Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Michigan-Dearborn Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes, more teacher-to-student attention and many opportunities for their future lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study!!! College is different than high school, but yet enjoyable. Make sure you learn and get used to balancing your time with activities, friends and studying. And cramming isn't good! Make new friends and study partners because everything isn't easy...... But don't be afraid. Enter with a strong attitude and the preparation to overcome obstacles whenever they come.... And many times you can rest and have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to U of M Dearborn is worth your time. They give you ideas, resources and advice to help your future career and life after you graduate. They also offer many extra-curricular activities to do outside of your classes. There are many groups and organizations that may pertain to your curriculum, beliefs and/or your goals. There are other programs you can use to get your volunteer or work-study credits.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is not tiny, but it also is not as huge as a city. Once you learn your way around or a keep a map with you, its easy to learn the shortcuts. Walking from building to building isn't truly that hard or stressful. I also enjoyed meeting new people primarily from other races and religions.

    Am learning a lot

    My biology class had many interactive lab projects and we gathered information form outdoors and around the lab itself. That class gives you more information to learn and helps you understand plants, animals and all other living creatures better. My French teacher is successfully helping me learn my third language in a smooth efficient way.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety offered on this campus is excellent. the campus itself is contained to students and staff, so there is much less risk to begin with. but they also have security driving around continuously all around campus and the option of having a security officer escort you to your vehicle if you ever want it.

    Greek Life

    yes, you can still join a frat or sorority here even though they are not hosting drink 'til you puke parties on campus. these groups are more for camaraderie and socializing.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is at least one club for every school on campus. find yours and join it. it will give you the edge on networking, externships, and support from staff and fellow students. most of the clubs are informal and flexible, there are usually no requirements or demanding commitments involved.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for the practical student who doesn't want to end up with huge debt hanging over them when they graduate. with the economic outlook in our state being what it is, it's the smartest decision you can make to minimize post college debt and begin your life as an independent adult without that hanging over you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this school has quirky activities and traditions such as the races they put on in the pond with box boats and the race cars they design and race in the engineering school. the students activities board has unlimited resources so if there is something you would like to see happen you can attend one of their meetings!

    Bang for the buck

    this is definitely the college to choose if you are looking to get more for less. you get a u of m education for half the price!

    What to do for fun

    join a club, do some extra-curricular activities, make plans with other students in your major. you can even create a sports team of your own; if you have at least 3 interested people the college will help you develop something new. it's not known, as many colleges are, for being a party school, but that is not what students come here for anyways. it is easy to socialize with the new people you meet, and because u of m dearborn is not a party school the people you will meet are more mature and hard-working, and interestingly diverse.

    Food and Dining

    the campus options for dining cater to student body's restaurant preferences, such as subway and starbucks, and are usually discounted in cost. but there are many other options nearby that are off-campus, used frequently by other students, and relatively inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms currently at the college. most students commute from home or live in apartments close by. saving on housing expenses by living at home really makes a difference on debt accumulated over the course of your education. if you don't want to spend much time at home, just stay on campus and study or socialize there with friends at the many hang-outs on campus and nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is commensurate with the reputation of u of m, but it is worth the quality education you get and the supportive services available there with access to professors, tutoring available, and small class size, make it an achievable goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    take the initiative to use the academic support services available to you on campus. the career counselors can help you decide your major early which will help you not waste time and money on classes you don't need. you can also find out about future job prospects in your field of study and projected income to help you discern if the career you have selected will make a livable income and help you change paths if it isn't. if you need extra money the university has numerous employment opportunities that will comply with you schedule and most will even allow you to do your homework on the job!

    In three sentences

    the university of michigan-dearborn provides a superior quality education from a well known college yet close enough to home you can save the expense of living in a dorm and graduate without excessive debt. the small class size allows for more direct assistance from your professor and closer connections with classmates. the campus is safe, appealing, diverse and easy to get around.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Moderate grades for transfer students

    Tips for prospective students

    Have good grades in High School and College if your a transfer, but if your not than make sure you have good ACT/SAT scores sent to UM-Dearborn.

    Bang for the buck

    More Affordable than any other college in the entire state of Michigan

    Will enjoy being here

    Nice Beautiful Campus

    Will learn a lot

    Great college, real experienced professors

  • 11/02/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap tuition compared to other universities. Live at home and go to school here or you can get a small place nearby the campus which i plan on doing.

    Will enjoy being here

    very nice and small campus. It has good places for students to interact and my dad went there and he was very satisfied of being part of the Michigan family. Every building is in walking distance.

    Will learn a lot

    UofM is one of the top schools in the nation for academics. I intend to major in Information Technology or Computer Engineering and this school has an excellent college of engineering and other schools.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for future engineers, future psychology majors, and those computer geeks who love playing with the latest technology. And even if you're not looking into these fields, there are many other ways to express your best talents. All you have to do is join the family here at the University of Michigan - Dearborn, and we will welcome you with open arms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have plans to come to this great institution, I have one main tip for you: SOCIALIZE! Being social will open the doors of opportunity tenfold, and you will notice the benefits of being open to others right away.

    Bang for the buck

    Here at the University of Michigan - Dearborn, I've joined various clubs and organizations that reflect my interests. They were all worth the money spent to join.

    Am enjoying being here

    New experiences happen to me everyday, and being a part of that is a wonderful feeling.

    Am learning a lot

    In my first month here, I've been given an in-depth approach to how to apply things I learned in high school to real-world applications.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In my experience, the students at UMD are more focussed on school than on partying. Because UMD is a commuter campus, it tends to attract both high-school graduates and working professionals, which helps new students network with people who already have experience with college and life thereafter. Personally, I enjoy being an environment where my classmates want to learn as opposed to party.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best lesson I've learned is to stay organized. Most students will take an average of 3-5 classes while also working 1-2 jobs and maybe an extracurricular activity. Juggling all this can become quite chaotic, so having a system in place to track what needs to be done and when it needs to be done will be a tremendous help to do everything the student wants to experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of Michigan-Dearborn and the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor both give the same diplomas at graduation: UMD diplomas will not mention Dearborn any on the certificate. So, being the UMD costs MUCH less than Ann Arbor, UMD is definately a bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've spent my entire college experience here at the University of Michigan-Dearborn and I've enjoyed every minute of it: The faculty is willing to teach, numerous student organizations keep the campus alive, assistance programs help students find their paths

    Am learning a lot

    UMD is a great place to learn. For students unsure about which path their futures should take, the university provides a wide range of assistance, from the Career Services program to each college's cooperative education programs to each department's advisors. Each method helps the student find his or her own path to success. For those ready to learn, students will find they will get what they give: if a student puts in the effort, he or she will learn, but a student who simply goes through the motions will suffer. Even for both types of students, the go-getters and the lazies, every professor I've had has been more than willing to meet with students outside the scheduled office hours.

