Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Univ. of Massachusetts-Lowell (UMass Lowell) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who enjoys a great deal of independence, a diverse group of peers, and a welcoming atmosphere will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    All one must do is work hard to succeed. Manage your time well. Class time is limited, so be ready to do a good deal of work on your own. You will appreciate the independence.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let anyone say that state school is the cheap, easy version of college. UMass Lowell pushes students to their fullest abilities, just like any private college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall, the school has a very laid-back atmosphere. The professors all seek to keep student interaction up and there are a great number of student activities.

    Am learning a lot

    UMass Lowell won't just teach you about writing, math, and science- it takes you beyond to learn about yourself. One must learn to manage time well with so many campus activities. The school also has a great amount of diversity, which helps students to learn about many other people and cultures. Learning in the classroom is great as well. The small class sizes are highly beneficial.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in math or sciences. Physical Therapy & music are great here too.

    Tips for prospective students

    A state school with great rating!!! You really can't go wrong with this school. Make sure you get a tour of the dept. your interested in. If you go see Computer Science, you will be blown away!

    Bang for the buck

    UML has a great reputation as a state school and the grads get good jobs! The professors are very connected to the working world and know how to direct the students towards job placement. That says it all to me!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is near a city for many cultural & sports activities. I can also drive out to skiing, hiking and other rural activities. The academic attitude is strict & I have to study pretty hard but teams are set up for freshman to help with study groups and develop a community atmosphere. It works for me.

    Am learning a lot

    The Computer Science Department is the best I have seen. I could study robotics, gaming & programing- everything I am interested in. Then the school is connected to many businesses in the area & I can work or research with outside projects. They prepare you for the real world.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think pretty much anyone can fit in here. College is different than high school, there are clicks but not in the same regard as you may think. In college you make friends with the people you want to make friends with and everyone else pretty much leaves you be. It's a very accepting school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, don't listen to people if they are snickering at the idea of you attending school here. It is a great school. I just transferred here from an ivy league school to save cost on tuition and was doubting everything, but once I started classes I fell in love. The professors are wonderful (and not stuck up!) and always willing to help. The other students are also incredibly friendly.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe I haven't run into any life threatening experiences. As long as you are sober are not hurting yourself then you will be safe. I've walked from campus to campus and had no problem. However, when you leave UMass Lowell property I don't know about the rest of Lowell.

    Greek Life

    They have regular Greek life on campus but were currently trying to get some of the Divine 9 there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to join!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I participate in club activities like ASAO ( Association of Students of African Orgin), SOCA (Students of Caribbean Ancestry) , and the UML Gospel Choir. Their are plenty of clubs you can join! We also have intramural sports for former athletes.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is horrible. They serve the same food over and over and it doesn't taste any better. They are currently working on the dinning hall on East campus so hopefully the food gets better as well.

    Dorm Life

    I like the fact that their are Dorms in more than one location. You can live on east campus, south campus, Merrimack apartments, moody street apartments, the new dorms that their building close to east for the new students, the hotel (ICC), and More!. The quality of the dorms are decent.

    Academic Rigor

    I was a Biology Major entering Umass Lowell and I barely got any sleep because I was up doing homework or writing lab reports it's hard! I just changed my major to Community Health we'll see what it has in store for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you know exactly what you want to do when coming into the school or do it within your first year because some major like the science majors or clinical majors are hard to make up for in four years if you don't get into them on time. You have to take specific classes in specific years and semesters.

    In three sentences

    Umass Lowell is a good school I would rate it as a B-.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The UMLPD is actually higher ranked than the city of Lowell's police. Under two minute response time and we have a student Emergency Medical Service

    Greek Life

    Brand new this year... still growing!

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 130 clubs and really easy to start one. We even have underwater hockey!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a small college feel but doesn't want to go to the middle of nowhere. Also if you don't want to be in debt for your entire life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our music building is shaped like a piano! Plus we have canals running through the city.

    Bang for the buck

    UMass Lowell is awesome and cheap. Not much else you could ask for!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Lowell! It's a beautiful city with ton of shops and great places to eat. We also own the Tsongas Center in Lowell so we have legit concerts all the time, and the music building puts on concerts almost ever night too! Plus the common in Fox Hall will have more local shows weekly.

    Food and Dining

    Though supposedly the dining is getting overhauled this year, food has not been great in the past. You will probably enjoy it for a few months, but after four years it starts to get a little sickening.

    Dorm Life

    We do NOT have dorms at UMass Lowell, we have residence halls! RAs put on programs almost every night and everyone leaves their doors open to just hang out all day. Awesome! One drawback is mostly no AC though.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are in the College of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, you will be taking the easiest math courses of your life. College Writing I and II are also pitifully easy. The closer you get to the core of your major however, the more difficult the coursework becomes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect perfection from every teacher. We have some who are amazing at what they do, but also some who fall short. The awesomeness of the really good professors make up for the bad ones though!

    In three sentences

    A great education for a great price. Feels like a small college but is in fact a large university. UML has one of the best Sound Recording Technology programs in the country!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are extremely friendly and always do their best to put the safety of the students first. There is always a way to get in contact with the University police if necessary.

    Greek Life

    Frats and Sororities do exist at UMass Lowell, but only Fraternities are allowed to have houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many many clubs and activities are offered. Anything from Zumba and Ballroom dancing, to Hockey and Soccer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind being in the city or walking from place to place would greatly enjoy UMass Lowell. Even for those who do not enjoy city life that much, there is a river walk located on the Merrimack River that provides separation from busy city life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Suppas Pizza and the Egg Roll Cafe' are particular favorites of the students at UMass Lowell. Dunkin Donuts, Subway, and Starbucks are also located on Campus. Last academic year (2011-2012) UMass Lowell successfully hosted their first Relay for Life.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable and financial aid is generous.

    What to do for fun

    UMass Lowell has an outstanding recreation center. The Rec center offers a variety of aerobic classes to keep you busy and the workout facilities are pristine. Many intermural and club sports teams are also offered. UMass Lowell is very close to the historic part of Lowell. Many walking history tours of Lowell are available. The Tsongas arena is in walking distance of the UMass Lowell east campus. Anything from hockey games to concerts are offered at the Tsongas.

    Food and Dining

    Food is bearable. It's not a five star restaurant, but it keeps you alive. Occasionally Aramark will offer specials which are definitely delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely fantastic. Being surrounded by people who understand what it's like to have tough classes is a plus. Living in dorms allows you to create new friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at the University of Massachusetts Lowell vary in difficulty. Academic rigor ultimately depends on your selected major, but the classes are absolutely do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Commuting may be easier for some students, but I would absolutely recommend living on campus. Allowing yourself to be surrounded by other students who have the same major as you or have similarities with you is much less stressful. I would recommend getting involved with any extra-curricular activities you can. Being involved in the school community helps establish a sense of belonging and importance in your lives.

