Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

University of Minnesota-Morris Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High achievers that want a quality, rigorous education at a good price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mostly the standard college stuff: take challenging, rigorous courses in high school, do well on your ACT, show uniqueness, and apply for the competitive scholarships! The competitive scholarships are very helpful in paying for college. Also, sit in on a class and meet with a professor in the field your interested in, and ask as many question as you like! The professors love prospective students (probably because they are proud of where and who they teach!).

    Bang for the buck

    At about a third of a private universities cost, it definitely is alot of bang for your buck. And it doesn't end there, Morris is ranked among the top 100 colleges nationally as a best value in the 2009 Kiplinger Best Values in Public Colleges exclusive survey. Also, our students graduate with the least amount of debt in the Midwest! Trust me, things just get even better. This school has the highest graduation rate out of the whole University of Minnesota system. Did i mention free classes? Oh yes, that's right. All credits above 13 (but below 20) are free due to banded tuition. Are you going to graduate in the top 20% of your class? Morris has automatic scholarships for those who do so. Also, the admissions and financial aid staff are amazing in working with you to figure out your financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Morris is a great place to go to school! Granted, the town is small (aprox. 5000 people including the college), but there is always something to do. Great, friendly people, wonderful scenery (not to mention Pomme de Terre park), and good food are the hallmarks of this town. The college also does a very good job of having student activities consistent throughout the semester. If you plan on going to Morris I highly suggest you see the improv group, The Unusual Suspects. The only thing that seems to be lacking is places to go shopping. However, you'll be so busy with everything else that you won't need to! But when you decide that you want to, a 50 min. drive will take you to Alexandria or Wilmar where there are stores galore.

    Am learning a lot

    The high academic quality and rigor this school has to offer supersedes any expectations I had. At Morris your professors will work with you one-on-one to make sure your are grasping the material and are doing well in the class. All classes, whether it be a hard science, social science or any other will hit the ground running on the first day of class and will set the pace for the semester. It gets tough at times but the amount of knowledge gained is well worth it. This school will push you, but, as my math teacher puts it, your getting your monies worth!

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who... -are academically driven -liberal or leaning liberal (it's great for conservatives too! We just tend to have a more liberal population) -are even vaguely interested in the environment, sustainability, green energy, etc. -thrive on personal connections with both faculty and peers -enjoy a quiet and beautiful county-like location -don't mind driving a few miles to get to the nearest large city -want to be challenged by a new culture -are interested in living on a small campus with a big personality. If you come to Morris, you're certain to get an excellent education, a taste of a unique culture, and a deeper understanding of yourself and others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships! Make connections with students on your floor, and off of it. Get to know your RA; especially at Morris (we call them CAs), they really do genuinely care. Get outside after classes and meet people, and don't go home on weekends (not at first, anyway). Also, sign up for as many activities as you want! Get involved! The more involved you get, the more likely you are to work one on one with professors. When you work with professors, you establish a personal connection, and at Morris, professors are known for having excellent connections outside of Morris and even outside of Minnesota. The more connected and involved you are, the better your prospects are for getting an internship or a job in the future!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying about a third of what my friends at private schools are paying, and by comparison I'm receiving better food, better on campus housing, and a cleaner and nicer place to live and hang out. I've also found that I'm getting a more personalized education with more time spent with my professors and a very well put together Residential Life Staff (RAs or CAs). Talking with friends who attend private schools around the midwest, our Res Life program sounds much more comprehensive and active in the lives of students, our campus buildings and residence halls are about 3 times cleaner and better kept, and our highly involved student population allows for proactive affairs and encourages students to get passionate about something. I am absolutely getting the best bang for my buck at Morris. That being said, it should also be noted that the University of Minnesota Morris works very hard to be affordable for its students. In talking to some of my friends, it sounds like Morris employs more students than many other schools. Walking around the Morris campus, you're likely to spot at least two student workers in each office, working at each meal, or tending to the landscaping and mowing lawns outside. Morris employs students all across the board - the post office, plant services, custodial staff, food service, financial aid, teacher's assistants - pretty much anything you can think of, we've probably got a student helping out. Aside from employing many students around campus, the Chancellor at Morris herself often brings students to the cities in order to protest the rising cost of tuition. The faculty and staff here are on our side, as students - they hate the rising cost as much as we do, and they're very interested in fighting for an affordable education for us.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere in Morris is very friendly, accepting, inviting and fun. The campus is quirky, and the surrounding neighborhood is small and welcoming. Though there isn't much night life in town, you quickly branch out of the realm of normal entertainment and find creative ways to have fun. Because there aren't night clubs or many other places you'd want to visit when you think of going out on a Friday night, students often seek entertainment on campus. We've got plenty of student organizations here on campus. These are groups that are run entirely by students and overseen by a faculty member of sorts. I'll name just a few off the top of my head: saddle club, fencing, Dungeons and Dragons Club, Ground Quidditch (adapted for Muggles from the Harry Potter books), dance ensemble, anime club, bad movie club, boffers, fight club, math club, swing club, paintball at UMM, organic gardening club. These are only a fraction of the organizations on campus - I haven't even touched all of the political ones! The Office of Student Affairs does a great job of making sure there are things to do on campus every week and on most week nights. There are concerts, open mic night, dances, sports events, drama, and even themed activities (like Zombie Prom, or the Yule Ball). Most of these events are priced between 0 and three dollars, so it won't break the bank to attend. Outside of school-sponsored events, there is always something to do. Many students like to walk up to the wind turbines at night and lay underneath them and watch the stars. Others enjoy playing Ground Quidditch, attending or participating in Pokemon battles in the middle of campus (yes, we do dress up like Pokemon. It's epic), or building giant snow forts each winter with the mass amounts of snow we accumulate up here in the frozen tundra of Morris, Minnesota.