  • 01/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who don't mind getting lost in the crowd, people who know exactly what they want to do with schooling, and people who are in a family who knows about the college process. U of M - Dearborn won't help you in figuring anything out.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't go to this school. They are impersonal and don't help the student much. You are made into a number and I hated that.

    Bang for the buck

    It may have been cheaper than other schools, but it wasn't personal. The academic advisors did not work with me at all to get my AP credits from high school transferred nor did the financial advisors help me secure loans when I asked for help. I don't know what I'm doing and they should've helped a little instead of just fowarding the bill.

    Did enjoy being here

    I thought although the professors were knowledgeable, they weren't personal. When I needed help I couldn't approach the teachers because of their attitude towards the students. Also the school has little to no student life there. It is a commuter college and if you don't have friends there you don't stick around.

    Did learn a lot

    I thought the professors were great overall. I had one I disliked a lot because he couldn't explain things very well at all. The others were very knowledgeable, especially Professor Ryder for Music History. She was amazing. She knew what she was talking about.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The web page is incorrect. There WILL be on-campus housing for students enrolling for the fall of 2013. Here is a link for more information: http://www.umd.umich.edu/housing . I'm looking forward to it!

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Psychology, business and education majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    An awesome experiance! Learn alot and enjoy college. If your a psychology major, I highly recomend this school!

    Am enjoying being here

    UMD has a diverse student population and many student groups. No one feels out of place. There are many events and lots of free food!

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot everyday. Classes are interactive and most teachers are excellent!

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Achievement oriented students will prosper here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's much cheaper than the private college I am currently attending!

    Will enjoy being here

    The massive size might make me feel out of place; I'm from a small town, attended a high school (9-12) with less than 900 students and the college I currently attend is bout 1800-2000 students.

    Will learn a lot

    I have NO DOUBTS that I will learn every angle and aspect of my career path before heading out into the real world. This university is the Number 1 LEADER in the WORLD for Social Work!! Why deny myself this opportunity?!

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of scholarships to be found here, alongside a quality education at an affordable price.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful! Along with good looks, it will allow me to acquire a great education.

    Will learn a lot

    I love the fact that I can stay close to home, but still earn the same education that I would at the Ann Arbor campus.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy learning, like to be involved in activities, or even the wall-flower type of students that are trying to come out of their shells.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really consider UM-D as an option. Although it's not the 'going-away' feeling, you'll still be able to be involved and meet tons of new people, all while getting the U of M education!

    Bang for the buck

    College is a challenge; there is not doubt about that. And with tuition being extremely high, no matter where you attend, you want to make sure it's worth it. Small class sizes and extremely educated professor's ensure this. They know what they're teaching very well and they have outside experience. They aren't just teachers, they're real-life sociologists, psychologists, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the small campus. You see people you know everywhere. There's never a dull moment on campus - there are always activities going on!

    Am learning a lot

    Although most students dream about 'going away' to college, small universities are the way to go! Class sizes are smaller, which means the professor's will actually know you as a person, not just a dollar amount. They teach you in a way that you'll be able to learn and will feel comfortable speaking up and asking questions. I never dreamed I'd learn so much in each class that I've taken thus far.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly it is, that's the main reason why I'm going here.

    Am enjoying being here

    UM-D was definitely not my first choice school. I got accepted to MSU however I was unable to attend because of scholarships.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm starting classes here in the fall (2011) so I haven't learned much yet but they've been very helpful with the admissions and orientation processes. I am a biological sciences major.

  • 08/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    University of Michigan - Dearborn is the ideal college for individuals who want to major in: Business, Engineering, or Computer Science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve! There are plenty of clubs and activities that can make you well respected.

    Bang for the buck

    U of M - Dearborn also provides learning centers with tutors who can help students who struggle in their classes. Students can also get discounts with their University ID. Plus, there is a SUBWAY restaurant on the main campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being a student at University of Michigan - Dearborn. The campus is very satisfying and there is hundreds of place to find to simply study and socialize among new and old friends. The college even has a very active gym where students can exercise.

    Am learning a lot

    There is so much to learn from U of M - Dearborn. I find myself engage in my own education. Professors are always helping out students; both in-class and right in their offices. Professors even recommend students other professors who are more than capable to lend the students help.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are inexpensive and this school is one of the most affordable in the state of Michigan. It's grand!

    Am enjoying being here

    Going to this campus is a ton of fun. There are always events happening as long as you know where to look. Being involved on campus is really helpful as well since it allows you to get contacts and build relationships that will further your college career.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are helpful as long as you take action and ask for the help. They help you with learning the material and give you the materials you need to excel in class. I haven't had a bad experience yet.

  • 12/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Mingle with classmates, its a commuter school and that is the ONLY way to make new friends

    Am enjoying being here

    I like it, but no football team :(

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are interesting and tailored for your major

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I attended a small high school and loved the tight-knit relationships there. By attending a smaller university with small class sizes I am able to achieve those same relationships. As a freshman the largest class size I have contains 60 students and I often see the same people throughout the day. Thus if you having a small community-like rather than institution-like experience, I would definitely recommend attending the University of Michigan Dearborn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on applying I would suggest really trying to get your grade point average up, your community service up, and also your ACT score up. The higher each of these are the better chances you have of obtaining a scholarship. Also, I would suggest coming for a college visit to get a feel for the campus. Just because I love the campus does not mean everyone will.

    Bang for the buck

    As a university, the school is not too expensive. Also it is relatively easy to obtain a scholarship from the school thus making the cost even less. In addition, with it being a commuter college, there is no outrageous dorm pricing. At the University of Michigan-Dearborn, you are able to experience a great academic and social life without digging yourself in debt.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is relatively easy to make friends because often times you will see the same students everywhere you go. Also there is a plethora of extra curricular activities available to join. From sports to clubs practically everything is available. Even if there is a club unavailable that you would like to join, all you have to do is get four other people with you and you can create the club. Also the professors are personable and willing to help. The small size has a great advantage in both social and academic life.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are great. We have small class sizes thus professor know each student personally and are able to help more. Each professor has extra office hours to obtain extra help and groups called SI Groups are available for tutoring and supplemental information on topics. Classes are entertaining but informative at the same time.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good safety as far as I observed. You see a police officer every now and then patrolling and interviewing people. They usually e-mail the school about anything suspicious, but they have phone/texting options too.

    Greek Life

    I love the Greek life here. It's a great way to make close connections and bonds and it gets you out of your shell. J

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a lot of clubs and activities. You'll be able to find your niche pretty quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like engineering or the technical sciences. Also, students looking for a cheap tuition while still getting the U of M degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual conditions as far as I know.

    Bang for the buck

    Search the school for any activities. They usually are providing free food. Also, it's better to car pull if your far away. Ordering books/items or buying them from someone will save you hundreds of dollars.