    In three sentences

    The University of Massachusetts Lowell provides an outstanding atmosphere for students to excel. The community is very welcoming and the teachers are above adequate. The University has a great recreational center that allows students to separate from their studies and enjoy themselves with a sports team or a recreational class.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm speaking for myself here, but this is a fantastic school for engineering students. There are so many opportunities for hands on learning that really make the connection between homework, and real work.

    Tips for prospective students

    This goes for any college, but the best piece of advice is, you get out what you put in, and there are no diminishing returns. Also, if you're an engineering major, don't go to the library to print stuff, they charge you like 10 cents a copy. Go to the engineering computer Labs where its free. When the time comes to take Tech Electives, talk to your advisers and take graduate level classes as tech electives. It will count for both your undergraduate, and graduate degrees, saving you time and money.

    Bang for the buck

    I came from Embry-Riddle in Daytona Beach Florida to UMass Lowell, due mainly to the significantly lower cost. But what I found was, not only is UMass Lowell cheaper, but I was getting a much better education! Embry-Riddle was 60 grand a year, UMass Lowell is around 16 Grand a year. I will get my entire degree in little over the cost of one year at a private institution!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's close to home, and the student community is pretty good. You can almost always find other people working on similar course work, so impromptu study groups are very common.

    Am learning a lot

    The Mechanical Engineering courses are tough! There is so much information and much of it has applied to my internships and even hobby level projects

  • 09/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Musicians, everyday normal people, people who like to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend this school. If you are serious about getting a good education, a good college experience and not come out hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt, then this is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    UMASS Lowell is one of the top engineering schools around. And its inexpensive. I couldn't be happier with the choice I made going here. It is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have a great group of friends. Within a week or so my floor had become really good friends and I had a blast with everyone. As for everyone on campus, they are friendly. Its not like high school at all. There are no clicks here, just friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    When I was first looking at schools to go to, UMASS Lowell was my safety net, in case I didn't get into any other college. I was looking at these schools that were 40,000 dollars a year and I had got accepted to most of them. But when it came down to making my decision, I choose UMASS Lowell, and I couldn't be happier. The professors are amazing. They really helped me learn a lot right from the beginning; and if you don't know the answer to a question, just ask. They are more than willing to help you with a problem. They are always offering to help you, whether its during their office hours or at lunch, a simple e-mail will set up a time for help. As for class sizes they are relatively small. When you think about a University, you think large lectures right? Wrong. Here at UMASS Lowell we have recitations, meaning that there are 20 to 30 students in your class at a time. This makes learning so much easier because the professor has a lot more time for individual questions. All in all, I couldn't be happier with the school I picked.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering, Nursing, Physical Therepy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit and take a tour of North, East and South Campus. Keep in mind that the weather gets rough and the bridge is a sheet of ice in the cold. The dinning is rough as i rather eat anything but it after 2 months because you just get tired of the same thing. South Campus is the best because they'll make you what you ask them and i suggest the alfredo! i suggest getting the meal plan with the most points as it is your only gateway to REAL food such as the awesome all points Southwick caf as well as Subway,Starbucks,Rowdy's and Taco Bell. Also if you are looking to live in FOX make sure you get into floors 4-6.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of the school is very much reasonable and the academics are worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am not from the area and was looking for a little more of a city life. The Campus organizations such as CAPPA are awesome at putting together events and if you do make the most out of them you may very well enjoy yourself.

    Am learning a lot

    It really does depend on the professor. If you are going into psychology make sure to look for Professor Andrea Dottolo. She is amazing and makes you learn everything she covers. If you ever need to take Exploring the Universe take any professor BUT Mittler.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there are multiple campuses around the small city of Lowell, campus safety and security is great.

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of, but that's probably just me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student groups that host events and meet regularly for supplemental academic interest, for athletic practice, or just for fun. There's certainly something for everyone. If there isn't something for you, you can start your own group or find something offered in the community. I like the meditation group and to use the recreation center.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering, Maths, Sciences, especially Physics and Robotics. Also, Business, Finance, and Management.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's funny memes posted about the school online. I've only attended for a year but I'm glad I transferred to UMass Lowell.

    Bang for the buck

    It's less expensive than a private school, but the education is close to comparable and far better than a community college would provide. Although it does feel like a commuter school, due to the multiple campuses around the small city of Lowell, it still feels like a community. Just as the school is part of Lowell, Lowell feels like it's part of the school, and if one is inclined to such things, they may find themselves volunteering in the community in addition to their educational affairs.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student groups that host events and meet regularly for supplemental academic interest, for athletic practice, or just for fun. There's certainly something for everyone. If there isn't something for you, you can start your own group or find something offered in the community.

    Food and Dining

    I rarely eat at school. The cafeteria on South campus is not bad. I've never been to the one on North campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally lived in the dorms. From what I can gather, some are too small for what one would pay, and others are too far away from classes, making it a difficult commute to class in the winter time. Still, it's advisable to live on campus for at least the first year if you're planning on staying at the school for all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it depends on the course and the professor, courses are fairly well organized and taught. Student engagement is highly encouraged and this helps students assimilate with information they are being presented. I wouldn't say it is on par with the education one may get at a private university, but as far as public state schooling goes, it's certainly worth the time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students may want to live on campus for a year before they become a commuter, in order to get to know the school's community better. This will help future students to make the most out of their experience at UMass Lowell. In addition, future students may consider taking 5 courses at a time to finish on time or early.

    In three sentences

    UMass Lowell has great faculty, staff, up to date technology and great environments for studying. They focus on the quality of education, service learning, and thus are community focused in many ways. It's a great school for maths, sciences and community work.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Umass Police are prominent on campus. My experience with other colleges located in Worcester, Boston, and Amherst lead me to conclude that Lowell is a lot safer

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in several clubs and partake in many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENTS

    Bang for the buck

    A really good value for a Business Administration Baccalaureate.

    What to do for fun

    So many events planned by the school, just keep your eyes and ears open. There are several things to do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining on north campus was just renovated. There is now a Farmer's Market section with food from local farms.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter so my dorm experience is limited to staying with friends some nights.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes/ assignments are tough but, I have been able to manage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and you will be rewarded. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. Choose a program that will help you get a job.