    Am learning a lot

    Morris class sizes are small (anywhere between 7-20 students), which gives students an excellent opportunity to get to know the material on a deep level. Somewhere around 97% of Morris professors have received a master's degree in the field that they teach at Morris, so you know they really understand what they are teaching. Morris academics are tougher than many schools, but because of the availability of the professors and the one-on-one time between faculty and staff, it's easy to learn loads - and many of the professors make classes super fun, so you don't even realize you're learning until it's over and you think, Woah, I just learned a ton!

  • 06/12/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly academic. Seeking diversity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions. The admissions and financial aid staff is very helpful, but you must be proactive.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to learn, and learn about EVERYTHING. There are so many cool classes to sign up for in every area! Students who don't mind knowing everyone in their school. Chances are, you'll end up meeting everyone at least once during your time at Morris! But don't worry, we're all pretty cool!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking for scholarships and grants as soon as possible! This goes for any college, not just Morris. Brace yourself for the wind! When you go on a tour of campus, don't be afraid to ask your guide questions. Have fun and hope to see you on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the quality of education a student will get at Morris, the cost is fantastic! You can get a liberal arts education that will propel you into the job market, and a good deal of Morris students get published before they graduate, which makes it more likely for these students to get into graduate school or a good job! Overall, considering the comparison of price versus value, Morris is practically a steal!

    Am enjoying being here

    Anyone who has even heard of Morris knows that it's a small school and a small town. Despite this, there is always something going on! Whether it's a club-sponsored dance or sale, or even just hanging out in Don's Cafe with friends on a weekend, you'll rarely, if ever, run out of things to do. The only advice I can give in this category is to brace yourself for the famous Morris wind that powers our two wind turbines. Other than that, Morris is a pretty fun place to be!

    Am learning a lot

    I may have only finished one year at Morris so far, but I can already tell that I will learn a lot at this school. The courses are rigorous, so fair warning to any slackers out there! The nice thing is that with class sizes being so small, you get to know your professors on a one-on-one basis and they are always willing to help you to succeed, whether it's a chapter in the class you don't understand, to creating an independent study course. You even learn a lot in the classes you might not be doing so well in grade-wise. You know going into any class at Morris that you're going to come out of it with new knowledge.

  • 03/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UMM is a great place for students who want to really learn and take advantage of exciting opportunities to expand your knowledge, interests, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free visit- If you're accepted and live out of the area, UMM will reimburse you to drive/fly out to Morris and visit the campus. Take a tour and sit it on a few classes in your major/minor to get an idea of the curriculum and the faculty.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a great education at a very affordable price. The financial aid staff here is very helpful and wants to help make it cheaper for you. Aside from reasonable tuition, housing is also cheap, both on campus and around town.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, I enjoy being a student at UMM. The transition was very hard for me, as I'm from Seattle, WA. UMM puts on many on-campus events, there are a TON of student organizations, and the close interaction with faculty all add up to make a great experience. Aside from this, trips out to the wind turbines, or driving around and exploring the prairie are all fun things to do on a nice spring/fall day.

    Am learning a lot

    At UMM, I am learning more than I would have ever imagined. The emphasis on liberal arts, combined with the amazing professors in my major/minor areas, are great and very interesting. UMM also offers many various opportunities to learn more, whether that is through a campus job at the Center for Small Towns, or an Undergrad Research Project.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are up to making their experience fun and will excel in a small school setting with no party school distractions. Also great for students who are interested in learning as much as they can and for those who want to get involved and experience as much as they can while attending UMM.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect anything or assume anything about what your college experience should be like before you come to morris. If you do you will be disappointed at first. But, if you come into this school with an open mind you will fall in love with it instantly! Morris is not like any other college experience, but it is beyond any other experience you could receive at other schools!

    Bang for the buck

    Morris is like going to a private school. Education is important, class sizes are small, there are many opportunities for students, and the campus is beautiful! All of this and for a public school price! It is definitely worth every penny. You receive a great education and don't have to pay an arm and a leg for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although the town is small and there is not much stuff to do outside of campus it is still a blast at morris. The students make their own fun. People seem to be more willing to be spontaneous and adventurous than in towns where there are more malls and businesses. Also more students are involved in organizations and clubs which makes it easier to meet people and make new connections. Going to a smaller school and not a huge party school also makes it easier to get your work and studies done without so many distractions. Overall, morris is a good time! :)

    Am learning a lot

    Morris is definitely a school where you are surrounded with education and educational opportunities. It seems like anywhere you go you can strike up an intriguing, intellectual conversation with any of the students or professors. It seems like everyone is interested in learning as much as they can at any given time. Also the small class sizes make it easier for the professors to give more attention to each and every student, which is very helpful!

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel totally safe here.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    so many great clubs and activities, even ground quidditch!

    Great for these types of students

    students who like being involved in their classes, student body, and community. students who are interested in a sustainable and renewable life style. students who want to be pushed to their full potential.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have our annual tug-a-war with the freshman dorms to see who wins the lake.