    What to do for fun

    I suggest being apart of school activities and going to the mall often.

    Food and Dining

    Their restaurants are a bit expensive. However, it's right across a very decent mall called Fairlane. That mall has a decent food court. Dearborn is also home to a bunch of strip malls full of different foods and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life yet. They do have housing options for apartments though.

    Academic Rigor

    While it's easy to get into, the classes are pretty challenging. 4 classes should be enough work. 5 classes is pushing it, but do-able

    Tips for prospective students

    The college says the middle 50% have a 21-26 on the ACT and 3.4 GPA. I say this college is pretty easy to get into. If you maintain a GPA of 2.5 or higher with a 21 on your ACT or higher, then your good. I strongly recommend some type of school activity background though if you maintain the minimum standard listed here.

    In three sentences

    It's pretty decent for those who want a cheap, but good college experience. There's no room and board or meal plan though which cuts the cost down. Definitely recommended for those who can't get into University of Michigan- Ann arbor.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe and friendly campus security and are always accessible and visible

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to list

    Great for these types of students

    busienss and liberal art students

    Bang for the buck

    good education but overpriced

    What to do for fun

    loads of clubs, events and activities always posted around the school that would probably fit any interest that exist

    Food and Dining

    food is overpriced but ok

    Dorm Life

    i have an apartment

    Academic Rigor

    business administration

    Tips for prospective students

    go to orientation and make sure you have the money to attend.

    In three sentences

    high tuition. great staff. great tuition

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    real police officers and security are seen almost constantly. there are also emergency phones set up in many places.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for almost everything. the faculty do a great job in encouraging student participation.

    Great for these types of students

    those who wish to commute to college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    for our muslim students we have a foot bath and reflection room for prayer. while many believe it is a controversial issue, i believe it is a shining display of diversity and acceptance.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition has raised every year since i have begun attending, but i have heard this is happening nation-wide.

    What to do for fun

    the school is right across the street from the mall, and less than a mile away from downtown dearborn. there are countless bars, restaurants, and stores to spend your free time in.

    Food and Dining

    the university center has a great selection of food. they have everything from a subway to sushi!

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately, there are no dorms at u of m dearborn.

    Academic Rigor

    classes might be tough at times, but fortunately the small class sizes ensure that your professor has plenty of time to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    never be afraid to ask a faculty member or fellow student for help, and leave for class early! the parking lot can be a zoo.

    In three sentences

    they have small class sizes, which means you get the u of m quality education with an added benefit of more one-on-one time with professors. friendly people, great school!

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are always on the watch.

    Clubs and Activities

    find something that fits your personality or interests there's something for everyone. and if not start your own club maybe there is someone with the same idea.

    Food and Dining

    you cant go wrong with subway, but our dinning hall serves great food as well.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on this campus, but they will be in development very soon.

    Academic Rigor

    there academic standards are set very high. the teachers are very direct and tend to follow their syllabus so staying on top of your studies is a must.

    In three sentences

    i love it there. i am currently a commuter student, but the atmosphere seems like a standard university setting.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on this campus and if I don't then I can call security to walk me to my car.

    Food and Dining

    There is one hall with a few places including Subway and a pita station on the other side of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look through all of your options. Make sure you know what you want to pursue or have an idea before getting 97 credits and then deciding to transfer like me.

    In three sentences

    University of Michigan-Dearborn is small and friendly. The class sizes are small. They don't have many majors.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is constantly patrolling the grounds, especially at night to ensure that students are safe. There are emergency telephones practically every 100 feet throughout the campus. I feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who may be struggling to pay for their college education and wish to commute to school to save on cost.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting a U of M degree for a third of the price and their is no comparable university for the amount you pay.

    What to do for fun

    We have so many different ways to get involved and the organizations set up fun and interesting celebrations complete with bounce houses and BBQ's on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is comparable to any campus dining experience I have ever had. It isn't a five star restaurant, but the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    They are putting in dorms sometime this year. I live at home and commute so I wouldn't be able to say. From what I hear they are going to be really nice!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to join the clubs and organizations that interest you. So many students join as a junior or senior and regret the lost time. Branch out and join early!

    In three sentences

    I am learning so much here at UMD and there are so many opportunities available for people from all walks of life. There are sports teams, honors programs, Greek societies, student governments and so much more. I am so happy I chose UMD!

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    LOTS to do, clubs, activities, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe, Subway, etc

    In three sentences

    The BEST University in the area! Small campus, small classrooms, and more one on one instructor interaction.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters and returning adults.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a decent degree for half the cost of UM Ann Arbor.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the University Center.

    Food and Dining

    Needs more choices.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    General classes aren't a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take morning classes to get a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    The psychology department has great faculty. Parking is terrible no matter where on campus you are. Location is easy to get to.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With its location in Dearborn and its close proximity to Detroit, Taylor and other less pleasant places of Wayne County, they are vigilant on keeping crime down and safety up. You can comfortably walk to your car from any part on campus at any wee hour of the night and feel safe.

    Greek Life

    As aforementioned they have both fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many.

    Great for these types of students

    Day students reap the most benefit here. However it has some night programs and is looking to explore more of these options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    In the reality of university level tuition, everyone across the state and even the country are battling with the rising cost of operation. So as its counterparts it has had to raise tuition yearly but is still a competitive university in the Midwest from a cost snapshot.

    What to do for fun

    Student events here are by the dozen. There are many active groups, clubs, and various organizations including fraternities and sororities. There isn't a quiet week on campus.

    Food and Dining

    They do offer the option of a cafeteria in the student center building. It also shares space with a Subway. They have convenient hours to allow you to get all three meals at campus should you choose to. Additionally they have cafe's in the library and the business school across the street to accommodate students.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately the University of Michigan-Dearborn does not have the ability to live on campus, therefore there are no dormitories. They are however looking to entertain that idea dependent on survey responses, finances and land donation by the Henry Ford Estate.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is based on how your organize your class burden. I firmly believe that at the University of Michigan-Dearborn you have the ability to plan and take classes with the full intent to succeed as long as you keep abreast of requirements and due dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the prospective student it is important to discuss ideas, goals, and career aspirations with both an admissions consultant and an advisor. They can help you start off from day one on the right path to network your success.

    In three sentences

    University of Michigan-Dearborn is a wonderful university for those who are working and living in the greater Detroit area. It offers convenient night classes for people who work full time and always has helpful and charismatic professors who want to work with you. It offers a smaller class size than a traditional university allowing it to have a unique and focused impact on students.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To walk through campus and not see a security officer, you have to have your eyes closed. The campus is small, and security is always driving or walking around. They also have Emergency Stations, so if you are ever in trouble, you can run to one of those and an emergency responder will be there within seconds!

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every day or night on campus, some club is promoting their cause. They have a broad range of activities for students, which you can find in the Student Activities office.

