the equipment hasn't been updated in a couple decades in the science departments. The tutoring centers for science, math, business, and writing are nice to have included in your tuition however they couldn't help with some professors.

    Food and Dining

    The res cafeteria is ok but you get tired of it quick, but they have a few other options too. If you have a lot of snack money you will probably get more food you want. There is a variety of places to get food outside of the cafeteria: a couple of grills, snack carts, smoothies, cafe, and ice cream shop. One of the grills also has a small convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    A few new buildings, but expect to pay a lot of community damages. Definitely don't expect to be able to study there. The laundry machines also frequently break because people don't know what they're doing. Once you're in the apartments though you're set. You get your own room, share a bathroom with one person, and get a full kitchen (including a dishwasher).

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work really hard, but won't get much support from some professors. A lot of departments are hit or miss. The professors expect a lot from you and some act as if you are only taking their class. However, some professors will do anything to help once you track them down and show you are making an effort.

    In three sentences

    UMass Dartmouth is falling apart. Depending on your major you will have a really good experience or a really bad one. It is a school you can definitely get involved in.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs in providence which is only half an hour away for night life. There is also Dave and busters in providence wbich is a really good time as well

    Food and Dining

    New dining company named chartwells is great

    Dorm Life

    Dorms improve as you get older, but very nice quality, and very spacious

    Academic Rigor

    This university is high ranked in the world when it comes to nursing, engineering, and Medical Laboratory science

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to enhance your education with great professors, this is the school to go to!

    In three sentences

    1 word, AWESOME

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Lots of Fraternities and Sororities

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall with an AMC movie theater nearby, many restaurants, and a bowling alley. Horseneck Beach is also relatively close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind, try new things, and focus on your studies, but don't hesitate to have a good time.

    In three sentences

    This school is a decent state school that takes academics pretty seriously. There are many ways to get involved around campus, including Division III sports, club sports, concerts, and other various on-campus activities. The scenery is gorgeous, but the buildings are gray and very drab.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Locals. People with a car. International students : it is gonna be expensive!

    What to do for fun

    Sign up for the Outdoor Club! and the other Greek clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    The food court is dissapointing. Try to stay off campus and save atleast 3-4 grand a year.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice university community. New Bedford as a town is quite dull, and the university forms probably the only happening place in these parts! But Boston, Providence and the other such towns are a decent driving distance away. As a university UMass Dartmouth is overall much better than what it has been recognised as. Plenty of oppurtunities for students, staff and faculty much more helpful than the other UMass campuses.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe for the most part, but be cautious at night. Anyone can enter the campus area.

    Greek Life

    I'm not too familiar, but there is Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    More clubs than you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, except the zombies vs. humans game...You'll see.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a quality education at an affordable cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are 18+ music shows nearby, especially in New Bedford. The area has some museums, etc. On campus though, you can join varsity teams, place some intramural sports, or catch theater performances. Downtown New Bedford is a great place once your 21, too.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, not to mention it is close promixity to Marisol's cafe, a sushi place, and some chain restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nothing special and it is difficult to have guests.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major of course and how structured you are in your studies. Spend time each week reviewing your material and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions - the staff here are eager to help. Not all opportunities are going to be advertised - you need to seek them out sometimes.

    In three sentences

    My experience at this school has been terriffic. You will get a quality education at an affordable cost. I wouldn't go here if you're looking for a party school and it's not the prettiest campus - BUT if you can look past that you will be ahead of your peers in terms of debt, not to mention there are plenty of opportunities to get involved and pump up that resume.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers.

    Food and Dining

    The residential hall food (from what I was able to eat during our two orientations) is pretty good. There is a wide variety of things to choose from and you could find something for anybody there. The campus center, which is home to the commuter cafeteria area, houses a Wendy's, a sub shop, a pizza shop and many other options including salads, wraps, fruit cups, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student so I do not have personal experience of the dorm life. A friend of mine is a resident student however, and when I visited her I was horrified. It may just be her section of the building or just that one dorm but her room is scary and prison-like, the bathroom is gloomy and extremely unwelcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been attending this school for two and a half weeks but my classes are the perfect balance of challenging and accommodating. I suggest starting out with your general education classes if you are not sure of your major because it has made the transition from high school to college much easier than anticipated.