    In three sentences

    Everything is in the process of being upgraded. Most of the teachers are amazing. Attending Umass Lowell has opened up so many possibilities.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 54

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has great programs for Health and Engineering majors. It's not difficult to be accepted into UML unless you're applying for a Health or Engineering major. This school isn't in the best area, but I never had any problems.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for commuters, students looking for careers in engineering, and nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont try and over load with classes focus on getting the grades you desire.

    Bang for the buck

    The only bad is not every building has air conditioning in the spring/ summer.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is plenty of clubs and people to meet and get involved with.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are larger because of the size of the school but you learn alot through out the year.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yes, who ever wants to go to college and do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and study hard, you will come successful in the future.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking is very safe and security helps if you get into trouble!

    What to do for fun

    Sports and music programs are great when I have time.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good! Breakfast is great on the run, and they make it very easy.

    Dorm Life

    unknown live at home at present time. Hope to live in September 2012

    Tips for prospective students

    You can work and go to school because classes are at many different times of the day and evenings. They try very hard to help students with all different problems and make your education top and first in your life!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school and offers everything I need to complete my educational goals. It is close to home and work and makes my life work.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always patrolling and usually see the campus PD since Lowell is not such a great area.

    Greek Life

    Many frats on campus and honors frats for certain majors.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and intramural available on campus. Keeps you engaged in hobbies and academics.

    Great for these types of students

    Music majors/People who want to party and meet friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorm life is terrible but the education is great for a cheap state school.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural, hangout and party with roommates/friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is horrible.

    Dorm Life

    No student life, the staff is terrible and doesn't help and the food is horrible.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are great and know their stuff. The classes are fun that are in your major if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the 2nd best CJ program in the state behind Northeastern University. Great professors here.

    In three sentences

    This living conditions here are terrible there is no student life. The professors here are great. The food is terrible and I would rather not live here.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I definitely made the right choice and will get the education needed to pursue my goals to become an ELECTRICAL ENGINEER. A definite five stars.

    What to do for fun

    UMASS LOWELL always has a full schedule of extra curriculum activities available.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining facilities at Lowell are both diverse and accommodating. Also there are plenty of other food alternatives in the immediate area.

    Dorm Life

    At first it was a big adjustment but with the help of the RA's it has been an easy transition. Five stars

    Academic Rigor

    A challegening course of study but has many support tools in place. I feel this is a five star school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel that the best advice I can give a prospective student is to come in with an open mind and a drive to learn.

    In three sentences

    UMASS LOWELL is a very diverse college, it has a wide variety of programs and courses of interest. I find the college to be a well rounded school with a focus on the student and their success. So far it has been a very pleasant experience.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the university is right in the middle of the city, it is quite safe. There are emergency call buttons on each campus. Each one is at least a few yards with each other so you don't have to worry about safety too much.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is not associated with the university but there are some frats off campus. If you go there for a party, don't wear nice shoes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost anything you can imagine. You just have to put yourself out there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Suppas down the street from North campus. Order a fat chicken; it will feed you for days.

    Bang for the buck

    Living on campus is expensive but I suppose you pay for the experience as well as the convenience. Other than that the school is extremely affordable for most incomes especially for the education you get.

    What to do for fun

    Fox Common has pool tables. The rec center has basketball courts, exercise equipment, and a whole lot of other stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The food is college food but it is not terrible. Some people complain but most people honestly have no problem with it. In Fox dining hall, the best part for me was breakfast. If Gloria is working you'll get an awesome breakfast sandwich if you ask.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a good experience. I recommend it to anyone who can afford it. Most of the time the people on your floor will have the same major as you or even be in the same classes so working together is a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load depends on the classes you take. Freshman year if you take all 100 classes you won't work too hard but once you get into 200 classes be prepared for harder finals and much more work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors are really good about office hours so if you have a question of need some help don't hesitate. The library is a great place to get work done and if you can't find a free computer on the first floor, the second floor has a computer lab as well. Use your points sparingly and take advantage of the meals.

    In three sentences

    Umass Lowell is a great university. It has a large campus feeling but actually isn't too big at all. Everything is close and it is right in the heart of the historical and exciting city of Lowell.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very pro-active in keeping the campus safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Public transportation is excellent and you can find cheap eats in Lowell, (espeically if you like diner food).

    What to do for fun

    Though Lowell is thriving in culture and the arts for a small town it is very close to Boston which is a hub for nightlife and culture.

    Food and Dining

    Decent in-house cafe and cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    They do not give much, you really have to earn every grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, always, always do your homework before accepting a school's offer. This school is very strong in support of the students and also has some of the ebst tenured professors for you money.

    In three sentences

    Excellent curriculum with student focused attention to detail. Has active and engaging student involvement and SBa's. Lastly, is highly ranked as one of the ebst public universities in the world.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely what i paid for, decent, cheap program that gives me the tools I need.

    What to do for fun

    There is alot to do in downtown if you look for it, their are on campus activities but you gotta look for them. people are nice and their is always something to do if you have someone to do it with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but after a while it gets old due to a lack of options. Not alot of flavor and not very healthy. Food that you actually pay for is actually pretty decent, but the dining halls themselves are not that great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty decent. their are rules but not to overbearing and reasonable. It is a pretty quite campus on the weekends but you can definitely find something to do if you have friends and are creative. R.A's are nice enough and the police are reasonable. Rooms are big enough and the people are generally nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult depending on the professor and the course. Overall I have not had a class I could breeze through or a class that was making me do work 24 hours a day. It definitely depends on the professors which have all been awesome in my experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get everything done early, all of your paper work and medical things that need to be done, if not it can hurt your chances to get good classes for the upcoming semester

    In three sentences

    Amazing professors. Amazing peers. Average administration.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    dance, photography, boating

    Tips for prospective students

    In three sentences

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Umass Lowell Cops keep the campus safe and have a response time of two minutes or less when called

    Greek Life

    Vibrant frat community

    Clubs and Activities

    Umass Lowell has over 170+ clubs on campus. Something for everyone and you can make your own if you decide too.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are committed to work hard. Students that want to experience an old fashioned town. And Students that want to have a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    Umass Lowell is relatively inexpensive compared to other colleges. UML also offers a lot of services and a great college experience for all students at a discount cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. Hitting downtown lowell is always a good time and proves to be fun. Also the university hosts parties on campus throughout the school year.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good. There is a large variety so there is something for everyone. The meals are also made fresh and change daily so you wont get bored of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Umass Lowell does not have Dorms, We have residence halls. Our residence halls are all state of the art and come fully furnished. They are all very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Umass Lowell does have challenging courses. If you study and complete work on time than you will be fine. You get what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write a creative essay during the application process. Come visit the university before hand to see if you would enjoy it here. Contact other students here about their experience.