    Great for these types of students

    Dearborn is great for students that have full time jobs, or still want to live at home with their families. They have a broad range of academics, so you can find all different types of students. As long as you have that GO BLUE mentality, you'll be just fine!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is cheaper than Ann Arbor by a couple thousand, but you still get that UofM degree, this seems to be very important for students. They just recently raised tuition rates, which makes it more difficult for each and every student. Books can also be very pricey.... and if you're thinking about selling books back at the end of the semester, don't expect a whole lot back.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with a club! The University has a student activities office that can tell you about each and every club they have. Also, there is a gym on campus open for students. Lift weights, play racquetball, basketball or watch the hockey team. GO WOLVES!

    Food and Dining

    Campus has a beautiful cafeteria! Most students will hang out in there in between classes, grab a cup of coffee or a sub from Subway! The food is as good as it gets for a college campus. The only downfall is the hours, they aren't open past 6:00pm. So if you have a later class, make sure to stop at the vending machines in your buildings. Some buildings also have microwaves for your own use, so you can heat up leftovers!

    Dorm Life

    That's the beauty of the University of Michigan Dearborn, you can live at home! Although there are no dorms on campus, it is minutes away from downtown Dearborn which offers MANY apartments and there are a lot of students who rent houses together. The school also serves students from all around metro Detroit, the commute to and from school isn't too bad!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, I mean it IS the University of Michigan. Many people believe that because it is not the Ann Arbor location, classes are easier. It's still college work, and you still have to work for your grades!

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a school that you absolutely fall in love with. You will get the most out of your education if you are passionate about the school you are going to, and the degree you are working towards. The University of Michigan Dearborn offers tons of majors and minors, and even has graduate classes. You can be a UMDer for all of your education!

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan Dearborn is a great school for students who still want to live at home, but go to an accredited University. It allows students to take online, night or weekend classes, and still work part or full time jobs. Graduating with a University of Michigan degree is an accomplishment that you can achieve around your own schedule!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far there haven't been any incidents as far as I know for the past year that I've been attending.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, outgoing, social.

    Bang for the buck

    If I was rich, I would send my entire family here.

    What to do for fun

    Chill with friends, constant events are going on, eat in the University Center or the Cafe in the library, join clubs, there are a lot of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious though a bit pricey for some.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors do not know how to get ideas across efficiently, but overall the professors are all willing to help the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're lazy and don't like to do much, this is not the college for you.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse and filled with friendly people. How much you learn mostly depends on how much effort you are willing to put into the class, so the only way you can fail is if you make yourself fail.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really well put together. I find the university to be an extremely safe environment to be in.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to have fun, all you have to do is get involved. Depending on what your interested in, there are things for every kind of interest, it's up to you to go out and seek the opportunities to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is in the University Center, and it's pretty good. There is a subway and then there is the campus dining which serves salads and burgers, food within that range.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the University of Michigan-Dearborn.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a biology major, so the classes are a little more difficult, but overall i think that the academics here are pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to research your professors before you take them on rate my professor, that will help you out a lot. Stay on top of your work, you don't want to fall behind. Get involved, there are so many opportunities to get involved and meet new people on campus.

    In three sentences

    Overall it is a good university, I wouldn't say it's the best but it's good. It's close to home, which is convenient and the class sizes are smaller.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Classwork depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class, study, do your work.

    In three sentences

    University of Michigan-Dearborn is an excellent place to complete my degree. The professors are totally awesome.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing. They are always driving around ensuring safety. I believe they are actual real policemen that travel the parking lots and campus. I even seen them helping a person get into their car who was locked out once. They do a great job of ensuring nothing is going on out of the ordinary.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very diverse, which helps your social skills to learn to understand other cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    You definately get the education you pay for. If your just trying to get a degree and not an education, they UMD is not for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are many Sororities and Fraternities as well as other academic clubs to join that will be interesting and helpful along the way.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria was great. Some things were a bit expensive; however, they was a wide variety of choices for you to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off-campus, so I am unsure of how the campus looks or is kept up.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that as long as you show you are willing to do what is required and what is expected then they are happy to deal with you. However, nobody likes slackers so as long as the students are honest and showing interest and dedication to their work, things will be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan early and plan ahead. Speaking with professors and advisors is the key to properly planning.

    In three sentences

    I believe this school is determined for students to become successful. They are beyond helpful and willing to go the extra mile. Professors are very knowledgeable and teach real-life learning.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Your car will never get broken into thats for sure! There are campus security vehicles swarming the property so be careful if you are in a hurry!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very interesting. I'm personally not interested, but it is something to check out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many diverse and fun clubs for all kinds of people to join. Everyone can find a club that they enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to work hard, put in the effort, and also people who want to enjoy their college career.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is by no means cheap, that is why any money you can get from scholarships, grants, or loans DO help.

    What to do for fun

    Their is activities and clubs to join! We even have Greek Life here.

    Food and Dining

    The food over in the business school is good, but the food in the regular UC could use a little improving on the healthy side.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms. I wish we did though!

    Academic Rigor

    This school has very high set standards for all their students to do well and achieve their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and activities and don't be afriad to reach out! Everyone is nice and friendly.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse school with unique individuals. This school is willing to help you get to where you want to go and explore your options while being a student here. This school really is the U of M Difference.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of Police and security officers around campus through out the day

    Greek Life

    The usual Greek life that you can find on many college campuses in America.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of club activities from sports,video games, fashion etc...

    Bang for the buck

    Its little less expensive than the Ann Arbor campus but you cant beat what The University of Michigan has too offer from an educational and professional stand to help students succeed after college life.

    What to do for fun

    There are many group activities and organization that can keep you busy if you have the time.

    Food and Dining

    The student center provides variety of healthy and fast foods for students.

    Dorm Life

    Since its a smaller campus there are no dorms located on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely stay on top of your studies but they also more than enough student centers and tutors to help if needed

    Tips for prospective students

    1)Stay on top of your studies 2)Get involved in groups/student activities this allows you to meet new people in your field.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school that provides smaller class rooms for more teacher student interaction. Excellent student learning center. Beautiful campus and great faculty and staff.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police always circle the parking lot. If you don't feel safe to walk to your car after a night class they will escort you to your car.

    Bang for the buck

    Buy for school books elsewhere! The school bookstore is always overpriced.

    Food and Dining

    We have an awesome cafeteria that has Subway, and they also sell other delicious food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms! However, I heard in the next few years we might!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great and really have expereince in their own backgrounds in the topics they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to rate my professor and check reviews on the teachers from previous students. Get involved! And Study!

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dearborn itself is a very safe place to study. Not many security issues occur, if any.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are alive and well out here! Event after event after event!

    Clubs and Activities

    ........ I can't count them all. Lol! They do have Campus Video, Student Government, WUMD Radio, Political Science Association, & a group for almost every race and creed of person on campus. Plus the frats, of course lol.