    Bang for the buck

    i think that morris offers an amazing education and a private-school feel at a public school price.

    What to do for fun

    you have to keep on top of on-campus activities, but there is always a 45 minute trip to alexandria.

    Food and Dining

    it's college food, enough said.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very nice and comfortable. they are even adding an all-green dorm in the next few years.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel challenged in my classes, but i also get the necessary help to succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you are comfortable with attending a small college in an even smaller town. it works great for me, but it might not be for everyone.

    In three sentences

    i love the university of minnesota morris. i have met some amazing students and professors in my short time here on campus. i feel like i am succeeding here and everyone around me is helping me do so.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always the usual incidents where stuff is stolen, but overall Morris probably has the lowest crime/emergency rate ever on any of the U of MN campus locations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many nationwide college clubs like the ones at bigger colleges but there are a lot of clubs for pretty much any hobby.

    Great for these types of students

    Seeing as this is a liberal arts college, this college would most likely benefit the kind of person who is independent enough to be in the middle of nowhere and make new friends. People who like a small town atmosphere would really enjoy this place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You must go to Jose's and get the terrible but addicting chips with guacamole.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Morris, but rather the interesting thing is how many different people you can learn to get along with and become friends with considering the lack of entertainment in the small downtown area.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegan, it is very hard to find anything new and exciting to eat. It isn't the best kind of dining services for non-meat eaters as well as gluten-free people as well.

    Dorm Life

    It's a great atmosphere for meeting new people as there isn't that many students to begin with; however, it is not entirely the best thing when all the buildings always have heating issues.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a science major so the classes I've taken have been quite challenging but overall some of the social sciences classes haven't been as useful nor memorable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip for any student is to always look at their intended major's list of courses. It is very hard to stay on track if one is not able to complete the required prerequisites in time.

    In three sentences

    It's a very nice atmosphere for college. The community created by the various organizations and clubs really help bring the student body together. Overall, the Morris campus is an inviting and warm atmosphere.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feels safe here. The campus police are on top of their game if something goes wrong but, generally speaking, nothing of concern ever happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something going on here on campus. There are tons of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are open-minded and friendly will thrive here. I think it is important for me to stress that Morris is not for everyone. It is a fantastic school, but the remote location and small student population is not going to be everyone's cup of tea.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie prom. Yeah, we love zombies here.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school feel for the public school price. Because the Morris campus was originally a school for Native Americans, students with Native American blood get free tuition. Also, there are fantastic scholarship opportunities for those students who exceeded in academics in high school.

    What to do for fun

    Because Morris is in the middle of nowhere, many people get the impression that there is nothing to do here. That is so far from true it is almost laughable. There is ALWAYS something going on on campus whether it be a club meeting, a concert, or a dance. There are also lots of opportunities to make your own fun here, whether that be staying in and having a movie night with the floor or going out and making a visit to Pomme de Terre. Also, a car can get you to Alexandria or Willmar in under an hour if you're feeling like a trip to a more populated area for the day.

    Food and Dining

    It depends on the day really. In general, food on the weekends is really iffy. There are some meals that food service has nailed and that are delicious. Other times, the selection leaves many of us wondering what were they thinking?! The desserts are continuously delicious though. :) Also, as a vegetarian, I think food service does a pretty good job of serving to people with special diets. I can always find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    AWESOME. I love the sense of community here at Morris. The Community Advisers (our version of RA's) work hard to bring the floors together and to ensure that first year students have an easy transition. From talking with friends who go to other colleges, Community Advisers are much more involved with their residents here than RA's at other colleges. The dorms are very nice and well taken care of. Also, the furniture is very nice. Other colleges that I've visited have the desks and drawers built into the rooms, but the rooms here have movable furniture which gives you a plethora of options when it comes to arranging your room! The bathrooms are smaller, but the trade of for that is large, spacious lounges and kitchens that are nice meeting places for the floor. Many people do move off campus after freshman year because it is much cheaper, but there are options for upperclassmen who like the the community that dorm life offers, or simply the convenience of living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class and the professor. My first semester was extremely easy, but my second semester has been more difficult. I do feel like my high school prepared me extremely well for college, which I think has made a difference in how I view the college course load. However, I am expecting my workload to become more difficult as I move up into upper level classes. In general, the professors are very approachable and the class sizes are smaller, which I think makes a huge difference in the academic experience here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight with a current student. I think this is a general rule for any prospective student who is seriously considering a college. It's a great way to see what college life is like on that particular campus. My overnight experience was one of the main reasons I ended up choosing Morris. Also, get to know the admissions counselors here. They will remember you. You are more than a face to them, you are a name and someone that they'd love to see on campus as a student in the coming years! Also, many of them are Morris graduates, so they not only have experience at Morris as an employee, but also as a student.

    In three sentences

    Morris is a lovely little college campus in the heart of rural Minnesota. Because it is a University of Minnesota school, I like to think students here get the best of both worlds - the resources one would find to be available at a larger institution along with the small, close knit feel of a private college. To make it even more awesome, the campus-community relationship that you'll find here is unlike any other that I know of.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Morris boasts that small-town sense of security that you aren't going to find roaming around the streets of a large urban area. The Campus Police officers are almost always readily available to anyone who may find the need to place a call- which is more likely to happen by being accidentally locked out of a building rather than being in a harmful setting.