    In three sentences

    Umass Lowell is a great university. Very Fun University with lots of activities going on everyday. Also filled with very helpful faculty.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here on campus. IF there is ever a time you need a ride, you can call the schools free shuttle service and they will pick you up. They will drive you to the Lowell commuter rail station, and the campus police are real police, not just security guards. So you can always call them if you feel uneasy about anything.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is on its way back up! we have a greek week the first month of school!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs. If you can think it, they have it, and if they don't it is super easy to make it. Find 9 friends, find a faculty member to advise (they don't have to attend the meetings they are there for support and to be the mediator between you and the administration), and pow you have yourself a club!

    What to do for fun

    So much to do for fun! The school is BIG on hockey, the whole school is at the hockey games on the weekends. There is always some live music, and the theater department always has something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food is EXCELLENT! and there are many different places and many different options.

    Dorm Life

    It is awesome, especially as a freshman. You are living with all freshmen and you have classes together and its so easy to walk down the hall and meet someone new.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on what classes you take, but the workload is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly, everyone there is friendly and outgoing and they love making new friends!

    In three sentences

    The campus is amazing, the seperate east campus for most residence halls makes it have a homey feel, you get to drive a mile home on the bus after school everyday. It is very nice!

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems.

    Greek Life

    No clue.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't get much financial aid.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a good sense of community.

    Bang for the buck

    There is not much to brag about in this category. You pay little and you get little in return.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a party.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, depending on where you go to eat. Many off-campus selections.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but my friend likes living there.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for affordability, this college is for you. There are some really good teachers, but you get what you pay for in the classroom structures.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable. It is not where I would like to be. I plan on transferring

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to hangout with friends, play sports, run, party, drive. Etc.

    In three sentences

    This college is expanding so much. I like this college because its affordable and as Credit for Business. Also, the environment of the school works well.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. The UMLPD and EMS are always on call and there to assist. There is always security on hand at the residence halls at peak hours. There are also security phones littered around campus with the UMLPD's number available. Transportation also runs into the wee hours of the morning so that students can get around safely.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is now fully supported by the campus. It used to be an independent from the university. There are quite a few frats and sororities to choose from. They are quite diverse and the bond among these students are evident. It's not all about partying but also about volunteering and helping the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to chose from and a host of events for any interests a student may have. From under water hockey to the french club or the UML newspaper to the student government organization. The have groups for students who are fro the middle east, Caribbean, or of Hispanic descent, just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a college intimate enough that you will not get lost in the crowd but big enough that you can always meet new and diverse people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spring carnival at the university is one of our great traditions. It several days of fun events and carnival set ups. Students also have a day off at the end of the week. The culture week is also a tradition at UML. Many students get to share there different cultures with the students and show just how diverse the university is.

    Bang for the buck

    The university offers many career help options for the students who need it. Whether it be for updating or creating a resume, a job search or an internship placement, the have you covered. The study abroad program at the university is also great and helpful for those who would enjoy that experience.

    What to do for fun

    Joining one or two of the many clubs on campus is pretty fun. The university also hosts an array of events for students. There is always something going on every week. Even the residence halls and school departments have there little programs here or there open to all. Free food and prizes is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food could use some improvement. The food has its good days and its bad. However, it is usually pretty diverse and mostly good. The university also has late night meal options, which is great. They also partner with surrounding food places so students can get discounts by showing their ID.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, there is always some event going on. Many of the clubs and organizations host these events and all are welcome to participate. The university is all about keeping kids occupied and on campus. Dorm life also helps students meet new people who share the same interest and career goals. They usually pair students with the same or similar majors in the same housing community.

    Academic Rigor

    The university holds its students to a high standard and it is only getting higher. Pick a major that you will enjoy and do well in so that you can succeed. Classes may be tough but there are many great teachers who soften the blow. The university also has many on campus aids for students who may be struggling academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely join a club or organization. There are many available on campus so the possibilities are endless. Also, take advantage of all the student academic help that is offered.

    In three sentences

    UML is a good school. It is very diverse and immersed in different cultures. It is also very student oriented.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here. There are campus police a minute away if you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, just go join.

    Bang for the buck

    My sister is attending Law school for free a year after graduating here. It gets you wherever you need to get.

    What to do for fun

    network, the more people you know the more fun you'll have. Attend the concerts and the mixers.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good selection, just follow the one plate rule!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what classes you take but so far I haven't been too stressed out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dorm. It's the best thing you can do here.

    In three sentences

    Fabulous campus that has just the right amount of trees and concrete. Wonderful teachers and the students are pretty open and friendly as well.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency poles on and off campus. I've walked on campus in the dark and still felt secure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In one building, there's a place to play video games. All you have to do is provide the game. There are pool tables and great view of campus.

    What to do for fun

    There's the REC Center (gym) and various activites. There are events eveywhere at different times so they can fit into students schedules. Clubs also hold parties and residence life has parties once a month.

    Food and Dining

    There's not much variety but overall the foods decent. I've only been to one dining hall. Also, there are eating pods such as starbucks, einstien bagels, and subways.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. Some were renovated so there are comfortable furniture and spacious room to walk around. The rooms are comfortable too. Even if it is a quad or double, I didn't feel claustrophobic and the beds are comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course UMass Lowell has the best professors and high rate of education. That was what I was searching for when applying to college. I wanted professors who are educated in thier background and who can make the classes comprensible.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any students out there, UMass Lowell is a great school. The campus is being renovated so there are several new buildings to look forward to. The professors are cool and understanding. You will meet amazing friends that are helpful in class and cool to hang with outside fo class. There are many things to do on campus and you won't be bored. Guranteed.

    In three sentences

    The campus life is great and alive. There's diversity and many opportunites to do fun things. Professors and students are amazingly nice and helpful.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very diverse and large campus for everyone to meet. Professors are always available.

    What to do for fun

    I know there are many places offered around campus for the students.

    Dorm Life

    No familiar with Dorm life since I am online.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challening but possible to complete as long as time is dedicated to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to be disciplined in order to succeed.

    In three sentences

    University of Mass. Lowell online is full of teachers who are willing to push their students to success. All the advisors are very helpful and suggest the classes best suited for your major. The teachers are very understanding and all the students online are from all over the country so the discussions are very interesting.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I love the clubs on campus! I am the president of the International Relations Club and a member of pre-law and Mock trial. I have met most of my best friends through joining these clubs! I would definitely recommend that to any new students or transfers.