    Great for these types of students

    Future Engineers, Businesspeople, & Educators will benefit highly from this campus as well as majors in the Arts & Sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They seem to have a hidden nature reserve. It's actually very nice to visit on your off time.

    Bang for the buck

    This is currently the cheapest choice for those interested in a Wolverine education. Tuition is lower due to the re-building of dorms. I mean, your Pell grant goes half on your costs here! Plus, some classes require books but focused more on in-class learning, so you can weight it out on purchasing books.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to get involved in at school sportwise & otherwise. They have multiple groups, each with different purposes, & serve great for networking and enjoying your stay.

    Food and Dining

    .............wait until 4 or 5 pm to buy food. The food they sell is good but they always have something going on that involves catering.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms until Fall 2013. We are all excited for that.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors do not play games, but they are very nice to deal with for the most part. Check them out for a little bit before buying books.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a cheaper way to enjoy a 4-year college experience. Don't just sit there! Get involved !!! :D

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome! Until next year, it doesn't have dorms but the professors here are so interesting and the students are literally the coolest. I learn from both of them everyday!

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Building with the best wireless internet connection: Engineering Building. I go there all the time for internet. (Shh!)

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to do if you want a mini family outside of your own family.

    Food and Dining

    There is Subway available in the cafeteria and there are other things as well. Pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is No dorm life as of this year, but in the upcoming year (Fall 2013) there will be campus residences available.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the schedule you make, your semester can be easy or if you take your major's requirements...it might make things harder. If you enjoy the challenge, this will be great for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this university to anybody who wants a fun campus life and a great learning environment. There are many aids to help you out if you have questions and there are many people there to guide you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    This university is the best university I can think to apply. The University of Michigan - Dearborn is very caring and has a fun atmosphere. This has been the university of my dreams and even after starting my college-life here, it doesn't cease to amaze me.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus had no safety issues last year at all, and we got a really high rating in safety. There are always campus police around and they'll walk you to your car if it's late and your scared. We also have a lot of emergency buttons around the campus.

    Greek Life

    We have quite a few sororities and fraternities that actively recruit members, they put on a lot of campus events and promote philanthropy.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over a hundred clubs, and people are always making more of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Want a quality education without paying the huge price for the big name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a huge rock behind the University Center and the different clubs and organizations can paint it, advertising their cause or just themselves in general.

    Bang for the buck

    Dearborn gives you a quality University of Michigan education, and it is a lot less expensive than Ann Arbor, we have a beautiful campus and good classes/teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs at Dearborn that you can join and they usually host a lot of activities, and if we don't have the club you want you can start one with four other people.

    Food and Dining

    We have a subway, a school run cafe, and a coffee shop on campus. All have fairly decent food, but it can get costly. Across the street from the campus is Fairlane Mall which has a food court, and there are a lot of places to eat in Dearborn not too far from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Our college is currently building their dorms, they're going to be across the street from the campus and I've seen the floor plans and they look like they'll be gorgeous.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are easy and won't require much more work that a high school course, but there are other classes where you will need to do a lot of learning outside of class and form study groups with other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're commuting make sure you have a gas efficient car, and don't stalk the parking lots for open spots, there is always room in the parking structure and a little walking will do you good. Although we have a cafe and a subway on campus i'd recommend packing your lunch because it can get pricey to eat out all the time. I would also recommend taking very general classes your first semester because you may decide to change majors, and you'll want your credits to count towards it.

    In three sentences

    A commuter campus that embodies the Michigan difference. Great facilities and a beautiful environment. It has a wide variety of classes to choose from, and majors to focus on.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Bang for the buck

    fairly

    What to do for fun

    nothing you will not have fun

    Food and Dining

    fairly

    Dorm Life

    I didn't have it

    Academic Rigor

    U of M is a hard university

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and study

    In three sentences

    best university academically

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this school is possibly the safest in the whole state

    Greek Life

    The greek life is good, but unlike most schools its not the only way to have a good time, just a great way to make new friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to have a great and memorable college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I honestly don't know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    The University is always improving. In my two years of attending Ive learned so much, and even when I think this school couldn't get any better they somehow surprise me and go above and beyond expectations.

    What to do for fun

    If you like nature there is plenty of it, if you like shopping its right next to the mall, if your a history buff the Henry Ford museum is down the street. Pretty much anything you enjoy you can find there on campus or close by.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly cannot say the food is great. It is not bad necessarily but nothing to brag about.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as of 2012.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall the work is not difficult if you apply yourself, and there are resources there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is: get to know your professors, and get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan-Dearborn is by all means a fantastic school. The class size's are small, the teachers are friendly and the campus is just the right size, not too big or too small. I would encourage anyone to attend and on a scale of one to ten its a ten.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student organizations for you to join if you'd like to. There isn't much to do on campus since it is a commuter campus, but there are plenty of people for you to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    Food offering are fairly limited on campus, there are only three on-campus restaurants. But there is ample dining space for people to hang out and/or eat.

    Dorm Life

    Right now there are only dorms for grad students, but student dorms are being opened in Fall 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a definite good standard in most classes. You should expect to actually try in order to succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are staff at the school that would love to help you out in any way that they can and there are plenty of financial aid opportunities for students.

    In three sentences

    A diverse and interesting school. Wide array of opportunities for students to explore. The school is pretty great.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering Business

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lot of different faith people exist here

    What to do for fun

    Limited sporting opportunities

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to learn professional studies, It's a good diversity place where people from all background sit together and make their career

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is really good, they are out 24/7.

    Greek Life

    NO idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't do the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students this is your school.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey but it's worth it in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is right across the street.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten at any of the dinning places. But I hear they are good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms will be open next year!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can manage your time well.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cops and security guards that drive around the campus all day.

    Greek Life

    There's plenty of Greek life, but it's activity seems very mild.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that you can join. Just go to the student org center located on top of the university center.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, goal oriented, and active.

    Bang for the buck

    Since the university is emphasized to be a commuter school, you save lots of money, and still get all of the facilitation of the university.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out at the mall, or go out to eat. There's even a movie theater right next to the mall if you want to watch a movie.

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty decent, but if you really want some options, then I suggest that you go next door to the Fairlane mall.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet. There will be soon, after this Winter 2013 semester, but not yet. The upcoming dorms will be called The Union.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here can present some challenge to a student, and we greatly increase difficulty as go forward with the curriculum, but that is just because of the high standards that are placed upon U of M students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you dress for the weather. Traveling from building to building can get tricky if its really cold outside, and make sure that you park close to your classes, because of time sensitive reasons.