    Greek Life

    Very few fraternities/sororities on campus due to the size of the school, but they are available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Morris has an extensive list of clubs and organizations that are primarily student-led. Many more extra-curricular activities exist as well. Also, with Morris being a relatively small school, you are able to create your own club/etc. if you are unable to find one that fits your wishes.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes, approachable professors, individualized assistance/mentoring, and an all-encompassing learning agenda may find Morris to fit their academic needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Morris is a leading school in making the campus sustainable and chocked-full of renewable energy sources. The campus hosts two wind turbines on the outskirts of the campus perimeter. Almost all incoming students make their way out to them for star-gazing every now and then.

    Bang for the buck

    Morris does provide a good jumping-platform education if one is planning on further education after their Bachelor's Degree. As for the quality of classes, they are adequate to good. I would highly recommend extensive research on the courses one is planning to take.

    What to do for fun

    The university resides in the small town of Morris (population approx. 5,200). If you don't care for small towns and are expecting city night-life excursions, this isn't the place for you. However, friendly, small-town businesses and free, open air are a couple things that Morris does boast.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Services has been making improvements over the past couple years no doubt, but nutritional meals are few and far between. Adequate at the very best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are adequate and some halls are far nicer than others. The on campus apartments do provide nice accommodations, but can be rather expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be a breeze, especially for general education requirements (GERs) and others can be incredibly difficult; especially based on the professors of certain courses. With that being said, the classes are still typically very manageable with the appropriate effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to decide a general area of study that you are interested in before attending here. Do research of the available majors/minors and see if what you are interested in is offered.

    In three sentences

    The campus itself is small and provides excellent accessibility as well as personal help from faculty members. The campus is a leader in sustainability and renewable energy efforts and progress is made every year. However, being a smaller school, (under 2,000 students) class/major selection can be somewhat limiting or unavailable altogether.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seriously, Morris is ridiculously safe. In a town with around 5,000 people in it, its hard not to know almost everyone. In my time here I have never heard of or seen any major crimes. It just doesn't happen here. In fact I doubt 60% of the town locks their doors or cars! The one thing you could possibly worry about is your bike being 'borrowed'. Sometimes you will leave your bike one place, and if you don't lock it up it will end up on the other side of campus (not very far considering). So if you plan to bring a bike and don't want people borrowing it, invest in a lock! There are a couple campus 'emergency' phones placed outside. But I can honestly say that I have never seen anyone have to use them!

    Greek Life

    I am sorry to say that the Greek Life is very slim here. It is almost non-existent, though some organizations do factor it in. You'd just have to look for it. If you are looking for a very prominent Greek Life experience while at college, you will not get it at Morris.

    Clubs and Activities

    Seriously, ANYTHING you can think of and its here. Morris, compared to other schools, has a crazy amount of student organizations and clubs. Many of which have national branches and would be great for people who want to use that type of experience later on in life!

    Great for these types of students

    Basically anyone who wants to be super involved during their college experience would LOVE Morris. In addition to anyone who wants a really rounded out education and wants to experience a little of everything. Music & Art students as well, as the music/art/theater program here is pretty extensive and well known!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie Prom! There is an annual dance called Zombie Prom and it is actually the highlight of my year in addition to the Yule Ball (which goes hand in hand with a whole week of Harry Potter fun!) There is also a tug-of-war competition between two opposing dorms which is always fun to watch in the first weeks of school. One super fun thing they've also started doing is a drive-in during the first weeks of school, in addition to playing movies on the campus mall (knoll). Oh and the campus regularly brings in artists to perform at the school, from Cloud Cult, Atmosphere, Flogging Molly, to dance performances and world traveling groups! Seriously, AWESOME. Louie's Lower Level is a great place to study and hang out as well! There is a giant TV, a pool table, giant chalkboards to draw/write on, a fishtank table and a huge amount of comfy oversized chairs! Favorite place on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Being that Morris offers in-state tuition to everyone, regardless of what state you are a resident, the bang for your buck is awesome. Morris is a school that is regarded pretty highly throughout the country and will look great on resumes! Just make sure to look into your specific programs to make sure its what you're looking for, as it can get very specialized. (Ex: Anthropology department is very Cultural Anthro. focused)

    What to do for fun

    Even though Morris is a tiny little town, there is plenty to do! I love getting involved with the clubs on campus, as they do activities almost weekly. Ranging from bonfires to dances, bingo nights to open mic nights! In town there is a cute little classic (or vintage) movie theater that shows 2 movies that rotate weekly. As well as various restaurants/bars and coffee/shake shops! The campus puts on so many events that you will rarely have a hard time trying to find something fun to do!

    Food and Dining

    I absolutely love the food choices here! First off you have Turtle Mountain Cafe which is a great little 'restaurant' but very affordable! Like every eating facility on campus it is very vegetarian friendly and their veggie burgers are delicious! They also have weekly specials and traditions, Stir-Friday and Tuscan-Tuesday have got to be my favorite! Food Services is a great place as well, the variety is crazy and once you pay it is buffet style which I personally love. There is also Higbies which is a little coffee shop (affiliated with Caribou Coffee) that sells awesome drinks and fresh baked goods (scones, bars, muffins etc). The C-Store is great for late night snacks as they are open until Midnight, and sometimes 2 a.m.! Its basically kind of like a gas station but just for food and necessities :)

    Dorm Life

    In all honesty, I am not a fair judge on dorm life as I never lived on campus. I have however been in the dorms and I thought they were the average size and fine enough. One plus is that most of the dorms have nice big windows, so you don't feel like you're holed up in a prison! In addition there are quiet hours and whatnot so you won't get disturbed. They are currently building a new 'Green Living' dorm that looks like it will be totally awesome (and environmentally friendly!)