    What to do for fun

    I join clubs! I am a member of Pre-law, Mock trial and I am the president of UML's International Relations Club. I absolutely love it! I meet so many new people and I am always busy! I also enjoy yoga and Zumba at the school!

    Food and Dining

    I think UML's South campus dining hall is the best. I have not gone in the new fox hall dining hall, however, I have heard great things.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is absolutely terrible. I never even met my first RA and my second one did not know my name. I found so many spiders in my room and they did nothing about it. Also, the bathrooms are nasty over the weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make of it. You can slide by or you can work for what you want. If you do the assigned reading and more you will receive a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not assume that college will be easy. Your education is what YOU make of it. You can learn just as much as being at a private institution should you decide to. Join Clubs! They are a great way to network and meet a lot of students!

    In three sentences

    I love UML. As a transferr students, I think I appreciate what a great college this is more than your average student. I have gotten so many amazing opportunities from UML. I was able to intern at the State house and form many networks and connections that would not have been possible at another college. I love the size of UML and also the various clubs we have on campus.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe, Campus police everywhere that are very responsive and aware of the campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    OPI, Phi Kap, Sig O, Sig Tau, DK, AO, Alpha Sigma Tau, KO

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 120 different clubs and organizations. And if you don;t find one you like, it's easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who like to have fun yet want a phenomenal education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The engineers play a game called humans vs. zombies where they run around campus with Nerf guns and try to shoot each other, and if you get shot you must lay on the ground for a period of time. I've been caught in a cross fire once and it's a little odd.

    Bang for the buck

    For a state school, there is a lot to offer. This is a very respectable school, and it's getting more and more every day. The campus is evolving like no tomorrow, and it continues to grow. Yes, it is a state school so you are not going to get everything that a private university would offer. But for me, it's enough.

    What to do for fun

    Hockey games are a big one. The whole school comes out for the hockey games even if you aren't a fan of hockey, you will be there. The school and different organizations also put on many different activities for students as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 dining halls on campus, along with many locations to eat including Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts, Taco Bell, Sal's and Subway. The dining hall offer many different types of food all the time. The food is good, and there is always a variety.

    Dorm Life

    There as pretty nice dorms on campus. 2 beautiful brand new buildings, one hotel style building, and a few apartment complexes. Dorm styles range anywhere from doubles to singles to suites that hold up to 8 people.

    Academic Rigor

    Very, very difficult. I am a health major with plans to attend med-school afterwards, so it's going to be hard. As long as you put in the effort that you need to succeed, it will happen. I wouldn't trade my major for anything at this point because it will be worth it on the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to people in the major / career path that you are thinking about. It's always a great idea to listen to people's experiences before you start attending school. Take a tour of the school while students are on campus so you can get a feel for the life that we have on campus. Try an overnight with a student and attend a class with them. Attend any open houses that the school has to offer, here they will showcase what the school is about. If possible, set up an interview with the admissions office.

    In three sentences

    The programs here at UMass Lowell are outstanding. They open the doors for students to many opportunities after graduating. If you want a comfortable atmosphere, this is your place.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to the hockey games and basketball games are a blast. I had never been to a hockey game before but I'm glad I did, the River Hawks are very good. Downtown Lowell isn't that far either and there is always something to do there whether is eating of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall was renovated this year and looks amazing. The food is at times good but is generally the same. In order to get into the dining halls you can use your points/meal plans which can also be used in other dinners affiliated with the school.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the school apartments is kind of expensive but I like it better than the dorms. The food served is not the healthiest and doesn't always taste very good. Living in the dorms is how you meet a lot of people and there are always activities hosted by the RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what major you choose to follow and how you manage your time. As a criminal justice student the work load in the classes I have taken are not as much as those of an engineer. Like in any other school there are some classes that are and require a lot of studying and time, but the professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can rent your books it saves you a lot of money. Living on campus is a good way to meet other students but not always cost affective. Some professors don't take attendance but for the amount of money you are paying for your classes I would highly recommend you attend.

    In three sentences

    The schools transportation takes long to come around but is not that bad. The professors that I've had for criminal justice are amazing and the program is one of the best. You can always find something to do in town and the university is growing.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is definitely safe. UMass police are constantly patrolling. The campus also has emergency phones all within walking distance of each other, so no matter what if a disturbance ever occurred, help would be only a few steps away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs to get involved in! I myself am the treasurer of a club on campus. There's an organization for everyone at UML.

    What to do for fun

    The recreation center provides alot of activities for students to take advantage of, such as rock climbing, intramural sports and trips to outdoor places. There are also school functions such as dances, trivia nights, music shows and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Dining is continuously improving; alot of the cafeterias were remodelled or are in the process of being renovated. There are a few dining halls which are buffet style, but there are a few franchise restaurants within the school too, such as Starbucks, Sal's Pizza and Taco Bell. There is always a wide variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different for everyone. If you are looking to spend your time studying, there are tutoring services available in some of the dorms. However, if academics are not your only focus, and social life is important to you, it is also easy to find others with the same mind set.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, when it comes to the academics, you get out what you put in. If you fall behind in classes, professors are always available to help or provide resources to get additional aid. Make sure you take advantage of all the opportunities around you to progress academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend for students to go to the McGauvern center on campus. It has everything from events postings, signs, job opportunities and a gallery. There are so many resources at our school to take advantage of.

    In three sentences

    The University Of Lowell is definitely a school to grow in. The teachers are very involved and always offer help whenever a student needs. There are so many resourceful people to help students get ahead in more than just academics as well.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is close to Downtown Lowell and the school provides shuttles to get there. You'll find clubs and bars to hang out at

    Food and Dining

    The dining would have to be the worst unless you like on South Campus where the chefs care a little more than in University Dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm is again what you make it, there are plenty of clubs and organizations that constantly have meetings and events and there are always programs in the dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said the classes are rigorous. For health majors, the first 2 years are the exact same (although some snobby nursing students may think they have it bad but when you look at the curriculum, the courses are identical). There are resources, the dean of my college cares and so does my advisor. they will push you because they want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need anything administration related, call them or visit them constantly. It's not their jobs to give you money or make sure you're on track so it's not priority on their to-do list to notify you on anything. You have to be on top of everything that you need at this school.

    In three sentences

    This school is good for its academic purposes, especially for my major. I'm a Community Health and Sustainability major, the classes are rigorous but help is there if you look for it. I enjoy campus life, it's really what you make of it.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been quite a few robberies on campus, however these only usually happen at night. So a buddy system is a must! Never go anywhere alone at night. There are emergency buttons located around campus, but just be safe instead of sorry!