    In three sentences

    It is clear that the school is known for its engineering program once the elaborate, widespread, maze-like, futuristic concrete structures come into view. The professors all seem to known and like what they're doing but because attending UMD was not a choice I made, I may have less of an appreciation for that than some of the other students here. The administration and faculty try as much as they can to help you, as long as you ask for it.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is annual aids benefit. the student dance groups and all types of talent perform. it is always a good show and so is the multicultural show. these shows bring out the best in the student on what they enjoy doing in their spear time.

    Bang for the buck

    this school always throws awesome parties on the weekend. there is a party almost every week or once ever two weeks and we also do club night at out school. club night takes students to the clubs in providence to party and have fun with other college students!

    What to do for fun

    freshman year i was on the step team, gospel choir, and a member of MASSPIRG. this year as a sophomore i am only on the step team because class work has gotten a little more challenging. there is so much to do on campus. there are plenty of positive activities to get involved with. i am also a part of the student voice here.

    Food and Dining

    the food here isn't the best but it is something i can live with. you must be careful and choose the right things to eat.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life on campus is very interesting. its very convenient for sure and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    my freshmen year things went smooth, i spent a lot of time in the tutoring center and got help from my professors. my sophomore year is more of a challenge. this is what college is about.

    Tips for prospective students

    at this university you can be yourself and you are welcomed to any organization. this campus has a wide variety of groups one can join.

    In three sentences

    This school has a wide range of diversity. I feel very comfortable here. i rate this school 8 out of 10.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police drive around all day, 24/7 and you always have access to them. You see them everywhere, but they don't bother you and they are understanding on the fact that this is college.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple, but i don't follow it

    Clubs and Activities

    So many on campus that are always active and welcoming

    Great for these types of students

    All students

    What to do for fun

    Go to free event around the school, there is usually a free school party every weekend, movies and mall a few minutes away

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend study sessions for the class, do the homework, attend class, take advantage of the free tutors

    In three sentences

    UMASS Dartmouth is a really good school in my opinion. If you take advantage of the resources provided, you will do good. The professors here actually listen to you, and are willing to help you with anything, but you must ask.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We employ state police to keep our campus safe.

    Greek Life

    Small, but very close. We are currently somewhere between 4-6% of campus population but growing. There are the major parties but more importantly there is the brother/sisterhood, bonding and academics to it.

    What to do for fun

    Horseneck beach is right down the street, buses go to New Bedford all day, we literally have a club for everything.

    Food and Dining

    I love it here, many options. There isn't anything open 24/7 in the dartmouth area, but on weekends there is on campus dining until at least 3am

    Dorm Life

    Especially if you join greek life. The rooms are good size, plenty of RA staff, and all buildings are about a 10 minute walk to class.

    Academic Rigor

    This isn't a breeze but it is manageable. I say five stars because it is balanced not because it is hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the concrete fool you. UMassD has a great faculty and their programs are the best. I don't regret coming here at all!

    In three sentences

    Great school! If you live in the area and want to commute, or live nearby and want to live here it is a great place to be.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many different clubs and groups on campus. You can join a sports team, or a theatre group, or just a regular club. By joining some sort of group, you can make many friends that you'll hang out with on a regular basis. There are also parties in the dells and the apartments, but since it's mostly upperclassmen, you don't usually get invited to those. Some of the sororities host parties at certain times of the year, and for just a few dollars you can have a fun night out.

    Food and Dining

    Recently UMass Dartmouth got a new dining program, and apparently it's supposed to be better than what they had before. If this is true, I feel horrible for what people had to deal with before, since the food now is awful. There is a wide variety for you to choose from each night, but not much of it is healthy. If you eat on campus everyday without working out regularly, it is very easy to gain some weight.

    Dorm Life

    Although the freshman dorms aren't all that good, the upperclassmen dorms and on-campus apartments are excellent. Definitely try to get an apartment as soon as you can, since you get personal bathrooms, a kitchen, and a living room. No matter where you live, though, the heat is always way too high. Your window will be open all year round, I guarantee you that.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what major you choose, the difficulty of your classes will vary. I'm not saying there are any easy majors, but some are definitely harder than others. Most classes have midterms and finals, along with regular tests, so be prepared for a lot of studying if you want to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the campus isn't a typical campus, you get used to it. The buildings are all very unique, and they have a sort of beauty to them. There are a lot of different majors to choose from, so it's okay if you come in undecided. You have plenty of time to make up your mind.