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on what types of classes you are taking! As expected upper level classes will take A LOT more of your time than intro classes, but depending on the professor intro classes could be pretty challenging, and upper level could be cake!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of coming to Morris, visit the campus during the non-winter months! If you are looking at it online you really can't see how absolutely beautiful the campus is! Though I do advise also looking at the program you are thinking of going into, and check out what kinds of classes they offer to make sure it is related to your interests. I also encourage all first year students to live on campus! As the University is much smaller than that of the average University, the connections you make during orientation and living on campus are very important!

    In three sentences

    The small student body and close knit campus at Morris results in a very unique experience. There is literally a club for every kind of interest you could have, and there is always something to do.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus, I can walk around campus at night without any worries. Being a small town college you don't hear about many crimes going on, it's big news if you hear any kind of siren in Morris. I'm not saying you shouldn't be cautious but I've never felt any kind of threat or fear while walking around alone at night.

    What to do for fun

    Since this a small town there isn't a whole lot to do, especially in the winter. As you will here from almost anybody, we make our own fun. If we get a big snowfall you'll see people making snowmen, snow gardens with swans and cows (very interesting btw) and sometimes snow profanity. When it's warmer there are a lot more people out, playing frisbee, going for walks or bike rides, etc. I have never found myself bored on campus. Usually you can find some sort of concert to go to on any given day or other activities. There are house parties off campus, but there's no pressure to be a partier here which I really like. If that's your kind of fun then you'll have no worries in finding a party on the weekend, sometimes even during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has the best desserts! Everything else is good as well, they have a good variety. Every once in awhile there will be a meal that isn't very good, but it's all trial and error. The TMC (turtle mountain cafe in the student center) has really good sandwiches and help satisfy your craving for a burger or other fatty snack. But their prices can be a little high. It's a good place to go every so often.

    Dorm Life

    I started school in the spring semester. so I never had the freshman orientation or any of the get-to-know-me get togethers. I made friends pretty easily besides. Everyone is super friendly and you can almost always find someone with the same interests as you. A lot of my friends live on my floor and we have a lot of fun activities on our floor and in our dorm. I personally really enjoy the dorm atmosphere, but there are some people that are more introverted who may not enjoy this as much. If you're one of those people you will most likely still enjoy living in the dorms, I feel the activities and atmosphere of the dorms appeal to everyone. also I have never had a problem with rowdy neighbors or drunks stumbling around (this is a wet campus fyi).

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, the classes are going to be difficult. Besides that I have had classes that I find more challenging than others, it all depends on your course load too. Overall classes aren't extremely hard, if you got good grades in high school and have the drive to do well you will be fine in college. I'm not trying to say by any means you can squeeze by, but there are some classes you don't have to work as hard for as others.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest meeting with an admissions counselor when you tour, this will not only put you on their radar but will also give you the chance to ask questions about the admissions process and such. If you can spend a night in the dorms, you will learn a lot about what living in a dorm is like and what the students are like. If you feel extremely uncomfortable during your stay this may not be the right school for you. When you finally make your decision be 100% sure,Ii made the mistake of settling with a school and it came back and bit me in the end. Thankfully I found the school I love but it's always better to be sure the first time. Have fun, this experience only happens once. Enjoy it!

    In three sentences

    There are many pros to UMM, the big ones for me are the size of the campus and the friendliness of the students and faculty. You can honestly walk from one end of campus to the other in five minutes or less. There aren't many cons besides the wind and cold winters, but you get used to that after awhile.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a Campus Police car patrolling the area after it gets dark. There are various emergency lights which light up if you press a certain button. The streets/sidewalks are well lit, and if you feel unsafe a campus police officer is happy to escort you to where you want to go. Plus there is a taxi service here.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a Quidditch club/teams, Yugi-Oh dueling club, Anime, Bad Movies, Pokemon, What to do in an Apocalypse, Biology, Chemistry, MPIRG, Rugby (both men and women's) Track, Floor Activities, and many other things.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the nerdy/geeky types of people. We have a Quidditch club/teams, Yugi-Oh dueling club, Anime, Bad Movies, Pokemon, What to do in an Apocalypse, and various science clubs.

    What to do for fun

    As I had said before hanging out with friends is a major thing to do. If you befriend international students, which there is a good number of, you can learn a lot about other cultures. Walks are a big thing as well, like to walk to the windmills, or to town. Almost every Saturday is a Quidditch match, out in a lake. It's really a pit. There are clubs to be joined as well which are fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are options, but for the main line at least it is not always the best. there is always stir-fry, deli, salad bar, and a pasta/pizza depending on the time. When prospective students come, the food gets a lot better, but lets face it college food can't be great all of the time.

    Dorm Life

    Morris is a small campus, and for the freshmen who do not know anyone they become close friends with the people on their floors. My floor will get together every once in a while and have a movie marathon. Your dorm/floor is where you go to get support for living at college, homework, or even a bad day.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect for their students to do all of the reading and that they are prepared to answer questions the next day. The homework is supposed to last at least 2-4 hours depending on the class. The professors do, however, go into great depth in their topics and all of them are passionate about what they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you were at the top of your class in high school, study. I was at least in the top 5% at my high school, but my bad study habits kicked me in the butt this year. Also if you come to Morris, you are in farm town, the only way to have fun is to make friends and hang out with them.

