Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

U. of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey… Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UMDNJ is great for students that are highly motivated and highly skilled. Not just anyone can just get in. You need to work hard and remain determined!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework! When you really want to get into school research the institution. Know what they want and what they are looking for in a student. Talk to people and ask questions. Do not be afraid to stop by the school! The more they see your face and the more they hear from you the more they know how seriously you want to get into the school.

    Bang for the buck

    I think It is a little pricey, however it does seem to be appropriate for the institution. The university is highly competitive and the quality of education is excellent.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I will enjoy my stay there. My mother-in-law works there, and she tells me that it is a wonderful environment. The students are nice and intelligent and the professors are smart and kind. I am excited to go here!

    Will learn a lot

    I have complete faith that if I get accepted there I will be learning many important facts that I will be applying to everyday life.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life available, this is medical school for further learning.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are driven and want to obtain a great education and a great career.

    What to do for fun

    There are various locations in the area but I focus on studying, thus, I do not go out very much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read and study as much as you can! Do not hesitate to ask questions and see help if you need it

    In three sentences

    This school is great! It provides students with as much extra help as they need and the extra help can be found very easily. The Accelerated BSN Program that they have is difficult but very rewarding.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is good but if you live too far away, it can be a headache to drive all the way to Newark. Maybe dorming would be a better option if you live 1 hour or more away. The program I'm in helps premedical and predental students have another chance at applying to medical/dental school. If your GPA is not very hight in undergrad., but your GPA is high in this masters program, it increases your chances of getting accepted especaily to UMDNJ and to some other schools. You can take one or two medical or dental courses to prove you can do well in them. You can do lab research, thesis or not thesis bases. You can gain a lot of experience at UMDNJ. You can also shadow and volunteer at the hospital and clinics.

    What to do for fun

    I was not very involved and I didn't live on campus. So I cannot answer that question.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is decent.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm. So I can't answer that question

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult and some are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Take a tour of the school. Get to know the place and see if you like living in Newark. It can be dangerous so be careful when walking around Newark.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school to earn a master's degree or PhD because it's not as expensive as other schools

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    umdnj is a good school for me

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Reading something else not relate with medicine.

    Food and Dining

    I cook myself, in addition if you want to spend time with your friends, you might want to stay away from the restaurant in school.

    Dorm Life

    I live very close to school, but not in the dorm. So, I don't really know about the dorm. However, I heard the dorm life is not bad especially some

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigor. Due to the fact this is a medical school, you can't expect an easy A, you have to work really hard in order to survive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get prepared what you will get in a medical school, I mean mentally and physically both. Follow exactly what they tell you on the oriental day, you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Overall, this is a great school of learning Medicine. Whereas, due to the fact that this is a medical school you can't expect a easy life after you are settled. However, the professors are very friendly, and willing to help no matter what problems occur. Therefore, I like this school.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The website and facebook sites indicate that there is a very active student body.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged, but not overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide on a study schedule and stick to it. If you are given a project to complete over the semester, start early. Communicate with your instructors if you have a question or a problem.

    In three sentences

    The best online Program for a Dietetic Technician, Registered looking to advance to a Registered Dietitian. The second degree program works great for a student like me who already has a bachelor's degree. Everyone from the program director to the business office personal are courteous and friendly.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem with safety. I usually leave campus at 11 pm and have always felt safe.

    What to do for fun

    NYC is only a bus ride away. Philadelphia and Washington DC are further south but always fun to visit.

    Food and Dining

    Good food on campus and there are many places to eat nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm but rent an apartment 2 miles away from campus. There are many living quarters (e.g., apartments, rent-a-room, etc) around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school offers many excellent programs in medicine, biomedical science, graduate, and pharmacy. For those willing to learn with determined, hard working like-minded people, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    This school offers a great biomedical program that prepares you for the rigors of medical school. The professors and staff are always available to answer any questions and help you solve any problems.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun raises

    Food and Dining

    Big lounges plenty of space and chairs and tables bending machines The only thing that one is responsible for bringing in their own lunch, snack, drinks, etc.

    Dorm Life

    School does not offer dorm. Either way experience is worth More responsibilities in respect to transportation

    Academic Rigor

    Its competitive and its scarifying but well worth at the end. Time mange is important Dedication is a must in school

    Tips for prospective students

    Be dedicated Study hard Enjoy the experience Be patient

    In three sentences

    UMDNJ is an excellent institution. It offers labs and clinics for a better understanding of the dental field. Faculty is always able to help and open for suggestions and very skilled Environment is safe.