    In three sentences

    UMass Dartmouth is a very diverse school, both culturally and academically. By coming here you will open yourself up to many new and exciting opportunities. Most students love it here.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved. As soon as you are involved, you will have plenty of friends and lots of things to do and definitely consider greek life.

    Food and Dining

    It isn't bad but it does get kind of repetitive. Although after freshman year you have a chance at the apartments with your own kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    It depends where you live, but I ended up in a very quiet area that I can study in. The dorms aren't beautiful but there are plenty of common rooms to hang out in and the no one is going out of their way to bust you for anything/

    Academic Rigor

    In the college of engineering, the teachers care about you, know your name and will absolutely challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to look at state schools. I was accepted into almost all of the top ranked private schools I applied to and then ended up realizing that UMass Dartmouth was the most affordable option, I was devastated at first, but it ended up being the perfect school for me. Don't worry about prestige, everything will work out exactly as it is suppose to.

    In three sentences

    UMass Dartmouth changed my life, it allowed me to come out of my shell and enjoy myself. The engineering college is as good as any of the private school engineering educations except this school isn't as pressure oriented and has far less academic bullying as a private school has.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in one of the auditoriums on the weekends. There is also intramural sports and team sports if you have the skills for it. Also, if you are interested, you could always check out Greek life

    Food and Dining

    The dining at UMASS Dartmouth isn't your mom's home cooking, but it's not horrible either. It can definitely stand to improve, but as long as you avoid the baked goods and the hamburgers at the dining hall you should be okay.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are okay. They do need a little bit of TLC, but they are still quite functional. Every RA is required to do one program with the students in the dorm every month, and they're usually quite fun- baking something, watching a movie etc. Each dorm also has a Hall Council, which hears issues brought up by residents in that hall, and then they deliberate and find ways to fix said issues.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at UMASS Dartmouth, the majority of the classes require at least a few hours of outside work. Obviously, the higher up someone gets the more outside time is needed. But in general, every class requires outside time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I have are to avoid getting a triple to room in. Another tip that I have would be to get to know the person you're going to room with. If you don't know who you're going to room with, I'd start going to websites that match people going to the same school based on interests and habits. A study tip that I have would be to always be skimming the material so it will always stay fresh in your brain.

    In three sentences

    UMASS Dartmouth is a wonderful school. The all grey buildings are off-putting, but they do grow on you. Campus life is wonderful- so many opportunities to make friends, and explore the academic side of college.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Take a advantage with on campus tutor!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare for coursework because most student have to take at least 5 classes which is 15 credits

    In three sentences

    very diversity, Helpful and Be involved with after school activites

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not enough experience or benefits for the amount you pay.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as challenging as I had hoped for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make one friend in every class and exchange numbers so you can have a study partner and someone to contact if you miss a class.

    In three sentences

    The academic environment gives students a sense of responsibility and achievement. The courses are of medium challenge and small classes. The overall experience is not as satisfying for a commuter than it is for a resident.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    G to activities and parties organized during weekends. Juts hang out with friends

    In three sentences

    Umass Dartmouth has its flaws like any university but the faculty there are very helpful in my opinion. There are a lot of helpful centers around campus

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its okay

    What to do for fun

    nothing to do outside of campus besides the mall or the movies unless you have a car then providence is really close. but the campus has a lot of activities

    Food and Dining

    The food itself is fine. However the times you can use a meal plan sucks, especially on weekends. you can only get two meals a day

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms need work

    Academic Rigor

    You can get very far if you actually try

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school before you come. I like the campus but it's not for everyone

    In three sentences

    everythings good except for meal plans, city life, and ESPECIALLY transportation

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Woodland Common parties on the weekends The shutle on campus can take you to the nearby mall which has a movie theater and also a T.G.I.F

    Food and Dining

    RES is not that great BUT there are alternatives on campus we have a Wendy's and Birch grill which I highly recommend

    Dorm Life

    the freshmen dorms suck, but so do all freshmen dorms. The apartments and houses for the upperclassman's are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors, they know what they're talking about

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate, Don't get drunk alone, just have a good time enjoy college it's one and a lifetime experience

    In three sentences

    If your looking for a college that focuses on academics and has a good social scene Umass Dartmouth is the school for you. There is always something to do on the weekends and the students and professor's here are very friendly.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Staties work on campus, so you know that its a safe place to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    To me, it seems worth the money, although I do wish I got better aid.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want really. Its in a nice cultural setting and 15 minutes from the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Many snack bars on capus along with a Wendy's, eat in diner and a small coffee bar.