    In three sentences

    I would rate University of Minnesota, Morris very high. It is academically rigorous, but you become closer to your community. The professors, also, are very willing to give a helpful hand.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Biology or pre-med students have a great advantage in being accepted into graduate school, if they should choose to attend Morris.

    What to do for fun

    Something fun to do in Morris would definitely be going to the local movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a wide variety of foods to choose from, and the quality is less than gourmet.

    Dorm Life

    I would say that the dorms are typical compared to other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    While this school is very tough with grading and vigor, it is a rewarding learning experience for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The acceptance rate into grad school by choosing to go to Morris is incredibly high. I would say join now!

    In three sentences

    This University is a very challenging, yet rewarding college. The college offers many majors, and at a reasonable price. This school is also very small so the student to professor ratio is very favorable.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very very safe.

    Greek Life

    Non existent to my knowledge

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about everything. And if there isn't, they make it very easy for you to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Morris is a great place for anybody, but especially friendly kids with just a pinch of bizzare will find themselves at home here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year around Halloween we have a zombie prom. Basically a zombie themed dance which is always really fun. In winter we throw a Yule Ball which is a Harry Potter themed event held by the Morris Quidditch team (yeah, it's a thing). It's pretty awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There's not a whole lot to do in town. Most people like to take walks to the wind mills, catch a movie at the old theater, or just hang out with friends. There are many events that happen on campus, so there's usually something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is alright. Not great, but not horrid. The TMC has a lot of tasty options, but the prices are a tad high at times.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and close to campus. Each section has a tv lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    The Profs expect you to do your work, but are very helpful. Be sure to show up to class. Attendance is often part of the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with things on campus. Sure, the town is small, but there's always something happening on campus.

    In three sentences

    A great school with a strong community. Very small.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun? CLUBS! there are a ton of clubs to join here at the U of M - Morris. There's also the RFC! It's basically a community center that is absolutely free for student!

    Food and Dining

    The food so far has been more than adequate. Stir-fry bar everyday and hot food everyday. The salads are grilled too. x)

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome! The students here come from all over and are very friendly. The only downfall is that there is no AC.

    Academic Rigor

    I've just started college so I can't really give you a great idea of what to expect. Thus far the work required is more than in high school; lots of reading. Try your best to do homework during the day instead of at night because there's always something fun to do at night that you'll want to be a part of!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! Lots of clubs. GO TO CLASS! Most importantly choose a a schedule that fits you.

    In three sentences

    The University of Minnesota - Morris is amazing. It's a small campus with a lot of things to do. It has an amazing faculty and staff and the best part is that you get to interact with them personally.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are on call 24/7 and are located right on campus. They patrol regularly and will escort you to classes or your car upon request.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not too inolved yet, but there are a lot of different clubs and activities. Everything from religious groups, exercise classes, and My Little Pony clubs, to Bio club, and a Saddle Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who do not like to be lost in a crowd: at Morris, you're an individual. You're important and treated like an individual-- not just another student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every homecoming, the freshman dorms Indy and Gay Hall have a tug-o-war on the football field. The winner gets the lake between the halls named after them! (Indy represent-- we totally won.)

    Bang for the buck

    This is money well spent. A full year (tuition, housing, food, expenses) is $20,000.

    What to do for fun

    Morris is bigger than my town, but still pretty small... population of 6000. There's a small movie theather, but not much else.

    Food and Dining

    Morris has a great selection of food. Quite a lot of it is locally grown without pesticides and nasty stuff. My favorite meal is the sizzling salads... you choose your veggies and dressing and it's all fried up. Yum!

    Dorm Life

    There are currently 5 resedential halls AND a new one being built soon. They're all up to date and offer comfortable living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a music student and I'm incredibly interested in ALL of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and take advantage of professor's help and the many tutoring options available. They actually help!

    In three sentences

    Morris is amazing! The small campus size makes it easy for teacher/student interaction and they're alays willing to help. The cost is very reasonable- exactly what a college kid needs.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They recently won an award for the best vegen school.

    Dorm Life

    I am not impressed with the dorm life because I am a non-traditional student and a transfer student and they placed me in the freshmen dorm. You don't have to pay for use of the washer or dryer.

    Academic Rigor

    They really expect you to know your stuff for the tests. For example in my biology class, half of it was written and we had to be able to define and explain concepts.

    In three sentences

    It is more focused on kids just out of high school and less on non-traditional students. They are big on encouraging students to be involved in research projects and being out-spoken. I do not like their tutoring program or the teacher's review sessions. They expect you to ask questions and tell them what you want to review.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy a challenging curriculum and love being in a small community.

    What to do for fun

    Morris is a small community and while there is not a lot to do in the town itself, so don't expect a lot of amazing shopping experiences, there is a shopko for basic needs. However no need to panic because Alexandria a slightly larger town is just 45 minutes away to help you with anything that Morris maybe lacking in shopping wise. The campus does what it can to keep the students from getting bored. The college has many cheap concerts, plays and even dances put on to keep the students entertained. An ice rink is created during the winter months and you can see people playing hockey out there on a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't the best thing I've ever eaten but it isn't the worst. The food service is very good at trying to have a variety of food to keep people from getting bored there is always a pasta of some type and a salad bar along with sandwiches if you do not want to eat the main meal they are serving. However there are restaurants in the town and the grocery store is only a few blocks away if you want something else asides from cafeteria food that day.