    In three sentences

    The people here are excellent, and are very well mannered. You cannot find anybody who partakes in illegal activities, or a teacher that doesn't want to help. But the transportation and student housing options are terrible.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards patrolling the campus grounds from early morning through late night. They also have ways to alert students if an emergency of any sort happens through text message, e-mail, or whatever way each student asks to be connected.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of clubs and activities for students of different interests. They are very welcoming and if you're a part of one, will better enhance your experience here on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who are looking for a university that wants the best for their students, as well as open doors to future career opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual location on campus is the science research area, where there are deers and other animals living in the forest behind it. It's very nice though, if you ride a bike or like to go walking.

    Bang for the buck

    Every dollar spent on the tuition is given back through the enriched courses. This is because you are getting a high quality, well-informed, hands-on education.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym with many great amenities. They also have a nice area for bicyclists or people who like to jog outside. They have a really nice lounge area in the cafeteria, as well as outside to eat and hang out with friends. They have all sorts of campus clubs to join depending on your interests.

    Food and Dining

    They serve a variety of foods, beverages, and snacks. The places are very clean, food is always freshly made as well as delicious, and they have friendly service.

    Dorm Life

    They are currently building dorms for the Dearborn campus students, but I've received brochures, and they look amazing, are priced within a each student's budget, as well as in a great location with many amenities.

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of instructors at this university want each student to pass with an A in the class. They do so by trying to meet the needs of each and every student and work with them so that not only are they passing with a good grade, but having the material taught stay with them as they proceed to the next class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school where you're not graded by the scores on your test, but your participation in class, your willingness to learn, and your overall success in the class, this is the one for you.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school, with great and friendly faculty members, instructors, as well as fellow students. The instructors here are some of the best. This school is very diverse and accepting to everyone.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is ok if you didn't do good first semester. As graduating as the valedictorian of my high school class, and then did very poorly my first semester of college, I was devastated. But I've learned that it is ok to mess up; it happens to the best of us and all we can do is learn from our mistakes and move forward.

    In three sentences

    I love it!!! This university is very safe, clean, the faculty is amazing, the students are great, and the environment overall is good. I'm just happy that I chose to attend this school.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always visible and available

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from-Gaming Club is a great one

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students especially the Computer Science and Engineering degrees. I believe this is one of the TOP 10 schools for this type of degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Buy used books!! Tuition is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs. Meet new lifelong friends

    Food and Dining

    Subway on campus. Large cafeteria and totally awesome food at a reasonable price

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing yet, but will be available Fall 2013

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Use all the resources available to you

    In three sentences

    I love it. Beautiful Campus. Staff and students are helpful, knowledgeable, kind, caring and encouraging.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Commuting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is absolutely what you want.

    In three sentences

    The university in my eyes is a joke. The teachers don't care, and the campus is full of rude people. It's not that good of a degree.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there if you need them...will walk you to your car if you request

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is focused on learning without the other distractions

    Bang for the buck

    See above

    Food and Dining

    Its typical cafeteria style food

    Dorm Life

    There were no dorms when i attended undergrad but they will be opening some soon

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient with the parking--arrive early.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school that gives you the University of Michigan name and power without the debt.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe; very few incidents.

    Greek Life

    It's a commuter school so not very great... it's still there though. Just not as great as schools like Michigan State, Ann Arbor, Western, or even Central.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range of clubs

    Bang for the buck

    You're here for education not to party; you're paying for what you want. Not as much of a thrill as other schools, but gets the job done.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, fraternity, or sporting team. There isn't much going on around Dearborn.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is awful; nuggets taste worse than McDonald's. Only good food is Subway and the line is always long.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms until 2013 Fall

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the chapter of the book before lecture. The sooner you learn that cramming isn't the way to go the better off you will be.

    In three sentences

    The school is filled with many programs that give students a general basis of what programs they need to do in order to receive careers in different fields. Professor difficulty ranges from blowoff to highly challenging.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!

    In three sentences

    U of M-Dearborn has a very comfortable setting, enabling high school students to transition to college life easily. The students are super friendly, and the professors are helpful. This campus makes me enjoy pursuing an education.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great safety plans and warning systems in place.

    Greek Life

    There presence is known on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several, I just int have time to participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL students, A very Diverse population of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are pricey but not unreasonable

    What to do for fun

    The area has lots of entertainment

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining choices available on and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the classes are academically challenging without giving students a stressed out feeling like the work is impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn! You will work but in the end it will be worth it.

    In three sentences

    Great Class Size! Good Professors! Diverse Population.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    52 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at the university is readily accessible and diverse in its offerings.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't much to dorm life as it is primarily a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum at the university is very intensive, covering a wide base of topics.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a student organization, or make one if you so choose. Stay alert and look out for flyers because there are plenty of events throughout the week. Usually the Student Activities Board will have massive events towards the beginning of the semester. Visit the Henry Ford Estate owned by the University, and take your friends too.

    Food and Dining

    This year the University will be getting new vendors for the University Center cafeteria. A few student organizations have been working together with the new student government to make all food sold meet the dietary requirements of being Halal, since there are a large amount of Muslims on campus. In previous years, since there were so few halal choices, and some of the halal foods were questionable, whether or not they truly were halal, many students simply left campus to eat in one of the many halal restaurants in the vicinity.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life will be coming in Fall 2013

    Academic Rigor

    While some of your courses, which will develop you into a well-rounded person, may be easy to you, your core courses in the sciences, business, engineering etc. will most likely not be. Do not come in, no matter how good your high school is, expecting college to be easy. Everyone I have met, complains about how their 'college-prep' high school, did anything but prepare them for their college future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. If you are considering attending the University of Michigan Dearborn, you're probably nearby, and even if you're not, go on a campus tour. Pick a rainy day, because it'll help you remember to keep an umbrella in the car, and all your other weather essentials. Seeing as The Union (dorms) will be opening up in Fall 2013, some students may opt for the dorm experience, so you don't want to forget your basics. Just as you are taking the proactive steps to research your future college in your Junior and Senior years, remember at the end of each semester to find out the earliest dates you can register for your next classes. You do not want to be put behind in your credit schedule, just because you didn't know the first day you could register. Also, your professor can honestly make or break the class. If no one you know has taken a certain professor before, then check out the ratemyprofessors website. But it's always better to ask a friend, or mutual friend. If possible, take the same professor as a friend of yours did previously (if they recommend the professor), and ask your friend if they have previous exams or quizzes, to help you prepare for your own exams and quizzes. Make friends in each class, and try to work out your schedules to meet up and study together. There are plenty of studies that show that group study is more effective. If you're not comfortable with that, and you see yourself potentially struggling with a subject, don't hesitate to get the free one-on-one tutoring the University provides. Whether it's the one-on-one tutoring the University Center provides, or the Supplemental Instruction (SI) sessions for your science classes, take advantage of them. It's usually the students who perform at the A level who do take advantage, so don't hesitate.