    Dorm Life

    Really wouldnt know since I commute 45 minutes each way.

    Academic Rigor

    The engineering dept professors have a great grasp on their classes and work. They are a great help in understanding the concepts that you will need to master.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live on campus and need to get places, no worries. The shuttle buses will take you where to go. Commuters should arrive 15 minutes before class to guarantee a parking space.

    In three sentences

    It's a relatively big campus near a bustling city center. There are many great food places nearby and places for entertainment. Overall, the college is a great institution to attend.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is easily accessible and there's always 2 emergency blue lights in sight. They generally aren't too hard on you for drinking violations unless you get really rowdy. They know there are bigger fish to fry than a college freshman drinking a beer. However, DPS is always around and will ticket you all the time! So, if you are going to bring a car to school, make sure you have the parking pass and park in the permitted lots!

    Clubs and Activities

    Huge amount of clubs and activities if you want to get involved. Definitely recommend getting as involved as you can, it makes the experience much more fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Great academics for the amount og money that it costs. UMass programs compete with VERY expensive private schools and often comes out on top for less than half the amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    Parties on the weekends obviously. There's plenty of clubs and intramural sports you can get involved with. The intramurals are actually really competitive and tons of fun. Campus is also very close to the beach which is amazing when the weather's nice. There's a mall close by as well as other things like a rock climbing facility.

    Food and Dining

    The Res Hall food is not the best. They have some decent stuff sometimes but generally you're better off at one of the other food places on campus. There's pretty good sub and pizza places in the campus center along with a Wendy's.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are not the best facility-wise but the sense of community in them is great. My freshman year I met almost all of my closest friends in my building (some f which were RAs). The upper classmen housing is actually pretty nice. I live in the new apartments and absolutely LOVE it. There's 4 kids to 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, and living room! Then there's also the Dells which are nice and great if you want to live with a larger group and be where the parties always are.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely depends on your major. Things like nursing, engineering, and MLS require TONS of time and hard work. Other more lackadaisical programs dont require as much of a time commitment but every major will require a fair amount of hard work to complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research about whatever major you're thinking about!!! Especially before committing to any school, not just UMass. Many of the academic programs are exquisite here, don't let all the cement on campus drive you away. It's great here!

    In three sentences

    UMass is a great academic school, especially for the price. It is affordable and offers tons of great majors. The school is undergoing major renovations (to the library in particular) and will only get better in coming years.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security presence very high, however there are a lot of paths through tree groves and odd niches of the buildings. I have never felt unsafe, even walking later at night, but I am always aware of my surroundings.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of sports teams to join or follow. Standard college clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students serious about education who may not have a lot of money for tuition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole design of the school is unusual!

    Bang for the buck

    Education is as good as at much higher priced universities, however, it is still transitioning from a commuter school to servicing a greater number of residents.

    What to do for fun

    Great location for trips to Newport, Providence, Boston. Close to shopping.

    Food and Dining

    A varied diet of both healthy and junk food available at the standard cafe or smaller shops across campus.

    Dorm Life

    Not as many planned activites as at other universities, but dorms are modern and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are open to meet with students to discuss any academic issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and sit in with a class. There are not a lot of events on campus for residents compared to other universities but plenty of groups that plan activities of their own.

    In three sentences

    Convenient class schedules to fit your style. Knowledgeable but approachable professors. Meal plan includes a variety of choices on campus and the menu is varied enough to please everyone.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walk around the campus alone at night and feel fine. The police are there just in case, but I have never been scared for my safety. Also, people are really good about not stealing. Often, I would leave my laptop in a common room, and no one ever took it!

    Greek Life

    We have sororities and fraternities but they don't have houses. They are more like clubs. I am not really sure what they do. But the people in them seem to be really close!

    Clubs and Activities

    Play Rugby! I was really hesitant about doing it because I am a 5'4 , but it is so much fun! It helps you meet new people. There are so many club options, A Capella, poetry, outdoors club and a million more. There is really something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Really anyone. I have met so many different people on this campus. I suppose it is for people who really want to learn and are open minded. Anyone and everyone is welcome. People who know how to have a fun time, but also know how to buckle down and get to work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I didn't really see any campus wide traditions, but join a sport, even if it is just intramural or a club and a whole new world will be opened to you.

