Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

University of Minnesota-Crookston Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a small atmosphere with a big degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to UMC, You will love it here!

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who prefer the small town feel versus the bigger city. If you are nervous or afraid you won't succeed at a bigger college, this is the place for you. The motto is Small Campus. Big Degree. That is exactly it, and with it being a smaller campus, it is THAT much easier to meet new people and connect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Do as much research on clubs and/or organizations and get involved on campus. It is a great way to meet other students and make the most out of your college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though this is a very reasonably priced education I am paying for because of all the extra time many of the professors put in to teaching their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the small campus feel. I am getting a Big 10 Degree but am getting it from a smaller community, which is something I am more comfortable with. I like being able to relate more and be on a first name basis with those teaching me, versus just being a number in their classroom.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at UMC are very attentive and do everything they can to help you succeed. They help you to make sure you are understanding materials and use many different teaching methods, whether it be through slideshows, videos, lectures or interactive.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Agricultural that want hands on and not always in the classroom and people who want a small school with class sizes ranging from 15-40 and you are not just a number

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very agricultural school, so be prepared for cowboys and cowgirls. Everyone is very friendly so don't be scared to ask if you are lost.

    Bang for the buck

    Crookston has a higher tuition, but I wouldn't trade this college for another one because I am learning more than I ever would somewhere else and it is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being away from home is hard, but Crookston is very comfortable and have a nice relaxed atmosphere and the people are very nice

    Am learning a lot

    The program here for pre-vet is very hands on and I have learned so many new things while here at Crookston and the teachers know my name and I'm not just a number.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat and hang out with friends around the city!

    Food and Dining

    I have no experience with food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in close contact with your teacher. Ask questions if needed. Ask for extension if needed.

    In three sentences

    I hate the U of M - Crookston Campus as excellent! The teachers are ALWAYS willing to help you and negotiate around your schedule.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY safe! Crookston is a very small town, so everywhere you go, you are bound to see someone you know! The campus security are very friendly and are constantly checking over campus, day and night. Not only is campus security good, but the Crookston police are very good at making sure everyone feels safe!

    Greek Life

    We do have a fraternity and a sorority with houses located off campus .

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS to choose from! Everyone in each club is very nice and welcoming!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students interested in agriculture, aviation, or animal sciences!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since we are an agriculture school, we have a lot of agriculture types of events! You will even see the occasional horse trotting around campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I really love this school and I really get the academic assistance that I need in order to succeed at this school! The school also makes sure that students always have something to do on campus, which makes it very easy to get to know more people!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs that students can join on this campus! Not only that, but the campus student committee always have free events for students to attend on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is good in the dining hall, and sometimes its not. As far as dining halls go, it is your basic lunch room food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average sized, but are pretty good, as far as dorm life goes! The dorm advisers really try to make sure everyone feels welcome by hosting dorm activities throughout the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect that you keep up with the curriculum, but are more than willing to help you with any questions! We also have an academic assistance center where you can go and get a tutor for free on any subject!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! Everyone at this school is very friendly and helpful, so i you have any questions at all, don't be afraid to ask! There is always someone to talk to! As far as academics, make sure to keep up with all your homework, because if you slack at all, it gets to be a lot of work and becomes easy to fall behind.

    In three sentences

    UMC is one of the best schools I have ever been to! Very friendly staff and students! Great academic programs to fit everyone's need.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The online classes at UMC are quite difficult but well worth it.

    In three sentences

    The University of Crookston is a school that is easy to transfer to. The admissions staff are incredibly friendly.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a great security. You will always feel safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has many clubs and activities do get into. Some of the clubs are CFFA, study aboard, archery club, and Hockey Club to name a few. There are many more clubs to get involved as well. For activities there is always something to do on Wednesday at 7:00. There are also sports events to go to such as hockey, soccer, volley ball, and football.

    Great for these types of students

    The University is great for agriculture students, because of the many agriculture programs and degrees.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location on campus is the mall, a huge area where students can hang out and have out door activities.

    Food and Dining

    The dining room is a great place. The food is good. Another places on campus to get food is the Eagle's Nest and Evergreen Grill.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright, if you have the right roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The only change in the academic rigor is the adding of more dorms to campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be study hard and manage your time well.

    In three sentences

    The university of Minnesota -Crookston has been fun and I am looking forward for the rest of the year.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A small town and small campus, UMC is always very safe and secure but just in case there are 24 hour security guards around campus on call for report of a crime or even an escort home should you need it. Doors are locked with an electronic ID system and there are emergency towers all over campus that can call 911 in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    UMC has over 40 clubs to choose from with many involving agriculture or animals but some with religion, sports, and more! There are also fair amount of men's and women's sports such as the equestrian team and soccer, with many fun intramural sports like Zumba and Insanity.