    Greek Life

    Parties

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many!

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, it is great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Suppa's-- restaurant with great food, great people, and huge portions!

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for generally! With the rising costs of tuition, you won't get much better. and Lowell is a great place to thrive and become independent! Although it is not the best city to live in, there are many aspects that make it a nice place, including the river, and many things to visit around it. It is a little over $20,000 a year, which is pretty good for a state school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many little restaurants around the city. Suppa's (right on North Campus) is a great hangout for students because of the great food and big portions! Downtown lowell has many little shops and restaurants and is only about a 15-20 min walk from east campus! There is also other shopping malls not too far off of the highway, like Burlington Mall, and there is a target, Dots, and Marshalls not too far away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I guess because I've almost been here 2 semesters I'm growing sick of the food. However, there are usually many options, they just don't change it up that often so you get sick of it.

    Dorm Life

    I would say that dorm life is okay. It depends where you live, of course. Some buildings have kitchenettes in them which allows you to cook, others don't. I live in Leitch, and my floor is really loud. So if you plan on studying in peace and quiet, you may want to consider that you are living with other people.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say this depends on your major, of course. I am in Exercise Physiology and currently am taking 7 classes this semester. So the work load is definitely a lot to handle. However, I've heard that business majors only have 4 classes and don't get as much work...so it depends!

    Tips for prospective students

    We have a system called iSiS which is where you go to see/change/sign up for your classes. I would recommend becoming familiar with this early on. Also, BEFORE you must sign up for classes, allow yourself at least two weeks before to check to see if you have any holds on your account. A hold will keep you from signing up for classes on time, which will make less classes of your choice available. Also, get involved! That's the best way to make yourself known on campus. Try out for club sports and the other clubs here at UML as well.

    In three sentences

    UMASS Lowell is a place for many opportunities in a broad variety of areas, including business, physical therapy, and highly esteemed arts programs and nursing, etc! They have been building up the campus to be much more modern than it once was, however there are some aspects that are in need of updating. Overall, campus life is great and none of the campuses are too far away from each other so it makes it easy to commute (especially with buses)!

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't participate in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am actually on the executive board for S.I.S.T.E.R.S, which is a group that embodies professionalism and success with the focus of women BUT we support the above with men as well. Besides S.I.S.T.E.R.S there are a countless amount of clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a dormitory located in downtown Lowell but it's great because you get to be part of the city.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends a lot. I like to be more on the relaxing side of the college scene.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It has it's days, and I will admit, it could use some upgrading.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is so convenient! I don't know how the commuter deal with finding parking every morning! There are always ways to get involved with the UMass community.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to my other school, UMass Lowell has definitely challenged me, but I know it's for the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever let people tell you a school is boring. First of all, you're here for YOUR education. Secondly, although education comes first, your social life is a great impact because you never know someone in your class may be your future hook-up to getting your dream job.

    In three sentences

    UMass Lowell is an amazing school, I transferred over my sophomore year and I fell in love. Although it much tougher in it academics than my previous school, it has so many opportunities. The people I've met throughout my short journey here are unforgettable.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Rec center, outdoor adventures program, CAPA, plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food but there's plenty of times where there's nothing to eat... On Sundays there's breakfast almost all day and they close around 6, weekdays at 8 which is SO frustrating considering some of us have class until 9 pm.

    Dorm Life

    Campus is spaced out awkward and the dinning hall closes EXTREMELY early.

    Academic Rigor

    Medical programs are intense here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan and understand what you're getting yourself into when attending college. Sometimes advisors me financial aid will be too busy to assist you so you need to stay ontop of your things yourself.

    In three sentences

    Good school considering the programs available and price. Definitely oriented more towards commuters than those living on campus. 7/10 would be my rating based on the school overall.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police everywhere and anywhere. As soon as something happens they notify everyone via email/text alert.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anything and everything.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great price. I went there for two years and don't have any student loans or debts to pay off because of help through scholarships and the fact that it's so cheap!

    What to do for fun

    The city of Lowell is a historic site. There are many historic things/museums you can check out. There's a bowling alley and a movie theater, tons of restaurants and pubs (if you're into that sort of thing), shops and stores, and places where you can just plain walk around too.

    Food and Dining

    The food in their dining halls are amazing. I love going there to get snacks and eat meals.

    Dorm Life

    No idea - I didn't live on campus. From what I've heard it can go from one extreme to the other extreme.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just hard enough that you need to put in an effort and try to succeed while they are not so hard that it's impossible to pass and not so easy you never have to show up to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out all the majors that are there. If you decide to change your major a few times (like me) then you might get stuck needing to transfer to a different school (like me).

    In three sentences

    The school is pretty decent overall. For the most part most of the teachers are extremely helpful, there are tons of clubs and extracurriculars for you to do, the food is good, the people are nice, and the classes are something that if you put effort in you will recieve a decent grade. Plus, the school is super affordable.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone :)

    Food and Dining

    The food at Umass Lowell is not always pleasent. The options are repeated far too often and have little to no flavor. The dining hall itself on east is amazing, clean, and friendly. The one on south is a little smelly and makes your clothes smell for the rest of the day. The best cafeteria is on North Campus but it does not take swipes and is RIDICULOUSLY expensive, it is unfair to North Campus majors and those living on North.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life provides students with a great sense of community, most RA's are friendly and approachable, but not all. The security guards that come from 11PM to 7AM are awesome, and make you feel 100% safe in your dorm. Fox hall is the largest dorm on campus but ends up being the least favorite as it is 18 flights and obnoxious to have to wait for the elevators.

    Academic Rigor

    Umass Lowell provides high standards for students in order to push them to their greatest ability. This might typically drive students to be overwhelmed but Umass Lowell approaches it in the right way. Most of the professors and staff are more than willing to help a student especially if they are struggling in order to bring them up to the level they need to be at to feel and be successful.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new dining hall on East Campus is amazing, tons of choices

    Bang for the buck

    Getting expensive, recently took away all TA positions for grad students

    What to do for fun

    Lowell Boulevard for great bike/walking path Downtown Lowell offers tons of great restaurants

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard to meet friends if you're a commuter, live on campus if possible

    In three sentences

    Great environment Many student activities great education

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Blue Police Call Boxes all over each campus and the parking lots. There is an escort service and the campus police are happy to help instead of arrest students. There is lighting along all the streets and students feel safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Rent your text books! Unless it is something you believe you'll use in your career, renting is the way to go. Use the gym and computer labs! You're paying for these things in Fees so don't get a gym membership elsewhere!! Join honor societies, clubs for your major or extracurricular activities - they look GREAT on your resume and they're a perfect way to meet people and make connections.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic games are exciting especially with the Tsongas Center being apart of UMass Lowell's buildings now. The gym is open to students as well and there are always events and clubs hosting movie nights etc. The campus is almost never without something to do!