    Bang for the buck

    Even paying out of state tuition, this school was a lot cheaper than some of my other options and now that I am attending this school I could not imagine myself anywhere else. The academics here are comparable to that of an Ivy League, but you will only get out of it what you choose to put in. So remember to try hard!

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends and play Rugby. I am also a part of the theater group called 20 cent fiction. We put on the Rocky Horror Picture Show in the fall and it was so much fun!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall doesn't make the best food, but it is all you can eat! There are other options too of course, but some of them are farther away.

    Dorm Life

    Maple Ridge all the way! The other dorms are older but this one is newly renovated, and I had a great group of girls that I lived with my first year. Get to know the people around you!

    Academic Rigor

    As a Nursing Major, I had to work my butt off first semester, but it was so worth it. Work hard, play hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. Always sit in the first row. Know when the dining hall is open. Go to breakfast before class. Come to University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth, it is a really great school.

    In three sentences

    The University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth has a great population of Students! Most teachers are really nice and adamant about giving you the best education possible. The architecture is eerie, but you get used to it.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On the campus there is over 100 different clubs and the school hosts concerts and parties.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different place on the campus where you can get food, But most of the places close before 8pm. Also the food is not always that good tasting.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are not the best, you can not control the temperature in the rooms, so it is best to bring a fan because it can get really warm at times. But once you are able to move into the upperclassmen dorms the rooms get better.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academic rigor there are some teachers who grade harder than others and then there are teachers that do not grade as hard as the other teachers.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and no matter what the dedicated officers at Dartmouth really car about the students no matter what the situation is.

    What to do for fun

    For orientation we had a lot of fun. We hung out, played games, and later in the night they had a game show that everyone participated in!

    Food and Dining

    The food at UMass Dartmouth is amazing and there are so many selections of food and drinks! The cafeteria is huge and is very clean. I love it. I could eat there everyday or even go there to just hang out.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that I was in for orientation are amazing and very very livable and comfortable. They are very clean and not that small. Its like living in a fancy hotel. Again I don't know much because I only stayed one night.

    Academic Rigor

    The class setup is perfect for someone who wants to work and go to school at the same time. I don't know much about the academics since I've never had them. I just have the schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I would give to prospective students are tips that have to deal with being on top of things. Prospective students should really be on top of all the things that are due and what has to be done. It will make life so much easier. I wasn't like that and it made it difficult. I still did it but it wasn't easy. Before you even get out of high school make sure you do your financial aid, make sure you get good grades, get as many scholarships as you can, apply for colleges, and get as much help and information as you can. when you start to get into college you need to prepare yourself for the big change. Things that will help are getting to know your colleges and attending any events your new school has including orientation or summer institutes. It helps you big time. I attended all the events and I was comfortable with college before I even moved in. Stay on top of things.

    In three sentences

    UMass Dartmouth is very welcoming and makes you feel at home. They are very well put together and its the best bang for the buck I think. The campus is not to big and not to small and the classes are not to big so the professors can connect with their students better.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus there are the state police. Public safety is very efficient. Any incident that occurs on campus is emailed to students with the reports on when it occurred as well as where it occurred.

    Greek Life

    There are several greek organizations on campus. However the organizations are not very active such as throwing frat parties, however they do host fundraising balls and other events such as Relay For Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities that someone can get involved in depending on the interest. SGA usually throws outing such as trips to Boston, Rhode Island and other places for students on weekends. And its also free. They also host roller skating nights and bowling events which are also free. If you are bored and want to party on a weekend, Woodland Commons usually host parties on Saturday nights. Not to mention there are always students tabling in the student center to inform students of the clubs they have and what upcoming events are coming up. If that isnt enough, the University usually sends out a blast email, once a week with all the events that will be occurring for the week. So you'll find plently to do in between your free time after studying.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very diverse. There are a mixture of Caucasians, African-Americans, Caribbean Americans, Asians, Indians, as well as African students. This school is great for students who openminded. There are no specific type of student at Umass Dartmouth. Some students are very preppy, some are very politically engaged, some are laid back.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Usually at the end of every semester, there is a tradition before final exams to have a Moonlight Breakfast and it occurs from 10 PM to 12PM. During the Moonlight Breakfast students are served breakfast such as eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage and much more. Students also recieve free prizes such as sunglasses, and backpacks.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great for the cost of tuition. The tuition is not vey high at approximately 36,000, most students recieve a great financial aid package.