    In three sentences

    Very conveniently located from my house, and quite affordable with respect to the yearly tuition increases. Other universities in the area are increasing their undergraduate tuition rate three times as much as they are at Dearborn. There's always something fun to do here at Dearborn, and many interesting people to meet, and the professors are as helpful outside the classroom as they are inside (most of them).

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University of Michigan-Dearborn is a very safe campus with Dearborn Police circulating the parking lot making sure students are safe.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is always fun to go to, as well as the different sporting events the school has. There is also a mall directly across the street where students can shop in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a lot of options for students. Every week they have a different type of food they are making such as Mexican week or Asian week. There is also a Subway which I love to have to eat because its healthy and always delicious.

    Dorm Life

    They just created apartments across the street for students. They are slightly expensive but seem very nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect a lot out of you and for you to give your all.

    Tips for prospective students

    At the University of Michigan-Dearborn you have to expect to work hard but you will also have a lot of fun doing it. Everyone is very helpful when you have questions. You can also expect to make friends here and enjoy the time you spend.

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan-Dearborn is a great college to attend. The atmosphere is incredible, with friendly students and an eagerness to learn. The gym, cafe, and other on campus attractions are also amazing.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see at least 5 campus security cars patrolling the parking lots. They're very nice and students become their friends. I always feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for: low tuition small student body good professor to student ratio (about 1:30) small campus

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about 11k a year and is increasing. For what students are paying I think it needs to expand more.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the gym, the mall is across the street and its 2 minutes away from both Michigan Ave. and Ford Road. That is where all the restaurants are located.

    Food and Dining

    Not many choices. They have the grille that serves chicken sandwiches, burgers and nuggest. Then they have a pizza section, a small soup section, a bread section (donuts, bagels, and muffins). Lastly, there is subway (they don't have a toaster) and i refrigerated section for sushi or humus. Imagine all of this in a room that is equivalent to about 2.5 bed rooms. It's VERY small and takes about 15 minutes just to get your food and go.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't have dorms my freshman and sophomore year. Fall of 2013 is the first time students will be able to live on campus in the new dorms. They come fully stocked with furniture, appliances, granite counter tops and a HD TV. However, they are expensive if you ask me.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what courses you take together your semester can be easy or very difficult. I don't recommend taking more than 15 credits a semester and be careful scheduling math, science and or a technology class all together. It can be overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in at least one organization/extracurricular activity because it will help you to network. Before you sign up for any class always look up the professors rating at ratemyprofessor.com. I didn't do that my freshman year and got some of the hardest and worsts professors in the departments.

    In three sentences

    There campus isn't too big, so it's perfect for students looking for a small campus. Hard to get involved if you commute from afar but it is do-able. For the most part, people are friendly but it is easy to lose a social life if you don't live on or near campus.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We very rarely get e-mails from campus safety about possible warnings. I haven't heard of any rapes on campus and very limited sexual assaults that are solved within a week or two. There are no murders on campus, and I haven't even heard the whisper of violence. Theft is only a problem if you dare to leave your phone somewhere and not ask anyone to watch it, but this is rare. I lost my keys once and they were in the lost and found within the hour. I've left my coat on a couch for two hours and came back to find it right where I left it. Bottom line: I've never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    We have a lot of different chapters on campus, both sororities and fraternities. I am in neither, but it IS very close-knit. If you're looking for sisters or brothers, you wouldn't be disappointed. I thought about joining one, but I didn't have the personality type to really fit in or mesh like other girls. If you don't want to join one, don't feel bad. Lots of people aren't in one. You will be asked to join by very nice girls and boys, so go to a Rush Week and see if you will be a good mesh.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything on campus. Even if there isn't one to suit your specific interests, creating one is super easy. You can join as many as you want, some clubs wielding a surprising amount of power on campus. These are Student Government and the Student Activities Board. If you're elected President of the Student Body, free tuition. I think the editor-in-chief of the school's newspaper gets that too, or at least a sizable stipend. As I said above, there is an activity or club meeting going on every weeknight. You WILL meet some of your best friends in a club, so keep your eyes peeled on one you want to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering students, especially mechanical and electrical, will love this place. We have a good chemistry program as well, and I have heard the teaching program is spectacular. International students from China are common too. If you want to go to graduate school, U of M Dearborn is a great first step.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't say there are unusual locations, but we do have a couple traditions. One is the rock painting: there's a huge rock on campus that different clubs paint over with their group's colors and logo. Another one has to do with our pond on campus. Lots of student orgs build a cardboard raft and race it across the pond for fun. It's surprisingly exciting. Locations, though, nothing very strange. We're a relatively small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I am on a scholarship, so I'm not necessarily the best for this. I only pay around $3000 a semester, thanks to the scholarship and living at home. However, I do get a well-rounded education, fantastic teachers, and great friends. The Wi-fi could do with a bit of work, but the facilities make up for it. There is a great gym on campus, long hours at the library, and computer labs that will always have internet access. You get a lot, but it may not be of the highest quality.

    What to do for fun

    If you do not have a car, you are a long way from town. Nothing I would consider walking distance and the city transportation is rather poor. So on campus, there is usually an event every weeknight, which are both free and very fun. Highlights are the talent showcase, trivia nights, and basketball games. If you prefer, you can head over to the mall behind the dorms. There is a movie theatre, very large mall, and food court. If that doesn't interest you, join a club that has meetings at night, like the Student Activities Board. You will find a lot of friends and plan what you do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We recently got a new food service, so things have picked up. The burgers, salads, and pitas taste pretty good and catering to events have a diverse menu of options. However, I would still plan to brown-bag it if you live at home like me. Though it tastes okay, the price is rather expensive. My tip to you: take a campus bus (very good service) and head over to Fairlane Mall. A lot more diverse choices at your fingertips and a lot cheaper. You can feast like royalty.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I am not a good judge at all. I'm going to give it three stars. I've heard from friends that furnishing is nice and so is the food plan. However, it's still quite pricey to live in the dorms on top of tuition payments, meal plans, etc. The design itself is rather boring and there isn't much to do there.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor depends what major you are in and how well you enjoy it. For example, I am an English and Spanish major, but I don't find the coursework to be too heavy. But I am rather good at what I do. I found math classes to be challenging, but my math major friends enjoy it immensely. Sometimes classes are tough, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never take your math and lab science requirements in the same semester, especially freshman year. It is plenty rigorous, despite what academic advisers say. Instead, make friends with older students and ask for advice about which classes or professors to take. They go through the system more than any adviser, so they're the best advice-givers.

    In three sentences

    A relatively small college with brand-spanking-new dorms. We're a tight-knit campus with a ton of clubs, major choices, and four sub-colleges specifically tailored to a certain set of degrees. Not much of a night life, but fulfills educational needs.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Now, where do I start? When boredom creeps in, drop by the gym. If physical fitness is not your thing, try watching an ice hockey game. If ice hockey is not your niche, try a basketball game.