    Dorm Life

    The people you meet in your dorm area are basically going to be your family for the next month so make sure you get out there and make friends with them. The rooms are small, but not so much that you'll feel claustrophobic, but the CA's will try to make sure they keep you entertained by having activities for you to do.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a college for students who are used to procrastinating till the last second. The classes are hard and challenging, but if you keep on top of assignments it is not overwhelming. Make sure you use all resources that you can when you are here, tutors, teachers, and classmates are all going to help you so long as you are proactive and seek their advice.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Morris has several unusual traditions. First off is the Homecoming Tug-of-War between Indy and Gay Residence Halls. The tug-of-war is a competition to see who gets to name the lake (which isn't usually filled with water) in between the two dorms. Another tradition is Zombie Prom. People dress up as zombies and go dance. It's a lot of fun and a lot of people will go all out for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of clubs on campus, and if there isn't one that you want, it's really easy to make your own. There's always events going on around campus, including concerts and performances. There's a movie theater in town and many restaurants. Many people often get together on their floor to watch movies or play games.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is large and there are lots of places to sit. There are lots of varieties of food offered, but if you go later at night or even in the afternoon, your options will be more limited. The food is okay. It is all you can eat, however.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different depending on where you live. Indy is nice; the rooms are larger than you would think and it's easy to find your way around the building. The different dorms have different pros and cons, but overall, they aren't bad. If you plan on cooking a lot at your dorm, be sure to find out if your floor has a stove. Not all of them do, so a hot plate comes in handy.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes on campus are hard and a lot of it depends on which teacher you get. There is often a lot of homework and you will likely have to study for all of your tests. It's not uncommon to hear students saying that all of their classes have a test within the same week. Keep up with your homework and study often, and you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend Morris, I would recommend keeping up with your homework and don't put it off for last minute. There is a lot of stuff going on here, and if you put off your homework, it's really easy to fall behind. Also, be sure to get involved on campus. It makes it easier to make friends and you'll be less likely to be homesick.

    In three sentences

    Morris is an amazing school and it has a beautiful campus. It is a small campus in a small town, but there is always something going on, whether its one of the hundreds of clubs, or a performance, there's always something. Everyone is really friendly and it's easy to make friends.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, I have not had any bad experiences nor has anybody I know. There has been only one serious incident off-campus, but alerts were sent out within hours of the incident.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of myriads of clubs to join and it is very easy to make a new one with a few friends! There's clubs that are serious, like NORML, a club that talks about and educates others on marijuana legalization. Then there are the less serious clubs like Ground Quidditch, Pokemon Club, Bad Movie Club, and League of Legends Club. These clubs usually meet once a week and sometimes have special events. I'm not in all of these clubs myself, but all the experiences I've had with them are great. A whole list can be found here: http://studentorganizations.morris.umn.edu/

    Great for these types of students

    It is an amazing college for people who did not fit in well in high school, since there are many people here that are just like that. It is also very good for students that would want a state university campus but without the hustle and bustle of one in a large city. Class sizes range, but students that like smaller classes will have a good time, since many are under 30, but there are still 40+ lecture classes, just no enormous lecture halls

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most Halloweens there is a zombie hunt that lasts the week of the Halloween Dance. Zombies can touch survivors to have them become zombies or people can throw a balled up sock at a zombie to stun them for a few seconds! It is extremely fun to do since you have to be vigilant almost all the time all over campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As mentioned earlier, it is one of the least-expensive U of M schools but still includes the U of M quality!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities planned on-campus as well as many different clubs. There are at least one, usually two dances a month that are either free or about $3. A variety of clubs are available, such as sports clubs and other different clubs like Bad Movie Club, Anime Club, Pokemon Club, and more. Also if you feel there should be a new club, it is very easy to make your own! A 24-hour computer lab is available that a large amount of people use to play video games. There is a movie theater in town, but that only has one or two movies per week. Just walking around down Atlantic Ave (Morris' main street) is a fun thing to do, as long as it isn't freezing out!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options for on-campus food. The dining hall has a variety of foods and you can also have a custom stir-fry/omelette made. The TMC is a slightly more expensive choice since it is higher quality but definitely worth it if you want a quick meal while you study! Higbies is the coffee shop and it has a selection of Caribou coffee as well as a constantly changing selection of various candies. The C-Store is for late-night munchies and it is quite overpriced and you are probably better off stocking up on food from Shopko or the Willy's in town if you want to save a few bucks.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is amazing, most people are very nice and respectable and there are many events planned in each halls such as movie nights or other fun activities

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are the perfect difficulty, but that does not mean they are easy, you will end up studying if you want to get good grades! Most teachers are amazing and willing to assist you if you are having issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    Morris is a very secluded city, with the closest big city being Alexandria, 45 minutes away, so be prepared to find ways to entertain yourself in this small town!

    In three sentences

    UMM has an amazing learning environment as well as a social environment. Don't get turned away because of the distance from civilization, unless you're a mall bug. It is one of the least expensive U of M schools and financial aid is very willing to help if you need aid!