    What to do for fun

    There always some event going on campus, you wont be bored. SGA usually host shows in the auditiorium such as comedy shows, bingo nights, raffle prizes and more. And if your into parties, almost every saturday on campus different clubs and organizations hold parties at Woodland Commons.

    Food and Dining

    The Marketplace is the primary dining on campus and to be honest the food sucks. After leaving the Marketplace you will usually smell like grease and oil, however avoid this by eating at the great other options that take meal swipe such as Birch, Wendys, the Commuter Cafe. There are numerous places to eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    For Freshmen the dorms are the worst. They are usually placed in a small room with one or two other roommates and have to share a bathroom with 10 other people in the suite. However as the years progress housing becomes better, the Dells or the apartments are the best places to live, you have your own kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    UmassDartmouth has great engineering, MLS,Psychology, Pre-Med, Mathematics programs. Many of the professors in advanced level classes hold their masters and PHD degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student if you decide to enroll in this school, become engaged in the campus community, however do not get to caught up in all the activities that cause you to forget whats important the academics.

    In three sentences

    Umass Dartmouth is a great school with a close campus community. There are always alot to do on campus with its many organizations. The school is not to big nor is it too small.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Excellent, Affordable, Great

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe ;)

    Greek Life

    If you want to pledge for greek life, go national. MUCH nicer

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs it's insane. From greek life to religious to gaming to race. EVERYTHING

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen have the Corsair olympics at the beginning of the year

    Food and Dining

    Could be better but, hey, its school food

    Dorm Life

    Dorms definitely get better when you move up in years.

    Academic Rigor

    Really depends on your major, average college demands?

    Tips for prospective students

    It's wicked windy and beware of big puddles when it rains. Go easy on the res food. Make sure you make friends early on, it does get harder as the year(s) progress. And don't buy your textbooks through the school store.

    In three sentences

    Even with all it's little faults, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, I have never had an issue with campus safety and I was a single female who walked around alone lots of times at night. Sounds dangerous, but I had no issues in all four years.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very popular on campus and there are tons of sororities to chose from, if that is what you are into.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of programs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone serious about learning and looking to make a difference.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not too many unusual traditions, maybe you can start your own!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I think this school is a serious bang for your buck. I saved tons of money going here and I think that most importantly, I was able to study abroad, complete a semester long internship in Washington, DC and volunteer while at this school because of all the money I saved. It was well worth it. Also, the professors in my department were extremely helpful with everything and anything I needed. They never hesitated to make an appointment with me, answer any questions I had, or get me the best access to information that I needed for a paper or thought I had. I'm a proud graduate and would do it all over again.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, join a sorority, sports club, professional club, volunteer, or anything else social. Get involved and find your niche. That's when you will be having the most fun.

    Food and Dining

    I was a fan of the dining Res. But of course, I did not eat there everyday. I'm just a fan of any buffet so I'm probably a little biased here, but there was always pizza, french fries, pasta, a salad bar, dessert, two to three main courses, a sandwich bar, chips, fruit, and all that good stuff. I mean, I can't complain too much. I will say that the food is no 5 star restaurant quality, but if you want 5 star restaurant quality, you have to pay 5 star prices, which you don't pay here.

    Dorm Life

    I lived 10 minutes off campus, but from my on-campus friends, I heard some complaints about the lack of parties, events, and fun things to do,especially over the weekend, so I guess the dorm life depends on your interests. If you are a party animal, dorm life may not be too fun. If on the other hand, you prefer a quiet weekend where you can study, go to the new library and use the computer, or just relax, you will enjoy it more so.

    Academic Rigor

    The first two years are easy going but there will be some bumps in the road when you have to take elective courses that you may not be very interested in. As a Political Science major, the academic rigor really kicked in Junior and Senior year, as it probably does with most majors. Many 20 page papers, analysis, and tests were due all around the same time. The good news is that I still have them all today and am proud of my work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you find groups or clubs to join, internships, travel abroad, or any other activity that you are into so that you do not get bored! Southeastern Massachusetts is not the funnest place, so find as much to do on campus as you can! Also, most staff is super friendly, so it is easy and worth it to schedule an appointment and get career advice any time!