    Food and Dining

    Yes, the university does provide sandwiches and coffee. Pushing the humor aside, there are a variety of foods provided to satisfy the most supercilious palette. Of course, food is money. If you can afford it, you can have it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is definitely a plus. The housing is pretty luxurious. Fear not, you will have more that running water and electricity. The Union rooms come equipped with anything a pampered college student would desire. Also, there are plenty of public spaces where students can gather to study and pass the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the university is somewhat average. It provides enough challenging material to keep one awake; however, note the word awake. On the other hand, if you're a hustler, you're in for some crippling disappointment. This university Is not part of the top ten universities in the U.S. Lower your expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're hungering for a degree, University of Michigan Dearborn is for you. If you're in search of fun and education, don't bother applying.

    In three sentences

    If you're just intent on getting a degree, this is the college for you. However, If you want a college that provides more than education, keep on searching. University of Michigan Dearborn has its strong point, low tuition, but it also has its weak points.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a life savior. I'm always updated on anything that happens at the university immediately, which makes me feel secure on campus. The security has also helped me a few times when I was having car troubles, so I am totally appreciative of them.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that our school has very reasonable tuition. Although tuition rises almost every year, I still think our tuition is decent compared to others in my state.

    What to do for fun

    One of the main things that a person can do for fun is join some type of activity at school. In joining a group at school you allow yourself to be surrounded by different people and get the opportunity to make new friendships and experiences. One of my favorite thing to do at school is to study with a group of friends. We're still learning our materials but we also get to relax and make learning enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The food the campus provides is awesome. I'm very happy that they offer a variety of food choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a business student is very hard work. From the course materials and the group projects, things can become very hectic. The fact of the matter is, however, that no much how much is expected of me from my professors, I know that I can count on them to give me guidance. Taking the opportunities to meet with professors helps a lot especially when making sure your staying on top of your class work and identifying where there is need for improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest tips I could give to prospective students is to learn how to study. In college, there is a lot of material that they will have to go over during their years of college, so it's best to know and understand what study techniques work best for them. Most of all, have fun! You only get to experience college once in your life so make the most of it and enjoy those years to experience and learn new things.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love my University. The professors are very knowledgeable about the materials and are very willing to help students when needed. I think my university is a place where anyone can come to and feel like they are a part on the Michigan community.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime and theft are almost entirely non-existent. This is often a bragging point for the University administration.

    Greek Life

    Three main social fraternities and three main social sororities are present on campus along with a few professional fraternities (for Engineering and Business students mainly.) Some of the social fraternities throw small house parties at the fraternity house or nearby banquet halls.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much in Downtown Dearborn aside from restaurants, bars, and more hookah lounges per square mile than anywhere else in the country I would imagine. If you do not know what a hookah bar is, it will not take long to find out being in the social scene. If you are not a fan of smoking, they still tend to be popular options for a quick bite to eat. Aside from all of this there is a movie theater and Downtown Detroit is just a 15 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The University's cafes are not even arguably as good as local restaurants but to someone who is new to the area you may not know you have better options. The cafe's are in the same style of most high-school cafeterias.

    Dorm Life

    The University just built new apartment-styled housing options. The facilities are nicer than your typical college dorms but not any more affordable than local apartment or house rental prices in the Dearborn area. The complex is in the same center as the local mall which features a movie theater, and most of the well known department stores. (Macy's, Sears, JC Penney, etc.)

    Academic Rigor

    Arguably, the toughest aspect of this University's courses will be understanding some of your professors. If this is not a problem, or if you win the luck of the draw in registering your classes, the courses are not notoriously difficult. The workload is comparable to that which you would find at any other Universities in the same tier as UMD. Ultimately the difficulty will depend on the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school does not host the best social life; in fact, it will seem non-existent if you do not go out of your way to make new friends. Once you can make friends, downtown Dearborn and the local Fairlane mall center are both within a mile of the school campus and have proven to have some decent hangout spots. You pay the same tuition costs as other Michigan universities Wayne State, or Oakland University, but walk out with a University of Michigan degree (No trace of the Dearborn subtitle.) This school is ideal for students who are more interested in their education than having a good time. The best programs at the school are in Engineering, Computer Science and Business.

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan Dearborn offers the boast-worthy University of Michigan degree at a lower cost, and less academic rigor. The student body is known for its cultural diversity coming from all backgrounds, nationalities and religions. The school is known for it's computer, engineering and business programs.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Henry Ford Estate

    What to do for fun

    There's a shopping mall located right across the main campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are amazing Mediterranean and Sushi places around Dearborn.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorms but I hear they're awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is part of the University of Michigan network and so, the academic rigor is really intense. Although it is not UofM Ann Arbor, many professors have curricula that is as academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard! Explore the opportunities handed to you, meet with your professors often, and take good notes in class!

    In three sentences

    The University of Michigan-Dearborn's diverse population of students has opened my mind and heart to thinking and believing great things happen in the most unseemly places. With a close proximity to Detroit, the environment offers both a cultural and historical immersion that doesn't limit the student's educational experience to a classroom setting. As a sociology major, I've found the professors in the department to be well versed in the rich ethnic and cultural backgrounds of the students. Classroom sizes are small (mostly 40-60 students) so you are able to better connect with the professors.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I absolutely love all of our campus safety officers. I have conversation with this all of the time. They are very nice and helpful. With the violence being at a minimum, they do not have to deal with very serious situations often, but when they do, they are very precise.

    Greek Life

    There are several greek life opportunities on campus for both female and males. I have not joined any because I am in other groups right now.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of activities and clubs that are offered here are just too many to handle! No one student can join every club during there attendance here. The number of clubs allow for students to have hundreds of options and flexibility. There are many clubs that correlate with your major and minors.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that is shy like I was needs to come to this University. You will meet some of the greatest people here, especially the staff!

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love this University! The classes are small, so the professors can have more time for classroom discussion. There is an abundance of entertainment around campus. It is a very safe and social environment. This is the first year for the dorms being available to students; they are great! The diversity here is amazing. This school has changed my personality by allowing for me to be more social. I recommend this college to anyone that wants to break out of their shell and get a quality education!

    What to do for fun

    There is an event at least every two days here at the University. There are also several clubs that are offered to students!

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at my University! The prices are fair, and the quality is amazing! It's not fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms just got built this year so they are still making adjustments, but so far so good!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very nice and understanding. The syllabus outline everything from day 1 til the very last day of class, so staying on schedule with your work is very easy. The classes are fair, but very easy if you follow the syllabus and participate in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this University with a friendly attitude, and you will make friends very quickly! Don't be afraid to make conversation with your professors, they love it! Lastly, participate in everything that you can!

    In three sentences

    This University has a very friendly environment. Violence is at a minimum. I enjoy all of my classes, and the professors are great!