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University of Minnesota, Morris has 24/7 Campus Patrol who are easily accessible and always on patrol around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    With such a variety to choose from, there is a club on campus for everyone. We have clubs ranging from Intramural Sports to Saddle Club, from Improv to Swing Dance, and from Mock Trial all the way to Ground Quidditch. Plus, our campus is always open to new ideas, so grab some friends and start a new club!

    Great for these types of students

    Morris is a place for students of all kinds. No one here gets judged based on looks, disabilities, race, sexual orientation, or past experiences. Everyone here is accepted for exactly who they are, and encouraged to embrace it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual Homecoming Tug-of-War contest between two of the freshman dorms, and the winner gets to claim Tug Lake for that year (or the next few years until the other dorm gets it back)!

    What to do for fun

    At Morris there are over 90 clubs to choose from, and we are always open to new club ideas! The campus also hosts different events throughout the week, including campus movie nights, Iron Chef Morris, small concerts, magic shows, community picnics, and bus trips to the Cities. There is always something happening on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is actually really good; as a going-green campus, a lot of the fruits and vegetables are grown by students in organic gardens and given to the dining hall. But if you don't like cafeteria food, there are a few cafes and a small convenient store open to all students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Morris are very open and friendly to everyone. The students here are really encouraged to keep an open door while in our rooms so we can all get to know each other better, but if you really need privacy it is not required to keep the doors open. Usually, however, we prefer to sit in the lounge, where we all study together during the week, and on weekends have our own game nights and movie nights.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really understand that we are fresh out of high school and make it easy to transition to a more demanding educational experience, and since it is a liberal arts school, the course requirements are similar to those in high school, but with a greater variety to choose from. Also, if students are struggling in any class the professors are very open to communicate and help their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think all students should try that one thing they always wished they could do in high school, but were always too afraid that it didn't fit the way everyone perceived them. Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land among the stars.

    In three sentences

    The University of Minnesota, Morris is a great place where everyone on campus comes together as one. This is a place where everyone has the opportunity to try something totally crazy and new; a place where everyone has the opportunity to really discover who they are. Morris is truly a home away from home.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student organizations and intramural sports are your best bet for entertainment. Morris itself has one movie theater that only shows two movies at a time, and one entertainment store. However, getting involved is very easy because of the number of student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, the trade off of having a small school and smaller class sizes, there is only one dining hall and there isn't a lot of variety. Small town life also doesn't offer a lot of good options, though Don's and Common Cup are student favorites. Urban dining is something Morris lacks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms foster closeness and provide students with a support network. There a lot of events for students to get to know each other, as well as spaces for studying and relaxing. The roommate matching process is spot on the majority of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect students to give it there all and to stay on top of readings. Professors who have discussions want them to be meaningful and provide insight. There are a variety of ways work is done, including in-class quizzes and tests, to online work like SmartWork and Moodle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are comfortable living far from urban or suburban areas. It takes getting used to if you've never lived in a small town. Visit campus in as many seasons as possible and plan an overnight visit. It will give you a better idea of what campus will be like if you decide to attend. Talk to professors in major areas you are interested in so you can get a feel for how classes are and to figure out what would be good to take your freshman year, because you aren't matched up with a registration adviser by your major.

    In three sentences

    Morris is much smaller than the other University of Minnesota campuses, the intimacy of high school classes but with college level thought and discussion. It is a quality education at the fraction of the cost of private colleges. The staff and your peers are pretty open-minded and always willing to help.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs and organizations on campus. Getting involved is extremely easy and worth your time! If the club you want isn't here, starting your own couldn't be easier. Not to mention all the other activities and events hosted by campus run groups!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few different dining options in campus aside from the main dining hall. We have a small coffee stand called Higbies and the Turtle Mountain Cafe. No matter where you eat, the food is good. Morris has been awarded many times for the variety and the Vegetarian/Vegan friendly options offered at every meal.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms on campus are Co-ed, either by floor or room. Floors are relatively small due to the smaller campus, so you really get to know your neighbors. Only freshman are required to stay in the dorms, so as an upperclassman you have more freedom about where you live, whether in the upperclass dorms, on campus apartments, or off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at Morris are challenging and intuitive, challenging students to think about things in a different way. Class sizes are small and the professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to come and visit the campus. You can even request to stay overnight in the dorms with a current student. It gives you the first hand experience of what living on campus is really like.

    In three sentences

    Morris is a unique, close-knit community and campus. You feel right at home here the moment you move in. The smaller campus allows you to get to know people and professors while also offering one of the best Liberal Arts Educations in the country.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have applied to this school with the remarkable student application. They said I will receive my decision in three weeks or less. The campus is beautiful and I cannot wait to receive their decision.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe college, and the police are always on campus if you want assistance back to your dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 50 clubs and organizations to join all over the spectrum. Sports, video games, social issues. If there isn't one for you, you can always start one.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to excel in college. Pre-med. We have a above 99% acceptance rate for medical school if you have a 3.8 or higher g.p.a.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Massive tug-o-war at homecoming. Humans vs. Zombies around Halloween. Yule Ball.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap college with many opportunities for financial aid and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    It is a small town, so options are limited. You can always find fun with your friends though.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not usually good. The main entre is usually bad, but everything else is pretty decent. Every once in a while, they have a really good meal.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun. Lots of different and interesting people. Do a lot to make sure you are where you should be.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging school, but very accredited.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a campus tour and think about staying a night to get a feel for dorm life.

    In three sentences

    It is a very diverse school. The teachers are always willing to help. Class sizes are very small.