    In three sentences

    The professors here are all experts and make this school worth attending. This school is fairly inexpensive, but has quality coursework, extracurricular opportunities, and traveling opportunities. The campus may not be pretty to look at, but the knowledge inside the classroom is worth the money.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an improvement on safety in the campus. They added lighting, more security guards, and are continuing to work on it. There is a huge improvement in the campus' safety regulations.

    Greek Life

    There are no on campus housing for Greek life because of Massachusetts restrictions, so it definitely did not seem worth it to pay for a sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    The outdoors club is a must! Most things are free and it's a blast to go on the trips they have.

    Bang for the buck

    As someone who is out of state and works on weekends, I feel like I generally get the most out of the school. I'm involved in a few clubs and I take 6 classes. It's not bad for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Attend the events the school has. There is more to do than just parties. The school has movie nights, guest speakers, club nights. Stay alert and you can find almost anything. Go to a sports game or take the bus to the movie theaters if you have the extra cash. There's plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't horrible, though the amount of options seems more limited. Many students say that they changed the contract to limit the amount of meals you can get from a food cart in the academic buildings, and you are forced to use the dining hall. I heard of a few students with complaints of getting sick but I never once had a problem with the food.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are not terrible, especially the newest ones. There is newly added security in them, so that helps you feel safer. The school definitely has tried to improve upon dorms. They are also fast to fix any problems with the rooms that are serious. (i.e broken shower, window, clogged drain, etc).

    Academic Rigor

    The courses ask of you what they should. Sometimes it seems like professors try to cram everything in towards the end but I've had that with almost all the professors I've had at both CCRI and UMD. it's just a matter of planning to have more time than one does.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the school before you accept. Although I very much love the architecture and set up, it isn't for everyone. It's a closed circle setup which means its easy to get to any building. Also, pick your classes as soon as you can and DON'T be afraid to use the advising center more than once. They're there to help.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it was an enjoyable first semester living at college. I had some issues at first as I came in from a community college but the school was helpful. There are an unlimited amount of resources available for students.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The residence dining is great, there are always options for picky eaters and you'll definitely be able to find something you will eat.

    Dorm Life

    I lived on campus for one semester, my home was only five minutes from campus so I just wanted to experience it and it was fun. The sophomore dorms are very nice and fairly new the freshmen dorms, eh not cute.

    Academic Rigor

    If the appropriate time is put into your studies and not into your partying then you will succeed just fine. The classes are not that hard especially the general education requirements your major is what you make of it. I suggest finding something that interests you in order to stay on top of the studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't base your decisions on appearance. The professors and lecturers are more than happy to accommodate you, but remember this is college and they will not baby you. Everyone at this school wants their students to succeed so be prepared to put the work in and it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    UMASS Dartmouth is a great school with awesome faculty. The campus is somewhat dreary looking but the newly renovated library is fantastic! There are many great things about UMASS Dartmouth and I encourage students to look into their majors.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of great restaurants in the area that offer discounts and special deals for students. UMass Dartmouth is also very close to Providence, Rhode Island which is a fun city to visit with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose this university if you're looking for a lot of one-on-one attention from professors. This is definitely a place where people will know who you are, recognize your strengths and weaknesses, and be enthusiastic about helping you succeed.

    In three sentences

    This school offers a great education at an affordable price. I love that it is a mid-sized university - not too big, but not too small. I would definitely recommend it as an option for low-income students looking to get a good education.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Drink. Not much to do honestly.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few select places that accept your meal swipes or block plans, and after a certain time, it is almost impossible to find a place to eat on campus. Birch is one of the best places around, but the line is always super long. Rez is okay, Wednesday nights are usually the best (chicken Caesar salad mixed to order), but it can get boring after a while unless you are into trying the variety of foreign foods the chefs prepare.

    Dorm Life

    lets be honest, the freshman dorms are always going to be the worst. The longer you stay, the better the dorms get. The apartments are probably the sweetest deal, I prefer them more than the dells, which are like condo living. the apartments are near the center of campus, while the dells are down their own long road, and are somewhat detached from the main circle. If you didn't have a car or missed a shuttle its a very long walk to class.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it four stars because it really depends on your major and your professors. Overall, the classes are demanding and require lots of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask former students for advice on teachers, especially if they use the book or not. For some classes you can get away with not purchasing a book because the professor hardly uses it. Also, take advantage of the Reading and Writing center, they are there to help you succeed.