    Food and Dining

    While there isn't a changing variety of food, the food that is offered is always good. Salad bar, pizza and pasta bar, sandwich and wraps bar, Asian cuisine, American foods and a couple restaurants on campus cover a good amount of tastes. The servers are super nice and personable; they always work to be sure your pasta or sub is made to your tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are categorized according to level, and these levels are all different. As you advance to the next year of college courses become more advanced, more specific and professors expect more. I always feel challenged in my classes and encouraged by professors to do more than what's expected. Professors usually are reasonable with grading, always help their students to succeed and provide sources and extra advice through emails, phone calls and office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're a sophomore be sure to keep traffic in mind when scheduling classes between North and South campus. Always check out Rate my Professor when you're choosing a class section, students will give you honest opinions and you can be more certain of what you're getting yourself into. Renting text books is a great way to save money! Sit up front - it might be where you think the nerds sit, but its the best way to establish a connection with the professor and can lead to a great recommendation letter in your future. Professors at UMass Lowell almost always have real-world and impressive experience in their fields, use this to your advantage to explore your major better!

    In three sentences

    UMass Lowell has a variety of majors for all interests, a large age range in students and knowledgeable professors. With three campuses geared towards different studies students can be sure to meet others with similar interests and make great connections. Each campus has its own theme and atmosphere, each campus is equipped with state of the art technologies and class sizes vary to offer a personal feel or the traditional small-fish-in-big-water lectures of college.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very diverse, great for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rec center is so nice, they even have a steam room.

    Bang for the buck

    you'll get a college education, so you can be competitive and what not.

    What to do for fun

    Tsongas is the highlight of the campus, i heard they have a great outdoor education program that has rafting trips on the Merrimack river.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent salad bar, vegan protein options given everyday like Barley, qinuoa, and other grains to provide protein and nutrients. All so well separated from meat entrees!

    Dorm Life

    it is what it is.

    Academic Rigor

    I sat in on one of the nutrition lectures, and learned more in one class then in an entire year at a high school food science class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lowell has awesome sports teams!

    In three sentences

    i found the campus to have an awesome vibe, especially with the kick butt view of the Merrimack river! The professor i met with on my visit was very well educated and helped me see my intended major for what it really was. All so as a vegetarian, i found that there were lots of great options especially for a public university.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have been a lot of robberies and such like computers getting stolen. One semester, several people died from falling/jumping off the bridge.

    Greek Life

    some

    Clubs and Activities

    Not really organized well

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering

    Bang for the buck

    They keep raising the tuition to build more buildings....

    What to do for fun

    There are many places in downtown Lowell that are fun to visit such as old historical museums.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, provided by Aramak. However, it is overpriced. The buffet on south campus is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a TA or RA position don't attend this school or be sure to make friends with the professors early on.

    In three sentences

    In a decent area, there are some good restaurants and bars nearby. Some teachers really care about the students but others are too busy to help. Most of the administration I have dealt with doesn't really care about anything except the bottom line.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    44 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A lot of reviews say the food is good so I'm trusting them. :)

    Dorm Life

    From what I'v seen, most of hess dorms look cool and nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    It doesn't sound like this school is too hard nor too easy.

    In three sentences

    This school sounds really awesome.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school organises many trips over the year to different states and cities. They have a great area to play any sports or games. There are few clubs around campus, which, I think, make it one of the best place to study and stay focus. It locates in a great historical city of USA

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to stay focus and study hard. Get help anytime you need it because they offer you a lot of helps in any field.

    In three sentences

    Umass Lowell is a great school for engineering and sciences major. They have a great personal staff and executive board that are charging to bring the schooll to the highest. I also love the campus and the sports activities.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a bunch of stuff to do in Lowell. Just go inside before dark.

    Food and Dining

    Eh.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but i've heard nice things.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from north campus at night or carry some pepper spray.

    In three sentences

    The staff here is amazing. They have so much to offer. Stay off of North campus.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been half a dozen robberies of students who go just a little bit off campus at night.

    Greek Life

    There are multiple sororities and fraternities to join

    Clubs and Activities

    The people in the clubs are very committed.

    Great for these types of students

    Only worth it if you are a engineering or nursing major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lalacheur Park (minor league baseball stadium) and the Tsongas Arena (lots of concerts.)

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are uninteresting and easy, the professors don't enjoy their work, and the tuition doesn't meet up to the quality of the education.

    What to do for fun

    Down the street from the Lowell Spinners stadium, recreation center, and no stores are close by.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has 2 buffet style dining halls one on east and south campus and they are building a third one at the University Crossings building. The food is decent and the dining Halls are large.

    Dorm Life

    Mainly communal bathrooms shared by an entire floor with 3-4 people in a room.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of the classes remind studenbts of their most boring high school classes- boring and not challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go there if you are a liberal arts student. The people in the program are nice, but the value of the education you will receive there is hardly worth the price of tuition.

    In three sentences

    Although UMass Lowell is a campus on the rise they forget to make their current students happy. The staff at most offices is rude, impersonal, and terrible at communicating with the students. The staff takes away from the overall enjoyment of the university.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UMass Lowell is an urban campus so there have been a few incidents around the city, but if anything does happen there is an emergency alert system that texts you and emails you immediately.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at UMass Lowell. There are constantly game nights and concerts along with the Division 1 hockey team that everyone loves. Posters cover the campuses with announcements and activities. There are also a lot of extremely interesting clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are three dining halls and two of them are closed on weekends. The one that isn't closed is the biggest one on the residential campus. The food is good, but it can get old quickly. Luckily, there are a lot of places that deliver and are open late.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of different options for dorm life on campus and even one that allows you to live in downtown Lowell. Freshman dorms, however, are known for having a lot of fire alarms going off during the night. It is nice, however, how most of the dorms are located on one campus. This gives it more of a community feeling and you meet more people this way. They are renovating a lot of the residence halls as well as opening new apartment-style housing options. So overall, dorm life is getting better

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of challenging and interesting classes at this college. There is even an honors program that allows for harder and more diverse classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is helpful to learn which offices are responsible for dealing with your issues. There are tons of different resources, but finding which one you need can be confusing.