    Great for these types of students

    Content with a more easy-going, quiet atmosphere. Not afraid of working outdoors or getting dirty, MUST be able to deal with our cold temperatures and strong winds!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We call our commons area The Mall so when new studens first get here and someone says, Go to the Mal they look at you like you're nuts!

    Bang for the buck

    Only $18,473 per year for UMC with housing and tuition included. For insightful hands-on learning opportunities in your chosen field within your first weeks of class and smaller class size that makes teaching more individual, this school is a good deal! Also, to help out students taking high credit loads, any credits taken above a 15 credits load are free.

    What to do for fun

    Play games out in the commons area, catch a movie in town, do some shopping in either beautiful small town Crookston or the bigger city of Grand Forks, ND just 30 minutes away. Most of the time students tend to simply hang out with friends whoever, it is a small town but there is truthfully never a dull moment here!

    Food and Dining

    Quality of the food is mostly average but with an excellent variety of choices for diners of all preferences including vegetarian and gluten-free. There is a main dining hall, a convenience store, and a late-night grill for convenient meals at any time! Staff are incredibly friendly in the dining hall as well and make it just like big family dinners back home.

    Dorm Life

    The living accommodations are very comfortable and UMC has an awesome population of students to live with, it's not hard to find a friend here! Dorm life here is easy-going and neighborly people will stop in just to say hi or bust you out of your room for a study break.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are notoriously hard but some are also notoriously easy. This school is mostly known for its amazing hands-on experiences in labs from the barn to the business office. Has a diverse population of friendly, knowledgeable professors who are always eager to help a student reach their full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for the increased rigor of college courses and living on your own BEFORE you leave for school! Take some harder classes in high school and start doing your own laundry and cooking for yourself so that you'll know how to live without Mom and Dad around.

    In three sentences

    A great small school with a student-focused atmosphere and many hands-on learning opportunities. A very friendly, open place to learn and experience new things. Like the school slogan says Small Campus. Big Degree!

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard around, they are friendly and if you need a late night escort, you can call them and they will walk you to your car or dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 clubs on campus, I am in Dairy Club, Archery Club, and Horseman's Association.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like animals and Agricultural things

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a school spirit where you wear maroon and gold every Friday, if you have to buy something from the bookstore, wear maroon and gold on Friday's and get a discount.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus every Wednesday evening. There are also things going on during the day typically from 11-2.

    Food and Dining

    There is Brown dining, Eagles Nest, and late night Evergreen Grill. The food is great, I am a fan of Evergreen since I am up late all the time.

    Dorm Life

    There are floor programs once every couple of weeks, it keeps you involved and knowing the people on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Really the only challenging thing when you first get here is the fact that there are a lot of foreign professors. It makes it hard at first if you aren't used to having to listen to an accent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind in classes, do your work as soon as you get it because you never know when something is going to come up (like a power outage).

    In three sentences

    It is a Hands on school. We do a lot of work in the classroom and out of it. Working with animals is nice, especially for Pre-vet majors

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Crookston offers many different clubs and activities. There is a club and activity for walk of nature.

    Great for these types of students

    My experience is that it is great for student pursuing equine, animal, and pre-vet majors because of the hands on training you receive.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more for your money when going to Crookston, the experience you receive is well worth it and then some.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that the college offers right on campus. But if you are interested in getting away Grand Forks offers just about everything you can imagine and is only a half hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Fairly good food, and if you can't find what you are looking for or craving on campus, venture into town to find just about anything you would like. My suggestion is RBJ's!

    Dorm Life

    Laid back and friendly environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any college you have to be dedicated and put in the time in order to have an academic achievement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want an animal science or equine science degree, this is the school for you!

    In three sentences

    U of M, Crookston is the right school for me. It is a small campus, student based, friendly atmosphere with teachers that know your name. It also is known for its hands on experience, particularly in my major.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't get much more safe than this area.

    Great for these types of students

    Crookston is over run by AG students. It's also cold all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    The U of MN allows book rentals in most cases. You pay a deposit for the book and then as long as you return it by the date stated and in the same condition you get the full deposit back. If you don't you pay the full cost of the book (much, much more than the deposit cost). This is a pretty awesome system as it brings the cost of books way down. The only thing that sucks are these stupid access cards that cost a lot of money and are never available to rent.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are reasonably difficult and one is held to a high standard. I feel as though I'm getting my money's worth in most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your books from the bookstore. It saves a lot of cash.

    In three sentences

    This is a good academic institution. U of MN-Crookston does seem to have a high amount of professor and adviser turnover for some reason.