    In three sentences

    Overall, this is a good school for academic purposes and the community is great. The only down side is that the administrative services are not as helpful or easy-to-navigate as they claim to be. It can be extremely confusing and most people point you in different directions.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, lots of them floating around and countless call boxes, and late night ride options for partying students safety.

    Greek Life

    Yes, several fraternities and sororities not on campus but recognized by the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities, Veterans, political, gamers, sexual orientation, career based, you name it, it is there.

    Great for these types of students

    Personally driven, with resilience and determination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of historical things in the city of Lowell as an old mill city.

    Bang for the buck

    As a state school is is more of a bargain than others, especially with the reputation the have in the job market.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events for students organized by the school, and many clubs and activities, based upon interests, or majors and careers.

    Food and Dining

    As a commuter, I usually bring my own food for lunch, but the food I have had was just ok and it is generally pricy.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter now but used to leave on campus, lots to do and study hall and tutors in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Material is intense and fast paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to have a lot of drive, and don't be discouraged if you aren't doing so hot on the tests, most students aren't and the scale will bring you back up.

    In three sentences

    The school has an outstanding reputation for having very intelligent graduates. I Feel the school does not produce them though. You either come here and make it through by being very smart already, or a very fast learner with the ability to get the required knowledge from outside sources.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not associated with the school itself

    Clubs and Activities

    sporting events

    Great for these types of students

    sports, business and engineering oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    underground tunnels

    What to do for fun

    hockey games and other sporting events

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to live in a city and do not mind going to different campuses for class.

    In three sentences

    It is a very large campus with opportunities for all. Your major is usually set up with your classes all on one campus. There are great sporting events.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 54

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    UMass Lowell was subpar. I didn't like the city it is in. There wasn't anything that I saw on my tour that made it stand out as a safe, welcoming or academically rigorous school.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! There are blue call boxes all over campus if you need to get in touch with them. They have a 30 second-3 minute response rate, so almost as soon as you call them, they will be there. Once, I was walking home from the library on North Campus at night. I didn't really feel comfortable walking alone, so I pressed one of the call boxes, and they sent an officer to me within a minute. He drove me back to my dorm building and made sure that I got in safely. They genuinely care about the well being of the students. They don't aim to get you in trouble for anything. They just want to make sure that you are okay at all times.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun. Off campus there are also a ton of fun things to do, but if you don't want to leave campus, don't worry you will never be bored. The school itself puts on so many activities and socials that there is always something going on. In fact, we had karaoke night last night.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. There are different specials every night, my favorite being the burrito bar and stir fry stations, and there are so many options at all times that you never have that I'm hungry but theres nothing to eat feeling like when you open the fridge to see that it is basically empty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, and the ones that aren't as nice are currently in the process of being renovated. There is always so much to do and so many people to talk to. Activities and socials are put on almost every night, so there is rarely ever a dull moment. Dorm life may arguably be one of my favorite parts of Umass Lowell, and having an awesome roommate definitely makes it so much better.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major you choose, the coursework can be more or less difficult. I am a health major, so there are a lot of science classes and a lot of information to take in, but the professors make it easy to understand, and when it isn't, they will take extra time to explain it from a different angle so that it can finally click for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take the class you find interesting, because when you like a class, it makes it that much easier to do well. Try not to choose classes based on the professor, because many times, classes move around and the professors can change. When that happens, you may be out of luck. Make sure you leave time for fun and for yourself. Take the classes you need to take, maybe even one extra if you want to, but don't overload yourself.

    In three sentences

    UMass Lowell has everything a student will need to succeed, and even have a little fun. They want you to excel and will provide any and all assistance necessary to help you when you need it. It is a well rounded campus and student body among all elements: social life, academics, and athletics.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On Campus, not too bad. Off Campus, NEVER travel alone.

    Bang for the buck

    Topnotch education, equal to UMASS Amherst. Cheaper and with a more generous financial aid program.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs if your into that sort of thing. Lowell itself is not the best environment.

    Food and Dining

    You wouldn't starve.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are loud and not as nice as upperclassman's, but they are next on list for renovation.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard, but your professors will be willing to help.

    In three sentences

    An increasingly more respected institution in Massachusetts. New state of the art facilities are being built all over campus. Many programs are second to none.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe. Off campus is not. I have heard of people being held up but always off campus and late at night. If you use your smarts you will be just fine. There are campus police officers who are EVERYWHERE. If you need one you can use the blue emergency call boxes and they respond in under 3 minutes.

    Greek Life

    I recently joined a frat. I love it. It is a great bunch of guys who just want to have a good time while working hard on their degrees. The upperclassman are there to help you with anything that comes up. Whether it is studying or general life questions it is nice to have someone there for you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for kids who want to get ahead without racking up huge school loans. The students here work hard. I know they have a 6 year graduation rate around 60 percent but that's because they give students a chance. Some can't handle the hard work and drop out.

    Bang for the buck

    I was accepted into UMass Amherst (too big), Northeastern (too expensive) and Clark (too odd/boring). I accepted the invitation to UMass Lowell with a great scholarship. I intend on going to grad school so spending $200,000 on an undergraduate degree was just stupid. I will now be able to attend grad school and not owe a fortune in school loans.

    What to do for fun

    They have something going on basically every night of the week. You can always find something to do. My new buddies and I formed a team to play broomball. We play 2 nights a week. I also recently joined a fraternity. I will still live in the dorms but have all my frat buddies to hang with. It is the best of both worlds.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is good. It's not great but there is a variety of food so you won't starve. There is also numerous restaurants on campus so you can always get whatever you are in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently dorming in Fox Hall. There are 3 of us crammed into a room built for 2. Luckily my roommates are great guys, otherwise it could get ugly! Fox Hall is in the middle of everything. The dining hall is in this building along with a Taco Bell and Rowdy's Pizza. The fitness center is right next door. So many honors student accepted their invitation to UML that they put the overflow on the 8th floor at Fox. At first I was upset not to be in Eames with other honors students but I found the best friends here and am now glad to be in Fox - in the middle of everything.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are much harder than I expected. My SAT score was 1500/1600. I came in with a bit of a superiority complex. I though classes would be a piece of cake. Boy was I wrong. I have to work hard to maintain good grades and my place in the honors college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is fabulous because of its small classes. My largest class has 42 students. My smallest has 16! The professors want you to succeed. They all offer convenient office hours and will do whatever is necessary to help you get a good grade.

    In three sentences

    UMass Lowell is fabulous, I didn't expect to love it coming in. Now I wouldn't go anywhere else - great professors, great friends great time!!